Women

This guide describes manuscript collections documenting women's history in the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections at LSU. It includes the papers of women, women's organizations, family papers with significant bodies of women's papers in them, and other collections that document women's history in one way or another.

LSU is fortunate because it collected women's papers very early, perhaps without systematically trying to do so. Women's voices, often buried in plantation collections and Civil War papers, have emerged from obscurity only in recent decades. Researchers coming to LSU can study the letters and diaries of plantation mistresses and teachers, the papers of women writers, and the papers of black women, among other sources. A number of our women's collections have been recently microfilmed by University Publications of America in its series on Southern Women and their Families, making these collections more widely accessible.

Displaying 1 - 60 of 769. Show 5 | 10 | 20 | 40 | 60 results per page.

Abe Mayer and Brother. Account books, 1876-1878. 2 vols. Location: G:1, Box. General merchants of Clinton, East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. Record of account of Mrs. M. A. Silliman with Abe Mayer and Brother. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 391, 1100.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Business

Abell Family Papers, 1919-1931. 1 linear foot. Location: M:27. Papers belonging to the Abell family of the Winnsboro/Rayville area in northeast Louisiana. It consists primarily of correspondence between Evelyn Abell Norman, her brother—Edward C. Abell, III, and their mother—Annie Mamie Womble Abell during the early 1920s when Evelyn and Edward were attending Brenau College and Louisiana State University respectively. It also contains correspondence with other relatives and friends, two photographs, a camp training certificate, postcards, invitations to social gatherings, pay stubs/receipts, and clippings of accidents in the Rayville area. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4879.

Referenced in Guides: Women, LSU

Acadian Handicraft Project. Records. 1936-1962. 9.5 linear ft. Location: 7:98-106, OS:A. Project launched in 1942 to preserve the language and culture of the French-speaking people of Louisiana; project was suspended around 1962. Project launched in 1942 to preserve the language and culture of the French-speaking people of Louisiana. Records consist of general office files, program files for festivals and exhibitions, and records relating to the promotion, the production and sale of handicrafts. Some itmes are in French. Mss. 1880.

Referenced in Guides: Performing arts, Women, Acadiana, French

Adler, Barbara. Letter, 1833 March 2. 1 item. Location: MISC:A. Resident of New Orleans, Louisiana. Letter to Frau Madalina Eisenhart, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, pertains to personal and family matters. In German. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2821.

Referenced in Guides: New Orleans to 1861, Women, German

African Methodist Episcopal Zion Church Women's Home and Foreign Missionary Society. Certificate, 1934. 1 item. Location: OS:A. Woman's Home and Foreign Missionary Society was organized in 1896 at Montgomery, Ala. for the purpose of supporting work in overseas fields. Membership certificate for the Foreign Missionary Society. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4134.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Women, African Americans

Afton Villa journals and reports, 1976-2008. 7 v. Location: A:78. Genevieve Munson Trimble and her husband, Morrell Feltus Trimble, purchased the remains of Afton Villa, an antebellum mansion with gardens near St. Francisville, La., in 1972. The collection consists of color copies of three bound journals kept by Genevieve Trimble recording the restoration of the Afton Villa gardens, a history of Afton Villa by Genevieve Trimble, and three bound volumes of consultant's reports by Neil G. Odenwald. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 5009.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Women

Agnew, Janet Margaret. Papers, 1912-1942 (bulk 1940-1941). 263 items. Location: T:2-3. Assistant professor and bibliographical associate of the LSU Library School (1939-1942). Correspondence and research material relating to Agnew's compilation A SOUTHERN BIBLIOGRAPHY. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1488.

Referenced in Guides: Women, LSU

Alabama letters, 1823, 1846. 2 items. Location: MISC:A. Letter (1823) from Isaac Hudson in Montgomery, Alabama, to Mrs. Elvira Moton of Virginia comments on local preaching. Letter (1846) from Sally near Montgomery to Miss Mary Wickes of Virginia describes the new state capital in Montgomery. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2723.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Women

Aldrich, Ella V. (Ella Virginia), 1902-1982. Papers, 1921-1973. 22 items. Location: Misc. Ella V. Aldrich Schwing was a librarian at LSU, a member of the faculty of the LSU Library School, and a member of the LSU Board of Supervisors. The papers include material on the Colfax riot of 1873, an inscribed reprint of "Huey, Lyndon, and Southern Radicalism" by T. Harry Williams, a clipping of "The Legacy of Knute Heldner" from the Dixie Roto Magazine, and 15 photographic prints of plaques bearing Schwing's name on buildings at LSU System campuses. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3374.

