Manuscript Resources on The Civil War

This guide describes collections documenting the Civil War in the Lower Mississippi Valley, including the states of Louisiana, Mississippi, Arkansas, Tennessee, and Texas, in the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections (LLMVC) at LSU. The guide includes not only materials from the war years (1861-1865) themselves, but also materials from later periods containing manuscript sources for Civil War history. Thus such sources as post-war reminiscences and records of veterans' groups--materials dealing with the war as memory and experience--will be found alongside soldiers' and civilians' letters, diaries, and daybooks from the war itself. In addition, the guide includes collections of papers of Louisiana and other area soldiers who fought outside of the Lower Mississippi Valley.

LSU's holdings of Civil War manuscripts make LLMVC a rich treasure-trove for researchers. Many researchers are studying these documents from new perspectives, to see what they have to tell us about women's experiences on the home front and about Louisiana's African Americans, a significant number of whom fought for the Union. Louisiana played a central role in the war, with the fall of Port Hudson in July 1863 a critical event. Much of the state was long occupied by Union forces, and LLMVC contains the papers of numerous Union as well as Confederate soldiers. Other areas of strength include materials documenting the siege of Vicksburg, the Battle of Shiloh, and the Red River campaign.

Displaying 21 - 40 of 1035. Show 5 | 10 | 20 | 40 | 60 results per page.

Allen, Henry Watkins, 1820-1866. Letter and related photograph, 1864 July 6. 2 items. Location: Misc:A. Lawyer of Mississippi who served in both the Mississippi and Louisiana legislatures. Allen served in the 4th Louisiana Regiment during the Civil War and was Confederate governor of Louisiana in 1864. Letter from Allen to William F. Lockwood, keeper of machinery of the Louisiana State Penitentiary, authorizes Lockwood to loan penitentiary looms to cotton planters in eastern Louisiana and includes instructions for loaning the looms. Included is a photograph of Lockwood. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2867.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Plantations, Civil War

Allen, William M. Correspondence, 1858-1863. 22 items. Location: E:3. Farmer of Holmesville, Pike County, Mississippi. His sister, Letty, and her husband, John Houston, owned a farm in Minden, Webster Parish, Louisiana. William and his brother Felix were Confederate soldiers in the Mississippi Volunteers. Pre-Civil War letters from Houston discuss farming conditions, his advocacy of secession, and local social events. Civil War letters to Allen describe skirmishes in Kentucky and Louisiana, and war news such as the shelling of Port Hudson, Louisiana. Family affairs, illness and remedies, and attendance at the New Orleans School of Medicine are other topics in the letters. Available on microfilm 5735: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reel 1. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 701, 2287.

Alley, Mary, Scrapbooks, 1843, 1862-1884, 1910.109 items, 3 vols. Location: Mss. Mf.:A. Baton Rouge native and wife of Charles Henry Jolly. Clippings from Baton Rouge papers on local and national issues at the end of the Civil War and early Reconstruction. Topics include politics, medicine, poetry, anecdotes, and deaths of Baton Rougeans. Other printed items include pamphlets on the dedication of St. Joseph's Cathedral and the history of the Catholic Church in Baton Rouge. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3570.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Politics, Women, Civil War, Medicine, Literature

Allgower, Charles F. Headquarters of Colonel William Wilson, commanding 1st Brigade Grovers, pencil drawing, 1863 Feb. 12. 1 item, Location: OS:A. Allgower was a soldier in Co. C, 6th New York Infantry (also known as Wilson's Zouaves), which was part of the 1st Brigade of Grover's Division, commanded by Colonel William Wilson, also of the 6th New York. Brigadier General Cuvier Grover commanded the 4th Division, 19th Corps, in the United States Army, Department of the Gulf. Known as Grover's Division, the force occupied Baton Rouge in December 1862 before participating in the campaign for Port Hudson in the summer of 1863. Pencil drawing on paper depicting the occupation of Baton Rouge and showing Wilson's federal encampment in Baton Rouge, with the Louisiana Deaf and Dumb Asylum in the background (and possibly the State Capitol). Mss. 4832.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War, Baton Rouge

Allyn, William B. Letter, 1862 Nov. 25. 1 item. Location: Misc:A. William B. Allyn was a Federal officer serving in Louisiana during the Civil War. Written from Camp Stevens, near Thibodaux, Lafourche Parish, Louisiana, Allyn's letter describes the surrounding countryside, the Federal policy toward captured Confederate sugar, and social relations with local planters. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2941.

