Special Collections
LSU Libraries
spacer
Home / Online Catalog Site A-Z Help    
   

 

Manuscript Resources on
the History of Transportation in the
Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections,
Special Collections, LSU Libraries


Contents:
Introduction
Alphabetical List
Chronological Index

INTRODUCTION This guide to manuscript resources on the history of transportation in Louisiana includes a wide variety of materials, among them the records of merchants, factors, commission brokers, planters, attorneys, soldiers, ship owners, captains, steamboats, shipping companies, railroad companies, men, women and children travelers; record books; account books; bills of lading, waybills and receipts; log books of steamers; ship registers; travel diaries; and prints of river scenes and steamboats.

Major topics addressed include steamboats, schooners, the slave trade, shipping, and cotton and sugar (sale, trade, shipment and receipt).

Collections in this guide are listed alphabetically. Brief descriptions include references to sources for additional information--either the LSU Libraries' catalog, which is accessible through the Internet, or the manuscript card catalog in the Special Collections reading room of Hill Memorial Library. Still additional information on some of these collections can be found in detailed finding aids in the reading room. Increasingly, electronic copies of these finding aids can be found on the World Wide Web site for Special Collections, where you can also find information about using the collections, searching the online catalog remotely, and asking us questions.

Find in Page

ALPHABETICAL LIST

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z |

Abraham Bell & Co. Letters and receipts, 1841-1844. 5 items. Location: Misc:A. Quaker-owned shipping merchant company of New York City, with business interests in New Orleans. Two receipts document cotton purchased in New Orleans for Abraham Bell & Co. One letter discusses American and English cotton and freight prices, and social matters. A bill of lading and a letter document the shipment of personal goods from New York. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4675.

Alabama cotton sales and shipping statements collection, 1834-1927. 53 items. Location: Misc:A. Collection consisting of statements from cotton factors of Mobile, Alabama, which show freight and related charges for handling and commissions. Included are waybills for the steamers Magnolia, Lucy E. Gastrell, Hard Cash, and Nettie Quill. Also included is a manifest for the steamer Peri. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1717.

Alabama River steamboat list collection, 1865-1895. 2 items. Location: Misc:A. The Alabama River is formed by the confluence of the Coosa and Tallapoosa Rivers in Alabama and was used for the shipment of sand, gravel, logs, pulpwood, cotton, and gasoline. It flows past Selma, Alabama, and runs into the Mobile River. The items contain lists of steamboats burned or sunk on the Alabama River. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1516.

AMERICA broadsides, [1899], n.d. 4 items. Location: OS:A. Steamboat owned and commanded by Captain LeVerrier Cooley, a native of Savanna, Illinois, and later a resident of New Orleans. Broadside announcing the celebration of the maiden voyage of the America, the 'biggest boat that ever sailed the Ouachita.' Also includes a sheet of letterhead paper and two envelopes with views of the Mississippi River cotton packet. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1785.

Amite Navigation Company. Articles of agreement, 1818 March 29. 1 item [copy]. Location: Misc:A. Established in 1817 to open the Amite River of Louisiana for navigation. Articles of agreement executed in 1817 outlining the company's objective of opening the Amite River to navigation by boats from the confluence of its branches to Galveston, Ascension Parish, Louisiana. Provisions of the article are listed along with names of subscribers and the number of shares underwritten by each subscriber. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1032.

Annual report of the New Orleans Belt and Terminal Co. to the Interstate Commerce Commission of the United States, 1903. 2 v. Location: J:25. The New Orleans Belt and Terminal Company was formed in 1901 to operate the property of the New Orleans and Western Railroad Company. Annual reports to the ICC report the company's history, officers, assets, expenditures, earnings, and traffic and mileage statistics, as well as describe its equipment and relationship to the New Orleans and Western Railroad Company and the New Orleans Terminal Company. For more information, see the online catalog. Mss. 4871.

Anonymous Confederate letter, 1861 July 3. 1 item. Location: Misc. Letter written from New Orleans describing a method of blocking the Mississippi River to federal military boats. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2899.

Anonymous ledger, 1848-1851. 1 vol. Location: G:2. Ledger of a merchant, probably at Port Hudson, Louisiana, containing accounts of prominent men in the area, particularly high ranking military officers, and of the steamboats Brilliant, E. D. White, and Montgomery. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Filed in the manuscript card catalog under East Feliciana Parish Archives Collection. Records introduced as evidence. Mss. 1100.

Anonymous letter, 1851. 1 item. Location: Misc. Letter written from Alexandria, Rapides Parish, Louisiana, by Augusta (?), to her sister, Mrs. Sarah W. Simpson, Newburyport, Massachusetts. The letter describes the excitement in Alexandria among whites and blacks over Jenny Lind's concert in New Orleans; steamboats and fishing on the Red River; and other local news. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1008.

Anonymous Louisiana description, 1800 ca. 1 item (8 pages). Location: Impr. Published general description of Louisiana for the period 1514 to 1798. Included is an unidentified letter from New Orleans (1790) referring to a trip from Baltimore, Maryland, to New Orleans by way of the Ohio and Mississippi Rivers. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2325.

Anonymous scrapbook, 1861-1936, n.d. 2 vols. Location: Mf. Miscellaneous newspaper clippings collected mainly from newspapers in New Orleans and Natchez, Mississippi, include materials relative to Reconstruction, the impeachment of President Andrew Johnson, the Chicago fire of 1871, and steamboats. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2554.

Anonymous short story, 1904 ca. 1 item. Location: Misc. Story centering around the Steamer Betsy Ann when she was operating on a packet from Natchez to Bayou Sara on the Mississippi River. It features the home of Captain Lane Brandon of Como Landing and the surrounding territory in the Tunica Hills. It also features the building of the Red River Valley railroad as part of the Louisiana Railway and Navigation Company. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1086.

