Women

Lane, Pinkie Gordon. Papers, 1925-2001 (bulk 1970-2000). 15 linear ft., 1 volume. Location: T:128-141; T:100 (short shelf); G:15; OS:L. African American poet, Louisiana poet laureate (1989-1992), and Southern University (Baton Rouge, La.) professor. Also the first African American woman to graduate from Louisiana State University with a Ph.D. Papers include personal and professional correspondence, writings, photographs, conference materials, printed items consisting of newspaper clippings, newsletters, programs, and fliers; and topical files that document Lane's personal and professional life. Her writings comprise copies of her poetry - some unpublished, book reviews, and an unpublished attempt at early prose work. Items concentrate on her African American colleagues and interest in African American literature and events. Lane was a resident of Baton Rouge (La.) since 1957 and accumulated a number of printed items for Baton Rouge events and organizations, including the Olympic Torch relay through Baton Rouge in 1996, and professional organizational newsletters for Capital Area Network. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4629. .

Langevin, Carmen Browder, 1900-1967. Papers, 1940-1968. 14 items. Location: Misc. Dancer and weaver of Berkeley, California. Papers refer to Langevin's career as a student of Isadora Duncan, as a professional dancer and teacher of dancing, and as a weaver. Included is a biography of Duncan by Langevin; photographs of Langevin as a dancer; and correspondence and other papers. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2608.

Larche, Adeline N. Letter, 1861. 1 item. Location: Misc. Resident of Providence (now Lake Providence), East Carroll Parish, Louisiana. Letter to Mrs. Larche from Levy & Dieter, commission merchants, New Orleans, concerning her account and the cost of insurance to cover the cotton crop. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 860.

Larose, Rosemond. Document, 1853. 1 item. Location: Misc. Resident of New Orleans. Sale of a slave of Rosemond Larose to Charles Lamarque, Jr., of New Orleans. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 537.

Lassalie, Aline. Memorial, 1960. 3 items. Location: Misc. Letter of acknowledgment for money given to Marillac College in memory of Sister Aline Lassalle by her parents. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2409.

Latta, Samuel R. (Samuel Rankin). Correspondence, 1861-1862. 1 vol. (containing 35 items). Location: H:21. Captain of the Macon Grays, 13th Tennessee Infantry, during the Civil War. His family lived in Dyersburg, Tennessee. Letters exchanged by Latta and his wife during his service in Tennessee, Missouri, Kentucky, and Mississippi. Latta describes his participation in the battles of Belmont and Shiloh. Included are three letters from a brother living in Boston, Massachusetts, and two letters from a school teacher. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1924.

Lauve, C. L. Account book, 1826-1833, 1874-1877. 1 ms. vol. Location: H:21. Probably a woman farmer of Iberville Parish, Louisiana. Receipts of Balthazar Dupuy for sums of money received in his official capacity as sheriff of Iberville Parish; and cash accounts of Lauve. Entries include cash received for sewing, butter, and wood; and cash paid out for clothing, groceries, and taxes. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1528.

Lawrence family. Papers, 1889-1926.1 linear ft. Location: OS:L. Family of New Orleans. George Washington Lawrence, a medical doctor, was married to Clara E. Solomon, Jewish diarist in New Orleans during the Civil War. Papers include typescripts of letters, the last will of George W. Lawrence, manuscript sheet music, and photographs of Clara Solomon and the Lawrence daughters. Printed items include postcards, a plan of Edgewater Park, Miss., and newspaper clippings.Available on microfilm 5750: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reel 15. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4627.

Lawson, L. E. L. A. Letter, 1852. 1 item. Location: Misc:L. Daughter of General E. W. Ripley of Jackson, Louisiana. Letter from Mrs. Lawson, either a newcomer or visitor in Washington, D.C., mentions that through the kindness of Senator Solomon W. Downs of Louisiana she has been introduced to Washington residents and visits the Capitol every day. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1926.

Laycock, John T. and family. Papers, 1840-1953. 0.5 linear ft. Location: UU:149, OS:L, K:37. Baton Rouge lawyer, banker, and writer. Papers contain law notes and a transcript of 'Fragments from a Collection of Letters and Notes of Nina Harper of New Orleans, Louisiana, 1861-1862,' that describes civilian life during the Civil War. A manuscript fragment of 'Legs joins the cavalry;' and some miscellaneous notes pertaining to Baton Rouge. Also included are broadsides advertising the Baton Rouge Female Institute, and announcing a Grand Fete for the Red Cross Society (1918), and a photograph of John McCarthney Taylor. Available on microfilm 5750: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reels 15-16. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3194.

