Women

This guide describes manuscript collections documenting women's history in the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections at LSU. It includes the papers of women, women's organizations, family papers with significant bodies of women's papers in them, and other collections that document women's history in one way or another.

LSU is fortunate because it collected women's papers very early, perhaps without systematically trying to do so. Women's voices, often buried in plantation collections and Civil War papers, have emerged from obscurity only in recent decades. Researchers coming to LSU can study the letters and diaries of plantation mistresses and teachers, the papers of women writers, and the papers of black women, among other sources. A number of our women's collections have been recently microfilmed by University Publications of America in its series on Southern Women and their Families, making these collections more widely accessible.

Displaying 81 - 100 of 773. Show 5 | 10 | 20 | 40 | 60 results per page.

Boggs, Lindy, 1916- Letters, 1974-1978. 6 letters. Location: Misc. Lindy Boggs was U.S. Representative for the 2nd Congressional District of Louisiana (1973-1992) and U.S. Ambassador to the Vatican (1997-2001). These five letters by Boggs recount her memories of President Lyndon B. Johnson and Speaker of the House John W. McCormack. A short note from Russell B. Long is also included. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3878.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Women, New Orleans 1866-

Boland, Rose Mary Shields. Scrapbook, 1906-1940. 1 vol. [on microfilm] Location:Mss. Mf.:B. Child actress and member of New Orleans theatrical family. Scrapbook contains newspaper clippings, photographs, and miscellaneous items, largely concerning her career as a child actress with the Brown-Baker Stock Company. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2595.

Referenced in Guides: Performing arts, Women, New Orleans 1866-

 Bolner, James. Reprints, 1987-1993. 6 reprints. Location: Misc.:B. Political science professor at Louisiana State University from 1968 to 1993. Reprints of articles authored by James Bolner and published by various French universities focus on the United States Supreme Court and communism, sexual privacy, work and leisure in the United States, women's struggle for equality in the U.S., the United States constitution and the Supreme Court, and the change in public opinion on the Vietnam War. Articles are in English, covers are in French. Mss. 4500.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Women, LSU, 20th Century Wars

Bolton, George W. and Mimi. See: George W. and Mimi Bolton papers, Mss. 4653.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Bond, Priscilla Munnikhuysen, 1838-1869. Papers, 1858-1866. 0.7 linear ft. (98 items, 3 ms. Vols.). Location: B:15. Resident of Terrebonne Parish, Louisiana. Collection consists of correspondence, diaries, poems, and photographs. Diaries record Bond's daily activities and observations relating to plantation life, runaway slaves, social activities, hypnotism, and Civil War experiences and thoughts, including participation by African American soldiers. Available on microfilm 5750: America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reel 33. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2155.

Bondy, Laura. Correspondence, 1876-1889, undated 7 items [photocopies]. Location: Misc.:B. Student at Afton Villa girls' school, West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. Letters mention school and social activities. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2783.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Education

Bonnot, Raoul. Bill, 1893. 1 item. Location: Misc.:B. New Orleans undertaker. Detailed bill for the funeral of Mrs. A. Caillier, widow. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2297.

Referenced in Guides: Women, New Orleans 1866-

Bouanchaud, Hewitt Leonidas, 1877-1950. Papers, 1910-1921, 1950. 14 items [photocopies and copy prints]. Location: Misc.:B. Louisiana politician and lieutenant governor. Papers include a letter from Bouanchaud's wife, newspaper clippings and other printed items pertaining to his political career, a formal photographic portrait, and a photograph of the 1921 Louisiana Constitutional Convention with Bouanchaud presiding. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3095.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Women

Boucry Family Papers, 1814-1884, 1910 (bulk 1830-1884). 6 items, 3 vols. Location: 77:88, Mss. Mf.:B.Sugar planters of Bonne Esperance Plantation, St. James Parish, Louisiana. Papers include record books of Helene Boucry containing financial and genealogical information about the Boucry, Bonnecaze, Webre, and related families. Partly in French. Available on microfilm 5322: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 1, Reel 8. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 790, 800.

Referenced in Guides: Sugar, Plantations, Women, French

Bourcier, Catherine Silly. Document, 1840. 1 item. Location: Misc.:B. Widow of Fran?ois C. Bourcier. A document signed by the recorder of mortgages in New Orleans, certifying the non-encumbrance of a slave belonging to Madame Catherine Silly. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 36.

Bowers, Laura Boddie Jones. Papers, 1906-1990, undated (bulk 1931-1955). 3.25 linear ft. Location: E:119-121. Librarian in Louisiana. Primarily correspondence documenting the family life, student life, and early career of Bowers in New Orleans, Baton Rouge, and Natchitoches, Louisiana. Newspaper clippings, notes, post card collection, printed items, and a scrapbook are also present. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3546.