Referenced in Guides: Women, New Orleans 1866-, African Americans, LSU

Alexandria, Louisiana. Photographs, 1920-1921. 5 photographic prints. Location: 65:5. Prints depict scenes around Alexandria: the Bolton High School girls' basketball team (1920); a state meeting of officials in protest of a phone rate raise (originally created by Bridendall, 1921); a truck owned by H.T. Cottam & Co. (1920); the Bernstein Buick Co. dealership displayng Franklin and Buick models (circa 1920); and a carnival in front of Alexandria City Hall. Mss. 3691.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Transportation, Women, Business

Allemand, Theresa. Document, 1804. 1 item. Location: Misc.:A. Daughter of Pedro Allemand and Maria Hernandez. Certificate of baptism of Theresa Allemand. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 552.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Spanish, Women

Alley, Mary, Scrapbooks, 1843, 1862-1884, 1910.109 items, 3 vols. Location: Mss. Mf.:A. Baton Rouge native and wife of Charles Henry Jolly. Clippings from Baton Rouge papers on local and national issues at the end of the Civil War and early Reconstruction. Topics include politics, medicine, poetry, anecdotes, and deaths of Baton Rougeans. Other printed items include pamphlets on the dedication of St. Joseph's Cathedral and the history of the Catholic Church in Baton Rouge. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3570.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Politics, Women, Civil War, Medicine, Literature

Alpha Kappa Alpha Scrapbook, ca. 1972. 1 item. Location. OS:A, Range 69. Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority was the first Greek-letter organization established by African American college women. Scrapbook contains a history of the Sorority, social events and activities, poetry, and brief biographical sketches on current members of the LSUchapter, Eta Kappa. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4560.

Referenced in Guides: Women, African Americans, LSU

Alston, Solomon. Etate Document, 1809 April 27. 1 item. Location: C:61. Planter of West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. Deed of manumission giving a female slave to Maria Ana Gray, niece of Solomon Alston. Conditions were outlined in Alston's will. In Spanish. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1209.

Referenced in Guides: Spanish, Plantations, Women, African Americans

Amacker, Obadiah Pearson, 1838-1910. Family Papers, 1861-1959 (bulk 1861-1865). 0.3 linear ft. Location: U:118. Residents of the Florida parishes, Louisiana. Obadiah Amacker was an officer in the 3rd (Wingfield's) Regiment, Confederate cavalry. Papers include a Civil War diary of Abigail Amacker, and a list of the officers and men of the first company to leave St. Helena Parish as part of the 4th Louisiana Infantry. Confederate records transcribed from the State Library Commission document. A printed pamphlet contains genealogical records. Available on microfilm 5735: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reel 1. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1604.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Civil War

American Association of University Women. Baton Rouge Branch. Records, 1951-1994 (bulk 1980-1993). 2 linear ft., 3v. Location: UU:113. Official papers of the Baton Rouge Branch of the American Association of University Women during the presidency of Mrs. May Lee Denham. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 666.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Education, Baton Rouge

American Association of University Women. Louisiana State Division. Records, 1925-1941. 1,167 items, 1 ms. Vol., 45 printed vols. Location: UU:1-4. Official records consisting of correspondence, annual reports, programs, and related printed materials from presidents and committee chairmen of branches in Alexandria, Baton Rouge, Hammond, Lafayette, Natchitoches, Ruston, and Shreveport, Louisiana. Included are mimeographed and printed material from A.A.U.W. National Headquarters. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 666.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Education, Baton Rouge

American Association of University Women. Louisiana State Division. Records, 1948-1957. 36 items, 5 pamphlets. Location: UU:4. Records include a brief history of the association by Mrs. C. C. Henson, copies of bylaws, programs for annual meetings, letters from the general director, and association journals. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1486.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Education

Anderson, Decatur C. Papers, 1876-1892. 6 items. Location: Misc.:A, OS:A. Mortgage deed of Anderson to Kate Ketchum for property located in Montrose, Baldwin County, Alabama (1874); statements of Anderson's accounts with Mobile merchants and contractors (1890); and a tax receipt (1892). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 913.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Business

Anderson, John Q., Papers, 1848-1993 (bulk 1953-1973). 7.5 linear ft., 5 v. Location: X:119-125, OS:A, P:17. John Q. Anderson was a professor of English and a writer of Southern history and folklore. This collections of files, correspondence, printed material, and photographs reflect Anderson's career, current events; and they provide research material for his publications, particularly "Brokenburn: The Journal of Kate Stone, 1861-1868" and "Louisiana Swamp Doctor: The Life of Henry Clay Lewis". For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2156, 2162.

