Manuscript Resources on The History of Music, Drama, and Other Performing Arts

A Song for the Ladies broadside, circa 1863. 1 item. Location: MISC:S. The author of the broadside, "Bones," was a drummer in Company G of the 77th Illinois Infantry Regiment, formerly of the 130th Illinois. Lyrics compare virtues of soldiers to flaws of men who stayed at home. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4290

Acadian Handicraft Project. Records. 1936-1962. 9.5 linear ft. Location: 7:98-106, OS:A. Project launched in 1942 to preserve the language and culture of the French-speaking people of Louisiana; project was suspended around 1962. Project launched in 1942 to preserve the language and culture of the French-speaking people of Louisiana. Records consist of general office files, program files for festivals and exhibitions, and records relating to the promotion, the production and sale of handicrafts. Some itmes are in French. Mss. 1880.

Actors and Musicians Photographs, ca. 1880-1920. 64 items. Location: E:71. The collection consists of mounted and unmounted black and white photographs of actors and musicians who appeared at New Orleans theaters during the period of 1880-1920. Handwritten notes on the back of many of the photos identify the individuals, the theater where they appeared, and the name of the play or event. Among the New Orleans houses so identified are the Tulane, Athenaeum, Orpheum, Dauphine, and Crescent Theaters, as well as the French Opera House. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2116.

Agenda commercial de la Louisiane pour l'année, 1858-1877. 1 item. Location: Misc:A. Printed French journal book (1858) contains notes on the progress of the Civil War and the 'Trent Affair', a diplomatic incident between the U.S. and Great Britain. Other topics include poetry; songs; partial plays in commedia dell'arte style; notes on Renaissance Italian history and notes on Daniel Deronda by George Eliot. Also included are listings for businesses and consulates in New Orleans, and public officials in Paris. Alternate title: Anonymous manuscript volume. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3545.

Amato, Pasquale. Scrapbook and Printed Items, 1913-1929 (bulk 1913-1915). 1 vol., 26 items. Location: M:23. Native of Italy and operatic baritone. Amato performed at the Metropolitan Opera in New York until 1921, and headed the Opera Department at LSU from 1934-1942. Scrapbook containing newspaper clippings and printed items relating to Amato's operatic career. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2563.

Anonymous letter from New Orleans, 1864 November 15. 1 item. Location: Misc.A. Letter from Sarah, apparently a young girl and resident of New Orleans, Louisiana, written upon her return from a trip to New York City, commenting on a minstrel show in New Orleans, Louisiana, and expressing interest in the New York presidential election returns. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1418.

Applewhite, Cornelia. Papers, 1877-1878, 1924-1925, undated 3 items, 2 ms. Vols., 2 printed vols. [on microfilm]. Location: Mss. Mf.:A. Student at Whitworth Female College, Brookhaven, Mississippi. Two notebooks containing entries on basic subjects; lists of students; and biographical and genealogical notes. Also included are a printed song book (1877); a printed volume on the history of Sarepta (1924-1925); and three pictures. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3498.

Armstrong, A. Notebook, 1839-1847. 1 vol. Location: F:2. Notebook of miscellaneous items including remedies, beverage recipes, medical reports, observations on phrenology, Clay and Polk campaign songs, poetry, memoranda, directions for erecting a house, correspondence, and events in Armstrong's life. Included is Armstrong's will, July 7, 1841, made before meeting 'Mr. Smith' in an affair of honor. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 664.

Armstrong, Louis. Photograph, circa 1948-1949. 1 black and white photographic print. Location: MISC:A. Photographic print (8 in. x 10 in.) shows Louis Armstrong and His All Stars performing on stage. Members photographed include Louis Armstrong, Jack Teagarden, Arvell Shaw, Barney Bigard, Sid Catlett, and possibly Earl Hines behind Louis Armstrong. Photograph is also signed by Louis, Sid, and Earl. Mss. 5388.

