The History of New Orleans After the Civil War

This guide contains descriptions of manuscript materials on the history of New Orleans since the Civil War. These materials include the records of New Orleans residents, physicians, attorneys, politicians, journalists, writers and authors, educators, students, soldiers, clergymen, planters, merchants, factors and commission brokers, businesses, clubs and organizations. The history of New Orleans since 1866 is documented through papers (personal, business, financial, legal, military and government), educational materials, diaries, correspondence, newspaper clippings, photographs, sheet music, poetry, and bills and receipts.

Some of the topics covered by collections described in this guide include the Spanish-American War, World War II, nursing in peace time and in war, music, theater (opera and plays), literature, and travel descriptions.

Displaying 1 - 10 of 552. Show 5 | 10 | 20 | 40 | 60 results per page.

'Red Mass' prayer book, 1958. 2 items, 1 pamphlet. Location: E:Imprints. The 'Red Mass' celebrates the opening of the Judicial year and is sponsored annually by the St. Thomas More Catholic Lawyers Association of New Orleans at St. Louis Cathedral. Booklet containing prayers to be recited at the 'Red Mass.' Two enclosures in the booklet consist of an invitation and short history of the Mass, and an instruction card from Charles J. Rivet, K.S.G., in charge of protocol. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1829.

Referenced in Guides: New Orleans 1866-, Religion

Account book, 1888-1890. 1 vol. (513 p.). Location: B:72. Account book of printing or stationery business, probably located in New Orleans, Louisiana. Entries relate to stationery and printed products. Pages 1-134 contain general entries; pages 351 to 410 contain entries for Joseph J. Hooper; pages 451-477 contain entries for George Ellis. For further information, see online catalog. Mss.4541.

Actors and Musicians Photographs, ca. 1880-1920. 64 items. Location: E:71. The collection consists of mounted and unmounted black and white photographs of actors and musicians who appeared at New Orleans theaters during the period of 1880-1920. Handwritten notes on the back of many of the photos identify the individuals, the theater where they appeared, and the name of the play or event. Among the New Orleans houses so identified are the Tulane, Athenaeum, Orpheum, Dauphine, and Crescent Theaters, as well as the French Opera House. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2116.

Referenced in Guides: New Orleans 1866-, Performing arts

Albrizio, Conrad Alfred, 1894-1973. Papers, 1894-1973. 1.5 linear ft. Location: 64:4, T:14, OS:A, 104-105. Artist. Albrizio studied architecture at the Beaux Arts Institute, and later studied painting and drawing in New Orleans, Louisiana and Paris. He learned fresco painting and mural composition in Rome. In 1935 he joined the LSU Art Department. Collection includes personal and professional letters, slides, photographs, sketches, and printed items. Slides and photographs depict his work in the mural and fresco genres. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3349.

Referenced in Guides: New Orleans 1866-

Aldrich, Ella V. (Ella Virginia), 1902-1982. Papers, 1921-1973. 22 items. Location: Misc. Ella V. Aldrich Schwing was a librarian at LSU, a member of the faculty of the LSU Library School, and a member of the LSU Board of Supervisors. The papers include material on the Colfax riot of 1873, an inscribed reprint of "Huey, Lyndon, and Southern Radicalism" by T. Harry Williams, a clipping of "The Legacy of Knute Heldner" from the Dixie Roto Magazine, and 15 photographic prints of plaques bearing Schwing's name on buildings at LSU System campuses. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3374.

Referenced in Guides: African Americans, LSU, New Orleans 1866-, Women

Ambert, Joachim. Papers, 1838-1876. 9 items. Location: Misc.:A, OS:A. French military officer and nobleman. Personal papers consisting of passports and related items (1838-1840); two letters from Baron Ambert in New Orleans, Louisiana; a bill for accommodations in Niagara Falls, New York; and Ambert's French military service record. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1356.

AMERICA Broadside, ca. 1899. 4 items. Location: OS:A. Steamboat owned and commanded by Captain LeVerrier Cooley, a native of Savanna, Illinois, and later a resident of New Orleans, Louisiana. Broadside announcing the celebration of the maiden voyage of the America, the 'biggest boat that ever sailed the Ouachita.' Also includes a sheet of letterhead paper and two envelopes with views of the Mississippi River cotton packet. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1785.

Referenced in Guides: New Orleans 1866-, Transportation

Andry, M. T. (Michel Thomassin), 1811-ca. 1871. Family Papers, 1840-1882 (bulk 1858-1879). 0.3 linear ft. (199 items). Location: UU:66. Sugar planter of St. John the Baptist and St. Charles parishes, Louisiana, and resident of New Orleans. Collection includes correspondence and legal and financial papers. Letters received by Andry's daughter Rosa from his sons describe their participation in the Battle of Shiloh, campaigns in Kentucky, and skirmishes at Camp Beauregard in the Civil War. Partly in French. Available on microfilm 5735: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reel 1. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1318.

Anne Rice collection, 1979-1991. 0.5 linear ft. Location: W:69. New Orleans, Louisiana author. Articles, interviews, and reviews by and about Anne Rice and her works. Includes audio tapes of interviews of Rice on National Public Radio (undated) and on a Larry King radio broadcast (November 1988). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4446.

Referenced in Guides: Literature, New Orleans 1866-, Women

Annual report of the New Orleans Belt and Terminal Co. to the Interstate Commerce Commission of the United States, 1903. 2 v. Location: J:25. The New Orleans Belt and Terminal Company was formed in 1901 to operate the property of the New Orleans and Western Railroad Company. Annual reports to the ICC report the company's history, officers, assets, expenditures, earnings, and traffic and mileage statistics, as well as describe its equipment and relationship to the New Orleans and Western Railroad Company and the New Orleans Terminal Company. For more information, see the online catalog. Mss. 4871.

Referenced in Guides: Business, New Orleans 1866-, Transportation

Pages