Bowman, James P. Family papers, 1806-1926. 2615 items; 100 ms. vols., 6 printed vols. Location: B:19-24; J:18-19; OS:B; 98:. Planter of Rosedown Plantation, St. Francisville, Louisiana. Records and papers documenting the administration of Rosedown. Includes papers of William R. Bowman, Episcopal clergyman; and of James P. Bowman, Robert H. Barrow, Eliza Bowman Lyons, Catharine Rucker Turnbull, and Daniel Turnbull. Available on microfilm 5322: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 4, Reels 8-19. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1372, 1382.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Women, African Americans

Boyd, Thomas Duckett and Family. Papers, 1860-1966 (bulk 1872-1935). 6 linear ft., 29 volumes, 7 microfilm reels. Location: D:1-6, VAULT:2, OS:B, 145:57, MSS.MF:B. Younger brother of David French Boyd. Served as acting president of LSU upon David's resignation. Also served as the president of the State Normal School in Natchitoches. Papers are comprised of correspondence, financial papers, photographs, printed materials, and manuscript volumes. Also included is personal correspondence of Annie Fuqua Boyd and other family members. Photographs include those of Thomas Boyd, Annie Fuqua, and Governors Henry Fuqua and William H. Heard. Mss. 41, 241, 530, 744, 808, 893, 965, 1411, 1438, 1589, 1685, 1799, 1946, 2081, 2126, 2197, 2305, 2335.

Boyer, Albert P., Mrs. Papers and account books, 1885-1907. 0.8 linear ft. (47 items; 4 vols.). Location: E:51, O:67. African American undertaker of New Orleans. Papers include promissory notes; statements of account; bills for coffins and caskets; cashbooks; a journal reflecting accounts for funeral expenses; and a ledger containing client and burial society accounts. Available on microfilm 5750: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reel 1. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1258.

Breaux, John B. Papers, 1933, 1938, 1963, 1970-2004 (bulk: 1987-2004). Approx. 781 linear feet . Location: Room B6, Map Cage, Vault:54. Correspondence, briefing books, bills, reports, testimony transcripts, research files, news releases, printed materials, audio-visual and electronic files, photographs and memorabilia documenting the political and U.S. Congressional career of Louisiana Representative (1972-1986) and Senator (1987-2004) John B. Breaux, and the work of his office. In addition to Senate and House files, contains materials related to his campaigns, the Democratic Party, and the Washington Mardi Gras. Topics include, among others, flood control, abortion, transportation, energy, the environment, taxes, Social Security, Medicare, Medicaid, and healthcare, consumer protection, wetlands conservation, base closures in Louisiana, commerce, trade, and agriculture policy, especially for sugar and rice. For additional information, see the online catalog. Mss. 4922.

Breaux, Manuel. Papers, 1785, 1831. 2 items. Location: MISC:B. Sale of property (copy) in St. James Parish, Louisiana by Marguerite Breaux to Manuel Breaux (1785) and a document listing several land claims as found in the decisions of the Board of Commissioners for the Eastern District of Orleans (1831). In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 42.

Referenced in Guides: Women, French

Breazeale, Elizabeth, 1919-, interviewee. Oral history interview, 1993. 1 sound cassettes (50 min.), transcript (35 p.), index (13 p.). Location: L:4700.0304. LSU alumnae and Kappa Gamma House board president. Breazeale describes her experiences as a student at LSU and a member of the Kappa Gamma Sorority. She describes LSU social life; women's clothing; layout and use of the Panhellenic Building; dormitory rules; ceremonies and traditions; the push for the construction of sorority houses; her thoughts on LSU today; and problems with the Legislature and university funding. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0304.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Education, Baton Rouge, LSU

Brent, Joseph Lancaster. Papers, 1862-1940 (bulk 1862-1904, 1926-1940). 1.3 linear ft., 12 volumes. Location: U:243-245. Maryland native, lawyer, and Confederate general. Joseph Lancaster Brent practiced law in Louisiana, Baltimore, and Los Angeles. Married to Rosella Kenner, he assisted in the management of his father-in-law, Duncan Farrar Kenner's, plantations. Brent served as a Brigadier General in the Louisiana Cavalry Brigade during the Civil War. Collection consists primarily of correspondence between Brent and his wife, Rosella, and published and unpublished writings, including manuscript and printed copies of "Memoirs of the War Between the States" (1940), "The Lugo Case" and "Capture of the Ironclad Indianola" (1926). There is also a diary written by Brent in 1862 during his service in the Civil War. Also part of the collection are the papers of Brent's daughter, Nanine M. Brent, including a personal diary, recipe book, and household hints. Parts available on microfilm: University Publications of America, Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B, Part 1, Reel 15. Mss. 1477, 1822.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Women, Civil War, Literature

Brent, Rosella Kenner, 1849-1928. Papers, 1902-1915. .1 linear ft. Location: U:210. Daughter of Ascension Parish, Louisiana, planter and politician Duncan Farrar Kenner and wife of Confederate brigadier general Joseph F. Brent. Two narratives of Brent's recollections of Ashland Plantation, including a sketch of slave Henry Hammond. She also recounts an 1862 incident in which her father escaped to Bayou Lafourche upon learning that Union troops were coming to arrest him. Three letters pertain to Rosella Kenner Brent's husband, Brigadier General Joseph L. Brent, C.S.A. A 1910 letter describes General Brent's service in the Confederate army. Available on microfilm 6061: University Publications of America Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B, Part 1, Reel 14. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1167, 1822.

Bright, Jane C. Scrapbook, 1917-1956 (bulk 1918-1919). 31 items, 1 vol. Location: 38-73. Red Cross nurse during WWI and a native of Yazoo, Mississippi. Bright was attached to the New Orleans Chapter Base Hospital, Unit No.24, and stationed at Limoges, France. Scrapbook contains mementos of her service as a Red Cross Nurse with the American Expeditionary Force (A.E.F.) in France. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1810.

Pages