Manuscript Resources on The Civil War

This guide describes collections documenting the Civil War in the Lower Mississippi Valley, including the states of Louisiana, Mississippi, Arkansas, Tennessee, and Texas, in the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections (LLMVC) at LSU. The guide includes not only materials from the war years (1861-1865) themselves, but also materials from later periods containing manuscript sources for Civil War history. Thus such sources as post-war reminiscences and records of veterans' groups--materials dealing with the war as memory and experience--will be found alongside soldiers' and civilians' letters, diaries, and daybooks from the war itself. In addition, the guide includes collections of papers of Louisiana and other area soldiers who fought outside of the Lower Mississippi Valley.

LSU's holdings of Civil War manuscripts make LLMVC a rich treasure-trove for researchers. Many researchers are studying these documents from new perspectives, to see what they have to tell us about women's experiences on the home front and about Louisiana's African Americans, a significant number of whom fought for the Union. Louisiana played a central role in the war, with the fall of Port Hudson in July 1863 a critical event. Much of the state was long occupied by Union forces, and LLMVC contains the papers of numerous Union as well as Confederate soldiers. Other areas of strength include materials documenting the siege of Vicksburg, the Battle of Shiloh, and the Red River campaign.

Displaying 51 - 60 of 1031. Show 5 | 10 | 20 | 40 | 60 results per page.

Anonymous letters, 1864-1865. 2 items. Location: Misc:A. Letters from a Louisiana Confederate soldier in the Civil War wintering at New Dalton, Georgia, to his sister, relating personal news and from Natchez describing his reception upon returning from the service and his adjustment to civilian life. Available on microfilm 5735: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reel 1. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1032.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War, Natchez, Mississippi

Anonymous poem, 1864 June 3. 1 item. Location: Misc.:A. Confederate love poem signed 'Mystic,' Petersburg, Virginia. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2121.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War, Literature

Anonymous Civil War letter, 1864 May 22. 1 item. Union army soldier named George. Letter written to his parents from Carrollton, Louisiana, describing camp life and remarking on the difficulty of obtaining horses for the cavalry. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3339.

Anonymous Civil War order, ca. 1864. 1 item. Location: Misc.:A Union order from headquarters, Department of the Gulf, requesting the 9th Connecticut and the 14th Maine regiments together with a section of Thompson's Battery be sent to St. Charles [Arkansas] in order to rid the area of Confederate soldiers. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1424.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War

Anonymous memorandum, ca 1865. 1 item [copy]. Location: Misc.:A. General Robert E. Lee's farewell address to the Army of Northern Virginia, April 10, 1865, and poem entitled 'A Mother Waiting for the News.' For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 219.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War

Anonymous notebook, 1897-1927. 1 v. Location: F:2. Notebook contains handwritten entries and newspaper clippings related to Camp Beauregard, recipes, medical remedies, stain removal, and other items of household interest. Short biographical sketches of James John Audubon and Dr. Francois Autommarchi are also included. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 572.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War, Medicine

Anonymous scrapbook, ca. 1900. 1 ms. vol. Location: H:21. Scrapbook contains obituaries of Sadie Patrick, secretary of the United Confederate Veterans Association; sentimental verse; and miscellaneous newspaper clippings. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2087.

Anonymous record book, undated 1 ms. vol. Location: M:19. Vital statistics and military records together with comments on the condition, location, and extent of such records in several parishes in Louisiana. Included are lists of Louisiana blacks in units of the Union army during the Civil War. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1018.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War, African Americans

Anonymous Confederate Officer's letter. 1 item. Location:32:80. Mss. 3941.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War

Anonymous Confederate scrapbook, undated.1ms. Vol. Location: M:18. Scrapbook of prints from engravings of Jefferson Davis, the Confederate president, his cabinet, and his generals; and 5 newspaper clippings referring to incidents concerning Davis during Reconstruction. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1846.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War

Pages