Women

This guide describes manuscript collections documenting women's history in the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections at LSU. It includes the papers of women, women's organizations, family papers with significant bodies of women's papers in them, and other collections that document women's history in one way or another.

LSU is fortunate because it collected women's papers very early, perhaps without systematically trying to do so. Women's voices, often buried in plantation collections and Civil War papers, have emerged from obscurity only in recent decades. Researchers coming to LSU can study the letters and diaries of plantation mistresses and teachers, the papers of women writers, and the papers of black women, among other sources. A number of our women's collections have been recently microfilmed by University Publications of America in its series on Southern Women and their Families, making these collections more widely accessible.

Displaying 161 - 180 of 767. Show 5 | 10 | 20 | 40 | 60 results per page.

Cotton, William Davis and Family. Papers, 1852-1989. 1 linear ft., 4 vol. Location: S:136, OS:C, H:14. Collection contains correspondence and papers belonging to the Cotton Family. This includes the Civil War correspondence of Dr. Drury P. Gibson and his sister Mary Gibson Cotton, correspondence between George Spencer Cotton and his fiancée Lizzie Davis (1888-1890), and correspondence, photographs, and printed items belonging to William Davis Cotton, attorney of Rayville, La, and former president of LSU Alumni Federation (1969-1989). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4780.

Cox, Ellen M. Collection, 1850s. 1 ms. vol. (365 pages). Location: 65:29. Bound sheet music published principally in Paris and purchased from New Orleans dealers. Includes a copy of Jerusalem composed for Louis Moreau Gottschalk and published in New York City (1855). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2384.

Referenced in Guides: New Orleans to 1861, Performing arts, Women

Crawford, David d. 1834. Letters, 1834 [183?]. 2 items. Location: Misc:C. Lawyer of Mobile and Mount Pleasant, Alabama. Letters written to his wife and mother discuss his poor state of health; his commitment to his profession; and the behavior of slaves, particularly the misconduct of a female slave resulting in the need to dispose of her. Also included are bank records of the Bank of Mobile falsified in order to cover an accounting error. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3666.

Referenced in Guides: Women, African Americans

Crean, Mary Walsingham. Manuscript, circa 1881-1885. 1 item. Location: Misc.:C. Manuscript by Mary Walsingham Crean titled, 'Is he Knave or Fool--this Mr. Wilde?' For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 244.

Referenced in Guides: Women, New Orleans 1866-, Literature

Creighton, M. G. Letter, 1837. 1 item. Location: Misc.:C. Family letter from M.G. Creighton of New Orleans, La., to her aunt in Philadelphia, Pa. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1399.

Referenced in Guides: New Orleans to 1861, Women

Crosby, Dixie Hammond. Family Papers, 1890-1992 (bulk: 1937-1965). 159 items, 3 v. Location: 34:, OS:C. Family papers of Mack Gerald Crosby, Dixie Lillie Myrtle Hammond Crosby, and their daughter Dixie Lee "Dee" Crosby Brown. Mack Crosby and Dixie Hammond were both from Baton Rouge, La. and attended Louisiana State University in the 1930?s. Mack Crosby served in the United States Air Force for over thirty years. This collection includes correspondence, manuscripts, photographs, and, newspaper clippings relating to family affairs, work, and military service. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4805.

Daine, Marie J. F. R. Judgment, 1829. 2 items. Location: Misc.:D. New Orleans Parish Court judgment and receipt for court costs in favor of petitioner, Marie Jacqueline Feliciana Rigaud, versus her lawful husband, J. B. Daine, for desertion and permission to contract another marriage. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1147.

