Women

This guide describes manuscript collections documenting women's history in the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections at LSU. It includes the papers of women, women's organizations, family papers with significant bodies of women's papers in them, and other collections that document women's history in one way or another.

LSU is fortunate because it collected women's papers very early, perhaps without systematically trying to do so. Women's voices, often buried in plantation collections and Civil War papers, have emerged from obscurity only in recent decades. Researchers coming to LSU can study the letters and diaries of plantation mistresses and teachers, the papers of women writers, and the papers of black women, among other sources. A number of our women's collections have been recently microfilmed by University Publications of America in its series on Southern Women and their Families, making these collections more widely accessible.

Displaying 241 - 300 of 768. Show 5 | 10 | 20 | 40 | 60 results per page.

Fontane, Doralice, 1905-1981. Papers, approximately 1910-1980, (bulk 1947-1978).1 linear ft. Location: OS:F, VAULT:1, Z:23. Doralice Fontane was a composer, and voice, piano, and organ teacher who composed several songs, notably "Give Me Louisiana," and "Let's March Together (People of the World)." The collection consists primarily of letters from Ms. Fontane promoting her music, acknowledgments from various individuals who were given complimentary copies of her song, and sheet music. Mss. 3622.

Referenced in Guides: Women, 20th Century Wars

Fontenot, Ozeme, 1846-1928. Family Papers, 1834-1949. 1148 items; 49 ms. Vols.; 5 printed vols. Location: UU:190-194; O:21;0S:F. Planter of Grand Prairie, St. Landry Parish, Louisiana. Plantation, business records, correspondence of Ozeme Fontenot and family. Some relate to the marriage and divorce of daughter Alma Parker, and to her hospitalization in New Orleans. Papers also deal with United Confederate Veterans activities. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm: University Publications of America Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B, Part 2, Reels 3-6. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3248.

Foote, Lucy B. Papers, 1930-1964. 677 items and 1 ms. vol. Location: 79:49. Correspondence and related items pertaining to personal scholarships, American Library Association and Louisiana Library Association committees, and publication of Foote's Official Publications of Louisiana, 1803-1934 and for 1935-1948. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2040, 2042.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Foote, Lucy B., 1893- Photograph, circa 1960s. 2 copy prints. Location: 65:5. Lucy B. Foote (1893-1973) made lasting contributions to state libraries with her own career interests in Louisiana state documents and special collections. These photographs are of Lucy B. Foote and Moe (?) Olson. Mss. 3741.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Forman family papers, 1857-1941. 2 items [1 photocopy]. Location: Misc. Pages from the family Bible of Mary S. Forman and a photograph of the Wall and Calecte home where Jane Forman lived after her marriage. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2671.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Francis A. de Caro and Rosan A. Jordan, 1956-2009, undated (bulk 1966-2003) 13 linear ft. Location: 11:19, 15:15-21. De Caro and Jordan were folklorists, authors, and Louisiana State University (Baton Rouge, La.) professors. The collection includes personal and professional correspondence, writings, exhibitions, photographs, printed items consisting of brochures, handbills, newspapers, and posters; and topical files that document de Caro's folklore class at LSU, his work with the Louisiana Folklife Commission, and Jordan's work with the women's movement. Writings as well as exhibitions comprise material primarily related to folklore within Louisiana and British colonial life in India. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3197, 4089, 4164.

French-Clarke Family Papers, 1809-1861 (bulk: 1830-1920). 1.3 linear feet, 16 m.s. volumes. Location: 1:32-35, OS:F, 98:F. Largely composed of correspondence between members of the French family of Baton Rouge and extended family regarding Baton Rouge, family news, health, and genealogy. Legal documents include bills of sale for slaves, land documents, wills of the French and Clarke families. Personal financial records, scrapbooks, newspaper clippings of current events, especially pertaining to the opening of the state capital and LSU campus life in the early 1900s. Ledgers and printed items relate to Julia Edwards Clarke and her husband William's employment at the Louisiana State School for the Blind. For further information, see online catalog, Mss. 3494.

