Women

This guide describes manuscript collections documenting women's history in the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections at LSU. It includes the papers of women, women's organizations, family papers with significant bodies of women's papers in them, and other collections that document women's history in one way or another.

LSU is fortunate because it collected women's papers very early, perhaps without systematically trying to do so. Women's voices, often buried in plantation collections and Civil War papers, have emerged from obscurity only in recent decades. Researchers coming to LSU can study the letters and diaries of plantation mistresses and teachers, the papers of women writers, and the papers of black women, among other sources. A number of our women's collections have been recently microfilmed by University Publications of America in its series on Southern Women and their Families, making these collections more widely accessible.

Displaying 181 - 240 of 768. Show 5 | 10 | 20 | 40 | 60 results per page.

De Grummond, Jane Lucas. Papers, 1834-1990 (bulk 1893-1990). 35 linear ft. 3 printed vols. Location: UU:172; 98; 109:40-53; O:13. Professor of Latin American history, LSU. Research materials used for the editing of the Journal of John G. A. Williamson, first diplomatic representative of the United States to Venezuela. Venezuelan newspapers, clippings, and periodicals illustrating politics and public opinion in 1958. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2463.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Women, LSU

De la Roche Family Papers, 1834-1839. 4 items. Location: Misc. Papers include an account of Pierre de la Roche with T. F. Laville, a petition to the Probate Court in Orleans Parish, Louisiana, by the widow of Pierre regarding her husband's estate, and a letter from Madame Pierre de la Roche to her attorney. Letter in French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 106.

Referenced in Guides: Women, French

Depoux letter, [1834]. 1 item [typescript copy]. Location: Misc. Letter describing the circumstances of the attempted assassination of Mme. de Pontalba by her father-in-law, who in turn killed himself. Typescript of an original at Tulane University. In French, translated. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 949.

Referenced in Guides: Women, French

Derr, Lucile Elizabeth. M. A. thesis, 1927. 1 item [on microfilm]. Location: Mss. Mf.:D. Copy of Lucile Elizabeth Derr's master's thesis, "Administration of Estevan Miro, 1784-1791," (University of California Graduate School, Jan. 1927). Also included is an appendix of translations from the original Spanish documents (1781-1791). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3381.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Education

Despau, Marie S. C. Document, 1799. 1 item. Location: Misc.:D. Request of Marie Carriere Despau for separation from her husband, Guillaume Despau of Opelousas, Louisiana. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 112.

Referenced in Guides: Women, French

Devall-Hyams Family Papers and Photographs, 1824-1977 (bulk 1906-1913, 1918). 1.5 linear ft., 1 v. Location: T:31-32, J:20. Louisiana sugar planters. Collection consists of personal correspondence, legal documents, genealogies, and family photographs. Papers reflect family matters, personal activities, financial affairs, land transactions, and to a lesser extent the sugarcane crop at Orange Grove Plantation. Letters of Lillie Dickinson, Susie Devall comprise a large portion of the correspondence (1904-1913). Letters by Benjamin Devall concern military life in Georgia during World War II (1918). Photographs include an unidentified African American sugarhouse worker (undated). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4242.

Dezerie account, 1839. 1 item. Location: Misc. Receipted statement by Elizabeth A. Preston for hauling one load of plank to Grand Coteau, St. Landry Parish, Louisiana, for Dezerie. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 114.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Diary, 1835-1837. 1 vol. Location: M:19. Available on microfilm 5750: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reel 33. Governess from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, at Belfield Plantation near Natchez. Diary records reactions to plantation life, amusements, visits to neighbors, and expressions of discontent with the South. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 533.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Women, Natchez, Mississippi

Diary, 1899-1900. 1 vol. Location: Misc:D. Woman from Butler County, Nebraska. Diary entries discuss travel and visits in Nebraska, Illinois, and Crowley, Louisiana. She describes vegetation of Southwestern Louisiana; rice mills; social activities; revivals; and lectures. Available on microfilm 5750: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reel 8. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4010.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Dickinson, Mary A. Scrapbook, 1861-1867, 1904, 1922. 2 items and 1 ms. vol., 1 printed vol. Location: Misc., OS:D, P-17. Newspaper clippings collected during the Civil War by Dickinson. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1987.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Civil War

