Manuscript Resources on The Civil War

This guide describes collections documenting the Civil War in the Lower Mississippi Valley, including the states of Louisiana, Mississippi, Arkansas, Tennessee, and Texas, in the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections (LLMVC) at LSU. The guide includes not only materials from the war years (1861-1865) themselves, but also materials from later periods containing manuscript sources for Civil War history. Thus such sources as post-war reminiscences and records of veterans' groups--materials dealing with the war as memory and experience--will be found alongside soldiers' and civilians' letters, diaries, and daybooks from the war itself. In addition, the guide includes collections of papers of Louisiana and other area soldiers who fought outside of the Lower Mississippi Valley.

LSU's holdings of Civil War manuscripts make LLMVC a rich treasure-trove for researchers. Many researchers are studying these documents from new perspectives, to see what they have to tell us about women's experiences on the home front and about Louisiana's African Americans, a significant number of whom fought for the Union. Louisiana played a central role in the war, with the fall of Port Hudson in July 1863 a critical event. Much of the state was long occupied by Union forces, and LLMVC contains the papers of numerous Union as well as Confederate soldiers. Other areas of strength include materials documenting the siege of Vicksburg, the Battle of Shiloh, and the Red River campaign.

Displaying 1001 - 1010 of 1035. Show 5 | 10 | 20 | 40 | 60 results per page.

Whittlesey, George W. Letters, 1862-1863. 6 items. Location: Misc.:W. Lieutenant colonel of the Thirteenth Connecticut Volunteers serving under General Nathaniel Banks during the First Red River Campaign. Letters from Thibodaux, Baton Rouge, Brashear City (now Morgan City), Alexandria, and New Orleans, Louisiana, to his cousin Eliza in Waterford, New York. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2449.

Wilbor, George W. Letter, 1863 Jan. 25. 1 item. Location: Misc.:W. Union soldier. Letter from a camp opposite Vicksburg about the taking the Arkansas Post, the behavior of soldiers, and the conditions of civilians in the settlement. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3328.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War

Wildbahn, Ann D. Letter, 1867 October 16. 1 item. Location: Misc:W. Letter written by Ann Wildbahn relating the effects of the Civil War on her neighbors and neighborhood; postwar conditions in Travis County, Texas; and the presence of military rule in Austin, Texas. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3666.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Civil War

Wildman, John Hazard. Papers, 1849-1991 (bulk 1932-1980). 14.5 linear ft. Location Z:16-24, Vault:1, OS:W. John Hazard Wildman was a Professor of English at LSU from 1940-1981. His great-uncle, John Boylston Hazard, served as Captain of the 24th Alabama Infantry, Company I during the Civil War. Papers include correspondence, manuscripts, and printed material documenting Wildman's career in teaching and writing. Manuscripts consist of novels, short stories, essays, and poems, both published and unpublished. Diaries and personal correspondence describe Wildman's military service during WWII, as well as that of John Boylston Hazard during the Civil War. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1966, 1967, 2010, 2095, 2169, 2237, 2249, 2371, 2437.

Wilkinson, Micajah. Papers, 1853-1935 (bulk 1855-1880). .3 linear ft. (116 items, 33 printed vols.). Location: E:39. Farmer of Liberty, Amite County, Mississippi. Personal correspondence of Wilkinson and his wife. Letters from Nancy Willard and her granddaughter provide information about religion, the temperance movement, agriculture, race relations, and community events in Collinsburg, Bossier Parish, Louisiana. Civil War correspondence describes camp life in Mississippi, Confederate conscription, the battle at Shiloh, hardships on women, and the siege of Vicksburg. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 707.

William Death Voucher, 1865 June 19. Location: W. A voucher issued for wages paid to William Death, the cook of the Natchez, Miss., prison. A. S. Mitchell signed the voucher. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 5056.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War, Natchez, Mississippi

Williams, T. Harry (Thomas Harry), 1909-, Papers. 1,174 items, 40 linear ft., 15 vols., 50 sound cassettes. Location: 34-; Mss. Mf.:W; OS:W; Vault:81. Boyd Professor of History at LSU. Professional papers include correspondence relative to publications, teaching, research, and lectures; and manuscripts of textbooks and scholarly publications, including his Pulitzer Prize-winning biography, "Huey Long." Research materials, which comprise a large portion of this collection, contain notes, note cards, legal documents, and clippings pertaining to the Civil War, major Civil War figures, U.S. history, military history, and Louisiana governor and senator, Huey P. Long. Included are Civil War correspondence and diaries (most are transcripts or copies), speeches of Huey P. Long, and oral history interviews relating to Long. Audio cassette tapes are available for speeches and some interviews. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2489, 2510.

Williams, T. Harry (Thomas Harry), 1909-1979. Manuscripts, 1952, 1961, 1964. 9 items. Location: 34. Boyd Professor of History at LSU. Typescript, galley proofs, and plate proof of LINCOLN AND HIS GENERALS (New York, 1952). Manuscripts for three of four chapters of ROMANCE AND REALISM IN SOUTHERN POLITICS (1961); the chapter on the Civil War in the CAMBRIDGE MODERN HISTORY; and LINCOLN THE MILITARY STRATEGIST and Chapters XXI through XI and related bibliography of volume I, of A HISTORY OF THE UNITED STATES. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1964, 2158.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Civil War, LSU, Literature

Williams, T. Harry (Thomas Harry), 1909-1979. Lecture video tapes, 1978. 63 VHS videocassettes. Location: AA:. A distinguished historian, prolific writer, and dynamic lecturer, Williams taught American history at LSU from 1941 until his retirement in 1979. These video tapes record lectures on the Civil War delivered by T. Harry Williams at Louisiana State University during the fall semester 1978. They are arranged chronologically by date of lecture. Mss. 4084.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War, LSU

Williams, Thomas Harry, 1909-1979. Papers, 1861-1971. 40 linear ft., 15 vols., 50 sound cassettes. Location: 34:, OS:W, Mss. Mf.:W, Vault. Boyd Professor of History at LSU. Professional papers include correspondence relative to publications, teaching, research, and lectures; and manuscripts of textbooks and scholarly publications, including his Pulitzer Prize-winning biography, "Huey Long." For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2489, 2510.

Pages