Women

This guide describes manuscript collections documenting women's history in the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections at LSU. It includes the papers of women, women's organizations, family papers with significant bodies of women's papers in them, and other collections that document women's history in one way or another.

LSU is fortunate because it collected women's papers very early, perhaps without systematically trying to do so. Women's voices, often buried in plantation collections and Civil War papers, have emerged from obscurity only in recent decades. Researchers coming to LSU can study the letters and diaries of plantation mistresses and teachers, the papers of women writers, and the papers of black women, among other sources. A number of our women's collections have been recently microfilmed by University Publications of America in its series on Southern Women and their Families, making these collections more widely accessible.

Displaying 61 - 120 of 768. Show 5 | 10 | 20 | 40 | 60 results per page.

Belcher, Eric. Collection, 1948, circa 1962-1973. 1 picture postcard, 2 mailing envelopes. Location: MISC:B. Picture postcard of Earl K. Long with notations on verso, written possibly by Blanche Long and Earl K. Long. Notations designate postcard as an invitation to Earl K. Long's inaugural ball. Mailing envelopes have the letterhead of Orleans Parish district attorney Jim Garrison printed on them. Mss. 5338.

Belcher, Fred, 1913-, interviewee. 1 sound cassettes (1 hour), transcript (69 p.). Location: L:4700.0721. Fred and Helen Belcher are the son and daughter-in-law of Arthur and Corrie Belcher, founders of the Volunteers of America in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. Interview describes the Salvation Army and Volunteers of America with a focus on the community programs and projects including prison ministry, work with the African American community, New Orleans maternity home, the role of VOA in adoptions, and Hanson's Disease Center at Carville, Louisiana. They also discuss the racial composition of South
16th St., role of religion in the VOA, 1920s automobiles, and the flood of 1927. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0721.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Baton Rouge, African Americans, Medicine

Belew, Louise E. Letters and writings, 1961-1969, undated. 12 letters, 1 article. Location: MISC:B. Resident of Baton Rouge, La. and New Orleans, La.; Korean war veteran; and student at the Louisiana State University (LSU) Graduate School of Library Science. Letters document Belew's ongoing feuds and criticisms that she had with staff of the LSU Library, the LSU Graduate School of Library Science, and the New Orleans Public Library. Mss. 2625.

Referenced in Guides: Women, New Orleans 1866-, Education, Baton Rouge, LSU

Bell, Helena Jones, Letter, 1938 Jan. 28. 1 item. Location: Misc.:B. Southern civilian during the Civil War. Letter describes Union occupation, the loyalty of a former slave, Union soldiers killing a child, and harsh living conditions during and after the war. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4545.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Civil War, African Americans

Bell, John W., Captain. Papers, 1862-1864. 3 items. 1 vol. Location: Misc:B. Captain in the 32nd Alabama Infantry who served in Alabama and Tennessee during the Civil War. He was married to Nancy Bell of Coffeeville, Clarke County, Alabama. Letters to Nancy written from Camp Forney, Alabama, and Lavergne, Tennessee, discuss monetary concerns of the soldiers. Also described are local economic conditions, women searching for food for their children, and women who worked as laundresses. Included is a notebook listing personal items and expenses of John W. Bell. Available on microfilm 5735: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reel 2. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 771.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Civil War

Bello, Susanne Moreau. Document, 1791. 1 item. Location: Misc.:B. Widow of Donato Bello, an officer in the militia of the post of Opelousas, St. Landry Parish, Louisiana. Mortgage of a slave by Susanne M. Bello at the post of Opelousas to Antoine Dubroqua. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 893.

Referenced in Guides: Women, African Americans

Benedict, Edwin Letters, 1862 Dec. 12-1863 Mar. 20. 13 items.Location: Misc:B. Corporal with Company G of the 23rd Connecticut Infantry. Mentions the building of Fort Massachusetts and the presence of female Confederate prisoners at Ship Island, and describes food, camp conditionsand illness, as well as duty guarding Louisa Plantation, his interaction with slaves, and belief war is divine lesson for slaveholders. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4318.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Civil War, African Americans