Frenzel, Michael J. and Mary Anne Hynes. Family Papers, 1808-2010 (bulk 1943-2007). 5.3 linear ft. Location: 91:3-6, OS:F. Prominent Baton Rouge family. Collection of photographs, printed material and manuscripts document the lives of Michael J. and Mary Anne Hynes Frenzel, including childhood, marriage, travels, family events, and community and social activities. Additional material provides a family history of the allied Frenzel, Jeanfreau and Dielenschneider families of Louisiana. The collection also illustrates Michael J. Frenzel’s twenty-year military career as an officer and pilot in the United States Air Force. Mss. 5054.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Women

Furber, Sarah. Letters, 1843, 1844. 2 items. Location: Misc. Teacher from Massachusetts. Photocopies of letters from Sarah Furber at a school in Plaquemine (probably the Iberville Female School Society, incorporated in 1842), Iberville Parish, Louisiana, expressing opposition to slavery and personal discontent with Louisiana. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1306.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Education, African Americans

Gage, E. L. Letter, 1862 January 5. 1 item (2 leaves). Location: Misc:G. Unmarried woman whose brother George was a Union soldier during the Civil War. Letter referring to the seizure and release of Confederate diplomats John Slidell and George M. Mason while they were on the British steamer Trent. It reflects Gage's concern about English opposition to the United States. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1585.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Civil War

Gaines, Myra Clark, 1805-1885. Letter, 1862 February 13. 1 item. Location: Misc. Daughter of New Orleans merchant Daniel Clark and party to litigation involving Clark's estate. Letter written from Richmond, Virginia, refers to difficulties in obtaining a federal passport to travel to New Orleans. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3142.

Gaines, Myra Clark, 1805-1885. Letter, 1867 February 6. 3 items. Location: Misc.: G. Daughter of New Orleans merchant Daniel Clark and party to litigation involving Clark's estate. Letter from Washington, D.C., to special legal commissioner Caleb Cushing pertains to preparation of her cases before the U.S. Supreme Court. Included is an unrelated court summons (1842) and a bill of sale for land and a slave (1843). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2637.

Referenced in Guides: Women, New Orleans 1866-, African Americans

Gardere, Alice. Visiting card, undated 1 item. Location: E:Imprints. Visiting card inscribed 'To Louisette from her friend.' For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1283.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Gardner, H. M. Letter, 1846 May 17. 1 letter. Location: MISC:G. Resident of Nantucket, Massachusetts. H. M. (Hannah Maria) Gardner, in Nantucket, writes to her uncle John B. Macy, in New York City, and discusses family news, the fortunes of whaling ships, and views on slavery. Mss. 4098.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Business, African Americans

Garig, William Wallace and Family. Papers, 1855-1959, undated (bulk 1900-1953). 1.75 linear ft., 10 manuscript volumes. Location: 7:58-60, OS:G. Confederate veteran and poultry breeder of Baton Rouge, La. Papers pertain chiefly to W. W. Garig's animal husbandry work and social life and the teaching careers and social lives of his daughters Mercedes and Louise Garig. Materials include correspondence, writings, financial documents, photographic items, printed materials, scrapbooks, and diaries (including W. W. Garig's Civil War diaries). Mss. 2993

Garland, Kate A. Papers, 1860-1870 (bulk 1860-1868). 28 items; 1 vol. Location: Misc:G, G:6. Member of a slaveholding family in Virginia. Kate Garland spent several months in Alabama during the Civil War. Papers include a diary (1860-1868) containing descriptions of social life in Virginia and Alabama; and correspondence to and from John Holt Gill, a friend of Kate Garland. Available on microfilm 5750: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reels 10-11. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 154.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Civil War

Garrett, Isaiah. Family Papers, 1840-1879. 36 items, 1 vol. Location: G:6. The Garrett and related Ball and Johnston families, residents of Monroe, Louisiana. Isaiah Garrett was a lawyer. Papers include letters of Isaiah Garrett to members of his family in Missouri; and Civil War letters to Eliza Ball Johnston from her husband, Captain John Washington Johnston, and her brother, Colonel Edward Ball, Confederate officers. Postwar correspondence includes that of John Washington and David White Johnston. There is a cookbook of Mrs. Narcissa Garrett. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 656.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Civil War

Gautier, Mary Agnes. Letters, 1937-1945. 182 items and 8 printed vols. Location: T:19-20. Graduate of LSU (1938) and of the Johns Hopkins School of Nursing (1942). Gautier became an U.S. Army nurse stationed in Australia, New Guinea, and the Philippines. World War II letters and related printed material. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1855.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Medicine, LSU

