Baton Rouge

Baton Rouge, Louisiana, was first discovered and named by the French explorer Iberville in 1699, almost three centuries ago. In the eighteenth century, it was ruled successively by the French, British, and Spanish. Incorporated in 1817, Baton Rouge became the state capital in 1849, though it lost that status during the Civil War and would not regain it until 1882.

This guide to manuscript resources on Baton Rouge and East Baton Rouge Parish, of which it is a part, includes a wide variety of materials on the history of the area, among them the papers of Baton Rouge families; the records of businesses and organizations; photographs; newspapers; maps; and oral histories. Although Louisiana State University has been a major part of Baton Rouge for many years, collections relating to LSU are included only if they also relate explicitly to Baton Rouge--for example, the papers of an LSU professor who was also active in community organizations and whose papers documented those organizations. Similarly, the papers of individuals in state government are not included unless they also relate explicitly to Baton Rouge.

Displaying 121 - 180 of 509. Show 5 | 10 | 20 | 40 | 60 results per page.

Crosby, Dixie Hammond. Family Papers, 1890-1992 (bulk: 1937-1965). 159 items, 3 v. Location: 34:, OS:C. Family papers of Mack Gerald Crosby, Dixie Lillie Myrtle Hammond Crosby, and their daughter Dixie Lee "Dee" Crosby Brown. Mack Crosby and Dixie Hammond were both from Baton Rouge, La. and attended Louisiana State University in the 1930?s. Mack Crosby served in the United States Air Force for over thirty years. This collection includes correspondence, manuscripts, photographs, and, newspaper clippings relating to family affairs, work, and military service. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4805.

Currency collection,1756-1919 (bulk 1861-1864). 275 items. Location: Vault:4. Colonial currency issued by New Jersey; Continental currency issued by South Carolina; Civil War currency issued by the Confederate States of America, individual states, parishes, counties, cities, banks, and other private businesses or persons. Included is script issued by the City of Baton Rouge; and currency issued by the governments of Japan (Philippine occupation), Russia, Austria-Hungary, France, Italy, and Poland. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 893, 965, 1177,1187, 1294, 1508, 3033, 3034, 3114, 3472, 3531, 4883.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War, Business, Baton Rouge

Curtis, John Calvin. Letter, circa 1862. 1 item. Location: Misc:C. John Calvin Curtis, a native of Bridgeport, Conn., joined Company I of the Connecticut 9th Infantry Regiment in 1861. Letter from Curtis in New Orleans, La describes his experience recuperating at St. James Hospital there, malnourishment among Union army soldiers, guerilla attacks on his regiment in sugar cane fields, the Battle of Baton Rouge (1862), and Union Army maneuvers. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4865.

Daigre, H. L. Report, 1862 August 12. 1 item. Location: Misc. Confederate captain and a member of the Creole Chargers in the 1st Louisiana Cavalry during the Civil War. Daigre's report to Brigadier General Daniel Ruggles of the Union naval losses on and after the first Battle of Baton Rouge and the names of the ships from Farragut's fleet participating in the burning of Donaldsonville. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1495.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War, Baton Rouge

DAILY COMET (Baton Rouge, La.). New Year's greeting, 1855. 1 item. Location: OS:B. Baton Rouge newspaper. New Year's greeting from the newspaper carrier to its patrons. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 893.

Referenced in Guides: Baton Rouge

Dakin, James H. Diary, 1847-1850. 1 v., 1 typescript, 1 mf reel. Location: V:47, Mss.Mf:D. Architect of New Orleans working in partnership with his brother and the architect James Gallier. Dakin designed the state capitol in Baton Rouge and various buildings in New Orleans. Diary concerns the planning and construction of the Old State Capitol in Baton Rouge. Letters by Dakin, copied in the diary, describe details of the building and its construction. Note: original diary is restricted, permission of curator is required. Mss. 509.

