Manuscript Resources on The History of New Orleans Before the Civil War

This guide to manuscripts collections on the history of New Orleans before 1861 covers topics such as trade and shipping; cotton and sugar; the War of 1812 and the Battle of New Orleans; the Mexican War; and art, opera, plays and literature in New Orleans. It includes the records of residents of and visitors to New Orleans, planters, physicians, attorneys, politicians, soldiers, clergymen, educators, merchants, factors and commission merchants, banks, and businesses located in New Orleans and other states.

Materials represented in this guide include land deeds and sales, slave sales, bills of lading, papers (personal, financial, legal, business), educational materials, personal and business correspondence, diaries, poems, sheet music, photographs, and newspaper clippings.

Displaying 1 - 10 of 615. Show 5 | 10 | 20 | 40 | 60 results per page.

A. F. Cochran & Co. Letter, 1848 Mar. 10. 1 letter. Location: MISC:A. A. F. Cochran & Co. of New Orleans, La., writes Messrs. Silas Peirce & Co. of Boston, Mass., regarding the sale of wine and fruit in New Orleans. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4039.

Referenced in Guides: New Orleans to 1861, Business

Abraham Bell & Co. Letters and receipts, 1841-1844. 5 items. Location: Misc:A. Quaker-owned shipping merchant company of New York City, with business interests in New Orleans, Louisiana. Two receipts document cotton purchased in , for Abraham Bell & Co. One letter discusses American and English cotton and freight prices, and social matters. A bill of lading and a letter document the shipment of personal goods from New York. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4675.

Account book, 1796-1799. 1 ms. vol., 1 mf reel. Location: Vault, Mss. Mf.:A. New Orleans, Louisiana, merchant. Account book recording names and accounts of customers. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1054.

Account Book, 1847-1848. 1 volume. Location: N:1. This account book contains transactions for clothing, shoes, and boots. It also includes transactions for fabric and blankets. The transactions took place in New Orleans, Louisiana.

Referenced in Guides: New Orleans to 1861, Business

Account book, 1888-1890. 1 vol. (513 p.). Location: B:72. Account book of printing or stationery business, probably located in New Orleans, Louisiana. Entries relate to stationery and printed products. Pages 1-134 contain general entries; pages 351 to 410 contain entries for Joseph J. Hooper; pages 451-477 contain entries for George Ellis. For further information, see online catalog. Mss.4541.

Adler, Barbara. Letter, 1833 March 2. 1 item. Location: Misc.:A. Resident of New Orleans, Louisiana. Letter to Frau Madalina Eisenhart, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, pertains to personal and family matters. In German. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2821.

Referenced in Guides: New Orleans to 1861, Women, German

Allen, William M. Correspondence, 1858-1863. 22 items. Location: E:3. Farmer of Holmesville, Pike County, Mississippi. His sister, Letty, and her husband, John Houston, owned a farm in Minden, Webster Parish, Louisiana. William and his brother Felix were Confederate soldiers in the Mississippi Volunteers. Pre-Civil War letters from Houston discuss farming conditions, his advocacy of secession, and local social events. Civil War letters to Allen describe skirmishes in Kentucky and Louisiana, and war news such as the shelling of Port Hudson, Louisiana. Family affairs, illness and remedies, and attendance at the New Orleans School of Medicine are other topics in the letters. Available on microfilm 5735: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reel 1. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 701, 2287.

Ambert, Joachim. Papers, 1838-1876. 9 items. Location: Misc.:A, OS:A. French military officer and nobleman. Personal papers consisting of passports and related items (1838-1840); two letters from Baron Ambert in New Orleans, Louisiana; a bill for accommodations in Niagara Falls, New York; and Ambert's French military service record. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1356.

Roman, André Bienvenu, 1795 – 1866. Photographs, circa 1850 - 1890. 8 items. Location: Misc:R. Roman served as governor of Louisiana for two terms, 1831-1835 and 1839-1843. Roman married Aimee Francoise Parent in 1816 with whom he had eight children. He is buried on his family estate in St. James Parish. Included are five cartes-de-visite of André Bienvenu Roman, one cabinet card portrait of Roman which has been retouched, and one cabinet card portrait of his wife, Aimee Francoise. Two of the cartes-de-visite are mourning portraits. The collection also contains a cabinet card portrait of Alfred Hennen (1786 – 1870). Hennen was a distinguished lawyer, professor of constitutional law at University of Louisiana (now Tulane) and director of the old Bank of Louisiana. Mss. 5170.

Referenced in Guides: New Orleans to 1861

Andry, M. T. (Michel Thomassin), 1811-ca. 1871. Family Papers, 1840-1882 (bulk 1858-1879). 0.3 linear ft. (199 items). Location: UU:66. Sugar planter of St. John the Baptist and St. Charles parishes, Louisiana, and resident of New Orleans. Collection includes correspondence and legal and financial papers. Letters received by Andry's daughter Rosa from his sons describe their participation in the Battle of Shiloh, campaigns in Kentucky, and skirmishes at Camp Beauregard in the Civil War. Partly in French. Available on microfilm 5735: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reel 1. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1318.

Pages