Manuscript Resources on The Civil War

This guide describes collections documenting the Civil War in the Lower Mississippi Valley, including the states of Louisiana, Mississippi, Arkansas, Tennessee, and Texas, in the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections (LLMVC) at LSU. The guide includes not only materials from the war years (1861-1865) themselves, but also materials from later periods containing manuscript sources for Civil War history. Thus such sources as post-war reminiscences and records of veterans' groups--materials dealing with the war as memory and experience--will be found alongside soldiers' and civilians' letters, diaries, and daybooks from the war itself. In addition, the guide includes collections of papers of Louisiana and other area soldiers who fought outside of the Lower Mississippi Valley.

LSU's holdings of Civil War manuscripts make LLMVC a rich treasure-trove for researchers. Many researchers are studying these documents from new perspectives, to see what they have to tell us about women's experiences on the home front and about Louisiana's African Americans, a significant number of whom fought for the Union. Louisiana played a central role in the war, with the fall of Port Hudson in July 1863 a critical event. Much of the state was long occupied by Union forces, and LLMVC contains the papers of numerous Union as well as Confederate soldiers. Other areas of strength include materials documenting the siege of Vicksburg, the Battle of Shiloh, and the Red River campaign.

Displaying 111 - 120 of 1035. Show 5 | 10 | 20 | 40 | 60 results per page.

Blair, Frank P. (Frank Preston) 1821-1875. Letter 1866 July 15. 1 item. Location: Union officer and statesman; associate of Andrew Jackson and confidant of Lincoln. Letter from Blair to John Bigelow, U.S. Minister to France, introducing a Civil War Medal of Honor winner, General Adelbert Ames. Blair requests Bigelow's friendly aid for him. The letter refers to Ames' gallant conduct in battle, explaining that he traveled to France to observe the French Army. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3666.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Civil War

Blake, George. Letters, 1861-1863. 8 letters. Location: MISC:B. George Blake, son of Robert Blake and Eliza Judson, was born and lived in Waterford, New York before enlisting into Company H of the 18th New York Infantry at Albany, New York on May 7, 1861.  This collection contains eight letters from George Blake to his second cousin, Eliza Button, during Blake’s service in the Civil War written from 1861 to 1863.  Topics discussed include the moral standing of soldiers, the movements of his company, his ambitions for advancement, maneuvers and confrontations with the rebels, aspects of camp life, and Blake and Button's potential suitors. Mss. 2449.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War

Blanchard, A.H. Papers 1870-1892. 6 items. Location: 14, A:2. Surgeon on staff of the 3rd Regiment Massachusetts Volunteer Cavalry. Papers are comprised of affidavits and letters written to Dr. Blanchard concerning long term disabilities suffered by soldiers, who had become ill at Port Hudson, La. during the Teche campaign in 1863. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3615.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War, Medicine

Blanchard, D. A. Receipts, 1863. 3 items. Location: Misc.:B. Confederate captain during the Civil War. Receipts for payment of Blanchard's wages by G. Barksdale, captain and assistant quartermaster, at Richmond, Virginia. Available on microfilm 5735: Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reel 3. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2142.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War

Boardman, J. G. Letter, 1862 April 8. 1 item (2 leaves). Location: Misc:B. Union soldier in the Civil War. Letter written from Camp Taylor, near Huntsville, Alabama, to Boardman's brother comments on the town of Huntsville and its residents and reports that some of the local residents were arrested and held for the good behavior of the rest. It also describes the departure of Boardman's unit from Tuscumbia, and their burning of bridges to cut off Confederate travel and communication by road. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3092.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War

Boggs, William R., 1829-1911. Reminiscences, 1891. 3 items [photocopies]. Brigadier general of the Confederate army and chief of staff of the Trans-Mississippi Department from November 1862 until the end of the Civil War. Boggs' reminiscences, written in 1891 at the age of 62, cover the entire period of the war, from the election of 1860 until his surrender in June 1865. Also included are two obituary notices from Boston and New Orleans. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3058.

Bond of James Graham, Marshal, 1863. 1 item. Location: MISC:B. Surety bond issued for Graham and his deputies, one of which was Michael Hahn. He was appointed U.S. Marshal of the Eastern District of Louisiana in May 1863. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4006.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War

Bond, Priscilla Munnikhuysen. Papers, 1858-1908 (bulk 1858-1866). 98 items, 3 volumes, 16 microfiche. Location: B:15, OS:B, MICROFICHE 2729. Resident of Terrebonne Parish, Louisiana. Collection consists of correspondence, diaries, poems, and photographs. Diaries record Bond's daily activities and observations relating to plantation life, runaway slaves, social activities, hypnotism, and Civil War experiences and thoughts, including participation by African American soldiers. Available on microfilm 5750: America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reel 33. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2155.

Bonner, Samuel C. Family Papers, 1772-1886 (bulk 1808-1886). 172 items. Location: UU:111. Cotton planter of Pickens County, Alabama. Papers include family correspondence describing antebellum and post-bellum social conditions in Alabama, South Carolina, Mississippi, and Louisiana, including education at the University of Alabama and news about the Civil War and Reconstruction. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1472, 1507.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War, Education

Bonny, P. L. Papers, 1862-1864. 18 items. Location: Misc.:B. Confederate lieutenant who was commandant of the post at Lake Shore, Mandeville, St. Tammany Parish, Louisiana, during the Civil War. Papers consist of special orders and related items pertaining to the destruction of cotton, blockade runners, conscription, and an incident entailing a threat by a U.S. gunboat to fire on the town of Mandeville. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1435.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War

Pages