Anonymous travel notebook, 1869-1877. 1 ms. vol. Unidentified notebook containing travel accounts of several trips to Europe, itinerary while there, excerpts of poems, jokes, accounts of expenses, and miscellaneous memoranda. Location: Mss. 606. M:18. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 606.

Audubon, John James, 1785-1851. Letters, 1831-1832. 3 items (photocopies). Location: Misc. American naturalist and artist. Letters to his wife describe Audubon's nature study trip along the east coast of Florida. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2787.

Babcock, Mrs. George. Diaries, 1871. 1 item and 2 ms. vols. Location: J:5. Wife of a New Orleans merchant. Travel diaries record a trip to Europe and give descriptions of places and events in England, Scotland, Belgium, Germany, Italy, Switzerland, and France. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 791.

Bank of Mississippi. Bill of lading, 1824. 1 item. Location: Misc:W. Bill of lading for the transport of nine thousand dollars specie, contained in an iron bound keg, to Natchez, Mississippi, from the port of New Orleans aboard the steamboat Tanny. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3666.

Barron, Charles, fl. 1840-1845. Letters, 1840-1845. 6 items. Location: Misc:B. Seaman on the ship Sharon. Letters to Barron's parents in Topsham, Maine, written from New Orleans and New York. They describe individual ships and the shipping business trade from the Northeast to New Orleans and to Liverpool, England. Included are comments on freight, ship crews, weather, and activities at various ports. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1221, 1248, 1274, 1334.

Baton Rouge Transportation Company. Records, 1916-1919, 1935-1943. 2 ms. vols. Location: F:3. Log books of Baton Rouge ferry boats Hazel and City of Baton Rouge. The early volume records a few local items, the weather, and river conditions. The second volume contains entries for routine fire drills and inspection of equipment. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2388.

Baton Rouge, Grosse Tete, and Opelousas Railroad Co. Stock certificates, 1859 April 1, June 25. 3 items. Location: Misc. Shares bought in the names of W. B. Robertson, Jordan Holt, and Henri Pelichet, and issued at Bayou Grosse Tete, Louisiana. A vignette of a train is printed on the certificates. Transfer of title is written on the back, including one to W. S. Pike. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1524.

Bayou Lafourche passenger lists, 1835-1836. 14 items. Location: OS:B. Sheets from passage book of Pierre Gabaroche, Sheldrick Moore, S. G. Moore, and P. R. Lott listing names of passengers on the steamer Revenue and probably another steamboat from towns on Bayou Lafourche to New Orleans and return. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1738.

Beadle, Erastus F. Diary, 1857. 1 ms. vol. Location: M:20, BTC. Travel diary of a trip from Buffalo, New York, to lands near Omaha, Nebraska. Entries reflect incidents of travel, political sentiments of the day, the great emigration to the new territory, life in Nebraska, and the financial panic of 1857. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 914.

Bertrand, Alvin Lee, 1918- interviewee. Oral history interview, 1995. 5 sound cassettes (7.5 hours), transcript (276 p.). Location: L:4700.0524. LSU
alumnus and Boyd Professor of Sociology/Rural Sociology. Boyd discusses growing up in rural Louisiana and the French language and Cajun culture. He also
discusses loss of the small farm way of life; agricultural mores; the impact of mechanization on rural life in Louisiana; and the building of roads in the 1930s. He
describes the general layout of the LSU campus in 1936 and comments on the many changes he witnessed while at LSU. He details his long association with LSU
and the Sociology Dept.; the development of rural sociology at LSU; his work as an international rural sociologist; and his research and studies on health care needs. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0524.

Betts, Ephraim. Diaries, 1862-1864. 4 items (2 ms. vols.). Location: J:13. Sergeant in the 114th New York Volunteers during the Civil War. Betts enlisted in 1862 and was stationed in Louisiana until he was discharged in 1864 because of trouble with his eyes. Diaries describe Betts' journey from New York to New Orleans, camp life, the assault on Port Hudson and the Confederate surrender, the Sabine Pass Expedition, and events on the boat back to New York. Included in the diaries are lists of men in Betts' command, personal cash accounts, and lists of letters sent and received. Loose papers in the pocket of one diary include two military passes. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3433.

The Ephraim Betts Diaries are also available on microfilm, location: Mf.B

Biering, Lucie. Letters, 1904. 12 items (on 1 microfilm reel). Location: Mss.Mf:B. Resident of Montana and the granddaughter of Christian D. Koch, Hancock County, Mississippi. Letters written when Lucie was 12 describe a trip with her father from Montana to Russia via Mississippi, New York City, Germany, and Denmark. Included are descriptions of Russian culture, customs, and military preparations for the Russo-Japanese War. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1479.

Bigelow, Jonas. Letter, 1835 June 20. 1 item. Location: Misc. Letter from Fort Smith, Arkansas, to Otis Arnold, Cincinnati, Ohio, referring to Bigelow's business of running a steamboat and flat and keel boats, loaded with cattle and corn, down the Mississippi River to New Orleans. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2344.

Binning, Wayne. Collection, 1830-1896. 106 items. Location: U:114. Professor of history at University of Mississippi. Constable's bills of costs (1830, 1832) St. Augustine, Territory of Florida; and other items (1850, 1877-1896) pertaining to the treatment and railroad transportation of prisoners and the insane in the state of Florida. Photographs of American and European historical figures, largely nineteenth century, include Civil War military and political figures. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2043.

