Manuscript Resources on The Civil War

This guide describes collections documenting the Civil War in the Lower Mississippi Valley, including the states of Louisiana, Mississippi, Arkansas, Tennessee, and Texas, in the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections (LLMVC) at LSU. The guide includes not only materials from the war years (1861-1865) themselves, but also materials from later periods containing manuscript sources for Civil War history. Thus such sources as post-war reminiscences and records of veterans' groups--materials dealing with the war as memory and experience--will be found alongside soldiers' and civilians' letters, diaries, and daybooks from the war itself. In addition, the guide includes collections of papers of Louisiana and other area soldiers who fought outside of the Lower Mississippi Valley.

LSU's holdings of Civil War manuscripts make LLMVC a rich treasure-trove for researchers. Many researchers are studying these documents from new perspectives, to see what they have to tell us about women's experiences on the home front and about Louisiana's African Americans, a significant number of whom fought for the Union. Louisiana played a central role in the war, with the fall of Port Hudson in July 1863 a critical event. Much of the state was long occupied by Union forces, and LLMVC contains the papers of numerous Union as well as Confederate soldiers. Other areas of strength include materials documenting the siege of Vicksburg, the Battle of Shiloh, and the Red River campaign.

Displaying 31 - 40 of 1030. Show 5 | 10 | 20 | 40 | 60 results per page.

Anonymous manuscript volume, 1858-1877. 1 item. Location: Misc. A. Journal contains notes on the progress of the Civil War and the 'Trent Affair', a diplomatic incident between the U. S. and Great Britain. Other topics include poetry; songs; partial plays in commedia dell'arte style; notes on Renaissance Italian history and notes on Daniel Deronda by George Eliot. Also included are listings for businesses and consulates in New Orleans, and public officials in Paris. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3545.

Anonymous journal, 1860-1866. 1 ms. vol. Location: F:2. Journal of a U.S. Naval Academy graduate, written as a midshipman on board the U. S. S. Congress. The journal contains the author's reasons for entering the Navy, information and opinions of Naval officers concerning the U.S. Naval Academy and its graduates, and definitions of duties of a seaman on a ship. The reverse side contains law lectures. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1071.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War

Anonymous Confederate letter, 1861 July 3. 1 item. Location: Misc.:A Letter written from New Orleans, Louisiana describing a method of blocking the Mississippi River to federal military boats. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2899.

Anonymous letters, 1861. 3 items. Location: Misc.:A. Letters from Vermont Representative William W. B_____, attending a session of the state legislature, relating accounts of personal and official activities to his wife. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2112.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War

Anonymous Letters, 1861-1863. 8 items. Location: Misc. Letters of a private serving in the 18th New York Volunteers written from Camp King, Little River Turnpike, Camp Jackson, and White Oak Church, Virginia, to Cousin Eliza of Waterford, New York. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2449.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War

Anonymous scrapbook, 1861-1936. 2 vols (on microfilm). Location: Mss. Mf.:A. Miscellaneous newspaper clippings collected mainly from newspapers in New Orleans and Natchez include materials relative to Reconstruction, the impeachment of President Andrew Johnson, the Chicago fire of 1871, and steamboats. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2554.

Anonymous Civil War letter, 1863 April 13. 1 item (4 pages). Location: Misc.:A. Union soldier's letter from Baton Rouge to his sister Ann relating details of his present situation and his impression of the local population, of Baton Rouge, and of nearby plantations. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3309.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Civil War, Baton Rouge

Anonymous Civil War letter, 1863 April 18. 2 items. Location: Misc.:A Letter from a Union camp in Baton Rouge describing camp life and mentioning the siege of Port Hudson. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2824.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War, Baton Rouge

Anonymous Civil War letter, 1863 June 19. 1 item. Location: Misc.:A. Union army soldier. Letter discussing the Union siege at Vicksburg, Mississippi, trench visits from Confederate soldiers, artillery techniques, and camp life. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3245.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War

Anonymous Civil War letter, 1863. 1 item. Location: Misc.:A Letter from a teacher in North Carolina to his parents in Richmond, Virginia, telling of his work as a mechanic in order to avoid the Confederate conscript law. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1452.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War, Education

Pages