Women

This guide describes manuscript collections documenting women's history in the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections at LSU. It includes the papers of women, women's organizations, family papers with significant bodies of women's papers in them, and other collections that document women's history in one way or another.

LSU is fortunate because it collected women's papers very early, perhaps without systematically trying to do so. Women's voices, often buried in plantation collections and Civil War papers, have emerged from obscurity only in recent decades. Researchers coming to LSU can study the letters and diaries of plantation mistresses and teachers, the papers of women writers, and the papers of black women, among other sources. A number of our women's collections have been recently microfilmed by University Publications of America in its series on Southern Women and their Families, making these collections more widely accessible.

Displaying 481 - 540 of 768. Show 5 | 10 | 20 | 40 | 60 results per page.

McVea, Charles and Lucy Hilliard. Papers, 1840-1998 (bulk 1866-1875). 0.75 linear ft. Location: UU:212. Charles McVea was a lawyer of Clinton, Louisiana. The collection is comprised of correspondence and the genealogy of the McVea and Hilliard families of Louisiana. Letters exchanged between Charles McVea and his wife, Lucy Hilliard McVea, comprise most of the collection (1866-l 1875). Letters offers insight into the daily activities and social life in Louisiana after the Civil War, as well as Charles McVea’s work as a lawyer. Correspondence also reflects the difficulty white Southerners had in coping with change after the war. Correspondents discuss personal news, health, weather, financial problems, travel conditions, and employing servants. Collection also includes a photocopy of The Arch of the Rainbow: Letters of Charles and Lucy McVea, 1866-1875, by Bena McVea Chambliss (1995). Mss. 5159.

Referenced in Guides: Women, African Americans

McVea-Neville Family Papers, 1830-1917. 0.1 linear ft. Location: 50:15. The McVea-Neville Family papers consist of personal correspondence, items related to family property, and financial records. Of note is a copy of a Confederate States army substitution affidavit, dated October 24, 1864. The property records include official state and parish documents and notarized copies of various property agreements between McVea-Neville family members. Of note are a court judgment document on a family property dispute, dated December 3, 1865, and a plat map of Neville property, dated March 18, 1864. The financial records include receipts, bills of sale, ledger pages, tax rolls, credit account statements. Other items of note include a congressional report booklet on abandoned property claims, dated December 20, 1889, an insurance policy document for Mrs. M.L. Neville, dated November 6, 1903, and a monthly grade report for Albert McVea from Silliman Collegiate Institute, dated January 30, 1889. Mss. 3284.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Civil War, Education, Business

Meade, George G. (George Gordon), 1815-1872. Letter, 1867 November 5. 1 item. Location: Misc.:M. Union army general in the Civil War. Letter to the Commissioner of Agriculture seeking employment for his niece indicating that her family's plantation in Mississippi, on the direct route of Grant's army, had been destroyed. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2761.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Women, Civil War

Meckstroth, Bertha Amelia. Papers, 1903-1958. 207 items, 9 vols. (7 ms. vols., 2 printed vols.). Location: U:180, F:4. Graduate of Radcliffe College (1906), nurse, teacher, student at the Chicago Art Institute, and exhibitor at the Century of Progress International Exposition in Chicago (1933-1934). Collections includes personal letters, an autobiography, notebooks, copies of articles for publication, and a Radcliffe College alumnae directory (1940). Includes designs and items related to Meckstroth's quilting exhibition at the Century of Progress International Exposition. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2248.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Education, Medicine

Medical ledger and scrapbook, 1854-1919 (bulk 1854-1863). 5 items, 1 vol. Location: M:19. Accounts of medical services received by prominent Cheneyville, Rapides Parish, Louisiana, residents and their slaves. Eleanor Marshall of Cheneyville, Greensburg, and New Orleans used the ledger as a scrapbook of poetry, local news, and short stories. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2297.

Merrick, Caroline E. Letters, 1855-1858. 7 items [typed transcriptions]. Location: Misc:M. New Orleans resident and wife of Louisiana Supreme Court chief justice Edwin Thomas Merrick. Letters reflect Caroline Merrick's opinions of women's dress and the facilities at the watering resort Feliciana Springs, near Clinton, Louisiana, and provide details about her family and friends. Available on microfilm 5750: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reel 16 and Reel 34. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1496.

