Manuscript Resources on African American History

This guide describes manuscript collections documenting African American history in the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections at LSU. It includes the papers of African Americans and their families; oral histories done with African Americans; and other collections that document African American history in one way or another. In the early period, these collections include documentation of slavery, the slave trade, abolitionism, and apologies for slavery. In the modern period, they include collections that document issues like civil rights, integration, and race relations.

Indeed, the experience of African Americans before and during the Civil War is often documented through the papers of others--among them, planters who bought and sold them as slaves and Union soldiers who commented upon them in letters and diaries. LSU has such resources in abundance. Papers of early African Americans themselves are more difficult to find. But Louisiana and the lower Mississippi Valley had a relatively large population of free persons of color, some of whom did leave papers. They worked as artisans in cities like New Orleans or Natchez, or were planters and even slaveholders themselves. LSU's collections of the papers of free persons of color include the papers of William Johnson of Natchez, now famed as a diarist and commentator on Southern mores.

Displaying 361 - 420 of 755. Show 5 | 10 | 20 | 40 | 60 results per page.

Kleinpeter, George, John, and family. Papers, 1786-1911. 32 items. Location: 7:57. The Kleinpeter family emigrated from Germany and eventually settled in East Baton Rouge Parish, Louisiana, where they were farmers. Photocopies of family documents belonging to the George and John Kleinpeter families of Louisiana. These include survey maps, land grants, land transfers, birth and death records, estate papers, receipts, and miscellaneous items. The Sharp family is also mentioned as they relate to the Kleinpeters. Mss. 4897.

Kleinpeter, Joseph and family. Papers, 1803-1895 (bulk 1820-1865). 0.25 linear ft., 2 volumes. Location: C:63, OS:K, J:6, 98:. Sugar planter of Variety Plantation in Iberville Parish, Louisiana. Papers include land records, slave sales, mortgages, and succession documents. A record book includes entries of slave births (1822-1852). There are also Civil War military papers and two Bureau of Refugees labor contracts (1865-1866). Some items in French. Available on microfilm 5322: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 1, Reel 9. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1241.

Knighton, Josiah and family. Papers, 1793-1909 (bulk 1861-1896). 270 items, 4 volumes. Location: E:21. Resident of Clinton, East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. Family member James H. Knighton was a private in the 4th Louisiana Infantry during the Civil War. Personal papers of the Knighton family consist chiefly of correspondence. Civil War letters of James H. Knighton describe Camp Neafus, Camp Lovell, Confederate deserters, campaigns at Vicksburg and Atlanta, and the Battle of Shiloh. Letters (1867-1886) describe the Chinese population of Lake Providence, East Carroll Parish, Reconstruction, and African American voters. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm 5735: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reel 11.For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 651.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War, African Americans

Kosnegary, Etta. Letter, 1862 November 12. 1 item. Location: Misc. Confederate war widow of Columbia, Tennessee. Letter laments the death of her husband, speaks of civilian hardships and of the welfare of her slaves. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2897.

Referenced in Guides: Women, Civil War, African Americans

Ku Klux Klan. Baton Rouge No. 3 Records, 1928-1939 (bulk 1928-1930). 90 items. Location: UU:308. Correspondence, membership lists, printed items, financial and legal documents, and miscellaneous papers. Correspondence relates almost entirely to administrative matters, membership, and local chapters, though some letters pertain to national politics, congressional legislation, and anti-Catholic sentiments. Printed items include newsletters, circular letters, and Klan guidebooks and literature. Also present are minutes, membership lists, and the Kilgrapp's (Secretary) quarterly reports. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4770

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Baton Rouge, African Americans

La Cour, Antoine. Slave bill of sale, 1848. 1 item. Location: Misc. Resident of New Orleans. Sale (notarized copy) of a slave by Antoine la Cour to Eugene Rochereau. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 205.

