Women

This guide describes manuscript collections documenting women's history in the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections at LSU. It includes the papers of women, women's organizations, family papers with significant bodies of women's papers in them, and other collections that document women's history in one way or another.

LSU is fortunate because it collected women's papers very early, perhaps without systematically trying to do so. Women's voices, often buried in plantation collections and Civil War papers, have emerged from obscurity only in recent decades. Researchers coming to LSU can study the letters and diaries of plantation mistresses and teachers, the papers of women writers, and the papers of black women, among other sources. A number of our women's collections have been recently microfilmed by University Publications of America in its series on Southern Women and their Families, making these collections more widely accessible.

Displaying 301 - 360 of 768. Show 5 | 10 | 20 | 40 | 60 results per page.

Hebert, Raphael. Family Papers, 1827-1960 (bulk: 1861-1960). Size: 3.5 linear ft. Location: S:137-140, OS:H. Raphael Hebert family of West Baton Rouge and Iberville Parishes (La.). Collection is primarily papers of Raphael Hebert and his children Joseph Guy, Noel, and Marguerite, a school teacher. Correspondence, financial / legal papers, personal papers, printed items. And photographic materials reflect the family's involvement in civic, educational, and religious affairs and includes letters from Melanie Hebert while at student at St. Basil's in Plaquemine in the 1870s, as well as a few Civil War letters. Also included are records from St. John the Baptist Catholic Church in Brusly, La. For further information, see online catalog. Mss 4769.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Women, Civil War, Education, Baton Rouge, French

Heininey, Anna. My happy trip to New Orleans, Louisiana, 1986. 1 item (21 leaves) [photocopy]. Location: 28:Box 732, folder 39. Resident of New York City. Heininey's handwritten and hand-illustrated account of a trip to New Orleans for the 1986 Mardi Gras. She was 75 years old at the time. The account details planning arrangements, experiences during Mardi Gras, and her return to New York City. Part of the Russell B. Long Papers. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3700.

Referenced in Guides: Women, New Orleans 1866-, Literature

Hennen-Jennings Family. Papers, 1803-1918 (bulk 1850-1870). 216 items; 25 vols. (1 ms. Vol., 24 printed vols.). Location: U:157, Mss.Mf:H. Alfred Hennen was a civil lawyer, a Presbyterian, a professor of constitutional law in New Orleans, and a director of the old Bank of Louisiana. Daughter, Ann Maria, married Needler Jennings, Confederate officer. Ann Maria Jennings' paprers include letters, an Italian passport, and a pardon signed by Andrew Johnson. Other papers include personal and family correspondence of Alfred Hennen and Needler R. Jennings and Civil War letters. Printed pamphlets include discourses and sermons by Reverend Benjamin M. Palmer, and two stories, 'Dominic You,' and 'Husacar' by Louisiana author Octavius N. Ogden. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm 5735: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reels 6-7. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 748.

Henriques, Albert David. Papers, 1928-1939 (bulk 1936). 81 items, 1 vol. Location: U:175. Criminal Court judge of New Orleans. Papers of Judge Henriques (d. 1936) pertain to his succession. Account book (1928-1935) of Mrs. S. J. Henriques with the Eureka Homestead Society. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2012.

Referenced in Guides: Women, New Orleans 1866-

Herbert, Susan F. Papers, 1839, 1852-1857. 34 items. Location: C:61. Resident of Woodville, Wilkinson County, Mississippi. Statements from Payne and Harrison, New Orleans factor, for sale of cotton for the estate of T. S. Herbert and for his wife, Susan Herbert. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1209.

Hicky, Philip and Family. Papers, 1769-1901 (bulk 1769-1835). 20 items, 1 letter file book, 1 microfilm reel. Location: VAULT:8, OS:H, MSS.MF:H. Planter and colonel of East Baton Rouge Parish. Unbound and bound (in a letter file book) personal and official papers of Philip Hicky and the Hicky family. Papers pertain chiefly to the West Florida controversy and the Battle of New Orleans but also pertain to family matters and family history of the Hicky family. Some items pertain to the Walsh and Morgan families. Mss. 2007, 2035.

