Women

This guide describes manuscript collections documenting women's history in the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections at LSU. It includes the papers of women, women's organizations, family papers with significant bodies of women's papers in them, and other collections that document women's history in one way or another.

LSU is fortunate because it collected women's papers very early, perhaps without systematically trying to do so. Women's voices, often buried in plantation collections and Civil War papers, have emerged from obscurity only in recent decades. Researchers coming to LSU can study the letters and diaries of plantation mistresses and teachers, the papers of women writers, and the papers of black women, among other sources. A number of our women's collections have been recently microfilmed by University Publications of America in its series on Southern Women and their Families, making these collections more widely accessible.

Displaying 421 - 480 of 768. Show 5 | 10 | 20 | 40 | 60 results per page.

Louise, Countess of Albany. Letters, circa 1802-1820. 19 items. Location: 31:. Louise, Countess of Albany, was the wife of exiled Prince Charles Edward Stuart, "Bonnie Prince Charlie," Jacobite claimant to the British throne. Letters written to Elizabeth Cavendish, the Duchess of Devonshire, document the Countess of Albany's opinions on major political topics and current events, including Napoleon's exile and the political situation in Italy following Napoleon's occupation. The letters also discuss Louise's daily life and activities, and many of the two women's friends, who include notable figures such as Cardinal Ercole Consalvi, Madame de Staël, Lady Charlotte Bury, and Lord Byron. There is also one partial letter written to an unknown correspondent. Part of the George DeForest Collection. Mss. 1350.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Women, French

Louisiana bonds and notes collection, 1832-1939. 34 items. Location: Misc.:L, OS:L. Bonds, notes, and warrants of the state of Louisiana, including some issued by Citizens' Bank of Louisiana and Charity Hospital of New Orleans, for purposes such as printing, the construction of the Louisiana State Capitol, and the support of Confederate veterans and their widows. See the online catalog for a more detailed description of the items in the collection. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 893, 1187, 1196, 1365, 3438, 3660.

Louisiana Association of Deans of Women. Records, 1931-1984. .4 linear ft. Location: 94:64. State organization founded in 1931, affiliated with National Association of Women Deans and Counselors. Minutes, membership records, reports, resolutions, correspondence, and biographical information. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4652.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Education

Louisiana Association of Parliamentarians. Records, 1959-1991. Location: 79:. Non-profit association of parliamentarians that was chartered in 1960 by the National Association of Parliamentarians. Collection consists of correspondence, reports, minutes, convention information, newsletters, membership lists, financial records, and a scrapbook. Unprocessed. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4555.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Women

Louisiana Federation of Business and Professional Women's Clubs. Records, 1928-1994. 9.5 linear ft. Location: 112:21-28, 91:69-70, 111:22-23. Organization affiliated with the National Federation of Business and Professional Women's Clubs. Minutes, correspondence, reports, directories, and quarterly newsletter, The Pelican. Subjects include women in business, women in the professions, and pay equity for women. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4471.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Business

Louisiana Governor's Conference On Women. Imprints, 1976. 9 items. Location: E:Imprints. Imprints from Governor's Conference on Women (Baton Rouge, June 4-5, 1976) include programs and materials about day-care, rape, employment, and artist Caroline Durieux. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3103.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Louisiana Governor's Conference on Women. Packet, 1976. 8 items. Location: E:Imprints. Packet includes facts sheets and program. For further information, see online cata.og. Mss. 3103.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Louisiana photograph collection, 1921-1937, undated 19 items. Location: E:. Collection Includes images of Thibodaux, La., Crowley, La., the aftermath of a 1933 tornado in Minden, La., the 1921 Louisiana Constitutional Convention, a Farmer's Dairy Tour with Huey Long, and a ribbon cutting for the Long/Allen Bridge in Shreveport, 1933, and a photo of a Caroline Durieux drawing of a woman's head (1937). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3354.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Women, Baton Rouge, Long Family

Louisiana Postcard Collection, 1904-1951. 507 items. Location: E:65 (short shelf). Postcards depict subjects, especially churches, schools, and some plantations in towns and regions of Louisiana. Louisiana towns and regions best represented in the collection include Abita Springs, Alexandria, Baton Rouge, Bogalusa, Convent, Covington, Donaldsonville, Franklin, Hammond, Houma, Jennings, Lake Charles, Mandeville, Monroe, Morgan City, New Orleans, Plaquemine, Saint Francisville, Shreveport, and Thibodaux. Included is a photograph depicting three women in front of a plantation house. The photograph is labeled "Alice Emilie Knapp, Forrest Home." For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3645.