Blackburn, J. Letter, 1819 January 7. 1 item (2 leaves). Location: Misc:B. First officer of a ship owned by a company based in New Orleans. The ship's chandlers were Paterson & Philpot. Letter detailing Blackburn's involvement with settling his deceased captain's affairs. It comments on the need to consign the ship to another house or company and it reports the captain's debts and credits, mentioning an enclosed copy of his accounts. This copy is not included. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3326.

Bowling, L. Cotton record book, 1856. 1 vol. Location: M:18. Probably a clerk in a New Orleans cotton factor's office. Record book kept by Bowling lists the number of bales of cotton received, the names of steamers and railroads transporting the cotton, and the places of origin of the cotton. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1351.

Bray, John A. Papers, 1838-1856. 4 items. Location: Misc:B. Cotton planter of 'Cotile,' Rapides Parish, Louisiana. Items include a bill for goods bought by Bray and for freight shipped aboard the steamboat Louisiana; a statement by New Orleans cotton factor A. Miltenberger recording Bray's sale of cotton; and a letter concerning the hire of a 'boy.' Included is a copy of a deed to land and slaves in Avoyelles Parish, Louisiana. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 893.

Brusle, Charles A. Diary, 1861 July-September. 1 ms. vol. Location: Safe:2. Sugar planter of Plaquemine, Iberville Parish, Louisiana; Confederate army officer; state senator and representative; tax collector; and sheriff. Brusle's diary contains an account of his trip to the Creek Nation, Indian Territory, to muster a regiment of Creeks into the military service of the Confederacy under orders from General Benjamin McCulloch. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1627.

Buckley, Nathaniel. Record book, 1846-1864. 1 ms. vol. Location: Mf. Copies of official reports of officers of the U.S.S. Dale, a naval vessel assigned to duty in the Gulf of California during the Mexican War, describe military actions in the town of Guaymas and several nearby villages during the spring months of 1848. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2669.

Calcasieu League for Environmental Action Now (C.L.E.A.N.) Records, 1980-2001. 16.3 linear ft. Location: 93:32-45. Correspondence, newspaper clippings, meeting minutes, subject files, and records of the Calcasieu League for Environmental Action Now (CLEAN). Items pertain principally to planning, legislation, environmental issues, and activities. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4799 Complete finding aid.

Capseg, Ives. Document, 1796. 1 item. Location: Misc. Captain of the ship Navarro. Protest of the ship Navarro concerning the misconduct of some of the officers on the ship. In Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 721.

Card, H. T. Letter, 1863 October 7. 1 item (2 leaves). Location: Misc:C. Union soldier in the Civil War. Letter written to Card's brother and sister from Glendale, Mississippi, describes travel by railroad through Corinth, Mississippi, life in military camp, and the local landscape. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3245.

Causey, R. J. Correspondence, 1863 September 25-November 19. 4 items. Letters from Causey's wife comment on a black riot near Tickfaw, Tangipahoa Parish, Louisiana; Confederate farm taxes; and transportation difficulties of sending cotton to Baton Rouge. Misc. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2133.

Chandler, E. H. Letter, 1861 May 30. 1 item. Location: Misc. Agent of R. F. & P. Railroad Company. Letter from Confederate Army Headquarters, Fredericksburg, Virginia, instructing Chandler to report to the mayor of Fredericksburg the arrival by railroad of all suspicious persons and to detain them for questioning by military authorities. Included are instructions about the issuance of railroad passes to soldiers. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2487.

Charles, I. H. (Isaac Henry). Letters, 1841-1848. 10 items. Location: Misc:C. Charles moved with his family from Philadelphia to New Orleans in 1841. There he attended school and worked as a clerk in a commercial house. Letters to a cousin, John Edward Liddall, describe Charles' sea voyage to New Orleans; his secondary education in private schools in Louisiana; the presence of yellow fever; news of the War with Mexico; and reactions to a call for volunteers. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 621.

Chelsea Bridge toll book, 1805. 1 vol. Location: F:3. Daily record of tolls for Chelsea Bridge, in Massachusetts, kept in 1805 by David Moore and Oliver Pope. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2600.

Civil War soldiers letters, 1863. 6 items. Location: Misc. Sam White and F. A. Belcher, Union soldiers stationed in Louisiana during the Civil War. Letters to their families describe their sea voyage to New Orleans and encampments at Baton Rouge, Algiers, and Brashear City (now Morgan City), Louisiana. Other topics include contraband slaves as laborers and as military recruits; and medical care. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3188.

Clauss & Fischer. Journal, 1851-1852. 1 vol. Location: G:16. Merchants and commission brokers of Bayou Sara, Louisiana. Frederick Fischer and Catherine Clauss were immigrants from Germany. Their son, Charles Leonhardt Fischer, was a Confederate veteran, attorney, and politician of St. Francisville. Journal records expenses for goods and services of local residents and plantation owners and managers, including members of the Turnbull, McKowen, Stirling, Barrow, Joor, Weems, and other families. Entries also document freight shipped aboard steamers. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4640.

Clinton and Port Hudson Railroad Company. Record books, 1841-1843, 1853-1879. 2 vols. Location: G:3. Local railroad in East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. Record book contains manifests of cotton shipped from Clinton to Port Hudson. Minute book contains a copy of the act of incorporation; names of the board of directors, officers, and stockholders; the by-laws; and minutes of the board of directors meeting. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1100.

Clinton and Port Hudson Railroad. Company daybook, 1851-1853, 1867-1870. 1 vol. Location: M:21. Local railway in East Feliciana, Louisiana. Daybook contains daily entries for freight receipts kept by Thomas H. W. Baynard and S. C. Richmond with the Clinton and Port Hudson Railroad Co. Later entries (1867-1870) are grocery accounts with M. Harris, a general merchant of Clinton, Louisiana. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1353.

