Women

This guide describes manuscript collections documenting women's history in the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections at LSU. It includes the papers of women, women's organizations, family papers with significant bodies of women's papers in them, and other collections that document women's history in one way or another.

LSU is fortunate because it collected women's papers very early, perhaps without systematically trying to do so. Women's voices, often buried in plantation collections and Civil War papers, have emerged from obscurity only in recent decades. Researchers coming to LSU can study the letters and diaries of plantation mistresses and teachers, the papers of women writers, and the papers of black women, among other sources. A number of our women's collections have been recently microfilmed by University Publications of America in its series on Southern Women and their Families, making these collections more widely accessible.

Displaying 61 - 80 of 767. Show 5 | 10 | 20 | 40 | 60 results per page.

Belcher, Eric. Collection, 1948, circa 1962-1973. 1 picture postcard, 2 mailing envelopes. Location: MISC:B. Picture postcard of Earl K. Long with notations on verso, written possibly by Blanche Long and Earl K. Long. Notations designate postcard as an invitation to Earl K. Long's inaugural ball. Mailing envelopes have the letterhead of Orleans Parish district attorney Jim Garrison printed on them. Mss. 5338.

Belcher, Fred, 1913-, interviewee. 1 sound cassettes (1 hour), transcript (69 p.). Location: L:4700.0721. Fred and Helen Belcher are the son and daughter-in-law of Arthur and Corrie Belcher, founders of the Volunteers of America in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. Interview describes the Salvation Army and Volunteers of America with a focus on the community programs and projects including prison ministry, work with the African American community, New Orleans maternity home, the role of VOA in adoptions, and Hanson's Disease Center at Carville, Louisiana. They also discuss the racial composition of South
16th St., role of religion in the VOA, 1920s automobiles, and the flood of 1927. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0721.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Baton Rouge, African Americans, Medicine

Belew, Louise E. Letters and writings, 1961-1969, undated. 12 letters, 1 article. Location: MISC:B. Resident of Baton Rouge, La. and New Orleans, La.; Korean war veteran; and student at the Louisiana State University (LSU) Graduate School of Library Science. Letters document Belew's ongoing feuds and criticisms that she had with staff of the LSU Library, the LSU Graduate School of Library Science, and the New Orleans Public Library. Mss. 2625.

Referenced in Guides: Women, New Orleans 1866-, Education, Baton Rouge, LSU

Bell, Helena Jones, Letter, 1938 Jan. 28. 1 item. Location: Misc.:B. Southern civilian during the Civil War. Letter describes Union occupation, the loyalty of a former slave, Union soldiers killing a child, and harsh living conditions during and after the war. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4545.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Civil War, African Americans

Bell, John W., Captain. Papers, 1862-1864. 3 items. 1 vol. Location: Misc:B. Captain in the 32nd Alabama Infantry who served in Alabama and Tennessee during the Civil War. He was married to Nancy Bell of Coffeeville, Clarke County, Alabama. Letters to Nancy written from Camp Forney, Alabama, and Lavergne, Tennessee, discuss monetary concerns of the soldiers. Also described are local economic conditions, women searching for food for their children, and women who worked as laundresses. Included is a notebook listing personal items and expenses of John W. Bell. Available on microfilm 5735: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reel 2. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 771.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Civil War

Bello, Susanne Moreau. Document, 1791. 1 item. Location: Misc.:B. Widow of Donato Bello, an officer in the militia of the post of Opelousas, St. Landry Parish, Louisiana. Mortgage of a slave by Susanne M. Bello at the post of Opelousas to Antoine Dubroqua. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 893.

Referenced in Guides: Women, African Americans

Benedict, Edwin Letters, 1862 Dec. 12-1863 Mar. 20. 13 items.Location: Misc:B. Corporal with Company G of the 23rd Connecticut Infantry. Mentions the building of Fort Massachusetts and the presence of female Confederate prisoners at Ship Island, and describes food, camp conditionsand illness, as well as duty guarding Louisa Plantation, his interaction with slaves, and belief war is divine lesson for slaveholders. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4318.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Civil War, African Americans

Bennett, Anna Maria and Sir Thomas Pye. Letters, circa 1784-1785. 8 items. Location: 31:. Anna Maria Bennett was an English novelist. Bennett met Admiral Sir Thomas Pye while working in a chandler's shop. She became his housekeeper and mistress. Letters primarily document the resolution of a dispute between Anna Maria Bennett and Sir Thomas Pye regarding financial support for her and her children. One letter includes Bennett's threats of blackmail against Pye. The remaining letters record the negotiations between Pye and Bennett over the details of settling the dispute including one letter which includes Pye's response written in between the lines of Bennett's original letter. Part of the George DeForest Collection. Mss. 1350.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Literature

Berbice Colony slave records, 1826-1827. 3 items, 1 microfilm reel. Location: OS:B, Mss.Mf:B. Deed of arrangement between owners of three sugar plantations in Berbice (Guyana), and lists of slaves attached to the plantations as of October 20, 1826, citing names, ages, employment, places of birth, and distinguishing marks. Also listed are children born to slave mothers on the plantations (1819-1826) with names, dates of birth, ages, and names of mothers noted. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2934.