Dillings, Caroline. Letter, 1822. 1 item. Location: Misc. Personal letter from Caroline Dillings, Berlin, to her brother, Henry Dillings, Cincinnati, Ohio. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 222.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Dixon, Margaret, 1908-1970, Papers. 257 items, 5 vols., 1 audio tape. Journalism, editor of dean of the Louisiana capitol press corps. Papers include letters, research notes and writings, materials relating to the National Democratic Convention in 1956, printed items and certificates, newspaper clippings, photographs, and a tape of a speech by Dixon at a Louisiana AFL-CIO convention. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2545.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Women, LSU

Dodard, Jean, Mrs. Document, 1832. 1 item. Location: Misc.:D. Resident of Bordeaux, France. Power of attorney given to attorney, John Garnier, by Mrs. Jean Dodard to sell her slaves. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 118.

Referenced in Guides: Women, African Americans, French

Dodge, Mary Abigail, 1833-1896. Letter, 1886 November 24. 1 item. Location: Misc:D. American writer. Letter to James Redpath on the staff of The North American Review comments on the publication of an essay and Dodge's literary career. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1350.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Literature

Dorman, Caroline, 1889-1971. Recollections, 1977. 1 item [19 pages]. Location: Misc. Artist, writer, and naturalist. Resident of 'Briarwood,' Natchitoches Parish, Louisiana. Prepared by Gladys Britt, 'Sketches of Miss Caroline Dorman' consists of recollections of Dorman's life and work by friends and associates. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3180.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Literature

Dougherty, J. W., Mrs. Pass, 1865. 1 item. Location:Misc.:D. Pass issued by Headquarters, Northern Division of Louisiana, Baton Rouge, April 21, 1865, to pass the lines and return. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 893.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Civil War, Baton Rouge

Douglas, Ellen, 1921-. Papers, 1988. 5 linear ft. Location: Southern novelist. Location: E:36. Southern novelist. Blue line proofs, pasteups, and published copy (with dust cover) of CAN'T QUIT YOU BABY, by Ellen Douglas.For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4566.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Literature

Douglas, Emily Caroline, b. 1840. Papers, 1855-1913 (bulk 1855-1868). 9 items, 2 ms. vols., 1 printed vol. Location: U:49, Mss.Mf:D. Available on microfilm 5750: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reels 8-9. Connecticut native and resident of Louisiana and Mississippi. Autobiography, diary, and writings describe life in New England; with her brother, the Rev. William Kirtland Douglas, near Natchez, Mississippi, during the Civil War; at New Iberia, Louisiana; in various Mississippi towns; and in New Orleans. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 566.

Douglas, Judith Hyams, 1875-1955. Papers, 1897-1955. 700 items, 3 vols. Location: E:56-57, Mss. Mf.:D, vault:5. New Orleans, Louisiana, lawyer and civic leader. Papers consist of letters from prominent Louisiana writers and political figures, speeches, photographs, business papers, and newspaper clippings documenting her work in organizations pertaining to child labor, woman suffrage, peace movements, Jewish refugees, the juvenile court, clubs for women, and the Mississippi River flood control programs. They also contain two copies of the charter and by-laws of Le Petit Salon (1925, 1927) A scrapbook relates to Belgian relief efforts and war service. Scrapbook available on microfilm. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1392.

Douglas, Lady Jane. Document, 1749. 1 item. Location: OS:D. Resident of Scotland. Document dealing with the family squabble between Lady Jane Douglas and her brother, and to the question as to whether the two children of Lady Jane and her husband Colonel John Stewart were born of Lady Jane in Rheims, France, or were adopted. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1691.

Referenced in Guides: Women, French

Doussan Family Papers, 1827-1872. 94 items. Location: U:300. Correspondence, financial papers, and personal papers of members of the Doussan family (primarily Antoine Doussan, Louise Perrin Doussan, and Auguste Doussan) of East and West Baton Rouge Parishes, Louisiana, and France. Correspondence of Charles de Rabars of Bordeaux, France, is also included, as is a letter from General Baron Joachim Ambert. Most documents reflect the Doussans' planting operations in West Baton Rouge Parish; their financial and legal transactions in Louisiana and France; family activities, interests, and concerns; and the experience of French emigres in Louisiana as they encountered Anglo-American culture and society. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4800.