Referenced in Guides: New Orleans to 1861, Women

Merrill-Buckner Papers, 1787-1870 (bulk 1830-1860). 578 items. Location: U:228, M:19. A. P. Merrill of Natchez, Mississippi, was a physician and the cashier of the Agricultural Bank. Aylett Buckner settled in Natchez around 1830, where he was a prominent attorney, cotton factor, and director of the Commercial Bank of Natchez. Collection primarily consists of financial and legal papers of Merrill, Buckner, and Jane Dunbar Ferguson, a planter of Washington, Adams County, Mississippi. Other items include plats of the property of Abner Green and the deed to Patesi Plantation and its slaves. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 598.

Mestayer, Marcelite (Segura). Photographs and newspaper clippings, 1929, circa 1990, undated. 19 copy prints [3.5 x 5 in.], 20 copy prints [5 x 7 in.], 4 photocopies. Location: 65:60. Resident of New Iberia, La., and a student at Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, La. Of these photographs, 20 are unique images. Photographs were copied from Mestayer's college scrapbook (1929-1930). They include images of Mestayer, an LSU agricultural parade, young men in black face, the LSU marching band, campus buildings, and the experimental television station in Shreveport, La. Newspaper clippings describe the agricultural fair where Mestayer was elected "Goddess of Agriculture." Mss. 4365.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Baton Rouge, LSU

Metoyer, Adeleda. Papers, 1845-1897. 52 items. Location: A:1. Free woman of color, Isle Brevelle, Natchitoches Parish, Louisiana. Bills and receipts (1845-1860) are for medical care, taxes, freight, and merchandise. Included are statements of account (1873-1874), from Miltenberger & Pollock, New Orleans factors, to Mrs. Philomene Metoyer. In French. Available on microfilm 6061: University Publications of America Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B, Part 2, Reel 1. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 836.

Meullion family. Papers, 1776-1906 (bulk 1776-1796). 121 items. Location: U:230. Free African American family of St. Landry Parish, Louisiana. Louis Augustin Meullion and his son Jean Baptiste (whose mother was a slave) were slaveholders; the son owned a plantation on Bayou Teche. Collection includes slave bills of sale, land sales, and other financial records; manumission papers for Maria Juana and her son Baptiste Meuillon; and an amnesty oath taken in 1865 by Miss Belazaire Meuillon. In French, English, and Spanish. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 243, 294.

Middleton, Jane Porter, 1920-, interviewee. Oral history interview, 1993. 1 sound cassette (1 hour), Transcript (51 pages). L:4700.0300. LSU graduate of the class of 1941. Middleton describes her family background, her early education and decision to attend LSU, her sorority rush experience, social life on campus, her favorite teachers and classes, and Helen Gordon, Dean of Women. Middleton also recalls her role in building Chi Omega's house at LSU, and the role of women in the establishment of other sorority houses. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0300.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Education, LSU

Mignon, Francois. Papers, 1939-1970, 1992. ca. 17,000 items (on 41 microfilm reels). Location: Mss.Mf:M. Journalist, horticulturist, and curator of Cammie G. Henry's Melrose Plantation, Natchitoches Parish, La. Correspondence, journal, writings, and subject files describe and relate to thirty years spent by Mignon at Melrose, which also served as an artists and writers colony. Among his correspondents are African American artist Clementine Hunter and Louisiana writers Lyle Saxon and Harnett Kane. Many ideas expressed in the journal later appeared in 'Cane River Memo,' Mignon's column in the Natchitoches newspaper Enterprise. Microfilm of originals at the University of North Carolina. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4484.

Millaudon, Henry Clement. Conveyance, 1849. 1 document. Location: MISC:M. Notarized conveyance (printed and handwritten) of sale of property belonging to Millaudon to Amelia Dunlap. Property was obtained through a public auction by Beard, Calhoun & Company in New Orleans. Lots were located in the Borough of Freeport, formerly called Bouligny, in Jefferson Parish. Mss. 5352.

