Manuscript Resources on Baton Rouge History

Baton Rouge, Louisiana, was first discovered and named by the French explorer Iberville in 1699, almost three centuries ago. In the eighteenth century, it was ruled successively by the French, British, and Spanish. Incorporated in 1817, Baton Rouge became the state capital in 1849, though it lost that status during the Civil War and would not regain it until 1882.

This guide to manuscript resources on Baton Rouge and East Baton Rouge Parish, of which it is a part, includes a wide variety of materials on the history of the area, among them the papers of Baton Rouge families; the records of businesses and organizations; photographs; newspapers; maps; and oral histories. Although Louisiana State University has been a major part of Baton Rouge for many years, collections relating to LSU are included only if they also relate explicitly to Baton Rouge--for example, the papers of an LSU professor who was also active in community organizations and whose papers documented those organizations. Similarly, the papers of individuals in state government are not included unless they also relate explicitly to Baton Rouge.

Displaying 281 - 320 of 543. Show 5 | 10 | 20 | 40 | 60 results per page.

Kleinpeter, George, John, and family. Papers, 1786-1911. 32 items. Location: 7:57. The Kleinpeter family emigrated from Germany and eventually settled in East Baton Rouge Parish, Louisiana, where they were farmers. Photocopies of family documents belonging to the George and John Kleinpeter families of Louisiana. These include survey maps, land grants, land transfers, birth and death records, estate papers, receipts, and miscellaneous items. The Sharp family is also mentioned as they relate to the Kleinpeters. Mss. 4897.

Knaus, Ronald M. Papers, 1914-1986 (bulk 1976-1983). 2 linear ft., 3 volumes, 5 rolled plan sets. Location: 47:1-3, OS:K. Professor at the Nuclear Science Center of Louisiana State University. Papers pertain cheifly to Knaus's involvment in the University Lakes Restoration Project and include correspondence, reports, proposals, grant documenation, project plans, newspaper clippings, photographic prints, maps, and other records. Mss. 4037.

Referenced in Guides: Baton Rouge, LSU

Knights of Pythias. Records of Capitol Lodge of Baton Rouge, 1881-1966. 4,221 items, 26 volumes. Location: Q:11, OS:K. International, non-sectarian fraternal order established in 1864 in Washington, D.C. by Justus H. Rathbone and chartered by an Act of Congress. Records of the Knights of Pythias Capitol Lodge No. 29 of Baton Rouge, Louisiana include correspondence (1882-1966), applications for membership (1891-1960), minutes (1937-1966), and reports (1893-1966). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1825, 2226.

Referenced in Guides: Baton Rouge

Korn, Bertram W. Correspondence, 1965-1972. 16 items. Location: Misc. Senior Rabbi of Reform Congregation Keneseth Israel of Elkins Park, Pennsylvania. Letters to Mrs. S. J. Gianelloni, Jr. of Baton Rouge, Louisiana, about genealogical research of Jewish family in the U.S. and the scarcity of research in American Jewish history. The Monsanto, Dow, and Tessier families are mentioned. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3459.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Women, Baton Rouge, Jewish Community

Ku Klux Klan. Baton Rouge No. 3 Records, 1928-1939 (bulk 1928-1930). 90 items. Location: UU:308. Correspondence, membership lists, printed items, financial and legal documents, and miscellaneous papers. Correspondence relates almost entirely to administrative matters, membership, and local chapters, though some letters pertain to national politics, congressional legislation, and anti-Catholic sentiments. Printed items include newsletters, circular letters, and Klan guidebooks and literature. Also present are minutes, membership lists, and the Kilgrapp's (Secretary) quarterly reports. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4770

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Baton Rouge, African Americans

Landry (Theodore E. and Lou Bird) Papers, 1931-1984. 15,000 items. Location: Z:30-31, Z:33, 43:26-28, 43:30-34, 82, 104-105. Landscape architects in Port Allen, La., Theodore E. and Lou Bird Landry were active in projects to restore plantation gardens to historical accuracy and donated their services to landscape churches in the Baton Rouge diocese. Personal and professional papers include correspondence, lectures, scrapbooks, and client files comprised of drawings, plans, photographs and color slides relating to landscape architecture. For additional information, see online catalog. Mss. 3771.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Plantations, Baton Rouge, French

