Women

This guide describes manuscript collections documenting women's history in the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections at LSU. It includes the papers of women, women's organizations, family papers with significant bodies of women's papers in them, and other collections that document women's history in one way or another.

LSU is fortunate because it collected women's papers very early, perhaps without systematically trying to do so. Women's voices, often buried in plantation collections and Civil War papers, have emerged from obscurity only in recent decades. Researchers coming to LSU can study the letters and diaries of plantation mistresses and teachers, the papers of women writers, and the papers of black women, among other sources. A number of our women's collections have been recently microfilmed by University Publications of America in its series on Southern Women and their Families, making these collections more widely accessible.

Displaying 121 - 180 of 768. Show 5 | 10 | 20 | 40 | 60 results per page.

Caffery, Donelson, 1835-1906. Family letters, circa 1879, 1897. 2 letters. Location: Misc. Donelson Caffery was a planter in St. Mary Parish, La., state senator for St. Mary Parish (1892-1894), and U.S. senator from Louisiana (1893-1901). Letters recount recent developments in the Caffery family (circa 1879) and Donelson Caffery's paternal family history (1897). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4268.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Plantations, Women

Caldwell workbook, 1966. 1 item (229 sheets) mimeographed. Location: B:14. Workbook compiled by Mrs. John Q. Anderson. A first (or rough) draft of the compiler's notes, with index, dealing with the Caldwell lineage. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2214.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Cameron, Giulia Valda. Letters, 1891. 3 items. Location: Misc. Concert singer. Letters by Alfred Mapleson, of A. Mapleson and C. Siecinoski's Operatic and Concert Agency, London, apparently an agent for Giulia Valda Cameron. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1541.

Referenced in Guides: Performing arts, Women

Campbell, Zoe J., d. 1866. Diaries, 1856-1866. 5 items; 10 ms. vols. Location: P:1, Misc:C. Available on microfilm 5750: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reels 4-5. Resident of New Orleans; daughter of James and Zoe Lambert Campbell and sister of Lambert Campbell, a Confederate soldier in the Civil War. Dairies document expenses, condolence visits, and piano lessons. Beginning in May 1861, they deal with the Civil War, including events in occupied New Orleans. Papers also include a funeral announcement for Campbell and a personal letter. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1274.

Cannon, Andrew Family Papers, 1829-1868, undated (1850-1862). 110 items. Location 11:15, OS:C. Andrew Jerome Cannon family of Baton Rouge, Louisiana, employee at St. Joseph Catholic Cemetery. Correspondence related to professional, personal business, and family life in Baton Rouge, as well as the Civil War. Financial papers consisting of bills, invoices, promissory notes, and receipts are also present. For further information, see online catalog, Mss. 4979.

Capell, Eli J. (Eli Jackson), 1814-1888. Family Papers, 1840-1932 (bulk 1886-1900). 1.3 linear ft., 16 v. Location: E:47-48, F:11, OS:C, Mss.Mf:C. Planter of Pleasant Hill Plantation, Amite County, Mississippi. Capell also operated a store near Rose Hill, Mississippi. Correspondence and business records of the Capell family and related Crawford family. Business, plantation, and legal papers include letters, accounts, and invoices with cotton factors and memorandum books of cotton and merchandise sold; labor contracts and laborersÆ record book; land deeds; and records from the Rose Hill store. Family correspondence from Crawford relatives (1880-1899) relates geographic, economic, race relations, health, and social conditions in parts of Missouri, Texas, Colorado, Utah, and Montana, and letters to Capell daughters concern news of friends, personal relationships, and social activities (1865-1879). Available (with some omissions) on microfilm: University Publications of America Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B, Part 4, Reels 3-5. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 674.