Cobden, Alfred F. Diary, 1852. 1 vol. Location: Misc. Resident of London, England. Typescript of a letter written in diary form from Alfred F. Cobden, to his sister, describing a trip to the Madeira Islands from November 1850 to May 1851. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 949.

Colonel Cutts (Ship). Logbook, 1856-1878 (bulk 1856 February 13-October 19). 1 vol. Location: P:19. Ship which operated out of New Orleans. Its master was Jesse Snow. Logbook recording activities aboard the Colonel Cutts as it sailed from New Orleans to Falmouth, Bremen, Bremerhaven, Cronstadt, London, Cardiff, and back to New Orleans. Included is a record of men employed from shore at Cronstadt. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1022.

Comeaux, Louis, 1911-, interviewee. Oral history interview, 1993. 1 sound cassette (45 minutes), Index (3 pages). Location: L:4700.744. Retired sugarcane sharecropper and life-long resident of Four Corners, an unincorporated community south of Franklin, Louisiana. Recollections of Comeaux's childhood as the son of a cane farmer. He recalls his work in an Avery Island salt mine; farming as a sharecropper; the routine of sugarcane planting and harvest; cane syrup production; farm labor; and early transportation. Comeaux also recalls traditional Cajun foods including couche-couche and cracklins; the boucherie; and social conditions in Four Corners. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4700.744.

Confederate States Mail Line. Waybill, 1864 November 18. 1 item. Location: Misc:C. Waybill of a stagecoach from Albany and Bainbridge, Georgia, to Quincy, Florida, a printed form completed in manuscript. It lists passenger names, seats, places of origin and destination, and fees paid. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 2281.

Confederate States of America Collection. Department no. 1, 1862 February 25. 1 item. Location: E:64. Joseph G. Pickett, Acting Adjutant General, New Orleans. Letter to Major Rainy, president, New Orleans, Jackson, and Great Northern Railroad, requesting assistance in obtaining guns from the Bennett and Surget foundry. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2133.

Confederate States of America Collection. Quartermaster's department, 1861-1862. 3 items. Location: E:64. Letter to the president of the New Orleans, Jackson, and Great Northern Railroad Company requesting someone to handle transportation accounts. Circular on the issuance of transportation coupons to soldiers who re-enlist for military service. Also a letter to H. J. Ranney, Confederate major in New Orleans, requesting assistance for replacement of two engines on the East Tennessee and Georgia Railroad. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2133.

Cragin, Daniel. Letter, 1850. 1 item. Location: Misc. Agent for Cragin and Sheldon of Boston, Massachusetts. Letter discusses payment for the shipment of boats. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1244.

Cushing, E. Correspondence, 1848. 1 item. Location: Misc. Resident of Freeport, Maine. Letter from New Orleans to Capt. Cushing commenting on cargo from New Orleans to Boston via Havana. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1399.

Davidson, John M. Legal Papers, 1861-1867. 124 items. Location: UU:111. Lawyer in New Orleans who handled cases for client Charles Black, a commission merchant and steamboat owner of Matamoros, Mexico, as well as cases involving steamboats and the United States Commissioner of Claims in Louisiana. Legal papers include bills, receipts, petitions, court summons, acts of sale, and promissory notes of Charles Black, reflecting his financial interests in several steamers and ships. In English and Spanish. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1472.

Dawson & Pipkin Bills of Lading, 1847-1849. 1 v. Location: M:22. Commission merchants of New Orleans, La. Approximately 220 bills of lading were printed as forms, completed by hand, and bound in a single volume arranged chronologically from December 1847 to March 1849. The bills specify the shipper (always Dawson & Pipkin), the vessels, their captains, ports of destination, cargoes, and other information. For additional information see online catalog. Mss. 4974.

Dearborn, J. A. Letter, 1851. 1 item. Location: Misc. Methodist minister. Letter from Dearborn upon his arrival in Baton Rouge from Kentucky, giving a humorous account of travel on the Ohio River and telling of church work in Baton Rouge. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1525.

Delassus, Carlos Dehault. Diary, 1836 December. 1 vol. Location: M:20. Civil, military, and political commandant of New Madrid, Missouri. Typescript of the diary records Delassus' trip from New Orleans to St. Louis, Missouri, and his return. Entries made during his stay in St. Louis mention names of local residents and record business transactions and visits with friends and family. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 729.

Desmontis, Mary. Letter, 1792. 1 item. Location: Misc. Letter from Orrillard, of Nantes, France, giving instructions for shipment of goods from New Orleans to France, and commenting on political and military events in Europe. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1171.

Donato, Soulongue Adolphe. Letter, 1883 December 16. 1 item. Location: Misc. Resident of Opelousas, Louisiana, and servant to U.S. Representative Edward Taylor Lewis. Letter written from Washington, D.C., describes his trip with Lewis from Louisiana to Washington, problems encountered by blacks in travel and housing, the city of Washington, and his own social life. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2946.

Eder, Joseph and Rosina. Letter, 1854. 1 item. Location: Misc. Account of the journey of Joseph and Rosina Eder from Teisendorf, Germany, to Nacogdoches, Texas, by way of Bremen, Germany, and New Orleans. In German. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 469.

Ellery, A. R. Letter, 1820 March 12. 1 item. Location: Misc. Resident of New Orleans. Letter to a friend in New York comments on heavy steamboat traffic on the river and recent presence of 'sickness' in the city. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3199.

Fisher, Jacob. Letter, 1850. 1 item. Location: Misc. Postmaster of the Village Post Office, Pointe Coupee Parish, Louisiana. Typewritten copy of a letter from Fisher to his brother, Frederick Fisher, describing his trip from New Orleans to San Francisco by schooner and the economic and social conditions in Sacramento, following the discovery of gold in California. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1082.

