Manuscript Resources on The History of Transportation

A. F. Whelan Diary, 1865-1866 One vol. Location: G:20. A.F. Whelan served in the U.S. Army, 3rd Michigan Cavalry, Co. Diary concerns the final days of the war, with entries on Lincoln's assassination, capture of Jefferson Davis, and the steamship, SULTANA. Entries refer to insubordination, desertion and prisoners, and General Sheridan's march to Texas. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4747

Abraham Bell & Co. Letters and receipts, 1841-1844. 5 items. Location: Misc:A. Quaker-owned shipping merchant company of New York City, with business interests in New Orleans, Louisiana. Two receipts document cotton purchased in , for Abraham Bell & Co. One letter discusses American and English cotton and freight prices, and social matters. A bill of lading and a letter document the shipment of personal goods from New York. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4675.

Acadia Plantation records, 1809-2004 (bulk 1940-1979). 49 linear ft., 30 volumes, 8 rolls. Location: 93:7-30; J:4; 75:; MAP CAGE (UNNUMBERED CASE); 1 NORTH (ON TOP OF MICROFILM CABINET). A working sugar plantation, Acadia Plantation of Lafourche Parish, Louisiana is comprised of three major properties originally known as Acadia Plantation, St. Brigitte Plantation, and Evergreen Plantation. It was acquired in 1875 by Edward J. Gay, became the residence of Representative Andrew and Mrs. Anna Gay Price. Records are comprised of correspondence, financial and legal documents, printed items, volumes, maps, plats, and photographs. Papers document business and legal affairs of the plantation owners and operators, as well as plantation operations such as sugar cane farming, the crops of tenant farmers on the property, and the planning and development of the plantation lands throughout the 19th and 20th centuries. Mss. 4906.

Alabama cotton sales and shipping statements collection, 1834-1927. 53 items. Location: A:55. Collection consisting of statements from cotton factors of Mobile, Alabama, which show freight and related charges for handling and commissions. Included are waybills for the steamers Magnolia, Lucy E. Gastrell, Hard Cash, and Nettie Quill. Also included is a manifest for the steamer Peri. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1717.

Alabama River steamboat list collection, 1865-1895. 2 items. Location: Misc:A. The Alabama River is formed by the confluence of the Coosa and Tallapoosa Rivers in Alabama and was used for the shipment of sand, gravel, logs, pulpwood, cotton, and gasoline. It flows past Selma, Alabama, and runs into the Mobile River. The items contain lists of steamboats burned or sunk on the Alabama River. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1516.

Alexandria, Louisiana photographs, 1920-1921. 5 photographic prints. Location: 65:5. Prints depict scenes around Alexandria: the Bolton High School girls' basketball team (1920); a state meeting of officials in protest of a phone rate raise (originally created by Bridendall, 1921); a truck owned by H.T. Cottam & Co. (1920); the Bernstein Buick Co. dealership displayng Franklin and Buick models (circa 1920); and a carnival in front of Alexandria City Hall. Mss. 3691.

AMERICA Broadside, ca. 1899. 4 items. Location: OS:A. Steamboat owned and commanded by Captain LeVerrier Cooley, a native of Savanna, Illinois, and later a resident of New Orleans, Louisiana. Broadside announcing the celebration of the maiden voyage of the America, the 'biggest boat that ever sailed the Ouachita.' Also includes a sheet of letterhead paper and two envelopes with views of the Mississippi River cotton packet. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1785.

Amite Navigation Company. Articles of Agreement, 1818 March 29. 1 item [copy]. Location: Misc:A. Established in 1817 to open the Amite River of Louisiana for navigation. Articles of agreement executed in 1817 outlining the company's objective of opening the Amite River to navigation by boats from the confluence of its branches to Galveston, Ascension Parish, Louisiana. Provisions of the article are listed along with names of subscribers and the number of shares underwritten by each subscriber. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1032.

Annual report of the New Orleans Belt and Terminal Co. to the Interstate Commerce Commission of the United States, 1903. 2 v. Location: J:25. The New Orleans Belt and Terminal Company was formed in 1901 to operate the property of the New Orleans and Western Railroad Company. Annual reports to the ICC report the company's history, officers, assets, expenditures, earnings, and traffic and mileage statistics, as well as describe its equipment and relationship to the New Orleans and Western Railroad Company and the New Orleans Terminal Company. For more information, see the online catalog. Mss. 4871.