La Houssaye, Sidonie de. Papers, circa 1880-1894. 22 volumes, 6 microfilm reels. Location: F:17, MSS.MF:L. French Louisiana author of Franklin, St. Mary Parish, Louisiana. Manuscript drafts of short stories (in French) written by Madame Sidonie de la Houssaye : Volumes 1 and 2: L'etoile d'argent. Volume 2: Le fort de Keronec; Une paire de gants; Une poupee d'autrefois; Les fleurs et les bijoux de la grand'mere; Rose Blanche; Les petits vagabonds; Volume 3 Mythologies des petits enfants; Volume 4: George Gerard.For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 105.

La Villebeuvre, Jean Ursin and Family. Papers, 1803-1917, undated (bulk 1840-1880). 1.75 linear ft. Location: W: 91-93, J:4, OS:L. Jean Ursin La Villebeuvre and his son, Elie Farault La Villebeuvre, were commission merchants in New Orleans, Louisiana. The collection includes the Papers of the La Villebeuvre family and the related Jourdain, Peytavin, Gray, Forstall, Roman, Peters, Toledano, and Hyman families of New Orleans and St. James Parish. Contents include business and legal records, account books, family letters, personal papers, and photographs. Mss. 812, 1208. 

Lacour Family. Papers, 1828, 1831. 2 items. Location: MISC:L. Acts of conveyance of sale of slaves to Pierre Lacour, Natchitoches Parish, Louisiana (1828) and sale of land to Villery B. Lecour, Natchitoches Parish (1831). In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 849.

Referenced in Guides: African Americans, French

Lafon, Thomy. Papers, 1893-1916. 3 items [photocopies]. Location: Misc. African American philanthropist. Poem written about Lafon by R. L. Desdunes (1893); and documents pertaining to the burial of Lafon and his family (1898-1916). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 778.

Referenced in Guides: African Americans, Literature

Lakanal, Joseph. Papers, 1793-1834. 22 items. Location: MISC:L, VAULT:12, VAULT MRDF 8-9. French educator, political figure; appointed president of the College of Orleans in Aug. 1822. Papers conprised primarily of correspondence. Correspondents include General Lafayette, Antoine Lavoisier, Bernardin de Saint-Pierre, Daubenton and Sebastien Chamfort. Letter to Monsieur Arnault, member of the Institute of Paris, jjustifies Lakanal's resignation as president of the College of Orleans. Another relates to the punishment of young slave and problems of master-slave relations. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 244, 1312.

Lamarque, Charles. Slave bill of sale, 1850 August 12. 1 item. Location: Misc.:L. Resident of New Orleans. Sale of a female slave, Rosa, by Charles Lamarque to Henry Rance. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 208.

Lanaux, George. George Lanaux and Family Papers, 1830-1915. 3 linear ft. (3,100 items). Location: UU:61-63, J:9, OS:L, 104-105. Planter of Bellevue Plantation in Plaquemines Parish, Louisiana, and later president of the New Orleans Insurance Association. Papers include correspondence, legal documents, financial documents, and photographs documenting the Lanaux family, plantation management, slave holdings, and land sales. Partly in French. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 1, Reels 11-13. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1318.

Lanaux, Mrs. Arnold. Papers, 1810-1837. 8 items. Location: OS:L. Resident of St. Charles Parish, Louisiana. Papers pertain to the mortgage of lands and slaves from the estate of Arnold Lanaux, including an inventory of the estate of George Rixner (1810) and documents of the Citizens' Bank of Louisiana (1836). In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 668.

Referenced in Guides: Women, African Americans, French

Landreth, John. Field notes book, 1819. 1 volume. Location: M:19. Surveyor. Volume contains Landreth's field notes (January-April 1819), created during his survey expedition for live oak and red cedar timber lands in Louisiana, for a commission from the United States Navy. Daily field notes include notations of directions and distances traveled, landmarks sighted, and short narrative descriptions of daily events and people met. Locations described include Franklin, St. Martinville, New Orleans, and a variety of bayous, lakes, and waterways. Mss. 5386.