Fulton, J. Alexander. Diary, 1854-1855. 2 ms. vols. Location: Mf. Microfilm copy of diary and observations of J. Alexander Fulton of a trip from the Eastern section of the United States, through Midwestern states and via the Mississippi River and New Orleans, to Texas and return. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1643.

Garland, Henry Lastrapes, 1826-1908. Papers, 1778-1940 (bulk 1860-1940). 804 items. Location: 79:94, Vault. Lawyer and landowner of Opelousas, Louisiana. Correspondence, land documents, and legal and business documents of Garland and his wife Celeste. Papers include letters of Confederate civilians, materials relating to St. Landry Parish schools, and materials on railroads in the state. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3087.

Geo. Limerick & Co. Letter: Vicksburg, Miss., to Lockhart, Fearn and Donegan, Madisonville, Miss., 1842 March 19. 1 item (2 leaves). Location: Misc:G. Shipping company which operated along the Mississippi River, with ports in New Orleans and Vicksburg, Mississippi. It shipped cotton to the Madisonville, Mississippi, merchants Mr. Lockhart, Mr Fearn, and Mr. Donegan. Letter to Lockhart, Fearn, and Donegan denies responsibility for water damage to bales of cotton the company took aboard its ship Vicksburg. Included is an earlier letter (copy) to the merchants also stating the cotton was damaged prior to shipment. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3326.

Gove, A. D. Letters, 1838, 1839. 2 items. Location: Misc. Resident of New Orleans. Letters to Gove's brother of Kensington, New Hampshire, mentioning the high prices of provisions in the markets of New Orleans; the seriousness of the yellow fever epidemic in the country as compared to the city; and a trip from Boston to New Orleans. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1256.

Hale Correspondence, 1843, 1845. 4 items. Location: Misc. Business letters from New Orleans to New York City and to Alliance Mutual Company, New York. Letters (1845) comment on problems getting the required amount of cargo for a ship sailing to New York. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1404, 1417.

Hall, Samuel. Letter, 1843 March 3. 1 item. Location: Misc. Boston factor. Letter from Captain Albert Winsor, New Orleans, contains an account of expenses for barque Nahant. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1404.

Harrison, T. S. Travel account, 1888 May 9 ca. 1 printed broadside. Location: Impr. Account titled Among the Southerners describes a steamboat voyage from Baton Rouge to Greenville, Mississippi, mentioning scenery, river traffic, labor problems, river damage to 'Natchez-Under-The-Hill,' and the fear of a yellow fever epidemic. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2897.

Hebert, J. Albert. Pictures, n.d. 8 items. Location: E:Impr. Prints of models by Albert J. Hebert of the steamboats J. M. WHITE, BELLE OF THE BENDS, AMERICA, and SPRAGUE, with descriptions and historical facts taken from WAY'S DIRECTORY. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 2397.

Heineken, C. W. Letters, 1810, 1811. 2 items [photocopies]. Location: Misc. Letters written from New Orleans to Heineken's parents in England describe the sea voyage from England and give impressions of the people, scenery, climate, and social customs of New Orleans. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2883.

Hersey, Alfred C. Record book, 1849-1855. 1 bound vol. Location: Misc. Ship accountant and part owner of ship Kentucky. Records of finances during eleven voyages from Boston to New Orleans. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3476.

Hilliard, Isaac H. (Isaac Henry), Mrs. Diary, 1849-1860 (bulk 1849-1850). 1 vol.; also available in microfilm. Location: U:239, Mss. Mf:H. Wife of Isaac H. Hilliard, plantation owner of Grand Lake, Chicot County, Arkansas, originally of Henry County, Kentucky. Mrs. Hilliard was related by marriage to Leonidas Polk. Diary depicts plantation life from an affluent woman's perspective, describing family holidays, social occasions, steamboat travel, and trips to Louisiana, Mississippi, and Kentucky. Includes her son's expenses at Kentucky Military Institute (1866). Available on microfilm: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reel 13. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 178, 762. Complete Finding Aid (PDF)

Hinckley, Orramel, 1813-1868. Family Papers, 1811-1897 (bulk 1830-1870). 335 items; 16 omissions) on microfilm: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reels 8-9. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 970, 1151, 1317.

Holletters addressed to Nathaniel M. Horton, Amesbury, Massachusetts, written by his brothers. One letter is to his sister Elizabeth Colby of Salisbury, Massachusetts. The letters were sent from New York, Brooklyn, New Orleans, Liverpool, and Cadiz. Contents concern business and family matters, politics, city life, slavery, and ship travel. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3482.

Hotson, Ernest B. Diaries, 1905, 1906, 1907, 1908. 4 vols. Location: M:20. Probably a British officer. He was stationed on the Kathiawar Peninsula (since 1948, Saurashtra Peninsula), India. Diary entries provide descriptions of weather conditions, local flora and fauna, methods of transportation, hunting expeditions, social and recreational activities, and some military activities. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2600.

Hunter, George. Diary, 1804-1805. 1 vol. (typed copy). Location: La. Room. Journal kept by Hunter of a journey from Philadelphia to the Louisiana Territory including a trip with William Dunbar up the Red and Ouachita Rivers to Hot Springs, Arkansas, for the purposes of exploration and scientific observation. The original journals of both Dr. Hunter and William Dunbar are owned by the American Philosophical Society and are deposited in the archives of that institution. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 591.

Illinois Central Railroad. Freight contract, 1883 April 11. 1 item. Location: Misc. Contract shipping oil and grease from Cairo, Illinois, to New Orleans, with the consignee, Severin Landry of Assumption, Louisiana. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1198.

