Women

This guide describes manuscript collections documenting women's history in the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections at LSU. It includes the papers of women, women's organizations, family papers with significant bodies of women's papers in them, and other collections that document women's history in one way or another.

LSU is fortunate because it collected women's papers very early, perhaps without systematically trying to do so. Women's voices, often buried in plantation collections and Civil War papers, have emerged from obscurity only in recent decades. Researchers coming to LSU can study the letters and diaries of plantation mistresses and teachers, the papers of women writers, and the papers of black women, among other sources. A number of our women's collections have been recently microfilmed by University Publications of America in its series on Southern Women and their Families, making these collections more widely accessible.

Displaying 721 - 768 of 768. Show 5 | 10 | 20 | 40 | 60 results per page.

Varillat, M. Letter, fcirca 1818. 1 item. Location: Misc.:V. Letter from M. Varillat, apparently a child, to her grandmother, describing in detail the size of the steamer Ohio and, in particular, the furnishings for the drawing room and the cabins. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1032.

Referenced in Guides: Transportation, Women, French

Varnado, Florence Bankston. Papers, 1912, 1918-1967. 28 items. Location: C:63, Misc:V. Mother of Clyde Wendell Varnado, a lieutenant in the 35th Infantry of the U.S. Army; and of Samuel Ross Varnado, captain of Company L of the 325th Infantry of the American Expeditionary Forces. Collection includes items related to an insurance claim against the U.S. Army; photographs of Clyde and Samuel; two military crosses from the United Daughters of the Confederacy; discharge papers; and, a woven basket. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2272.

Referenced in Guides: Women, 20th Century Wars

Varnado, Samuel Ross, 1881-1931. Papers, 1917-1979 (bulk 1917-1937). .3 linear ft. (30 items, 5 printed vols.). Location: A:54. Captain of Company L, 325th Infantry of the American Expeditionary Forces in France. Varnado was wounded in the Meuse-Argonne Offensive and was a patient in a veterans hospital in Gulfport, Mississippi. Papers include letters written by Varnado around the time of the Meuse-Argonne battle, and documents and items related to Varnado's military service. Includes a Cross of Military Service certificate (1967) awarded posthumously by the Daughters of the Confederacy. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2272, 2448.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Medicine, 20th Century Wars

Varnell, William M. Papers, 1849-1871. 4 items. Location: Misc.:V. Resident of Texas. Papers a photocopy of a letter (Sept. 19, 1849) written from Sacramento, Calif. To C. Hill of Wilmington, Ark., describing his trip from Texas, the gold rush and economic conditions in California. A biographical sketch by his granddaughter, and typed obituaries of Varnell are also included (1871). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 584.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Vezin, Pierre F. O. Document, 1749. 1 item. Location: Misc.:V. Marriage contract of Pierre F. O. Vezin and Marie J. du Plassey of New Orleans, Louisiana. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 431.

Referenced in Guides: Women, French

Villier, Marie J. Document, 1814. 1 item. Location: Misc.:V. Sale bill of sale for a slave sold by Mrs. Marie Jean Villier of St. Landry Parish, Louisiana, to Louis DeBlanc of St. Martin Parish, Louisiana. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 434.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Vincent, Thomas McCurdy, 1882-1909. Family Papers, 1824-1916. 467 items. Location: W:38-39, VAULT MRDF 6, Vault:1. U. S. Army officer in the Seminole and Civil wars. Letters of Thomas Vincent and Laura Lancaster (1857) pertain to his military career, family matters and the education of his son, Thomas Norris Vincent. Papers also include Vincent's diary while at West Point are present. Other letters discuss yellow fever in Galveston area (1867); Whig sentiments of Catholic girls school in Kentucky (Nov. 21, 1840), the Catholic education of girls (1840-1855), conversion to Catholicism (1857) and the influence of the Catholic Mission Movement on the Vancouver Indian of Oregon (1876). Also includes letters of recommendation for admission to West Point, including one from William T. Sherman. Other correspondents include Julia Dent Grant and Ida Tarbell. Early papers (1824-1856) relate to the Joseph B. Lancaster family and reflect social events, education, and family matters. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3116.