Gautier, Mary Agnes. Scrapbook, 1942-1956. 1 ms. vol. Location: T:20. Graduate of LSU (1938) and of the Johns Hopkins School of Nursing (1942). Gautier became an U.S. Army nurse stationed in Australia, New Guinea, and the Philippines. World War II scrapbook of Gautier containing handwritten entries of events and mementos.Graduate of LSU (1938) and of the Johns Hopkins School of Nursing (1942). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1855.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Medicine, LSU

Gay, Andrew H (Andrew Hynes),1841-1914. Family papers, 1857-1957. 222 itens, 10 vols. Location: Y:82, G:17, OS:G. Sugar planter of Plaquemine, Iberville Parish, Louisiana. Papers include Civil War and Reconstruction correspondence, with letters by Confederate officers, including Elias B. Inslee. Diaries kept by Anna Maria Gay McClung, a daughter, record social life in Washington, D.C., and travel (1885-1898). Available on microfilm 5750: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reels 11-12. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2542.

Referenced in Guides: Sugar, Plantations, Women, Civil War

Gay, Andrew H. (Andrew Hynes), 1841-1914. Family Papers, 1857-1957. 222 items; 10 vols. (9 ms. Vols., 1 printed vol.). Location: Y:82, G:17, OS:G. Available on microfilm 5750: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reels 11-12. Sugar planter of Plaquemine, Iberville Parish, Louisiana. He married Mary Augustina Dickinson in 1865, and they had four children. Papers include Civil War and Reconstruction correspondence, with letters by Confederate officers, including Elias B. Inslee. Diaries kept by Anna Maria Gay McClung, a daughter, record social life in Washington, D.C., and travel (1885-1898). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2542.

Referenced in Guides: Sugar, Women, Civil War

Gay, Edward J. and Family. Papers, 1797-1938 (bulk 1838-1910). 62 linear ft., 165 ms. vols. Location: H:25-27, OS:G, VAULT:1, VAULT:33, VAULT:40, Y:1-62, Y:81, H:25-27, 146B:. Planters of St. Louis Plantation near Plaquemine, Iberville Parish, Louisiana. Edward J. Gay was a U.S. representative (1884-1889); his grandson of the same name was a U.S. senator (1918-1921). Personal and business papers of the Gay and related families, containing materials on the Civil War and Reconstruction, St. Louis Plantation, the sugar cane industry, slavery. Also includes Representative Gay's congressional papers. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1295.

Gay, Edward J., III. Congressional file, 1888-1921. 18 linear ft. Location: Y:62-80, OS:G, Vault:1. Comprised of official congressional files that document the political career of U.S. Senator Edward James Gay III. Files consist of correspondence, legal documents, and printed material pertaining to political campaigns, state and national elections, political patronage, legislative bills, Dept. of Agriculture, construction of levees by the Mississippi River Commission, and the participation in elections and political support of African-Americans. Legislative correspondence discusses pending bills concerning pensions, tariffs, health of rural populations, the creation of the Department of Education, and the transportation, storage and marketing of livestock. Files also contain selected subject materials relative to the American Legion bonus (1920), cotton, sugar, League of Nations (1919-1920), the United States Post Office, railroads, women's suffrage, and U. S. military academies. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1295.

Gay-Butler-Plater Family Papers, 1814-2016. 30.5 linear ft., 25 v., 14 oversize folders. Location: G:43-85, OS:G, Q:1-6. Planters of Iberville, Lafourche, and Terrebonne parishes, La. Correspondence, financial records, legal records, photographic materials, and personal papers created and accumulated by the Gay, Butler, Plater, and Price families of Louisiana documenting their political, social, and financial affairs. Mss. 4872.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Women, Business

Gayarre, Charles E. A., 1805-1895. Papers, 1781, 1830-1907 (bulk 1830-1895). 276 items, 4 vols. And 6 ms. Vols., 1 mf reel. Location: UU:124-132, Vault, Mss.Mf:G. Louisiana plante, statesman, jurist and historian. Papers pertain to Gayarré's association with Confederate leader J.D.B. DeBow, his literary career, and the management of his business affairs. Also included is personal correspondence of Gayarré's wife, Anne Shadie Sullivan Buchannon, with members of the William Woodson King family. Some items in French and Spanish. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1282.

