Women

This guide describes manuscript collections documenting women's history in the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections at LSU. It includes the papers of women, women's organizations, family papers with significant bodies of women's papers in them, and other collections that document women's history in one way or another.

LSU is fortunate because it collected women's papers very early, perhaps without systematically trying to do so. Women's voices, often buried in plantation collections and Civil War papers, have emerged from obscurity only in recent decades. Researchers coming to LSU can study the letters and diaries of plantation mistresses and teachers, the papers of women writers, and the papers of black women, among other sources. A number of our women's collections have been recently microfilmed by University Publications of America in its series on Southern Women and their Families, making these collections more widely accessible.

Displaying 1 - 20 of 760. Show 5 | 10 | 20 | 40 | 60 results per page.

Abe Mayer and Brother. Account books, 1876-1878. 2 vols. Location: G:1, Box. General merchants of Clinton, East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. Record of account of Mrs. M. A. Silliman with Abe Mayer and Brother. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 391, 1100.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Business

Abell Family Papers, 1919-1931. 1 linear foot. Location: M:27. Papers belonging to the Abell family of the Winnsboro/Rayville area in northeast Louisiana. It consists primarily of correspondence between Evelyn Abell Norman, her brother—Edward C. Abell, III, and their mother—Annie Mamie Womble Abell during the early 1920s when Evelyn and Edward were attending Brenau College and Louisiana State University respectively. It also contains correspondence with other relatives and friends, two photographs, a camp training certificate, postcards, invitations to social gatherings, pay stubs/receipts, and clippings of accidents in the Rayville area. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4879.

Referenced in Guides: Women, LSU

Acadian Handicraft Project. Records. 1936-1962. 9.5 linear ft. Location: 7:98-106, OS:A. Project launched in 1942 to preserve the language and culture of the French-speaking people of Louisiana; project was suspended around 1962. Project launched in 1942 to preserve the language and culture of the French-speaking people of Louisiana. Records consist of general office files, program files for festivals and exhibitions, and records relating to the promotion, the production and sale of handicrafts. Some itmes are in French. Mss. 1880.

Referenced in Guides: Performing arts, Women, Acadiana, French

Adler, Barbara. Letter, 1833 March 2. 1 item. Location: Misc.:A. Resident of New Orleans, Louisiana. Letter to Frau Madalina Eisenhart, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, pertains to personal and family matters. In German. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2821.

Referenced in Guides: New Orleans to 1861, Women, German

African Methodist Episcopal Zion Church Women's Home and Foreign Missionary Society. Certificate, 1934. 1 item. Location: OS:A. Woman's Home and Foreign Missionary Society was organized in 1896 at Montgomery, Ala. for the purpose of supporting work in overseas fields. Membership certificate for the Foreign Missionary Society. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4134.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Women, African Americans

Afton Villa journals and reports, 1976-2008. 7 v. Location: A:78. Genevieve Munson Trimble and her husband, Morrell Feltus Trimble, purchased the remains of Afton Villa, an antebellum mansion with gardens near St. Francisville, La., in 1972. The collection consists of color copies of three bound journals kept by Genevieve Trimble recording the restoration of the Afton Villa gardens, a history of Afton Villa by Genevieve Trimble, and three bound volumes of consultant's reports by Neil G. Odenwald. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 5009.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Women

Agnew, Janet Margaret. Papers, 1912-1942 (bulk 1940-1941). 263 items. Location: T:2-3. Assistant professor and bibliographical associate of the LSU Library School (1939-1942). Correspondence and research material relating to Agnew's compilation A SOUTHERN BIBLIOGRAPHY. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1488.

Referenced in Guides: Women, LSU

Alabama letters, 1823, 1846. 2 items. Location: Misc.:A. Letter (1823) from Isaac Hudson in Montgomery, Alabama, to Mrs. Elvira Moton of Virginia comments on local preaching. Letter (1846) from Sally near Montgomery to Miss Mary Wickes of Virginia describes the new state capital in Montgomery. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2723.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Women

Aldrich, Ella V. (Ella Virginia), 1902-1982. Papers, 1921-1973. 22 items. Location: Misc. Ella V. Aldrich Schwing was a librarian at LSU, a member of the faculty of the LSU Library School, and a member of the LSU Board of Supervisors. The papers include material on the Colfax riot of 1873, an inscribed reprint of "Huey, Lyndon, and Southern Radicalism" by T. Harry Williams, a clipping of "The Legacy of Knute Heldner" from the Dixie Roto Magazine, and 15 photographic prints of plaques bearing Schwing's name on buildings at LSU System campuses. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3374.