Referenced in Guides: Sugar, Plantations, Civil War

Alsip, Thomas. Letters, 1861-1865. 6 items. Location: Misc:A. Resident of Prairie du Chien, Wisconsin, and a soldier in the Union army in Kansas during the Civil War. Letters describe Alsip's military service in Kansas, camp life at Fort Scott, and Confederate guerilla activities. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3019.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War

Amacker, Obadiah Pearson and family. Papers, 1861-1959 (bulk 1861-1865). 4 items, 1 volume. Location: U:118. Residents of the Florida parishes, Louisiana. Obadiah Amacker was an officer in the 3rd (Wingfield's) Regiment, Confederate cavalry. Papers include a Civil War diary of Abigail Amacker, and a list of the officers and men of the first company to leave St. Helena Parish as part of the 4th Louisiana Infantry. Confederate records transcribed from the State Library Commission document. A printed pamphlet contains genealogical records. Available on microfilm 5735: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reel 1. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1604.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Civil War

Amite County Record Book, 1851-1864, 1879, 1895. 1 ms. Vol. Location: M:21. Records of the appointed trustees of the Common Schools for District No. 2 in Amite County, Mississippi. Reports from various schools list name of parents, name and age of scholar, and amounts drawn from the public fund. Some minutes are included. For further information online catalog. Mss. 6.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War, Education, Natchez, Mississippi

Anderson, Harrod C. (Harrod Clopton). Papers. 1849-1888 (bulk 1885-1887). 6 items, 3 volumes. Location: F:1, Misc:A. Planter of Magnolia, Haywood County, Tennessee. Papers include a cashbook, photoprints, and diaries which discuss opinions on philosophical, religious, political, and Civil War issues. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm 5322: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 2, Reel 20. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 8, 490, 539.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Politics, Plantations, Civil War

Anderson, Henry. Letter, 1863. 1 item. Location: Misc.:A. Union soldier during the Civil War, probably from Indiana, stationed at New Madrid, Missouri. Letter to a friend expresses lack of interest in the cause of slavery and a personal revulsion to African AmericansFor further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1427.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War, African Americans

Andrews, George L. (George Leonard), 1828-1899. Papers, 1863-1865. 9 items. Location: Misc:A. Union brigadier general in the Civil War. Andrews was appointed commander of the Department of the Gulf in 1863 and assumed command of the Port Hudson, Louisiana, post in 1864. Correspondence from Andrews to his wife deals with the surrender of Port Hudson (1863) and his duties as commander of the post. Two letters describe conditions in New Orleans, Louisiana immediately after the war. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3067.

Andry, M. T. (Michel Thomassin), 1811-ca. 1871. Family Papers, 1840-1882 (bulk 1858-1879). 0.3 linear ft. (199 items). Location: UU:66. Sugar planter of St. John the Baptist and St. Charles parishes, Louisiana, and resident of New Orleans. Collection includes correspondence and legal and financial papers. Letters received by Andry's daughter Rosa from his sons describe their participation in the Battle of Shiloh, campaigns in Kentucky, and skirmishes at Camp Beauregard in the Civil War. Partly in French. Available on microfilm 5735: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reel 1. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1318.

Anonymous Civil War diary, 1863 September 1-December 13. 1 volume [handwritten, 13 page fragment]. Misc.:A Diary of a Union soldier on the march or encamped along the Sabine River and in southeast Louisiana. He mentions fighting, expeditions, casualties, Confederate desertions, and the weather. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3328.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War

Anonymous Civil War diary, 1863 January 23-September 25. 1 volume. Location: Misc:A Diary of an unidentified Union soldier recording daily events, camp life, and military action in Virginia and during the Battle of Vicksburg, Mississippi, and travel between the two fronts. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3210.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War

Anonymous Civil War letter, [1863] October 4. 1 item. Location: Misc:A. Letter from a Southern woman who had lived in New York City prior to the Civil War compares the changes that have been made during the Civil War and in particular mentions sermons of abolitionist Dr. Henry Whitney Bellows. She also describes the problems encountered in passing through Fortress Monroe under a flag of truce. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2121.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Civil War, African Americans

Anonymous Civil War letter, 1863. 1 item. Location: Misc:A Letter from a teacher in North Carolina to his parents in Richmond, Virginia, telling of his work as a mechanic in order to avoid the Confederate conscript law. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1452.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War, Education

Anonymous Civil War letter, 1863 June 19. 1 item. Location: Misc:A. Union army soldier. Letter discussing the Union siege at Vicksburg, Mississippi, trench visits from Confederate soldiers, artillery techniques, and camp life. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3245.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War

Anonymous Civil War letter, 1863 August 11. 1 item. Location: Misc:A. Letter from a young woman residing near Campbell County Court House, Virginia, reporting that a cousin, Robert Andrews, had distinguished himself at Winchester and had been wounded at the Battle of Gettysburg. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2121.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Civil War

Anonymous Civil War letter, 1863 April 18. 1 item. Location: Misc:A Letter from a Union camp in Baton Rouge describing camp life and mentioning the siege of Port Hudson. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2824.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War, Baton Rouge

Anonymous Civil War memoir, 1900-1930. 1 item. Location: MISC:A. An anonymous author recounts his experiences as a boy in a small town in western Kentucky at the beginning of the Civil War. He describes how the boys in the town organized themselves into a company to play as juvenile Confederate soldiers. He relates two stories of how they enticed locals into their play and how he tried a near fatal trick on soldiers of the Sixth Illinois Cavalry Regiment encamped nearby. Mss. 3975.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War

Pages