Lane, Pinkie Gordon. Papers, 1925-2001 (bulk 1970-2000). 15 linear ft., 1 volume. Location: T:128-141; T:100 (short shelf); G:15; OS:L. African American poet, Louisiana poet laureate (1989-1992), and Southern University (Baton Rouge, La.) professor. Also the first African American woman to graduate from Louisiana State University with a Ph.D. Papers include personal and professional correspondence, writings, photographs, conference materials, printed items consisting of newspaper clippings, newsletters, programs, and fliers; and topical files that document Lane's personal and professional life. Her writings comprise copies of her poetry - some unpublished, book reviews, and an unpublished attempt at early prose work. Items concentrate on her African American colleagues and interest in African American literature and events. Lane was a resident of Baton Rouge (La.) since 1957 and accumulated a number of printed items for Baton Rouge events and organizations, including the Olympic Torch relay through Baton Rouge in 1996, and professional organizational newsletters for Capital Area Network. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4629. .

Laycock, John T. and family. Papers, 1840-1953. 0.5 linear ft. Location: UU:149, OS:L, K:37. Baton Rouge lawyer, banker, and writer. Papers contain law notes and a transcript of 'Fragments from a Collection of Letters and Notes of Nina Harper of New Orleans, Louisiana, 1861-1862,' that describes civilian life during the Civil War. A manuscript fragment of 'Legs joins the cavalry;' and some miscellaneous notes pertaining to Baton Rouge. Also included are broadsides advertising the Baton Rouge Female Institute, and announcing a Grand Fete for the Red Cross Society (1918), and a photograph of John McCarthney Taylor. Available on microfilm 5750: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reels 15-16. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3194.

Laycock, Samuel Gordon. Papers, 1871-1874. 20 items. Location: Misc:L. President of the Baton Rouge Gas Light Company. Papers include routine bills signed by Laycock as president; and a letter (1874) from St. Louis, Missouri, verifying that a man had been sent to Baton Rouge in answer to a request for an employee. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2223.

Referenced in Guides: Business, Baton Rouge

Laycock, Susie Hamilton Bienvenu. Collection, circa 1830-1875. 2 items. Location: OS:L. Comprised of a hand-drawn map (circa 1830s) of the Highlands area in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, showing land parcels and owners’ names. It also contains a land patent from the United States General Land Office (1875) belonging to Louis Dufilho, a New Orleans resident who was the first certified pharmacist in the United States. For more information, see online catalog. Mss. 4923.

Referenced in Guides: Baton Rouge

Leche, Richard W. Papers, 1804, 1889-2008, undated. Approximately 100 linear ft., 155 volumes. Location: 80:-81:, 85:, 98:L, MAP CAGE, OS:L, VAULT:1, VAULT:21, VAULT MRDF 15. Orleans Parish native and 44th governor of Louisiana from 1936-1939. Collection is comprised of Leche's gubernatorial papers, which include chiefly office files of correspondence and a variety of printed materials; pre-gubernatorial and gubernatorial campaign papers; post-gubernatorial papers; and a variety of other materials, in large part photographic items and scrapbooks, spanning the three aforementioned eras. Collection also includes papers of Elton Reynolds Leche and Richard W. Leche, Jr. Mss. 2060.

Leonpacher, Louis. Diary, 1908-1923. 47 items, 5 vols. (on microfilm) Location: Mss. Mf.:L. Baton Rouge veterinarian and German immigrant who came to Louisiana in 1916. Five-volume diary illustrated with colored sketches, post cards, photographs, and advertisements. Included are copies of letters received. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2141.

