Manuscript Resources on The Civil War

This guide describes collections documenting the Civil War in the Lower Mississippi Valley, including the states of Louisiana, Mississippi, Arkansas, Tennessee, and Texas, in the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections (LLMVC) at LSU. The guide includes not only materials from the war years (1861-1865) themselves, but also materials from later periods containing manuscript sources for Civil War history. Thus such sources as post-war reminiscences and records of veterans' groups--materials dealing with the war as memory and experience--will be found alongside soldiers' and civilians' letters, diaries, and daybooks from the war itself. In addition, the guide includes collections of papers of Louisiana and other area soldiers who fought outside of the Lower Mississippi Valley.

LSU's holdings of Civil War manuscripts make LLMVC a rich treasure-trove for researchers. Many researchers are studying these documents from new perspectives, to see what they have to tell us about women's experiences on the home front and about Louisiana's African Americans, a significant number of whom fought for the Union. Louisiana played a central role in the war, with the fall of Port Hudson in July 1863 a critical event. Much of the state was long occupied by Union forces, and LLMVC contains the papers of numerous Union as well as Confederate soldiers. Other areas of strength include materials documenting the siege of Vicksburg, the Battle of Shiloh, and the Red River campaign.

Displaying 516 - 520 of 1035. Show 5 | 10 | 20 | 40 | 60 results per page.

Kleinpeter, George, John, and family. Papers, 1786-1911. 32 items. Location: 7:57. The Kleinpeter family emigrated from Germany and eventually settled in East Baton Rouge Parish, Louisiana, where they were farmers. Photocopies of family documents belonging to the George and John Kleinpeter families of Louisiana. These include survey maps, land grants, land transfers, birth and death records, estate papers, receipts, and miscellaneous items. The Sharp family is also mentioned as they relate to the Kleinpeters. Mss. 4897.

Kleinpeter, Joseph and family. Papers, 1803-1895 (bulk 1820-1865). 0.25 linear ft., 2 volumes. Location: C:63, OS:K, J:6, 98:. Sugar planter of Variety Plantation in Iberville Parish, Louisiana. Papers include land records, slave sales, mortgages, and succession documents. A record book includes entries of slave births (1822-1852). There are also Civil War military papers and two Bureau of Refugees labor contracts (1865-1866). Some items in French. Available on microfilm 5322: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 1, Reel 9. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1241.

Klinsk, J. G. Letters, 1864. 2 items. Location: Misc.:K. Captain in the Union army in the Civil War. Letters from Vicksburg, Mississippi, relate to the collection of Confederate cotton stores and to possible corruption of Union officers involved. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2927.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War

Knight, Thomas J. Papers, 3 items. Location: U:186. Biographical sketches of Newton Knight, by his son, Thomas J. Knight, relating to his rudimentary education, the loyalty of Jones County, Mississippi to the Federal government; resistance to the conscription acts of the Confederacy; the organized resistance to Confederate cavalry. Also included is a muster roll and list of engagements of the Knight company. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 495.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War, Education

Knighton, Josiah and family. Papers, 1793-1909 (bulk 1861-1896). 270 items, 4 volumes. Location: E:21. Resident of Clinton, East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. Family member James H. Knighton was a private in the 4th Louisiana Infantry during the Civil War. Personal papers of the Knighton family consist chiefly of correspondence. Civil War letters of James H. Knighton describe Camp Neafus, Camp Lovell, Confederate deserters, campaigns at Vicksburg and Atlanta, and the Battle of Shiloh. Letters (1867-1886) describe the Chinese population of Lake Providence, East Carroll Parish, Reconstruction, and African American voters. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm 5735: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reel 11.For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 651.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War, African Americans

Pages