Manuscript Resources on The History of Education

This guide describes collections documenting the history of education in the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections (LLMVC) at LSU. It includes the papers of education officials; college deans; university presidents; professors; principals; teachers; and students. It also contains some records of defunct universities, colleges, and schools. There are a number of collections containing records of teachers' associations and student clubs and organizations.

Records of Louisiana State University, which are part of the LSU University Archives, and the papers of LSU faculty, students, and alumni, are not described in this guide unless they also relate to education apart from LSU. A separate guide to the papers of LSU faculty, students, and alumni is forthcoming. Many University Archives records are described in the University Archives section of the Special Collections web site.

The guide contains school notebooks of elementary and university students; term papers and theses; diplomas; and materials on medical and legal education. There is also information about public, private, and parochial schools; higher education; and school integration. Most of the collections are from Louisiana, but there are also materials from other parts of the Lower Mississippi Valley.

Displaying 531 - 534 of 534. Show 5 | 10 | 20 | 40 | 60 results per page.

Wright, Sophie B. Papers and scrapbooks, 1893-1927 (bulk 1892-1900). 0.15 linear ft., 3 volumes. Location: U:91, M:25. Educator and charity activist of New Orleans, Louisiana; principal of the Home Institute, a day and boarding school for young ladies, and organizer of the Free Night School for working men and boys. Items removed from scrapbooks include letters of appreciation, programs, invitations, and other materials documenting Wright's career as an educator and philanthropist. Available on microfilm 5750: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reel 33. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1134.

Referenced in Guides: Women, New Orleans 1866-, Education

Yarbrough, Cornelia. Papers, 1963-2004 (bulk 1973-2004). 5 linear feet. Location: 8:66-68. Professional papers of Cornelia Yarbrough, professor of music education and researcher at Louisiana State University. Papers include academic and literary correspondence, research, writings, printed materials and audio recordings. In addition to writings and research, most materials are the product of Yarbrough's time spent in music education at Syracuse University and Louisiana State University. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4921.

Referenced in Guides: Performing arts, Women, Education, LSU

Yourte, Samuel Jr. Notebook. 1816-1817. 1 ms. vol. Location: M:21. Compendium of Arithmetic compiled by Yourte, including rules, tables, and examples. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 453.

Referenced in Guides: Education

Zacharie, Carrie. Composition book, 1862-1864. 1 item. Location: Misc:Z. Student's composition book written at the Convent of Mercy, New Orleans. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4524.

Pages