Referenced in Guides: New Orleans to 1861, Women

Dalrymple, C. G. Letter, 1847 June 5. 1 item. Location: Misc:D. Resident of Monroe County, Mississippi, and the wife of a cotton plantation overseer. Letter to Dalrymple's brother and sister in North Carolina describing her life on a small cotton plantation, land settlement in the area, the activities of family members, local attitudes towards violence, and her psychological state. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2966.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Women

Daniels, Josephus, 1862-1948. Papers, 1917-1936. 4 items. Location: Misc:D. A U.S. Secretary of the Navy, Ambassador to Mexico, and editor of the Raleigh, North Carolina newspaper, News and Observer. Letters describe construction at the Boston Navy Yard, the American economy during WWI, Woodrow Wilson's role at the Versailles Peace Conference, Roosevelt's Agricultural Adjustment Act and its effects on farm prices and the rural economy. An excerpt of a speech by Daniels discusses the service of women during WWI. Letter relating advantages of Federal Reserve Board and the U.S. Shipping Board to the conduct of the War. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2389.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Women, 20th Century Wars

Dardenne, Eugenie. Land document, 1856 March 24. 1 item (4 leaves). Location: Misc:D. Land conveyance recording the sale of slaves and one-third of the ownership of Dardenne Plantation, a sugar plantation in Iberville Parish, Louisiana. The sale was made to John A. Dardenne. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 668.

Referenced in Guides: Sugar, Plantations, Women, African Americans

Dart, Elisabeth K. (Elizabeth Kilbourne). Collection, 1774-2005. 5.5 linear feet. Location: 121:8-11. Resident and local historian in St. Francisville, West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. Wrote about West Feliciana subjects including the Railroad, biographies of notable figures, and tours for Grace Cemetery. Collection contains manuscript and research materials used for exhibits, lectures, tours, and writing on West Feliciana Parish. Manuscripts include deeds, correspondence, accounting records, legal papers, court cases, and receipts. Other records include published materials, copies of original materials, scrapbooks, photographs, notes, and exhibit text. Mss. 5023.

Daughters of the American Revolution. Baton Rouge Chapter. Records, 1931-1985. 10 vols. Location: 53:. Scrapbook volumes contain publicity and business records, including correspondence, newspaper clippings, photographs, programs, and other printed items. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4086.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Baton Rouge

Davion, Marguerite Cloutier. Document, 1824. 1 item. Location: Misc. Resident of Natchitoches Parish, Louisiana. Act of cession in the succession proceedings of Marguerite Cloutier Davion. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 849.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Davis, Jefferson. Family correspondence collection, 1868-1907. 12 items. Location: Misc.:D, vault:1. U. S. congressman (1845-1851, 1857-1861) from Mississippi, U. S. Secretary of War (1853-1857), and president of the Confederate States of America (1861-1865). Correspondence relates to genealogy, personal affairs, and letters of recommendation for an African American coachman. Correspondents include Jefferson Davis, his wife, Varina Davis and daughter, Margaret Davis Hayes. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 250, 893.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Women, African Americans

Davis, Varina Howell. Letter, 1881 March 12. 1 item. Location: Misc.: D, Vault: 1. Wife of Jefferson Davis, president of the Confederate States of America. Letter from Varina Davis to a Mr. Bigelow comments on the status of Jefferson Davis's hand injury, the attractiveness of Mississippi, and her daughter's visit. Original housed in the vault is restricted. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3929.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Davis, Varina Howell. Photograph, 1849. 1 item. Location: Vault:39. Wife of Jefferson Davis, President of the Confederate States of America. 1 1/6 plate studio portrait cased daguerreotype of Varina Davis, possibly taken at Natchez, Miss., circa 1949. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1678.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Civil War

Dawson, Sarah Morgan. Letter and Photograph, 1899, undated 2 items. Location: Misc.:D. Letter from Sarah Morgan Dawson to a friend, offering the use of her library. The photograph was taken on a holiday in North Carolina in August 1899. For further information, see online. Mss. 1703.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Dawson, Sarah Morgan. Manuscripts, 1908. 2 items. Location: Misc.:D. Two manuscript narratives from an unfinished volume of Reminiscences and Miscellanies recalled by her during the last years of her life at the request of her children. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1703.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Dayries, B. E. Family correspondence, 1829-1848. 8 items. Location: Misc. Residents of Pointe Coupee Parish, Louisiana. Correspondence of members of the Dayries family, principally Mrs. Dayries, from Mont-de-Marsan, capital of Landes, France. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1724.

Referenced in Guides: Women, French

De Beguer, Emma. Letter, 1869. 1 item [photostat]. Location: Misc.:D. Resident of Baton Rouge. Personal letter by Miss de Beguer to a friend. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 778.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Baton Rouge, French

Pages