Manuscript Resources on The Civil War

Louisiana Baptist. Issue, 1864 August 3. 1 item. Location: Nsp. Map cage. Issue includes news of a revival meeting in General John G. Walker's division at Alexandria, and a special order issued by General G. Kirby Smith containing the schedule of prices for articles purchsed by stores of the Confederate government. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 893.

Louisiana Military Commissioner collection, 1864. 132 items. Location: UU:78. Reports of sick and wounded in Georgia, including Andersonville, and Alabama hospitals. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1357.

Louisiana militia document, 1863 May 29. 1 item. Location: Misc.:L. Anonymous Civil War report from the headquarters of the Louisiana Army, District of North Louisiana at Natchitoches, to the Adjutant General's Office outlining reasons for the failure to secure state troops as ordered. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2142.

Louisiana ordinance of secession, 1861 Jan. 26. 1 ordinance. Location: OS:L. The 130 delegates to the Louisiana secession convention assembled in Baton Rouge on January 23, 1861. On January 26, 1861, it voted 113 to 17 to secede immediately. The Louisiana ordinance of secession is inscribed by hand on a single sheet of vellum, approximately 30 x 24 in., with text written in two columns in both English and French, and bearing 132 signatures. These are positive and negative photocopies made in 1938. In English and French. Mss. 263.

Louisiana secession document, 1861. 1 item [photocopy]. Location: Map cage. Ordinance of Secession of the State of Louisiana adopted by the Louisiana Secession Convention, January 26, 1861, and signed by the assembled delegates. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 263.

Louisiana State Depositary. Journal, 1861 January-April. 1 vol. Location: OS:L. State depositary created in 1861 to administer the funds in the Sub-Treasury of the United States in New Orleans after the secession of Louisiana from the Union and prior to the Confederacy. Record of accounts. Entries include payment to treasury warrants by A. J. Guirot as disbursing officer for the Post Office Department, Department of the Interior, Navy and War Departments, and other government agencies. Entries also include payments of vouchers made to and funds received from F. H. Hatch, collector of the Port of New Orleans. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 992.

Louisiana State House of Representatives. Journal, 1861-1862. 1 ms. vol., 1 mf reel. Location: Vault:13., Mss. Mf:L. Manuscript, unpublished proceedings of the Louisiana House of Representatives, November 25, 1861-January 23, 1862. A typewritten copy is also available. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 260.

Louisiana State Treasury Department. Treasurer's office books, 1864-1882. 4 ms. vols. Location: L:13. Fund books recording expenditures under such headings as General Fund, School Fund, Levee Fund, and Poll Tax Fund; journal containing accounts of the State Treasurer with the State of Louisiana; and a letterbook containing official correspondence. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 268, 709.

Louisiana. Legislature. House of Representatives. Roster, 1863. 1 item. Location: OS:L. Louisiana House of Representatives roster, containing an alphabetical list of members of the House of Representatives and their vote on the bill to authorize the transfer of certain moneys from the general funds of the treasury to the War Tax Fund for payment of principal and interest. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1702.

Louisiana. Militia. Saint James Parish Regiment Records, 1861- 1862. 15 items. Location: MISC:S and OS:S. The St. James Regiment was formed as a part of the Louisiana Militia of the Confederate Army during the American Civil War (1861-1865). This collection contains a partially printed document appointing Victor Forstall as "Major of the St. James Regiment" of the Militia of Louisiana, dated April 7, 1861, signed by Governor Thomas Moore and Secretary of State Pliny D. Hardy. It also contains 14 manuscript muster rolls for companies A,B,C,D,E, and F of the St. James Regiment, dated April 1861 through March 1862, which were written in English and/or French. Mss. 5167.

Loveland, Emanuel. True bill, 1862. 1 item. Location: Misc. Bill signed by the foreman of the Grand Jury of Frederick County, Maryland, affirming that Emanuel Loveland levied war against the state by taking up arms. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2325.

Lovell, Mansfield, 1822-1884. Letter, 1861 November 22.. 1 item. Location: Misc.:L. Confederate General in New Orleans from October 1861 until its capture by federal forces in April 1862. Memorandum stating that he has no objection to giving fishing permits to well-known loyal parties provided that they do not put themselves in a position to be captured and used as pilots by Union forces. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3072.