Hill, Edith Farr. Papers, 1865-1959, undated. 12 items. Location: MISC:H. Personal and business papers of the Farr family of Missouri and Iowa. Mss. 3455.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Hilliard, Isaac H. (Isaac Henry), Mrs. Diary, 1849-1860 (bulk 1849-1850). 1 vol. Location: U:239, Mss. Mf:H. Wife of Isaac H. Hilliard, plantation owner of Grand Lake, Chicot County, Arkansas, originally of Henry County, Kentucky. Mrs. Hilliard was related by marriage to Leonidas Polk. Diary depicts plantation life from an affluent woman's perspective, describing family holidays, social occasions, steamboat travel, and trips to Louisiana, Mississippi, and Kentucky. Includes her son's expenses at Kentucky Military Institute (1866). Available on microfilm 5750: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reel 13. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 178, 762.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Transportation, Women

Himel family sheet music, 1870-1913. 48 items. Location: 65:34. Residents of Convent, St. James Parish, Louisiana. Sheet music collected by members of the Himel family (Helene, Carrie, Edna, Rita, and Odette). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2600-73.

Referenced in Guides: Performing arts, Women

Hinckley, Arthur L., Jr. Papers, 1837-1916 (bulk 1865-1866). 30 v., 49 files. Location: Mf. Orramel Hinckley was a steamboat owner and captain whose business was centered principally in New Orleans and Opelousas, La. These papers consist primarily of account books, correspondence, receipts, and other records concerning Orramel Hinckley's river steamboat "Irene" and her frequent trips between Washington, La., and New Orleans between September 1865 and July 1866. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3493.

Hines, Betty, 1948, interviewee. Oral history interview, 1993. 1 sound cassette (45 minutes), Index (3 pages). Location: L:4700.285. Resident of Four Corners, an unincorporated community south of Franklin, St. Mary Parish, Louisiana. Hines was the foster child of a sharecropper. Hines' memories of childhood as the daughter of a sharecropper; sugarcane growing; the recollections of her great-grandparents' enslavement; difficulties of her early work with foster children; birth customs; and traditional foods. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4700.285.

Referenced in Guides: Sugar, Plantations, Women, African Americans

Hingst, Anna Bryant, b. 1901. Memoirs, 1988. 1 manuscript, 1 typescript. Location: Misc. Anna Bryant Hingst was born and lived in Lottie, La., and worked at the state hospital in Pineville and trained in nursing at Baton Rouge. Anna Bryant Hingst describes her life in rural south Louisiana, including her family and friends, girls' and women's lives, dating and courtship, childbirth, schooling, social customs, medical care, life in the orphanage in Baton Rouge, her work at the state hospital in Pineville, training in nursing at Baton Rouge, and her marriage to Henry Hingst. Mss. 4193.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Hoa, Josephine Land Sale, 1847 March 10. 1 item. Location: Misc.: L. Public land sale for property sold to Josephine Hoa by New Orleans Municipality no. 1. In French. Mss. 5269.

Referenced in Guides: New Orleans to 1861, Women, French

Hoar, George Frisbie, 1826-1904. Letter, 1902 April 22. 1 item. Location: Misc. United States senator. Letter, probably to Julia Ward Howe, discussing the exclusion of African Americans from the General Federation of Women's Clubs. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2707.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Women, African Americans

Hodges, Luella Virginia Sockwell. Diaries, 1888-1944. 13 volumes on microfilm. Location: Mss. Mf.: H. Resident of Bossier and Lincoln parishes in North Louisiana. The diaries provide insight into daily life in rural North Louisiana at the latter part of the 19th century through to the mid-20th. They also relate the military career of Campbell Blackshear Hodges. Diaries are comprised of personal entries, cash accounts, and records on chicken and egg production, garden plants ordered and planted, and clothing and linens produced. Mss. 3873.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Holcombe-Kilbourne-Craddock Family Papers, 1874-1902 (bulk 1874). 58 items. Location: E:7. Emma Holcombe, daughter of Centenary College professor A. R. Holcombe, married James Kilbourne in 1876. James, a Louisiana farmer, was the son of J. G. and Almena L. Perkins Kilbourne. Letters primarily written by Emma to James prior to their marriage describe events at Centenary College; visits to LSU; family; and friends including James O. Fuqua. Also described are Emma's education and her involvement in a temperance union. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4478.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Education, LSU