Bennett, Anna Maria and Sir Thomas Pye. Letters, circa 1784-1785. 8 items. Location: 31:. Anna Maria Bennett was an English novelist. Bennett met Admiral Sir Thomas Pye while working in a chandler's shop. She became his housekeeper and mistress. Letters primarily document the resolution of a dispute between Anna Maria Bennett and Sir Thomas Pye regarding financial support for her and her children. One letter includes Bennett's threats of blackmail against Pye. The remaining letters record the negotiations between Pye and Bennett over the details of settling the dispute including one letter which includes Pye's response written in between the lines of Bennett's original letter. Part of the George DeForest Collection. Mss. 1350.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Literature

Berbice Colony slave records, 1826-1827. 3 items, 1 microfilm reel. Location: OS:B, Mss.Mf:B. Deed of arrangement between owners of three sugar plantations in Berbice (Guyana), and lists of slaves attached to the plantations as of October 20, 1826, citing names, ages, employment, places of birth, and distinguishing marks. Also listed are children born to slave mothers on the plantations (1819-1826) with names, dates of birth, ages, and names of mothers noted. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2934.

Referenced in Guides: Sugar, Plantations, Women, African Americans

Bichot, Jean Baptiste. Petition, 1781 March 29. 1 item. Location: Misc:B. Bichot was an official of the area under the jurisdiction of the post of Pointe Coupee, in Louisiana. Item is a petition to Charles de Grand-Pre, commandant of the post of Pointe Coupee, La., requesting permission to inform Madame de Rocheblave to pay her debt to Sieur du Doigt. A list of her debts is included. An endorsement by Grand-Pr? approves the action, and an addendum by Bichot records Rocheblave was informed to pay the debt. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4894.

Referenced in Guides: Women, French

Biering, Lucie. Letters, 1904. 12 items (on 1 microfilm reel). Location: Mss.Mf:B. Resident of Montana and the granddaughter of Christian D. Koch, Hancock County, Mississippi. Letters written when Lucie was 12 describe a trip with her father from Montana to Russia via Mississippi, New York City, Germany, and Denmark. Included are descriptions of Russian culture, customs, and military preparations for the Russo-Japanese War. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1479.

Referenced in Guides: Transportation, Women

Billaud family. Papers, 1816-1868. 43 items. Location: U:20. Residents of New Orleans. Papers include correspondence documenting personal and business affairs, including the purchase and sale of skins; city and parish tax receipts; and a copy of Marie Isabelle Billaud's birth certificate. Letters in French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 499, 1361.

Bishop Polk Benevolent Society. Record book, 1862, 1865-1868. 3 items, 1 ms. vol. Location: Misc.:B., M:20. Treasurer's book for benevolent societies at Trinity Church, New Orleans. Entries record the receipts and expenditures of the Benevolent Society. Entries for 1862 give the officers of the 'Ladies Society for the Promotion of Christian Objects.' For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 772.

Bishop, Wm (William). Letter, 1835 May 1. 1 item (4 leaves). Location: Misc:B. Resident of Mobile, Alabama. Letter from Bishop to Agents William McCauly and Nesbit in New Orleans regarding his financial assets and liabilities. Topics include property in Mobile, money owed Bishop, instructions regarding his house and slaves, and Mary Harral's education. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 28.

Black, Isabella. Published writings, 1957-1969. 15 items, 3 printed vols. Location: UU:85. American writer and resident of Jamaica, New York. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2500.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Black, Julia. Certificate, 1885 April 7. 2 items. Location: Misc.:B. Resident of Champaign, Illinois. Membership certificate of Julia Black in the Home Library Association of Chicago and receipt for payment of this membership and purchase of a copy of Peale's Popular Educator and Cyclopedia of Reference. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2140.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Blomquist, Annie Toland. Papers, 1943-1946, 1948, 1950-1951. 24 items. Location: C:82. Letters to members of the Blomquist family and to Bessie Toland of Jeanerette, Louisiana, from United States servicemen during World War II and the Korean War. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2696.