Waddill Family Papers, 1835-1994 (bulk 1861-1866). 0.5 linear ft. Location: E:18. George Daniel Waddill, a Baton Rouge druggist, was the son of Abel Waddill, Baton Rouge magistrate. George served as a hospital steward in the Civil War. Joanna Fox, later his wife, served as a nurse. Papers contain correspondence, including Civil War correspondence of George Waddill; genealogical information on the Waddill and Bessonett families; and an autograph book of Elizabeth McMichael. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4578.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Civil War, Baton Rouge, Medicine

Wall Family. Papers, 1829-1921. 0.2 linear ft. Location: V:47. Collection is primarily correspondence between members of the Wall family of Clinton, Louisiana, particularly Mary Winans Wall and her son, Wesley Wall. Much of the correspondence relates to the family's experiences during the Civil War, including the deaths of three family members and the long imprisonment of Wesley at Camp Douglas in Chicago. Letters discuss personal news, mutual friends, daily life in Clinton, and Mary's efforts to have Wesley released during the Civil War. In addition to the correspondence, there is a school merit certificate, an essay written by Wesley, and a legal document from probate court in Wilkinson County, Mississippi, certifying that Isaac Wall is licensed to officiate marriages. Mss. 5243. 

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Women, Civil War, Education

Wall, Mary B. (Mary Berthelot), 1903-1990. Papers, 1885-1990. 14 linear ft. Location: 91:21-28, 90:31. Louisiana poet, a founder of the National Federation of the State Poetry Society, and co-founder of the Louisiana State Poetry Society. Mary married Evans Spencer Wall, Jr., also a writer. Correspondence, legal and financial records, poetry, printed items, and photographs documenting Mary B. Wall's life and literary activities from 1911-1990. The bulk of the collection consists of Berthelot family correspondence. Also present are a few legal documents of Joseph Albert Berthelot and a family tree for the Welch family. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4438.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Literature

Warner, Mary Henkel. Family Papers, 1891-1962. 86 items; 5 vols.; 1 microfilm reel. Location: UU:149, O:22, OS:W, Mss. Mf:W. Wife of Thomas E. Warner. Mary Henkel Warner and family lived in Tangipahoa Parish, Louisiana. Manuscript materials include a Women's Christian Temperance Union minute book, a gas station ledger, and photographs. Poetry, stories, and other writings about Mary Henkel Warner are available only on microfilm. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3283.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Women, Business, Literature

Watson, J. (Joseph). Correspondence, 1826-1846 (bulk 1826-1828). 13 items. Location: Misc.:W. Mayor of Philadelphia. Earliest correspondence (1826-1828) refers to the recovery of five free black children kidnapped in Philadelphia and sold as slaves in Louisiana and Mississippi. Other items include a letter of Clara Baxter of New Orleans proclaiming her dislike of the city. Available on microfilm 5750: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reel 32. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1872.

Webb, Maria Stuart, ca. 1786-1846. Succession documents, 1846, 1848. 4 items. Location: Misc. These four documents concern the death of Maria Stuart Webb, a native of London, England, who died in Lafayette, Jefferson Parish, La., on October 25, 1846. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4346.

Referenced in Guides: New Orleans to 1861, Women

Webb, William, Sr. Papers, 1835. 2 items. Location: Misc.:W. Resident of New Orleans, Louisiana. Mortgage of slaves of William Webb, Sr. to William Porter, to whom Webb was indebted, and certification of the mortgage by the bureau of mortgages in New Orleans. The mortgage indicates that the slaves mortgaged were Effy, aged 30, Lucinda, aged 26, and Lucinda's two children, Mississippi and Janus, aged ten and six respectively. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 443.

Weigel, Henry S. Family letters, 1942-1944. 2 linear ft. Location: 5:26. Officer in the U.S. Army Infantry Corps in World War II, and resident of Amite, Tangipahoa Parish, Louisiana. Weigel's letters pertain to his military training; his wartime service in England; the progress of the war in Europe and Africa; and reactions to the Allied invasion of France in 1944. Letters of his wife, Merle Elizabeth Morrison Weigel, concern civilian life in Amite, rationing, wartime civilian service activities, social life, and child rearing. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3012.

Referenced in Guides: Women, 20th Century Wars

Welty, Eudora. Letter, 1960 Jan. 18. 1 item. Location: Misc.:W. Mississippi writer. Typewritten letter from Eudora Welty to N.M. Caffee, chair of a committee of the College of Arts and Sciences at Louisiana State University and Agricultural and Mechanical College in Baton Rouge, La., declining Caffee's invitation to participate in the committee's symposium. Welty explains that her mother's poor health makes it impossible for her to leave home. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 965.