Isaiah Chase - Peter Hanson Business Letters,1847-1855. 16 items. Location: Misc:I. Most letters written to Joseph Holmes (1771-1863), shipbuilder and owner from Kingston, Mass., from New Orleans by either Isaiah Chase or Peter Hanson. Letters discuss financial transactions made through the New England Bank in Boston and ships used to transport the acquired commodites out of New Orleans. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4946.

Jackson, Willie, 1889-, interviewee. Oral history interview, 1993. 1 sound cassette (45 minutes), Index (3 pages). Location: L:4700.282. Resident of Four Corners, an unincorporated community south of Franklin, St. Mary Parish, Louisiana. Jackson and his daughter, Emma Dell Peters, lived on Sterling Plantation; Jackson's grandparents were slaves. Jackson describes his childhood in Four Corners, work cultivating and harvesting sugarcane, and raising crops with his parents. He describes early transportation by horse, foot, and boat; churches in the area; and life on Sterling Plantation. Jackson also describes credit at the plantation store; illnesses; marriage customs; gambling on the card game 'Kotch'; use of French language; French language work songs; and schooling. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4700.282.

Jacobs, Wayne Johnson, 1839-1914. Diaries and lists, 1861-1865. 2 items, 2 vols. Location: U:100. Resident of Ohio who enlisted in the U.S. Army in 1861 and served in the 30th Ohio Infantry until the close of the Civil War. Collection contains fragments of Jacobs' Civil War diaries describing his participation in the siege and capture of Vicksburg, Mississippi, and two lists of soldiers in Company A, 30th Ohio Infantry Regiment showing cause of death or end of service. Included is a typescript giving detailed accounts of military maneuvers, battle engagements, transportation of troops, military operations, and the organization of Company A. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4684.

Kent-Amacker family papers, 1853-1910 (bulk: 1860-1866). 65 items. Location: 1:55. Family correspondence of the Kent and Amacker families of St. Helena and Tangipahoa parishes, La., including financial records and miscellaneous items. Bulk of correspondence written or received by the Kent Family during the Civil War and relates to military operations in southeastern Louisiana, family participation in campaigns in Georgia, presence of Federals, and the imprisonment of James Fluker Kent at Johnson Island, Ohio. Letters written before, during, and after the war also briefly describe news and events of local, business, and familial interest. For further information see online catalog or Complete Finding Aid.

Keyes, Charles L. Letters, 1862-1863. 10 items. Location: Misc:K. Union soldier from Charlemont, Franklin County, Massachusetts, in the 52nd Massachusetts Infantry during the Civil War. Letters describe his steamship voyage aboard the Illinois; and camp life in Baton Rouge, New Iberia, Camp Stoneman, Barres Landing, and Port Hudson, Louisiana. Letters from Port Hudson, written from the breastworks, describe conditions during the siege. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3604.

King, Grace Elizabeth, 1852-1932. Papers, 1851-1941, n.d. (bulk 1864-1932). 3,800 items, 6 ms. vols., 1 printed vol. and 26 microfilm reels. Location: UU:10-31, N:6, Vault:11 and Mss.Mf:K. New Orleans writer and historian. Correspondence, literary writings in notebooks, photographs, bound manuscript volumes, and printed material concern Grace King's literary career, historical interests, travels, and personal affairs. King's correspondence and diaries describe her extensive travel throughout the United States, Canada and Europe. Her correspondence also describes yachting in Florida and other Southern states. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1282.

Koch, Christian D. Family Papers, 1829-1912 (bulk 1845-1900). 3,526 items, 13 ms. vols., 11 printed vols. Location: Misc. Family of Danish origin that settled near Pearlington, Hancock County, Mississippi. Bogue Homa was the family home in Mississippi. Relatives of the family subsequently settled in Montana. Early correspondence describes farm life and operating a schooner on the Pearl River and along the Gulf Coast. Civil War letters describe the privations of war. Later papers detail the family's movements in Montana. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 202.

Labatut, John B. Certificate, 1802. 1 item. Location: Misc. New Orleans merchant. Certificate for merchandise shipped on the ship Roebuck by Philadelphia merchants and delivered at the Port of New Orleans for Labatut. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2014.

Laroe, James S. Diary, 1846-1850. 1 vol. [typed copy]. Location: Misc. Diary of Laroe while on a trip from Newfoundland, New Jersey, to the northeastern part of Texas to purchase land. The early entries of the diary describe Laroe's trip from New York to New Orleans and up the Mississippi River and Red River to Shreveport. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 253.

Larson, Shine, 1903-, interviewee. Oral history interview, 1979. 1 sound cassette (50 minutes), Index (2 pages). Location: L:4700.34. Resident of Bayou Chene, Louisiana. Larson discusses his family background; picking and ginning Spanish moss; logging; trapping fur animals; fishing; the flood of 1927; local politics and elections; alligator hunting; life in Bayou Chene; and the transport of children to school by boat. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4700.34.

Lawrence, Henry E. Diary, 1837-1842. 1 ms. vol. Location: A:3. Special agent for the Department of State and resident of Queens, New York City. Incomplete accounts of a trip from New York City by steamboat to Quebec, Canada; and a diplomatic mission to Mexico, to obtain the release of Franklin Combs and other Americans taken prisoner with members of the Sante Fe Expedition from Texas. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1540.

Leathers, Thomas P., 1816-1896. Family Papers, 1823-1952. 457 items, 11 vols. Location: UU:116-117, Vault. Steamboat master and owner, and native of Kentucky. Papers mainly relate to steamboat transportation and commerce on the Mississippi River in Louisiana and Mississippi. Collection also includes a pardon (1865) by President Andrew Johnson for Leathers' arrest as a Confederate spy in the Civil War. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1548.