Louisiana State Nurses' Association. Records, 1904-1970. 4,984 items, 17 linear ft. Location: 95:1-16. Correspondence, scrapbooks, reports, minutes, clippings, and other records pertaining to the Louisiana State Nurses Association, its committees and sections, and its relations with the American Nurses Association. Scrapbook 22 (1904-1925) records participation and activities of nurses in World War I. Unprocessed. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1545, 1893, 2573, 2631.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Medicine, 20th Century Wars

Louisiana State University. Collection. Women's Faculty Club. Minutes, 1950-1961. 2 ms. vols. Location: O:13. Scrapbooks contain minutes of meetings, newspaper clippings about club activities, and other materials pertaining to the club. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2623.

Referenced in Guides: Women, LSU

Louisiana Women's Political Caucus. Records, 1975-1990. 0.5 linear ft. Location: 91:70. Reports, minutes, manuals, newsletters, clippings, and other papers documenting the activities and political positions of the caucus on issues including women's rights, reproductive rights, and abortion. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4580.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Women

Louvell, Mrs. Auguste. Papers, 1811-1859. 10 items. Location: Misc. Resident of Brest, France. Papers include a bill, invitation, letter from banking house, business cards, a protest of a note of Peter Desanes, and settlement of accounts upon the dissolution of the partnership of Duchamp and Peillon. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 233.

Referenced in Guides: Women, French

Lowery, June Amy. Manuscript, 1976. 1 ms. vol., 12 items. Location: W:97, Misc.:L. Author and resident of Delano Plantation, St. Landry Parish, Louisiana. Collection consists of manuscript with original illustrations of the children's book "Ah Ain't Got Nobody" (Opelousas, 1976), and photolith plates used in printing the book. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3068.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Literature

Lowry, K. B. Notice, 1862. 1 item. Location: Misc. Union lieutenant commander of the U.S. Gunboat Sciota in the Civil War. Copy of a public notice issued by Lowry threatening summary justice on James Humphreys or any member 'of his band of guerrillas' damaging the property of Mrs. Burbank, St. John the Baptist Parish, Louisiana. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 753.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Women, Civil War

Loyd, Gladys Means, d. 1984. Family Papers, 1904-1975. 462 items, 9 ms. vols., 1 printed vol. Location: UU:215, P:18, 99:L. Schoolteacher of Ida (Caddo Parish) and St. Joseph (Tensas Parish), Louisiana. Papers include correspondence and genealogical notes on Ida, Louisiana, families; photograph albums on plantations, including Hundred Oaks Plantation in Baton Rouge; and scrapbooks on the history of Ida and Tensas Parish. Collection also includes ledgers of the Ida Hardware Store owned by James Taylor Means. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3224.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Women, Education, Business, Baton Rouge

LSU's first 75 years culled exhibition photographs, circa 1883-1935. 3 copy prints. Location: 65:5. This collection consists of three copy prints that were not used in the "LSU's First 75 Years" exhibition in 1985: the LSU Co-ed Club, 1908-09; President William Preston Johnston, 1880-83; and President James Monroe Smith, 1930-39. Mss. 3993.

Referenced in Guides: Women, LSU

Lusher, Alice Lamberton. Diploma, 1876 June 3. 1 item. Location: OS:L. First principal of Sophie Wright School, teacher for over fifty years in New Orleans, Louisiana, and wife of Louisiana educator and superintendent of education Robert M. Lusher. Diploma issued by the Peabody Normal Seminary of New Orleans to Miss Alice Lamberton. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3705.

Referenced in Guides: Women, New Orleans 1866-, Education

Luzenberger, Madeleine. Land sale, 1855 Nov. 13. 1 item. Location: Misc.: L. A land conveyance for the sale of property in New Orleans sold Madeleine Luzenberger, widow of F. P. Leibel, to Michel Lorenz. In French. Mss. 5270.