Referenced in Guides: New Orleans to 1861, Women

Miller, Joan Chaffee. Notebook, 1932-1933. 1 vol. Location: W:1. Professor, LSU Department of English. Notebook containing 'Selected Contributions of Miss Miller's Class in Freshman English, 1932-1933,' dedicated to Dr. Miller at the end of her first year at LSU. For further information, see onine catalog. Mss. 2600-73.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Education, LSU

Miller, Robert Davies, 1848-1927. Family papers, 1853-1938, 1984. 2 microfilm reels, 5 photographic prints, 1 typescript. Location: Mf., Misc. Robert Davies Miller was a physician in Clinton, Miss. The papers consist primarily of microfilm copies of 110 family letters, postcards, receipts, obituaries, and other documents, as well as two autograph albums, created between 1853 and 1938. Not microfilmed are a typescript of "Robert Davies Miller: A Biography" (1984) by M. Stone Miller Jr., and photographic prints of the Miller family. Mss. 3432, 3642.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Civil War, Medicine, 20th Century Wars

Millon, Mariana. Account, July 8, 1790. 1 item. Location: Misc:M. Account of Mariana Millon with Alpuente. In Spanish. Mss. 297.

Referenced in Guides: Spanish, Women, Business

Milne Asylum Papers, 1840-1856. 36 items. Location: OS:M. The Milne Asylum was established by the charitable bequest of Alexander Milne, a Scottish immigrant of New Orleans. He bequeathed money and property for the establishment of the Milne Asylums in Milneburg, one for orphan boys, the other for girls. Papers include agreements and orders of appropriations from the estate of Milne for the Milne Asylums, certificates of fees paid by the asylums for goods and services, mortgage documents, and insurance receipts. Included are a request for the admission of a foundling to the asylum, the release of a boy to the asylum by his mother, Papers also relate to the title of land involved in the Milne bequest. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1170.

Referenced in Guides: New Orleans to 1861, Women, French

Mims, Elizabeth J. Letter, 1886 Sept. 7. 1 item. Location: Misc. Letter written to Mims' family, from Cartersville, South Carolina, shortly after the occurrence of an earthquake, conveying shock of the event. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3675.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Mims, Mary. Scrapbook, 1939-1949. 1 vol. Location: M:24. Extension sociologist with the LSU Cooperative Extension Service and head of the Louisiana Teachers Association. Scrapbook contains materials related to Mims' work with rural community life in Louisiana. Her work as a sociologist and teacher and her involvement with agricultural exhibitions are represented. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3882.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Education, LSU

Minor Family. Photograph collection, 1885, undated. 6 unique copy prints, 9 35mm negative strips. Location: MISC:M, E:65. William J. Minor was a sugar planter of Terrebonne and Ascension Parishes, Louisiana. His father, Stephen Minor, owned a plantation and a home in Natchez, Mississippi. Ayres P. Merrill was the U.S. Minister to Belgium. Collection contains formal portraits of William J. Minor, John Minor, Mrs. Minor (probably the wife of William J. Minor), and Ayres P. Merrill II. Included are photographs depicting Oakland, the Minor family home, and Elmscourt, the Merrill family home, also in Natchez. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3173.

Referenced in Guides: Sugar, Plantations, Women, Natchez, Mississippi

Minor, Katherine Surget, 1834-1926. Letter, 1867 Dec. 5. 1 item. Location Misc: S. Katherine Surget Minor was a native of Natchez and wife of Natchez plantation owner John Minor. The Minor and Surget families owned several plantations in Louisiana and Mississippi. Letter to C.E. [Charles E.] Leverich expresses Minor's dissatisfaction with an employee of the Freedman's Bureau and with economic conditions during Reconstruction in Mississippi. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4867.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Women, Natchez, Mississippi

Minor, Rebecca A. G. Papers, ca. 1860-1870. 786 pages (on microfilm). Location: Mss. Mf.:M. Wife of William J. Minor and executrix of his estate. Case files of Rebecca Minor against the United States, filed in the U.S. Court of Claims, for the seizure by Union military authorities of sugar, molasses, and supplies at Hollywood and Southdowns plantations, Terrebonne Parish, Louisiana. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 857.

Referenced in Guides: Sugar, Plantations, Women, Civil War

Mistick Krewe of Comus (Organization). Invitation, 1956. 2 items. Location: OS:M. Mardi Gras social organization. Invitation and admission card to Krewe of Comus' Grand Centennial Ball, February 14, 1956, addressed to Mrs. Berenice McKnight Irving. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4518.