Anonymous account book (M), 1748. 1 volume. Location: Vault:1. Account book for Baton Rouge merchant containing entries for mercantile items, loans, and passage and shipping to the West Indies (Jan. 1-March 20, 1748). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 519.

Anonymous Confederate letter, 1861 July 3. 1 item. Location: Misc:A Letter written from New Orleans, Louisiana describing a method of blocking the Mississippi River to federal military boats. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2899.

Anonymous ledger, 1848-1851. 1 volume. Location: G:2. Ledger of a merchant, probably at Port Hudson, Louisiana, containing accounts of prominent men in the area, particularly high ranking military officers, and of the steamboats Brilliant, E. D. White, and Montgomery. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1100.

Anonymous log, 1848-1864. 1 log. Location: 31:. A logbook written by an anonymous author concerning multiple ships in the British Royal Navy. Entries from January 5, 1849 to June 9, 1850 detail the date, time, and location of arrivals and departures and entries from May 28 1848 to July 09 1850 provide greater details about for HMS Amphitrite, a frigate.  The logbook then changes to discussing the outfitting of HMS Rodney, a ship of the line, from August 18, 1851 to November 15, 1851, followed by 56 pages of instructions on rigging, beams, dimensions, anchors, cables, chains and other detailed configurations and mechanical maneuvers, and concluding with a list of arrivals and departures from March 27, 1852 to June 17, 1864. Part of the George DeForest Collection, vol. 14. Mss. 1350.

Anonymous New Orleans scrapbook, 1861-1936. 2 volumes on 1 microfilm reel. Location: Mss.Mf:A. Miscellaneous newspaper clippings collected mainly from newspapers in New Orleans and Natchez include materials relative to Reconstruction, the impeachment of President Andrew Johnson, the Chicago fire of 1871, and steamboats. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2554.

Anonymous short story, circa 1904. 1 item. Location: Misc:A. Story centering around the Steamer Betsy Ann when she was operating on a packet from Natchez to Bayou Sara on the Mississippi River. It features the home of Captain Lane Brandon of Como Landing and the surrounding territory in the Tunica Hills. It also features the building of the Red River Valley railroad as part of the Louisiana Railway and Navigation Company. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1086.

Anonymous travel notebook, 1869-1877. 1 volume. Location: M:18. Unidentified notebook containing travel accounts of several trips to Europe, itinerary, excerpts of poems, jokes, accounts of expenses, and miscellaneous memoranda. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 606.

Archibald, J. J. Waybill, 1891. 1 waybill. Location: Misc. A waybill for a railroad car of lumber shipped by the New Orleans & Northwestern Railway Co. for J.J. Archibald in Archibald, La. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4377.

Atchafalaya Rail Road and Banking Company. Letter, 1835 Apr. 15. 1 item. Location: MISC:A. Two-page letter written to "H. Niles" in which the author is requesting that Mr. Niles make mention in his newspaper of the steps Louisiana is taking to improve its railroad infrastructure, specifically mentioning the charter of the Atchafalaya Rail Road & Banking Company. The letter discusses the need for railroads in Louisiana to help farmers and ranchers with transportation, since back country roads are almost impassable.  It also goes into detail about the geography of the proposed rail site, local industry that would benefit, and the economic advantages to stockholders. Mss. 4930.

Bagur, Jacques. Map collection, 1871, 1935. 2 slides [35mm], 1 photographic print, 1 photocopy. Location: MISC:B. Researcher of history and geography of East Texas and Louisiana. Contains slide of an 1871 map of Caddo Lake (original map possibly created by Lt. E. A. Woodruff). A second slide and a photographic print are of a 1935 map made by R. E. Jacobs titled "Routes of Steamboats to Surround Rafts in Red River, from Shreveport North, to Arkansas Line." Mss. 4428.

Bank of Mississippi. Bill of lading, 1824. 1 item. Location: Misc:W. Bill of lading for the transport of nine thousand dollars specie, contained in an iron bound keg, to Natchez, Mississippi, from the port of New Orleans aboard the steamboat ,Tanny. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3666.

Barron, Charles. Letters, 1840-1845. 6 items. Location: MISC:B. Seaman on the ship Sharon. Letters to Barron's parents in Topsham, Maine, written from New Orleans and New York. They describe individual ships and the shipping business trade from the Northeast to New Orleans and to Liverpool, England. Included are comments on freight, ship crews, weather, and activities at various ports. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1221, 1248, 1274, 1334.