Referenced in Guides: New Orleans to 1861, Women

Lyon-Coxe, Mary. Letter, 1808. 1 letter. Location: MISC: L. Mary Lyon-Coxe, born Mary Hamilton, was the widow of Captain James Lyon who died in 1775 while serving in the 35th regiment of foot in the British military.  This is a personal letter from Mary Lyon-Coxe dated October 14, 1808 and addressed to "your Royal Highness" offering the use of her cottage within five miles of Portsmouth by Gosport and nine miles by Portchester. The letter also mentions that her son, Lieutenant Colonel Lyon, is well and serving in Portugal. Mss. 822.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Lyons, Mary E. Notebook, 1855-1866. 1 vol. Location: G:16. Resident of Clinton and New Orleans, Louisiana. Notebook containing historical notes and poems written at Bienvenue Seminary, Fredericksburg, Virginia (1855), and newspaper clippings of poems (1864-1866). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 269.

Lytle, Andrew D. Collection. 386 items. Location: 11:11. Baton Rouge photographer. Collection consists of photographs of gunboats; buildings in and around Baton Rouge and Clinton, Louisiana during and after the Civil War; Louisiana State University's old Baton Rouge campus; the old Louisiana State Penitentiary; inauguration of Governor Murphy Foster; floats and participants in the Baton Rouge firemen's parades; Centenary College; and Silliman Female Collegiate Institute. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 893, 1254.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Women, Civil War, Education, Baton Rouge, LSU

MacKowen, John C. (John Clay). Papers, 1846-1966 (bulk 1897-1901). 103 items, 3 printed vols. Location: E:54; OS:M. Planter and physician of Jackson, Louisiana, and owner of a property in Anacapri, Italy. Letters concern the education of John MacKowen and his brothers in New England schools, MacKowen's Confederate service during the Civil War, the education of African Americans by plantation women, and the MacKowen property in Italy. Some letters and papers in Italian and French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2465.

Madden, Roberta M. Papers, 1968-2010. 11 linear ft. Location: 91:7-12. Baton Rouge-based businesswoman and activist. Papers include correspondence, subject files, publications, and other records related to her professional career and tenure as a leading local, state, and national advocate for women's rights and other progressive social and political causes. Mss. 5022.

Magruder, Eliza L. Diary, 1846-1857. 2 vols., 1 typescript. Location: G:17, vault:18, microfiche 2729. A native of Maryland, Eliza Magruder (1803-1876), went to live at Arundo, the Jefferson County, Miss., plantation of her aunt and uncle, Olivia Magruder Dunbar (1786-1859) and Joseph Dunbar (1773-1846) around 1839. Arundo was located in Church Hill, Miss., near Natchez. After the death of Olivia Dunbar, Eliza Magruder moved to Oakland Plantation, the home of her aunt Lavinia Magruder Turpin (1786-1867) near Washington, Miss. In the diary, she comments on local social events and amusements, visiting friends, births and deaths, and treatment, care of, and unrest of slaves. She also records the weather, illness and death among slaves and friends and medical attention she provided, as well as her reading, sewing, and religious life, including comments on minsters and sermons she heard. In addition, she relates the activities of her aunt in running the plantation after the death of her husband. Available on microfilm 5750: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reel 34. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 654.

Maison D'Education pour les Demoiselles invoice, 1856 Jan. 31. 1 invoice. Location: Misc. Maison D'Education pour les Demoiselles, a girls' finishing school, was operated by Mme. K. Desrayaux in New Orleans, La. This invoice records the itemized expenses for the Melles Lyons for the month of January 1856. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4400.

Referenced in Guides: New Orleans to 1861, Women, Education, French

Mandeville, Francisca D. Document, 1798. 1 item. Location: Misc:M. Widow of Don Antonio de Marigny Mandeville of New Orleans. Inventory, a notarized copy in Spanish, of property held by Francisca Dupard Mandeville, widow of Don Antonio de Marigny Mandeville of New Orleans. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 128.

