Women

This guide describes manuscript collections documenting women's history in the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections at LSU. It includes the papers of women, women's organizations, family papers with significant bodies of women's papers in them, and other collections that document women's history in one way or another.

LSU is fortunate because it collected women's papers very early, perhaps without systematically trying to do so. Women's voices, often buried in plantation collections and Civil War papers, have emerged from obscurity only in recent decades. Researchers coming to LSU can study the letters and diaries of plantation mistresses and teachers, the papers of women writers, and the papers of black women, among other sources. A number of our women's collections have been recently microfilmed by University Publications of America in its series on Southern Women and their Families, making these collections more widely accessible.

Displaying 121 - 140 of 767. Show 5 | 10 | 20 | 40 | 60 results per page.

Caffery, Donelson, 1835-1906. Family letters, circa 1879, 1897. 2 letters. Location: Misc. Donelson Caffery was a planter in St. Mary Parish, La., state senator for St. Mary Parish (1892-1894), and U.S. senator from Louisiana (1893-1901). Letters recount recent developments in the Caffery family (circa 1879) and Donelson Caffery's paternal family history (1897). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4268.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Plantations, Women

Caldwell workbook, 1966. 1 item (229 sheets) mimeographed. Location: B:14. Workbook compiled by Mrs. John Q. Anderson. A first (or rough) draft of the compiler's notes, with index, dealing with the Caldwell lineage. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2214.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Cameron, Giulia Valda. Letters, 1891. 3 items. Location: Misc. Concert singer. Letters by Alfred Mapleson, of A. Mapleson and C. Siecinoski's Operatic and Concert Agency, London, apparently an agent for Giulia Valda Cameron. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1541.

Referenced in Guides: Performing arts, Women

Campbell, Zoe J., d. 1866. Diaries, 1856-1866. 5 items; 10 ms. vols. Location: P:1, Misc:C. Available on microfilm 5750: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reels 4-5. Resident of New Orleans; daughter of James and Zoe Lambert Campbell and sister of Lambert Campbell, a Confederate soldier in the Civil War. Dairies document expenses, condolence visits, and piano lessons. Beginning in May 1861, they deal with the Civil War, including events in occupied New Orleans. Papers also include a funeral announcement for Campbell and a personal letter. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1274.

Cannon, Andrew Family Papers, 1829-1868, undated (1850-1862). 110 items. Location 11:15, OS:C. Andrew Jerome Cannon family of Baton Rouge, Louisiana, employee at St. Joseph Catholic Cemetery. Correspondence related to professional, personal business, and family life in Baton Rouge, as well as the Civil War. Financial papers consisting of bills, invoices, promissory notes, and receipts are also present. For further information, see online catalog, Mss. 4979.

Capell, Eli J. (Eli Jackson), 1814-1888. Family Papers, 1840-1932 (bulk 1886-1900). 1.3 linear ft., 16 v. Location: E:47-48, F:11, OS:C, Mss.Mf:C. Planter of Pleasant Hill Plantation, Amite County, Mississippi. Capell also operated a store near Rose Hill, Mississippi. Correspondence and business records of the Capell family and related Crawford family. Business, plantation, and legal papers include letters, accounts, and invoices with cotton factors and memorandum books of cotton and merchandise sold; labor contracts and laborersÆ record book; land deeds; and records from the Rose Hill store. Family correspondence from Crawford relatives (1880-1899) relates geographic, economic, race relations, health, and social conditions in parts of Missouri, Texas, Colorado, Utah, and Montana, and letters to Capell daughters concern news of friends, personal relationships, and social activities (1865-1879). Available (with some omissions) on microfilm: University Publications of America Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B, Part 4, Reels 3-5. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 674.

Carey, Cora, b. 1843. Family Papers, 1866-1971. 161 items; 2 ms. Vols. Location: W:33, Vault. Journalist and organizer of Southern Women's Literary Clubs, of Holly Springs, Mississippi; creator of the 'Mr. Punch' column in the New Orleans Times-Democrat. Papers include correspondence about Mississippi and Louisiana women's clubs; and items from Longfellow, George Washington Cable, and Francis Willard. Later family correspondence includes that of Hamilton F. Richardson, tennis star. Available on microfilm 5750: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reels 33. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2987.

Referenced in Guides: Women, New Orleans 1866-, Literature

Carman, Juliette. Letter, ca. 1880. 1 item. Location: Misc. Resident of Stonewall, DeSoto Parish, Louisiana. Letter from Carman to a friend living in Kansas relating information concerning the proposed consecration of the recently completed Protestant Episcopal Church near Stonewall and camp meetings organized by John Nelson, minister of the Methodist Church. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1088.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Women

Carmouche, Annie Jeter, 1843-1921. Papers, 1853-1964. 5 items; 4 ms. vols. Location: W:18, H:24. Annie Jeter Carmouche spent her childhood in Virginia and New Orleans and lived in Saint Landry and Bossier Parishes, Louisiana, during and after the Civil War. She married Emile A. Carmouche. Collection includes family letters, papers, and tablets containing Carmouche's memoirs. Correspondence relates to social life, the Civil War, and family events. The memoirs recall Carmouche's childhood, the Civil War, and the postwar period. Available on microfilm 5750: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reel 5. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2878.

