Manuscript Resources on African American History
This guide describes manuscript collections documenting African American history in the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections at LSU. It includes the papers of African Americans and their families; oral histories done with African Americans; and other collections that document African American history in one way or another. In the early period, these collections include documentation of slavery, the slave trade, abolitionism, and apologies for slavery. In the modern period, they include collections that document issues like civil rights, integration, and race relations.
Indeed, the experience of African Americans before and during the Civil War is often documented through the papers of others--among them, planters who bought and sold them as slaves and Union soldiers who commented upon them in letters and diaries. LSU has such resources in abundance. Papers of early African Americans themselves are more difficult to find. But Louisiana and the lower Mississippi Valley had a relatively large population of free persons of color, some of whom did leave papers. They worked as artisans in cities like New Orleans or Natchez, or were planters and even slaveholders themselves. LSU's collections of the papers of free persons of color include the papers of William Johnson of Natchez, now famed as a diarist and commentator on Southern mores.
|
Blanchard, Joseph. Document, 1825. 1 item. Location: Misc.:B. Resident of Iberville Parish, Louisiana. Sale (notarized copy) of land and slaves of Joseph Blanchard to Timoleon Boissac. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 668. Referenced in Guides: African Americans, French
|
|
|
Blanchard, Newton C. (Newton Crain), 1849-1922, Scrapbooks, 1892-1906. 4 vols. (on microfilm). Location: Mss. Mf.:B. Lawyer from Shreveport, Louisiana; U.S. representative (1881-1894); U.S. senator (1894-1897); and governor of Louisiana (1904-1908). Scrapbooks, containing newspaper clippings with some correspondence and other items, pertain mainly to Blanchard's political career and contain information about Louisiana politics, race relations, yellow fever, and the 1906 fire in the State Capitol. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2833. |
|
|
Blanche, Alexander. Papers, 1851-1914 (bulk 1851-1856, 1881-1914). 79 items, 2 volumes. Location: W:48, VAULT:3 OS:B. Cotton planter of Marydale Plantation, Tensas Parish, Louisiana. Antebellum plantation diary contains notes about cotton farming; slave labor and health; weather; medical remedies; and other plantation affairs. Papers consist of correspondence, tax and payroll receipts, account sheets, and receipts for prisoners. Letters to Blanche from S. L. James include information on plantation supplies and prison laborers. Available on microfilm 5322: Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B, Part 2, Reel 11, and microfilm 6061: Records of Ante-Bellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series I, Part 3, Reel 14. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3342. |
|
|
Blind Tom letter, 1867. 1 item. Location: Misc.B. Letter from a guest at Trenton House [Trenton, New Jersey], commenting on the artistic ability and physical characteristics of the blind African-American musician 'Blind Tom,' after attending a concert given by the pianist. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1533. Referenced in Guides: Performing arts, African Americans
|
|
|
Blount, W. M. Account book, 1817-1860. 1 vol. Location: H:14. Record of payment to Blount in settlement of William Pitt Higbee's estate and account. Also recorded are the accounts of Mrs. Amelia Gradinego, Daniel Zeringue, members of the Close family, and others of Petit Bois, St. Landry Parish, Louisiana. Entries include commodity prices, prices of slaves, taxes, cost of schooling, wages for a laborer, and other expenses incurred by local planters. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 177. |
|
|
Bond, Priscilla Munnikhuysen. Papers, 1858-1908 (bulk 1858-1866). 98 items, 3 volumes, 16 microfiche. Location: B:15, OS:B, MICROFICHE 2729. Resident of Terrebonne Parish, Louisiana. Collection consists of correspondence, diaries, poems, and photographs. Diaries record Bond's daily activities and observations relating to plantation life, runaway slaves, social activities, hypnotism, and Civil War experiences and thoughts, including participation by African American soldiers. Available on microfilm 5750: America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reel 33. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2155. |
|
|
Bookter, Alexander. Succession Papers, 1805 May 10. 1 item (9 leaves). Location: Misc:B. Slaveholder of St. Helena Parish, Louisiana. Slaves and other property were seized and sold at public sale after the death of Alexander Bookter by the Sheriff of St. Helena Parish for the payment of Bookter's debts. Affidavits of Ann Liles, William Liles, and John Mink regarding ownership of slaves and other property in the estate of Alexander Bookter. Signed by Spanish commandant of Louisiana, Carlos de Grand-Pre. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4514. |
|
|
Boothby, Charles W. Papers, 1861-1898 (bulk 1861-1874). 1 linear ft. Location: T:19, OS:B. U.S. Army captain, customs official, superintendent of education for New Orleans, and politician. Correspondence, printed military orders, and quartermaster's records reflect Civil War and postbellum New Orleans. Civil War papers document personal experiences, military engagements, African American soldiers, and political activity. Postbellum papers reflect the local and national political environment during Reconstruction. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4847. Referenced in Guides: Politics, New Orleans to 1861, New Orleans in the Civil War, New Orleans 1866-, Civil War, African Americans