Referenced in Guides: Spanish, Women

Mann, Lawrence. Papers, 1862-2013 (bulk 1890-1930, 1946, 1952).1 linear ft. Location: U:309-310, OS:M, Vault. LSU alumnus and retired member of the LSU engineering faculty. Collection is comprised of correspondence related to the relationship of Lawrence Mann, Jr. and Suzanne Alcus before their marriage, and genealogical material and family photographs of their families. Correspondence and photographs of 1945 and 1946 relate to Mann’s military service during World War II. Mss. 5161.

Referenced in Guides: Women, LSU, Jewish Community, 20th Century Wars

Marchand, Earl M. (Earl Maxwell). Family certificates, 1922-1935. 12 items. Location: OS:M. Earl Marchand was born in Natchez, Mississippi to Joseph R. and Julia Marchand. Earl married Manila M. Martin, and their children were Joy Maxine and Nolan Douglas. Certificates include birth records, cradle roll certificates, and reading course certificates for Joy and Nolan. Mss. 4184.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Education

Marcou, Adeline. Papers, 1835. 3 items. Location: Misc.:M.Widow of Francois Marcou of New Orleans, Laouisiana. Papers consists of a petition to sell slaves belonging to the estate of Francois Marcou, with authorization by probate court; recorder of mortgages certificate; and certificate of auctioneers with a newspaper clipping, in French, announcing the auction. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 281.

Marigny, Francoise Delisle Duparc. Document, 1798. 1 item. Location: Misc. :M. Inventory (notarized copy) of property of Francisca Dupard Mandeville, widow of Don Antonio de Marigny Mandeville, New Orleans. In Spanish. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 128.

Referenced in Guides: Spanish, New Orleans to 1861, Women

Marilla, Esmond Linworth, 1900-. Papers, 1957-1968. 27 items. Location: UU:130, UU:147. Professor of English at LSU. Collection consisting chiefly of manuscripts, draft copies, revisions, page proofs, and reprints of works written or edited by Marilla. Included are onines of works on John Milton, Henry Vaughan, and John Keats. Also included are reprints of reviews of works on Henry Vaughan published in The Journal of English and German Philology (1958-1960). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1985, 2151, 2327.

Referenced in Guides: Women, LSU, Literature

Marionneaux, Marie Doralise. Certificate, 1855. 1 item. Location: Misc. Copy of birth and baptismal certificate of Marie Doralise Marionneaux (baptized in 1815) from the registers of births and baptisms of St. Gabriel's Church, Iberville Parish, Louisiana, 1855. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 893.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Women, French

Marshall, Maria Chotard. Family Papers, 1819-1868. 48 items. Location: S:126. Family of businessmen and planters whose branches settled in Alabama, Georgia, Mississippi, and Louisiana. Letters of Sarah Foster Chotard to her daughter Maria Louisa Marshall, and Maria's to her sister Eliza Gould, discuss family, legal, and business affairs, social life, travel, and Civil War experiences. Memoirs by Eliza Gould deal with family history. Collection includes a biographical sketch of David Hunt, a wealthy planter of Natchez, Mississippi, and his wife Anne Ferguson Hunt. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3256.

Marston, Henry, 1794-1884. Family Papers, 1820-1938 (bulk 1850-1890). 2,104 items, 59 vols. Location: U:220-222, G:19. Planters of East Feliciana Parish and Red River Parish, Louisiana. Collection includes diaries; plantation records; legal documents; personal correspondence; bank records; and Civil War papers. Diaries comment on public health, yellow fever epidemic, race relations, labor and the political participation of African Americans. Other volumes record activities of the Clinton & Port Hudson Railroad and the Silliman Female Collegiate Institute. Papers of son , Bulow, reflect his activities as planter, steamboat operator, and warehouse owner. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm 5735 and 6061: University Publications of America, Confederate Military Manuscripts, Series B, Reel 13 and Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B, Part 2, Reel 14, or For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 624.