Referenced in Guides: Women, 20th Century Wars

Blomquist, Carl. Scrapbook, 1942-1945. 1 ms. vol. (including 205 items). Location: H:16. Resident of Jeanerette, Louisiana. Scrapbook prepared for a young boy, Carl Blomquist, by his mother, Anne Toland Blomquist, containing letters and related newspaper articles by Alex Melancon, World War II army private and author of the book Carl of which Carl Blomquist was the subject. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1609.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Literature, 20th Century Wars

Blount, W. M. Account book, 1817-1860. 1 vol. Location: H:14. Record of payment to Blount in settlement of William Pitt Higbee's estate and account. Also recorded are the accounts of Mrs. Amelia Gradinego, Daniel Zeringue, members of the Close family, and others of Petit Bois, St. Landry Parish, Louisiana. Entries include commodity prices, prices of slaves, taxes, cost of schooling, wages for a laborer, and other expenses incurred by local planters. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 177.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Women, Education, African Americans

Boggs, Lindy, 1916- Letters, 1974-1978. 6 letters. Location: Misc. Lindy Boggs was U.S. Representative for the 2nd Congressional District of Louisiana (1973-1992) and U.S. Ambassador to the Vatican (1997-2001). These five letters by Boggs recount her memories of President Lyndon B. Johnson and Speaker of the House John W. McCormack. A short note from Russell B. Long is also included. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3878.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Women, New Orleans 1866-

Boland, Rose Mary Shields. Scrapbook, 1906-1940. 1 vol. [on microfilm] Location:Mss. Mf.:B. Child actress and member of New Orleans theatrical family. Scrapbook contains newspaper clippings, photographs, and miscellaneous items, largely concerning her career as a child actress with the Brown-Baker Stock Company. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2595.

Referenced in Guides: Performing arts, Women, New Orleans 1866-

 Bolner, James. Reprints, 1987-1993. 6 reprints. Location: Misc.:B. Political science professor at Louisiana State University from 1968 to 1993. Reprints of articles authored by James Bolner and published by various French universities focus on the United States Supreme Court and communism, sexual privacy, work and leisure in the United States, women's struggle for equality in the U.S., the United States constitution and the Supreme Court, and the change in public opinion on the Vietnam War. Articles are in English, covers are in French. Mss. 4500.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Women, LSU, 20th Century Wars

Bolton, George W. and Mimi. See: George W. and Mimi Bolton papers, Mss. 4653.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Bond, Priscilla Munnikhuysen, 1838-1869. Papers, 1858-1866. 0.7 linear ft. (98 items, 3 ms. Vols.). Location: B:15. Resident of Terrebonne Parish, Louisiana. Collection consists of correspondence, diaries, poems, and photographs. Diaries record Bond's daily activities and observations relating to plantation life, runaway slaves, social activities, hypnotism, and Civil War experiences and thoughts, including participation by African American soldiers. Available on microfilm 5750: America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reel 33. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2155.

Bondy, Laura. Correspondence, 1876-1889, undated 7 items [photocopies]. Location: Misc.:B. Student at Afton Villa girls' school, West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. Letters mention school and social activities. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2783.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Education

Bonnot, Raoul. Bill, 1893. 1 item. Location: Misc.:B. New Orleans undertaker. Detailed bill for the funeral of Mrs. A. Caillier, widow. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2297.

Referenced in Guides: Women, New Orleans 1866-

Bouanchaud, Hewitt Leonidas, 1877-1950. Papers, 1910-1921, 1950. 14 items [photocopies and copy prints]. Location: Misc.:B. Louisiana politician and lieutenant governor. Papers include a letter from Bouanchaud's wife, newspaper clippings and other printed items pertaining to his political career, a formal photographic portrait, and a photograph of the 1921 Louisiana Constitutional Convention with Bouanchaud presiding. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3095.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Women

Boucry Family Papers, 1814-1884, 1910 (bulk 1830-1884). 6 items, 3 vols. Location: 77:88, Mss. Mf.:B.Sugar planters of Bonne Esperance Plantation, St. James Parish, Louisiana. Papers include record books of Helene Boucry containing financial and genealogical information about the Boucry, Bonnecaze, Webre, and related families. Partly in French. Available on microfilm 5322: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 1, Reel 8. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 790, 800.

Referenced in Guides: Sugar, Plantations, Women, French

Bourcier, Catherine Silly. Document, 1840. 1 item. Location: Misc.:B. Widow of Fran?ois C. Bourcier. A document signed by the recorder of mortgages in New Orleans, certifying the non-encumbrance of a slave belonging to Madame Catherine Silly. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 36.

Bowers, Laura Boddie Jones, Papers, 1906-1990, undated (bulk: 1931-1955). 3.25 linear ft. Location: E:119-121. Librarian in Louisiana. Primarily correspondence documenting the family life, student life, and early career of Bowers in New Orleans, Baton Rouge, and Natchitoches, La. Newspaper clippings, notes, post card collection, printed items, and a scrapbook are also present. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3546.

