Manuscript Resources on The Civil War

This guide describes collections documenting the Civil War in the Lower Mississippi Valley, including the states of Louisiana, Mississippi, Arkansas, Tennessee, and Texas, in the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections (LLMVC) at LSU. The guide includes not only materials from the war years (1861-1865) themselves, but also materials from later periods containing manuscript sources for Civil War history. Thus such sources as post-war reminiscences and records of veterans' groups--materials dealing with the war as memory and experience--will be found alongside soldiers' and civilians' letters, diaries, and daybooks from the war itself. In addition, the guide includes collections of papers of Louisiana and other area soldiers who fought outside of the Lower Mississippi Valley.

LSU's holdings of Civil War manuscripts make LLMVC a rich treasure-trove for researchers. Many researchers are studying these documents from new perspectives, to see what they have to tell us about women's experiences on the home front and about Louisiana's African Americans, a significant number of whom fought for the Union. Louisiana played a central role in the war, with the fall of Port Hudson in July 1863 a critical event. Much of the state was long occupied by Union forces, and LLMVC contains the papers of numerous Union as well as Confederate soldiers. Other areas of strength include materials documenting the siege of Vicksburg, the Battle of Shiloh, and the Red River campaign.

Displaying 61 - 65 of 1036. Show 5 | 10 | 20 | 40 | 60 results per page.

Babin, Felix E. Letter, 1862 September 20 and 1915. 2 items. Location: Misc.:B. Letter from Vicksburg, September 20, 1862; and Chamber of Commerce of Quimper and Brest, France, 50 centimes note, 1915. For further information online catalog. Mss. 1876.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War, French

BADGER BULLETIN, 1862 June 14. 1 item [enlargement print, 4 pages]. Location: E:Imprints. Newspaper published by the 3rd Wisconsin Battery during a brief stay at Iuka, Mississippi, contains a history and roster of the battery and notes on Union and Confederate units in the area. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2022.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War

Bagby, Arthur P. Letter, 1905. 1 item. Location: Misc:B. Alabama native, general in Confederate 4th Texas Cavalry, and participant in the Red River Campaign in Louisiana. Letter recounts his military experiences. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3032.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War

Baines, Henry. Papers, 1796-1905. 184 items. Location: C:55, 65:, MSS.MF:LESTER, GEORGE M. Planter of Bains, West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana, and a member of London's Royal College of Surgeons. Baines was related to the McDermott and Maynard families. Collection contains papers and letters of the Baines, McDermott, and Maynard families related to the cotton trade, medical education, the Civil War, and financial dealings. Includes a Spanish land grant of West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm 5735: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reel 1. Part of the George M. Lester Collection. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1209.

Baker, John Wesley. Diary. 1 item. Location:32:80. Mss. 3892.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War

Pages