Referenced in Guides: Sugar, Plantations, Women, African Americans

Bichot, Jean Baptiste. Petition, 1781 March 29. 1 item. Location: Misc:B. Bichot was an official of the area under the jurisdiction of the post of Pointe Coupee, in Louisiana. Item is a petition to Charles de Grand-Pre, commandant of the post of Pointe Coupee, La., requesting permission to inform Madame de Rocheblave to pay her debt to Sieur du Doigt. A list of her debts is included. An endorsement by Grand-Pr? approves the action, and an addendum by Bichot records Rocheblave was informed to pay the debt. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4894.

Referenced in Guides: Women, French

Biering, Lucie. Letters, 1904. 12 items (on 1 microfilm reel). Location: Mss.Mf:B. Resident of Montana and the granddaughter of Christian D. Koch, Hancock County, Mississippi. Letters written when Lucie was 12 describe a trip with her father from Montana to Russia via Mississippi, New York City, Germany, and Denmark. Included are descriptions of Russian culture, customs, and military preparations for the Russo-Japanese War. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1479.

Referenced in Guides: Transportation, Women

Billaud family. Papers, 1816-1868. 43 items. Location: U:20. Residents of New Orleans. Papers include correspondence documenting personal and business affairs, including the purchase and sale of skins; city and parish tax receipts; and a copy of Marie Isabelle Billaud's birth certificate. Letters in French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 499, 1361.

Bishop Polk Benevolent Society. Record book, 1862, 1865-1868. 3 items, 1 ms. vol. Location: Misc.:B., M:20. Treasurer's book for benevolent societies at Trinity Church, New Orleans. Entries record the receipts and expenditures of the Benevolent Society. Entries for 1862 give the officers of the 'Ladies Society for the Promotion of Christian Objects.' For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 772.

Bishop, Wm (William). Letter, 1835 May 1. 1 item (4 leaves). Location: Misc:B. Resident of Mobile, Alabama. Letter from Bishop to Agents William McCauly and Nesbit in New Orleans regarding his financial assets and liabilities. Topics include property in Mobile, money owed Bishop, instructions regarding his house and slaves, and Mary Harral's education. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 28.

Black, Isabella. Published writings, 1957-1969. 15 items, 3 printed vols. Location: UU:85. American writer and resident of Jamaica, New York. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2500.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Black, Julia. Certificate, 1885 April 7. 2 items. Location: Misc.:B. Resident of Champaign, Illinois. Membership certificate of Julia Black in the Home Library Association of Chicago and receipt for payment of this membership and purchase of a copy of Peale's Popular Educator and Cyclopedia of Reference. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2140.

Referenced in Guides: Women

Blomquist, Annie Toland. Papers, 1943-1946, 1948, 1950-1951. 24 items. Location: C:82. Letters to members of the Blomquist family and to Bessie Toland of Jeanerette, Louisiana, from United States servicemen during World War II and the Korean War. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2696.

Referenced in Guides: Women, 20th Century Wars

Blomquist, Carl. Scrapbook, 1942-1945. 1 ms. vol. (including 205 items). Location: H:16. Resident of Jeanerette, Louisiana. Scrapbook prepared for a young boy, Carl Blomquist, by his mother, Anne Toland Blomquist, containing letters and related newspaper articles by Alex Melancon, World War II army private and author of the book Carl of which Carl Blomquist was the subject. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1609.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Literature, 20th Century Wars

Blount, W. M. Account book, 1817-1860. 1 vol. Location: H:14. Record of payment to Blount in settlement of William Pitt Higbee's estate and account. Also recorded are the accounts of Mrs. Amelia Gradinego, Daniel Zeringue, members of the Close family, and others of Petit Bois, St. Landry Parish, Louisiana. Entries include commodity prices, prices of slaves, taxes, cost of schooling, wages for a laborer, and other expenses incurred by local planters. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 177.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Women, Education, African Americans

Boggs, Lindy, 1916- Letters, 1974-1978. 6 letters. Location: Misc. Lindy Boggs was U.S. Representative for the 2nd Congressional District of Louisiana (1973-1992) and U.S. Ambassador to the Vatican (1997-2001). These five letters by Boggs recount her memories of President Lyndon B. Johnson and Speaker of the House John W. McCormack. A short note from Russell B. Long is also included. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3878.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Women, New Orleans 1866-

Pages