Bowman, James P. Family papers, 1806-1926. 2615 items; 100 ms. vols., 6 printed vols. Location: B:19-24; J:18-19; OS:B; 98:. Planter of Rosedown Plantation, St. Francisville, Louisiana. Records and papers documenting the administration of Rosedown. Includes papers of William R. Bowman, Episcopal clergyman; and of James P. Bowman, Robert H. Barrow, Eliza Bowman Lyons, Catharine Rucker Turnbull, and Daniel Turnbull. Available on microfilm 5322: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 4, Reels 8-19. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1372, 1382.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Women, African Americans

Boyd, Thomas Duckett and Family. Papers, 1860-1966 (bulk 1872-1935). 6 linear ft., 29 volumes, 7 microfilm reels. Location: D:1-6, VAULT:2, OS:B, 145:57, MSS.MF:B. Younger brother of David French Boyd. Served as acting president of LSU upon David's resignation. Also served as the president of the State Normal School in Natchitoches. Papers are comprised of correspondence, financial papers, photographs, printed materials, and manuscript volumes. Also included is personal correspondence of Annie Fuqua Boyd and other family members. Photographs include those of Thomas Boyd, Annie Fuqua, and Governors Henry Fuqua and William H. Heard. Mss. 41, 241, 530, 744, 808, 893, 965, 1411, 1438, 1589, 1685, 1799, 1946, 2081, 2126, 2197, 2305, 2335.

Boyer, Albert P., Mrs. Papers and account books, 1885-1907. 0.8 linear ft. (47 items; 4 vols.). Location: E:51, O:67. African American undertaker of New Orleans. Papers include promissory notes; statements of account; bills for coffins and caskets; cashbooks; a journal reflecting accounts for funeral expenses; and a ledger containing client and burial society accounts. Available on microfilm 5750: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reel 1. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1258.

Breaux, John B. Papers, 1933, 1938, 1963, 1970-2004 (bulk: 1987-2004). Approx. 781 linear feet . Location: Room B6, Map Cage, Vault:54. Correspondence, briefing books, bills, reports, testimony transcripts, research files, news releases, printed materials, audio-visual and electronic files, photographs and memorabilia documenting the political and U.S. Congressional career of Louisiana Representative (1972-1986) and Senator (1987-2004) John B. Breaux, and the work of his office. In addition to Senate and House files, contains materials related to his campaigns, the Democratic Party, and the Washington Mardi Gras. Topics include, among others, flood control, abortion, transportation, energy, the environment, taxes, Social Security, Medicare, Medicaid, and healthcare, consumer protection, wetlands conservation, base closures in Louisiana, commerce, trade, and agriculture policy, especially for sugar and rice. For additional information, see the online catalog. Mss. 4922.

Breaux, Manuel. Papers, 1785, 1831. 2 items. Location: MISC:B. Sale of property (copy) in St. James Parish, Louisiana by Marguerite Breaux to Manuel Breaux (1785) and a document listing several land claims as found in the decisions of the Board of Commissioners for the Eastern District of Orleans (1831). In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 42.

Referenced in Guides: Women, French

Breazeale, Elizabeth, 1919-, interviewee. Oral history interview, 1993. 1 sound cassettes (50 min.), transcript (35 p.), index (13 p.). Location: L:4700.0304. LSU alumnae and Kappa Gamma House board president. Breazeale describes her experiences as a student at LSU and a member of the Kappa Gamma Sorority. She describes LSU social life; women's clothing; layout and use of the Panhellenic Building; dormitory rules; ceremonies and traditions; the push for the construction of sorority houses; her thoughts on LSU today; and problems with the Legislature and university funding. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0304.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Education, Baton Rouge, LSU