Referenced in Guides: New Orleans to 1861, Baton Rouge

Dakin, James H. Louisiana State Capitol drawing, circa 1847. 1 item [photostatic copy]. Location: OS:L. Architect's drawing of Old State Capitol Building, Baton Rouge. Original is in the National Archives. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3140.

Referenced in Guides: Baton Rouge

Dalrymple, William Haddock, 1856-1925. Papers, 1905. 17 items, 1 vol. Location: U:47. Professor of veterinary science at LSU and a practicing veterinarian in Baton Rouge. Papers contain manuscript definitions of medical terms and notes on diseases, anatomy, organs, arthrology, mycology, bone structures, and other related topics. Included is a published work by Dalrymple, Livestock Sanitation (1923). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 604.

Referenced in Guides: Baton Rouge, Medicine

Dart, Elisabeth K. (Elizabeth Kilbourne). Collection, 1774-2005. 5.5 linear feet. Location: 121:8-11. Resident and local historian in St. Francisville, West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. Wrote about West Feliciana subjects including the Railroad, biographies of notable figures, and tours for Grace Cemetery. Collection contains manuscript and research materials used for exhibits, lectures, tours, and writing on West Feliciana Parish. Manuscripts include deeds, correspondence, accounting records, legal papers, court cases, and receipts. Other records include published materials, copies of original materials, scrapbooks, photographs, notes, and exhibit text. Mss. 5023.

Daughters of the American Revolution. Baton Rouge Chapter. Records, 1931-1985. 10 vols. Location: 53:. Scrapbook volumes contain publicity and business records, including correspondence, newspaper clippings, photographs, programs, and other printed items. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4086.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Baton Rouge

Davis, E. F., 1841-1899. Papers, 1856-1899 (bulk 1872-1886). 0.25 linear feet. Location: A:72. Baton Rouge businessman who, along with several partners including Thomas B. Brown, formed the Grange Store and the Baton Rouge Cooperative Association. Collection consists of financial and business papers of the Grange Store, meeting minutes of the Baton Rouge Cooperative Association, photocopies of personal letters, and a death and funeral notice. One letter comments on the Civil War in Baton Rouge. Also includes the financial and legal papers of Thomas B. Brown, one of Davis' business partners. These papers consist of ledger sheets and bills for the sale and purchase of cotton, tax receipts, and promissory notes. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4312.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War, Business, Baton Rouge

Dawson, Mrs. Frank D. Collection, 1925, 1928, undated 4 items. Location: Misc. Papers consist of a program for the laying of the corner stone of the First Methodist Church of Baton Rouge (1925) and Christmas cards from Governors Long and Allen and their families. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1324.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Baton Rouge, Long Family

De Beguer, Emma. Letter, 1869. 1 item [photostat]. Location: Misc.:D. Resident of Baton Rouge. Personal letter by Miss de Beguer to a friend. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 778.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Baton Rouge, French

De Saulby, A. B. Manuscript map of Baton Rouge, ca. 1862. 1 item. Location: Misc.:D. Lieutenant of the Engineer Corps. Ink drawn map of Greenwell Springs Road and parallel Benton Ferry Road to the Comite River and Amite River at Denham Springs, Louisiana. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3623.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War, Baton Rouge

Dearborn, J. A. Letter. 1851. 1 item. Location: Misc. Methodist minister. Letter from Dearborn upon his arrival in Baton Rouge from Kentucky, giving a humorous account of travel on the Ohio River and telling of church work in Baton Rouge. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1525.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Transportation, Baton Rouge

Dehn, Adolf. Watercolors, 1943. 2 items. Location: OS:D. 20th century painter and lithographer . Watercolors of the Esso Standard Oil Refinery at Baton Rouge, La., entitled BUTADIENE STORAGE SPHERES AT NIGHT and PIPES LEADING FROM DOCKS TO THE REFINERY. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4497.

