Manuscript Resources on the Long Family

One of Louisiana's strongest traditions is its love of politics. Always colorful, sometimes controversial, the state's political heritage is a rich one. The Long family has been synonymous with Louisiana politics since 1918, with Huey P. Long's election that year to the state's Railroad Commission (now known as the Louisiana Public Service Commission). Since that time, Long and his family have left a significant mark on state and national politics.

This guide includes manuscript resources by or about various members of the Long family. Major collections include papers of Huey Long (governor 1928-1931, U.S. senator 1932-1935); his brother, Earl K. Long (acting governor 1939-1940, governor 1948-1952, 1956-1960); Huey Long's son, Russell B. Long (U.S. senator 1948-1986); and Russell Long's third cousin, Gillis W. Long (U.S. congressman 1963-1965, 1973-1985). Other significant collections contain papers of Carolyn Bason Long (wife of Russell B. Long) and Cathy Long (U.S. congresswoman 1985-1987, wife of Gillis Long). Some papers of Rose McConnell Long (U.S. senator 1936-1937, wife of Huey Long) can be found in the Russell B. Long collection. The various collections include correspondence, speeches, interviews, scrapbooks, photographs, memorabilia, films, videotapes, and other materials.

Displaying 1 - 10 of 111. Show 5 | 10 | 20 | 40 | 60 results per page.

Anderson, John Q., Papers, 1848-1993 (bulk 1953-1973). 7.5 linear ft., 5 v. Location: X:119-125, OS:A, P:17. John Q. Anderson was a professor of English and a writer of Southern history and folklore. This collections of files, correspondence, printed material, and photographs reflect Anderson's career, current events; and they provide research material for his publications, particularly "Brokenburn: The Journal of Kate Stone, 1861-1868" and "Louisiana Swamp Doctor: The Life of Henry Clay Lewis". For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2156, 2162.

Aswell, James B. (James Benjamin), 1869-1931. Papers, 1892-1959 (bulk 1909-1931). 3 linear ft. (1,301 items; 18 ms. v.). Location: U:172-174, OS:A, G:1, 98:A, Vault:38. Educator, U.S. congressman. Materials pertain principally to Aswell's political career and Louisiana politics; World War I; and post-war European conditions. Included are diaries documenting Aswell's official missions to Europe and scrapbooks on his career as an educator. Diary #4 discusses the presence of Jews in Poland following WWI. Notable individuals mentioned include Huey Long, John M. Parker, Gaston Porterie, Herbert Hoover, and Al Smith. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1408, 1426, 1468, 1483.

Badley Family papers, 1834-1940, undated (bulk 1845-1865). 0.3 linear feet. Location: W:2, OS:B, F:2. Badley family, plantation owners in Port Hudson and East Baton Rouge Parish. Personal papers and printed items document their plantations, landholding, and political and professional activities. Works Progress Administration manuscripts collection notes and botanical specimen books are also present. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3062.

Baton Rouge Scenes, c. 1920-1930. 14 items. Location: 111:1. Picture cards of various scenes from Baton Rouge, La., including the capitol building and Louisiana State University. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4999.

Baynard, L. B. Jr. Papers, 1896, 1906, 1923-1930. 687 items. Location: U:9. Correspondence in support of Baynard's candidacy for Treasurer of the State of Louisiana, and from persons seeking political favors. Semi-official letters reflect political pressure and refer to the trial of Governor Huey Long. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 230, 577.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Long Family

Belcher, Eric. Collection, 1948, circa 1962-1973. 1 picture postcard, 2 mailing envelopes. Location: MISC:B. Picture postcard of Earl K. Long with notations on verso, written possibly by Blanche Long and Earl K. Long. Notations designate postcard as an invitation to Earl K. Long's inaugural ball. Mailing envelopes have the letterhead of Orleans Parish district attorney Jim Garrison printed on them. Mss. 5338.

Bell, David J. Reminiscence, 1970. 1 item [photocopy]. Location: Misc.:B. Administrative assistant to Louisiana Governor Earl K. Long. Reminiscence discusses Long's personality and campaign style. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2517.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Long Family

Boone, William C. Letters, 1916-1929. 10 items. Location: Misc:B. Homer, Louisiana, attorney and educator. Letters to Boone's wife pertain to family matters, discussions of his legal studies at LSU, and his work as special counsel in legal cases generated by the administration of Governor Huey Long. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2871.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, LSU, Long Family

Bowers, Laura Boddie Jones, Papers, 1906-1990, undated (bulk: 1931-1955). 3.25 linear ft. Location: E:119-121. Librarian in Louisiana. Primarily correspondence documenting the family life, student life, and early career of Bowers in New Orleans, Baton Rouge, and Natchitoches, La. Newspaper clippings, notes, post card collection, printed items, and a scrapbook are also present. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3546.

Bozeman, Harley B. Papers, 1840-1969. 805 items, 2 vols. Location: T:36. Columnist for the Winn Parish Enterprise. Papers consist of personal correspondence and relating to persons and places in Winn Parish, La. Letters from Dr. T. Harry Williams and others refer to Williams' biography of Huey Long, 577 articles from "Winn Parish As I Have Known It" in the Winn Parish Enterprise, an issue of the Winn Parish Enterprise centennial edition (1952), a map of Winn Parish (1964), and a photocopy of Milton Dunn's History of Natchitoches, Louisiana (1920). Papers also contain letters from George S. Long (1957) reminiscing about Huey Long and from Julius T. Long (1962) who mentions Earl and Huey Long. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2431.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Long Family

Pages