Bailey Theatre Records, 1943-1955, undated (bulk 1944-1953). 0.7 linear ft. Location: 45:25. The Bailey Theatre, located in Bunkie, Louisiana, was owned by Robert Lee Bailey and was attached to the Blooms Arcade shopping center. The collection consists of financial records and correspondence pertaining to the theatre. Mss. 3336.

Barel, Leona Queyrouze, 1861?-1938. Papers, 1800-1950 (bulk 1860-1937). 2,614 items, 31 printed vols., 23 ms. vols. Location: X:96-101, OS:Q, 99:Q, Q:27. French-language writer, poet, essayist, and musician of New Orleans and New York City. Her father, Major Leon Queyrouze, was commander of the Orleans Guard Battalion during the Civil War. Papers include letters from writers and editors; literary writings and musical compositions; materials on the Anti-Lottery League; and Civil War and business papers of her father, a member of the factors' firm Queyrouze and Bois. In French and English. Available on microfilm 5750: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reels 18-26. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1204, 1222, 1278, 1314, 1323, 1335.

Barrow, Bartholomew, 1836-1869. Family collection of sheet music, 1848-1891 (bulk 1861-1874). 4 items, 3 vols. Location: Range 65. Planter of Eldorado Plantation, a sugar plantation in Pointe Coupee Parish, Louisiana. Collection of bound and loose vocal and piano sheet music collected by Barrow and his family. Some compositions in French, German, and Italian. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1379.

Baton Rouge Ballet Theatre. Programs and brochures, 1959-1994. .4 linear ft. Location: E:38. Non-profit company organized in Baton Rouge in the late 1950s as the Baton Rouge Civic Ballet, and incorporated in 1960 as the Baton Rouge Ballet Theatre. Programs of performances and brochures. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4610.

Baton Rouge Community Concerts Association. Records, 1931-1983. 0.5 linear ft., 3 printed volumes. Location: OS:B, UU:197. Records, chiefly printed materials, document the activities of the Baton Rouge Community Concerts Association. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4592.

Baton Rouge German Benevolent Association. Dance program, 1881 January 3. 1 printed item. Location: E:Imprints. Program of the Fifteenth Anniversary Ball of the Baton Rouge German Benevolent Association listing floor managers, dances, and composers. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3243.

Baton Rouge Gilbert & Sullivan Society. Programs and brochures, 1978-1994. .2 linear ft. Location: E:38. Organized in Baton Rouge in 1976, the Baton Rouge Gilbert & Sullivan Society presented its first production in April 1977. It is sometimes referred to as the Gilbert & Sullivan Society of Baton Rouge. Programs of performances and brochures. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4611.

Baton Rouge Little Theater, Inc. Programs and brochures, 1981-1995. 1 linear ft. Location: E:3. Little Theater group organized in Baton Rouge in 1946. Programs of both regular season productions and summer musicals, and miscellaneous brochures. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4614.

Baton Rouge Opera. Programs, 1983-1991. 6 items. Location: N:28. Opera founded in 1981, governed by the Board of the Baton Rouge Opera Company, and financed through private donations. Programs. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4654.

Baton Rouge Sacred Music Society. Program, 1845. 1 item. Location: E E:Imprints. Program for the first concert of the Baton Rouge Sacred Music Society, which was held at the Presbyterian Church. A. R. Fuertes, director, and William McCaughey, secretary, are listed as officers. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 893.

Baughman family collection, 1834-1957, undated 57 items, 20 vols. Location: UU:114, 41-32, Mss. Mf.:B, 98:. Residents of Union and Lincoln Parishes, Louisiana. Papers of the Baughman and related families include letters (1835-1845), sheet music, issues of Louisiana newspapers, a cashbook (1885-1908), a history and celebration (1939) of the hundredth anniversary of Union Parish, and a scrapbook (ca. 1928), and destruction by Hurricane Audrey in Cameron Parish, La., in 1957 . For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1852, 1981.

Beauregard House Association program, 1932. 1 item. Location: E:Imprints. Program for the play 'An Old Romance' by Grace King, presented by the New Orleans Beauregard House Association. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1834.