Referenced in Guides: Women, New Orleans 1866-

Moffitt, Sarah C. Deed, 1867. 1 item. Location: Misc. Deed for sale of land in Lawrence County, Arkansas, by Uriah A. H. Smith. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1198.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Monette, James. Day book and diary, 1848-1863. 1 vol. Location: G:17, microfiche 2729. Cotton planter in Bastrop, Louisiana, and the son of Samuel Monette. Typescript of a day book and diary, including frequent references to what the women were doing on a given day. Available on microfilm 5750: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reel 16. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 590.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Women

Monroe, Ethel V. Papers, 1897, 1904-1961. 209 items, 21 vols. Location: 78:24. Medical nurse. Papers of Monroe pertaining to her work with nursing organizations. Included are two minute books of the New Orleans Sanitarium Alumnae Association, an organization made up of nurses who attended the New Orleans Sanitarium and Training School for Nurses. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1779.

Referenced in Guides: Women, New Orleans 1866-, Medicine

Montfort vs. Montfort document, 1842. 1 item (notarized copy). Location: Misc:M. Record of New Orleans Court case no. 14575 concerning a suit brought against Jean Jacques Montfort by his wife. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 315.

Referenced in Guides: New Orleans to 1861, Women, French

Montgomery, Joseph. Papers, 1806-1886. 233 items; 1 vol. Location: U:240, H:13, Mf:M. New Orleans cotton broker, owner of Belmont plantation near Port Gibson, Mississippi, and husband of Amelia Smylie. Papers of the Montgomery and Smylie families. Joseph's document financial matters; Amelia's written from Belmont relate to family matters, rumors of civil war, slaves, African American laborers, shortages, and plantation management during Reconstruction. Available on microfilm 6061: University Publication of America Records of Southern Plantation from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B, Part 4, Reel 10. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1019.

Moore, Alanson Wood and Family. Papers, 1854-1912. 5 items (on microfilm). Location: MSS.MF:M. Volumes consist of register of baptisms and marriages in the Winnsborough (Winnsboro) circuit, Louisiana Conference of Methodist E. Church (1875-1912), record book (1875-1912), and diary of Lura Moore (1894). Mss. 3889.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Moore, Alison. Papers, 1920-1984. 17 linear ft. Location: 12:1-13. Graduate of LSU and a librarian at LSU from 1929 to 1958. Moore was also a historian of the Civil War and the author of Old Bob Wheat, High Private; The Louisiana Tigers; And Sixty '60s. Papers include research materials, manuscripts, and related correspondence; grade books; and some business correspondence. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4108.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Education, LSU, Literature

Moore, Eddie. Musical composition, 1893. 1 item [microfilm copy and enlargement print]. Location: Misc.:M, Mss. Mf.:M. A mulatto resident of New Orleans, Louisiana, studying music at a conservatory in Stuttgart, Germany. Musical composition, 'Mazurka d'encore,' by Moore. The composition is part of an autograph album of Rosa Frantz Harper. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1288.

Moore, John, 1788-1867. Family Papers, 1831-1880. 47 items. Location: W:31. Sugar planter, judge, and politician of St. Mary, St. Landry, and Iberia parishes, Louisiana. Moore was a member of the Louisiana and U.S. House of Representatives; and built Magnolia Ridge and later owned Shadows-on-the-Teche in New Iberia. Papers consist of legal and business papers and correspondence of Moore, his daughters, and his sons-in-law. Included are bills of lading, crop production statements, slave documents, mortgages, and promissory notes. The collection also includes land grants (1860) for acreage in Opelousas, Louisiana. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2973.

Moore, Mary C. Demand draft, 1844 February 16. 1 item. Location: Misc:M. Demand draft for $1007.30 charged to the estate of David Weeks. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4542.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Morant, Josephine. Document, 1837. 1 item. Location: Misc. Resident of New Orleans. Power of attorney of Josephine Morant to John and Lubin Garnier. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 306.

