Transportation

This guide to manuscript resources on the history of transportation in Louisiana includes a wide variety of materials, among them the records of merchants, factors, commission brokers, planters, attorneys, soldiers, ship owners, captains, steamboats, shipping companies, railroad companies, men, women and children travelers; record books; account books; bills of lading, waybills and receipts; log books of steamers; ship registers; travel diaries; and prints of river scenes and steamboats.

Major topics addressed include steamboats, schooners, the slave trade, shipping, and cotton and sugar (sale, trade, shipment and receipt).

Displaying 181 - 200 of 287. Show 5 | 10 | 20 | 40 | 60 results per page.

Mouton, J. Andre. Papers, 1928-1975. 263 items, 7 vols. (6 ms. vols., 1 printed vol.). Location: N:8, 79:117, OS:M. Native of St. Martin Parish, Louisiana. Mouton worked for the Southern Pacific and Illinois Central railroads, the Moore-McCormack Steamship line, and the New Orleans Dock Board. The bulk of the collection consists of invitations, public relations materials, and photographs pertaining to Mouton's speaking engagements and his involvement in clubs and organizations. Scrapbooks (1929-1965) contain clippings. Diaries (1959-1972), some written in Salinas County, Arkansas, discuss gardening, participation in church and recreational functions, speaking engagements, family news, and the weather. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3828.

Referenced in Guides: Transportation, Acadiana

Murdock, John. Letter, 1841 Dec. 4. 1 letter. Location: Misc. John Murdock, master of Cane Mount Plantation near Lorman, Miss., describes his travel by ship from Louisville, Ky., to Rodney, Miss.; poor conditions and crop yields at the plantation; attitudes of the slaves; relations with neighbors; his oppressive debts; and their children. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4270.

Narrative of a Journey on the Mississippi and Ohio Rivers, 1839-1843, 1894. 1 v. Location: Misc.: N. volume is comprised of a narrative describing travel on the Mississippi and Ohio rivers from Opelousas, Louisiana, to Louisville, Kentucky. The unidentified author discusses fellow travelers, acquaintances, social activities and events, scenery, landscape, and conversations (Sept. 1843). William King, Mrs. George King and Henry Clay are among the many people the author mentions by name. The remainder of the volume is comprised of transcriptions of poetry (1839, undated). The front and back covers of the volume contain inscriptions by Edmona Walker King in which she quotes Cicero and comments on the origin of the closure rule (1894). Edmona Walker King was most probably a member of the King family of St. Landry Parish, Louisiana. Mss. 3540.

Referenced in Guides: Transportation, Literature

Nathan, George. Letter, 1851. 1 item. Location: Misc.:N. New Orleans, Louisiana, commission merchant. Letter from Nathan to James Birckhead, Wall Street, New York, discusses the arrival of coffee shipments, and prices obtained from each ship by name, and price lists for sugar, molasses, flour, pork, and cotton in New Orleans. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 904.

Nelson, Solomon, 1827?-1882. Journal, 1862-1863. 1 ms. vol. Location:Misc:N. Union soldier serving in the 50th Regiment of the Massachusetts Infantry. Journal chronicles Nelson's experiences in the U.S. Army during the Civil War, giving detailed descriptions of the sights, scenery, and events beginning with his stay in New York, subsequent sea voyage to Louisiana, and his return trip north. Entries reflect camp life, movement of troops, scarcity of food, interaction with African Americans, and his personal reflections on the war. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3557.

New Orleans photographs, circa 1890. 3 photographs. Location: V:62. The New Orleans photographs contain three images of New Orleans, including the Parish Prison in Treme; a wharf with the steamboat, Assumption, docked; and the Henry Clay monument. Built between 1832 and 1836, the Parish Prison was located between Treme and Marais on Orleans Street. The photograph of the wharf contains African American stevedores preparing to load the ships. The image of the Henry Clay monument depicts the monument when it was located at Canal Street and St. Charles, prior to the move to Lafayette Square in 1901. Behind the Clay monument in the photograph is the building that houses A.M. Hill's watches and jewelry and street car tracks. Mss. 5104.

Referenced in Guides: Transportation, New Orleans 1866-

New Orleans Port Commission Scrapbooks, 1896-1958. 36 vols. Location: 124:. Scrapbooks containing newspaper clippings, announcements, and advertisements on activities of the New Orleans Port Commission and on national, state, and local conditions affecting the economic and political situation of the Port of New Orleans. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2772.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Transportation, New Orleans 1866-

New Orleans port papers, 1814-1818. 2 items. Location: MISC:N. Tables showing home products and imported products shipped through the port of New Orleans and the number of ships which paid duties at the port from 1814 to 1818. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 322.

Referenced in Guides: New Orleans to 1861, Transportation, French

New Orleans port scene, circa 1900-1960. 1 item. Location: OS:N. Modern print, perhaps based on nineteenth-century engraving, showing an antebellum New Orleans riverfront scene with steamboats and sailing vessels, and cargoes on the dock. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3032.

Referenced in Guides: Transportation, New Orleans 1866-

New Orleans shipyard photographs, 1941 May 30-June 19. 76 items. Location: W:11, OS:N. Shipyard owned by Louisiana Shipyards, Inc., located in New Orleans. Photographs show weekly progress of construction of shipyard facilities. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2989.