Carey, Cora, b. 1843. Family Papers, 1866-1971. 161 items; 2 ms. Vols. Location: W:33, Vault. Journalist and organizer of Southern Women's Literary Clubs, of Holly Springs, Mississippi; creator of the 'Mr. Punch' column in the New Orleans Times-Democrat. Papers include correspondence about Mississippi and Louisiana women's clubs; and items from Longfellow, George Washington Cable, and Francis Willard. Later family correspondence includes that of Hamilton F. Richardson, tennis star. Available on microfilm 5750: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reels 33. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2987.

Referenced in Guides: Women, New Orleans 1866-, Literature

Carman, Juliette. Letter, ca. 1880. 1 item. Location: Misc. Resident of Stonewall, DeSoto Parish, Louisiana. Letter from Carman to a friend living in Kansas relating information concerning the proposed consecration of the recently completed Protestant Episcopal Church near Stonewall and camp meetings organized by John Nelson, minister of the Methodist Church. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1088.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Women

Carmouche, Annie Jeter, 1843-1921. Papers, 1853-1964. 5 items; 4 ms. vols. Location: W:18, H:24. Annie Jeter Carmouche spent her childhood in Virginia and New Orleans and lived in Saint Landry and Bossier Parishes, Louisiana, during and after the Civil War. She married Emile A. Carmouche. Collection includes family letters, papers, and tablets containing Carmouche's memoirs. Correspondence relates to social life, the Civil War, and family events. The memoirs recall Carmouche's childhood, the Civil War, and the postwar period. Available on microfilm 5750: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reel 5. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2878.

Carpenter, George H., 1849-1892. Family Papers, 1806, 1835-1964 (bulk 1844-1899). 2.6 linear ft., 21 mss. vols., 84 printed vols. Location: A:28-31, OS:C. Dentist who resided with his family in Slaughter and Clinton, East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. Family papers also contain items of Carpenter's father-in-law, John Y. East, and his family. Among these papers are family letters, including the John A. Collins family; legal and business papers of John East; poetry; sermons; and biographical writings. Printed material consists of newspapers clippings; maps; Colt historical prints; political handbills; Huey P. Long political broadsides (1930); and various books. Volumes include items of Mary East. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2317.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Politics, Women, Medicine, Literature

Carruth, Elizabeth. Papers, 1848-1871. 15 items. Location: E:4. Elizabeth and Jesse L. Carruth lived in Saint Helena Parish, Louisiana. Collection includes a parish tax receipt, notes signed by Jesse Carruth, and letters (1860-1870) to Elizabeth Carruth from relatives and friends in Jasper County, Texas, concerning personal news, crop conditions, and social conditions. Available on microfilm 5750: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reel 5. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 714.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Causey, R. J. Correspondence, 1863 September 25-November 19. 4 items. Location: Misc.:C. Letters from Causey's wife comment on a riot near Tickfaw involving African Americans, Tangipahoa Parish, Louisiana; Confederate farm taxes; and transportation difficulties of sending cotton to Baton Rouge. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2133.

Cazayoux Family Papers, 1929-1999 (bulk 1939-1979). 1.3 linear ft., 7 v. Location: UU:289-291, J:24, OS:C. Catholic family of Baton Rouge, La., includes Rev. Clair Cazayoux, a Jesuit priest, teacher and, and missionary; Gene Cazayoux, Catholic brother; librarian Vivian Cazayoux; and Drs. Francis and Robert Cazayoux. Papers consist of correspondence, sermons, church publications, travel pamphlets, speeches, and scrapbooks, reflecting careers, education, and the Catholic Church. Collection also offers insight into the political events and social conditions in Ceylon and India, and the U.S. military involvement in Korea during the 1950s and early 1960s. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4827.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Women, Education, Baton Rouge

Chaffraix, D. A., Mrs. Papers, 1892-1904 (bulk 1899). 18 items, 5 ms. vols. Location: O:4, Misc:C. Social and civic leader in New Orleans. Chaffraix was associated with the Chinchuba Deaf-Mute Institute near Mandeville, Saint Tammany Parish, Louisiana. Papers include record books related to benefit performances at the institute. Included are broadsides of the Protestant Episcopal Children's Home and the Chinchuba Deaf-Mute Institute (1899). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1249, 1258.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Women, New Orleans 1866-, Education