Referenced in Guides: New Orleans to 1861, Women, French

Morgan Family Papers, 1772-1941 (bulk 1827-1911). 220 items, 7 vols. Location: Y:83, H:22. Planters and jurists of Baton Rouge and New Orleans. Thomas Gibbes Morgan was a lawyer and judge. James Morris Morgan was a lawyer, planter, and journalist involved in politics. Relatives include the Frellsen, Hicky, Erksine, and Bunyan families. Correspondence, genealogical notes, family histories, and other papers document the Morgan, Frellsen, and related families. An autobiography by Margaret Benson Erksine (1840) describes her captivity with Shawnee Indians in Kentucky. Included is a grounds survey of the Baton Rouge State Capitol (1847) and a contract for the construction of a levee on Fairview Plantation, St. Charles Parish, Louisiana. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2090.

Morgan family history, 1938. 4 items. Location: E:54. Typescript of the Morgan family history compiled in 1938 includes the diary (1854-1864) of Aurora Margueritte Morgan, daughter of Colonel Charles Morgan and Hyacinthe Allain of Morganza, La. Two photographic prints of portraits of Colonel Charles Morgan and his wife, Hyacinthe Allain, and a medal given from Miss Gaétan to Charles Morgan Abrams (1871) are also included. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1368, 1936, 2015

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Women

Morgan, Lucia Cameron, -1970. Papers, 1938-1970. 1 linear ft. Location: 77:, 102:. Professor of speech, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. Professional papers include correspondence (1959-1970), manuscripts of articles and books, teaching materials, research notes, and other materials, pertaining to classroom teaching, phonetics, regional accents, and speech training. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2804.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Education

Morgan, Zula Penny. Papers, 1900, 1961. 4 items. Location: Misc. M. Resident of Ruston, Louisiana. Two personal letters describe family matters in Calhoun and Ruston, La. (1900, 1961). Two early 20th-century photographs depict Frank Price's hardware store in Ruston, La., and probably the family of Frank E. Morgan Sr. and Zula Penny Morgan. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2940.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Business

Morrill, Nellie. Manuscript, ca. 1902. 1 item (9 typewritten pages). Location: Misc.:M. Manuscript of 'Pualeilani,' a story of the home of Hawaiian royalty, written by Morrill, a short time after the end of royal rule in Hawaii and when the Islands were in their initial stage as a territory of the United States. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1386.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Literature

Morris, Agnes. Papers, 1899-1902. 26 items; 1 printed vol. Location: A:2. Corresponding secretary of the Louisiana Federation of Women's Clubs and president of the Lesche Club of Natchitoches, Louisiana. Papers include correspondence, copies of constitutions, and reports from related members of the Louisiana Federation of Women's Clubs. Available on microfilm 5750: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reel 34. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 967.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Morris-Sibley Family Papers, 1846-1910 (bulk 1846-1879). 93 items; also available as a bound typescript. Location: A:2, H:3. Thomas Henry Morris moved from Wales to Louisiana and married Mary White Sibley in 1854. She was born in Rapides Parish, Louisiana, and her family owned Mount Elon Plantation. Papers consist of family correspondence, including that of Mary Wells Sibley and Mary White Morris; Civil War correspondence of Thomas H. Morris and others; and letters from the Morris sons describing life at a school in North Carolina, 1878-1879. Available on microfilm 5750: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reel 34. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 562.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Women, Civil War, Education

Moss, Martha, 1827-1859. Diary, 1853-1870. 1 volume, 3 items. Location J:20, MISC:M. Diary of Martha Moss, a New Orleans Sabbath school teacher. In it, she discusses her classes and students, including her disappointment that one of her students “has embraced the religion of the Romish church” (June 18, 1855). Moss also recounts her charitable work, shopping excursions in New Orleans, her reading habits, pieces she has written or plans to write for various periodicals, and the death of her younger sister in February 1855. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 5067.

Mossy, Mrs. Eliza. Document, 1841. 1 item. Location: Misc. Resident of New Orleans. Sale of slave (notarized copy) by Mrs. Mossy, wife of Toussaint Mossy, Jr., deceased, to Antoine Boudausiquie of St. John the Baptist Parish, Louisiana. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 307.