Referenced in Guides: Business, Baton Rouge

Derman, Herbert. Scrapbook, 1937-1939. 1 volume. OS:D, AA:. Herbert Derman earned a Bachelor of Science from Louisiana State University in 1941, followed by a medical degree in 1943. Scrapbook contains newspaper clippings dated from 1937-1939. Most are from the Daily Reveille and pertain to the LSU football team. Others concern campus social events, such as speakers, dances, military parades, campus improvements, Homecoming, and political cartoons. Additional newspapers featured include the New Orleans Item and Knoxville News-Sentinel. Due to the fragility of the original, patrons must use digital scans. Mss. 5241.

Referenced in Guides: Education, Baton Rouge, LSU

Desmond, John. Papers, 1954-2003. 140 linear feet. Location: 32:-33:, 148:-149:, Map Cage. Office files, architectural drawings (design development, working, and final), photographs, and slides recording the architectural career of John Desmond, native of Hammond, La. and an award-winning Baton Rouge architect. He designed many of Baton Rouge's most recognizable buildings, including the LSU Union, Pennington Biomedical Research Center, the Louisiana State Library, the Louisiana State Archives, and many area churches. Some business records and informational and promotional materials about the firm are present as well. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4792.

Referenced in Guides: Business, Baton Rouge, LSU

Devall-Hyams Family Papers and Photographs, 1824-1977 (bulk 1906-1913, 1918). 1.5 linear ft., 1 v. Location: T:31-32, J:20. Louisiana sugar planters. Collection consists of personal correspondence, legal documents, genealogies, and family photographs. Papers reflect family matters, personal activities, financial affairs, land transactions, and to a lesser extent the sugarcane crop at Orange Grove Plantation. Letters of Lillie Dickinson, Susie Devall comprise a large portion of the correspondence (1904-1913). Letters by Benjamin Devall concern military life in Georgia during World War II (1918). Photographs include an unidentified African American sugarhouse worker (undated). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4242.

Dixon, Margaret. Scrapbook, 1935-1972. 1 volume. Location: M:21. Native of New Orleans, Louisiana, Dixon was a journalist, editor, and dean of the Louisiana Capitol Press Corps. Scrapbook contains newspaper clippings, photographs, and other items which document Dixon's career as a journalist and editor of the Baton Rouge paper, Morning Advocate. Included are obituaries of Dixon and other posthumously collected materials.  Mss. 3003.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Women, Baton Rouge

Dixon, William Y., 1843-1874. Papers, 1860-1905 (bulk 1860-1874). 14 items (9 ms. vols.). Location: UU:119. Confederate soldier, student. Diaries record the battles at Baton Rouge (Aug. 1862), Vicksburg (1862), and Port Hudson (1863) and casualties suffered. Entries also refer to camp life 1860-1864), transportation of troops by steamboats (1863), diseases among soldiers and civilians (1860-1864), and the involvement of African American soldiers at Port Hudson. Other material relates to his education and financial affairs. Available on microfilm 5735: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reel 4. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3423.

Dougherty, J. W., Mrs. Pass, 1865. 1 item. Location:Misc.:D. Pass issued by Headquarters, Northern Division of Louisiana, Baton Rouge, April 21, 1865, to pass the lines and return. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 893.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Civil War, Baton Rouge

Dougherty, John A., b. 1809. Papers, 1861-1890. 8 ms. vols. and 1 item (on 1 microfilm reel). Location: Mss.Mf:D. Native of New York, plantation owner, and prominent citizen of Baton Rouge. Dougherty served as a police juror and as president of the New Board of Control of the penitentiary. Six diaries of Dougherty and two receipt books, one of which belonged to A. T. Prescott. Diary entries report on family, neighbors, acquaintances, and associates; historical events and personages; social activities; and government, law, and health. Also included are entries reporting on the cotton and sugar plantation economy; climate; and dreams. Noteworthy are the entries pertaining to the Civil War and the daily notations on weather. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3528.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Plantations, Civil War, Baton Rouge