Landry, Charles. Mortgage, 1860. 1 item. Location: Misc. Mortgage on a sugar plantation in St. Martin Parish, Louisiana, giving the size of the plantation and names and ages of slaves. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1927.

Referenced in Guides: Sugar, Plantations, African Americans

Landry, Elu. Estate record book, 1848-1851. 1 ms. vol. (on microfilm). Location: Mss. Mf.:L. Louisiana sugar planter.Record book kept by the administrator of Elu Landry's Louisiana sugar plantation includes accounts of money paid and received by the estate, a list of debts, and a plantation diary (1848-1850) describing daily work assignments, sugar harvest, levee construction and maintenance, and a cholera epidemic. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3106.

Referenced in Guides: Sugar, Plantations, African Americans, Medicine

Landry, Shirley, 1926-, interviewee. Shirley and Reed Landry oral history interview, 1993. 1 sound cassette (45 minutes), Index (3 pages). Location: L:4700.0221. Resident of Four Corners, a community south of Franklin, St. Mary Parish, Louisiana, and the daughter of a sugarcane farmer. She married Reed Landry, also a sugarcane farmer. Shirley Landry recalls early life on a farm near Jeanerette, Louisiana; Four Corners in the 1930s-1950s; the local general store and dance hall; relations with African Americans; and Sunday traditions. Reed Landry describes technological changes in sugarcane farming; modern planting and harvesting routines; and modern varieties of sugarcane planted in Louisiana. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0221.

Referenced in Guides: Sugar, Women, African Americans

Landry-Pedesclaux family. Papers, 1806-1896. 38 items. Location: W:52. Related families of south Louisiana. Correspondence among members of these families in Louisiana and in the Northeast U.S. includes comments on business, national politics, and college life at Georgetown University and schools in Massachusetts. Some letters in French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3566.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Education, African Americans, French

Lane, Pinkie Gordon. Papers, 1925-2001 (bulk 1970-2000). 15 linear ft., 1 volume. Location: T:128-141; T:100 (short shelf); G:15; OS:L. African American poet, Louisiana poet laureate (1989-1992), and Southern University (Baton Rouge, La.) professor. Also the first African American woman to graduate from Louisiana State University with a Ph.D. Papers include personal and professional correspondence, writings, photographs, conference materials, printed items consisting of newspaper clippings, newsletters, programs, and fliers; and topical files that document Lane's personal and professional life. Her writings comprise copies of her poetry - some unpublished, book reviews, and an unpublished attempt at early prose work. Items concentrate on her African American colleagues and interest in African American literature and events. Lane was a resident of Baton Rouge (La.) since 1957 and accumulated a number of printed items for Baton Rouge events and organizations, including the Olympic Torch relay through Baton Rouge in 1996, and professional organizational newsletters for Capital Area Network. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4629. .

LaReunion Plantation document, 1812. 1 item. Location: Misc. Plantation located in Plaquemines Parish, Louisiana. Sheriff's seizure and sale of LaReunion Plantation to Charles V. M. Pelletier includes an inventory of property and slaves. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 508.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, African Americans

Larose, Rosemond. Document, 1853. 1 item. Location: Misc. Resident of New Orleans. Sale of a slave of Rosemond Larose to Charles Lamarque, Jr., of New Orleans. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 537.