Barth, William, 1898-1982. Papers, 1917-1959. 2.5 linear ft. Location E:109-111. William Barth was a civil engineer with the Interstate Commerce Commission (ICC) and the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers. He was also a member of the River Rats, a fraternal organization of engineers. This collection contains personal and professional photographs covering the period 1917 to 1944, professional correspondence, copies of a commendation and diplomas, and a calculating device (along with accompanying brochures and instructions). The professional photographs document the work being done on the Mississippi and Atchafayala Rivers when he worked for the US Army Corps of Engineers from 1928-1958. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4421.

Baton Rouge Land Survey Document, 1848. 1 item. Location: Misc:B. Land survey document dated April 11, 1848. Includes property drawing and description by prominent Baton Rouge surveyors and civil engineers Henry and William Waller. The survey was made at the request of the mayor of selectmen of Baton Rouge to assess the dimensions of a Mr. Vincent's house and gallery on the corner of North and River Streets. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 5016.

Baton Rouge Transportation Company. Records, 1916-1919, 1935-1943. 2 ms. vols. Location: F:3. Log books of Baton Rouge ferry boats Hazel and City of Baton Rouge. The early volume records a few local items, the weather, and river conditions. The second volume contains entries for routine fire drills and inspection of equipment. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2388.

Baton Rouge, Grosse Tete, and Opelousas Railroad Co. Stock certificates, 1859. 3 items. Location: Misc.:B. Shares bought in the names of W. B. Robertson, Jordan Holt, and Henri Pelichet, and issued at Bayou Grosse Tete, Louisiana. A vignette of a train is printed on the certificates. Transfer of title is written on the back, including one to W. S. Pike. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1524.

Bayou Lafourche passenger lists, 1835-1836. 14 items. Location: OS:B. Sheets from passage book of Pierre Gabaroche, Sheldrick Moore, S. G. Moore, and P. R. Lott listing names of passengers on the steamer Revenue and probably another steamboat from towns on Bayou Lafourche to New Orleans and return. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1738.

Beadle, Erastus F. Diary, 1857. 1 ms. vol. Location: M:20, BTC. Travel diary of a trip from Buffalo, New York, to lands near Omaha, Nebraska. Entries reflect incidents of travel, political sentiments of the day, the great emigration to the new territory, life in Nebraska, and the financial panic of 1857. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 914.

Bertrand, Alvin Lee, 1918- interviewee. Oral history interview, 1995. 5 sound cassettes (7.5 hours), transcript (276 p.). Location: L:4700.0524. LSU alumnus and Boyd Professor of Sociology/Rural Sociology. Bertrand discusses growing up in rural Louisiana and the French language and Cajun culture. Bertrand also discusses loss of the small farm way of life, agricultural mores, and the impact of mechanization on rural life in Louisiana. Bertrand describes the general layout of the LSU campus in 1936, the creation of the LSU lakes, the LSU stadium, and student social activities. He comments on the many changes he witnessed while at LSU and details his long association with LSU and the Sociology Dept. He also discusses the development of rural sociology at LSU; his own involvement in international organizations; his work as an international rural sociologist; and his research and studies on health care needs. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0524.

Biering, Lucie. Letters, 1904. 12 items (on 1 microfilm reel). Location: Mss.Mf:B. Resident of Montana and the granddaughter of Christian D. Koch, Hancock County, Mississippi. Letters written when Lucie was 12 describe a trip with her father from Montana to Russia via Mississippi, New York City, Germany, and Denmark. Included are descriptions of Russian culture, customs, and military preparations for the Russo-Japanese War. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1479.

Bigelow, Jonas. Letter, 1835 June 20. 1 item. Location: Misc.:B. Letter from Fort Smith, Arkansas, to Otis Arnold, Cincinnati, Ohio, referring to Bigelow's business of running a steamboat and flat and keel boats, loaded with cattle and corn, down the Mississippi River to New Orleans. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2344.

Binning, Wayne. Collection, 1830-1896. 106 items. Location: U:114. Professor of history at University of Mississippi. Constable's bills of costs (1830, 1832) St. Augustine, Territory of Florida; and other items (1850, 1877-1896) pertaining to the treatment and railroad transportation of prisoners and the insane in the state of Florida. Photographs of American and European historical figures, largely nineteenth century, include Civil War military and political figures. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2043.