Carpenter, George H., 1849-1892. Family Papers, 1806, 1835-1964 (bulk 1844-1899). 2.6 linear ft., 21 mss. vols., 84 printed vols. Location: A:28-31, OS:C. Dentist who resided with his family in Slaughter and Clinton, East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. Family papers also contain items of Carpenter's father-in-law, John Y. East, and his family. Among these papers are family letters, including the John A. Collins family; legal and business papers of John East; poetry; sermons; and biographical writings. Printed material consists of newspapers clippings; maps; Colt historical prints; political handbills; Huey P. Long political broadsides (1930); and various books. Volumes include items of Mary East. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2317.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Politics, Women, Medicine, Literature

Carruth, Elizabeth. Papers, 1848-1871. 15 items. Location: E:4. Elizabeth and Jesse L. Carruth lived in Saint Helena Parish, Louisiana. Collection includes a parish tax receipt, notes signed by Jesse Carruth, and letters (1860-1870) to Elizabeth Carruth from relatives and friends in Jasper County, Texas, concerning personal news, crop conditions, and social conditions. Available on microfilm 5750: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reel 5. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 714.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Causey, R. J. Correspondence, 1863 September 25-November 19. 4 items. Location: Misc.:C. Letters from Causey's wife comment on a riot near Tickfaw involving African Americans, Tangipahoa Parish, Louisiana; Confederate farm taxes; and transportation difficulties of sending cotton to Baton Rouge. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2133.

Cazayoux Family Papers, 1929-1999 (bulk 1939-1979). 1.3 linear ft., 7 v. Location: UU:289-291, J:24, OS:C. Catholic family of Baton Rouge, La., includes Rev. Clair Cazayoux, a Jesuit priest, teacher and, and missionary; Gene Cazayoux, Catholic brother; librarian Vivian Cazayoux; and Drs. Francis and Robert Cazayoux. Papers consist of correspondence, sermons, church publications, travel pamphlets, speeches, and scrapbooks, reflecting careers, education, and the Catholic Church. Collection also offers insight into the political events and social conditions in Ceylon and India, and the U.S. military involvement in Korea during the 1950s and early 1960s. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4827.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Women, Education, Baton Rouge

Chaffraix, D. A., Mrs. Papers, 1892-1904 (bulk 1899). 18 items, 5 ms. vols. Location: O:4, Misc:C. Social and civic leader in New Orleans. Chaffraix was associated with the Chinchuba Deaf-Mute Institute near Mandeville, Saint Tammany Parish, Louisiana. Papers include record books related to benefit performances at the institute. Included are broadsides of the Protestant Episcopal Children's Home and the Chinchuba Deaf-Mute Institute (1899). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1249, 1258.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Women, New Orleans 1866-, Education

Chalmers, James R. (James Ronald), 1831-1898. Letter, 1861 [sic.1862] January 3. 1 item. Location: Misc:C. Confederate general and United States congressman. Letter to Major General Braxton Bragg written while Chalmers was a colonel in the 9th Mississippi Regiment acknowledges on behalf of the officers of the unit receipt of a barrel of golden syrup from Mrs. Bragg. Available on microfilm 5735: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reel 3. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2699.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Civil War

Chalmette, Azelie Delino, de. Azelie Delino and Ignacio Delino de Chalmette Papers, 1801-1952 (bulk 1823-1852). 47 items. Location: E:52. Plantation owners of New Orleans. Most of the collection consists of correspondence and other papers of Azelie Delino de Chalmette. Included are letters from family members, F. Godefroy of the West Indies, the Delahoussaye family, Jean Saint-Avid of Paris, and M. Cruzat of New Orleans. Letters from Ignacio Delino de Chalmette written to John Forbes & Company of Mobile, Alabama, concern Bernard de Marigny's involvement with the company. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1245.

Champion, E.W. Letter, 1838 Jan. 1 Location: Misc.: C. In her letter to friends and family in West Springfield, Mass., E.W. Champion describes social activities in Savannah, criticizes Abolitionists and remarks on the death of Elijah Lovejoy. She comments on Southern food and weather, and relates news of family members in Savannah and New England. Mss. 3964.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Chandler, John Benjamin. Petition, 1849. 1 item. Location: Misc.:C.  A printed petition submitted to the First District Court of New Orleans on behalf of John Benjamin Chandler, the son and heir of Rachel Bannister. In his petition, Chandler claims Joseph Landis, the executor of the estate sold his inheritance of property and slaves in Orleans and Jefferson parishes, and misused of the proceeds. Mss. 5282.

Referenced in Guides: New Orleans to 1861, Women

Charles A. Reynard-Marian Reynard Baun Papers, 1927-1997. 0.6 linear feet. Location: 107:18, J:25; OS:C. Charles Reynard was a law professor at LSU and an advocate of desegregation in Louisiana schools. Marian Reynard Baun was a psychology professor and community activist in Baton Rouge. The collection includes correspondence, lists, minutes, newspaper clippings, printed items, and miscellaneous items of Charles A. Reynard and Marian Reynard Baun. Items principally pertain to social activism while they were LSU professors and to Baun's subsequent work with the Friends of Public Education. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4772.

Chelette, Atala. Family Papers, 1819-1919 (bulk 1841-1899). 160 items. Location: B:18. Family of free people of color of Natchitoches Parish, Louisiana. A woman named Angélique, her children Pierre Edmond and Louis Onsime, Mary Athalie Joson (also called Josin), L. Martin Joson, and Joseph and Marie Rosalie Perot were free people of color associated with the Chelette family. Includes a true copy of the act of manumission for Angélique, described as a mulatto woman, by Louis Fort and his will, personal papers of Joseph Perot, a free man of color, and personal and business papers of Emanuel and Atala Chelette. Also includes letters from family members that moved to Texas. Available on microfilm 5750: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reel 6. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 979.

Referenced in Guides: Women, African Americans

Pages