Women

This guide describes manuscript collections documenting women's history in the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections at LSU. It includes the papers of women, women's organizations, family papers with significant bodies of women's papers in them, and other collections that document women's history in one way or another.

LSU is fortunate because it collected women's papers very early, perhaps without systematically trying to do so. Women's voices, often buried in plantation collections and Civil War papers, have emerged from obscurity only in recent decades. Researchers coming to LSU can study the letters and diaries of plantation mistresses and teachers, the papers of women writers, and the papers of black women, among other sources. A number of our women's collections have been recently microfilmed by University Publications of America in its series on Southern Women and their Families, making these collections more widely accessible.

Displaying 101 - 120 of 773. Show 5 | 10 | 20 | 40 | 60 results per page.

Bringier, Louis Amadee, 1827-1897. Papers, 1786-1901. 599 items and 14 vols. Location: T:96-97, F:9, OS:B. Planter of Ascension Parish, Louisiana; Confederate officer and commander of the 4th Louisiana Cavalry and the 7th Louisiana Regiment. Papers include military records, correspondence and business papers relating to the administration of Hermitage Plantation in Ascension Parish and Houmas, Burnside, and Bagatelle plantations. One letter report that a woman killed a federal soldier in New Orleans (1862); another describes Grand Ilse as a resort requented by Jews. Some items in French. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm 6061: University Publications of America Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B, Part 1, Reels 1-2, and microfilm 5322: Records of Ante-Bellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series I, Part 1, Reel 13. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 43, 139, 544.

Bristow, Gwen, 1903-. Letter: Beverly Hills, Calif., to Annette Duchein, 1941 December 2. 1 item. Location: Misc:B. American novelist and journalist married to movie producer Bruce Manning. Friendly letter reporting on remodeling of a house and current writing. Bristow tells of difficulties encountered when trying to write without having done sufficient preliminary work and gives her thoughts on Marcel Proust. Also mentioned is the 'colonel' and his work as a movie producer. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4601.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Literature

Britt, Gladys Lawrence. Sketches of Miss Caroline Dorman: reminiscences, 1977. 1 item (19 pages). Location: Misc:B. Artist, author, and naturalist. She resided at 'Briarwood' in Natchitoches Parish, Louisiana. Recollections of Dorman's life and work were compiled by Britt and contain information obtained in interviews of friends and associates of Dorman including Mr. Johnson, Mrs. Nicholls, and Mrs. Nora Patterson. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3180.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Literature

Brown, Elizabeth. Account, 1835-1836. 1 item. Location: Misc.:B. Statement of account from William Beans, blacksmith to Brown. Payment for account received by Beans on February 6, 1836. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2127.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Business

Brown, James (James Wilson) 1913 September 18 interviewee. Oral history interview, 1979. 1 sound cassette, transcript (28 pages). Location: L:4700.0003. Dean of Graduate Service in Research at San Jose State University, California. Richard Lewis was the Director of the Development of the Media Service and Support Program and Instructional Television also at San Jose State. Interview with Brown and Lewis concerns the production and use of audio-visuals and films by the U.S. Navy in World War II; the development of audio-visual products for use in schools; and their later career in the film industry. Topics include British and Canadian film making during the war; the prevention of venereal disease through films; medical films; demobilization films; and the Ladies Training and Development Center. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0003.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Education, Medicine

Brown, Sarah Goodwin. Collection, 1840-1944. 31 items. Location: U:181. Materials documenting the history of Baton Rouge and Clinton, Louisiana. Included are two letters referring to the enlistment of a Northern school teacher in the Confederate army. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1573, 1986.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Civil War, Education, Baton Rouge

Buck, Pearl S., 1892-. Letters, 1968. 2 items. Location: Misc.:B. American writer and philanthropist. Letters to a correspondent in India commenting on the assassinations of Martin Luther King and Robert F. Kennedy; the Black Power demonstration by U.S. athletes at the Mexican Olympic Games; and racial problems in the United States. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2473, 2475.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Women, African Americans, Literature

Buck, William C. Family correspondence, 1855-1894. 11 items. Location: Misc: B. Baptist minister of Columbus, Mississippi, and editor of the BAPTIST BANNER and WESTERN PIONEER in Louisville, Kentucky. Buck moved to Texas in 1866 and lived there until his death in 1872. Letters from Buck's son Gideon to his wife describe Staten Island and New York City; Northern attitudes toward his sister, who was living in the North; and Northern publishers' prejudices against his father's and other Southern literary works. Included is a letter from William to his son. Remaining correspondence by Sallie G. Willson and others discuss Waco Classical School, Salado College, development of Salado, Texas, and family matters. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1699.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Women, Education, Literature

Buck-Ellis Family Papers, 1812, 1826-2000. 14 linear ft and 27 volumes. Location: 16:1-14, OS:B, J:27, Vault 1. Family of educators, lawyers, and public officials. Of Tangipahoa Parish, Louisiana. Ellis family papers (1812, 1826-1987) are comprised almost entirely of personal correspondence relating to daily activities, politics, health, religion, employment, military service, education and travel of five generations. Other material includes financial papers, legal documents, speeches and lectures related to the study of law, printed items, account books, diaries, inventories, family scrapbook and minute books of United Daughters of the Confederacy, Blue Cross Chapter. The Carroll and Martina Ellis Buck papers (1922-2000) consist primarily of personal correspondence from family and friends, but include some professional correspondence, primarily from his legal and public career. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4820.