Anderson, Mollie E. Papers, 1863-1903 (bulk 1880-1889). 70 items. Location: B:16. Resident of St. Amant, Ascension Parish, Louisiana. Papers include letters (1880-1889) from the related Morgan family, farmers of Stonypoint, East Baton Rouge Parish, Louisiana. There are a few letters (1886) from Walton County, Florida, to Mrs. Mollie E. Anderson's husband, Daniel. Included is a political broadside by John Pickett to members of the Farmers' Union and People's Party relative to the lottery issue in the 1892 Louisiana gubernatorial campaign. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2171.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Women

Anderson, William H. Letter, 1845 July 19. 1 letter. Location: Misc.:A. William H. Anderson in New Hope, an extinct town in Dallas County, Ala., writes Jesse W. Norris of Pickens Court House, Ala., telling how he had just traveled to several schools for young women in southern Alabama conducting examinations and attending school conventions. He also speculates on his undecided future plans. Mss. 3964.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Education

Andrews, James M. Papers, 1846-1892. .25 linear ft. (103 items; 1 ms. vol., 1 printed vol.). Location: U:6. Farmer of Clinton, East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. In the 1840s he was a member of the Johnson Guards, Andrew Jackson Regiment, as part of the Texas Army of Occupation. Papers include correspondence, legal documents, poems, nursery price lists, home recipes and remedies, tax and merchandise receipts, Confederate bonds, and the succession accounts of Mrs. Louisa Andrews. Correspondence includes letters from James' father discussing relatives, local affairs, and crop conditions in Clinton. Letters from his daughter describe economic conditions in Amite, Louisiana. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 861.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Medicine, Literature

Anne Rice collection, 1979-1991. 0.5 linear ft. Location: W:69. New Orleans, Louisiana author. Articles, interviews, and reviews by and about Anne Rice and her works. Includes audio tapes of interviews of Rice on National Public Radio (undated) and on a Larry King radio broadcast (November 1988). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4446.

Referenced in Guides: Women, New Orleans 1866-, Literature

Anonymous letter, 1844 May 4. 1 item. Location: Misc.:A. Letter written from Havana, Cuba, addressed to author's sister Mrs. William P. Chapman, Sandusky, Ohio. The writer describes landscapes, the city, public activities, and meeting with the widow and daughter of recently deceased Sumner Lincoln Fairfield. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3763.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Literature

Anonymous letter, 1851. 1 item. Location: Misc.:A. Letter written from Augusta of Alexandria, Rapides Parish, Louisiana, to her sister, Mrs. Sarah W. Simpson, Newburyport, Massachusetts. The letter describes the excitement in Alexandria among whites and blacks over Jenny Lind's concert in New Orleans, Louisiana; steamboats and fishing on the Red River; and other local news. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1008.

Anonymous Civil War scrapbook, 1856-1863. 1 ms. vol. Location: UU:110. Clippings, mostly from Mobile, Alabama, Advertiser and Register, of poems and Civil War news. Scrapbook also includes fashion designs from magazines. Available on microfilm 5750: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reel 1. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 893.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Civil War, Literature

Anonymous diary, 1858-1860. Mss. 3504. See LeBret Diary. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3504.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Women, African Americans, French

Anonymous letter, 1861 March 28. 1 item. Location: Misc.:A. Personal letter from 'Georgie,' New Orleans, Louisiana, to 'Caroline,' relating family news and social activities. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 636.

Referenced in Guides: Women, New Orleans in the Civil War

Anonymous Confederate civilian letters, 1863 August 27 and 29. 2 items. Location: Misc.:A Pages from a letter-diary of a plantation owner, possibly the wife of a Confederate soldier, recording daily activities, local news, plantation work, and slave health. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2997.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Women, Civil War, African Americans

Anonymous letter, [1863] October 4. 1 item. Location: Misc.:A. Letter from a Southern woman who had lived in New York City prior to the Civil War compares the changes that have been made during the Civil War and in particular mentions sermons of abolitionist Dr. Henry Whitney Bellows. She also describes the problems encountered in passing through Fortress Monroe under a flag of truce. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2121.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Civil War, African Americans

Anonymous letter, 1863 August 11. 1 item. Location: Misc.:A. Letter from a young woman residing near Campbell County Court House, Virginia, reporting that a cousin, Robert Andrews, had distinguished himself at Winchester and had been wounded at the Battle of Gettysburg. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2121.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Civil War

Anonymous letter, 1864. 1 item. Location: Misc. Letter from Sarah, apparently a young girl and resident of New Orleans, Louisiana, written upon her return from a trip to New York City, commenting on a minstrel show in New Orleans, Louisiana, and expressing interest in the New York presidential election returns. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1418.