Mount Nebo Baptist Church (St. Tammany Parish, La.). Minutes, 1813-1860. 2 items [photocopies]. Location: A:110. Two volumes of church minutes. Volume 1 (1813-1833) also contains a list of members, articles of faith, minutes, and an index by Ethma Roberts Rush (1993). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4512.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Women

Mouton, Emma Gardner, d.1897. Scrapbook. 1836-1861, 1897. 4 items, 1 vol. Location: M:19. Newspaper clippings about the wedding of Emma Kitchell Gardner to Senator Alexander Mouton of Louisiana and his political career as governor. The scrapbook includes copies of sermons, poetry, and translations of compositions by Mrs. Mouton. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2362.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Politics, Women, Literature

Moyse-Gottlieb-Sommer Family Papers, 1886-1986 (bulk 1910-1960). 3 linear ft., 2 v. Location: U:317, OS:M, M:19. Members of the Moyse, Gottlieb, and Sommer families were predominantly merchants, businessmen, and bankers in Louisiana, primarily Baton Rouge. Correspondence, financial documents, photographs, printed items, scrapbooks, and writings reflect the personal and professional lives of a Jewish family from the 1880s to the 1980s. Central topics include Hermann Moyse Sr.'s involvement in the First World War and his employment at City National Bank, the educational activities of Ray and Lydie Sommer, and the family's association with Temple B'nai Israel. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4671.

Muggah-Glover-Guyther. Family Papers, 1844-1896, 1906 (bulk 1844-1852). 14 items. Location: UU:168. The Muggah, Glover, and Guyther families lived in Natchez, Mississippi and Pattersonville, Louisiana. Papers nclude correspondence, photocopies of newspaper clippings, and photographs. Correspondence consists mostly of letters between women discussing marriage, family life, domestic obligations, religion, social events, and customs. Mss. 4790.

Natchitoches Parish cemetery. Photographs, 1951 April 5. 2 black-and-white photographic prints. Location: MISC:N. One print shows the graves of Captain H. P. Gallien and P. W. Fredieu at Nativity Cemetery near Campti, La. The other print shows the graves of D. H. Veal and Minnie Ballard Veal at Catholic Cemetery in Natchitoches, La. Mss. 5337.

Referenced in Guides: Women

National Society of the Colonial Dames of America in the State of Louisiana. Shreveport Committee compilation.1724-1829. 2 ms. vols. [photocopies]. Location: 41:39. Baptismal records of the Immaculate Conception Catholic Church of Natchitoches, Louisiana, compiled by the Shreveport Committee of the National Society of the Colonial Dames of America in the State of Louisiana. Included are photographs of portraits of three bishops of Natchitoches: Augustus M. Martin, Francis Xavier Leray, and Anthony Durier. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1720.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Women, French

Nesom, Anne Reiley. Notebooks, 1907-1951. 7 volumes. Location: 51:1. Native of East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana and poet. Notebooks consist of typewritten poems (published and unpublished) and indices to them; some prose works; handwritten notations; outlines for Nesom's poetry appreciation class; and newspaper clippings and other printed materials pertaining to friends and other interests. Mss. 4225.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Women, Education, Literature

New Orleans Academy of Science. Papers, 1852, 1869-1870. 7 items. Location: Misc.:N. Minutes of meetings tell of the appointment of committees, reports presented at the meetings, speeches, and other matters. Included is a stock certificate of the New Orleans Mechanics Society and a land transfer by Martha Adams to Mrs. William C. Adams. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 323.

New Orleans District Nurses' Association Records,1892-1968. 6.5 linear feet, 12 manuscript volumes Location: R:41-45, OS:N. Collection reflects the history and organization of the New Orleans District Nurses' Association as well as the activities of the Louisiana State Organization for Public Health Nursing and the National Organization for Public Health Nursing. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1547, 2288, 2372.

Referenced in Guides: Women, New Orleans 1866-, Medicine

New Orleans League of Nursing Education Records, 1936-1952. Approximately 800 items. Location: 124:. Organization affiliated with the National League of Nursing Education and the Louisiana League of Nursing Education. Records consist of correspondence, reports, by-laws, and minutes of the New Orleans League; programs and pamphlets from conventions; programs and printed material of the Louisiana State Nurses Association; and items related to continuing education. Included are materials pertaining to a report prepared for the National Nursing Council by Esther Lucile Brown entitled 'Nursing for the Future.' For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1608.