Chalmers, James R. (James Ronald), 1831-1898. Letter, 1861 [sic.1862] January 3. 1 item. Location: Misc:C. Confederate general and United States congressman. Letter to Major General Braxton Bragg written while Chalmers was a colonel in the 9th Mississippi Regiment acknowledges on behalf of the officers of the unit receipt of a barrel of golden syrup from Mrs. Bragg. Available on microfilm 5735: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reel 3. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2699.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Civil War

Chalmette, Azelie Delino, de. Azelie Delino and Ignacio Delino de Chalmette Papers, 1801-1952 (bulk 1823-1852). 47 items. Location: E:52. Plantation owners of New Orleans. Most of the collection consists of correspondence and other papers of Azelie Delino de Chalmette. Included are letters from family members, F. Godefroy of the West Indies, the Delahoussaye family, Jean Saint-Avid of Paris, and M. Cruzat of New Orleans. Letters from Ignacio Delino de Chalmette written to John Forbes & Company of Mobile, Alabama, concern Bernard de Marigny's involvement with the company. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1245.

Champion, E.W. Letter, 1838 Jan. 1 Location: Misc.: C. In her letter to friends and family in West Springfield, Mass., E.W. Champion describes social activities in Savannah, criticizes Abolitionists and remarks on the death of Elijah Lovejoy. She comments on Southern food and weather, and relates news of family members in Savannah and New England. Mss. 3964.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Chandler, John Benjamin. Petition, 1849. 1 item. Location: Misc.:C.  A printed petition submitted to the First District Court of New Orleans on behalf of John Benjamin Chandler, the son and heir of Rachel Bannister. In his petition, Chandler claims Joseph Landis, the executor of the estate sold his inheritance of property and slaves in Orleans and Jefferson parishes, and misused of the proceeds. Mss. 5282.

Referenced in Guides: New Orleans to 1861, Women

Charles A. Reynard-Marian Reynard Baun Papers, 1927-1997. 0.6 linear feet. Location: 107:18, J:25; OS:C. Charles Reynard was a law professor at LSU and an advocate of desegregation in Louisiana schools. Marian Reynard Baun was a psychology professor and community activist in Baton Rouge. The collection includes correspondence, lists, minutes, newspaper clippings, printed items, and miscellaneous items of Charles A. Reynard and Marian Reynard Baun. Items principally pertain to social activism while they were LSU professors and to Baun's subsequent work with the Friends of Public Education. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4772.

Chelette, Atala. Family Papers, 1819-1919 (bulk 1841-1899). 160 items. Location: B:18. Family of free people of color of Natchitoches Parish, Louisiana. A woman named Angélique, her children Pierre Edmond and Louis Onsime, Mary Athalie Joson (also called Josin), L. Martin Joson, and Joseph and Marie Rosalie Perot were free people of color associated with the Chelette family. Includes a true copy of the act of manumission for Angélique, described as a mulatto woman, by Louis Fort and his will, personal papers of Joseph Perot, a free man of color, and personal and business papers of Emanuel and Atala Chelette. Also includes letters from family members that moved to Texas. Available on microfilm 5750: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reel 6. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 979.

Referenced in Guides: Women, African Americans

Chemin, Camille. Letter, 1938. 2 items. Location: Misc. French author and resident of Paris, France. Letter and calling card from Camille Ce [pseudonym]. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 965.