Anonymous letter, 1871. 1 item. Location: Misc. :A. New Orleans, Louisiana, minister's wife describes yellow fever situation and church duties. Letter is written on the letterhead of Randolph, Singleton, and Brown, Attorneys at Law. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 70.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Women, New Orleans 1866-, Medicine

Anonymous dry goods store. Ledger, circa 1920-1929. 1 volume. Location: N:2. Ledger contains records of customer accounts and lists of purchases from a dry goods store, most likely located in New Orleans. Customers listed include Mrs. Andrew Stewart of Oak Alley Plantation, Mrs. Harry P. Williams (Marguerite Clark Williams), and Mrs. E. A. McIlhenny. Items sold include women and children's clothing, luncheon and bridge sets, bolts of fabric, and napkins. Mss. 5341

Referenced in Guides: Women, New Orleans 1866-, Business

Anonymous. Photograph album pages, 1927. 7 photographic prints, 2 copy prints. Location: 65:5. Two photograph album pages hold seven prints: a photograph of the 1927 Mississippi River flood at Cottonport, La.; two photographs of teenagers on a picnic; two photographs of members of Company H, 156th Infantry of the Louisiana National Guard doing flood relief duty at Marksville, Avoyelles Parish, La.; and two snapshots of women boating on a lake. Copy prints are of originals. Mss. 3961.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Anthony and Chapman-Catt lecture admit card, 1895. 1 item. Location: E:Imprints. Admittance card to a lecture symposium featuring Susan B. Anthony and Mrs. C. L. Chapman-Catt speaking on 'Women's Inequality before the Law,' to be held at the Assembly Hall in New Orleans. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1189.

Referenced in Guides: Women, New Orleans 1866-

Applewhite, Cornelia. Papers, 1877-1878, 1924-1925, undated 3 items, 2 ms. Vols., 2 printed vols. [on microfilm]. Location: Mss. Mf.:A. Student at Whitworth Female College, Brookhaven, Mississippi. Two notebooks containing entries on basic subjects; lists of students; and biographical and genealogical notes. Also included are a printed song book (1877); a printed volume on the history of Sarepta (1924-1925); and three pictures. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3498.

Referenced in Guides: Performing arts, Women, Education

Arndt, Hilda C. M. and Harrison A. Dobbs Papers, 1946-1956. 242 items. Location: D:94. Faculty members of the School of Social Welfare, LSU, Baton Rouge. Correspondence, records of Arndt's and Dobbs' community and public service activities, reports, and newspaper clippings. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2508, 2518.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Baton Rouge, LSU

Arndt, Hilda C. M., interviewee. Oral history interview, 1993. 1 sound cassette (45 minutes), Transcript (8 pages). Location: L:4700.0320. Faculty member of LSU's School of Social Work. Arndt discusses her decision to enter social work; her education and career before coming to LSU; the impact of World War II on day care for children; and the LSU School of Social Work faculty, students' curriculum and field experiences, and enrollment. Arndt also describes her professional activities and honors received; and compares schools of social work at Tulane and LSU. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0320.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Education, LSU

Arnold, Richard. Family Papers, 1852-1880. 0.25 linear ft. Location: 1:2. Richard Arnold and his family lived in Charleston, S.C. in the 1800s.  Papers consist of receipts, promissory notes, and tax receipts of Richard Arnold, and letters and invitations to and from his daughter, Alice.  Mss. 822.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Business