Brent, Joseph Lancaster. Papers, 1862-1940 (bulk 1862-1904, 1926-1940). 1.3 linear ft., 12 volumes. Location: U:243-245. Maryland native, lawyer, and Confederate general. Joseph Lancaster Brent practiced law in Louisiana, Baltimore, and Los Angeles. Married to Rosella Kenner, he assisted in the management of his father-in-law, Duncan Farrar Kenner's, plantations. Brent served as a Brigadier General in the Louisiana Cavalry Brigade during the Civil War. Collection consists primarily of correspondence between Brent and his wife, Rosella, and published and unpublished writings, including manuscript and printed copies of "Memoirs of the War Between the States" (1940), "The Lugo Case" and "Capture of the Ironclad Indianola" (1926). There is also a diary written by Brent in 1862 during his service in the Civil War. Also part of the collection are the papers of Brent's daughter, Nanine M. Brent, including a personal diary, recipe book, and household hints. Parts available on microfilm: University Publications of America, Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B, Part 1, Reel 15. Mss. 1477, 1822.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Women, Civil War, Literature

Brent, Rosella Kenner, 1849-1928. Papers, 1902-1915. .1 linear ft. Location: U:210. Daughter of Ascension Parish, Louisiana, planter and politician Duncan Farrar Kenner and wife of Confederate brigadier general Joseph F. Brent. Two narratives of Brent's recollections of Ashland Plantation, including a sketch of slave Henry Hammond. She also recounts an 1862 incident in which her father escaped to Bayou Lafourche upon learning that Union troops were coming to arrest him. Three letters pertain to Rosella Kenner Brent's husband, Brigadier General Joseph L. Brent, C.S.A. A 1910 letter describes General Brent's service in the Confederate army. Available on microfilm 6061: University Publications of America Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B, Part 1, Reel 14. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1167, 1822.

Bright, Jane C. Scrapbook, 1917-1956 (bulk 1918-1919). 31 items, 1 vol. Location: 38-73. Red Cross nurse during WWI and a native of Yazoo, Mississippi. Bright was attached to the New Orleans Chapter Base Hospital, Unit No.24, and stationed at Limoges, France. Scrapbook contains mementos of her service as a Red Cross Nurse with the American Expeditionary Force (A.E.F.) in France. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1810.

Bringier, Louis Amadee, 1827-1897. Papers, 1786-1901. 599 items and 14 vols. Location: T:96-97, F:9, OS:B. Planter of Ascension Parish, Louisiana; Confederate officer and commander of the 4th Louisiana Cavalry and the 7th Louisiana Regiment. Papers include military records, correspondence and business papers relating to the administration of Hermitage Plantation in Ascension Parish and Houmas, Burnside, and Bagatelle plantations. One letter report that a woman killed a federal soldier in New Orleans (1862); another describes Grand Ilse as a resort requented by Jews. Some items in French. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm 6061: University Publications of America Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B, Part 1, Reels 1-2, and microfilm 5322: Records of Ante-Bellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series I, Part 1, Reel 13. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 43, 139, 544.

Bristow, Gwen, 1903-. Letter: Beverly Hills, Calif., to Annette Duchein, 1941 December 2. 1 item. Location: Misc:B. American novelist and journalist married to movie producer Bruce Manning. Friendly letter reporting on remodeling of a house and current writing. Bristow tells of difficulties encountered when trying to write without having done sufficient preliminary work and gives her thoughts on Marcel Proust. Also mentioned is the 'colonel' and his work as a movie producer. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4601.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Literature

Britt, Gladys Lawrence. Sketches of Miss Caroline Dorman: reminiscences, 1977. 1 item (19 pages). Location: Misc:B. Artist, author, and naturalist. She resided at 'Briarwood' in Natchitoches Parish, Louisiana. Recollections of Dorman's life and work were compiled by Britt and contain information obtained in interviews of friends and associates of Dorman including Mr. Johnson, Mrs. Nicholls, and Mrs. Nora Patterson. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3180.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Literature

Brown, Elizabeth. Account, 1835-1836. 1 item. Location: Misc.:B. Statement of account from William Beans, blacksmith to Brown. Payment for account received by Beans on February 6, 1836. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2127.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Business

Brown, James (James Wilson) 1913 September 18 interviewee. Oral history interview, 1979. 1 sound cassette, transcript (28 pages). Location: L:4700.0003. Dean of Graduate Service in Research at San Jose State University, California. Richard Lewis was the Director of the Development of the Media Service and Support Program and Instructional Television also at San Jose State. Interview with Brown and Lewis concerns the production and use of audio-visuals and films by the U.S. Navy in World War II; the development of audio-visual products for use in schools; and their later career in the film industry. Topics include British and Canadian film making during the war; the prevention of venereal disease through films; medical films; demobilization films; and the Ladies Training and Development Center. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0003.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Education, Medicine

