Manuscript Resources on Baton Rouge History
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, was first discovered and named by the French explorer Iberville in 1699, almost three centuries ago. In the eighteenth century, it was ruled successively by the French, British, and Spanish. Incorporated in 1817, Baton Rouge became the state capital in 1849, though it lost that status during the Civil War and would not regain it until 1882.
This guide to manuscript resources on Baton Rouge and East Baton Rouge Parish, of which it is a part, includes a wide variety of materials on the history of the area, among them the papers of Baton Rouge families; the records of businesses and organizations; photographs; newspapers; maps; and oral histories. Although Louisiana State University has been a major part of Baton Rouge for many years, collections relating to LSU are included only if they also relate explicitly to Baton Rouge--for example, the papers of an LSU professor who was also active in community organizations and whose papers documented those organizations. Similarly, the papers of individuals in state government are not included unless they also relate explicitly to Baton Rouge.
|
Woolley, A.E. (Alban E), 1926-1997. Photographs and papers, 1940-1997. 11.5 linear feet. Location: 6:4-6:-6, 6:8-6:9. Alban E. (A. E.) Woolley was a photojournalist and resident of Baton Rouge, Louisiana. This collection contains commissioned, professional, and personal photographs, as well as business correspondence, family letters, writings, printed items, and autobiographical items. The majority of the collection consists of 235 photographs created in the 1950s and 1960s and printed between 1995 and 1997 for LSU Special Collections. Also includes page proofs for unpublished manuscript, "Louisiana at Mid-Century: 1945 – 1960." Mss. 4650. Referenced in Guides: New Orleans 1866-, Baton Rouge
|
|
|
World War I broadsides, 1918. 2 items. Location: Misc.:W. Notices, distributed by the Standard Oil Company of Louisiana at Baton Rouge, announcing the amount of sugar allowed each employee per meal in accordance with the monthly allotment by the United States Food Administration. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1359. |
|
|
Wyckoff, Elias. Correspondence, 1862-1863. 11 items. Location: MISC:W. Farmer from Jasper, Steuben County, New York, and a member of the 161st New York Volunteers in the Civil War, serving with an ambulance corps. Exchange of letters between Wyckoff and his wife refers to the military situation in Baton Rouge and Port Hudson, Louisiana. Wyckoff comments on his duties as an ambulance driver. His wife writes of money scarcity, farm problems, and life in Jasper. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1396, 1428, 1437. |
|
|
Wynne, Michael D. Collection, 1826-1976. 6 linear ft., 13 volumes. Location: W:34-35; P:19; 5:31-32, 43; VAULT MRDF 6; VAULT:1, 25; OS:W. Resident of Lafayette, Louisiana, and collector of historical materials on south Louisiana history and culture. Collection includes papers of planters, Civil War soldiers, politicians, and professionals. It contains letters, Confederate currency, sheet music, photographs, newspaper clippings, and scrapbooks documenting New Orleans, Baton Rouge, Lafayette, and surrounding parishes. Also included are papers of the Mayer Brass Band of Opelousas, Louisiana (1892-1909). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3053. Referenced in Guides: Politics, Plantations, Performing arts, New Orleans in the Civil War, New Orleans 1866-, Civil War, Baton Rouge, 20th Century Wars
|
|
|
Zackman, William. Letters, 1862-1863. 2 items. Location: Misc.:Z. Union soldier from Maine encamped at Baton Rouge and Port Hudson, Louisiana. Zackman's letters to family members, showing the enthusiastic reaction of a Northerner to southern scenery and tropical foods upon his arrival in Baton Rouge and later his disgust with the Louisiana climate and the hardships of military life. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1418. Referenced in Guides: Civil War, Baton Rouge
|