Holdrege, Henry R. Diary, 1865. 1 vol. Location: H:16. U.S. sailor aboard the U.S.S. Nymph. Civil War entries pertain to patrols, and infractions and crimes committed by him and other sailors, drunkenness, interaction with female civilians, witnessing a baptism of African-Americans in the Mississippi River, and recreational activities in Baton Rouge. Post-war entries record his trip home to Menekaune, Wisconsin. For further information, see the online catalog. Mss. 4874.

Holland, Miss. Diary, 1869 September 1-October 24. 1 item. Location: Misc:H. Young woman from Liverpool, England. Diary of Holland's voyage from England to New Orleans. She describes the weather, the ship and crew, activities onboard, and adventures. She also describes places they passed enroute, including Mont Serrat, Jamaica, Grand Cayman, and New Orleans.For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3275.

Referenced in Guides: Transportation, Women, New Orleans 1866-

Holloman, Mary. Document, 1820 August 8. 1 item. Location: Misc.:H. Depositions given to a justice of the peace at Baton Rouge, La., refuting that Mary Holloman was ever the lawful wife of Moore Kennedy although he had purported her to be so. Nancy Roy and Charles Evrard (?) also supported her claim. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1702.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Baton Rouge

Honore Daigre û Adelaide Hebert Sale, 1856, November 17. 1 item. Location: Misc: H. Honore Daigre and Adelaide Hebert were residents of Iberville Parish, La. A true copy of sale and adjudication of the sale of the plantation, land, and slaves of Honore Daigre and Adelaide Hebert, Iberville Parish. Includes a listing of their slaves' ages, sex, and family relationships, as well as a description of land and moveable property. In English and French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4888.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Women, African Americans, French

Howard, Ellen E. ( Ellen Elizabeth). Journal, ca.1866. 1 item. Location: Misc. H. Resident of Mississippi. Incomplete diary relates her travel experiences to New Orleans, Louisiana, social activities, and descriptions of the city and Mardi Gras, and a stage performance by the actor, Lawrence P. Barrett. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3877.

Referenced in Guides: Performing arts, Women, New Orleans 1866-

Hulin, Aaron. Letter, 1835. 1 item (2 pages). Location: Misc. Native of New York and school teacher in Clinton, East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. Letter tells of financial problems responsible for leaving the North and cites advantages of being a school teacher in Louisiana. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2381.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Education

Hunt, Minnie C. Diary, 1866-1867. 1 vol. Location: J:19. Resident of New Orleans who was born in 1849. She lived on a cotton farm, 'Mulberry Farm', with her parents. Diary kept by Hunt while on an extended visit with relatives in Massachusetts after the Civil War. She describes her daily life, family matters, health, and a beach holiday in Maine. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4693.

Referenced in Guides: Women, New Orleans 1866-

Hunter, Robert and Sarah Jane. Letters, 1846-1847. 9 items. Location: Misc:H. Letters exchanged between R. [Robert] A. Hunter while serving in the Louisiana State Senate, and his wife, Sarah Jane, residing either on their plantation or their summer home in the "Pine Woods" in Rapides Parish or in Alexandria. In addition to love letters, correspondence includes description of political activities and also his service as an officer in the Mexican War. She relates news of family, friends, crops, and other local happenings. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4072.