Referenced in Guides: Women, New Orleans 1866-, Education

New Orleans miscellaneous documents, 1810-1879. 4 items [photocopies]. Location: MISC:N. Documents include a portion of a legal document (1810) signed by Charles Laveaux, father of Marie Laveaux; a slave sale document bearing signature of Marie Laveaux (1838); and two documents pertaining to property on Dauphin Street. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3147.

New Orleans opera-theatre scrapbook, 1899-1937 (bulk 1913-1914). 8 items, 1 ms. vol. Location: M:20, MISC:M. Scrapbook contains programs for operas, plays, and benefit performances given at the French Opera House and at New Orleans theatres. Loose items include programs for plays given at the Tulane Theatre and for Sarah Bernhardt's engagement at the Dauphine. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 794.

Referenced in Guides: Performing arts, Women, New Orleans 1866-

New Orleans Unionist Civil War letter, 1864 April 8. 1 item. Location: MISC:N. Letter from woman named Emma in New Orleans to her grandmother. Author refers to difficulties of "Henry's" office job, which involves discharging soldiers. Also mentioned are the author's children (one of whom sings the "Star Spangled Banner" and pretends to "kill Rebels.") and debt. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3916.

Newell, Robert Aiken, b. 1819. Papers, 1841-1887 (bulk 1863-1864). 250 items. Location: U:235, 65:. Irish immigrant and owner of Oak Grove, Cheneyville, Louisiana. The collection consists chiefly of personal papers of Newell and family. Personal correspondence of the 1850s and 1860s reflects the plantation and social activities of the Newell, Forman, and Keary families. Some letters were written from Newell to his wife during a trip to his home in Ireland (1859). Civil War letters from family in the 16th Louisiana Infantry and 8th Louisiana Heavy Artillery at camps in the state discuss the quality of Louisiana conscripts, provisions, the Red River campaign, Vicksburg, and deserters. Available on microfilm 5735: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reel 14. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 653.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Women, Civil War

Nichols, Irby C. Family Papers, 1862-1972. 15 linear ft. Location: 45:15-20, 44:26-27. LSU professor of mathematics. His wife, Pauline Wright Nichols, studied art and design at Newcomb School of Art and the Chicago Art Institute. After they married she continued her design work. Correspondence, printed items, financial papers, legal documents, memoirs, journals, pedagogical materials, and photographs document the professional, business, and personal lives of the Nichols family, primarily Irby C. and Pauline Nichols. Sketches and other graphic materials reflect the artistic career of Pauline Nichols. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3798.

Nobles Family Papers, 1825-1990 (bulk 1863-1876). 0.3 linear ft. Location: V:1. The Nobles and related families were farmers of Louisiana, Texas and Alabama. Levi Nobles was a Confederate soldier with the 57th Alabama Infantry, married to Mary Elizabeth Massey. The collection relates to the Nobles and related Henry and Massey families. Early papers consist of photocopies and transcriptions of Henry family correspondence and legal documents (1825-1851). Papers include a receipt for the slave, Isaac (March 6, 1835). Civil War and post-war letters are those of the Nobles family, written primarily to Mary E. Nobles and Lou "Babe" Nobles. They relate Levi Nobles' wartime activities and his instructions to Mary on the use of their land (1863). Letters also relay condolences to Mary on the death of Levi (July 5, 15, 18, 1863). Post war letters are written from family and friends in Texas and her brother in Alabama. They discuss family matters, health and crop production. Mary's brother comments on the participation of African Americans in the presidential election (Dec. 9, 1876) and her sister Sarah Smith comments on race relations in Texas (April 1878). Several letters relate to the courtship of Lou "Babe" Nobles. The collection also contains Robert Henry family genealogical material (1979, 1990, undated). Mss. 5163.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Civil War, African Americans

Norton, Caroline. Letter. Circa 1876. 1 letter. Location: Misc.:N. Caroline Norton was an English feminist, social reformer, and author of the early and mid-nineteenth century.  In 1877, she married Sir W. Stirling Maxwell of Keir House, Dunblane in Scotland.  A letter from Caroline Norton in Edinburgh discusses an original musical composition.  She provides her future address as Keir House in Dunblane.  Mss. 822.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Pages