Birge, N. A. Transportation record book, 1862-1863. 1 volume. Location: F:12. N. A. Birge was captain and quartermaster in the Confederate army. Franklin Garrett was transportation agent in the Confederate army. Ledger contains records of transportation tickets issued by N. A. Birge, indicating the movement of Confederate army men and supplies on various railroad, steamboat, and stage lines. Also recorded is the movement of soldiers on sick leave to and from hospitals at Delhi and Monroe, Louisiana, as well as those soldiers who were on detail to Texas or discharged. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1050.

Blackburn, J. Letter, 1819 January 7. 1 item (2 leaves). Location: Misc:B. First officer of a ship owned by a company based in New Orleans. The ship's chandlers were Paterson & Philpot. Letter detailing Blackburn's involvement with settling his deceased captain's affairs. It comments on the need to consign the ship to another house or company and it reports the captain's debts and credits, mentioning an enclosed copy of his accounts. This copy is not included. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3326.

Bowling, L. Cotton record book, 1856. 1 vol. Location: M:18. Probably a clerk in a New Orleans cotton factor's office. Record book kept by Bowling lists the number of bales of cotton received, the names of steamers and railroads transporting the cotton, and the places of origin of the cotton. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1351.

Boyd, Thomas Jefferson. Papers, 1805-1939 (bulk 1819-1869). 3.25 linear ft., 1 volume. Location: D:128-130, OS:B, R:5. Lawyer, town trustee, member of the Virginia House of Delegates, and a commissioner to the Virginia Board of Public Works from Wytheville, Virginia. Contains correspondence, legal documents, financial records, and personal papers concerning Boyd's legal practice, public service, personal business, and family life in Wytheville. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 99.

Bray, John A. Papers, 1838-1856. 4 items. Location: Misc:B. Cotton planter of 'Cotile,' Rapides Parish, Louisiana. Items include a bill for goods bought by Bray and for freight shipped aboard the steamboat Louisiana; a statement by New Orleans cotton factor A. Miltenberger recording Bray's sale of cotton; and a letter concerning the hire of a 'boy.' Included is a copy of a deed to land and slaves in Avoyelles Parish, Louisiana. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 893.

Breaux, John B. Papers, 1933, 1938, 1963, 1970-2004 (bulk: 1987-2004). Approx. 781 linear feet . Location: Room B6, Map Cage, Vault:54. Correspondence, briefing books, bills, reports, testimony transcripts, research files, news releases, printed materials, audio-visual and electronic files, photographs and memorabilia documenting the political and U.S. Congressional career of Louisiana Representative (1972-1986) and Senator (1987-2004) John B. Breaux, and the work of his office. In addition to Senate and House files, contains materials related to his campaigns, the Democratic Party, and the Washington Mardi Gras. Topics include, among others, flood control, abortion, transportation, energy, the environment, taxes, Social Security, Medicare, Medicaid, and healthcare, consumer protection, wetlands conservation, base closures in Louisiana, commerce, trade, and agriculture policy, especially for sugar and rice. For additional information, see the online catalog. Mss. 4922.

British House of Commons. Committee records, 1728-1739. 0.2 linear ft. Location: C:72. Contemporary manuscript copies of documents presented to Parliament aimed at documenting the real and perceived injustices committed by the Spanish against British merchants engaging in trade with the American colonies and the West Indies. Many of the actions taken by Spanish agents against British subjects were used as justification for the conflict known as the War of Jenkins' Ear. Documents include letters of Sir Benjamin Keene, agent of the South Sea Company in Spain; petitions of grievances to Parliament presented before the committee of the House of Commons; and the report of the committee. Part of the West Indies Collection. Mss. 658.

British Museum. Map Collection, 1683-1874. 374 items on 1 microfilm reel. Location: Mss.MF:B. Microfilm copies of maps in the British Museum, mostly depicting aspects of the North American Gulf Coast and Louisiana, and some maps of French and Spanish ports, and of North America in general. Mss. 3200.

Brooke, George M. Letter, 1818 Jan. 1. 1 item. Location: Misc. B. In his letter, George M. Brooke describes his trip from Virginia to New Orleans and gives a description of New Orleans and its residents. Mss. 5257.