Referenced in Guides: Spanish, Plantations, Women, Civil War, French, Literature

Gayarre, Charles, 1805-1895. Selected Papers, 1883-1940. 7 items. Location: U:123. Louisiana historian, jurist, and statesman. Manuscripts, printed pamphlet, and newspaper clippings pertaining to the story of the Famous Lafittes consisting of three lectures by Charles Gayarré, one manuscript probably by Grace King, two newspaper stories by W.M. Darling and William D. Hays, Jr., and a publication of the Louisiana State Museum. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 769.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Literature

Gebelin-Walsh-Hynes-Frenzel Family. Papers, 1860-2007 (bulk 1900-1970). 2.5 cubic feet. Location: 92:69-71, OS:G, AA:, MSS.MF:G. This collection of photographs and a few textual materials provides a largely visual record of the allied Gebelin, Walsh, Hynes, and Frenzel families. Beginning in the 1860s and continuing through the 1980s, portraits and informal photographs document the lives of family members and family friends and acquaintances. A few images, beginning 1900 and continuing until the 1960s, record three family homes in Baton Rouge. The bulk of the material documents the life and times of Elizabeth Gertrude Gebelin Hynes (Feb. 20, 1911-Feb. 9, 1982) including her childhood, marriage, travels, family events, and social life and customs of Baton Rouge, Louisiana. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4983.

Gendron (Lorraine P.) Papers, 1970-2008 (bulk: 1980-2008). 1 linear foot. Location: U:312. A folk artist from Hahnville, La. Contains business papers, printed items and photographs related to Gendron's artwork and her meetings with political figures. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 5004.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Women

George W. and Mimi Bolton papers, 1921-1992. 2.3 linear ft. Location: 92:22-24, OS:B. Literary authors. Mimi Bolton was also a graphic and fine artist. Manuscript writings, correspondence, photographs, and printed items document the personal lives and literary careers of George and Mimi Bolton, and Mimi's career as a graphic artist. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4653.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Literature

Gessner, Jessy Benedict. Letter book, 1909-1913. 1 ms. vol. Location: F:16. William S. Benedict's daughter and successor in his New Orleans law practice. Letter press copy book of Jessy Benedict Gessner. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1351.

Referenced in Guides: Women, New Orleans 1866-

Gibson, Randall Lee, 1832-1892. Papers, 1848-1891. 164 items. Location: A:56. Confederate general, New Orleans lawyer, U.S. representative and senator from Louisiana. Early papers reflect student life at Yale University. Civil War papers include orders, general reports, and casualty reports. Letters discuss movements of troops at the Battle of Shiloh and Mobile Bay, Ala. Letter from his sister describes New Orleans in 1861. Later papers consist of business record, mortgages and leases for various plantations. Available on microfilm 5735: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reel 6. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2402, 2412, 2423.

Gilkison, Helen, 1909-1948. Papers, 1925-1962 (bulk 1925-1948). 218 items, 29 vols. (3 ms. vols., 26 printed vols.). Location: U:167-168, 98:G. Louisiana journalist. Papers include correspondence (1929-1953) from national and local journalistic figures, manuscript writings (1927-1947), newspaper clippings, printed materials, photographs, and scrapbooks relating to Gilkison's activities at LSU and as a journalist. Clippings relate to LSU, local politics, and the death of Huey Long. Collection includes a broadside concerning a bill for a poll tax law signed by O. K. Allen and Huey Long. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1901, 2175.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Women, LSU, Long Family

Gilmore, John Young, 1837-1900. Family Papers, 1862, 1900-1910. 121 items, 2 vols. Location: U:133, J:11. Resident of New Orleans, editor of the Sugar Planters' Journal, and major general of the Louisiana Division of the United Confederate Veterans Association. Papers include letters of condolence to Gilmore's wife at the time of his death, correspondence of Mary Gilmore Harnett from officers of the Louisiana Division of the United Daughters of the Confederacy, and a scrapbook containing obituaries. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 798.

Girard, Jeanne F. Letters, 1893-1899. 3 items. Location: Misc.:G. Proprietor of the Hotel La Sarge in Pawhuska, Oklahoma Territory. Transcriptions and translations of two letters of Jeanne F. Girard to her brother, Albin Regnier; and a letter of Joe A. Regnier, son of Albin Reginier, written from Dallas, Texas, to his sister Anne. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 968.

