Manuscript Resources on The Civil War

Causey, R. J. Correspondence, 1863. 4 items. Location: Misc:C. Letters from Causey's wife comment on a riot near Tickfaw involving African Americans, Tangipahoa Parish, Louisiana; Confederate farm taxes; and transportation difficulties of sending cotton to Baton Rouge. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2133.

Chadbourne, Danville S. Letters, 1862-1863. 13 items. Location: C:72. Private in the 22nd Maine Infantry in the Civil War. Chadbourne's letters relate his experiences while stationed in Louisiana as part of General Nathaniel Banks' army at Baton Rouge, Donaldsonville, Morgan City, Washington, and Port Hudson. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1128.

Chaille, Stanford. Stock certificate, 1862. 1 item. Location: Misc. Stock certificate for thirty shares in the capital stock of the Bank of Louisiana to Dr. Stanford Chaille. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1187.

Chalmers, James R. (James Ronald), 1831-1898. Letter, 1861 [sic.1862] January 3. 1 item. Location: Misc:C. Confederate general and United States congressman. Letter to Major General Braxton Bragg written while Chalmers was a colonel in the 9th Mississippi Regiment acknowledges on behalf of the officers of the unit receipt of a barrel of golden syrup from Mrs. Bragg. Available on microfilm 5735: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reel 3. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2699.

Chambers, Rowland. Diaries, 1849-1863. 7 vols. Location: U:25. Itinerant dentist from Vicksburg, Mississippi. Chambers practiced dentistry in various places, including Yazoo County, Mississippi, and Madison Parish, Louisiana. Six diaries cover the period 1849-1863 and describe Chambers's activities in North St. Louis, New Orleans, Panama City, Yazoo County, Mississippi, and Madison Parish, Louisiana. The diary from 1862-1863 describes experiences in Vicksburg and includes an account of the siege of Vicksburg. Collection also includes a diary of Augustus Lattz of the 76th Illinois Regiment. Available on microfilm 5735: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reels 3-4. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 839.

Chandler, E. H. Letter, 1861 May 30. 1 item. Location: Misc. Agent of R. F. & P. Railroad Company. Letter from Confederate Army Headquarters, Fredericksburg, Virginia, instructing Chandler to report to the mayor of Fredericksburg the arrival by railroad of all suspicious persons and to detain them for questioning by military authorities. Included are instructions about the issuance of railroad passes to soldiers. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2487.

Chandler, Zachariah. Papers, 1861-1864. Microfilm. Location: Mss. Mf.:C. U.S. Radical Republican senator from Michigan. Papers consist of letters from Chandler during the Civil War and correspondence of politicians and generals. The microfilm represents part of the Chandler papers in the Library of Congress. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 746.

Chickamauga and Chattanooga National Military Park Commission: Louisiana Commission. Photographs, 1900. 29 items. Location: W:52. Albumen prints of photographs of the Chickamauga-Chattanooga National Military Park. Mss. 4504.

Chinn, Jane McCausland. Civil War reminiscence, 1863. 1 item [16 pages, typescript copy]. Location: Misc. Mistress of Fair Oaks Plantation, West Baton Rouge Parish, Louisiana, and widow of Cabell Breckinridge Chinn. Reminiscences taken from her diary record encounters with Union soldiers and the burning of grain stores. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2647.

Chisolm, A. R. Document, 1861.1 item [typewritten copy]. Location: Misc. Confederate colonel under the command of General P.G.T. Beauregard during the Civil War. Journal records events before and during the bombardment of Fort Sumber. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 764.

Christian, Bickham. Collection, 1804-1863, 1953-1957. 13 items, 11vols. Location: U:115. Genealogical and historical materials, including muster rolls and military service records, collected for research on the Florida Parishes of Louisiana and the Bickham and related families.. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2432.

Christie, William J. Letters, 1862. 4 items. Location: Misc:C. Union soldier in the Civil War probably from Minnesota. Letters to Christie's brother written from Corinth, Mississippi, comment on the occupation of Corinth by Union troops; camp life; the landscape and people of Corinth and Alcorn County; Union troop movements; and the Battle of Shiloh. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3245.

Civil War extras, 1861-1864. 2 items. Location: EPHEMERA COLLECTION SUBGROUP II. Newspaper extras from the VICKSBURG WHIG summarizing news events from New York to Tennessee for June-July 1861, and from Amite, Louisiana containing the latest news in the South obtained by telegrams from newspaper offices and correspondents. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3705.