Referenced in Guides: Baton Rouge, Medicine

Lewis, Anna E. Papers, 1896-1926. 27 items. Location: UU:109, OS:L. Correspondence, family photographs, and related items of Mrs. Anna Lewis, resident of Baton Rouge, Louisiana. Papers include letters describing activities of soldiers stationed at Panama Park, Florida during the Spanish American War (1898) and the flu epidemic at Camp Meade, Maryland, during World War I (1918); a photograph of the K.O.P. Grand Lodge (Knights of Phythias) members and their families in front of the Standard Oil office building in Baton Rouge. Photograph also shows the Louisiana State University cadet band. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1080.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Baton Rouge, Medicine, LSU, 20th Century Wars

Lilley, Thomas. Papers, 1832-1837. 5 items. Location: Misc., OS:L. Resident of East Baton Rouge Parish, Louisiana. Legal and financial papers concerning stocks and the sale of land owned by Thomas Lilley.. They include land conveyances, (1832 , 1835); stockholder's oath (1836); a mortgage for shares of the Citizens' Bank of Louisiana to Thomas Lilley (1837). Also included is an appraisers certificate for land, slaves, livestock, and dwellings that contains names of his seven slaves (1836). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 668.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Baton Rouge, African Americans

Lindig, Carmen. Papers, 1925-1995 (bulk 1971-1985). 0.3 linear ft. Locations: OS:L, T:110. Baton Rouge, Louisiana educator and women's and patients' rights activist. Collection consists of personal papers and newspaper clippings related to local and national political figures, organizations, topics, and events during the women's rights movement. Also includes personal research conducted for lectures, publications, presentations, and book reviews related to women's history. Mss. 4829.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Women, Education, Baton Rouge

Link, Louis, 1866-1934. Papers, 1883-1934. 47 items. Location: W:49. German immigrant; executive of Standard Oil Corporation in Texas and Louisiana; and inventor. Papers include business letters, personal documents, printed materials, and photographs of a Baton Rouge flood (undated). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3431.

Referenced in Guides: Business, Baton Rouge

Literary Club Yearbooks, 1979-1985. 6 items. Location: A:78. A women’s club from Baton Rouge, La. The six yearbooks contain listings of officers, members, and past presidents, as well as the topics and guest speakers for the monthly meetings. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4995.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Baton Rouge

Lobdell, Warren Russell, 1920-1944. Papers, 1940-1944. 0.3 linear ft. Location: E:44. Native of Baton Rouge and a United States Air Force pilot stationed in England (1944). Correspondence, printed items, and photographs document the life, Air Force training, and combat experience of Lobdell. Letters by Russell and his parents concern his training and combat experience and his death during a mission in Northern France. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4532.

Referenced in Guides: Baton Rouge, 20th Century Wars

Long, Russell B. Papers, 1774-2004 (bulk 1938-1986). 772 linear ft., 9 microfilm reels. Location: 21:-27:, MAP CAGE, MSS.MF:L, VAULT:47, AA:. Shreveport, Louisiana attorney and U.S. senator. Papers include correspondence; legislative, committee, federal agency, special project, and political campaign files; press releases; speeches; audio tapes; motion picture film; videotapes; and photographs, relating chiefly to Long's senatorial career. Topics include tax reform, petroleum issues, and employee stock options. Materials on the personal and political activities of other Long family members, among them Huey Long, are included. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3700.

Looney, Ben Earl. Papers, 1931-1977. 0.5 linear ft. Location: 32:109, OS:L. Correspondence, printed items, photographs, and reproductions of art works document the life and career of Louisiana artist Ben Earl Looney. Also present are original pen and ink drawings of LSU scenes and buildings including the Music and Dramatic Arts Building, Middleton Library, Mike the Tiger's Cage, the Union, French House, bus stop, and the Indian Mounds and Huey P. Long Fieldhouse (1968). Mss. 3867.

Referenced in Guides: Baton Rouge, LSU

Louisiana pictures, 1720-1865. 17 items. Location: Map cage. Prints include John Law's concession at New Biloxi; a plantation on Bayou Goula, Louisiana; the Civil War Battle of New Orleans sketched by a federal soldier; federal gunboats passing Port Hudson, Louisiana; and Jackson Station after it was burned. Also included are reprints of Civil War scenes of Port Hudson and Baton Rouge from Frank Leslie's Illustrated Newspaper and Harper's Weekly Newspaper. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1733.