Layssard family. Papers, 1794-1960. 1 linear ft. Location: W:20-21, OS:L, VAULT:13. The Layssard family resided in northern Rapides Parish, Louisiana; Kate Kingston Boyd Grant, a writer from Grant Parish, was a relation of R. H. Grant and Harriet Grant, the heirs to Harriet Layssard. Collection contains business papers of the Layssard family, but is comprised mostly of the literary writings of Kate K. Grant: unpublished novels, short stories, and plays set in Louisiana; they include information about ante-bellum New Orleans and the Colfax riot of 1873. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2875.

Lea, Lemanda E. Papers, 1858-1872. 57 items. Location: E:39. Resident of Liberty, Mississippi, and wife of a Confederate soldier. Correspondence includes letters from her mother, Sarah Sandell of Pike County, Mississippi, and letters from camps in Mississippi and Louisiana written by her husband, I. G. Lea, and her brothers, C. J. and W. G. Martin. Printed items include a speech by the Hon. Thomas R. Stockdale of Mississippi, and minutes of the Union Baptist Association. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm 5735: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reel 21. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 704.

Leary, Richard K. Correspondence, 1942-1944 (bulk 1943). 1.3 linear ft. Location: UU:245-246. World War II U.S. Army soldier serving in the 327th Military Police Escort Guard at Camp Livingston, a prisoner of war camp in Louisiana. Letters to Richard Leary is from his wife, friends and relatives discuss news from home, local events, and the effect of the war upon the town of Laconia, Louisiana. Leary's letters discuss his military duties, recreational activities, and prisoners interned at Camp Livingston. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4687.

LeBlond, Coralie. Music collection, ca. 1850-1870. 3 ms. vols. Location: 65. Concert pianist and composer of New Orleans. Sheet music, principally by Louisiana composers, arrangers, and publishers, collected by Coralie LeBlond, including one of her own compositions. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2204, 2205.

Lebret diary, 1858-1861, 1977 (bulk 1858-1861). 1 item, 1 volume and 1 microfilm reel. Location: VAULT:12 and MSS.MF:L. The Lebret family of Bayou Sara, West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana, was headed by Peter (a.k.a. Pierre) Lebret, French-born owner and operator of Lebret and Hearsey, a general merchandising firm in Bayou Sara, and Fancy Point Plantation. Diary, probably written by Peter Lebret's sister-in-law. She mentions caring for children and slaves, teaching children, sewing, housekeeping, business dealings in trying to purchase more land, Waterloo Plantation in Pointe Coupee Parish, and local and family news. Previously known as anonymous diary. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3504.

Leche, Richard W. Papers, 1804, 1889-2008, undated. Approximately 100 linear ft., 155 volumes. Location: 80:-81:, 85:, 98:L, MAP CAGE, OS:L, VAULT:1, VAULT:21, VAULT MRDF 15. Orleans Parish native and 44th governor of Louisiana from 1936-1939. Collection is comprised of Leche's gubernatorial papers, which include chiefly office files of correspondence and a variety of printed materials; pre-gubernatorial and gubernatorial campaign papers; post-gubernatorial papers; and a variety of other materials, in large part photographic items and scrapbooks, spanning the three aforementioned eras. Collection also includes papers of Elton Reynolds Leche and Richard W. Leche, Jr. Mss. 2060.

Lee, Robert E. (Robert Edward) 1807-1870. Letter, 1868, undated 2 items [enlargement prints]. Location: Misc. Confederate general in the Civil War. Letter from General Lee in reply to a request from ten-year old, Miss Sadie Napiers, San Antonio, Texas, collecting large ornamental buttons as a hobby; and a memorandum, apparently written by her granddaughter, explaining why she requested the button. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1674.

Lefevre, Paul. Letter file book, 1856-1859. 1 vol. (218 items). Location: F:8. Resident of Donaldsonville, Ascension Parish, Louisiana, and apparently a drygoods merchant dealing in women's apparel and accessories. Business correspondence of Paul Lefevre and his wife from New Orleans and New York merchants. Included are a few letters from customers. In French.For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 754.

Lenoir, William B. Papers, 1834-1844. 34 items [typed transcriptions]. Location: U:199. Postmaster of Roane County, Tennessee. Correspondence of William B. Lenoir from his brother, Walter R. Lenoir, a farmer in Boone County, Missouri; and his daughter and son-in-law, Eliza and John Martin, merchants of Memphis, Tennessee. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 242.

Letter from Augusta of Alexandria, La., 1851. 1 item. Location: Misc:A. Letter written from Augusta of Alexandria, Rapides Parish, Louisiana, to her sister, Mrs. Sarah W. Simpson, Newburyport, Massachusetts. The letter describes the excitement in Alexandria among whites and African-Americans over Jenny Lind's concert in New Orleans, Louisiana; steamboats and fishing on the Red River; and other local news. Alternate title: Anonymous letter. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1008.