Civil War letters, 1861-1866. 21 items. Location: Misc:C. Letters from Union soldiers describing military life principally in the Virginia area but also in Vicksburg, Mississippi. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 983.

Civil War New Orleans orphanages receipts, 1863. 2 items. Location: Misc:C. Handwritten receipts of payment from the U.S. Army, Department of the Gulf, to the Female Orphan Asylum and St. Vincent's Infant Asylum, two orphanages run by the Catholic Church in New Orleans. The items reflect the nature of interaction between Federal occupation forces and the local population. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3913.

Civil War officer letter, 1863 Mar. 30. 1 item. Location: Misc:C. Letter from officer stationed near Vicksburg, Mississippi, to his sister. He praises common soldiers as true patriots, and describes the negative effects of war on the morality of both soldiers and civilians. He encourages his sister in her educational pursuits. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3941.

Civil War photograph album, 1862-1900 (bulk 1862-1864). 137 photographic prints [2.5 x 4 in.], 31 photograph prints [8 x 10 in.], 1 volume. Location: M:31. Album containing photographs of Civil War military personnel, including private soldiers and officers, mostly Confederate. Many of the individuals depicted are identified. Includes photographs of Jefferson Davis, P. G. T. Beauregard, and J. E. B. Stuart. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2572.

Civil War quartermaster receipt, 1863 September 3. 1 item. Location: Misc.C. Quartermaster receipt for purchase of materials for the Female Orphan Asylum in New Orleans. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3365.

Clark, Charles and family. Papers, 1829-1973 (bulk 1851-1936). 1.1 linear ft. Location: UU:254, 65:2, OS:C. Judge of the Superior Court of Santa Clara County, California; married to Emma Fowler of New Orleans, Louisiana. Papers of the related Fowler, Nutt, Macbeth, and Clark families. They consist of personal and family correspondence, legal papers of Nathaniel W. Fowler and John Slidell, writings, photographs, printed items, ephemera, and the travel journal of Charles Clark. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3982.

Clark, E., Jr. Letter, 1860 Nov. 16. 1 letter. Location: Misc. E. Clark Jr. in New York, N.Y., writes the Hon. R. Bacon regarding the use of guano as fertilizer and the possible secession of South Carolina. Mss. 4079.

Clarke, Powhatan. Diary, 1862-1863. 1 vol. Location: M:18. Surgeon, professor of chemistry, and aide-de-camp to Brigadier General D. M. Frost during the Civil War. Colonel David French Boyd was a captain of engineers on General Richard Taylor's staff (1863). Diary includes Clarke's round trip from Rapides Parish, Louisiana, to Camden, Arkansas. Later entries by Boyd include his military and topographical notes of the area between Sicily Island, Catahoula Parish, and Waterproof, Tensas Parish, Louisiana. Available on microfilm 5735: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reel 4. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 893.

Clary, Hiram T. Papers, 1862-1889. 9 items. Location: Misc:C. Surgeon and physician of the 32nd Illinois Volunteer Infantry Regiment, Co. K. Papers include military records concerning promotions; orders to report to Vicksburg, Mississippi, and Little Rock, Arkansas; discharge paper (1864); and a notice from the pension office. Also included is a copy of a document admitting Clary to the degree of a master mason. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 361.

Cleaveland, John P. Letter, 1865 May 2. 1 letter. Location: Misc.: C. Civil War chaplain. John Cleaveland gives a brief account of his military activities from his enlistment to the surrender of New Orleans to Gen. Benjamin Butler. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3868.

Close, John. Papers, 1802-1872 (bulk 1802-1859). 325 items. Location: U:330. Contractor's agent for the United States Army post at Opelousas and a cotton planter of Petit Bois Plantation, Port Barre, St. Landry Parish, Louisiana. Correspondence includes letters from New Orleans merchants concerning orders for supplies and other business at the Army post. Plantation papers consist mostly of correspondence of cotton factors in New Orleans. Personal papers include correspondence from Kentucky and Mississippi and genealogical information about the Chauvin family. Correspondence chiefly in French. Available on microfilm 5322: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 2, Reels 17-18. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1646.

Coco family. Papers, circa 1885-2009 (bulk 1964-2008). 12 linear ft., 1 compact disc. Location: AA:, OS:C, X:4-13. Residents of Mansura, Avoyelles Parish, Louisiana. Materials include personal and professional correspondence, printed items, personal papers, recordings (available for access on compact disc), and photographic items. Personal correspondence pertains primarily to the lives of Merlin, Lucy, Greg, and Linda. Major topics include family life and local matters in Mansura, the education of Greg and Lucy, and Greg's enlistment in the U.S. Army and activities in Vietnam during the Vietnam War. Professional correspondence documents mostly Greg's career as a park ranger in Gettysburg. Printed items, personal papers, and photographic items pertain chiefly to Coco family history and the lives of the aforementioned Coco family members. Recordings were created by Greg while in Vietnam and document his experiences there. Mss. 5019.