Louisiana Environmental Action Network (LEAN). Records, 1985-1998. 14.5 linear feet. State network of individual citizens and organizations active in the campaign to enforce legislative environmental standards. Collection includes applications for environmental permits submitted by various Louisiana companies to the Department of Environmental Quality and lawsuit records documenting conflicts between companies and the DEQ. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4876.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Business, Baton Rouge

Louisiana Health Care Campaign Records, circa 1989-2004 (bulk: 1995-2001). Location: X 16 linear feet. Grassroots coalition that advocated for accessible, affordable health care for all Louisianans. Correspondence, reports, newsletters, press releases, and board minutes, and other records of the Louisiana Health Care Campaign, as well as background material on health care reform issues and groups and budgets and reports from allied groups and relevant state agencies, including the Department of Health and Hospitals and the Department of Insurance. Also includes records of the Louisiana Health Care Commission, of which the campaign was a member. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4957.

Louisiana Historical Society. Notice, 1859. 2 items. Location: E:Imprints. Printed notice announcing a meeting of the Louisiana Historical Society in Baton Rouge together with a copy of the Bill passed by the Senate and House of Representatives of the State of Louisiana to organize and grant a charter to the Society. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 893.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Baton Rouge

Louisiana McGovern for President Organization. Political leaflet, 1972. 1 item. Location: E:Imprints. Leaflet urging Baton Rouge voters to attend the Legislative District 70 Caucus and support the election of those delegates committed to Senator George McGovern to the Democratic National Convention. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2600.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Baton Rouge

Louisiana National Bank. Groundbreaking ceremony photograph, circa 1910. 1 item. Location: E:67. Photograph of the ground-breaking ceremony at the Louisiana National Bank in Baton Rouge. Part of the Picture Collection. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3555.

Referenced in Guides: Baton Rouge

Louisiana photograph collection, 1921-1937, undated 19 items. Location: E:. Collection Includes images of Thibodaux, La., Crowley, La., the aftermath of a 1933 tornado in Minden, La., the 1921 Louisiana Constitutional Convention, a Farmer's Dairy Tour with Huey Long, and a ribbon cutting for the Long/Allen Bridge in Shreveport, 1933, and a photo of a Caroline Durieux drawing of a woman's head (1937). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3354.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Women, Baton Rouge, Long Family

Louisiana Postcard Collection, 1904-1951. 507 items. Location: E:65 (short shelf). Postcards depict subjects, especially churches, schools, and some plantations in towns and regions of Louisiana. Louisiana towns and regions best represented in the collection include Abita Springs, Alexandria, Baton Rouge, Bogalusa, Convent, Covington, Donaldsonville, Franklin, Hammond, Houma, Jennings, Lake Charles, Mandeville, Monroe, Morgan City, New Orleans, Plaquemine, Saint Francisville, Shreveport, and Thibodaux. Included is a photograph depicting three women in front of a plantation house. The photograph is labeled "Alice Emilie Knapp, Forrest Home." For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3645.

Louisiana State Capitol construction photographs, 1931-1932. 4 items. Location: E:67. Four prints of photographs showing various stages of the construction of the State Capitol Building in Baton Rouge. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3355.

Referenced in Guides: Baton Rouge

Louisiana State Capitol photographs, circa 1930-1932. 24 items. Location: E:44. Photographic prints of the new State Capitol building and grounds in Baton Rouge. Photographs were taken during and shortly after construction. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4540.

Referenced in Guides: Baton Rouge

Louisiana State University (Baton Rouge, La.). School of Music. Programs, 1985-[ongoing]. 1 linear ft. Location: A:104. Programs of recitals and concernts produced by the LSU School of Music. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3305.

Referenced in Guides: Baton Rouge, LSU

Louisiana State University (Baton Rouge, La.). Library. Louisiana State Lottery exhibit photographs, 1989. 29 items. Location: U:227. Photographic prints reproduced from the holdings of the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections, LSU Libraries, for a 1989 exhibition entitled 'The Louisiana State Lottery Company, 1868-1893.'. Images include portraits of Lottery officials and proponents, together with members of the Anti-Lottery League and other opponents, copies of newspaper articles and advertisements, and cartoons for pro and anti-Lottery factions. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4258.