Lovell, Mansfield, 1822-1884. Letter, 1862 March 9. 1 item. Location: Misc:L. Confederate General in New Orleans from October 1861 until its capture by federal forces in April 1862. Letter written to Van (Dorn?) describing the condition of New Orleans prior to its evacuation by the Confederate forces. Available on microfilm 5735: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reel 12. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2687.

Lowry, K. B. Notice, 1862. 1 item. Location: Misc. Union lieutenant commander of the U.S. Gunboat Sciota in the Civil War. Copy of a public notice issued by Lowry threatening summary justice on James Humphreys or any member 'of his band of guerrillas' damaging the property of Mrs. Burbank, St. John the Baptist Parish, Louisiana. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 753.

LSU Libraries: Louisiana collection photographs, 1862-1971. 624 items. Location: 11:6, OS:L. This collection contains photographic prints and some picture postcards of city buildings, plantation buildings, and other structures in several Louisiana cities and parishes, especially New Orleans and Baton Rouge. Mss. 4262.

Lunt, Richard K., 1832-1863. Letters, 1863 February 9-March 31. 4 letters. Location: MISC:L. Richard K. Lunt was a Union soldier with the 48th Massachusetts Volunteer Infantry Regiment. The letters, sent from Camp Banks, Baton Rouge, La. to Lunt's mother and brother, describe the camp, weather, Baton Rouge, plantations, and battles. Mss. 5122.

Lyons, Mary E. Notebook, 1855-1866. 1 volume. Location: G:16, OS:L. Resident of Clinton and New Orleans, Louisiana. Notebook containing historical notes and poems written at Bienvenue Seminary, Fredericksburg, Virginia (1855) and newspaper clippings of poems (1864-1866). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 269.

Lytle Studio (Baton Rouge, La.). Baton Rouge Civil War cartes-de-visite, circa 1863-1865. 8 cartes-de-visite. Location: MISC:B. Identified and unidentified cartes-de-visite. One is of Thomas Rotch Rodman, a captain of the 38th Massachusetts Volunteers Infantry Regiment of the United States Army. Another carte-de-visite is of George W. Brightwell, a private of the 118th Illinois Volunteers Infantry Regiment of the United States Army. Other subjects are unidentified. Some cartes-de-visite were created by Andrew D. Lytle, T. Keddy, and Bogel and Sheppers. Mss. 5321.

Lytle, Andrew D. Badges, [1824], 1881. 2 items. Location: Misc. Baton Rouge photographer. Silk badges commemorating Lafayette's visit to Cincinnati, Ohio (1824) and the Army of Northern Virginia Monument at Metairie Cemetery (1881). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 893.

Lytle, Andrew D. Collection, circa 1862-1904. 302 items. Location: 11:11. Baton Rouge photographer. Collection consists of photographs of gunboats; buildings in and around Baton Rouge and Clinton, Louisiana during and after the Civil War; Louisiana State University's old Baton Rouge campus; the old Louisiana State Penitentiary; inauguration of Governor Murphy Foster; floats and participants in the Baton Rouge firemen's parades; Centenary College; and Silliman Female Collegiate Institute. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 893, 1254.

Lytle, Levi. Letter, 1864.1 item. Location: Misc. Union soldier at Camp Rome, Georgia. Letter to Catherine Swick of Butnam County, Ohio, reporting that he participated in the heavy fighting.For further information, see onine card catalog. Mss. 928.

MacKowen, John C. (John Clay). Papers, 1846-1966 (bulk 1897-1901). 103 items, 3 printed vols. Location: E:54; OS:M. Planter and physician of Jackson, Louisiana, and owner of a property in Anacapri, Italy. Letters concern the education of John MacKowen and his brothers in New England schools, MacKowen's Confederate service during the Civil War, the education of African Americans by plantation women, and the MacKowen property in Italy. Some letters and papers in Italian and French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2465.

Madole, F. R. Parole, 1865. 1 item [photocopy]. Location: Misc. Confederate prisoner in the Civil War. Parole of Honor issued at Jackson, Mississippi, and signed by Colonel Thomas H. Taylor, Confederate States of America, and Colonel Van E. Young, United States of America, Department of Mississippi. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2018.

Magee, Sylvester, 1841-, interviewee. Oral history interview, 1969. 1 sound cassette (1 hour), Index (1 page). Location: L:4700.0039. Former slave and Civil War veteran. Magee discusses his parents, his owners (masters) in Mississippi before the Civil War, his service during the Civil War under General John Reuben, his participation in fighting at Vicksburg and Gettysburg, and his family. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0039.