Lauve, Gustave. Letter, 1863 June 26. 1 item. Location: Misc:L. Resident of Shreveport, Caddo Parish, Louisiana. Letter written to Lauve by Oscar, of Bayou Plaquemine, Iberville Parish, Louisiana, describing pillage and destruction by the Union army in Iberville Parish; movements of Confederate troops in Louisiana; and family news. The letter also describes the situation concerning runaway slaves and treatment of slaves by the Union army. Available on microfilm 5735: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reel 21. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 893.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War, African Americans

LeBlanc, Auguste. Family Papers, 1812-1866 (bulk 1859-1866). 5 items (includes 1 vol.). Location: Misc:L, G:16. Cotton planter on Happy Retreat Plantation near Grosse Tete, Iberville Parish, Louisiana. Papers consist of documents relating to Octave LeBlanc of Plaquemines Parish and Louis LeBlanc of St. Martin Parish and a plantation record book kept by Auguste LeBlanc. The record books contains entries for daily work performed and slave assignments. Memoranda discuss runaway slaves in Baton Rouge with the federal army in the Civil War, an expense account of building materials used to construct the Grosse Tete Chapel, and accounts with neighbors. Available on microfilm 5322: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 2, Reel 17. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 214.

Lebret diary, 1858-1861, 1977 (bulk 1858-1861). 1 item, 1 volume and 1 microfilm reel. Location: VAULT:12 and MSS.MF:L. The Lebret family of Bayou Sara, West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana, was headed by Peter (a.k.a. Pierre) Lebret, French-born owner and operator of Lebret and Hearsey, a general merchandising firm in Bayou Sara, and Fancy Point Plantation. Diary, probably written by Peter Lebret's sister-in-law. She mentions caring for children and slaves, teaching children, sewing, housekeeping, business dealings in trying to purchase more land, Waterloo Plantation in Pointe Coupee Parish, and local and family news. Previously known as anonymous diary. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3504.

Lefèvre, Pascal. Pascal Lefevre--Alphonse Gardes document, 1853. 1 item. Location: Misc. Residents of New Orleans and representatives for the heirs of Pierre Baron Boisfontaine. Petition (copy) of Lefevre and Gardes pertains to the sale of slaves at public auction. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 537.

Referenced in Guides: New Orleans to 1861, African Americans

Leidigh, Jacob M. Correspondence, 1859-1860. 4 items. Location: Misc. Letters by Northerners teaching music at the Brooksville Academy in Mississippi, to their brother, giving their impressions of slavery in Mississippi. They also describe travel and Colonel Brooks' plantation home. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1598.

Letter from Augusta of Alexandria, La., 1851. 1 item. Location: Misc:A. Letter written from Augusta of Alexandria, Rapides Parish, Louisiana, to her sister, Mrs. Sarah W. Simpson, Newburyport, Massachusetts. The letter describes the excitement in Alexandria among whites and African-Americans over Jenny Lind's concert in New Orleans, Louisiana; steamboats and fishing on the Red River; and other local news. Alternate title: Anonymous letter. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1008.

Lewis, William Young. Slave indentures, 1831. 7 items. Location: MISC:L. Notarized copies of indentures for Alabama, Louisiana, and Missouri slaves bound for Texas, notarized by William Young Lewis of New Orleans, Louisiana. These were the slaves of the following slaveholders: John James Dillard of Tuscumbia, Alabama; Isaac Turner Tinsley of Pikesville, Alabama; James Routh of Concordia Parish, Louisiana; Patrick Herndon of New Orleans; Gowan Harris of Iberville Parish, Louisiana; Edwin Waller of Palmyra, Missouri; and Samspon Blossman of New Orleans. Indentures give the name, age, and family relationships of the slaves. Mss. 4762.

Liberty Baptist Church (Atlanta, Ga.). Minute book, 1962-1966. 1 v., 7 items. Location: G:18. Liberty Baptist Church of Atlanta, Ga., was organized as a Missionary Baptist Church on May 17, 1908. This minute book records meetings of Ward #3 of Liberty Baptist Church between September 1962 and November 1966. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3795.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, African Americans