Referenced in Guides: Sugar, Plantations, Women, Business, Baton Rouge, French

Dow, Neal. Note, 1888. 1 item. Resident of Portland, Maine. Location: Misc. Note from Union general Neal Dow in reply to a request for an article for the Woman's Temperance Publication Association of Chicago, Illinois. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1401.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Dreux, Marie N. Document, 1801. 1 item. Location: Misc.:D. Resident of New Orleans. Will of Marie N. Dreux. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 122.

Referenced in Guides: New Orleans to 1861, Women, French

Duboscq, Madame Dumon. Item, undated. 1 item. Location: Misc.:D. Request from Duboscq, first name unknown, that Maccartie obtain some information concerning Madame Dumon and provide it to a merchant in Nantes. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 850.

Referenced in Guides: Women, French

Duchein (Annie), b. ca. 1872. Sketchbook, 1870, 1886-1887. 1 vol. Location: J:25. Resident of East Baton Rouge Parish. Sketchbook contains drawings of local buildings, animals, authors, and historical figures. Mss. 4751.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Baton Rouge

Duchein, Annette Ogden, 1907-1996. Letter, 1938 Apr. 30. 1 letter. Location: Misc. In a letter to Edward Larocque Tinker, Annette Duchein discusses Gwen Bristow, a literary speaking tour Bristow will make to women in Louisiana, and her own lectures across the state. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4202.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Literature

Duclos family records, 1855-1876. 3 ms. vols. Location: F:17. French-speaking African American merchants of New Orleans, Louisiana. Two volumes contain accounts for the family furniture and liquor stores; a third volume contains miscellaneous notes. There is also a photograph of an unidentified African American woman. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 689.

Duperier, Emma Mille, 1838-1936. Reminiscence, 1936. 1 item [photocopy]. Location: Misc. Resident of New Iberia, Iberia Parish, Louisiana. Typed copy of newspaper article about Mrs. Duperier, final survivor of the Last Island hurricane disaster of 1856, recalls her memories of the hurricane and her life afterward. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2933.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Duplantier, Armand Family Letters, 1777-1859. 95 items. Location: D:62. Armand Duplantier was a planter and owner of Magnolia Mound Plantation, La. Duplantier Family Letters contain items from four generations of the Duplantier family, including Armand Duplantier, his uncle Claude Trénonay, Armand’s son Armand Allard Duplantier, and granddaughter Amélie Augustine Duplantier Peniston. The letters relate to Louisiana under the French, Spanish, and Americans and the economic, political, and social conditions attendant on transitioning among the three powers; commerce with France; the succession of Trénonay; attitudes about the French Revolution; slavery and plantation matters; family news such as illness, births, deaths, and the education of Duplantier’s children; and travels in France by Amélie Duplantier. Mss. 5060.

Dupuy, Eliza A. (Eliza Ann), 1814-1881. Letter, 1854 Jan. 2. 1 letter. Location: Misc. Eliza Ann Dupuy was a Mississippi author best known for her novel about Aaron Burr, The Conspirator (1850). Dupuy in Rodney, Miss., writes to a Mr. Gallagher about the death of writer and editor, Thomas H. Shreve. Mss. 3948.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Literature

Dupuy, Helene. Diary, 1861-1865. 1 item. Location: Misc. Resident of Donaldsonville, Louisiana. Typewritten copy of a diary kept by Helene Dupuy during the Civil War. The diary mentions Louisiana Confederate units and Union activity around Donaldsonville. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 893.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Civil War, French

Durfee, Sarah. Writing books, undated 2 items. Location: Misc. Volumes 1 and 4 of The National Writing Book by David P. Page and Charles Northend (1842), with penmanship exercises completed by Sarah Durfee. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2600.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Education

Durieux, Caroline, 1896-. Oral history interview, 1975 March 31. 1 sound cassette (1 hour), Transcript (28 pages). Location: L:4700.13. Lithographer, painter, and educator of Baton Rouge. Durieux was a professor emeritus of graphic arts at LSU and was involved with literary and artistic programs sponsored by the Works Progress Administration. Interview concerns Durieux's work with, and the importance of, the W.P.A. Federal Art Project in Louisiana and New Orleans during the 1930s. Topics include the purpose, importance, and effect of the project and the work of African American artists. Durieux also discusses the effect of the Great Depression on art and artists; federal support for artists, and the success of the W.P.A. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4700.13.