Doussan Family Papers, 1827-1872. 94 items. Location: U:300. Correspondence, financial papers, and personal papers of members of the Doussan family (primarily Antoine Doussan, Louise Perrin Doussan, and Auguste Doussan) of East and West Baton Rouge Parishes, Louisiana, and France. Correspondence of Charles de Rabars of Bordeaux, France, is also included, as is a letter from General Baron Joachim Ambert. Most documents reflect the Doussans' planting operations in West Baton Rouge Parish; their financial and legal transactions in Louisiana and France; family activities, interests, and concerns; and the experience of French emigres in Louisiana as they encountered Anglo-American culture and society. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4800.

Referenced in Guides: Sugar, Plantations, Women, Business, Baton Rouge, French

Dubreuil, L. Document, 1823. 1 item. Location: Misc. Affidavit by L. Dubreuil in support of the claim of John Poret to ownership of houses in Baton Rouge near the fort from which he had been evacuated by military forces under the command of General Wade Hampton. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 936.

Referenced in Guides: Baton Rouge

Duchein (Annie), b. ca. 1872. Sketchbook, 1870, 1886-1887. 1 vol. Location: J:25. Resident of East Baton Rouge Parish. Sketchbook contains drawings of local buildings, animals, authors, and historical figures. Mss. 4751.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Baton Rouge

Dumas, Woody, 1917-1993, interviewee, Radio interview. 1 sound cassette (1 hour); index (2 p.). Mayor-President of Baton Rouge (1964-1980). Interview discusses local economy, airports, and city planning. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0011.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Baton Rouge

Duncan, Abner L. Papers, 1825-1866 (bulk 1841-1862) 13 items. Location: Misc.:D. Planter of Baton Rouge, La. Correspondence between Abner L. Duncan and his relatives concerning the management of his late father's estates, the deaths of family members, and issues of inheritance among family members. Also included is an exchange of letters between Leon Bonnecaze, the French vice consul at Baton Rouge, and David Farragut of the U.S. Navy, regarding the bombardment of Baton Rouge on May 28, 1862. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4199.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Civil War, Baton Rouge

Duncan, Lucius C. Letter, 1822. 1 item. Location: MISC:D. Resident of New Orleans. Letter by Duncan to Rufus Flynt, who had befriended him while at school in Monson, Massachusetts, tells of visiting at the cotton plantation of his uncle, Colonel Abner Duncan, near Baton Rouge. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1334.

Duplantier, Armand Letters, 1796-1807. 4 items. Location: Misc.:D. Armand Duplantier was a planter and owner of Magnolia Mound Plantation, La. Letters (in French) detail plantation life during the post-Revolutionary period, while referencing social and business life in New Orleans. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4914.

Duplantier, Armand Family Letters, 1777-1859. 95 items. Location: D:62. Armand Duplantier was a planter and owner of Magnolia Mound Plantation, La. Duplantier Family Letters contain items from four generations of the Duplantier family, including Armand Duplantier, his uncle Claude Trénonay, Armand’s son Armand Allard Duplantier, and granddaughter Amélie Augustine Duplantier Peniston. The letters relate to Louisiana under the French, Spanish, and Americans and the economic, political, and social conditions attendant on transitioning among the three powers; commerce with France; the succession of Trénonay; attitudes about the French Revolution; slavery and plantation matters; family news such as illness, births, deaths, and the education of Duplantier’s children; and travels in France by Amélie Duplantier. Mss. 5060.

East Baton Rouge aerial photographs, 1912 May 12. 2 items. Location: OS:B. J. G. Ewing photograph, in duplicate, giving a panoramic aerial view of the Mississippi river shoreline. The caption reads: 'Baton Rouge during record high water from the fighting top of the USS Nebraska'. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3415.

Referenced in Guides: Baton Rouge

East Baton Rouge Parish ward book, circa 1900-1960. 1 ms. vol. Location: M:21. Alphabetical list of persons living in Wards One through Ten of East Baton Rouge Parish. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1397.