Buckley, Margaret, 1819-. Diary, 1852-1853. 1 ms. vol. Location: Mss. Mf.:B. Housewife and seamstress of Finley, Ohio. Diary records daily life during the time she supported her family while her husband traveled to California. Included are mentions of social life, education of children, illnesses, and a list of household expenses. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2643.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Education, Medicine

Buhler, John Christian, 1789-1866. Family Papers, 1805-1952 (bulk 1824-1931). 437 items, 1 ms. Vol. Location: C:49, OS:B. Planter of Winters Plantation in Buhler's Plains near Baton Rouge. Collection includes family correspondence, chiefly of John Christian Buhler, John Robert Buhler, Mary Edith Buhler, Hester S. Simmons, and Jane (Jennie) Gillespie Buhler. Letters concern politics, notable persons, and social and economic conditions. Financial documents include a copy of an act of sale (1852) of a parcel of land by John Buhler and his wife to the town of Baton Rouge, now the site of Magnolia Cemetery. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1192, 1210, 1238, 1311.

Buhler, John Robert, 1829-1886. Papers, 1843-1914. 6 ms. vols. Location: H:17. John Robert Buhler was the son of John Christian Buhler, a planter of Buhler's Plains near Baton Rouge. After his marriage to Mary Reynolds, they lived at Independence Plantation, home of his grandparents, the Smiths, near Natchez, Mississippi. Papers include three volumes of a diary containing entries (1847-1849) reflecting family and social life on Independence Plantation and providing information on events in and around Natchez, Mississippi, and Baton Rouge. Includes another diary containing manuscript poems (1881-1914) by Mary Edith Buhler, an autograph book, and a notebook containing poems by Buhler. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1311.

Buhler, M. E. (Mary Edith). Papers, 1881-1931. 985 items, 7 ms. Vols., 8 printed vols. Location: C:50-51; H:17. Poet and journalist of Mount Independence Plantation near Natchez, Mississippi, and resident of New Orleans and New York City; author of The Grass in the Pavement (1918). Papers consist of her manuscript and printed writings published in the New York Times and the New Orleans Times-Picayune and of materials relating to her family history and genealogy. Available on microfilm 5750: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reels 1-4. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1192, 1210, 1333.

Burden, Ione. Family Papers, 1815-1985. 23 linear ft. Location: P:39-50, OS:B. LSU administrator and Baton Rouge philanthropist. Along with her brothers, Pike and Steele Burden, Ione Burden donated family land to establish the Burden Research Plantation and the LSU Rural Life Museum. Papers include correspondence, legal documents, financial papers, photographs, and scrapbooks of Ione Burden and her brothers. Collection documents Baton Rouge community events, family history, and Burden family philanthropic activities. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3063.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Women, Baton Rouge, LSU

Burnham, Anne. Letters, 1833-1838. 4 letters. Location: Misc. Anne Burnham was a missionary among the Choctaw Indians, first in Havana, Ala., then near Fort Towson, Indian Territory, after their removal in 1833. This collection consists of four letters received by Anne Burnham mostly from women in Columbus, Miss. Mss. 3947.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Women

Butler, Anna and Sarah. Correspondence, 1838-1861. 1.5 linear ft. Location: S:23. Anna and Sarah Jane Duncan Butler were the daughters of Louisiana Judge Thomas Butler and Ann Butler. They lived at The Cottage in West Feliciana Parish near St. Francisville. Letters from friends and family reflect the social life and customs of antebellum Louisiana. Letters written by Anna and Sarah from home and during travels chronicle their social and private lives, describe local activities, and allude to national events. Available on microfilm 5322: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 5, Reel 1. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 581.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Women

Butler, Edward. Family Papers, 1809-1950 (bulk 1904-1945). 10 linear ft. Location: U:282-290, M:19, OS:B. Cotton planter of West Feliciana Parish, La. Correspondence, personal papers, business records, printed material, and photographs reflect the personal activities and plantation operations of the Butler and related Mathews families, with a focus on Edward Butler and his immediate family. Noteworthy are two letters discussing a sick slave (Dec. 29, 1817) and runaway slaves (Aug. 15, 1835). Letters also discuss student life, World War II experiences, and yellow fever in New Orleans (Aug.-Oct. 1837). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4315.

Butler, Louise, 1866-1951. Papers, 1892-1950. 685 items, 3 ms. Vols., 5 printed vols. Location: S:19-21. Granddaughter of Judge Thomas Butler of The Cottage, West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. Writings consist of poetry, short stories, and historical sketches of West Feliciana Parish. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1069.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Women, Literature

Butler, Margaret, 1821-1890. Correspondence, 1847-1880. .5 linear ft. Location: S:24. Daughter of Louisiana judge Thomas Butler and Ann Ellis Butler. She lived at the Cottage in West Feliciana Parish near St. Francisville. The Butlers were sugar and cotton planters. Letters from family and friends reflect the life of the Butler family in the antebellum, Civil War, and Reconstruction periods. Antebellum letters depict plantation life and religious life in the Episcopal church. Several family members served in the Confederate army and corresponded with Margaret, describing the life of army personnel. Later letters illustrate social and economic conditions after the war. Available on microfilm 5322: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 5, Reel 2. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1068.

Bynum Family. Papers, 1814-1969 (bulk: 1913-1969). 1 linear foot, 26 v. Location: E:103-105, OS:B. Residents of Baton Rouge, Louisiana. Papers contain correspondence, writings, diaries, financial records, and printed material, relating to family matters, social activities, World Wars I and II, Louisiana State University student life, and local and state government. There is also a scrapbook of the Female Orphan Association of Baton Rouge (1848-1861). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3104, 3174.

Pages