Referenced in Guides: Women, New Orleans 1866-, African Americans, LSU

Alexandria, Louisiana. Photographs, 1920-1921. 5 photographic prints. Location: 65:5. Prints depict scenes around Alexandria: the Bolton High School girls' basketball team (1920); a state meeting of officials in protest of a phone rate raise (originally created by Bridendall, 1921); a truck owned by H.T. Cottam & Co. (1920); the Bernstein Buick Co. dealership displayng Franklin and Buick models (circa 1920); and a carnival in front of Alexandria City Hall. Mss. 3691.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Transportation, Women, Business

Allemand, Theresa. Document, 1804. 1 item. Location: Misc.:A. Daughter of Pedro Allemand and Maria Hernandez. Certificate of baptism of Theresa Allemand. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 552.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Spanish, Women

Alley, Mary, Scrapbooks, 1843, 1862-1884, 1910.109 items, 3 vols. Location: Mss. Mf.:A. Baton Rouge native and wife of Charles Henry Jolly. Clippings from Baton Rouge papers on local and national issues at the end of the Civil War and early Reconstruction. Topics include politics, medicine, poetry, anecdotes, and deaths of Baton Rougeans. Other printed items include pamphlets on the dedication of St. Joseph's Cathedral and the history of the Catholic Church in Baton Rouge. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3570.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Politics, Women, Civil War, Medicine, Literature

Alpha Kappa Alpha Scrapbook, ca. 1972. 1 item. Location. OS:A, Range 69. Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority was the first Greek-letter organization established by African American college women. Scrapbook contains a history of the Sorority, social events and activities, poetry, and brief biographical sketches on current members of the LSUchapter, Eta Kappa. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4560.

Referenced in Guides: Women, African Americans, LSU

Alston, Solomon. Etate Document, 1809 April 27. 1 item. Location: C:61. Planter of West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. Deed of manumission giving a female slave to Maria Ana Gray, niece of Solomon Alston. Conditions were outlined in Alston's will. In Spanish. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1209.

Referenced in Guides: Spanish, Plantations, Women, African Americans

Amacker, Obadiah Pearson, 1838-1910. Family Papers, 1861-1959 (bulk 1861-1865). 0.3 linear ft. Location: U:118. Residents of the Florida parishes, Louisiana. Obadiah Amacker was an officer in the 3rd (Wingfield's) Regiment, Confederate cavalry. Papers include a Civil War diary of Abigail Amacker, and a list of the officers and men of the first company to leave St. Helena Parish as part of the 4th Louisiana Infantry. Confederate records transcribed from the State Library Commission document. A printed pamphlet contains genealogical records. Available on microfilm 5735: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reel 1. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1604.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Civil War

American Association of University Women. Baton Rouge Branch. Records, 1951-1994 (bulk 1980-1993). 2 linear ft., 3v. Location: UU:113. Official papers of the Baton Rouge Branch of the American Association of University Women during the presidency of Mrs. May Lee Denham. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 666.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Education, Baton Rouge

American Association of University Women. Louisiana State Division. Records, 1925-1941. 1,167 items, 1 ms. Vol., 45 printed vols. Location: UU:1-4. Official records consisting of correspondence, annual reports, programs, and related printed materials from presidents and committee chairmen of branches in Alexandria, Baton Rouge, Hammond, Lafayette, Natchitoches, Ruston, and Shreveport, Louisiana. Included are mimeographed and printed material from A.A.U.W. National Headquarters. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 666.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Education, Baton Rouge

American Association of University Women. Louisiana State Division. Records, 1948-1957. 36 items, 5 pamphlets. Location: UU:4. Records include a brief history of the association by Mrs. C. C. Henson, copies of bylaws, programs for annual meetings, letters from the general director, and association journals. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1486.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Education

Anderson, Decatur C. Papers, 1876-1892. 6 items. Location: Misc.:A, OS:A. Mortgage deed of Anderson to Kate Ketchum for property located in Montrose, Baldwin County, Alabama (1874); statements of Anderson's accounts with Mobile merchants and contractors (1890); and a tax receipt (1892). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 913.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Business

Anderson, John Q., Papers, 1848-1993 (bulk 1953-1973). 7.5 linear ft., 5 v. Location: X:119-125, OS:A, P:17. John Q. Anderson was a professor of English and a writer of Southern history and folklore. This collections of files, correspondence, printed material, and photographs reflect Anderson's career, current events; and they provide research material for his publications, particularly "Brokenburn: The Journal of Kate Stone, 1861-1868" and "Louisiana Swamp Doctor: The Life of Henry Clay Lewis". For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2156, 2162.

Pages