Referenced in Guides: Transportation, New Orleans 1866-

New Orleans, Jackson, and Great Northern Railroad shipment record, 1870-1873. 1 volume. Location: G:22. The New Orleans, Jackson, and Great Northern Railroad, completed in 1858, ran from New Orleans, La., to Jackson, Miss. The ledger records items shipped between August 1870 and May 1873. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3837.

Referenced in Guides: Transportation, New Orleans 1866-, Business

New Orleans, St. Louis, and Chicago Railroad Company Letters, 1874-1875. 14 items. Location: MISC:N. Letters written to L. H. Sellars, superintendent, from various general managers, concerning the labor force, specifications and materials for cars, accidents, and purchase of coal. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3364.

Referenced in Guides: Transportation, New Orleans 1866-

Norman, E. B. and N. Philip. Collection, 1833-1969 (bulk 1929-1960). 1,994 items, 225 volumes. Location: 77:60-62; O:71-80; OS:N; 98:;102; VAULT:44, 88; MAP CAGE: MAP CASE 1, DRAWER 8. E. B. Norman was a resident of Alexandria, Louisiana; Dr. N. Philip Norman was a resident of New York City. Collection contains photographic prints, books, periodicals, newspapers, correspondence, copper plates, framed maps and pictures, blueprints, and other records concerning steamboats, the navigation of the Red River and lower Mississippi River. They relate to Louisiana parishes and regions, travel in the South, and General Banks' Red River Campaign. Periodicals include 'Waterways Journal' (1932-1967); Waterways Magazine (1942-1951); Steamboat Bill, the journal of the Steamboat Historical Society of America (1961-1969); and S & D Reflector, published by the Sons and Daughters of Pioneer Rivermen (1964-1969). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1084, 2458, 2578.

North Louisiana and Texas Railroad Company. Bond, May 20, 1869. 1 item. Location: OS:N. Bond with coupons for $1000 bearing the official seal of the State of Louisiana and the signature of Governor H. C. Warmoth. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3315.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Transportation

Nuebling, Max. Letter book, 1822-1826. 2 manuscript volumes. Location: J:12. German immigrant who settled in St. Francisville, Louisiana and worked in a general store owned by his uncle, Dietrich Holl. Holl's wife, Virginia Martha Brent Chisholm, married Nuebling after her husband's death, and they had one son, John. Letter book contains handwritten copies of letters by Neubling. Early letters were written at sea on board the S. S. Fortuna on a voyage from Bremen, Germany to New Orleans. Later letters describe his life in St. Francisville while he was working in his uncle's store. In German with a typewritten volume containing English translations. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 873.

Referenced in Guides: Transportation, Business, German

P. A. Giraud & Co. Letter, 1856 March 15. 1 item. Location: Misc:G. Commission merchants located in New Orleans, dealing in molasses and sugar. Edward James Gay, born in Virginia, married Lavinia Hynes. Upon his father-in-law's death, Gay assumed control of Hynes' property in Louisiana and moved there in 1856. Letter from New Orleans by P. A. Giraud and Company to Gay at Hynes Plantation 'near Plaquemine,' Louisiana, details the shipping schedule of molasses and sugar on the Mississippi River between St. Louis and New Orleans. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3313.

Palfrey Family Papers, 1776-1918. (bulk 1806-1875). 388 items; 21 vols. Location: 77:89, H:22, Mss.Mf:P, 99. Family of planters, businessmen, politicians, public servants and author. Papers of John Palfrey (1768-1843) relate chiefly to the operation of Forlorn Hope Plantation, education of his sons, War of 1812, and reflect plantation life. Topics include the trade embargo, West Florida Controversy and the capture of Baton Rouge, War of 1812, slavery, cotton and salt production, and banking. Family papers pertain to Civil War battles, plantation economics, Confederate government, and Reconstruction. Papersof William Palfrey concern Ricahoc Plantation and a partnership David Weeks. They also discuss the Clinton and Port Hudson Railroad Company (1841-1842). Some items in French and Spanish. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm 6061 and 5322: University Publications of America Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B, Part 6, Reel 12; Records of Ante-Bellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series I, Part 1, Reels 1-4. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 333, 334, 1409, 1442, 1632, 2076, 2580, 2773, 2857.

Parker, Edward G. Letter, 1859 October 5. 1 item. Location: Misc. Secretary and treasurer of the Charleston and Savannah Railroad Company. Letter encloses a check for the wages of a slave hired to work on the railroad. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2897.

Referenced in Guides: Transportation, Business, African Americans

Pearson, Sophie Cooley. Collection, 1843-1975. 3.5 linear ft. Location: AA:, 79:115-116, H:12, M:25, OS:P, W:40-42. Resident of Westwego, Louisiana, and daughter of L. V. Cooley, a steamboat captain. Pearson collected materials related to the history of steamboats on the Mississippi River and published a book on the topic. Papers include correspondence, scrapbooks, photographs, and printed items related to the history and operation of steamboats and transportation on the Mississippi River. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3237.

Referenced in Guides: Transportation

Pease, Charles G. Letter, 1863 January 10. 1 item. Union officer in the Massachusetts 47th Regiment in the Civil War. Letter describes in detail Pease's voyage on a transport ship from Boston to New Orleans and comments on his living quarters at Camp Kearney, New Orleans; General Banks; and his headquarters. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2268.

Pages