Beauregard-Keyes House program, 1932. 1 program, 3 pages, 23 centimeters. Location: EPHEMERA COLLECTION SUBGROUP VI. Program for presentations of Grace King's 3-act play "An Old Romance" at the Beauregard House in New Orleans, Oct. 24-26, 1932. Mss. 1834.

Blind Tom letter, 1867. 1 item. Location: Misc.B. Letter from a guest at Trenton House [Trenton, New Jersey], commenting on the artistic ability and physical characteristics of the blind African-American musician 'Blind Tom,' after attending a concert given by the pianist. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1533.

Boland, Rose Mary Shields. Scrapbook, 1906-1940. 1 vol. [on microfilm] Location:Mss. Mf.:B. Child actress and member of New Orleans theatrical family. Scrapbook contains newspaper clippings, photographs, and miscellaneous items, largely concerning her career as a child actress with the Brown-Baker Stock Company. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2595.

Boston Museum (1847-1903). Playbill, 1861. 1 broadside. Location: E:Imprints. Abolitionist playbill reading: First nights of Dion Bourcicault's greatest production! Illustrating American character! American scenes! and Southern homes! entitled the Octoroon or--life in Louisiana, ...this Saturday afternoon, Dec. 14, 1861. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1558.

Brass Band. Photographs, circa 1900. 2 copy prints. Location: E:66. Copy prints of the Natchitoches and Eclipse Brass Bands. Part of the Picture Collection. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2961.

Brazilian Newspapers: the DeForest collection, 1822-1828. 95 items. Location: 77:98. Collection of Brazilian newspapers and fliers, broadsides, and pamphlets, dating from the time of independence. Collection includes printed advertisements, an announcement for A FLAUTA MAGICA, and other items. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3074.

Brooks Read Brer Rabbit Collection, 1950-1991 (bulk: 1950-1959). Ca. 29 linear feet. Approximately 500 reel to reel audio recordings, scripts, phonographs, correspondence, and subject files of Brooks Read, Baton Rouge storyteller, journalist, and political observer. Materials relate to Read's recorded productions of his original Brer Rabbit stories, as well as a few select Uncle Remus stories of Joel Chandler Harris. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4476.

Butler family. Papers, 1663-1950 (bulk 1813-1915). 16.5 linear ft. Location: S:2-S:11, OS:B, 65:, Vault:2. Cotton and sugar planters in West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. Papers include letters, personal papers, financial and legal documents, photographs, and printed items. Papers discuss the Civil War; plantation life; Thomas Butler's judicial and political career; and antebellum life in the Gulf South states. Included is correspondence from prominent Louisiana residents and others. Letters from Anna Butler who lived in the White House (1849-1850) Collection also contains manuscript and published music, including the music of John Thuer. Available on microfilm 5322: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 5, Reels 13-27. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 893, 965, 1026, 1076, 1217, 1240, 1309, 1353, 1381, 1640, 1649, 1913, 1938.

Butler, Robert, 1786-1860. Papers, 1831-1853. .15 linear ft. Location: S:24, Misc:B. Surveyor general of Florida and a colonel in the U.S. Army; brother of Louisiana judge Thomas Butler. Holographic poems, most signed and dated by Butler and most written at Lake Jackson, Tallahassee, Florida. Many of the poems were adapted to the music of contemporary songs and hymns. One group of poems comments on the 1845 presidential election of James K. Polk and George M. Dallas and eulogizes Andrew Jackson. A promissory note (1831) is for the hire of three slaves. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1000, 3112.

Cale, John G. (John Gustav), 1922-. Papers, 1966-1968. 98 items, 1 vol., on microfilm. Location: Mss. Mf.:C. Thematic index cards and bound typewritten seminar paper list titles of manuscript and printed music of Henri and Joseph Amedee Fourrier in the LSU Library and the Baton Rouge School for the Blind. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2304.

Cale, John G. (John Gustav), 1922-. Abstract, 1967. 1 item. Location: Misc.:C. Genealogical data on the Henri Fourrier family of Baton Rouge taken from a paper by Cale, which he gave at an American Musicological Society meeting in New Orleans. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2304.