|
|
|
Bordelon, Leonce P., Diaries, 1876-1931, 2005, 2007. 16 v. Location: J:28. Avoyelles Parish, La., planter. Diaries of Leonce P. Bordelon reflect Louisiana plantation life in rural Avoyelles Parish during the late 19th and early 20th centuries. Entries pertain primarily to plantation operations, the effects of climate on those operations, social activities, health and local elections. Some entries in French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4952. |
|
|
Bordelon, Leonce P., Diaries, 1876-1931, 2005. 15 v. Location: J:28. Avoyelles Parish, La., planter. Diaries of Leonce P. Bordelon reflect Louisiana plantation life in rural Avoyelles Parish during the late 19th and early 20th centuries. Entries pertain primarily to plantation operations, the effects of climate on those operations, social activities, health and local elections. Some entries in French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4952. |
|
|
Bordis & Co. Records, 1866. 3 items. Location: OS:B. Records include an agreement with freedmen drawn on an official form of the Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands and two payroll receipts for laborers employed on the Monot Plantation, Assumption Parish, Louisiana. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 965. Referenced in Guides: African Americans
|
|
|
Boston Museum (1847-1903). Playbill, 1861. 1 broadside. Location: E:Imprints. Abolitionist playbill reading: First nights of Dion Bourcicault's greatest production! Illustrating American character! American scenes! and Southern homes! entitled the Octoroon or--life in Louisiana, ...this Saturday afternoon, Dec. 14, 1861. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1558. |
|
|
Boudar, Thomas. Document, 1845. 1 item. Location: Misc.:B. Resident of New Orleans. Bill of sale (copy) for slaves sold to Marie Louise Paris of St. John the Baptist Parish, Louisiana by Boudar. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 25. Referenced in Guides: New Orleans to 1861, African Americans
|
|
|
Boudousquie, Charles. Document, 1840. 1 item. Location: Misc.:B. Sale of slaves to Charles Roussel, signed by a notary, with seal. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 34. Referenced in Guides: African Americans, French
|
|
|
Bourcier, Catherine Silly. Document, 1840. 1 item. Location: Misc.:B. Widow of Fran?ois C. Bourcier. A document signed by the recorder of mortgages in New Orleans, certifying the non-encumbrance of a slave belonging to Madame Catherine Silly. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 36. |
|
|
Bourgeois, Pierre. Family Papers, 1771-1821. 3 items. Location: Misc.:B. Papers include a land transfer (1771), a property sale (1775), and a petition regarding ownership of slaves (1821). Partly in French and in Spanish. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 37. |
|
|
Bowman, James P. Family papers, 1806-1926. 2615 items; 100 ms. vols., 6 printed vols. Location: B:19-24; J:18-19; OS:B; 98:. Planter of Rosedown Plantation, St. Francisville, Louisiana. Records and papers documenting the administration of Rosedown. Includes papers of William R. Bowman, Episcopal clergyman; and of James P. Bowman, Robert H. Barrow, Eliza Bowman Lyons, Catharine Rucker Turnbull, and Daniel Turnbull. Available on microfilm 5322: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 4, Reels 8-19. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1372, 1382. |
|
|
Boyd, David French. Papers, 1833-1934 (bulk 1860-1899). 9 linear ft., 10 microfilm reels. Location: D:12-19, MF.MSS:B, OS:B, MAP CAGE: DRAWER 34 (BACK WALL). Confederate officer, president of the Seminary of Learning at Alexandria, Louisiana, and president and professor at Louisiana State University (1884-1886). Papers contain correspondence, including correspondence with William T. Sherman; writings about Civil War figures; academic papers; photographs; financial papers; and printed items. Manuscript volumes consist of school notebooks; memorandum books; diaries, including a Civil War diary; morning reports from Kentucky Military Institute and Locust Dale Academy; and a minute book of the Demosthenian Society. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 40, 99, 794, 890, 893, 1400, 1612, 4234. Referenced in Guides: New Orleans in the Civil War, New Orleans 1866-, Civil War, Education, Baton Rouge, African Americans, LSU
|
|
|
Boyd, David French. William T. Sherman letters (part of the David French Boyd papers), 1859-1891. 0.3 linear ft., 1 microfilm reel. Location: U:179, MSS.MF:B, Vault:26. Civil War officers, educators. Letters refer to higher education, political issues, rights of freedmen, Ku Klux Klan activities, and the jetty system in New Orleans. Civil War letters concern Boyd's imprisonment. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 890, 893, 3362. Referenced in Guides: Politics, New Orleans in the Civil War, New Orleans 1866-, Civil War, Education, Baton Rouge, African Americans, LSU
|
|
|
Boyer, Albert P., Mrs. Papers and account books, 1885-1907. 0.8 linear ft. (47 items; 4 vols.). Location: E:51, O:67. African American undertaker of New Orleans. Papers include promissory notes; statements of account; bills for coffins and caskets; cashbooks; a journal reflecting accounts for funeral expenses; and a ledger containing client and burial society accounts. Available on microfilm 5750: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reel 1. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1258. |