Referenced in Guides: Women, French, Literature

Chenel, Louis E. Family Papers, 1665-1989. 15 linear ft. Location: 95:, OS:C. Chenel farmed tung trees and raised cattle in Covington, Louisiana; invested in property in St. Tammany Parish, Louisiana; and formed LEC Inc. to manage his business concerns. His daughter, Denise Chenel Vallon, was involved in running LEC Inc. Papers document the lives and business concerns of the Chenel family and the artistic career of Denise Chenel Vallon. Unproc. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4631.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Business

Chinn, Jane McCausland. Civil War reminiscence, 1863. 1 item [16 pages, typescript copy]. Location: Misc. Mistress of Fair Oaks Plantation, West Baton Rouge Parish, Louisiana, and widow of Cabell Breckinridge Chinn. Reminiscences taken from her diary record encounters with Union soldiers and the burning of grain stores. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2647.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Women, Civil War

Civil War New Orleans orphanages receipts, 1863. 2 items. Location:Misc:C. Handwritten receipts of payment from the U.S. Army, Department of the Gulf, to the Female Orphan Asylum and St. Vincent's Infant Asylum, two orphanages run by the Catholic Church in New Orleans. The items reflect the nature of interaction between Federal occupation forces and the local population. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3913.

Civil War Quartermaster document, 1863 September 3. 1 item. Location: Misc. Quartermaster receipt for purchase of materials for the Female Orphan Asylum in New Orleans. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3365.

Clapp, Thomas. Document, 1841.1 item. Location: Misc. Certification by the recorder of mortgages for New Orleans that there is no mortgage in Clapp's name recorded against a African American woman named Maria. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 72.

Clark, Charles, 1849-1936. Family Papers, 1829-1972. 1.1 linear ft. (427 items, 1 vol.). Location: UU:253-254. Judge of the Superior Court of Santa Clara County, California; married to Emma Fowler of New Orleans, Louisiana. Papers of the related Fowler, Nutt, Macbeth, and Clark families. They consist of personal correspondence and legal papers of Nathaniel W. Fowler and John Slidell, family correspondence, writings, photographs, ephemera, account ledger and the travel journal of Charles Clark. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3982.

Clark, Gladys, b. 1918. Papers, circa 1890-2004 (bulk 1940-1997). 0.75 linear ft. Location: 128:. An accomplished spinner and weaver in the Acadian tradition, Clark received numerous awards during her career. The collection includes correspondence, photographs, and printed materials that document her artistic works and awards received, including a National Heritage Fellowship from the National Endowment for the Arts in 1997. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4953.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Acadiana, French

Clifton, Elizabeth. Negroes' account for cotton, 1840 March 16. 1 item. Location: Misc:C. Document drawn up by John Bell, acting Justice of the Peace, Dallas County, Alabama, on behalf of Elizabeth Clifton listing names and money paid to African Americans by the estate of William C. Clifton for cotton raised on their own 'patches'. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3666.

Referenced in Guides: Women, African Americans

Cohn, Margie de Bretton and Family. Papers, 1945-1982, undated (bulk 1945-1968). 1 linear foot. Location: E:122. Primarily papers of Maggie deBretton Cohn and daughter Margie, both of Baker, La. Includes writings, correspondence, and miscellaneous files related to Maggie deBretton Cohn's writing, and Margie deBretton Cohn's English translation of an 1828 German text describing travelling through the Mississippi River Valley. Letters to Margie while a student at LSU are included, as well as religious writings by other family members and items related to the family's 1964 donation of the Laurens Henry Cohn Sr. Memorial Plant Arboretum to the Baton Rouge Recreation and Park Commission. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4472.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Women, Baton Rouge, LSU, Literature

Colbert, Elenor Robinson, 1940-, interviewee. Oral history interview, 1993. 1 sound cassette (45 minutes), Index (2 pages). Location: L:4700.222. Resident of Four Corners, an unincorporated community south of Franklin, St. Mary Parish, Louisiana. Colbert's great-grandmother was a slave. Colbert describes working in cane fields as a child; customs of family gatherings, the burial of umbilical cords of newborns, and cutting hair on Good Friday; the challenges of plantation life; christening and baptism traditions; and natural remedies. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4700.222.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Women, African Americans, Medicine

Coleman, Viola, Collection, 1945-2008 (bulk: 1945-1947). 44 items. Location: Misc:C. Midland, Texas physician and Louisiana civil rights pioneer. Contains photocopies of correspondence, news clippings, and video transcript detailing Coleman's lawsuit for admission into LSU's medical school in 1946. For more information see online catalog. Mss. 4997.

