Manuscript Resources on The History of Education

This guide describes collections documenting the history of education in the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections (LLMVC) at LSU. It includes the papers of education officials; college deans; university presidents; professors; principals; teachers; and students. It also contains some records of defunct universities, colleges, and schools. There are a number of collections containing records of teachers' associations and student clubs and organizations.

Records of Louisiana State University, which are part of the LSU University Archives, and the papers of LSU faculty, students, and alumni, are not described in this guide unless they also relate to education apart from LSU. A separate guide to the papers of LSU faculty, students, and alumni is forthcoming. Many University Archives records are described in the University Archives section of the Special Collections web site.

The guide contains school notebooks of elementary and university students; term papers and theses; diplomas; and materials on medical and legal education. There is also information about public, private, and parochial schools; higher education; and school integration. Most of the collections are from Louisiana, but there are also materials from other parts of the Lower Mississippi Valley.

Displaying 1 - 10 of 518. Show 5 | 10 | 20 | 40 | 60 results per page.

Paxson, Charles, died 1880. A slave girl from New Orleans carte-de-visite, circa 1864. 1 photograph. Location: MISC:S. Charles Paxson was a photographer in New York during the 1860s. He created carte-de-visite photographs and was one of a few photographers who took photographs of emancipated slaves for Major General Nathaniel P. Banks' campaign to raise funds for emancipated slaves in Louisiana. The carte-de-visite, titled "A Slave Girl from New Orleans" (1864), features the image of a very Caucasian looking African American, Rebecca, from New Orleans. Rebecca was a recently emancipated slave of her white father from New Orleans. New Orleans was under the command of the Union Army's Major General Nathaniel P. Banks. Rebecca was one of eight slaves from New Orleans to tour the North and raise funds for Banks' work in Louisiana. Carte-de-visites, like this one, were sold to raise that money and the back of the carte-de-visite states the sales money was "devoted to the education of colored people in the department of the Gulf." Mss. 5102.

A. M. & J. C. Dupont (Firm). Account books, 1887-1933. 78 vols. Location: L:16-20. Retail and wholesale merchants of Houma, Terrebonne Parish, Louisiana. Directors of the firm included Albert M. Dupont, Sr., Ernest D. Dupont, Julius Dupont, and Lawrence H. Dupont. Records include daily accounts of sales; current and monthly customer accounts; records of purchases and other expenses; out-of-date and unpaid accounts; records of profits and losses; payroll records; and check book stubs and cancelled checks. Included in the miscellaneous volumes are minutes to meetings of the Parish Sunday School Association of Terrebonne and Lafourche Parishes. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 511.

Referenced in Guides: Education, Business

Abstract of wages paid to teachers employed in city colored schools, Memphis, Tennessee, 1864 December. 1 item. Location: Misc:A. Abstract signed by T. A. Walker, captain, 63rd United States Colored Infantry, listing wages to teachers in African American schools in Memphis, Tennessee, administered by the Freedman's Department during the Union occupation. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3092.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War, Education, African Americans

Agramonte, Aristides. Notebook, undated 1 ms. vol. Location: M:18. Notebook containing notes on grammar, philosophy, jurisprudence, rhetoric, mathematics, and agriculture; and a series of questions and answers. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 974.

Referenced in Guides: Education, French

Allen, William M. Correspondence, 1858-1863. 22 items. Location: E:3. Farmer of Holmesville, Pike County, Mississippi. His sister, Letty, and her husband, John Houston, owned a farm in Minden, Webster Parish, Louisiana. William and his brother Felix were Confederate soldiers in the Mississippi Volunteers. Pre-Civil War letters from Houston discuss farming conditions, his advocacy of secession, and local social events. Civil War letters to Allen describe skirmishes in Kentucky and Louisiana, and war news such as the shelling of Port Hudson, Louisiana. Family affairs, illness and remedies, and attendance at the New Orleans School of Medicine are other topics in the letters. Available on microfilm 5735: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reel 1. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 701, 2287.

American Association of University Women. Baton Rouge Branch. Records, 1951-1994 (bulk 1980-1993). 2 linear ft., 3v. Location: UU:113. Official papers of the Baton Rouge Branch of the American Association of University Women during the presidency of Mrs. May Lee Denham. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 666.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Education, Baton Rouge

American Association of University Women. Louisiana State Division. Records, 1925-1941. 1,167 items, 1 ms. Vol., 45 printed vols. Location: UU:1-4. Official records consisting of correspondence, annual reports, programs, and related printed materials from presidents and committee chairmen of branches in Alexandria, Baton Rouge, Hammond, Lafayette, Natchitoches, Ruston, and Shreveport, Louisiana. Included are mimeographed and printed material from A.A.U.W. National Headquarters. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 666.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Education, Baton Rouge

American Association of University Women. Louisiana State Division. Records, 1948-1957. 36 items, 5 pamphlets. Location: UU:4. Records include a brief history of the association by Mrs. C. C. Henson, copies of bylaws, programs for annual meetings, letters from the general director, and association journals. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1486.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Education

Amite County Record Book, 1851-1864, 1879, 1895. 1 ms. Vol. Location: M:21. Records of the appointed trustees of the Common Schools for District No. 2 in Amite County, Mississippi. Reports from various schools list name of parents, name and age of scholar, and amounts drawn from the public fund. Some minutes are included. For further information online catalog. Mss. 6.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War, Education, Natchez, Mississippi

Amite River Academy. Circular, 1879. 1 item. Location: E:Imprints. Located in Grangeville, Louisiana. Printed circular for the Amite River Academy giving descriptive information about the school and the program for the closing exercises of the Intermediate Examination. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 7.

Referenced in Guides: Education

Pages