Liddell, Moses. Family Papers, 1813-1919 (bulk 1838-1870).6.5 linear ft., 39 ms. vols., 11 mf reels. Location: U:200-209, G:21, Range 98, Mss.Mf:L. Planter of Elmsley Plantation, Woodville, Wilkinson County, Mississippi. His son, St. John Richardson Liddell, was a planter of Llanada Plantation near Trinity, Catahoula Parish, Louisiana, and a Confederate brigadier general during the Civil War. Papers consist of plantation records, slave lists, personal correspondence, business and legal papers, account books, notebooks, and plantation diaries. Manuscript volumes consist of cashbooks, bank books, cotton and lumber record books, plantation notebooks, and an incomplete manuscript of LIDDELL'S RECORD OF THE CIVIL WAR IN AMERICA 1860-1866. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 531.

Liddell, Moses and St. John Richardson. Family Papers, 1813-1919 (bulk 1838-1870). 6.5 linear ft., 39 vols., 11 mf reels. Location: U:200-209, G:21, 98:, Mss.Mf:L, microfiche 2729. Planters of Woodville, Mississippi and Catahoula Parish, Louisiana, Confederate officers. St. John Richardson Liddell was Moses Liddell's son. Bulk of the material is that of St. John Richardson Liddell, Confederate officer and son of Moses Liddell. Papers consist of plantation records, personal correspondence, slave lists, business and legal papers, account books, notebooks, plantation diaries, and persecution of Jews. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 531.

Lilley, Thomas. Papers, 1832-1837. 5 items. Location: Misc., OS:L. Resident of East Baton Rouge Parish, Louisiana. Legal and financial papers concerning stocks and the sale of land owned by Thomas Lilley.. They include land conveyances, (1832 , 1835); stockholder's oath (1836); a mortgage for shares of the Citizens' Bank of Louisiana to Thomas Lilley (1837). Also included is an appraisers certificate for land, slaves, livestock, and dwellings that contains names of his seven slaves (1836). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 668.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Baton Rouge, African Americans

Little, J. M. Letter, 1864.2 items. Location: Misc.:L. Union brigadier general in the Civil War. Letter from occupied Natchez, Mississippi, to superintendent of freedmen orders him to cease interference in sanitary discipline of the freedmen (1864 April 1). Included is a copy of General Orders requiring examination of medical officers of the regiments of the Corps d'Afrique. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2991.

Livingston, Robert M. Letter, 1839. 1 item. Location: Misc. Letter from Mobile, Alabama, comments on the slow progress of scientific studies in the United States, attitudes toward slavery among slaveholders, the problems of free African Americans in the North, and the state of the American Indians. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2466.

Referenced in Guides: African Americans

Lockett, Noland, 1938-, interviewee. Oral history interview, 1993. 1 sound cassette (1.5 hours), Index (7 pages). Location: L:4700.284. Resident of Four Corners, a community south of Franklin, St. Mary Parish, Louisiana. Lockett, the great-grandson of a migrant sugarcane worker from the Caribbean, was a building contractor and former associate dean of a junior college. Lockett discusses the logging industry at Four Corners; the origin and history of the Lockett clan; local sugar growing and South Coast Plantation; service by African Americans in the Korean War; the plantation store system; and race relations. Lockett also discusses his seminary experience; plans for a private school in the area; and recalls childhood memories of Mardi Gras; gambling and his father; and social conditions of his community. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4700.284.

Referenced in Guides: Sugar, Plantations, Education, African Americans

Logan, John Alexander, 1826-1866. Letter, 1865 September 8. 1 item. Location: Misc. Republican senator from Illinois. Letter to Major G. K. Pangborn declines an invitation to speak in his state and mentions the possibilities for passage of the constitutional amendment prohibiting slavery in the United States. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2622.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, African Americans

Long, Russell B. Papers, 1774-2004 (bulk 1938-1986). 772 linear ft., 9 microfilm reels. Location: 21:-27:, MAP CAGE, MSS.MF:L, VAULT:47, AA:. Shreveport, Louisiana attorney and U.S. senator. Papers include correspondence; legislative, committee, federal agency, special project, and political campaign files; press releases; speeches; audio tapes; motion picture film; videotapes; and photographs, relating chiefly to Long's senatorial career. Topics include tax reform, petroleum issues, and employee stock options. Materials on the personal and political activities of other Long family members, among them Huey Long, are included. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3700.

