Manuscript Resources on the History of Medicine

This guide describes collections documenting the history of medicine in the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections (LLMVC) at LSU. It includes the papers of physicians; surgeons; dentists; nurses; medical orderlies; and druggists and pharmacists. It also contains records of hospitals and asylums. There are a number of collections containing records of nursing associations.

The guide also contains remedies and recipes for medical treatments like medicinal tea; materials on medical education; prescriptions; descriptions of medical treatments; and doctors' record books with patient information, treatments, and fees. There are also materials on such diseases as yellow fever and cholera; plantation records that include information on the health of family members and slaves; materials on veterinary medicine; and medical advertisements. Finally, there are materials relating to illnesses and wounds suffered during wartime, particularly during the Civil War, World War I, and World II. Most of the collections are from Louisiana, but there are also materials from other parts of the Lower Mississippi Valley.

Displaying 1 - 10 of 326. Show 5 | 10 | 20 | 40 | 60 results per page.

Allen, William M. Correspondence, 1858-1863. 22 items. Location: E:3. Farmer of Holmesville, Pike County, Mississippi. His sister, Letty, and her husband, John Houston, owned a farm in Minden, Webster Parish, Louisiana. William and his brother Felix were Confederate soldiers in the Mississippi Volunteers. Pre-Civil War letters from Houston discuss farming conditions, his advocacy of secession, and local social events. Civil War letters to Allen describe skirmishes in Kentucky and Louisiana, and war news such as the shelling of Port Hudson, Louisiana. Family affairs, illness and remedies, and attendance at the New Orleans School of Medicine are other topics in the letters. Available on microfilm 5735: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reel 1. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 701, 2287.

Alley, Mary, Scrapbooks, 1843, 1862-1884, 1910.109 items, 3 vols. Location: Mss. Mf.:A. Baton Rouge native and wife of Charles Henry Jolly. Clippings from Baton Rouge papers on local and national issues at the end of the Civil War and early Reconstruction. Topics include politics, medicine, poetry, anecdotes, and deaths of Baton Rougeans. Other printed items include pamphlets on the dedication of St. Joseph's Cathedral and the history of the Catholic Church in Baton Rouge. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3570.

Referenced in Guides: Civil War, Literature, Medicine, Politics, Religion, Women

American Psychological Association. Division of Clinical Neuropsychology. Records, 1982-2003 (1994-1996). 1.2 linear ft. Location: T:66. The APA was founded at Clark University in 1892 for the advancement of psychology as a science, and incorporated in 1925. Division 40 petitioned for recognition in 1995, and was sanctioned in 1996. Archival records of Division 40 (Clinical Neuropsychology) of the American Psychological Association, including Division policy documents, minutes of meetings, committee reports, significant correspondence, and printed material. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4745.

Referenced in Guides: Medicine

Anderson, John Q. Manuscript, LOUISIANA SWAMP DOCTOR,1836-1970 (`bulk 1836-1853, 1930-1958). 352 items. Location: C:76. Writer and professor of English, University of Houston, Texas. Manuscript of Louisiana Swamp Doctor; The Writings of Henry Clay Lewis, Alias 'Madison Tensas, M.D.', edited by John Q. Anderson. (Baton Rouge: LSU Press, 1962) and related correspondence and research notes. It also contains succession records for the estate of Henry Clay Lewis (1853).For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2156.

Referenced in Guides: Education, Literature, Medicine

Anderson, John Q. Papers, ca. 1930-1990. 3 linear ft. Location: C:76-78, W:8, 7:51-52, OS:A. Writer and professor of English, University of Houston, Texas. Papers documenting Anderson's teaching career and writings. Includes reprints of articles, copies of typescripts of his Louisiana Swamp Doctor, and research materials for Kate Stone's diary, published as Brokenburn. Included are other writings on folklore and history, research materials of his wife Loraine Epps Anderson, and materials documenting their involvement with the Texas Folklore Society. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2162.

Referenced in Guides: Education, Literature, Medicine

Andrews, James M. Papers, 1846-1892. .25 linear ft. (103 items; 1 ms. vol., 1 printed vol.). Location: U:6. Farmer of Clinton, East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. In the 1840s he was a member of the Johnson Guards, Andrew Jackson Regiment, as part of the Texas Army of Occupation. Papers include correspondence, legal documents, poems, nursery price lists, home recipes and remedies, tax and merchandise receipts, Confederate bonds, and the succession accounts of Mrs. Louisa Andrews. Correspondence includes letters from James' father discussing relatives, local affairs, and crop conditions in Clinton. Letters from his daughter describe economic conditions in Amite, Louisiana. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 861.

Referenced in Guides: Literature, Medicine, Women

Anonymous medical notebook, 1831-1849. 1 ms. vol. Location: M:18. Notebook includes remedies for various medical conditions, recipes, and a diary. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2901.

Referenced in Guides: Medicine

Anonymous veterinary medicine notebook, 1840. 1 vol. Location: F:2. Notebook containing notes on the commercial jurisprudence of veterinary medicine, including Roman and French law; a consideration of various animal diseases; and models of various forms of commercial paper. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 284.

Referenced in Guides: French, Medicine

Anonymous letter, 1847. 1 item. Location: Misc.:A. Letter from New Orleans, Louisiana, La., refers to the yellow fever epidemic. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1801.

Referenced in Guides: Medicine, New Orleans to 1861

Anonymous Planter Ledger, 1848-1849. 1 vol. Location: Misc.:A. Plantation ledger, possibly kept by Abraham Lobdell, a West Baton Rouge Parish, La. planter. Ledger records payments for services, goods, and taxes on land. Included are entries recording slave births and deaths, medical bills, gifts to the Protestant Episcopal Church, and goods sold to slaves on credit. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2905.

Pages