Manuscript Resources on The Civil War

This guide describes collections documenting the Civil War in the Lower Mississippi Valley, including the states of Louisiana, Mississippi, Arkansas, Tennessee, and Texas, in the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections (LLMVC) at LSU. The guide includes not only materials from the war years (1861-1865) themselves, but also materials from later periods containing manuscript sources for Civil War history. Thus such sources as post-war reminiscences and records of veterans' groups--materials dealing with the war as memory and experience--will be found alongside soldiers' and civilians' letters, diaries, and daybooks from the war itself. In addition, the guide includes collections of papers of Louisiana and other area soldiers who fought outside of the Lower Mississippi Valley.

LSU's holdings of Civil War manuscripts make LLMVC a rich treasure-trove for researchers. Many researchers are studying these documents from new perspectives, to see what they have to tell us about women's experiences on the home front and about Louisiana's African Americans, a significant number of whom fought for the Union. Louisiana played a central role in the war, with the fall of Port Hudson in July 1863 a critical event. Much of the state was long occupied by Union forces, and LLMVC contains the papers of numerous Union as well as Confederate soldiers. Other areas of strength include materials documenting the siege of Vicksburg, the Battle of Shiloh, and the Red River campaign.

Displaying 951 - 960 of 1035. Show 5 | 10 | 20 | 40 | 60 results per page.

United States. Army. Maine Infantry Regiment, 14th (1861-1865). Company orderly book, 1862-1863. 1 orderly book. Location: H:6. The 14th Maine Volunteer Infantry Regiment served in Louisiana between May 1862 and July 1864 and later served in Virginia, West Virginia, Maryland, and Georgia. This orderly book contains handwritten orders and company logs kept between November 1862 and November 1863, as well as printed general orders issued between January and March 1863. Mss. 4253.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War

United States. Congress. House. Committee on Foreign Affairs. French spoliation claims, 1 printed item. 1884. Location: UU:97. Submitted by Mr. W. R. Cox, from the Committee on Foreign Affairs (to accompany bill H. R. 745). Part of the Joseph Jones papers. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 468, 534, 544, 1036, 1352, 1357, 1393.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War

United States. Dept. of the Treasury. Confiscation decrees, 1863 August 13-September 1. 3 items. Location: Misc:C. Benjamin F. Flanders worked as a special agent of the U.S. Treasury Department during the federal occupation of New Orleans, later serving as governor of Louisiana. Decrees, carried out by Flanders, authorizing the confiscation of properties in New Orleans for nonpayment of taxes by Confederate sympathizers. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3108.

United States. Dept. of the Treasury. Receipt for confiscated property, 1863 Aug. 22. 1 item. Location: Misc.:C. Benjamin F. Flanders was an agent of the U.S. Treasury Department during the federal occupation of New Orleans, La.; Felix Labatut was a former member of the Louisiana Secession Convention. A receipt signed by Flanders, states that properties belonging to Felix Labatut are confiscated because of noncompliance with general order No. 76. The confiscated property was valued at $43,000. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3309.

United States. Dept. of the Treasury, Confiscation decrees 1863 Aug. 13-Sept. 1. 3 items. Location: Misc.:C. Benjamin F. Flanders worked as a special agent of the U.S. Treasury Department during the federal occupation of New Orleans, lLa., later serving as governor of Louisiana. Decrees, carried out by Flanders, authorizing the confiscation of properties in New Orleans for nonpayment of taxes by Confederate sympathizers. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3108.

United States. Office of the Paymaster General. Papers, 1862-1865, 1869. 37 items. Location: E:74, OS:U. Pay vouchers, certificates, muster rolls, and related items of black troops. Part of the United States Army Collection. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2423.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War, African Americans

United States. Office of the Quartermaster General. Circulars, 1868. 20 items. Location: Filed under United States Army Collection. Handwritten and printed circulars by order of quartermasters J. J. Dana, D. H. Rucker, and Civil War Quartermaster General Montgomery Meigs. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1992.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War

United States. War Dept. Letter, 1863 May 13. 1 item. Location: E:66. Letter of transmittal for supplies to General Nathaniel P. Banks, New Orleans. Part of the United States Army Collection. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2414.

United States. War Dept. General orders, 1863. 2 items. Location: E:74. General Orders relate to the trial of three citizens of Maryland for treason (May 26, 1863) and the trial of William T. Smithson for attempting to deliver letters written by him to a Confederate employee (Nov. 18, 1863). Part of the United States Army Collection. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2309.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War

United States. War Dept. General orders, no. 113, 1864. 1 item. Location: E:74. From the Adjutant General's Office, containing the proceedings of the Military Commission, Goodrich Landing, East Carroll Parish, Louisiana, in the cases of two African Americans found guilty of armed robbery of a citizen of East Carroll Parish, William R. Hays. Part of the United States Army Collection. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1493.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War, African Americans

Pages