Art Reproductions, 1903-1915. 8 items. Location: OS:A. Early 20th century prints by various American artists depicting fashionable women, children and the Revolutionary War. Collection consists of HER INFINITE VARIETY by Harrison Fisher (circa 1914); THE FORTUNE HUNTER by Frank X. Leyendecker (circa 1915); ON THE ROAD TO MANDALAY, by Frank X. Leyendecker (circa 1908); THE LOST TOOTH by Charles A. Maclellan (circa 1914); REFLECTIONS by Z. P. Nikolaki (circa 1914); THE NATION MAKERS by Howard Pyle (circa 1903); BILLY BOY by Jessie Willcox Smith (circa 1914); and SNOW BIRD by Penrhyn Stanlaws (circa 1914). Mss. 2600-73.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Asbury Independent Methodist Church. Photographs, 1977. 5 items. Location: E. Church located in White Castle, Louisiana, with a predominantly African American congregation. Photographs depicting the church interior show the church's pastor and assistant pastors, the women's auxiliary organization, the church Board of Stewardesses, and a baptismal group. Hill stacks For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3177.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Women, African Americans

Aswell, James B. Letter, 1925 Aug. 8. 1 item. Location: MISC:A. Educator who served as congressman from Louisiana, as well as as Louisiana State Superintendent of Schools. Letter from Aswell to Sam Fried of Alexandria, Louisiana, congratulating him on his marrage to Nettie Gainsburg. Mss. 3295.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Women

Audubon, Lucy. Letter, 1873 March 14, undated. 1 letter, 1 letter cover. Location: MISC:A. Widow of John James Audubon. Thank you note to a Mrs. Kelly refers to Mrs. Audubon's near blindness. The letter is attached to a cover of a letter probably written in the 1840s from John James Audubon to Dr. Richard Harlan of Philadelphia. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1504.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Babcock, Mrs. George. Diaries, 1871. 1 item and 2 ms. vols. Location: J:5. Wife of a New Orleans merchant. Travel diaries record a trip to Europe and give descriptions of places and events in England, Scotland, Belgium, Germany, Italy, Switzerland, and France. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 791.

Referenced in Guides: Women, New Orleans 1866-

Bacon, Edmund, 1776-1826. Letters, 1802-1820. 14 items. Location: B:16. Virginia native, lawyer, and cotton planter educated in Augusta, Georgia, and Litchfield, Connecticut. He settled in Savannah, then moved to Edgefield, South Carolina. Letters to Bacon's sister Agnes and her husband Colonel Joseph Pannill of Loftus Heights, Mississippi, pertaining to legal, business, and agricultural matters; family and local news; difficulties with Creek Indians in the area; and travel. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2178.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Women

Badley Family papers, 1834-1940, undated (bulk 1845-1865). 0.3 linear feet. Location: W:2, OS:B, F:2. Badley family, plantation owners in Port Hudson and East Baton Rouge Parish. Personal papers and printed items document their plantations, landholding, and political and professional activities. Works Progress Administration manuscripts collection notes and botanical specimen books are also present. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3062.

Baker, Neiu A. Letters, 1860. 2 letters. Location: Misc. Neiu A. Baker, a schoolteacher in Downsville, La., writes to his wife, S.J. Baker, in Longstreet, N.C., discussing her canceled trip to Louisiana; their daughter Emma in North Carolina; the land, people, and climate in and around Downsville and Union Parish; his wish to leave his teaching job for further education; and her family's reluctance to see her leave North Carolina. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4009.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Education

Baker, Sarah. Oral history interview, 1974. 2 sound cassettes. Location: L:4700.2. Sarah Baker was born and raised on the Magee Plantation in Woodville, Wilkinson County, Mississippi, and was 113 years old at the time of the interview, which discusses plantation life and the end of the Civil War. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4700.2.

Banes, Alexander. Alexander and Nannie I. Banes Family Papers, 1888-1990. 1.3 linear ft. Location: U:252, OS:B. African American family of Waco, Texas. Collection includes photographs, correspondence, writings, and legal and financial papers. Some materials document Nannie Bane's work as a teacher in North Texas. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4392.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Education, African Americans

Barbari, Marjorie Washburn. Papers, 1926-2002 (bulk 1966-1996). 5.25 linear ft. Location: 38:76-81. Writer of Baton Rouge, Louisiana. Papers consist mainly of personal correspondence, poems, and photographs. Other writings include manuscripts of aphorisms, reflections, short stories, novels, and a novelette. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3386.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Women, Baton Rouge, Literature

Barel, Leona Queyrouze, 1861?-1938. Papers, 1800-1950 (bulk 1860-1937). 2,614 items, 31 printed vols., 23 ms. vols. Location: X:96-101, OS:Q, 99:Q, Q:27. French-language writer, poet, essayist, and musician of New Orleans and New York City. Her father, Major Leon Queyrouze, was commander of the Orleans Guard Battalion during the Civil War. Papers include letters from writers and editors; literary writings and musical compositions; materials on the Anti-Lottery League; and Civil War and business papers of her father, a member of the factors' firm Queyrouze and Bois. In French and English. Available on microfilm 5750: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reels 18-26. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1204, 1222, 1278, 1314, 1323, 1335.