Referenced in Guides: Women, African Americans, LSU

Durieux, Caroline, 1896-. Papers, 1929-1981. 2.5 linear ft. Location: X:53, OS:D. Lithographer, painter, and educator of Baton Rouge. Durieux was a professor emeritus of graphic arts at LSU and was involved with literary and artistic programs sponsored by the Works Progress Administration. Papers include personal and professional correspondence, printed items, and photographs of Durieux and her art work which document her artistic career and her career in art education at LSU. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3827.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Education, LSU

East Feliciana Parish private land claims record, 1793-1814, 1964. 1 ms. Vol. Location:H:15. Volume compiled by Sarah Goodwin Brown (1964), 'A List of Private Land Claims Prior to April 12, 1814, Confirmed by Act of Congress,' lists land claims by township, giving names of settlers, acreage, and dates of inhabitation. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2886.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Edmonds, Anne Marie Nugent. Papers, 1890-1955. 10 items. Location: Vault:5, Mss. Mf: E. Anne Marie Nugent Edmonds was also known as Nannie Nugent and by her pen name, Nathaniel Nugent. Her papers consist of seven short literary manuscripts whose topics focus on the Old South and were based upon Edmond's own experiences before, during, and after the Civil War. A typed excerpt from "Reminiscence, 1832, On a Louisiana Plantation" centers on the author's grandfather, Judge Seth Lewis, and gives some family history as well as an examination of local customs. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4942.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Civil War, African Americans, Literature

Edwards, Marianne. Letters, 1855-1866 (bulk 1855-1863). 72 items. Location: U:239. Marianne Edwards, formerly of Evansville, Indiana, was the wife of Guy M. Edwards, a Massachusetts sea captain. She took voyages from Boston to New Orleans and Baton Rouge. Letters concern voyages to New Orleans, France, and Spain, among others. Letters (1862-1863) about a voyage along the lower Mississippi River, describe conditions during the Union occupation of New Orleans and the Battle of Port Hudson. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1850.

Eggleston-Roach Papers, 1825-1903. 285 items, 6 vols. Location: U-51, OS:R. Planters of Wilkinson County and Vicksburg, Mississippi. Mrs. Elizabeth Eggleston of Vicksburg smuggled goods through Union lines to Confederate soldiers. She was subsequently imprisoned and banished from Vicksburg. Diaries and personal papers of members of the Gildart, Eggleston, and Roach families. Horace Nelson Gildart's diary gives an account of a journey through England and Ireland; Dick Hardaway Eggleston's diary records activities on Learmont Plantation. Included are correspondence and orders of Union military authorities concerning Elizabeth Eggleston's activities during the Civil War. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm 6061: University Publications of America Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B, Part 4, Reel 5. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 832.

Eliza Battle. Story, 1858. 1 item [mimeographed copy]. Location: MISC:E. Paddle steamer Eliza Battle, attacked by robbers on March 11, 1858 while returning up the Tombigbee River from Mobile, Alabama. Several versions of the burning story included. For futher information, see online catalog. Mss. 1776.

Referenced in Guides: Transportation, Women

Elliot, William St. John, 1800-1855. Papers,1824, 1835-1858.5 items. Location: OS:E. Cotton broker, planter, and owner of D'Evereaux Hall, Natchez, Miss. Among other properites in Adams County, Miss., he also owned Saragossa Plantation. Indentures and deeds for land in Adams County, Mississippi, purchased by William St. John Elliot from Stephen Duncan, Samuel A. Moore, and Henry Chotard; and a land survey of a plantation in Tensas Parish, La., owned by his wife, Anna F. Conner Bell Ruffin Elliot. Also includes a plat of land in Adams County owned by various members of the Conner family. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1147.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Women, Natchez, Mississippi

Ellis, Hazel. Family Papers, 1848-1938 (bulk 1903-1911). 5,451 items, 15 vols. Location: U:67-90, G:1. Hazel and Nellie Ellis were members of the Caswell Prewitt Ellis family of Montgomery, Alabama, and New Orleans. Personal papers of the Ellis family include financial records, legal documents, photographs, and correspondence. Most correspondence relates to family matters, health, and social events including Hazel's trip abroad in 1902. Much of the correspondence dated 1905 pertains to social events related to Hazel as Queen of Mardi Gras. Other letters are those of suitors written to Hazel and Nellie. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 467.