Cameron, Giulia Valda. Letters, 1891. 3 items. Location: Misc. Concert singer. Letters by Alfred Mapleson, of A. Mapleson and C. Siecinoski's Operatic and Concert Agency, London, apparently an agent for Giulia Valda Cameron. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1541.

Campbell, Zoe J. Diaries, 1856-1866. 5 items; 10 volumes. Location: P:1, Misc: C. Available on microfilm 5750: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reels 4-5. Resident of New Orleans; daughter of James and Zoe Lambert Campbell and sister of Lambert Campbell, a Confederate soldier in the Civil War. Diaries document expenses, condolence visits, and piano lessons. Beginning in May 1861, they deal with the Civil War, including events in occupied New Orleans. Papers also include a funeral announcement for Campbell and a personal letter. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1274.

Carriere, Oliver P. Correspondence, 1973-1979. 57 letters. Location: Misc. Judge Oliver P. Carriere was a New Orleans jurist whose hobby--the study and play of the game of poker--was translated into one of the largest and most comprehensive collections on that subject in existence. This correspondence between Carriere and Dr. Don Black, a pediatrician in Paris, Tex., concerns the collecting of literature on poker. Mss. 3957.

Carver, George Washington, 1864?-1943. Letter: to Harry Ittner, 1933 March 8. 1 item. Location: Vault. African American educator and agricultural scientist, and director of the Research and Experiment Station at Tuskegee Institute, Alabama. Letter by Carver to Ittner discusses Ittner's studies at Antioch College (Ohio), and comments on Carver's interests in music, motion pictures, and theater. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3412.

Cavalleria rusticana opera scrapbook, circa 1936-1937. 1 volume. Location: T:98. Contains a program for the opera Cavalleria rusticana and a recital of modern dance, performed during the 1936-1937 Louisiana State University Opera Season by the School of Music and the Dance Center, sponsored by The Baton Rouge Grand Opera Association. Scrapbook also contains black and white photographic prints (portraits) of the opera's cast, including Marcella Uhl as Lola. Mss. 5380.

Chol, Emmanuel, 1834-1916. Papers, 1845, 1854-1921. 1,213 items, 6 ms. vols., 31 printed vols. Location: U:163-164, 65:29, 98:. Native of France, music teacher and composer of Thibodaux, Lafourche Parish, Louisiana. Bills and receipts, manuscript and sheet music, pamphlets, and other imprints reflect Chol's professional career, his affiliation with the Catholic Church, and the education of his children in parochial schools. Partly in French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1780, 1906.

Cior, Charles, 1819-ca. 1894. La musique, selon les sciences observes. L'histoire, la phylosophie, la physiologie, etc., etc., entendre, comprendre, se souvenir, 1885. 2 ms. vols. Location: H:20. Music teacher of New Orleans and native of Paris, France. Pedagogical manuscript containing lessons on music theory, exercises, and diagrams. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3287.

Coates, Charles E. and Ollie Maurin. Family Papers, 1862-1980 (bulk 1937-1972). 17.5 linear ft. Location: 12:15-23, OS:C. LSU professor of Chemistry. Correspondence, printed items, photographs, and writings of Charles Coates; and papers documenting Charles Coates and Ollie Coates involvement in Baton Rouge theater and pageantry. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3579.

Coates, Raymond, 1875-1965. Manuscript music, 1953, 1956, undated 9 items. Location: 65:82. Composer and music teacher of Baton Rouge. Seven compositions of Raymond Coates, a composer and music teacher of Baton Rouge, La., and two copies of Felix Mendelssohn's "Concerto for the Violin" (Op. 64). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2382, 2406.

Cockfield E.J. and Family Papers, 1854-1930 (bulk 1875-1890). 1.3 linear feet, 15 manuscript volumes. Location: A:65-66, P:19, OS:C. Planter and businessman of Natchitoches Parish, Louisiana. Family papers spanning three generations include local Natchitoches news; correspondence and descriptions of the Cockfield family in Williamsburg County, South Carolina; and letters from a son in France during World War I. Included are items related to local public schools, including programs for musicals and plays at Louisiana State Normal College (now Northwestern State University). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 989.