Barrow, Cordelia Johnson, 1816-1845. Family papers, 1834-1894. 9 letters, 1 eulogy. Location: 119:10. Cordelia Johnson Barrow was the daughter of Philo S. Johnson and Anna Maria Johnson of Watertown, New York. She was educated at Mrs. Willard's Academy for Young Ladies in Troy, New York. Following her graduation, she took a teaching position in Camden, South Carolina. Later, she met her husband, Wylie Micajah Barrow, in St. Francisville, Louisiana, when she was hired as a tutor for the Barrow family. The Cordelia Johnson Barrow family papers contain correspondence from Cordelia Johnson Barrow and her descendants. The letters are generally written from either Louisiana or Watertown, New York. Included in the papers is a letter from Martha Johnson Robertson Barrow to her grandmother, Martha Johnson Pope, regarding the family's flight from Baton Rouge to Tickfaw, La., after their Baton Rouge home was taken by the Union Army. There is a eulogy for Cordelia Johnson Barrow written by an unknown author and two letters from Cordelia Johnson Barrow to her family regarding her experience traveling to South Carolina when she was a teacher. These letters describe her "dangerous" trip, including a description of New York City, the steamboat ride, yellow fever outbreaks, the railroad, and the swamp. There is also a letter from Martha Johnson Robertson Barrow to her daughter, Leila, that includes advice on home medical remedies, and a letter from an unknown brother to his sister telling of a bad storm in Baton Rouge. Mss. 5101.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Civil War, Education, Medicine

Bass-Farrar Family Papers, 1829-1918 (bulk: 1829-1843; 1858-1867) 285 items. Location: R:41. Papers of the Bass, Farrar, and Richardson families from Tensas Parish, La., and vicinity. Includes material on family matters, personal and professional activities, maintenance and overseeing of cotton plantations before and after the Civil War, life along the Mississippi River, life in Civil War Louisiana, and slavery. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4907.

Batchelor, Albert A., (Albert Agrippa), 1845-1905. Papers, 1852-1930 (bulk 1870-1900). 27 linear ft. Location: S:143-170. Personal and business papers, correspondence, diaries, and account books pertain principally to local events, and the operation and management of several plantations in Pointe Coupee Parish, including Bella Vista Plantation, Lakeside Plantation, Phoenix Plantation, Highland Plantation, and Normandy Plantation. Early letters among Batchelor family members describe conditions at the Kentucky Military Institute and the Silliman Female Collegiate Institute, and mention events such as slave insurrections and military operations. Several letters describe Civil War battles, including the 1862 Battle of Kernstown and the 1863 battles of Gettysburg and Chancellorsville. Available on microfilm 5735 and 6061: Records of southern plantations from emancipation to the Great Migration. Series B, Selections from Louisiana State University ; pt. 5, Louisiana sugar plantations, reels 1-15; Confederate Military Manuscripts. Series B, Holdings of Louisiana State University, reels 1-2.. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 919, 1293.

Bateman, Mary. Diary, 1856. 1 vol. [typed transcripts]. Location: M:19. Young girl living with relatives at Argyle Plantation, near Greenville, Mississippi. Diary gives personal observations of local plantation social life. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 661.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Women

Baton Rouge Business and Professional Women's Club. Papers, 1925-. Location: MISC:B, OS:B, 5:. Papers consist of newspaper clippings, photographs, committee reports, monthly minutes, yearbooks, programs, scrapbooks, a history (1925-1950), and other items. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2738.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Baton Rouge

Baxter, Robert Graham. Papers, 1863-1932. .25 linear ft. (146 items, 1 vol.). Location: T:15. Robert Baxter was the son of Reverend H. B. Baxter, a minister of the Christian Church, formerly of Lisbon, Ohio. Reverend Baxter established a Disciples of Christ church in Baton Rouge. Personal letters from friends, Baxter's wife Mary, and members of the Baxter family in Harrodsburg, Kentucky, and Springfield, Missouri. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1819.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Women, Civil War

Beaudouin, Marie Desseige Walbert. Document, 1826. 1 item. Location: Misc.:B. Resident of Natchitoches Parish, Louisiana. Certified copy of a process verbal of a family meeting in the succession proceedings of Marie Desseige Walbert Beaudouin. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 849.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Pages