Ellis, Jane Self, 1931-, interviewee. Oral history interview, 1975. 1 sound cassette (30 min.), Index (1 page). Location: L:4700.5. Counselor at the Baton Rouge Mental Health Center in the 1970s. Ellis received her Master of Social Work degree from LSU in 1969. Ellis discusses the Parent Consultation Program and reasons for its existence. She mentions the everyday crises dealt with by social services and the need for parental support groups to deal with changing family roles and good parent-child relationships. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4700.5.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Ellis-Farar Papers, 1768-1871 (bulk 1804-1833). 308 items. Location: S:1; OS:E; Vault:21. Richard Ellis, planter of White Cliffs, Homochitto, and Laurel Hill plantations, Natchez. His children included Mary (who married Captain Benjamin Farar), Jane, and Abram. Papers document plantation management and include deeds, vouchers, correspondence with overseers, and receipts. Jane took a special interest in managing Laurel Hill. Personal correspondence deals with education, plantation life, and family news. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 3, Reel 10. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1000.

Emery, Emma Wilson, 1885-1970. Papers, 1904-1970, undated 287 items, 2 ms. vols. and 4 printed vols. Location: W:29, F:23. Louisiana writer and poet, resident of Shreveport, Louisiana, and poet laureate of Louisiana (1942-1970). Papers include copies of published poems and articles, newspaper clippings pertaining to her literary and social activities, photographs, and two scrapbooks containing poetry and other writings. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2982.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Literature

Erre, Louise. Papers, 1891-1892. 35 items. Location: U:120. A group of letters collected by Madame Louise Erre, and a letter from her to Charles Lasseigne, editor of Le Meschacebe, about the possibility of his using them in his journal. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 739.

Referenced in Guides: Women, French

Evans, H. Letter, 1864. 1 item. Location: Misc. Private, 9th Louisiana Infantry, Stafford's Brigade. Letter from H. Evans commenting on the activities of his friends in the Confederate army and in particular the courtesies received by a soldier in a hospital at Richmond from the wives of staff officers. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1063.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Civil War, Medicine

Evans, J. Bruce, Papers, 1614-2005 (bulk 1930-1990). 31.5 linear ft., 26 v. Location: 92:82-109; OS:E; J:34-35; Vault:1. Baptist minister, religious counselor and civil rights activist. Correspondence, church records, sermons, workshop materials, printed items, photographs and audio tapes reflect Evans's ministerial career in Baton Rouge, La., at First Baptist Church and Fellowship Church. Personal papers [some items in French], business records and genealogical material document the ancestry of Evans and his wife, Anita Louise, and provide insight into the personal lives of family members. Papers also furnish histories of Bienville and Natchitoches parishes and Saline, La., and relate to Caroline Dormon Nature Preserve and to Dormon's activities as a naturalist. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4664.

Fadenville, Marie. Papers, 1874-1879. 27 items. Location: U:120. Letters from Marie Fadenville to her husband in Iberville Parish, Louisiana. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 238.

Referenced in Guides: Women, French

Fair, James. Papers, 1833-1838. 4 items. Location: Misc:F. Owner of Grove Hill Plantation in West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. Papers pertain to Fair's mortgage of Grove Hill Plantations and its slaves. Land conveyance documents the sale of the plantation by Mrs. Maria Jones to Fair and an appraiser's certificate. There is also a questionnaire for stockholders of Citizens' Bank of Louisiana. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 668.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Women, African Americans

Falk, Myron, interviewee, Oral history interview, 1995. 1 sound cassette (.5 hours), transcript (9 p.). Location: L:4700.0723. Former director of the United Way in Baton Rouge and a writer and advocate of social welfare who endowed a scholarship in the School of Journalism at LSU. The interview describes transients in Baton Rouge during the Depression, the Old Penitentiary Receiving Station, Community Chest, and his role as director of the United Givers Fund and the United Way. He also describes cooperation between the Salvation Army and Volunteers of America (VOA), funding for VOA, and the role of women in VOA. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0723