Referenced in Guides: Women, French

Girard, M. D. Account books, 1847-1874. 2 vols. Location: G:8. French teacher in New Orleans. Journal recording pupils and income received for her lessons; record book including lectures contributed by members of her salon in 1865, and questions and answers asked at seances which she conducted. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 502.

Gladden, Henrie Sentell, 1898-1983. Memoirs, 1983. 58 leaves. Location: Misc., Mf. Gladden attended Louisiana Industrial Institute in Ruston, La., and taught at schools in Baton Rouge and Plain Dealing, La. She describes her family, education, and social life living in Bunkie, Baton Rouge, Baker, and Collinsburg, La., primarily between her youth and the time of her marriage. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4239.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Education, Baton Rouge

Grace, Lucille May, 1900-1957. Scrapbooks, 1908-1956. 127 items and 13 ms. vols. Location: A:27, 84:1-12, OS:G. Register of the State Land Office. Series of eleven scrapbooks (1929-1950), and political campaign items (1956) of Lucille Grace Dent; and two scrapbooks and newspaper clippings (1908-1927), of her father, Fred J. Grace, Register of the State Land Office from 1908 until his death in 1931. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1863, 2145.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Women

Graham, Alice Walworth. Correspondence, 1973-1980. 7 items. MISC:G. Novelist and native of Natchez, Mississippi. Three letters and four Christmas cards written by Graham to James Mitchell, a book collector and Mississippi native living in Massachusetts. Mitchell wrote to authors from his native state, including Graham, asking them to sign copies of their books. He eventually collected hundreds from writers such as Eudora Welty and Shelby Foote. After writing to Graham, the two developed a friendship that is reflected in this correspondence. Mss. 5274.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Literature

Graham, Alice Walworth. Papers, 1884-1992, undated. 5.3 linear feet. Location: 104:2-4; J: 25; and OS:G. Novelist and native of Natchez, Miss., and sometime resident of New Orleans. Professional and personal correspondence includes letters document Graham's literary career. Scrapbooks and printed items contain literary reviews of her books and describe her personal appearances at literary functions. Graham describes Natchez plantations in manuscript drafts for many of her published and unpublished works including Cibola, The Natchez Woman, and Romantic Lady. The letters of Graham's mother, Lela Gordon Walworth, and her sister, Mary Walworth Whitaker of Baton Rouge, are also part of the collection, and pertain to personal and family matters. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4295.

Graham, George Mason, 1807-1891. Letter, 1858 Sept. 30. 1 letter. Location: Misc. George Mason Graham was a planter of Tyrone Plantation, Rapides Parish, La. This letter to Mrs. Curtis (Martha) Grimes concerns the gift of a sewing machine to her, the health of several people, his corn and cotton crop yields, and other family news. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4346.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Women

Grahame, John. Oath, 1831 May 24. 1 item. Location: Misc.:G. Oath taken by John Grahame, and sworn before the Justice of the Peace of Frederick County, Maryland, stating that Juliana Gant, a mulatto, was a free born woman. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3666.

Referenced in Guides: Women, African Americans

Grau, Shirley Ann, 1929-. Letter, 1966 December 28. 1 item. Location: Misc.:G. Southern author and recipient of the Pulitzer Prize for fiction (1965). Brief letter refusing a speaking engagement. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2702.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Literature

Gray, Helen. Manuscripts, ca. 1912-1915. 3 items. Location: A:56. Southern journalist, resident of New Orleans. Typescripts of an account of Gray's travels in Finland prior to World War I and her views on Southern economy and politics. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1250.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Women

Gray, Lillie Trust. Papers, 1860-1920 (bulk 1886-1890). 178 items; 8 vols. Location: U:154; F:9. Musician and teacher at the Convent of the Sacred Heart, Convent, St. James Parish, Louisiana. Papers document Gray's teaching of and interest in music, and include a record book (1874-1900, 1902) containing lists of musical compositions and a diary (1900-1905) containing entries on music sung at Roman Catholic masses. Collection also includes household and farm entries; receipts for music lessons; and a payroll book (1865-1867) for Houmas Plantation. The payroll book is available on microfilm 6061: University Publications of America Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B, Part 1, Reel 15. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 165, 965, 422.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Plantations, Performing arts, Women

Grindley, George. Letter: Washington, D.C. to LeGardeur, New Orleans, La., 1891 January 26. 1 item (4 pages). Location: Misc:G. Letter mentions a bill relating to business interests which Grindley and LeGardeur wish to have passed by Congress; dealings with Cusimano and Co.; problems with the Post Office; Grindley's wife and children in New Orleans; and his work in Washington. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4607.