Martin, Leonard, 1908-, interviewee. Oral history interview, 1993. 1 sound cassette (1.5 hours), Index (4 pages). Location: L:4700.0281. Sugarcane farmer and great-grandson of a slave, Martin was a resident of Four Corners, Louisiana, an unincorporated community south of Franklin, St. Mary Parish, Louisiana. Martin's account of the sale of his great-grandfather as a slave along with descriptions of his education; his father's career as the first African American schoolteacher in the area; work in sugarcane farming; and a dance-hall operator, Alice LeBaude. Martin also describes forms of transportation; the marriage of his white maternal grandmother to a Native American; his own marriage; work in Texas; the use of drugs in Four Corners; and his religion. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0281.

Mason, Polly, 1855-1974, interviewee. Oral history interview, 1971. 1 sound cassette (45 minutes), 10 pages. Location: L:4700.0041. Former slave, born at Ulster Plantation near Alexandria, Louisiana. Mason was 115 years old at the time of the interview, and was residing in Woodworth, Louisiana. Mason describes her master, Judge Henry Boyce, and her life on his cotton plantation in Boyce, Louisiana. Included are her memories of Union soldiers in Louisiana during the Civil War and her sadness upon the assassination of President Lincoln. Mason also recalls the establishment of a station for the Texas and Pacific Railroad in the area, and her first view of an airplane. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0041.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Women, Civil War, African Americans

Mather, Louise. Notebook, 1875. 1 vol. Location: M:20. School notebook containing essays. In French and English. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 794.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Education, French

Mather, Mary. Music collection, ca. 1860-1890. 3 vols. Location: H:11. Includes three bound volumes of sheet music for piano, including waltzes, polkas, and popular melodies. Most of the sheet music was printed in New Orleans. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4466.

Mathews family letters, 1870-1877. 3 items. Location: C:61. Residents of New Orleans. Family letters from Charlotte Ann Mathews and John Mathews; and a family letter to R. Bowman Mathews from R. S. Floyd returning from Paris, France. For further information, see onine catalog. Mss. 1209.

Referenced in Guides: Women, New Orleans 1866-

Mathews, Charles Lewis, 1824-1864. Family Papers, 1797-1898 (bulk 1840-1872). 1908 items; 2 ms. vols. Location: U:224-227, OS:M. Family of Greenwood Plantation, West Feliciana Parish. Charles Mathews was the son of George and Harriet Flower Mathews, husband of Penelope Stewart. Papers document the family's plantations, managed by women: Greenwood, Georgia (Raceland), Coco Bend, and Chaseland, Rapides Parish. Included are factors' statements, slave records, overseer's letters; freedmen's contracts; and Civil War soldiers' letters. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 2, Reels 14-17. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 910.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Women, Civil War, African Americans

Mathews-Ventress-Lawrason Family Papers, 1770-1934. (bulk 1797-1798; 1820-1933). 3 linear feet. Location: UU: 255-258, OS:M. Families were cotton and sugar planters of West Feliciana, Lafourche, and Pointe Coupee Parishes, Louisiana. 19th century papers reflect planting activities of Mathews family; 20th century materials reflect real estate management and investment activities of the Ventress and Lawrason families. Papers include personal and business correspondence, printed items, newspaper clippings, financial records, and legal documents. Financial papers centering on Harriet Flower Mathews, and records of legal work for Penelope Stewart Mathews. Ventress-Lawrason correspondence primarily addressed to Sallie Mathews Ventress, including series of letters from cousin Mrs. M. M. Slaughter. Also legal documents for land purchased by Sallie Mathews Ventress. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4358.

Mayfield, Mary Ann Colvin. Biography, 1937. 1 item [typewritten copy]. Location: Misc. Resident of Ruston, Louisiana. Biography of Mary Ann Colvin Mayfield of Ruston, Louisiana, written by her granddaughter, Gertrude Mayfield Brown. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1129.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Literature

Mayo, Robert H. (Robert Henry). Family Papers, 1841-1935 (bulk 1841-1893). 44 items, 5 vols. (1 ms. vol., 4 printed vols.). Location: UU:126, Misc:M. Mayo moved his family by wagon train from Virginia to Lamar County, Texas, in 1853, where they operated a farm in Lamar County. A relative, Marion Lewis Mayo, was a teacher in Uniontown, Alabama. Family correspondence includes letters from Marion Lewis Mayo and Robert Mayo's wife Maria Louisa Mayo. Miscellaneous items include the death certificate of E. H. Mayo, a labor contract with freedmen, and a photograph of Robert and Maria Mayo. Printed volumes include works on infidelity, history, geography, and poetry. Also included is a memorandum book of James A. Pleasants, a graduate of the University of Pennsylvania Medical School. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1789, 1982, 2576.