Hunter-Taylor family papers. 1848-1899, undated 346 items; 6 ms. vols. Location: W:27. Residents of East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. Papers of Sereno Taylor, minister and principal of Silliman Female College in Clinton, Louisiana, and his wife Mary Emerson Creed Taylor on family, education, and the Civil War. Collection includes letters of Confederate soldier Samuel Eugene Hunter. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm 5735: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reels 9-10. Filed under Taylor, Sereno. Family papers of Sereno Taylor and Samuel Eugene Hunter in Archives USA. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3024.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Women, Civil War, Education

Hyams, Henry M. (Henry Michael), 1806-1875. Family Papers, 1843-1953 (bulk 1901-1955). 313 items, 7 printed vols. Location: E:55. Available on microfilm 5750: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reels 13-14. Lawyer, state senator, and lieutenant governor of Louisiana. In the 1830s he was a member of a vigilante committee to oppose anti-slavery interests. His son, Henry Hyams, Jr., was a lawyer in New Orleans as was his daughter, Judith Hyams Douglas. Papers consist of letters pertaining to the political situation in Grant Parish, Louisiana, in 1873 and the causes of the Colfax riot. Included are land patents and plats issued in Carroll, St. Landry, and Caldwell parishes, Louisiana, and in Texas. Papers of Henry M. Hyams, Jr. relate to his work for the Court of Commissioners of Alabama Claims and family lawsuits which concerned litigation and recovery of Hyams' lands principally by Judith. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1392, 1564.

Hyde, Sue and E. Letter, 1843. 1 item. Location: Misc. Residents of Natchitoches, Louisiana. Letter from Sue and E. Hyde, Jr., to Sophia L. Hyde, Baltimore, Maryland, requesting vaccine because of the poor quality of the vaccine used in Natchitoches. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1363.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Medicine

Hyer, Frances C. and N. F. Hyer letters and related newspaper clipping. 1864-1865. 3 items. Location:MISC:H. The letter from Mr. N. F. Hyer is written to his son-in-law, Mr. Charles D. Elliot of Massachusetts. The letter mentions the steamboat Empress, Admiral Farragut and Mobile, and the prospect of purchasing land after the war to make a profit on timber. Letter from Mrs. Frances C. Hyer is written to her daughter, Mrs. Emily J. Elliot of Massachusetts. Mrs. Hyer mentions business and politics, including reference to Governor Wells and two July Fourth celebrations, one of which featured a speech by General Nathaniel P. Banks (which she praises). Includes a newspaper clipping referred to in letter. For further information online catalog. Mss.3916.

Jackson, Emma. Papers, 1914, undated 2 items. Location: Misc. Public school teacher and principal. Employment contract from Catahoula Parish, Louisiana, to teach as principal in the St. Paul (Colored) Public School (July 25, 1914) and a composition book of Emma Jackson, home economics teacher. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3437.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Education, African Americans

Jackson, Isaac F., d. 1864? Family Papers, 1827-1874 (bulk 1861-1869). 120 items, 2 vols. Location: E:41. Land owner, Amite County, Mississippi. He was married to Lettie V. Jackson (nee Wilson), also from Amite County. Papers are chiefly financial documents of the Jacksons and Wilsons. Legal papers include items related to the sale of land and litigation among family members. Correspondence includes personal letters of Isaac, Lettie, and Isaac's brother Joseph R. Kemp. Papers include the release of J. R. Kemp from a prisoner of war camp (1863). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 698.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Civil War, Natchez, Mississippi

Jameson, M. Margaret. Papers, 1958-1986. 1 linear ft. Location: 91:40. Dean of Women and Dean of Students at LSU. Papers consist of speeches and materials related to Jameson's activities in the LSU Womens Faculty Club, the Pan Hellenic Council, the Intercollegiate Association for Women Students, and associations of women administrators and deans. Cassette tapes of speeches given at administrative conferences are included. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4703.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Education, LSU

Jameson, M. Margaret, interviewee. Oral history interview, 1993. 1 sound cassette (1.5 hours), transcript (58 p.). Location: L:4700.0226. Dean of Women and Dean of Students at LSU. Interview details Jameson's family background, the Greek letter societies at LSU, and Jameson's career as an administrator at LSU. The interview focuses on sororities at LSU, describing construction, hurricane and fire damage, design and planning, and the governance and administration of sororities. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0226.