LEE LINE history, 1832-1930. 1 reel microfilm. Location: Mf. 'Steamboat History of the Lee Line, Illustrated, 1832-1930,' by William H. Tippitt, includes photographs, newspaper clippings, and memorabilia. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2995.

Leverich, Henry S. Correspondence, 1831-1832, 1846. 7 items. Location: Misc. New York City commission merchant. Letters from James H. Leverich, Charles I. Leverich, and Joseph Lallande, New Orleans grocers, during a business trip to Natchez and New Orleans. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2100.

Lieutenant Colonel L. C. Colburn Collection, 1862-1895. 11 items. Location: Misc.:C. Collection of correspondence, three page diary, orders, and a printed notice relating to Colburn and his operation of the Opelousas and Great Western Railroad in New Orleans. Includes a letter by Admiral Farragut requesting a gunboat to protect Colburn's men. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4720.

Lintner, Theodore. Papers, 1835. 2 items. Location: Misc. Resident of Mobile, Alabama. Sale of undivided half of the schooner Santiago, by Lintner to Benjamin Harrod of New Orleans, and certification of recorder of mortgages. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 226.

Livingston Parish Papers, 1876-1910, n.d. 11 items [photocopies and photographs]. Location: OS:L. Papers concern river transportation and other subjects pertaining to Livingston Parish, Louisiana, particularly the Amite River area. Three photographs show the steamboat Alice moored at French Settlement, a sawmill, and a logging operation. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2898.

Louisiana Railroad Depot Photograph Collection, 1909-1983. 128 items. Location: D:79. Photographic copies of postcards depicting Louisiana railroad depots. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4161. Container List.

Machette, William. Letterbook, 1807-1820. 1 ms. vol. Location: U:107. Ship owner of Boston, Massachusetts. Letter book containing handwritten copies of letters to business associates in various parts of the world including several letters addressed to Judah Touro, New Orleans merchant, and other letters referring to Machette's dealings with Touro. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1808.

Maling, M. C. Letter, 1853. 1 item. Location: Misc. Resident of New Orleans. Letter to William Lord, ship owner, of Kennebunk, Maine, concerning shipping problems in the New Orleans-Liverpool cotton trade. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1363.

Manson, George. Letter, 1848. 1 item. Location: Misc. Captain and resident of Bath, Maine. Letter to Captain Manson from New Orleans describing a new steering apparatus for a ship. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1289.

Marcy, Peter. Letter, 1845. 1 item. Location: Misc. Builder of the first dry dock constructed at Algiers, Louisiana. Letter to his brother, Daniel Marcy, ship owner of Portsmouth, New Hampshire, reflecting New Orleans trade with France and repairs to ships in New Orleans. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1417.

Marston, Henry, 1794-1884. Family Papers, 1820-1938 (bulk 1850-1890). 2,104 items, 59 vols. Location: U:220-222, G:19. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reel 13. Owner of plantations in East Feliciana Parish and Red River Parish, Louisiana; and cashier of the Union Bank of Louisiana in Clinton, La.. Marston was a native of Boston, Massachusetts. Collection includes diaries; plantation records; legal documents; personal and family correspondence; documents related to the Union Bank of Louisiana; and Civil War letters. Marston's diaries record public health, yellow fever epidemic, race and labor relations, his thoughts on blacks' voting. Other volumes record activities of the Clinton & Port Hudson Railroad and the Silliman Female Collegiate Institute. Papers of son Bulow reflect his activities as a plantation owner, steamboat captain, and warehouse owner. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm: University Publications of America Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B, Part 2, Reel 14, or Confederate Military Manuscripts, Series B, Reel 13. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 624. Complete finding aid.

Martin, Leonard, 1908-, interviewee. Oral history interview, 1993. 1 sound cassette (1.5 hours), Index (4 pages). Location; L:4700.281. Sugarcane farmer and great-grandson of a slave, Martin was a resident of Four Corners, Louisiana, an unincorporated community south of Franklin, St. Mary Parish, Louisiana. Martin's account of the sale of his great-grandfather as a slave along with descriptions of his education; his father's career as the first black schoolteacher in the area; work in sugarcane farming; and a dance-hall operator, Alice LeBaude. Martin also describes forms of transportation; the marriage of his white maternal grandmother to a Native American; his own marriage; work in Texas; the use of drugs in Four Corners; and his religion. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4700.281.

Maury Brothers. Ledger, 1851-1856. 1 vol. Location: M:20. James and Ruston Maury were cotton and commission merchants in New Orleans. Ruston Maury conducted company business in Liverpool, New York, Charleston, and Richmond. He was a member of Christ Church, New Orleans. Ledger records company income, expenses, and accounts of company partners. Accounts of cotton shipped and exported to England and the northern United States are included, along with smaller amounts of sugar and corn. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4676.

McAllister, Charles L. Letter, 1861 August 21. 1 item. Location: Misc:M. Confederate soldier during the Civil War. Letter to McAllister's mother, Mrs. C. LaCroze, describing his train trip from Memphis to Knoxville, Tennessee, via Chattanooga. He mentions civilian enthusiasm along the way, and gives an eyewitness account of the wreck of a train carrying troops. Available on microfilm: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reel 13. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 2133.

McCarstle, Cullen. Manuscript volumes, 1842-1843, n.d. 2 vols. Location: Mf. Bills of lading signed by McCarstle for cotton loaded at Fontania on steamboats bound for New Orleans. An undated scrapbook contains recipes for baked goods and remedies for diseases in people and animals. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2726.