Referenced in Guides: Women, LSU, Literature

Welty, Eudora. Papers, 1851-1957 (bulk: 1951-1952). Location: 7:28, Vault: 25, and Vault 17-18, 20-21. A native of Mississippi, Welty (1909-2001) was an important 20th-century writer. Thirty-nine letters, two postcards, and three greeting cards written primarily by Eudora Welty to John F. Robinson, her long-time friend and fellow author, relating primarily to their respective writing careers and mutual friends. Several letters chronicle her stay in Ireland with writer Elizabeth Bowen and the experiences of her time there upon her work. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4919.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Literature

West, Elizabeth Howard, 1873-1948. Papers, [1783-1825], 1924-1942. 3 linear ft. (on microfilm). Location: Mss. Mf.:W Librarian Emeritus of Texas Technological College. Research materials prepared for a project to be published with a historical introduction and explanatory notes. The papers consist of correspondence together with official documents of the history of the period. Spanish transcriptions and English translations. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2403.

Referenced in Guides: Spanish, Women, Education

West, William Hansberry. Document, circa 1945-1955..1 item [photostat]. Location: Misc.:W. Notarized document signed by William Hansberry West's daughter, Lydia Ann West, aged 83. In it she testifies that her father was the pilot of the steamboat Robert E. Lee during its much-publicized race with the steamboat Natchez from St. Louis, Mo., to New Orleans, La., in 1870. The document includes a photograph of a medal presented in 1871 in New Orleans, La., to West by "Daily" Roper (possibly Daniel J. Roper, a steamboat mate) in honor of his service as pilot of the steamer. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1615.

Weydemeyer, Luise, Family correspondence, 1849-1869. 100 items. Location: A:67. German immigrant living in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. Letters from relatives and friends concern personal and business matters and discuss Union army recruitment and training during the Civil War. Letters from Union general Franz Sigel's wife describe her husband's military activities and civilian career. Primarily in German. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1350.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Women, Civil War, German

Whitaker, Lily C. Poem, circa 1916. 1 item. Location: Misc.:W. Copy of her poem 'Shakespeare,' presented before the Shakespearean Anniversary Association at the Tulane Theater, New Orleans. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1284.

White (Edith) Photograph Collection, circa 1850 - 1970. 261 items. Location: 65. The Edith White Photograph Collection consists largely of photographic images created between circa 1850 and 1970. This includes daguerreotypes, Ambrotypes, albumen prints in various formats, gelatin silver prints in various formats, resin-coated paper prints, and photographic color prints. Many of the images are identified. These identified prints relate largely to the McKowen, Woodside, and White families. The collection also includes a number of newspaper clippings and a printed death notice. The clippings provide information about the McKowen, Glynn, and White families. The printed death notice relates the death of Maggie Germany Woodside. Mss. 4758.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Women

Wideman-Mothershead land documents, 1806-1930, undated 33 items. Location: S:127, OS:W. Residents of Jefferson County, Missouri. Land documents, including titles and deeds, pertain to tracts of land acquired by Mark Wideman, his widow Meredith Wideman, and Isaac Sylvester Mothershead. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3246.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Wiksell, Wesley A., 1906-1991. Wesley A. and Jean Starr Wiksell papers, 1920-1970 ca. (bulk 1950-1965). 39 linear ft. Unprocessed. Location: OS:W; Offsite, contact for details. Professor of speech and communication at LSU. Wesley and Jean Starr Wiksell were puppeteers. Papers include subject files, correspondence, photographs, and other items that document Wiksell's activities as a professor, puppeteer, and theater performer. Papers of Jean Starr Wiksell relate primarily to the theater and to her work as a puppeteer. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4329.

Referenced in Guides: Performing arts, Women, LSU

Wildbahn, Ann D. Letter, 1867 October 16. 1 item. Location: Misc:W. Letter written by Ann Wildbahn relating the effects of the Civil War on her neighbors and neighborhood; postwar conditions in Travis County, Texas; and the presence of military rule in Austin, Texas. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3666.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Civil War

Wilkerson, Helen C. Papers, 1920-1958, 703 items, 1 ms. vol., 2 printed vols. Location: X:92-93, OS:W. Assistant dean of women at LSU. Papers contain professional papers and correspondence related to Wilkerson's tenure as dean. Material also reflects her involvement in Baton Rouge women's organizations, balls, and festivals. Also included is a program for 75th annual commencement of the Natchez Institute in Natchez, Miss. (1920); addresses delivered by Charles W. Pipkin, (1931-1936); and an address entitled "The strange case of Louisiana and Huey P. Long" presented by Harry Gamble of New Orleans to the Louisiana Legislature. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1606.