Cogswell, William. Letter: to Samuel A. Christie, 1889.1 item. Location: Misc:C. Brigadier general of the 2nd Massachusetts Infantry Regiment in the Civil War. Letter recounts the capture of Confederate guerillas (1862) in Virginia during Cogswell's command. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2874.

Cohn Brothers. Store ledgers, 1902-1936. 5 vols. Location: G:22. Store in Lorman, Mississippi, founded in 1875 by the Cohn Brothers, a family of Jewish merchants from Alsace. Ledgers include one store account book and four cotton gin books containing names and cotton weight records. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4679.

Colbert, William Williams, 1807-1890. Family correspondence, 1859-1877 (bulk 1861-1864). 16 letters. Location: Misc. William Williams Colbert and his family settled in Bienville Parish, La., in 1849. This correspondence by William Williams Colbert, Richard Colbert, William Bonaparte Colbert, Georgia Alabama Colbert, and Nicholas John Sandlin primarily dates from the time of the Civil War and mostly describes campaigns around Virginia. Mss. 4119.

Coleman, John P. Collection, 1856-1971, undated (bulk 1861-1968). 1 linear foot. Location: 1:55, OS:C. Materials collected by a former municipal judge and mayor of a small town in Mississippi. Collection consists of correspondence, campaign materials, flyers, pamphlets, brochures, and other printed materials relating to Mississippi politics, politicians, integration, and segregation. Also contains Confederate materials such as letters and Confederate veterans publications. Photographs in this collection are mostly of Mississippi governors along with three presidential photographs. Mss. 3711.

Columbus (Miss.) Petition, 1863. 1 item. Location: Misc:C. Petition from citizens of Columbus, Miss., requesting that Confederate Brigadier General Daniel Ruggles, commander the Department of Mississippi, order all able men to enroll in Confederate service. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4105.

Concordia Parish records, 1794-1896 (bulk 1800-1860). 235 items, 8 volumes. Location: U:26, F:12, OS:C. Official records documenting the history and development of Concordia Parish. Includes payrolls of Louisiana military units in the War of 1812, the Mexican War, and the Civil War, and 38 maps of the lower Mississippi Valley. Photocopies of military pay rolls made from originals in the National Archives and copies of maps made from originals chiefly in the Library of Congress. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 55, 79.

Confederate military report, 1862.1 item. Location: Misc:C. Report recording battles and skirmishes around Richmond, Va. rans Scrapbooks. Available on microfilm 5735: UPA Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reel 4. For more information, see online catalog. Mss. 1114.

Confederate newspaper clippings, 1862 January-April. 8 items. Location: E:Imprints.Clippings of dispatches from Confederate newspapers announcing political and military news prior to the surrender of New Orleans. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1919.

Confederate song sheet, 1861. 1 item. Location: E:Imprints. Song sheet of a "Southern Wagon" printed on an unused leaf of a blank receipt book, used for the sale of slaves in the 1850s. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2752.

Confederate States Army Collection, 1863-1865, 106 items. Location: E:84, F:12, OS:C.. The Confederate States Army Collection contains orders, muster rolls, and other records created by various Confederate Army organizations and officers between 1861 and 1867. Most of the organizational records were produced by Louisiana regiments. The bulk of the collection is the papers of Major John Reid, a former Congressman from Missouri and leader of a company of Confederate volunteers, concerning the commissary supplies in Louisiana and Texas during the war. Available on microfilm 5735: University Publications of America, Confederate Military Manuscripts. Series B, Holdings of Louisiana State University, reels 3-4. For further information, see online catalog. Mss 23, 247, 365, etc.

Confederate States of America. Army. Louisiana Infantry Regiment, 4th. Fourth Louisiana Regiment muster rolls, 1861 August 31-October 31. 11 items. Location: OS:Confederate. Muster rolls for companies in the Fourth Regiment record payroll information and list names of members, dates of their enlistment, and absences. The muster rolls are signed by the regiment's assistant quartermaster, J. G. Kilbourne. Available on microfilm 5735: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reel 21. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 23.