Referenced in Guides: Baton Rouge

East Baton Rouge Parish aerial photographs, 1964. .5 linear ft. Location: V:65. Photographs. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4474.

Referenced in Guides: Baton Rouge

East Baton Rouge Parish School Board. Teacher's contract, 1923. 1 printed item. Location: E:Imprints. Contract signed by public school teachers listing monthly salary and terms of employment, including required standards of personal behavior. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3000.

Referenced in Guides: Education, Baton Rouge

East Baton Rouge Parish Volunteer Fund letter, 1861. 1 item. Location: E:Imprints. Printed letter from the corresponding committee of the Volunteer Fund for Confederate volunteers, appealing for gifts of various articles to be sold at some public place in Baton Rouge. Names of members of various committees are listed. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1415.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War, Baton Rouge

Edwards, Marianne. Letters, 1855-1866 (bulk 1855-1863). 72 items. Location: U:239. Marianne Edwards, formerly of Evansville, Indiana, was the wife of Guy M. Edwards, a Massachusetts sea captain. She took voyages from Boston to New Orleans and Baton Rouge. Letters concern voyages to New Orleans, France, and Spain, among others. Letters (1862-1863) about a voyage along the lower Mississippi River, describe conditions during the Union occupation of New Orleans and the Battle of Port Hudson. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1850.

Elam, James Essex, 1829-1873. Papers, 1846-1853 (bulk 1846-1852). 3 items; 1 vol. Location: H:15, Misc:E, OS:E. Mostly letters to former Baton Rouge mayor and Judge James Essex Elam pertain primarily to family news, but some also relate to national political affairs, local events and conditions in Baton Rouge, the Mexican War, the California gold rush, and antebellum college life. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 672, 2464.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Baton Rouge

Elks, Benevolent and Protective Order of Baton Rouge, no. 490. Correspondence, 1915. 2 items. Location: Misc. E. The Elks lodge in Baton Rouge, La. was chartered on May 20, 1899 with twenty-five members, and constructed its own theater and office building at the corner of Third and Florida Streets in 1900. Comprised of a letter and dues notice for John J. Mundinger from the Elks Lodge in Baton Rouge. For more information, see online catalog. Mss. 4961.

Referenced in Guides: Baton Rouge

Evans, J. Bruce, Papers, 1614-2005 (bulk 1930-1990). 31.5 linear ft., 26 v. Location: 92:82-109; OS:E; J:34-35; Vault:1. Baptist minister, religious counselor and civil rights activist. Correspondence, church records, sermons, workshop materials, printed items, photographs and audio tapes reflect Evans's ministerial career in Baton Rouge, La., at First Baptist Church and Fellowship Church. Personal papers [some items in French], business records and genealogical material document the ancestry of Evans and his wife, Anita Louise, and provide insight into the personal lives of family members. Papers also furnish histories of Bienville and Natchitoches parishes and Saline, La., and relate to Caroline Dormon Nature Preserve and to Dormon's activities as a naturalist. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4664.

Ewing Studio Inc. Baton Rouge photographs, 1925-1929. 14 gelatin silver photographic prints, 16 copy prints. Location: 65:5. These 14 images document locales around Baton Rouge, La. Copy prints are of originals. Mss. 3961.

Referenced in Guides: Baton Rouge, LSU

Ewing Studio Inc. Photographs of Henry L. Fuqua's inauguration, 1924 May 24. 3 gelatin silver prints. Location: MISC:E. Prints are of Henry L. Fuqua's inauguration as governor of Louisiana. One photograph shows Fuqua giving his inaugural address in front of the Old State Capitol. Another photograph shows the Louisiana State University Marching Band performing during the inaugural parade, and another photograph shows the USS Richmond's Sailor's Band performing during the inaugural parade. Both band are marching past Hotel Alvis. Mss. 5322.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Performing arts, Baton Rouge