Referenced in Guides: Women, LSU

Jarnagin, Willie Preston, 1896-. Memoirs, 1977. 1 vol. (photocopy). Location: Misc. Resident of Texas and Louisiana. Reminiscences from childhood to mid-life, in Northeast Texas and Northwest Louisiana. Jarnagin chronicles her own and her family's life, loggers, and sharecroppers. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3718.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Jefferson, Elizabeth. Collection, 1867-1885, ca. 1918. 10 items [photocopies]. Location: Misc. Reminiscences by Elizabeth Jefferson describing her antebellum Mississippi home, and the treatment of the slaves and free African Americans on the plantation. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2329.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Women, African Americans

Jefferson, Joseph, 1829-1905. Papers. 1876, 1904, 1907, undated 7 items. Location: Misc. American actor and owner of Orange Island (now Jefferson Island, Iberia Parish, Louisiana). Papers include social letters of Jefferson; letters of his daughter-in-law, Eugenie Paul Jefferson, concerning a magazine article about Jefferson's association with Christian Science and the erection of a statue honoring him in Central Park in New York. Included are an autographed copy of Jefferson's poem 'Immortality' and an autographed photograph of Jefferson. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2665.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Women, Literature

John B. Kellogg-Anna Kellogg Letters and Photograph, 1866-1869. 22 items. Location: T:100 (short shelf). New York bank cashier and his wife. Six detailed letters addressed to Anna Kellogg were written during her mother and sister’s Mississippi steamboat trip to New Orleans, La. Letters discuss the trip itself and ultimately their stay in New Orleans, including places they visited, people they met, and their impressions. 15 letters addressed to John B. Kellogg discuss in detail the purchase and shipment of Louisiana cattle bound for Chicago, Ill. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4955.

Johnson (Alfred Grima) Collection, 1805-2001 (bulk: 1850-1950). 1.3 linear feet. Locations: 111:7, OS:J. Retired Central Intelligence Agency officer and historic preservationist. Collection consists of correspondence, financial and legal documents, research notes, photographs, and other records pertaining to the Grima, Montegut, Pitot, Foley, and Pugh families of South Louisiana. The records were accumulated for the purpose of studying genealogy and family history. Contains records in both English and French. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 5005.

Johnson, Margaret. Correspondence. 1873, 1884-1907. 31 items. Location: E:45. African American resident of Amite, Tangipahoa Parish, Louisiana. Correspondence from Johnson's children living in New Orleans, Mississippi, Texas, and New York City giving information about their means of livelihood, pecuniary status, and religious interests. For further information, see manuscript online catalog. Mss. 1103.

Johnson, Richard L. (Richard Lynn), Jr. Collection, circa 1920-1989. 3 copy prints, 3 photocopies. Location: MISC:J. Geneaologist. Collection contains 2 copy prints of Compton Cemetery (1983, 1989) and 1 copy print of John Compton and Amelie Compton's home (circa 1920) near Meeker, Louisiana. Photocopies are of images of Thomas Courtland Manning and Mary Louise Blair's tombstones in Metairie Cemetery in New Orleans. Mss. 4249.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Women

Johnston, Eliza Griffin. Letter, 1895 November 10. 1 item. Location: Misc.:J. Wife of Confederate general Albert Sidney Johnston. Letter expresses continued sentiment for the Confederate cause. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2846.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Civil War

Johnston, William Preston. Items, 1934-1935. 8 items. Location: Misc. President of Louisiana State University (1880-1883). Letters and related items pertaining to Johnston, including correspondence of Mrs. Grayson with the Johnston family pertaining to genealogy; a letter from Tulane University concerning a portrait of Johnston; and a list of New Orleans newspaper articles. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 893.