Referenced in Guides: Women, Baton Rouge, LSU

Falk, Myron, interviewee. Oral history interview, 1993. 1 sound cassette (.75 hours), transcript (24 p.). Location: L:4700.330. Former director of the United Way in Baton Rouge and a writer and advocate of social welfare who endowed a scholarship in the School of Journalism at LSU. The interview describes Falk's family history, his education at Tulane, his wife Roberta's family history, her education, her career in social work, and her job with the Louisiana Conference of Social Welfare. Also described are Falk's work for the Transients and Migrants program during the Depression, his writings, and his presentations before Congress. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4700.330.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Women, Education

Fauver, Eleanor Dalrymple, interviewee. Oral history interview, 1977. Transcript (80 pages), 2 sound cassettes (1 hour, 35 minutes). Location: L:4700.0016. Daughter of Dr. William Dalrymple, who taught Veterinary Medicine at LSU in the early 1900's. Interview contains Eleanor Dalrymple Fauver's recollections of her father's childhood in England and their life in Louisiana. Includes information related to William Dalrymple's career at LSU, including relations with Thomas Boyd and James Nicholson. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0016.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Baton Rouge, LSU

Favre, Mrs. Willard (Elaine). Photographs, circa 1915-1918. 19 photographic postcards, 8 black and white photographic prints. Location: V:48. Postcards show unidentified men, women, and children posing, walking down dirt roads, sitting outside or in front of houses, and standing around water or oil storage tanks. Photographic prints show a group standing on a train locomotive, three women posing in front of a goat or donkey, a man outside playing an accordion, and a group of men and women posing around concrete debris with a building in the background (at the top of what appears to be a levee). See catalog record for more details. Mss. 4819.

Referenced in Guides: Performing arts, Women

Feliciana Female Collegiate Institute. Records, 1851-1895 (bulk 1867-1895). 8 vols. (6 ms. Vols., 2 printed vols.). Location: F:8. Institute located in Jackson, East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana, 1867-1877; Afton Villa, West Feliciana Parish, 1877-1884; and Jackson again after 1884. Record books include accounts with students, merchants, and record attendance and deportment of students. Printed volumes include a catalog of the institute for 1893. Available on microfilm 5750: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reel 9. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 757.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Education

Ferguson, Kate Lee, b. 1841. Papers, 1858-1911. 38 items; 7 vols. (1 ms. Vol. and 1 printed vol.). Location: S:28, 65, 98. Available on microfilm 5750: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reel 10. Novelist, poet, and composer of Mississippi. She married Confederate general Samuel Wragg Ferguson in 1862. Papers include personal letters from friends and family members; a Spanish land grant for property in Texas of Nathaniel A. Ware (Ferguson's grandfather); manuscripts by Ferguson, including prose, poetry, and music; Ferguson's memoirs; and photographs. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1416, 1576.

Referenced in Guides: Performing arts, Women, Civil War, Literature

Ferguson, Percy. Papers, 1864, 1899-1916. 9 items and 1 ms. vol. Location: OS:F, O:16. Daughter of Confederate general Samuel Wragg Ferguson. Scrapbook of manuscript poems by Percy Ferguson; a letter from her cousin, U.S. Senator LeRoy Percy of Mississippi, pertaining to national politics; and published music by Regina Morphy Voitier of New Orleans. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1416.

Finley, Etta Lucille. Papers, 1956, 1966. 3 items and 2 printed vols. Location: UU:166. Associate professor of textiles in the School of Home Economics, LSU. Printed articles and a typewritten copy of a speech primarily concerning the use of cotton fibers in textiles. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2233.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Education, LSU

Fisher, Lucy Maria W. F. Memoirs, 1889. 1 item; 25 pages [photocopy]. Location: Misc. School teacher from Connecticut who became a resident of Louisiana and taught in the Baton Rouge and New Orleans schools. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2497.

Referenced in Guides: Women, New Orleans 1866-, Education, Baton Rouge

Fiske, Minnie Maddern. Letter, 1912. 1 item. Location: Misc. American actress. Letter from Fiske in reply to a request by a Mr. Barrett for a position. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1512.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Flynn, John C. Account Book, 1830-1835. 1 v. Location: G:1. Statements of account of John C. Flynn of East Feliciana Parish and guardian of Minerva F. Simpson. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1100.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Business

Pages