Manuscript Resources on The Civil War

This guide describes collections documenting the Civil War in the Lower Mississippi Valley, including the states of Louisiana, Mississippi, Arkansas, Tennessee, and Texas, in the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections (LLMVC) at LSU. The guide includes not only materials from the war years (1861-1865) themselves, but also materials from later periods containing manuscript sources for Civil War history. Thus such sources as post-war reminiscences and records of veterans' groups--materials dealing with the war as memory and experience--will be found alongside soldiers' and civilians' letters, diaries, and daybooks from the war itself. In addition, the guide includes collections of papers of Louisiana and other area soldiers who fought outside of the Lower Mississippi Valley.

LSU's holdings of Civil War manuscripts make LLMVC a rich treasure-trove for researchers. Many researchers are studying these documents from new perspectives, to see what they have to tell us about women's experiences on the home front and about Louisiana's African Americans, a significant number of whom fought for the Union. Louisiana played a central role in the war, with the fall of Port Hudson in July 1863 a critical event. Much of the state was long occupied by Union forces, and LLMVC contains the papers of numerous Union as well as Confederate soldiers. Other areas of strength include materials documenting the siege of Vicksburg, the Battle of Shiloh, and the Red River campaign.

Displaying 1021 - 1030 of 1030. Show 5 | 10 | 20 | 40 | 60 results per page.

Wray, David M., Letter [1863]. 1 item. Location: Misc:W. Private in Company K of the 19th Kentucky Infantry Regiment promoted to 1st Sergeant. Letter from Milliken's Bend, La., mentions work on Grant's Canal, harsh treatment of contrabands and pending conscription law. Refers to family acquaintance in Confederate army. Letter is dated March 14, 1862, but describes events of 1863. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4318.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War

Wyckoff, Elias. Correspondence, 1862-1863. 11 items. Location: Misc.:W. Farmer from Jasper, Steuben County, New York, and a member of the 161st New York Volunteers in the Civil War, serving with an ambulance corps. Exchange of letters between Wyckoff and his wife refers to the military situation in Baton Rouge and Port Hudson, Louisiana. Wyckoff comments on his duties as an ambulance driver. His wife writes of money scarcity, farm problems, and life in Jasper. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1396, 1428, 1437.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Civil War, Baton Rouge, Medicine

Wyman, U. S. Letter, 1864 March 11. 1 item. Location: Misc.:W. Union army soldier in the Civil War. Letter from New Orleans pertains to personal health and military duties. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3032.

Wynkoop, Richard Letter, 1864. 1 item. Location: Misc:W. A native of New Jersey, Wynkoop was a lawyer living in New York City during the Civil War. Letter outlines Wynkoop's stance on the issues of abolition and rebellion. For further information, see online catalog. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4078.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War, African Americans

Wynne, Michael D. Collection, 1827-1976. 5 linear ft. Location: U:34-35, P:19, 5:31-31, Vault MRDF 6, Vault:1, Vault 5, Vault:25. Resident of Lafayette, Louisiana, and collector of historical materials on south Louisiana history and culture. Collection includes papers of planters, Civil War soldiers, politicians, and professionals. It contains letters, Confederate currency, sheet music, photographs, newspaper clippings, and scrapbooks documenting New Orleans, Baton Rouge, Lafayette, and surrounding parishes. Also included are papers of the Mayer Brass Band of Opelousas, Louisiana (1892-1909). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3053.

Yawyer, Peter H. Letter, 1863 January 10. 1 item. Location: Misc.:Y. Union soldier of the 75th New York Infantry stationed at Camp Stevens near Thibodaux, Louisiana. Letter from Yawyer to his brother in New York commenting on Confederate guerilla activities, civilian morale, the general attitude of freed slaves and the effectiveness of black troops. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2735.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War, African Americans

Yeatman, Scott, 1838-1931. Family papers, 1860-1885 (bulk 1860-1863). 18 items. Location: Misc. Scott Yeatman of Glendale, Ohio, and Leonida "Nida" George of Dayton, Ohio, married on October 1, 1861. Her brother, Augustus George, served with the 5th Indiana Cavalry Regiment during the Civil War. Many of these letters were written by Augustus George to Scott & Leonida Yeatman and his mother, Anna Fulton George, describing military life during the Civil War. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4363.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War

Yost, William, 1841-1910. Civil War diary, 1863-1864. 1 diary. Location: Misc. William Yost enlisted with the 104th Ohio Infantry Regiment, organized at Massillon, Ohio, on August 4, 1862. This typescript of William Yost's diary records rations and clothing issued to men in his company; camp life; experiences marching through Kentucky, Tennessee, and Virginia; and other events. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4550.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War

Young, Robert Thomas, 1812-1890. Family Papers, 1793-1927 (bulk 1830-1890). 0.5 linear ft. Location: E:35, OS:Y. Cotton planter of the Plains in upper East Baton Rouge Parish. Correspondence, legal documents, financial papers, slave lists and bill of sale, personal papers, and printed items document the lives of the Young family. Included are letters written during the Civil War by Robert's sister-in-law, Julia. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4548.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Women, Civil War, African Americans

Zackman, William. Letters, 1862-1863. 2 items. Location: Misc.:Z. Union soldier from Maine encamped at Baton Rouge and Port Hudson, Louisiana. Zackman's letters to family members, showing the enthusiastic reaction of a Northerner to southern scenery and tropical foods upon his arrival in Baton Rouge and later his disgust with the Louisiana climate and the hardships of military life. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1418.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War, Baton Rouge

Pages