Ewing, Inc. American Red Cross nurses at Louisiana's Old State Capitol photograph, circa 1910-1930. 1 panoramic photograph. Location: 104:-105:. Group shot of American Red Cross nurses outside of the Old State Capitol. African-American nurses are standing at the right side of the group. Mss. 5372.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Baton Rouge, African Americans, Medicine

Ewing, Jasper G. & Sons, Inc. Photographs and papers, circa 1930-1949 (bulk 1930-1939). 1.5 linear feet. Location: 11:18. Jasper G. Ewing was a Baton Rouge based photographer. His company is listed in the city directory from 1913 to 1945. He ran the photography studio and audiovisual equipment business with his sons after 1936. This collection contains photographs, negatives, and printed materials from their time in Baton Rouge. Mss. 3141.

Referenced in Guides: Baton Rouge, LSU

Falk, Myron, interviewee, Oral history interview, 1995. 1 sound cassette (.5 hours), transcript (9 p.). Location: L:4700.0723. Former director of the United Way in Baton Rouge and a writer and advocate of social welfare who endowed a scholarship in the School of Journalism at LSU. The interview describes transients in Baton Rouge during the Depression, the Old Penitentiary Receiving Station, Community Chest, and his role as director of the United Givers Fund and the United Way. He also describes cooperation between the Salvation Army and Volunteers of America (VOA), funding for VOA, and the role of women in VOA. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0723

Referenced in Guides: Women, Baton Rouge, LSU

Fauver, Eleanor Dalrymple, interviewee. Oral history interview, 1977. Transcript (80 pages), 2 sound cassettes (1 hour, 35 minutes). Location: L:4700.0016. Daughter of Dr. William Dalrymple, who taught Veterinary Medicine at LSU in the early 1900's. Interview contains Eleanor Dalrymple Fauver's recollections of her father's childhood in England and their life in Louisiana. Includes information related to William Dalrymple's career at LSU, including relations with Thomas Boyd and James Nicholson. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0016.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Baton Rouge, LSU

Favrot, H. L. Account book, 1888. 1 ms. vol. Location: G:6. Resident of Port Allen, West Baton Rouge Parish, Louisiana, and dealer in groceries and drygoods. Indexed ledger of H. L. Favrot. G:6. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 475.

Referenced in Guides: Business, Baton Rouge

Favrot, Joseph St. Clair, 1872-1943. Family Papers, 1900-1924. 25 items. Location: UU:73. The Favrot family (Joseph, Beverly, and Joseph, Jr.) was active in amateur theater productions in Baton Rouge. Papers include Baton Rouge theater programs and other ephemeral printed material; and six photographs, some by A. D. Lytle, depicting Baton Rouge scenes, including some Civil War scenes. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3317.

Referenced in Guides: Performing arts, Civil War, Baton Rouge

Favrot, Pedro. Papers, 1799, 1804. 2 items. Location: Misc:F. Resident of the District of Baton Rouge, Louisiana. Land grant (copy) issued to Don Pedro Favrot, 1799; and attestation of the grant, 1804. In Spanish. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 668.

Referenced in Guides: Spanish, Baton Rouge

Feitel, Henry. Account book, 1884-1885. 1 vol. Location: G:6. Resident of West Baton Rouge Parish, Louisiana. Daybook of Henry Feitel records general merchandise sales. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 476.

Referenced in Guides: Business, Baton Rouge

Ferraro, Louis, and Sam Adams. Manuscript, 1969. 2 items. Location: UU:169. Louis Ferraro, Associate Professor of Music, and Sam Adams, Professor of Education, at LSU. Handwritten manuscript by Ferraro and typewritten 'translation' by Adams of Music: Imaginative Listening (Baton Rouge: Claitor's Publishing Division, 1969). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2439.