Wilkinson, Hugh M. Papers, 1953, 1954. 2 items. Location: Misc.:W. Resident of New Orleans, Louisiana, descendant of General James Wilkinson. Two sets of papers related to General James Wilkinson. The first is an address delivered by Hugh Wilkinson at the unveiling of a historical marker at Camp Sabine, La., by the Louisiana State Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution. It discusses James Wilkinson's role in thwarting the Aaron Burr conspiracy . Other material relates to the dedication of the Wilkinson family cemetery in Calvert County, Md., designated an historical site by the Maryland State Chapter of the DAR. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1574.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Women

Wilkinson, Micajah. Papers, 1853-1935 (bulk 1855-1880). .3 linear ft. (116 items, 33 printed vols.). Location: E:39. Farmer of Liberty, Amite County, Mississippi. Personal correspondence of Wilkinson and his wife. Letters from Nancy Willard and her granddaughter provide information about religion, the temperance movement, agriculture, race relations, and community events in Collinsburg, Bossier Parish, Louisiana. Civil War correspondence describes camp life in Mississippi, Confederate conscription, the battle at Shiloh, hardships on women, and the siege of Vicksburg. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 707.

Willard, Irma Sompayrac. Papers, 1933, 1967, 1972, 1973, undated. 7 items. Location: MISC:W, OS:W. Louisiana artist. Papers include a genealogy of the Sompayrac family; histories of the founding and first days of the Natchitoches (Louisiana) Art Colony; a map of 'Historic Natchitoches and Cane River Country'; and a print of a drawing by Willard of New York skyscrapers. Mss. 2743.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Williams, Emma. Account book, circa 1850-1900. 1 vol. Location: J:7. Resident of Slaughter, East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. Account book of Williams listing names and payments made. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 449.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Business

Williams, Thomas. Document, 1835 Sept. 26. 1 item. Location: Misc.:W. Resident of New Orleans. Louisiana. Mortgage of a young female slave by Thomas Williams to John Kellar, both of New Orleans, La. Mortgage is attached to a certification signed by the recorder of mortgages for the city of New Orleans. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 451.

Williamson, F. B. T. Family correspondence, 1790-1881 (bulk 1812-1856). .75 linear ft. Location: C:70. Frances Bond Travis Williamson, wife of John G. A. Williamson. Correspondence of Frances Williamson, the John Travis family, the Cadwalader family of Philadelphia, and the Bond family of England, pertaining to family matters, travel in England and France, and social and economic conditions in England. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1302, 1325.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Williamson, Frederick and Lillian. Papers, 1922-1939. 2.3 linear ft. 78:75-77. Lillian Williamson was a librarian in Monroe and Baton Rouge, Louisiana. Her husband, Frederick Williamson, worked as a newspaper editor and as an associate editor for the Louisiana State University Agricultural Extension Service. Correspondence, writings, printed material, diaries, and photographs document their marriage and professional work in their respective fields. Mss. 817.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Education

Wilsford, Inez Smith, 1855-1939. Reminiscence, circa 1900-1939. 1 item [typed copy]. Location: Misc.:W. Resident of Ringgold, Georgia. Memories of the Civil War. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2671.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Civil War

Wolford, Ella White Stroube, 1902- Dance cards and invitation, 1920-1922. 11 items. Location: Misc:W. Student at LSU. Dance cards and an invitation to LSU fraternity and sorority functions held at the Community Club, University Pavilion, and Golf and Country Club in Baton Rouge, La. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4312.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Baton Rouge, LSU

Woman's Christian Temperance Union. State of New York. Items, 1883-1949. 53 items. Location: U:107. History and convention programs of the Woman's Christian Temperance Union of Oswego County, New York, and related broadsides and pictures of the national organization. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1813.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Women's Social Industrial Association. Record books, 1881-1899. 8 items, 6 vols. Location: H:13, Misc.:W. Association in New Orleans organized for the mutual benefit of its members and to promote the industries of women. Collection contains minute books, a journal of expenses for the charity committee, and a printed constitution and bylaws. Available on microfilm 5750: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reel 32. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2137.