Mandeville, Henry D. (Henry David) and family. Papers, 1815-1925 (bulk 1854-1883). 2 linear ft. Location: U:214-216. Henry D. Mandeville, originally from Philadelphia, was a factor in trade with China; his son Henry, Jr. was a lawyer in Natchez, Mississippi. Two other sons, Theodore and Ellwyn, served in the Confederate army. Collection includes personal and business correspondence documenting life in Natchez and New Orleans; the operation of Westwood Plantation (owned by Henry, Jr.) in Louisiana; and Civil War papers of Theodore and Ellwyn. Papers also include letters referring to musical performances in Arkansas, Virginia, Natchez, New Orleans, and Chicago; and materials documenting civilian life in New Orleans in the Civil War. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm 5322: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 3, Reels 3-6. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 491, 535.

Mann, Ambrose Dudley. Letters, 1850-1889. 160 items [on microfilm]. Location: Mss. Mf.:M. Published letters and related items edited by Dr. John Preston Moore for an article in the Journal of Mississippi History and for My Ever Dearest Friend: The Letters of A. Dudley Mann to Jefferson Davis (1960). Originals are in Confederate Museum and in the Library of Congress. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1823.

Marathon claims papers, 1884-1885. 4 items. Location: Misc. Three letters from A. St. C. Denver, Washington, D.C., to Christopher Tyler, East Haddam, Conn., pertain to a claim against the U.S. government for the loss of the ship "Marathon" during the Civil War. An attorney's agreement is also included in the papers. Mss. 3719.

Marchand, Sidney A. (Sidney Albert). Papers, 1866-1970 (bulk 1890-1966). 2.5 linear ft. Locations: OS:M; UU:19-20. Sidney Albert Marchand served as a Louisiana State Representative from 1929 to 1932 and Mayor of Donaldsonville from 1929 to1933. The collection is comprised of Sidney Albert Marchand's correspondence, financial papers, legal and political documents, and printed materials that reflect his professional career. The manuscript writings reflect Marchand's interests as a local historian and author in Ascension Parish. Mss. 3214.

Marchant, James Alexander. Family Papers, 1860-1934 (bulk 1860-1887). 0.4 linear feet. Location E:112. Personal correspondence and papers, one diary, and photographs pertaining to the Marchant and DeArmond families of Clinton, East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana, and, later, Brazil. Letters pertain primarily to conditions in Clinton and East Feliciana Parish after the Civil War, including labor relations with freedmen. A few Civil War letters are also present and pertain to the Battle of Vicksburg, the C.S.S. Arkansas, and Ship Island, Miss. Also included is a letter of introduction for James Marchant from the citizens of Clinton to those of Brazil, a diary kept by the Marchants' son Madison chronicling their journey to Brazil, and photographs of family members, Robert E. Lee, and Joseph E. Johnston. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3641

Mark Prime Quartermaster Report, 1863. 1 report. Location: MISC:M. Quartermaster report detailing the pay of carpenters and ambulance drivers for the month of June 1863. The report is signed by Assistant Quartermaster Captain Mark Prime and Colonel Samuel B. Holabird. Mss. 5076.

Markham, Thomas Railey, 1828-1894. Papers, 1794-1932 (bulk 1850-1890). 4.5 linear ft. Location: B:42-46, 99:m, OS:M, J:4 .Pastor of the Lafayette Presbyterian Church in New Orleans (1856-1894) and chaplain in the Confederate army in the Civil War. Collection documents Markham's activities as a minister and includes sermons and memorandum books. Civil War materials include correspondence and military orders. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm 5735: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reel 12. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 250, 649, 650.

Marsh, Edward N. Civil War Letter, 1862, December 18. 1 item. Location: OS:M. Edward N. Marsh was a private in the 52nd Massachusetts Infantry, which was organized at Greenfield, Mass., in October 1862. The 52nd arrived in Baton Rouge to occupy the city on December 17, 1862. In a letter to his brother and sister, Private Marsh describes the scene in Baton Rouge, including his unit's landing, soldiers' taking items from homes, the town's deserted appearance, and the conditions of "contrabands," slaves who fled to the Federal encampments in Baton Rouge. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4891.