Referenced in Guides: Baton Rouge

Louisiana State University (Baton Rouge, La.). Athletic Dept. Basketball on the bayou, 1992-1993. 1 videocassette. Location: L:3. Fourteen episodes of 'Basketball on the Bayou,' short segments detailing the history of the LSU Basketball program. The segments, narrated by Jim Hawthorne, were included as part of coach Dale Brown's weekly television show, 'Inside LSU Basketball.'. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4519.

Referenced in Guides: Baton Rouge

Louisiana State University and Agricultural and Mechanical College. Pictorial souvenir of Louisiana State University, 1909. 1 viewbook. Location: OS:L. Viewbook containing 12 photographic images of Louisiana State University as it looked in 1909 when located at the old campus in downtown Baton Rouge. Each image is captioned. Mss. 4968.

Referenced in Guides: Baton Rouge, LSU

Louisiana State University and Louisiana State Capitol. Color slides, circa 1956. 39 color slides. Location: V:47. Color slides chiefly of Louisiana State University's campus and the Louisiana State Capitol. Campus related slides are of various locations and buildings, including the Law School Building, the Greek Theatre, and the French House. There are also slides of Arsenal Park and the Pentagon Barracks. Mss. 5029.

Referenced in Guides: Baton Rouge, LSU

Louisiana State University and Louisiana State Capitol. Photographs, circa 1930-1936, undated. 19 photographic prints. Location: V:48. Black-and-white photographic prints of various LSU campus buildings and structures, including Tiger Stadium, the Book Store, the Greek Theatre, War Memorial Tower, and the Law School Building. Also includes two photographs of the Louisiana State Capitol and a photograph of Mike the Tiger's habitat (Mike I). Mss. 5345.

Referenced in Guides: Baton Rouge, LSU

Louisiana Teachers' Association. Publications, 1922-1961. 21 items. Location: E:34. The Louisiana State Public School Teachers' Association was organized in Alexandria, Louisiana, in 1892. At the 1915 convention in Baton Rouge, the name of the association was changed to Louisiana Teachers' Association. Programs and proceedings of some annual meetings, reports, and other miscellaneous publications. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4595.

Referenced in Guides: Education, Baton Rouge

Louque, Charles. Papers, 1838-1909. 518 items, 3 vols. Location: UU:112. Native of St. John the Baptist Parish, Louisiana, prominent New Orleans attorney, and Louisiana state senator. Papers document his legal activities and participation in the economic development of New Orleans. The collection includes postcard views of LSU and Baton Rouge. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1473.

Loyd, Gladys Means and family. Papers, 1904-1975. 462 items, 10 volumes. Location: UU:215, P:18, 98:L. Schoolteacher of Ida (Caddo Parish) and St. Joseph (Tensas Parish), Louisiana. Papers include correspondence and genealogical notes on Ida, Louisiana, families; photograph albums on plantations, including Hundred Oaks Plantation in Baton Rouge; and scrapbooks on the history of Ida and Tensas Parish. Collection also includes ledgers of the Ida Hardware Store owned by James Taylor Means. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3224.

LSU Pershing Rifles Records, 1940-1978 (bulk 1963-1971) Location 11:1-2.

The Pershing Rifles is a national military honors society for ROTC cadets and midshipmen that participates in military drill exercises. It was established in 1894 at the University of Nebraska- Lincoln. At LSU, the Pershing Rifle Corps detachment was established in 1940.

The seven boxes of materials contained in these records were donated by a former member of LSU’s Pershing Rifle Corps. The collection is comprised of photographs, news clippings, magazines, instruction manuals, posters, bylaws, Gumbo yearbook page photocopies, scrapbooks, a guidon flag and a unit patch. All items date from the mid-twentieth century.

Referenced in Guides: Education, Baton Rouge, LSU, 20th Century Wars

Pages