Referenced in Guides: Women, New Orleans 1866-

Wood, Letitia L. Papers, 1927. 7 items. Location: Misc.:W. Materials relating to a speedwriting course given by the School of Brief English Systems of New York City. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2140.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Education

Wood, Sarah Knox. Genealogical notes, 1901. 1 item (186 pages, typewritten copy). Location: U:121. Genealogical materials collected from original records and other sources for Sarah Knox Wood for her application for membership in the Maryland Society of the Colonial Dames of America. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1237.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Woodruff, Clark, 1791-1851. Letter, 1834 Oct. 21. 1 letter. Location: Misc. Clark Woodruff was a state representative for West Feliciana Parish (1826-28), judge of the eighth judicial district court (1828-36), and manager of the Myrtles Plantation. Clark Woodruff writes from Madisonville, La., to Morris Woodruff in Litchfield, Conn., regarding his sending of a check to pay off a note, the education of his daughter Mary Octavia under Morris' care, his own poor health, his being cheated out of an election, and Whig Party presidential politics. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4021.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Women, Education

Wright family sketch, 1957. 1 item. Location: Misc. Sketch of Dr. Jesse Durastus Wright and Dr. Wright's wife, Sarah Robert Grimball, together with a list of their children and their birth and death dates. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1434.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Wright, Sophie B. Papers and scrapbooks, 1893-1927 (bulk 1892-1900). .15 linear ft. (70 items). Location: U:91. Educator and charity activist of New Orleans, Louisiana; principal of the Home Institute, a day and boarding school for young ladies, and organizer of the Free Night School for working men and boys. Items removed from scrapbooks include letters of appreciation, programs, invitations, and other materials documenting Wright's career as an educator and philanthropist. Available on microfilm 5750: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reel 33. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1134.

Referenced in Guides: Women, New Orleans 1866-, Education

Wright-Boyd Family. Papers, 1812-1914. 2.5 linear ft. Location: R:23-24, OS:W, 65:61. The Wright family owned plantations in Rapides Parish, Louisiana. Esther Gertrude Wright married David French Boyd, president of the Louisiana State Seminary, later LSU. Papers include correspondence, diaries, journals, memoirs, and photographs. The papers mainly document the lives of the women members of the Wright and Boyd families. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3362.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Women, LSU

Wurtele, Mildred Orkney. Scrapbook, 1910-1912. 1 ms. vol. Location: M:18. 'A Theatre-Goer's Record' of entertainment in Chicago and New Orleans. Scrapbook contains clipped programs for plays, operas, ballets, concerts, vaudeville, and motion pictures, lengthy comments by Wurtele, and photographs of the artists. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2306.

Referenced in Guides: Performing arts, Women, New Orleans 1866-

Wyckoff, Elias. Correspondence, 1862-1863. 11 items. Location: Misc.:W. Farmer from Jasper, Steuben County, New York, and a member of the 161st New York Volunteers in the Civil War, serving with an ambulance corps. Exchange of letters between Wyckoff and his wife refers to the military situation in Baton Rouge and Port Hudson, Louisiana. Wyckoff comments on his duties as an ambulance driver. His wife writes of money scarcity, farm problems, and life in Jasper. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1396, 1428, 1437.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Civil War, Baton Rouge, Medicine

Yarbrough, Cornelia. Papers. 1963-2004 (bulk 1973-2004). 5 linear feet. Location: 8:66-68. Professional papers of Cornelia Yarbrough, professor of music education and researcher at Louisiana State University. Papers include academic and literary correspondence, research, writings, printed materials and audio recordings. In addition to writings and research, most materials are the product of Yarbrough's time spent in music education at Syracuse University and Louisiana State University. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4921.

Referenced in Guides: Performing arts, Women, Education, LSU

Young, Robert Thomas, 1812-1890. Family Papers, 1793-1927 (bulk 1830-1890). 0.5 linear ft. Location: E:35, OS:Y. Cotton planter of the Plains in upper East Baton Rouge Parish. Correspondence, legal documents, financial papers, slave lists and bill of sale, personal papers, and printed items document the lives of the Young family. Included are letters written during the Civil War by Robert's sister-in-law, Julia. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4548.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Women, Civil War, African Americans

Zacharie, Carrie. Composition book, 1862-1864. 1 item. Location: Misc:Z. Student's composition book written at the Convent of Mercy, New Orleans. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4524.

Pages