Manuscript Resources on Women's History

This guide describes manuscript collections documenting women's history in the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections at LSU. It includes the papers of women, women's organizations, family papers with significant bodies of women's papers in them, and other collections that document women's history in one way or another.

LSU is fortunate because it collected women's papers very early, perhaps without systematically trying to do so. Women's voices, often buried in plantation collections and Civil War papers, have emerged from obscurity only in recent decades. Researchers coming to LSU can study the letters and diaries of plantation mistresses and teachers, the papers of women writers, and the papers of black women, among other sources. A number of our women's collections have been recently microfilmed by University Publications of America in its series on Southern Women and their Families, making these collections more widely accessible. 

Displaying 1 - 10 of 736. Show 5 | 10 | 20 | 40 | 60 results per page.

Abe Mayer and Brother. Account books, 1876-1878. 2 vols. Location: G:1, Box. General merchants of Clinton, East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. Record of account of Mrs. M. A. Silliman with Abe Mayer and Brother. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 391, 1100.

Referenced in Guides: Business, Women

Abell Family Papers, 1919-1931. 1 linear foot. Location: M:27. Papers belonging to the Abell family of the Winnsboro/Rayville area in northeast Louisiana. It consists primarily of correspondence between Evelyn Abell Norman, her brother—Edward C. Abell, III, and their mother—Annie Mamie Womble Abell during the early 1920s when Evelyn and Edward were attending Brenau College and Louisiana State University respectively. It also contains correspondence with other relatives and friends, two photographs, a camp training certificate, postcards, invitations to social gatherings, pay stubs/receipts, and clippings of accidents in the Rayville area. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4879.

Referenced in Guides: LSU, Women

Acadian Handicraft Project. Records. 1936-1962. 9.5 linear ft. Location: 7:98-106, OS:A. Project launched in 1942 to preserve the language and culture of the French-speaking people of Louisiana; project was suspended around 1962. Project launched in 1942 to preserve the language and culture of the French-speaking people of Louisiana. Records consist of general office files, program files for festivals and exhibitions, and records relating to the promotion, the production and sale of handicrafts. Some itmes are in French. Mss. 1880.

Referenced in Guides: Cajuns, French, Performing arts, Women

Adler, Barbara. Letter, 1833 March 2. 1 item. Location: Misc.:A. Resident of New Orleans, Louisiana. Letter to Frau Madalina Eisenhart, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, pertains to personal and family matters. In German. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2821.

Referenced in Guides: German, New Orleans to 1861, Women

African Methodist Episcopal Zion Church Women's Home and Foreign Missionary Society. Certificate, 1934. 1 item. Location: OS:A. Woman's Home and Foreign Missionary Society was organized in 1896 at Montgomery, Ala. for the purpose of supporting work in overseas fields. Membership certificate for the Foreign Missionary Society. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4134.

Referenced in Guides: African Americans, Religion, Women

Afton Villa journals and reports, 1976-2008. 7 v. Location: A:78. Genevieve Munson Trimble and her husband, Morrell Feltus Trimble, purchased the remains of Afton Villa, an antebellum mansion with gardens near St. Francisville, La., in 1972. The collection consists of color copies of three bound journals kept by Genevieve Trimble recording the restoration of the Afton Villa gardens, a history of Afton Villa by Genevieve Trimble, and three bound volumes of consultant's reports by Neil G. Odenwald. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 5009.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Women

Agnew, Janet Margaret. Papers, 1912-1942 (bulk 1940-1941). 263 items. Location: T:2-3. Assistant professor and bibliographical associate of the LSU Library School (1939-1942). Correspondence and research material relating to Agnew's compilation A SOUTHERN BIBLIOGRAPHY. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1488.

Referenced in Guides: LSU, Women

Alabama letters, 1823, 1846. 2 items. Location: Misc.:A. Letter (1823) from Isaac Hudson in Montgomery, Alabama, to Mrs. Elvira Moton of Virginia comments on local preaching. Letter (1846) from Sally near Montgomery to Miss Mary Wickes of Virginia describes the new state capital in Montgomery. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2723.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Women

Aldrich, Ella V. (Ella Virginia), 1902-1982. Papers, 1921-1973. 22 items. Location: Misc. Ella V. Aldrich Schwing was a librarian at LSU, a member of the faculty of the LSU Library School, and a member of the LSU Board of Supervisors. The papers include material on the Colfax riot of 1873, an inscribed reprint of "Huey, Lyndon, and Southern Radicalism" by T. Harry Williams, a clipping of "The Legacy of Knute Heldner" from the Dixie Roto Magazine, and 15 photographic prints of plaques bearing Schwing's name on buildings at LSU System campuses. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3374.

Referenced in Guides: African Americans, LSU, New Orleans 1866-, Women

Allemand, Theresa. Document, 1804. 1 item. Location: Misc.:A. Daughter of Pedro Allemand and Maria Hernandez. Certificate of baptism of Theresa Allemand. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 552.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Spanish, Women

Pages