Colonial Dames of XVII Century: The Louisiana Society, Isaac Monet Chapter. Records, 1952-1992. 14 items, 15 ms. vols. Location: Misc., 7:25. Scrapbooks containing programs, publicity, photographs, and other items pertaining to the Isaac Monet Chapter, as well as some materials relating to the national organization. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3748.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Common Cause Louisiana Records, 1972-1991 (bulk: 1980-1990). 24.0 linear ft. Location: IMCCL. Consists of administrative and subject files for local and regional branches of a national citizen advocacy organization. Includes correspondence, newsletters, reports, printed materials, ephemera, and other records documenting group structure and activities. Records address political issues such as campaign finance reform, civil rights, nuclear disarmament, fair elections, wasteful government spending, and official corruption. For additional information, see online catalog. Mss. 4469.

Compton, Mary E. Family papers, 1858-1955 (bulk 1858-1888). 26 items, 2 v. on one microfilm reel. Location: Mss.Mf:C, C:72. Wife of George W. Compton, a planter of Walnut Grove Plantation near Cheneyville, Louisiana. Letters of Capt. Henry E. Handerson, 9th Louisiana, relate to life at Camp Bienville and the Battle of Manassas. Compton's diary documents wartime operation of the plantation. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1299.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Women

Conner, Lemuel Parker, 1827-1891. Family Papers, 1810-1953, undated. 12.5 linear feet and 22 ms. Vols. Location: A:, 98:C, OS:C, Vault, J:24. Planter from Natchez, Mississippi. Papers include correspondence, cotton statements, legal and business papers (including slave testimony in an alleged slave uprising, 1861), plantation records, and Civil War papers of Confederate soldiers and civilians, family letters from LSU and Smith College, and First Presbyterian Church (Natchez) records. Also included are papers of Levin R. Marshall, the Sessions family, and Henry R. Chotard; 256 pieces of published sheet music (1824-1883); a minstrel show program (1879); and miscellaneous programs of Natchez concerts and music recitals. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm 5322: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 3, Reels 14-18. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 81, 1403, 1431, 1475, 1551, 1595, 1710, 1793, 1859, 1934, 1999.

Conner, Mary Macrery Britton. Scrapbook, 1825-1904. 1 volume. Location: O:21. Scrapbook created by Mary Macrery Britton Conner, daughter of Eliza Macrery and Audley Clark Britton and wife of Lemuel P. Conner, Jr. Scrapbook contains drawings and fabric swatches, including pieces of fabric from her own trousseau and from that of her mother-in-law, Elizabeth Frances Turner Conner. Mss. 5320.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Natchez, Mississippi

Corbin, Robert A., d. 1906. Papers, 1835-1917 (bulk 1870-1898). 1,202 items; 10 vols. Location: E:8-9. Land speculator and businessman of Louisville, Kentucky, New Orleans, and Hammond, Louisiana. Collection includes land sale and business papers. Civil War-era papers deal with Kentucky claims against the federal government. Post-1870 papers with business partnerships with Lucy I. Burgess, including purchase of the Melrose Dairy in New Orleans. Available on microfilm 5750: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reels 6-8. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 705.

Cordier, Marie Noel. Slave Mortgage, 1858-1860. 5 items. Location: Misc.: C. Freewoman of color who resided in New Orleans, Louisiana. A mortgage and receipts (in French) concern the conveyance of slaves, and a document from the Office of Mortgages of the City of New Orleans in the Parish of Orleans (in English) states no other mortgages standing in the name of Marie Noel Cordier. Mss. 5254.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Business, African Americans, French