Louisiana African American copy photograph collection, circa 1860-1865. 3 copy prints. Location: 65:5. The collection contains one enlarged copy print of a carte de visite of Middleton Plauche, valet to Tacitus Gailliard Calvit, a Bayou Rapides planter, prior to the Civil War; one copy print of a group of African Americans, some in uniform, standing outside a house with two white men standing on the porch; and one enlarged copy print of African American soldiers standing at parade rest near Port Hudson, La., 1864. Mss. 4128.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War, African Americans

Louisiana African-American spiritual lyrics, 1932. 1 typescript. Location: Misc. This typescript contains the words to five African-American spirituals submitted to James McMillan, librarian at Louisiana State University, by Mrs. Harold A. Arnett of Baton Rouge, La. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4386.

Referenced in Guides: Performing arts, African Americans

Louisiana Constitutional Convention document, 1868. 1 item. Location: OS:L. Copy of a document reflecting the African American vote for the ratification of the Constitution of 1868. The document shows a tabulated vote for and against ratification of the constitution by parishes. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1718.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, African Americans

Louisiana Folklife Program project files, 1973-2013 (1979-2007). 44 linear ft. (manuscript materials), 30 linear ft. (sound recordings), 3 linear ft. (video tapes). Location: 63:1-35, 33:9-13, 109:26-31, OS:L, L:45-50, 115:24-30, L:2a-4a, AA:. The Louisiana Folklife Program is one of the programs of the Division of the Arts. The mandate of the Folklife Program is to identify, document, preserve, and present Louisiana's traditional cultures. Collection includes correspondence, financial documents and papers, grant drafts. Also included are Folklife Program publications data, printed materials, newspaper clippings, posters, photographs, oral history recordings, videos, and contracts with musicians and craftspeople and completed applications, different commissions' minutes and materials, and correspondence and documentation on different folklife projects and folklife festivals. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4730.

Louisiana Folklore Society. Records, 1956-2014. 2 linear ft. Location: UU:262. Organization of folklorists, academics, teachers, and others interested in the study, preservation, and promotion of Louisiana folk culture. The records include correspondence, programs, minutes, financial records, and subject files relating to organization projects, publications, and meetings. Mss. 4168.

Louisiana lynching photograph, 1939. 1 gelatin silver print. Location: 65:5. This photograph by Chandler's Studio in Lafayette, La., dated August 19, 1939, shows a lynched African-American man still hanging from the tree on which he was killed. Mss. 3909.

Referenced in Guides: African Americans

Louisiana People's and White Man's Reform Party. Broadside, 1870 February. 1 printed item. Location: E:Range 8, Ephemera Collection, Subgroup I. Circular petition, probably printed in New Orleans, seeking signatures for the organization of a new political party opposed to radicalism and African American rule and supporting conservative white supremacy. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3030.

Lowrer, Elmer, 1913. Oral history interview. 1980. 1 sound cassette (1 hour), Transcript (21 pages). Location: L:4700.0037. President of the ABC News Department (1963-1974) and ABC Corporate Vice President (1974-1978). Lowrer discusses David Douglas Duncan's coverage of the Vietnam War for LIFE magazine and ABC; campaign commercials in the 1952 presidential election; the 1960 Kennedy-Nixon debates; and past presidential administrations' use of television. Lowrer also discusses Kennedy's handling of concern about his Catholicism and how he attracted the African American vote; and Spiro Agnew's 1969 speech against ABC News and how ABC dealt with the accusations. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0037.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Politics, African Americans

Loyd, Gladys Means and family. Papers, 1904-1975. 462 items, 10 volumes. Location: UU:215, P:18, 98:L. Schoolteacher of Ida (Caddo Parish) and St. Joseph (Tensas Parish), Louisiana. Papers include correspondence and genealogical notes on Ida, Louisiana, families; photograph albums on plantations, including Hundred Oaks Plantation in Baton Rouge; and scrapbooks on the history of Ida and Tensas Parish. Collection also includes ledgers of the Ida Hardware Store owned by James Taylor Means. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3224.