Collection of Dickensian programs, 1879-1936. .3 linear ft. (92 items). Location: C:26. Programs and ephemera of theatrical performances and church bazaars in London and other English and American cities, featuring the literary works of Charles Dickens, assembled by an unknown collector. Items document plays, festivals, operas, and film productions of Dickens's works. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1106.

Conner, Lemuel Parker and family Papers, 1810-1953, 1985 (bulk 1850-1940). 12.5 linear feet and 28 volumes. Location: AA:, A:106-117, 120-121, 98:C, OS:C, 65: Vault:34, J:24. Planter from Natchez, Mississippi. Papers include correspondence, cotton statements, legal and business papers (including slave testimony in an alleged slave uprising, 1861), plantation records, and Civil War papers of Confederate soldiers and civilians, family letters from LSU and Smith College, and First Presbyterian Church (Natchez) records. Also included are papers of Levin R. Marshall, the Sessions family, and Henry R. Chotard; 256 pieces of published sheet music (1824-1883); a minstrel show program (1879); and miscellaneous programs of Natchez concerts and music recitals. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm 5322: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 3, Reels 14-18. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 81, 1403, 1431, 1475, 1551, 1595, 1710, 1793, 1859, 1934, 1999.

Constantinides (Dinos) Papers, 1961-1995. 5.5 linear feet. Composer and faculty member at LSU School of Music. Consists of original and printed copies of sheet music, performance posters and programs, and recordings of live performances. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4613.

Cooper, Emil. Papers, 1954-1959. 12 items, 1 printed vol. Location: U:115. Musical director and conductor of the Baton Rouge Symphony Orchestra. Letters to members of the Youth Concert Committee of the Junior League of Baton Rouge and the Symphony Auxiliary, concerning the Youth Concerts and, in particular, the production of Peter and the Wolf. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1929.

Cox, Ellen M. Collection, 1850s. 1 ms. vol. (365 pages). Location: 65:29. Bound sheet music published principally in Paris and purchased from New Orleans dealers. Includes a copy of Jerusalem composed for Louis Moreau Gottschalk and published in New York City (1855). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2384.

Dansereau, Hercules, b. 1832. Account Books and Papers, 1807-1907 (bulk 1859-1906). 32 items, 5 ms. vols. Location: Misc:D, OS:D, F:16. Physician of Thibodaux, Louisiana, and a member of the Scottish Rite Masonic Order. Papers include two medical ledgers (1860-1906) and a daybook (1874-1875); a minute book of the Scottish Rite Thibodaux Lodge No. 13 (1859-1861); and a minute book of the Philharmonic Society of Thibodaux (1861). Some manuscript volumes in French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 823.

Davis, Jimmie, 1899-2000. Photograph, circa 1940s. 1 gelatin silver print. Location: 65:5. This is a signed photographic portrait of James H. "Jimmie" Davis, governor of Louisiana (1944-1948, 1960-1964). Mss. 3692.

Davis, John. Document, 1839. 1 item [photofacsimile]. Location: Misc. Manager of the Orleans Theatre and the French Opera House in New Orleans. Last will of John Davis signed at Mandeville, Louisiana. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1048.

Day, Anita G., Digital Prints. 2000. Forty (40) 5 inches X 7 inches digital prints, matted to 11 inches X 14 inches. Location: 91:3. The collection consists of 40 digital prints of images created at the 1999 Festivals Acadiens, an annual cultural event that began in 1972. The Lafayette Jaycees, along with the help of Rubber Boots, Inc., organize the principal components of Festivals Acadiens, including four separate festivals: Festival de Musique Acadienne; La Vie Cadienne Wetlands Folklife Festival; Heritage Pavilion, and; Bayou Food Festival. These festivals are held in Girard Park in Lafayette, Louisiana. The 1999 festival, during which these images were created, was held from Friday, September 17, through Sunday, September 19. These prints were part of the exhibition, "Preservation as Public Spectacle: Festivals Acadiens," displayed in Hill Memorial Library in 2000. Mss. 4993.