Brown, Sarah Goodwin. Collection, 1840-1944. 31 items. Location: U:181. Materials documenting the history of Baton Rouge and Clinton, Louisiana. Included are two letters referring to the enlistment of a Northern school teacher in the Confederate army. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1573, 1986.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Civil War, Education, Baton Rouge

Buck, Pearl S., 1892-. Letters, 1968. 2 items. Location: Misc.:B. American writer and philanthropist. Letters to a correspondent in India commenting on the assassinations of Martin Luther King and Robert F. Kennedy; the Black Power demonstration by U.S. athletes at the Mexican Olympic Games; and racial problems in the United States. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2473, 2475.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Women, African Americans, Literature

Buck, William C. Family correspondence, 1855-1894. 11 items. Location: Misc: B. Baptist minister of Columbus, Mississippi, and editor of the BAPTIST BANNER and WESTERN PIONEER in Louisville, Kentucky. Buck moved to Texas in 1866 and lived there until his death in 1872. Letters from Buck's son Gideon to his wife describe Staten Island and New York City; Northern attitudes toward his sister, who was living in the North; and Northern publishers' prejudices against his father's and other Southern literary works. Included is a letter from William to his son. Remaining correspondence by Sallie G. Willson and others discuss Waco Classical School, Salado College, development of Salado, Texas, and family matters. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1699.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Women, Education, Literature

Buck-Ellis Family Papers, 1812, 1826-2000. 14 linear ft and 27 volumes. Location: 16:1-14, OS:B, J:27, Vault 1. Family of educators, lawyers, and public officials. Of Tangipahoa Parish, Louisiana. Ellis family papers (1812, 1826-1987) are comprised almost entirely of personal correspondence relating to daily activities, politics, health, religion, employment, military service, education and travel of five generations. Other material includes financial papers, legal documents, speeches and lectures related to the study of law, printed items, account books, diaries, inventories, family scrapbook and minute books of United Daughters of the Confederacy, Blue Cross Chapter. The Carroll and Martina Ellis Buck papers (1922-2000) consist primarily of personal correspondence from family and friends, but include some professional correspondence, primarily from his legal and public career. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4820.

Buckley, Margaret, 1819-. Diary, 1852-1853. 1 ms. vol. Location: Mss. Mf.:B. Housewife and seamstress of Finley, Ohio. Diary records daily life during the time she supported her family while her husband traveled to California. Included are mentions of social life, education of children, illnesses, and a list of household expenses. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2643.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Education, Medicine

Buhler, John Christian, 1789-1866. Family Papers, 1805-1952 (bulk 1824-1931). 437 items, 1 ms. Vol. Location: C:49, OS:B. Planter of Winters Plantation in Buhler's Plains near Baton Rouge. Collection includes family correspondence, chiefly of John Christian Buhler, John Robert Buhler, Mary Edith Buhler, Hester S. Simmons, and Jane (Jennie) Gillespie Buhler. Letters concern politics, notable persons, and social and economic conditions. Financial documents include a copy of an act of sale (1852) of a parcel of land by John Buhler and his wife to the town of Baton Rouge, now the site of Magnolia Cemetery. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1192, 1210, 1238, 1311.

Buhler, John Robert, 1829-1886. Papers, 1843-1914. 6 ms. vols. Location: H:17. John Robert Buhler was the son of John Christian Buhler, a planter of Buhler's Plains near Baton Rouge. After his marriage to Mary Reynolds, they lived at Independence Plantation, home of his grandparents, the Smiths, near Natchez, Mississippi. Papers include three volumes of a diary containing entries (1847-1849) reflecting family and social life on Independence Plantation and providing information on events in and around Natchez, Mississippi, and Baton Rouge. Includes another diary containing manuscript poems (1881-1914) by Mary Edith Buhler, an autograph book, and a notebook containing poems by Buhler. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1311.

Buhler, M. E. (Mary Edith). Papers, 1881-1931. 985 items, 7 ms. Vols., 8 printed vols. Location: C:50-51; H:17. Poet and journalist of Mount Independence Plantation near Natchez, Mississippi, and resident of New Orleans and New York City; author of The Grass in the Pavement (1918). Papers consist of her manuscript and printed writings published in the New York Times and the New Orleans Times-Picayune and of materials relating to her family history and genealogy. Available on microfilm 5750: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reels 1-4. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1192, 1210, 1333.