Referenced in Guides: Women, New Orleans 1866-, Business

Grisham-Kellogg-Faust Family. Papers, 1860-2009 (bulk 1899-1976). 8.5 linear ft. Locations: U:321-329, OS:G, H:12, AA:, 65:. Papers consist of correspondence, photographs, personal papers and printed material. Material reflects the social activities, family life, travel and the genealogy of the Grisham-Kellogg-Faust family of Louisiana and Bolivar, Tenn. Included in the correspondence are World War I letters discussing logging in France, letters of college students, and picture postcards of plantations in Natchez, Miss. and Louisiana. Photographs include African American household employees, 1927 Mississippi River Flood, and portraits of Gov. Sam Jones, Gov. John McKeithen and Senator Russell Long. Mss. 5048.

Grumbach, Doris. Book Review, 1974. 2 items. Location: Misc.:G. Handwritten manuscript of Doris Grumbach's review for The New Republic (February 9, 1974) of Child of God by Cormac McCarthy; also, a typed note by Robert Coles to Grumbach complimenting her on this review. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3347.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Literature

Grunewald, Ella. Journal, 1884-1886. 1v. Location: G:20. Ella Grunewald writes about her family, friends, and neighbors; social life and culture in New Orleans; Mardi Gras; she describes in detail her school lessons in Classical mythology and chemistry experiments; Catholic religious observances; plays, concerts, and other entertainment; and lectures given by Dr. Stanford E. Chaillé. She also describes her visits to the two World\'s Fairs held in New Orleans: the World\'s Industrial and Cotton Centennial Exposition (Dec. 1884-June 1885) and the North, Central and South American Exposition (Nov. 1885-March 1886). Mss. 3858.

Guild of the Holy Cross. Minute book, 1886-1888. 1 ms. vol. Location: M:20. Women's organization of the Church of the Holy Cross, Paris, Texas. Minute book documents fundraising events. Available on microfilm 5750: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reel 33. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 380.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Women

Gumbel, Simon and Family Papers, 1851-1949 (bulk: 1922-1933). 2.5 linear ft. Location: P:21-23; OS:G. Jewish New Orleans commission merchant and owner of S. Gumbel & Co. Property tax receipts of the Gumbel family; business correspondence, minutes, financial papers relating to the administration and operation of the Sophie L. Gumbel Home. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1490.

Guyot, Sister Henrietta. Papers, 1921-1965. 23 items, 56 vols. Location: 77:59. Director of the Department of Nursing, LSU School of Medicine (1937-1965). Mimeographed and printed material pertaining to nursing education; and personal items including 15 items referring to the death of Sister Stanislaus Malone, superior of the Sisters of Charity at Charity Hospital (1949). Includes materials from Ruth Ingram, former director of Touro Infirmary School of Nursing, telling of her work as supervisor of nursing education in the U.S. Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2050.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Women, Education, Medicine, LSU

Hall, George Otis. Family Papers, 1856-1900, 1990, undated (bulk 1856-1880). 0.7 linear ft. Location: T:54. George Otis Hall and his wife Charlotte Emma LeDoux Hall, owners of Magnolia Mound, a sugar and indigo plantation in Baton Rouge. From 1860 on they lived in England and Europe. Papers include correspondence, photographs, social invitations, and newspaper clippings. Topics include the education of the Hall children in Louisiana and Europe, the family's resettlement in Europe, and Magnolia Mound. Partly in French. Available on microfilm 5750: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reels 12-13. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4320.