Referenced in Guides: Women, African Americans, Medicine, Literature

McCants, Dorothea Olga. Manuscript, 1970. 1 item. Location: UU:183. Member of the Roman Catholic teaching order of the Daughters of the Cross and teacher at St. Vincent's Academy, Shreveport, Louisiana. Printer's copy of her book, "They Came to Louisiana: Letters of a Catholic Mission, 1854-1882" (Baton Rouge, 1970). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2694.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Women, Education, Baton Rouge, Literature

McCants, Dorothea Olga. Papers, 1970. 1 item (117 sheets). Location: U:108. Member of the Roman Catholic teaching order of the Daughters of the Cross and teacher at St. Vincent's Academy, Shreveport, Louisiana. Corrected galley proof of her book, They Came to Louisiana: Letters of a Catholic Mission, 1854-1882 (Baton Rouge, 1970). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2519.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Women, Education, Baton Rouge, Literature

McCay, Judith C. Penn. Slave bill of sale, 1835 Nov. 23. 1 bill of sale. Location: MISC:M. A notarized slave bill of sale for a male slave named William, who was sold to Martin G. Penn by Judith C. Penn McCay of St. Tammany Parish, La. Mss. 5328.

Referenced in Guides: Women, African Americans

McClellan, Ellen Marcy. Letter, 1875 March 24. 1 item. Location: Misc.:M. Wife of General George B. McClellan. Letter of condolence from McClellan to Mrs. Cowan expressing her shock and grief over the death of Cowan's brother, General Robert O. Tyler. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2115.

Referenced in Guides: Women

McCollam, Andrew and Ellen. Papers, 1839-1867. 3 vols. [typescript copies]. Location: H:1. Andrew McCollam was a surveyor-planter of Ascension and Assumption parishes, Louisiana. Plantation diary (1842-1851) of Ellen McCollam pertains to family life, domestic activities, general plantation matters, and attendance at the theater. Travel diary (1866-1867) of Andrew McCollam contains entries for a trip to Brazil. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 550.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Performing arts, Women

McCowan, Jane. Photographs, 1905-1996, undated (bulk: 1950-1970). 12 linear ft. 156:1-6; 145:61. Photographic prints, negatives, transparencies, advertisements, and publications related to Jane McCowan’s career as a professional photographer. Photographs include images from McCowan's work as a photographer at Macy's in the 1950's, as well as fashion shoots in Paris and for other advertising campaigns. Exhibit photographs include copy prints used for the 1996 LSU Special Collections exhibit, "A Life of Seeing Beautiful: The Photography of Jane McCowan." Mss. 4645.


 

 

Referenced in Guides: Women, LSU

McDaniel-Gill. Letters, 1849-1859. 12 items. Location: Misc.:M. Caroline McDaniel and her planter husband Robert D. Gill. Letters written in Mississippi and Louisiana relate to western emigration, family life, and economic difficulties. The last letter by Gill to Caroline's mother announces his wife's death. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3416.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Women

McDonald, Charles. Family photographs, circa 1850s. 3 items (1 tintype, 2 ambrotypes). Location: 65:2. Two ambrotypes and one tintype of Charles McDonald, his wife, and his daughter and son-in-law, Mr. & Mrs. Pictures, of Union and Jackson parishes, Louisiana. For further information, see onine catalog. Mss. 1455.

Referenced in Guides: Women

McGrath, John, 1835-1924. Family Papers, 1785-1924. 208 items; 15 ms. vols.; 9 printed vols. Location: S:27; O:21; OS:M; 99:M; Mss. Mf.:M. Journalist who worked on the New Orleans Picayune and the Baton Rouge Gazette. McGrath was a Confederate veteran who later founded the Baton Rouge Daily Truth and Weekly Truth. Papers include correspondence (among it McGrath's Civil War letters to his wife); an anonymous Confederate soldier's diary; legal documents; and scrapbooks relating to the interests and activities of McGrath's three daughters. Collection also includes accounts for St. Joseph's Church in Baton Rouge. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3281.