Referenced in Guides: Women, New Orleans 1866-, LSU

Joly, Marianne Webb. Certificate, 1832. 1 item. Location: MISC:J. Copy of birth and baptismal certificate (1802) of Marianne Webb Joly from the records of St. John the Baptist Church, St. John the Baptist Parish, Louisiana. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 893.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Women, French

Jonas, Rosalie, M. Letters, 1905-1909. 3 letters. Location: Misc.:J. New Orleans poet. In her letters to illustrator, Frederick Dorr Steele, poet Rosalie M. Jonas writes about octoroon balls in New Orleans, La. and compliments Steele on his work. She asks him to illustrate her "Negro verses" because only he "feels sympathetically about the Negro." For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3775.

Jones, Ellen E., b. 1852. Ellen E. Jones journal and Claude Perry letter, 1854-1872 (bulk 1871-1872). 2 items. Location: MISC:J. Resident of Georgia. Journal contains reminiscences about Jones's school years in Georgia and Pennsylvania. She discusses life in Macon, Georgia, mentioning holidays, balls, and theatrical productions. Also included is a letter from her aunt, Claude Perry, to her mother. Available on microfilm 5750: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reel 15. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4057.

Referenced in Guides: Performing arts, Women, Education

Jones, John P. Papers, 1851-1859. 3 items. Location: MISC:J, OS:J. Papers contain a land lease agreement between the school commission of Franklin County, Mississippi and John P. Jones and a land grant certificate issued to Jones for purchasing land in Washington, Mississippi. Certificate is signed by President James Buchanan. There is also an estate conveyance document pertaining to Adaline Dillon and her father Clarkson Dillon. Document transfers two slaves, Angeline and Isaah [sic], to Adaline and is signed by other Dillon family members. Mss. 5353. 

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Women, African Americans

Jones, Mary C. Notebooks, 1891-1893. 2 vols. Location: G:21. Resident of New Orleans. Notebooks (1891-1893) of Mary C. Jones containing literary material. In French and English. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 192.

Referenced in Guides: Women, New Orleans 1866-, French, Literature

Jones, Sam Houston, 1897-1978, interviewee. Oral history interview, 1977. 1 sound cassette, Transcript (28 pages). Location: L:4700.0030. Governor of Louisiana (1940-1944). Jones discusses his political campaign of 1940; changes he made while in office; Huey Long's political following; views on social welfare; government corruption; his executive secretary, Cocheran; his wife's role in his career; and his family background. Jones also discusses state senator W. D. Cotton's role in the bridge over Calcasieu River; and development of schools and buildings during his administration. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0030.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Women, Long Family

Kahao, Mary Jane. Mary Jane Fly Kahao collection of photographs and ephemera, [ca. 1887-1910]. 26 items. Location: UU:250. This collection includes twenty-three photographs from people in the Baton Rouge area. Eight of these portraits were made by Baton Rouge photographer Andrew D. Lytle. Also in the collection are invitations to commencement ceremonies from the LSU Corps of Cadets (1891), Silliman Collegiate Institute (1887), and the S. A. K. Literary Society (1891). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4703.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Education, Baton Rouge, LSU

Kahao, Mary Jane (Mrs. Kenneth). Papers, 1965, 1966. 4 items. Location: Misc. Newspaper clipping from the Baton Rouge Morning Advocate of a biographical article on botanical writer and illustrator Caroline C. Dorman. Correspondence with Dorman chiefly concerns a proposed exhibit of wild flowers and plants at LSU. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2700.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Baton Rouge, LSU

Kaine, Alice J. Cutright. Papers, 1880-1881, 1893. 8 letters, 1 diary. Location: Misc. Alice J. Cutright was an active member on the Board of the Wisconsin Industrial School for Girls, an advisor to Tuskegee Institute (1894-1896), and in 1898 became the first woman appointed to the Wisconsin State Board of Control for Prisons. The papers consist of four letters and a travel diary written by her during a trip down the Mississippi River from Springfield, Ill., to New Orleans, La., in March-April 1880. Personal letters received from friends and acquaintances in New Orleans are also included. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3886.