Burden, Ione. Family Papers, 1815-1985. 23 linear ft. Location: P:39-50, OS:B. LSU administrator and Baton Rouge philanthropist. Along with her brothers, Pike and Steele Burden, Ione Burden donated family land to establish the Burden Research Plantation and the LSU Rural Life Museum. Papers include correspondence, legal documents, financial papers, photographs, and scrapbooks of Ione Burden and her brothers. Collection documents Baton Rouge community events, family history, and Burden family philanthropic activities. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3063.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Women, Baton Rouge, LSU

Burnham, Anne. Letters, 1833-1838. 4 letters. Location: Misc. Anne Burnham was a missionary among the Choctaw Indians, first in Havana, Ala., then near Fort Towson, Indian Territory, after their removal in 1833. This collection consists of four letters received by Anne Burnham mostly from women in Columbus, Miss. Mss. 3947.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Women

Butler, Anna and Sarah. Correspondence, 1838-1861. 1.5 linear ft. Location: S:23. Anna and Sarah Jane Duncan Butler were the daughters of Louisiana Judge Thomas Butler and Ann Butler. They lived at The Cottage in West Feliciana Parish near St. Francisville. Letters from friends and family reflect the social life and customs of antebellum Louisiana. Letters written by Anna and Sarah from home and during travels chronicle their social and private lives, describe local activities, and allude to national events. Available on microfilm 5322: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 5, Reel 1. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 581.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Women

Butler, Edward. Family Papers, 1809-1950 (bulk 1904-1945). 10 linear ft. Location: U:282-290, M:19, OS:B. Cotton planter of West Feliciana Parish, La. Correspondence, personal papers, business records, printed material, and photographs reflect the personal activities and plantation operations of the Butler and related Mathews families, with a focus on Edward Butler and his immediate family. Noteworthy are two letters discussing a sick slave (Dec. 29, 1817) and runaway slaves (Aug. 15, 1835). Letters also discuss student life, World War II experiences, and yellow fever in New Orleans (Aug.-Oct. 1837). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4315.

Butler, Louise, 1866-1951. Papers, 1892-1950. 685 items, 3 ms. Vols., 5 printed vols. Location: S:19-21. Granddaughter of Judge Thomas Butler of The Cottage, West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. Writings consist of poetry, short stories, and historical sketches of West Feliciana Parish. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1069.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Women, Literature

Butler, Margaret, 1821-1890. Correspondence, 1847-1880. .5 linear ft. Location: S:24. Daughter of Louisiana judge Thomas Butler and Ann Ellis Butler. She lived at the Cottage in West Feliciana Parish near St. Francisville. The Butlers were sugar and cotton planters. Letters from family and friends reflect the life of the Butler family in the antebellum, Civil War, and Reconstruction periods. Antebellum letters depict plantation life and religious life in the Episcopal church. Several family members served in the Confederate army and corresponded with Margaret, describing the life of army personnel. Later letters illustrate social and economic conditions after the war. Available on microfilm 5322: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 5, Reel 2. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1068.

Bynum Family. Papers, 1814-1969 (bulk: 1913-1969). 1 linear foot, 26 v. Location: E:103-105, OS:B. Residents of Baton Rouge, Louisiana. Papers contain correspondence, writings, diaries, financial records, and printed material, relating to family matters, social activities, World Wars I and II, Louisiana State University student life, and local and state government. There is also a scrapbook of the Female Orphan Association of Baton Rouge (1848-1861). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3104, 3174.

Byrd, Winnie Evans, interviewee. Oral history interview, 1993. 2 sound cassettes (2 hours), transcript (77 p.), index (19 p.). Location: L:4700.0302. LSU alumnae; member and officer of Delta Delta Delta sorority. Byrd discusses her decision to become a teacher and her experiences as a student at LSU, including her involvement in student politics; the impact of WWII on the student body; ROTC parades; graduation in the Greek Theater; involvement with Tri-Delta alumnae; and T. Harry Williams, Professor of History at LSU. Byrd also discusses the University's decision to allow the construction of sorority houses and describes each step in the construction process of the Tri-Delta sorority house. She also gives her views on the role of sororities in the 1990s and impressions of LSU. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0302.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Education, LSU

Pages