Cornish, Reverend John Hamilton, 1815-1878. Papers, 1855-1888. 157 items. Location: W:51. Protestant Episcopal Rector of St. Thaddeus' Church, Aiken, South Carolina. Collection includes correspondence of Cornish, his sons, his daughters, and other family members. Correspondence concerns church affairs, education of the sons at Sewanee Theological Seminary and other institutions, travel, and personal relationships. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3365.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Women, Education

Cotton, William Davis and Family. Papers, 1852-1989. 1 linear ft., 4 vol. Location: S:136, OS:C, H:14. Collection contains correspondence and papers belonging to the Cotton Family. This includes the Civil War correspondence of Dr. Drury P. Gibson and his sister Mary Gibson Cotton, correspondence between George Spencer Cotton and his fiancée Lizzie Davis (1888-1890), and correspondence, photographs, and printed items belonging to William Davis Cotton, attorney of Rayville, La, and former president of LSU Alumni Federation (1969-1989). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4780.

Cox, Ellen M. Collection, 1850s. 1 ms. vol. (365 pages). Location: 65:29. Bound sheet music published principally in Paris and purchased from New Orleans dealers. Includes a copy of Jerusalem composed for Louis Moreau Gottschalk and published in New York City (1855). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2384.

Referenced in Guides: New Orleans to 1861, Performing arts, Women

Crawford, David d. 1834. Letters, 1834 [183?]. 2 items. Location: Misc:C. Lawyer of Mobile and Mount Pleasant, Alabama. Letters written to his wife and mother discuss his poor state of health; his commitment to his profession; and the behavior of slaves, particularly the misconduct of a female slave resulting in the need to dispose of her. Also included are bank records of the Bank of Mobile falsified in order to cover an accounting error. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3666.

Referenced in Guides: Women, African Americans

Crean, Mary Walsingham. Manuscript, circa 1881-1885. 1 item. Location: Misc.:C. Manuscript by Mary Walsingham Crean titled, 'Is he Knave or Fool--this Mr. Wilde?' For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 244.

Referenced in Guides: Women, New Orleans 1866-, Literature

Creighton, M. G. Letter, 1837. 1 item. Location: Misc.:C. Family letter from M.G. Creighton of New Orleans, La., to her aunt in Philadelphia, Pa. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1399.

Referenced in Guides: New Orleans to 1861, Women

Crosby, Dixie Hammond. Family Papers, 1890-1992 (bulk: 1937-1965). 159 items, 3 v. Location: 34:, OS:C. Family papers of Mack Gerald Crosby, Dixie Lillie Myrtle Hammond Crosby, and their daughter Dixie Lee "Dee" Crosby Brown. Mack Crosby and Dixie Hammond were both from Baton Rouge, La. and attended Louisiana State University in the 1930?s. Mack Crosby served in the United States Air Force for over thirty years. This collection includes correspondence, manuscripts, photographs, and, newspaper clippings relating to family affairs, work, and military service. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4805.

Daine, Marie J. F. R. Judgment, 1829. 2 items. Location: Misc.:D. New Orleans Parish Court judgment and receipt for court costs in favor of petitioner, Marie Jacqueline Feliciana Rigaud, versus her lawful husband, J. B. Daine, for desertion and permission to contract another marriage. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1147.

Referenced in Guides: New Orleans to 1861, Women

Dalrymple, C. G. Letter, 1847 June 5. 1 item. Location: Misc:D. Resident of Monroe County, Mississippi, and the wife of a cotton plantation overseer. Letter to Dalrymple's brother and sister in North Carolina describing her life on a small cotton plantation, land settlement in the area, the activities of family members, local attitudes towards violence, and her psychological state. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2966.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Women

Daniels, Josephus, 1862-1948. Papers, 1917-1936. 4 items. Location: Misc:D. A U.S. Secretary of the Navy, Ambassador to Mexico, and editor of the Raleigh, North Carolina newspaper, News and Observer. Letters describe construction at the Boston Navy Yard, the American economy during WWI, Woodrow Wilson's role at the Versailles Peace Conference, Roosevelt's Agricultural Adjustment Act and its effects on farm prices and the rural economy. An excerpt of a speech by Daniels discusses the service of women during WWI. Letter relating advantages of Federal Reserve Board and the U.S. Shipping Board to the conduct of the War. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2389.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Women, 20th Century Wars

Dardenne, Eugenie. Land document, 1856 March 24. 1 item (4 leaves). Location: Misc:D. Land conveyance recording the sale of slaves and one-third of the ownership of Dardenne Plantation, a sugar plantation in Iberville Parish, Louisiana. The sale was made to John A. Dardenne. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 668.