De Bow, J. D. B. Letter, 1865 December 30. 1 item. Location: Misc.:D. Resident of New Orleans. Letter from De Bow requesting that Mr. Seymour of the "New York Times" write a favorable criticism of a comedy by the Louisiana historian Charles E. A. Gayarre, in order that the play might be brought to the New York stage. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1770.

de Caro Francis A. and Rosan A. Jordan. Collection. 1956-2009, undated (bulk 1966-2003). 13 linear ft. Location: 11:19, 15:15-21. De Caro and Jordan were folklorists, authors, and Louisiana State University (Baton Rouge, La.) professors. The collection includes personal and professional correspondence, writings, exhibitions, photographs, printed items consisting of brochures, handbills, newspapers, and posters; and topical files that document de Caro's folklore class at LSU, his work with the Louisiana Folklife Commission, and Jordan's work with the women's movement. Writings as well as exhibitions comprise material primarily related to folklore within Louisiana and British colonial life in India. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3197, 4089, 4164.

De Forest, George. Scrapbooks, 1935-1943. 4 vols. Location: 28-49. New Orleans bookseller. Contents consist almost entirely of the column 'Art, Music, Literature, and Drama,' clipped from 'The Border Telegraph' (Galashiels, Peeblesshire, Scotland) between 1935 and 1943. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2600.

De Lapouyade, Robert. Collection, 1848-1936 (bulk 1894-1933). 206 items and 9 vols. Location: B:63, P:19, OS:D. Scenic artist born in Covington, St. Tammany Parish, Louisiana. Collection contains business correspondence (1911-1935), programs for plays and operas at various New Orleans theaters, photographs, a book of sketches, postcards displaying De Lapouyade's work, and a scrapbook concerning his work. Also included are photographs of De Lapouyade's stencil for marking stage settings and a spear made for an opera. Included are comments on the objects photographed.For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1011, 1040, 2629.

Delsarte, Francois Alexandre Nicolas. Papers, 1811-1934 (bulk 1830-1899). 1,448 items, 107 volumes, 8 microfilm reels. Location: 35:, OS:D, MSS.MF:D. French educator, music and dramatic instructor, and originator of a widely recognized system of elocution. Professional papers contain materials relating to the study of pantomime; notes and manuscripts of writings by Delsarte's pupils, William Alger and James MacKaye, together with studies of the Delsarte system by S. S. Curry, Claude Shaver, and others. Partly in French. Preliminarily processed but open for use. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1301.

DeMunck, Eugene. Letter, 1819. 1 letter. Location: MISC:D. Personal letter from Eugene DeMunck in Brussels to Monsieur Reyer, alderman of Namur. DeMunck asks Reyer if the three nephews of DeMunck, who were returning from a trip to England, Scotland, and Ireland, could participate as soloists at his upcoming party. DeMunck speaks highly of his nephews' abilities and awaits the reply of Reyer. Mss. 822.

Detro, Randall A. (Randall Augustus). Collection, 1932-1988. 20 items [photocopies]. Location: MISC:D. Mostly circulars of Huey Long and the Long political organization concerning the programs of Long during Governor O. K. Allen's administration. Collection includes a handbill and publicity photograph from a 1988 production of the play 'The Kingfish.' For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4138.

Doerr, Charles T. and Family. Papers, 1837-1967. 0.6 linear ft. Locations: 12:13, OS:D. Child of German immigrants and jeweler in New Orleans, Louisiana who designed a chalice for St. Alphonsus Church. Collection consists of personal papers, printed items, newspaper clippings, photographs, and artifacts. Mss. 3312.

Dunbar, Elijah. Correspondence, 1850, 1851. 2 items. Location: Misc:D. Resident of Canton, Massachusetts, and a boarder living in New Orleans, employed by a music dealer. Correspondence includes a letter by William T. Mayo of New Orleans, stating makes and number of pianos sold; and a letter by H. Waring, New Orleans, commenting on various people at Dunbar's boarding house. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1337.