McIlhenny, John A. Collection, 1889-1940 (bulk 1901-1912). 2.5 linear ft., 2 printed volumes, 1 oil painting. Location: T:100; OS:M; Vault:84, 98; Art Coll:HA16A. Son of Tabasco sauce inventor Edmund McIlhenny, Louisiana Legislature state senator and representative, member of Theodore Roosevelt's Rough Riders, and friend of Theodore and Edith K. Roosevelt. Collection consists of materials that document the friendship between John A. McIlhenny and the Roosevelts and McIlhenny's involvement with the Rough Riders, including correspondence, printed materials, photographic items, artwork, and artifacts. Mss. 4746.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Women, New Orleans 1866-

McLaws, William Raymond, b. 1818. Papers, 1831-1919 (bulk 1840-1880). 59 items, 50 ms. vols. Location: W:17, P:2-3. Lawyer and judge of Augusta, Georgia. Papers consist of correspondence, notes, and printed items. Journals contain diary entries describing daily personal and professional activities, social life, contemporary political events and figures, and travel in the South and to Washington, D.C. Legal notebooks and memorandum books record McLaw's attitudes toward legal decisions. An autograph album of Mollie Morgan and a scrapbook are included. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2967.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Women

McLean, Shirley, 1941-, interviewee. Oral history interview, 1993. 1 sound cassette (45 minutes), index (3 pages). Location: L:4700.218. Resident of Four Corners, an unincorporated community south of Franklin, St. Mary Parish, Louisiana, and daughter of Louis Comeaux, sugarcane farmer. McLean relates her childhood memories of life on a sugarcane farm, work and recreation on the farm, sugarcane harvesting, local schooling, relations with African Americans, and French language usage. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4700.218.

Referenced in Guides: Sugar, Women, African Americans

McMurran, Alie Austen, d. 1899. Journal, 1856-1889 (bulk 1856-1878). 1 v. Location: G:18. This typescript copy of the journal of Alice "Alie" Austen McMurran recounts her marriage in Maryland and subsequent life in antebellum Natchez, Miss.; her life in Natchez and Maryland during the Civil War; political and social events at the close of the war; and family affairs in Mississippi and Maryland during the three years after the war and sporadically recorded through 1878. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4304.

McMurran-Austen Family Papers, 1846-1878; 1942, undated (bulk:1856-1868). 0.6 linear feet. Location: U:298, OS:M. John T. McMurran family of Melrose in Natchez, owners of Louisiana plantations, son John, Jr., married Alie Austen of Maryland. Primarily correspondence related to family matters, the Civil War, home life, politics, plantation operation, and attitudes toward federal forces. Newspapers clippings, cartes de visites of family members, a household inventory, J. T. McMurran, Jr.'s discharge from the Confederate army in 1862, and military passes are also present. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4795.

McPheeters, Gabriel P. Papers, 1827-1862, (1862). 23 items. Location: Misc:M. Lieutenant Colonel in the Louisiana Infantry during the Civil War. Correspondence to McPheeters relates news of friends, family, and the war. Letters from his brother report on war events from Virginia. Papers also include a memorial of John P. Walworth (undated), photocopies of obituaries of family members, and a biographical sketch of Martha Willis Dunbar. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3813.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Civil War

McQuiston, Nelson, 1897-, interviewee. Nelson and Lottie McQuiston oral history interview, 1979. 1 sound cassette (1.5 hours), Index 2 (pages). Location: L:4700.0044. Nelson and Lottie McQuiston married in 1921 and lived in the Atchafalaya Basin area of Louisiana. They resided in Baker, Louisiana, at the time of this interview. They discuss geographical changes in the Atchafalaya Basin since 1929; the Atchafalaya spillway; lumbering in the area; local treatment of illnesses; residents shopping for groceries and clothing; mail service; education; boat building; and housing. They also discuss births; weddings and funerals; crops and livestock; fishing; and picking and ginning Spanish moss. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0044.

Referenced in Guides: Transportation, Women, Education, Medicine

Pages