Referenced in Guides: Performing arts, Baton Rouge, LSU

FILLMORE RANGER, 1856 Aug. 18. 1 item. Location: Newspapers- MCAGE. Political paper published in Baton Rouge, George C. M'Whorter, editor. Contains the platform of the American Party; a letter by an old line Democrat of Georgia supporting former President Millard Fillmore, America or Know-Nothing Party candidate; and articles about James Buchanan. Partly in French and not complete. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 893.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Baton Rouge

Fisher, Lucy Maria W. F. Memoirs, 1889. 1 item; 25 pages [photocopy]. Location: Misc. School teacher from Connecticut who became a resident of Louisiana and taught in the Baton Rouge and New Orleans schools. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2497.

Referenced in Guides: Women, New Orleans 1866-, Education, Baton Rouge

Fitzgerald, John H. Business records, 1913-1955. 2 linear ft. and 26 vols. Location: 79:97-98, F:6, Misc.:F, O:5. Baton Rouge contractor and realtor.Records pertain to Fitzgerald's contracting business and include journals, payroll books, bills, and receipts for building of homes and other contracting business. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2004, 2523.

Referenced in Guides: Business, Baton Rouge

Fleming, Walter L. Collection, 1848-1914. 2 linear feet. T:64-65. Collection consists of transcriptions of material pertaining primarily to the organization, history, and administration of Louisiana State University. Correspondence relating to official University business comprises bulk of the collection. Some early correspondence reflects political views at the time of the Civil War, and later correspondence of Walter Fleming and Leroy S. Boyd, son of David F. Boyd, relates to the history of the LSU. Other material consists of reports, printed items, writings, and the research notes. Also included are photographs of early LSU Boards of Supervisors, faculty, and other persons associated with the University. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 890, 893.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Civil War, Education, Baton Rouge, LSU

Fort of St. Charles at Baton Rouge Map, 1825. 1 map (color photocopy). Location: OS:F. Manuscript map of Fort St. Charles and adjoining parts of Baton Rouge by Andre Lesage, parish surveyor of East Baton Rouge Parish, La., showing streets, lots, and names of property owners. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4984.

Referenced in Guides: Baton Rouge

Fourrier, Joseph Amadee. Sheet music. 1844-1912. 34 items and 1 vol. Location: 65:. Baton Rouge music store proprietor and organist at St. Joseph's Church. Sheet music (1844-1912), some illustrated, includes both popular and sacred works. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2600-73.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Performing arts, Baton Rouge

Fourth Annual Short Course for Boys and Girls. Photograph, August 1917. 1 panoramic photograph. Location: 104:-105:. Shows participants of the short course at Louisiana State University (LSU). The course was offered through the Cooperative Extension Service as part of LSU's land grant mission. Mss. 5118.

Referenced in Guides: Education, Baton Rouge, LSU

Fox, Frank Cleveland, 1892-1982. Scrapbook, 1917-1980. 1 v., 20 items. Location: Mf. Frank Cleveland Fox of Rosedale, La., was drafted into the U.S. Army in September 1917 and trained with the 114th Field Signal Battalion at Camp Beauregard, La. The scrapbook contains personal letters, photographs, and military forms and records documenting Fox's service in the U.S. Army during World War I. It also contains membership cards for several organizations to which he belonged later in life. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3473.

Referenced in Guides: Baton Rouge, 20th Century Wars

Francis A. de Caro and Rosan A. Jordan, 1956-2009, undated (bulk 1966-2003) 13 linear ft. Location: 11:19, 15:15-21. De Caro and Jordan were folklorists, authors, and Louisiana State University (Baton Rouge, La.) professors. The collection includes personal and professional correspondence, writings, exhibitions, photographs, printed items consisting of brochures, handbills, newspapers, and posters; and topical files that document de Caro's folklore class at LSU, his work with the Louisiana Folklife Commission, and Jordan's work with the women's movement. Writings as well as exhibitions comprise material primarily related to folklore within Louisiana and British colonial life in India. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3197, 4089, 4164.

Pages