Manuscript Resources on The Civil War

This guide describes collections documenting the Civil War in the Lower Mississippi Valley, including the states of Louisiana, Mississippi, Arkansas, Tennessee, and Texas, in the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections (LLMVC) at LSU. The guide includes not only materials from the war years (1861-1865) themselves, but also materials from later periods containing manuscript sources for Civil War history. Thus such sources as post-war reminiscences and records of veterans' groups--materials dealing with the war as memory and experience--will be found alongside soldiers' and civilians' letters, diaries, and daybooks from the war itself. In addition, the guide includes collections of papers of Louisiana and other area soldiers who fought outside of the Lower Mississippi Valley.

LSU's holdings of Civil War manuscripts make LLMVC a rich treasure-trove for researchers. Many researchers are studying these documents from new perspectives, to see what they have to tell us about women's experiences on the home front and about Louisiana's African Americans, a significant number of whom fought for the Union. Louisiana played a central role in the war, with the fall of Port Hudson in July 1863 a critical event. Much of the state was long occupied by Union forces, and LLMVC contains the papers of numerous Union as well as Confederate soldiers. Other areas of strength include materials documenting the siege of Vicksburg, the Battle of Shiloh, and the Red River campaign.

Displaying 61 - 70 of 1031. Show 5 | 10 | 20 | 40 | 60 results per page.

Anonymous Civil War letter, 1863. 1 item. Location: Misc:Anon. Letter by a teacher from Richmond, Va., telling of his work as a mechanic to avoid Confederate conscription. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1452.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War

Anonymous Civil War memoir, 1900-1930. 1 item. Location: An anonymous author recounts his experiences as a boy in a small town in western Kentucky at the beginning of the Civil War. He describes how the boys in the town organized themselves into a company to play as juvenile Confederate soldiers. He relates two stories of how they enticed locals into their play and how he tried a near fatal trick on soldiers of the Sixth Illinois Cavalry Regiment encamped nearby. Mss. 3975.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War

Arceneaux, William. Papers, 1964-2007 (bulk 1972-2007). 15 linear feet and 20 volumes. Louisiana higher education official. Papers consist of correspondence, business papers, photographs, printed items, and scrapbooks related to the professional, civic, and personal activities of William Arceneaux. A small amount of correspondence is in French and Spanish. For further information, see online catalog Mss. 4107.

Armstrong, Ezekiel. Diary, 1862 May 28-December 10. 1 vol. on microfilm. Location: Mss. Mf.:A Confederate sergeant in the 17th Mississippi Regiment during the Civil War. Diary comments on Seven Days Battle at Richmond, Virginia; sermons preached by chaplains; army marches; a visit to the scene of the Second Battle of Bull Run; the Maryland Campaign; and the attitude of civilians toward the Confederate army. He also mentions participation in the battles of Maryland Heights and Sharpsburg; and the evacuation of women and children from Fredericksburg. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 943.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Civil War

Arnold, Thomas, Lieutenant. Papers, 1862 April 26. 2 items. Location: Misc:A. Confederate navy lieutenant serving on the Mississippi River during the Civil War. Letter from Arnold on the towboat Landis to Captain J. K. Mitchell of the Confederate navy describing an action in which he captured, then lost the Union steamer Resolute. His vessel was fired upon by the Union steamer Defiance. Included is a list of night signals for the fleet, probably Confederate. Available on microfilm 5735: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reel 1. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3220.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War

Ashlock, Jules R. Papers. Ville Platte Gazette centennial edition, 1958 September 18. 1 ms. Vol. Location: J:24. Special edition commemorating the hundredth anniversary of the incorporation of the city of Ville Platte, Louisiana, with histories; photographs of historic scenes and residents; and articles on recent progress. The volume also contains letters written by a Confederate soldier, Amos K. Anselm, to his mother in 1861 and 1862. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2480.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War

Atherton, R. Letter, ca. 1863. 1 item. Location: Misc.:A. Federal soldier stationed in Carrollton, Louisiana, waiting with his unit for military orders. The letter contains information concerning assignments of other divisions and about mutual friends. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1484.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War

Augur, Christopher Columbus, 1821-1898. Photograph, undated 1 item. Location:E:73. Union general and commander of the District of Baton Rouge (1862) and of troops attacking Port Hudson. Carte-de-visite photograph of Augur in uniform. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3538.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War, Baton Rouge

Babin, Felix E. Letter, 1862 September 20 and 1915. 2 items. Location: Misc.:B. Letter from Vicksburg, September 20, 1862; and Chamber of Commerce of Quimper and Brest, France, 50 centimes note, 1915. For further information online catalog. Mss. 1876.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War, French

BADGER BULLETIN, 1862 June 14. 1 item [enlargement print, 4 pages]. Location: E:Imprints. Newspaper published by the 3rd Wisconsin Battery during a brief stay at Iuka, Mississippi, contains a history and roster of the battery and notes on Union and Confederate units in the area. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2022.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War

Pages