Confederate States of America. Army. Louisiana Infantry Regiment, 16th. Muster and pay rolls, 1862-1863. 22 items. Location: OS:C. John W. Addison and Robert P. Oliver were captains of Companies D and H of the 16th Louisiana Infantry during the Civil War. Rolls of Company D, signed by John W. Addison, and rolls of Company H, signed by Robert P. Oliver, document the companies' service in Mississippi, Tennessee, and Georgia. Available on microfilm 5735: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reel 4. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 587.

Confederate States of America. Army. Louisiana Cavalry Regiment, 3rd. Muster roll, 1862 August 15-October 31. 1 item (2 leaves) [photostatic copy]. Location: E:84. H. Gibbs was a captain in the 3rd Louisiana Cavalry Regiment during the Civil War. This regiment was commanded by Colonel J. Frank Pargond. Muster roll records the company's payroll, names of members and their absences. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 884.

Confederate States of America. Army. Louisiana Cavalry Regiment, 2nd. Company A. Notebook, 1863-1865. 1 vol. [typewritten copy]. Location: F:12. Notebook kept by a clerk or adjutant of the 2nd Louisiana Cavalry (also called Vincent's Volunteers), contains muster and payroll notes, notes of clothing issued and furloughs received, detailed service memoranda, and miscellaneous notes. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 585.

Confederate States of America. Army. List of officers, 1864.1 item. Location: E:84. . A list of Confederate officers employed in the office of the Provost Marshal, Richmond, Virginia, signed by provost J. H. Carrington. Available on microfilm: UPA Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reel 3. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 247.

Confederate States of America. Army. Georgia Infantry Regiment, 17th. Company E. Muster roll, 1864 February 29-April 30.1 item. Location: E:84. Muster roll, signed by Captain Joshua N. Tyus, records the company's payroll and lists names and absences of company members. Available on microfilm: UPA Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reel 3. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 521.

Confederate States of America. Dept. of the Treasury. Report of the second auditor of the treasury to the Congress of the Confederate States, 1864 Nov. 11. 1 item. Location: Misc.:R. Handwritten report by W. H. S. Taylor, second auditor of the Confederate Department of the Treasury, to the Confederate Congress pertaining to a claim submitted by the State of Louisiana requesting reimbursement for expenses incurred for war preparations. The auditor concludes that the state is owed less than the amount requested. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4203.

Confederate States of America. Louisiana Cavalry Regiment, 8th. Muster rolls and plan, 1865. 12 items. Location: E:84. Available on microfilm 5735: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reel 3. Field, staff, and band member rolls for 8th Louisiana Cavalry, Companies A-I and K, in the Civil War. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1059.

Confederate States of America Army Collection. Treasury department circular, 1861 August 22. Location: E:84. 1 printed item. Circular issued by Carl G. Memminger, Secretary of the Treasury, for the purpose of selling bonds in order to raise revenues. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2785.

Confederate States of America Army, Louisiana Heavy Artillery, 1st Regiment Guard Book, 1861. 1 vol. (on microfilm). Location: Mss. Mf:U. United States Army, Louisiana Heavy Artillery, 1st Regiment served at Forts Jackson and St. Philip below New Orleans (La.) in 1861-1862. Guard book details sentences and punishments given to regimental prisoners at Fort Jackson, La. Lists names of the gaurds on duty and names of prisoners. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4910.

Confederate States of America Collection. Quartermaster's department, 1861-1862. 3 items. Location: E:64. Letter to the president of the New Orleans, Jackson and Great Northern Railroad Company requesting someone to handle transportation accounts. Circular on the issuance of transportation coupons to soldiers who re-enlist for military service. Also a letter to H. J. Ranney, Confederate major in New Orleans, requesting assistance for replacement of two engines on the East Tennessee and Georgia Railroad. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2133.

Confederate States of America Collection, 1861-1865, 1915, 1917. 22 items. Location:E:64, OS:C. Collection consists of correspondence and records relating to affairs of the government of the Confederate States of America. Records concern to economic conditions, the Confederate flag, the courts, and procurement of railway equipment and guns. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 80, 893, 1187, 2133, 2142, 2527.

Confederate States of America Collection. Department no. 1. Letter. 1862 February 25. 1 item. Location: E:64. Joseph G. Pickett, Acting Adjutant General, New Orleans. Letter to Major Rainy, president, New Orleans, Jackson, and Great Northern Railroad, requesting assistance in obtaining guns from the Bennett and Surget foundry. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2133.

