Manuscript Resources on Religion

Displaying 71 - 80 of 284. Show 5 | 10 | 20 | 40 | 60 results per page.

Cornish, Reverend John Hamilton, 1815-1878. Papers, 1855-1888. 157 items. Location: W:51. Protestant Episcopal Rector of St. Thaddeus' Church, Aiken, South Carolina. Collection includes correspondence of Cornish, his sons, his daughters, and other family members. Correspondence concerns church affairs, education of the sons at Sewanee Theological Seminary and other institutions, travel, and personal relationships. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3365.

Referenced in Guides: Education, Religion, Women

Cortes, Fernando, 1487-1547. Ordinances, 1524 March 20. 4 items (photocopies), typewritten transcription and translation. Location: Misc. Spanish conqueror of Mexico. Ordinances prescribing the rule and conversion to Christianity of the Indians, crops to be planted, and residence requirements for Spaniards holding Indian slaves. Maps show Cortes' travels and a plan of Tenochtitlan. In Spanish. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2504.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Spanish

Cottingham, Claybrook C., 1881-1949. Papers, 1860-1963 (bulk 1907-1956). 198 items, 18 vols. (12 printed vols., 6 ms. vols.). Location: 6:40-41, OS:C. President of Louisiana College and Louisiana Polytechnic Institute, and director of Rotary International. Collection contains manuscripts of speeches related to education and religion, correspondence related to Rotary International, a notebook, scrapbooks, clippings, and memorabilia. Also included are issues of The Pine Knot (1913-1937). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2686.

Referenced in Guides: Education, Religion

Courtenay, A. L. Letter, 1866. 1 letter. Location: MISC:C. A letter dated April 23, 1866 from the Reverend A. L. Courtenay regarding going to Public Houses on the Lord's Day to confront patrons there about evil. Reverend Courtenay cannot return to a committee that includes a person with the "'features of the Red Indian'" and "a boundless capacity for evil." Mss. 822.

Referenced in Guides: Religion

Cutler, R. King (Rufus King). Memorandum, 1884 April 14. 1 item. Mss. 3032. Louisiana politician, an organizer of the state's Republican party, elected to the U.S. Congress, which refused to seat him over differences on Reconstruction. Memorandum, written in New Orleans, expresses Cutler's support for national uniformity in matters of religion, law, and currency. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3032.

Referenced in Guides: New Orleans 1866-, Politics, Religion

Dana, Charles B. Family Papers, 1799-1949 (bulk 1823-1880). 700 items, 59 vols. Location: B:71-72, OS:D, K:35-36, Mss.Mf:D. Protestant Episcopal minister of Alexandria, Virginia, Port Gibson, Mississippi, and Natchez, Mississippi. Papers include correspondence, sermons, essays, maps, photographs, and other papers relating to religious activities, family matters, and local events. Manuscript volumes are comprised of a diary, cashbooks, registers, sermons, and notebooks. A letter of S. A. Kimball of Concord, New Hampshire discusses the abolitionist movement and members of the Colonization Society (1836). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 972, 973.

Dauterive & Fremaux (Crowley, La.). Funeral record book, 1923-1926. 1 v., 9 items. Location: A:78. Dauterive & Fremaux was a firm of undertakers and embalmers in Crowley, La. This ledger records funerals conducted between May 1923 and October 1925, with one on August 30, 1926. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3372.

Referenced in Guides: Business, Religion

Davis, Lucy Wilcox, 1843-1928. Family papers, 1921-1980. 7 items. Location: Misc. The collection contains a short letter from J.W. Noyes, one of six surviving members of the Orleans Cadets, 1st Louisiana Infantry Regiment (1921); two clippings on veterans of the Orleans Cadets (early 1920s); a copy of "History of the First Presbyterian Church of Baton Rouge, Louisiana" (1927); "Twenty-Five Years of Usefulness," a typescript history of the Bank of Commerce at St. Francisville, La., by E.G. Davis (circa 1940); a program for the centennial celebration of Covington Presbyterian Church in Covington, La. (1948); and a pamphlet on the Covington Presbyterian Church (1980). Mss. 4049.

Referenced in Guides: Business, Religion

De Forest, George. Collection, 1548, 1604-1945. 44 linear ft., 149 vols. Location: 77:35-49; 31:25-30; 31:35-36; 31:63-65; OS:D; 98. New Orleans bookseller. Collection of American (including Louisiana), British, French, Latin American, and other documents, covering a wide range of occupations, including writers, lawyers, soldiers, clergy, and scientists. Includes a group of British travel diaries. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1350.

Referenced in Guides: French, Literature, Religion

Dearborn, J. A. Letter. 1851. 1 item. Location: Misc. Methodist minister. Letter from Dearborn upon his arrival in Baton Rouge from Kentucky, giving a humorous account of travel on the Ohio River and telling of church work in Baton Rouge. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1525.

Referenced in Guides: Baton Rouge, Religion, Transportation

Pages