Lusher, Robert M. Papers, 1795-1941 (bulk 1856-1890). 1.3 linear feet. Location: C:43-44; G:17; OS:L; Vault:12. Educator and public official in Louisiana, Lusher held many positions including Louisiana State Superintendent of Education. Papers pertain to education in Louisiana during Reconstruction, teacher recruitment and training, military government, the Republican Party, education of African-Americans, the Peabody Foundation for Education in the South, and the Peabody Normal Seminary in New Orleans. Correspondence (1808-1847) consists of letters from members of the Mills and related families of Philadelphia and Washington, D.C. Manuscript volumes consist of diaries, letter books, record books, and scrapbooks. Mss. 696, 788, 1025, 1161, 1353.

Lynch, Edward. Document, 1861. 1 item. Location: Misc.:L. Resident of New Orleans. Slave bill of sale for slave sold to Christopher N. Pasteur of New Orleans. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 537.

Lynch, John Roy, 1847-1939. Papers, 1932. 3 items. Location: Misc. John Roy Lynch was a Republican Congressman from Mississippi (1873-1877, 1882-1883). In two letters, Lynch praises the administration of Ulysses S. Grant and regrets never having met Abraham Lincoln. A brief biographical sketch is also included. Mss. 3928.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, African Americans

Lyons, Charlton Havard, 1894-1973. Papers, 1942-1973. 2 linear ft.; 14 vols. (10 ms. vols.; 4 printed vols.). Location: 7:43, Vault. Shreveport, Louisiana, attorney; petroleum engineer; gubernatorial candidate; and Louisiana Republican Party leader. Correspondence on petroleum issues and legislation; state and national politics; and desegregation and civil rights issues. Papers include letters from Louisiana and national political leaders. Volumes contain speeches, articles, clippings, and theses. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3075.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, African Americans

Lytle, Andrew D. Family collection, circa 1824-1981 (bulk 1880-1915).  2.5 linear ft., 25 volumes, 50 artifacts. Location: 5:, 17:, OS:L. Photographer of Baton Rouge, Louisiana. This collection contains family papers, printed items, photographs, and artifacts relating to the Andrew D. Lytle family and the related Dickinson family. Family papers relate to family matters and genealogy. Printed items include newspaper clippings, prayer books, poetry, and picture postcards. Postcards were produced as souvenir postcards and depict scenes in Louisiana, Colorado, Ohio, and Winnipeg, Canada. Some postcards depict African-Americans as childlike (circa 1905). Photographs are in multiple formats that were produced professionally consisting of individual portraits and group photographs, including LSU cadets (1910-1911). Of note is a scene of a large African American group gathered at a river for a baptism (circa 1905). A variety of objects comprise the artifacts. They include jewelry, an evening bag, textiles, buckles, a flute, pins, and ribbons. Several artifacts represent chapters of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and Knights of Pythias. Mss. 5207.

MacKowen, John C. (John Clay). Papers, 1846-1966 (bulk 1897-1901). 103 items, 3 printed vols. Location: E:54; OS:M. Planter and physician of Jackson, Louisiana, and owner of a property in Anacapri, Italy. Letters concern the education of John MacKowen and his brothers in New England schools, MacKowen's Confederate service during the Civil War, the education of African Americans by plantation women, and the MacKowen property in Italy. Some letters and papers in Italian and French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2465.