Confederate States of America Collection. Army department of Western Louisiana, 1864. 1 item [printed copy]. Location: E:64. Correspondence between E. Warren Moise, Judge of the Confederate Court, Natchitoches, Louisiana, and Lieutenant General S. B. Buckner, Commander of the Department of Western Louisiana, Alexandria, relating to the trial and execution of a soldier. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2527.

Confederate States of America Collection. Tax receipt, 1864-1865.3 items. Location: E:64. Receipts for payment of tax-in-kind of rice, peas, and fodder; and an estimate and assessment of agricultural products of Orangebury County, South Carolina. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2142.

Confederate States of America flag, 1979. 1 item. Location: T:78. Modern replica of a Confederate flag bearing the autograph of T. Harry Williams, LSU Professor of History, for student Wade Becnel. Williams's signature was given on the last day of his last Civil War course in May 1979. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3382.

Confederate States of America. Army. Trans-Mississippi Dept. Bureau of Conscription. General order no. 6, 1863 Aug. 4. 1 item. Location: Misc:C. A printed act of the Confederate States of America Congress with a handwritten order from Brigadier General Elkanah Braken Greer, chief of the Bureau of Conscription, attached. The act repealed certain draft exemptions. The order is signed by William Stedman, a member of Greer's staff. It provides for the detention of persons claiming draft exemptions under section 2 of the act. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4864.

Confederate topographical report of Port Hudson (La.), 1862. 1 item. Location: MISC:C. Report by topographical engineer Leon J. Fremaux to Confederate Brigadier General Daniel Ruggles on topography at Port Hudson as it concerned placement of light artillery. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3921.

Conner, Lemuel Parker and family Papers, 1810-1953, 1985 (bulk 1850-1940). 12.5 linear feet and 28 volumes. Location: AA:, A:106-117, 120-121, 98:C, OS:C, 65: Vault:34, J:24. Planter from Natchez, Mississippi. Papers include correspondence, cotton statements, legal and business papers (including slave testimony in an alleged slave uprising, 1861), plantation records, and Civil War papers of Confederate soldiers and civilians, family letters from LSU and Smith College, and First Presbyterian Church (Natchez) records. Also included are papers of Levin R. Marshall, the Sessions family, and Henry R. Chotard; 256 pieces of published sheet music (1824-1883); a minstrel show program (1879); and miscellaneous programs of Natchez concerts and music recitals. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm 5322: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 3, Reels 14-18. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 81, 1403, 1431, 1475, 1551, 1595, 1710, 1793, 1859, 1934, 1999.

Conrad, Archelus M. Papers, 1861-1890 (bulk 1861-1865). Ca. 100 items. Location: E:41, OS:C. Union officer in command of a Corps d'Afrique Engineers company in Louisiana in the Civil War. Papers include military orders, muster papers, charges of military crimes, and other items relating to the 97th Engineer Regiment. It also includes a carte-de-visite showing Conrad in New Orleans. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4126.

Constable, N. S. Inventory, 1864 December 21. 1 item (4 leaves). Location: Misc:C. Captain and acting quartermaster in the Union army in New Orleans in the Civil War. Inventory of furniture and other articles in a New Orleans residence assigned as quarters for troops by Constable. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 248.

Contraband slaves cartoon, 1862 ca., undated 1 item. Location: E:Imprints. Anonymous cartoon shows contraband slaves fleeing from their master to the sanctuary of Fort Monroe, Virginia. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3032

Conway, Martin Franklin, 1827-1882. Speech of Hon. M.F. Conway of Kansas, delivered in the House of Representatives January 27, 1863, 1863 January 27. 1 printed pamphlet, 15 p.; 23 cm. Location:E:Imprints. United States Representative from Kansas. Speech expresses opposition to the conduct of the Civil War and advocates formal recognition of the independence of the Confederacy as a means of preserving freedom and the distinct identity of the North. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2632.

Cook, Benjamin Franklin, b. 1867. Memorandum, 1948. 1 item. Location: Misc:C. Son of Samuel B. Cook, a member of the Kansas Calvary. William Clark Quantrill was the leader of a band of guerillas with Confederate sympathies in Kansas and Missouri during the Civil War. The band was mustered into the Confederate army in 1862. Memorandum describes the murder of Frank Cook and others by Quantrill near Olathe, Kansas, and Samuel B. Cook's challenge to meet Quantrill in a duel. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2140.

Cooney, John F. Letter, 1862 June 4. 1 letter. Location: Misc. A letter written by John F. Cooney, a Confederate soldier stationed at Camp Moore, Tangipahoa Parish, La., to his family in West Baton Rouge Parish, La., mentions a Federal bombardment of Baton Rouge and asks about family news. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4314.