Referenced in Guides: Sugar, Plantations, Women, African Americans

Dart, Elisabeth K. (Elizabeth Kilbourne). Collection, 1774-2005. 5.5 linear feet. Location: 121:8-11. Resident and local historian in St. Francisville, West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. Wrote about West Feliciana subjects including the Railroad, biographies of notable figures, and tours for Grace Cemetery. Collection contains manuscript and research materials used for exhibits, lectures, tours, and writing on West Feliciana Parish. Manuscripts include deeds, correspondence, accounting records, legal papers, court cases, and receipts. Other records include published materials, copies of original materials, scrapbooks, photographs, notes, and exhibit text. Mss. 5023.

Daughters of the American Revolution. Baton Rouge Chapter. Records, 1931-1985. 10 vols. Location: 53:. Scrapbook volumes contain publicity and business records, including correspondence, newspaper clippings, photographs, programs, and other printed items. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4086.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Baton Rouge

Davion, Marguerite Cloutier. Document, 1824. 1 item. Location: Misc. Resident of Natchitoches Parish, Louisiana. Act of cession in the succession proceedings of Marguerite Cloutier Davion. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 849.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Davis, Jefferson. Family correspondence collection, 1868-1907. 12 items. Location: Misc.:D, vault:1. U. S. congressman (1845-1851, 1857-1861) from Mississippi, U. S. Secretary of War (1853-1857), and president of the Confederate States of America (1861-1865). Correspondence relates to genealogy, personal affairs, and letters of recommendation for an African American coachman. Correspondents include Jefferson Davis, his wife, Varina Davis and daughter, Margaret Davis Hayes. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 250, 893.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Women, African Americans

Davis, Varina Howell. Letter, 1881 March 12. 1 item. Location: Misc.: D, Vault: 1. Wife of Jefferson Davis, president of the Confederate States of America. Letter from Varina Davis to a Mr. Bigelow comments on the status of Jefferson Davis's hand injury, the attractiveness of Mississippi, and her daughter's visit. Original housed in the vault is restricted. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3929.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Davis, Varina Howell. Photograph, 1849. 1 item. Location: Vault:39. Wife of Jefferson Davis, President of the Confederate States of America. 1 1/6 plate studio portrait cased daguerreotype of Varina Davis, possibly taken at Natchez, Miss., circa 1949. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1678.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Civil War

Dawson, Sarah Morgan. Letter and Photograph, 1899, undated 2 items. Location: Misc.:D. Letter from Sarah Morgan Dawson to a friend, offering the use of her library. The photograph was taken on a holiday in North Carolina in August 1899. For further information, see online. Mss. 1703.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Dawson, Sarah Morgan. Manuscripts, 1908. 2 items. Location: Misc.:D. Two manuscript narratives from an unfinished volume of Reminiscences and Miscellanies recalled by her during the last years of her life at the request of her children. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1703.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Dayries, B. E. Family correspondence, 1829-1848. 8 items. Location: Misc. Residents of Pointe Coupee Parish, Louisiana. Correspondence of members of the Dayries family, principally Mrs. Dayries, from Mont-de-Marsan, capital of Landes, France. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1724.

Referenced in Guides: Women, French

De Beguer, Emma. Letter, 1869. 1 item [photostat]. Location: Misc.:D. Resident of Baton Rouge. Personal letter by Miss de Beguer to a friend. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 778.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Baton Rouge, French

Pages