Madden, Roberta M. Papers, 1968-2010. 11 linear ft. Location: 91:7-12. Baton Rouge-based businesswoman and activist. Papers include correspondence, subject files, publications, and other records related to her professional career and tenure as a leading local, state, and national advocate for women's rights and other progressive social and political causes. Mss. 5022.

Madison, Lewis. Certificate of freedman Jim Allen, 1841 March 5. 1 item. Location: Misc:M. Justice of the Peace for Jefferson County, Kentucky. Jim Allen was a freedman. Certificate attesting that Jim Allen was held in the Jefferson County jail as a runaway slave from November 1839-February 1840. The document certifies that Allen had been held and discharged from a New Orleans jail in August 1839, having 'free papers.' The certificate is addressed to B. Bryan, jailor, in Baton Rouge, where Allen's freedman status was verified again. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3659.

Magee, Sylvester, 1841-, interviewee. Oral history interview, 1969. 1 sound cassette (1 hour), Index (1 page). Location: L:4700.0039. Former slave and Civil War veteran. Magee discusses his parents, his owners (masters) in Mississippi before the Civil War, his service during the Civil War under General John Reuben, his participation in fighting at Vicksburg and Gettysburg, and his family. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0039.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War, African Americans

Magruder, Eliza L. Diary, 1846-1857. 2 vols., 1 typescript. Location: G:17, vault:18, microfiche 2729. A native of Maryland, Eliza Magruder (1803-1876), went to live at Arundo, the Jefferson County, Miss., plantation of her aunt and uncle, Olivia Magruder Dunbar (1786-1859) and Joseph Dunbar (1773-1846) around 1839. Arundo was located in Church Hill, Miss., near Natchez. After the death of Olivia Dunbar, Eliza Magruder moved to Oakland Plantation, the home of her aunt Lavinia Magruder Turpin (1786-1867) near Washington, Miss. In the diary, she comments on local social events and amusements, visiting friends, births and deaths, and treatment, care of, and unrest of slaves. She also records the weather, illness and death among slaves and friends and medical attention she provided, as well as her reading, sewing, and religious life, including comments on minsters and sermons she heard. In addition, she relates the activities of her aunt in running the plantation after the death of her husband. Available on microfilm 5750: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reel 34. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 654.

Manship, Douglas L. Papers, 1960-1963. .5 linear ft. Location: 10:43. Journalist of Baton Rouge, president of Capital City Press, and founder of the LSU Manship School of Mass Communication. Drafts of editorials broadcast on WBRZ-TV, and letters in response to the broadcasts. Letters particularly concern Manship's stance on the debate sparked by bills presented in the State Legislature on racial integration of public schools in Louisiana. Drafts of House Bills nos. 1-8 (1960) by T. T. Fields of Union Parish, Bryan J. Lehmann of St. Charles Parish, and Risley C. Triche of Assumption Parish are included. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4681.

Maraman, George W. Document, 1855. 1 item. Location: Misc.:M. Resident of New Orleans, Louisiana. Certification of a slave owned by George W. Maraman, New Orleans, La. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 279.

Referenced in Guides: New Orleans to 1861, African Americans

Marchant, James Alexander. Family Papers, 1860-1934 (bulk 1860-1887). 0.4 linear feet. Location E:112. Personal correspondence and papers, one diary, and photographs pertaining to the Marchant and DeArmond families of Clinton, East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana, and, later, Brazil. Letters pertain primarily to conditions in Clinton and East Feliciana Parish after the Civil War, including labor relations with freedmen. A few Civil War letters are also present and pertain to the Battle of Vicksburg, the C.S.S. Arkansas, and Ship Island, Miss. Also included is a letter of introduction for James Marchant from the citizens of Clinton to those of Brazil, a diary kept by the Marchants' son Madison chronicling their journey to Brazil, and photographs of family members, Robert E. Lee, and Joseph E. Johnston. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3641

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Civil War, African Americans

Pages