Marsh, Edwin N. Letter, 1862 Dec. 18. 1 item. Location: OS:M. Private in the 52nd Massachusetts Infantry. He describes the scene in Baton Rouge, including his unit's landing, soldiers' taking items from homes, the town's deserted appearance, and the conditions of "contrabands," slaves who fled to the Federal encampments in Baton Rouge. Mss. 4891.

Marshall, George B. (George Benoist). Family Papers, 1807-1900 (bulk 1850-1880). 0.5 linear ft. Location: B:41, J:7. Sugar and cotton planter of Crescent Plantation, Cheneyville, Rapides Parish, Louisiana, and captain in the Confederate army. Collection includes records, daybooks, bills, receipts, and other documents related to the plantation. Includes a 1866 record of fines imposed on African Americans for breaking the peace. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm 5735: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reels 12-13. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 969.

Marshall, Maria Chotard and family Papers, 1819-1868. 0.3 linear ft. Location: S:126. Family of businessmen and planters whose branches settled in Alabama, Georgia, Mississippi, and Louisiana. Letters of Sarah Foster Chotard to her daughter Maria Louisa Marshall, and Maria's to her sister Eliza Gould, discuss family, legal, and business affairs, social life, travel, and Civil War experiences. Memoirs by Eliza Gould deal with family history. Collection includes a biographical sketch of David Hunt, a planter of Natchez, Mississippi, and his wife Anne Ferguson Hunt. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3256.

Marshall-Furman Family Papers, 1794-1975 (bulk 1833-1905). 3,046 items, 35 vols., 8 microfilm reels. Location: W:59-68, OS:M, Mss. Mf.:M. Henry Marshall was a cotton planter and a member of the Louisiana Senate. S. C. Furman, Marshall's son-in-law, was a medical doctor and officer in the Louisiana Second Infantry Regiment during the Civil War. Correspondence deals with politics, economics, agriculture, and the Civil War. Also included in the collection are financial and professional papers, a muster roll, diary, account book, memorandum book, map, and scrapbook materials. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2740, 4042.

Marston, Henry and family. Papers, 1818-1938 (bulk 1850-1890). 2,104 items, 59 volumes. Location: U:220-222, U:267, G:19. Planters of East Feliciana Parish and Red River Parish, Louisiana. Collection includes diaries; plantation records; legal documents; personal correspondence; bank records; and Civil War papers. Diaries comment on public health, yellow fever epidemic, race relations, labor and the political participation of African Americans. Other volumes record activities of the Clinton & Port Hudson Railroad and the Silliman Female Collegiate Institute. Papers of son , Bulow, reflect his activities as planter, steamboat operator, and warehouse owner. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm 5735 and 6061: University Publications of America, Confederate Military Manuscripts, Series B, Reel 13 and Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B, Part 2, Reel 14, or For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 624.

Martin, Robert Campbell, b. 1839. Papers, 1767-1932. 241 items, 75 vols. (68 ms. Vols., 8 printed vols.). Location: C:9, OS:M, O:18-19, 98. Sugar planter of Albemarle Plantation, Assumption Parish, Louisiana, and son of Robert Campbell Martin and Mary Winfred Pugh. Martin served as first lieutenant in the 26th Louisiana Volunteer Regiment during the Civil War. Papers include Pugh family property and estate records such as deeds and leases, an estate inventory, powers of attorney, and a promissory note. Other papers include a funeral notice, marriage license, muster roll, receipts, and voter registration form. Also included are record books of Albemarle Plantation, memorandum books, newspaper clippings, and printed items. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm: University Publications of America Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B, Part 3, Reels 7-11. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1045.

Marx, Mary Robertson. Collection, 1863-1970, undated. 1,462 items. Location:10:48-49. Resident of Baton Rouge. Clippings of newspaper and magazine articles and other printed items pertain mainly to the Civil War, World War II, and other historical subjects; and to Louisiana history, politics, culture, and social events. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2796.

Mason, Polly, 1855-1974, interviewee. Oral history interview, 1971. 1 sound cassette (45 minutes), 10 pages. Location: L:4700.0041. Former slave, born at Ulster Plantation near Alexandria, Louisiana. Mason was 115 years old at the time of the interview, and was residing in Woodworth, Louisiana. Mason describes her master, Judge Henry Boyce, and her life on his cotton plantation in Boyce, Louisiana. Included are her memories of Union soldiers in Louisiana during the Civil War and her sadness upon the assassination of President Lincoln. Mason also recalls the establishment of a station for the Texas and Pacific Railroad in the area, and her first view of an airplane. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0041.