Referenced in Guides: Sugar, Plantations, Women, Baton Rouge, French

Hall, Winchester letter, 1842 Nov. 14. 1 letter. Location: Misc. This letter to Winchester Hall in Donaldsonville, La., from his sisters Olivia and Mary Louisa in Shelbyville, Ky., concerns family news, the annulment of Olivia's underage marriage, and social news from Shelbyville and Louisville. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4009.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Hamilton, William S. Papers, 1780-1930 (bulk 1807-1861). 3 linear ft., 14 manuscript volumes, 16 microfilm reels. Locations: T:81-87, H:21, OS:H, MSS.MF:H. United States Army officer under General Wade Hampton; slave owner and planter of Holly Grove Plantation, West Feliciana Parish; and politician who served on the first board of trustees for the College of Louisiana and a term in the Louisiana Legislature. While most papers pertain to William S. Hamilton's social, political, and professional life, some papers also pertain to John Hamilton (William S.'s father) and the children of William S. and Eliza C. Hamilton. Papers reflect the administration of United States Army troops in the Territory of Orleans and Mississippi and give an inclusive picture of national and Louisiana politics. Included are descriptions of Southern college facilities and curricula and early medical treatments in hydropathy (hydrotherapy). The papers also document conditions in the United States Army during the Mexican War, land speculation in Texas, and various aspects of plantation life and economy (including purchasing and treatment of slaves). Part of the George M. Lester Collection. Mss. 1209.

Hamilton, William Sutherland. Papers, 1766-1879, 1942. .5 linear ft. Locations: UU:148, OS:H. United States Army officer; slave owner and planter of Holly Grove Plantation, West Feliciana Parish; and politician who served on the first board of trustees for the College of Louisiana and a term in the Louisiana Legislature. Papers consist chiefly of letters received and written by William S. Hamilton but also other Hamilton family members, including John Hamilton and Eliza C. Hamilton, and other friends and relatives. In addition to documenting family news and communications, correspondence reflects aspects of plantation economy; health problems and diseases, including yellow fever; medical treatments; conditions in the United States Army during and after the War of 1812; and the political and economic situation in Texas (1840-1844). Mss. 3167.

Harding, Sidney, b. 1841. Diaries, 1863-1865. 2 vols. Location: U:230. Daughter of W. S. and Elizabeth Harding, Old Brier Plantation, St. Mary Parish, Louisiana. During the Civil War, her family fled three times from home, the final time to DeSoto Parish. Three diaries chronicle the family's flight to North Louisiana during the Civil War and the hardships her family dealt with during their exile. Available on microfilm 5322: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 1, Reel 4. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 721.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Women, Civil War

Harwell, James Daniel. Family cashbook, 1894-1897. 1 item, 1 vol. Location: Misc.:H. Tax collector, Civil War veteran. Unbound cashbook pages with a detailed listing of household accounts, interspersed with remarks on social and cultural activities. Also mentions household remedies and medicines, and titles of books read by the Harwells. Probably written by James Harwell's second wife. Frequent mention of trips to Mobile, Ala. and Meridian, Miss. Also includes a photocopy of a biographical sketch of James D. Harwell. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3398.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Medicine

Hawes, Maria Jane Southgate, 1836-1918. Reminiscences, 1914. 1 typescript. Location: Misc. Maria Jane Southgate was the wife of James Morrison Hawes, a brigadier general of cavalry with the Confederate Army during the Civil War. Hawes recalls her childhood and marriage; her husband's army assignments in Washington, D.C., Utah, and Kansas before the Civil War; and her experiences following her husband and living in Kentucky, Mississippi, Arkansas, Shreveport, La., and Galveston, Tex. during the war. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4427.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Civil War

Hayden, Estelle T. Theatre scrapbooks, 1899-1949. 12 manuscript volumes. Location: F:20. Programs of New York City operatic, dramatic, and musical productions, collected by Hayden. Scrapbooks contain pictures of many of the actors and singers involved. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1675.

Referenced in Guides: Performing arts, Women

Heberle, Franziska, 1900-. Letters, 1872-1986. 102 items [photocopies]. Location: Y:82. Immigrant from Germany, student of social welfare, employee of the Louisiana State Public Welfare Administration, and wife of LSU Boyd Professor of Sociology Rudolf Heberle. Letters to family and friends describing in detail experiences of the writer, her husband, and their three children while adjusting to life in the U.S. Included are accounts of travels in the U.S., Canada, Mexico, and Europe. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3624.

Referenced in Guides: Women, German, LSU, Jewish Community

Pages