Kearney, Eugenie Buard, 1848-1925. Family Papers, 1831-1960. 108 items, 1vol. (on microfilm). Location: Mss. Mf.:K. Resident of Natchitoches and Pointe Coupee parishes, Louisiana. Papers include documents of Mrs. Kearney's father Pierre Alcide Buard; papers of her husband George W. Kearney, a Natchitoches Parish public official; and correspondence with her children. Included is genealogical information about the Buard, Kearney, and related families. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3095.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Keller, Helen, 1880-1968. Letter, 1947 March 24. 1 item (1 page, typewritten). Location: Misc. Deaf and blind author, educator, lecturer, and counselor of the American Foundation for the Blind. Letter addressed to 'Dear Miss Peaslee' containing an appeal for funds for the Committee on the Deaf-blind of the Foundation. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3330.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Education

Kemberling, John. Papers, 1792-1820. 19 items. Location: C:30. Official documents filed in the case of John Kemberling and his sister Barbara against John Gaynor, their step-father, relative to ownership of land in West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. Partly in Spanish. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 132, 133.

Referenced in Guides: Spanish, Women

Kent, Doris. Scrapbook, 1914-1919. 11 items, 1 ms. Vol. Location: Misc., H:24, OS:K. Native of Tangipahoa Parish, Louisiana, and newspaper reporter for the "New Orleans Times-Picayune." Scrapbook contains mementos of student days at Sophie Newcomb College, and newspaper clippings, letters, and telegrams reflecting her work as a reporter. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1268.

Referenced in Guides: Women, New Orleans 1866-, Education

Kentwood, Louisiana, items. 1898-1906.11 items. Location: Misc. Photograph of grave of Amos and Susan Fluker Kent; village tax receipts for Ida M. Fenn and C. W. Tate; receipt of R. S. Draughan; certificate of good standing in the Tangipahoa Baptist Church for Janie Tate; and postcards of local scenes. Also include are memoranda on Ada M. Fenn and Janie Tate. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1213.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Women

Ker, John, 1789-1850. Family Papers, 1803-1862. 27 items, 1 vol. Location: S:108. Medical doctor of Good Hope Plantation of Concordia Parish, Louisiana, and the father of Mary Susan and William H. Ker. Papers include letters from Stephen Duncan, Sr., of Natchez, Mississippi, and Philadelphia, to Dr. John Ker; and Civil War letters from William H. Ker, a Confederate soldier. Collection also includes a diary (1850-1851) of Mary Susan Ker with details on family life after her father's death. Available on microfilm 5750: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reel 15. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3539.

Keyes, Frances Parkinson, 1885-1970. Collection, 1942-1962, undated 13 items. U:243. Louisiana writer. Christmas cards with an illustrated personal message from Keyes; a biographical sketch of Keyes; and autographed dinner invitations celebrating the publication of Crescent Carnival and The Chess Players. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1613, 1689, 1697, 1745, 1771, 1784, 2841.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Literature

Keyes, Frances Parkinson, 1885-1970. Papers, 1944-1948, undated 110 items. Location: U:243. Louisiana writer.Correspondence, research materials and fragmentary manuscripts pertain to the writing of her book ONCE ON ESPLANADE. Includes a carbon copy of the final typescript of the book. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2610.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Literature

Keyes, Frances Parkinson. Manuscript, ca. 1947. 2 vols. Location: G:6. Louisiana writer. Manuscript of 'Once on Esplanade: A Cycle Between Two Creole Weddings.' (New York: Dodd Mead, 1947). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2401.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Literature

Keyes, Frances Parkinson, 1885-1970. Letter,1953 Apr. 17. 1 item. Location: Misc.:K. Louisiana writer. Letter from New Orleans, addressed to Mr. Meredith Johnson, Alexandria, Virginia. Topics include Mrs. Keyes' health, financial situation, travel plans, relations between Meredith and 'Deanie,' and Dr. Kirby-Smith's remarriage. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3593.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Literature

Pages