Women

This guide describes manuscript collections documenting women's history in the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections at LSU. It includes the papers of women, women's organizations, family papers with significant bodies of women's papers in them, and other collections that document women's history in one way or another.

LSU is fortunate because it collected women's papers very early, perhaps without systematically trying to do so. Women's voices, often buried in plantation collections and Civil War papers, have emerged from obscurity only in recent decades. Researchers coming to LSU can study the letters and diaries of plantation mistresses and teachers, the papers of women writers, and the papers of black women, among other sources. A number of our women's collections have been recently microfilmed by University Publications of America in its series on Southern Women and their Families, making these collections more widely accessible.

Displaying 761 - 767 of 767. Show 5 | 10 | 20 | 40 | 60 results per page.

Wright, Sophie B. Papers and scrapbooks, 1893-1927 (bulk 1892-1900). .15 linear ft. (70 items). Location: U:91. Educator and charity activist of New Orleans, Louisiana; principal of the Home Institute, a day and boarding school for young ladies, and organizer of the Free Night School for working men and boys. Items removed from scrapbooks include letters of appreciation, programs, invitations, and other materials documenting Wright's career as an educator and philanthropist. Available on microfilm 5750: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reel 33. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1134.

Referenced in Guides: Women, New Orleans 1866-, Education

Wright-Boyd Family. Papers, 1812-1914. 2.5 linear ft. Location: R:23-24, OS:W, 65:61. The Wright family owned plantations in Rapides Parish, Louisiana. Esther Gertrude Wright married David French Boyd, president of the Louisiana State Seminary, later LSU. Papers include correspondence, diaries, journals, memoirs, and photographs. The papers mainly document the lives of the women members of the Wright and Boyd families. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3362.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Women, LSU

Wurtele, Mildred Orkney. Scrapbook, 1910-1912. 1 ms. vol. Location: M:18. 'A Theatre-Goer's Record' of entertainment in Chicago and New Orleans. Scrapbook contains clipped programs for plays, operas, ballets, concerts, vaudeville, and motion pictures, lengthy comments by Wurtele, and photographs of the artists. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2306.

Referenced in Guides: Performing arts, Women, New Orleans 1866-

Wyckoff, Elias. Correspondence, 1862-1863. 11 items. Location: Misc.:W. Farmer from Jasper, Steuben County, New York, and a member of the 161st New York Volunteers in the Civil War, serving with an ambulance corps. Exchange of letters between Wyckoff and his wife refers to the military situation in Baton Rouge and Port Hudson, Louisiana. Wyckoff comments on his duties as an ambulance driver. His wife writes of money scarcity, farm problems, and life in Jasper. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1396, 1428, 1437.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Civil War, Baton Rouge, Medicine

Yarbrough, Cornelia. Papers. 1963-2004 (bulk 1973-2004). 5 linear feet. Location: 8:66-68. Professional papers of Cornelia Yarbrough, professor of music education and researcher at Louisiana State University. Papers include academic and literary correspondence, research, writings, printed materials and audio recordings. In addition to writings and research, most materials are the product of Yarbrough's time spent in music education at Syracuse University and Louisiana State University. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4921.

Referenced in Guides: Performing arts, Women, Education, LSU

Young, Robert Thomas, 1812-1890. Family Papers, 1793-1927 (bulk 1830-1890). 0.5 linear ft. Location: E:35, OS:Y. Cotton planter of the Plains in upper East Baton Rouge Parish. Correspondence, legal documents, financial papers, slave lists and bill of sale, personal papers, and printed items document the lives of the Young family. Included are letters written during the Civil War by Robert's sister-in-law, Julia. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4548.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Women, Civil War, African Americans

Zacharie, Carrie. Composition book, 1862-1864. 1 item. Location: Misc:Z. Student's composition book written at the Convent of Mercy, New Orleans. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4524.

Pages