McColl, Mr. Diary, 1872, 1875. 1 ms. vol. Location: M:18. Resident of San Jose, California. Diary contains entries (1872) for a trip across the northern part of the United States to Vermont by train; and entries (1875) of trips to southern counties of California, to Passo de Robles, and to Yosemite and Big Trees. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1539.

McCutchon, A. D. Letters, 1889-1890. 22 items. Location: Misc. Inspector on the dredge clearing Bayou Lafourche near Donaldsonville, Louisiana. Copies of letters to Captain M. W. Fish, U.S. Corps of Engineers in New Orleans, reporting on work accomplished. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1049.

McHugh, John A. Family Papers, 1850-1874. 5 items. Location: Misc. Resident of Baton Rouge. Papers include a receipt for taxes paid by McHugh (1850); and two Civil War items: Amanda J. McHugh's oath of allegiance to the U.S. (1863) and a certificate for Confederate bonds (1864). Included also are a time table of the New Orleans, Jackson and Great Northern Railroad (1869); and a description of a store (1874). For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 893.

McMurray, Aldridge Leroy, 1902-1987. Papers, 1912-1987. 1 linear ft. Location: 77:50, OS:M, 102. Captain and pilot of steamboats on the Mississippi River. Captain's log books, photographs, autobiographical essay, printed items, and ephemera relate to the career and life of Aldridge Leroy McMurray. Some items relate to the river steamer Sprague. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4502.

McMurray, E. L. interviewee. Oral history interview, 1979. 1 sound cassette (1.5 hours), Transcript (34 pages). Location: L:4700.43. Master pilot on the Mississippi River and other rivers, resident of Bayou Sorrel and Plaquemine, Louisiana, and an employee of Standard Oil. Interview includes discussion of McMurray's early life and career as a riverboat pilot, and a description of the governmental control of the Mississippi and the debate about levees and spillways. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4700.43.

McQuiston, Nelson, 1897-, interviewee. Nelson and Lottie McQuiston oral history interview, 1979. 1 sound cassette (1.5 hours), Index 2 (pages). Location: L:4700.44. Nelson and Lottie McQuiston married in 1921 and lived in the Atchafalaya Basin area of Louisiana. They resided in Baker, Louisiana, at the time of this interview. They discuss geographical changes in the Atchafalaya Basin since 1929; the Atchafalaya spillway; lumbering in the area; local treatment of illnesses; residents shopping for groceries and clothing; mail service; education; boat building; and housing. They also discuss births; weddings and funerals; crops and livestock; fishing; and picking and ginning Spanish moss. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4700.44.

Mercer, William Newton. Diary, 1816. 1 vol. [typescript copy]. Location: UU:80, Box 4, Folder 26. Diary of William Newton Mercer of a trip made from Baltimore, Maryland, to New Orleans by way of Pittsburgh, Cincinnati, and Louisville in 1816. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 292.

Merritt, John. Letters , 1861-1874 (bulk 1862-1865). .2 linear ft. Location: W:24. Union soldier from Madison County, New York. He enlisted as a private (1862) in the 114th New York Volunteers and served in several Louisiana campaigns. Early correspondence (1862-1863) and two diary entries describe Merritt's voyage from Fortress Monroe, Virginia, to Ship Island, Mississippi. 1864 letters are from several states and describe military activities and several months spent in a hospital. 1865 letters, written from Pennsylvania and Washington, D.C., relate the loss of men in Merritt's Company. Later correspondence (1867-1874) consists of personal family letters. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4674.

Mickins, Dan. Day book, 1900-1901. 1 vol. Location: G:1, Box. Day book of a livery stable keeper, probably Mickins. Entries give date, name of person, service rendered, and in some instances place to which transportation was furnished and amount. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1100.

Mississippi and Lafourche Railway Co., chartered under the laws of the State of Louisiana, 1896. 1 printed pamphlet, 34 p.; 21 cm. Location: E:Impr. Prospectus and charter for railroad describes its route from the west bank of the Mississippi River in St. James Parish, Louisiana, to a junction with main track of Southern Pacific Railway in Lafourche Parish, Louisiana, and lists officers of company. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 2818.

Mississippi River Map Collection, ca. 1858-1878. 19 items, 1 manuscript volume, 4 CD ROMS. Location: OS:M, M:29. Loose manuscript maps of the Missisisppi River from Baton Rouge to Jefferson Parish and land along the river, showing land parcels, landings, land ownership, and changes in the course of the river, and a bound volume of cut and pasted in maps of the Mississippi River from above Vicksburg to New Orleans, showing land parcels, land ownership, and landings. Included in the volume are pieces of Marie Adrien Persac's NORMANS CHART OF THE MISSISSIPPI RIVER FROM NATCHEZ TO NEW ORLEANS IN 1858 and notes about the presence of sandbars in the river.

Mitchell, William H. Letters, 1856. 1 item. Location: Misc:M. Mississippi railroad engineer. Letter to cousin, Clarence, requesting assistance in locating employment as an engineer in South America and discussing his current situation in Mississippi. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3635.

Mobile and Ohio Railroad Company. Receipt book, 1855-1856, 1859-1864. 1 vol. Location: H:24. Receipt book (1855-1856) for freight delivered by the Mobile and Ohio Railroad at the DeSoto, Mississippi, station. The agent's name was apparently Pardue. The volume was later used by a member of the Pardue family for a scrapbook (1859-1864). For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1520.

Morse, E. A. Account books, 1863-1865. 4 vols. Location: H:3. Assistant quartermaster general of the Department of the Gulf in the Civil War, and the superintendent of the Opelousas road. Account books of the New Orleans, Jackson, and Great Northern and the New Orleans, Opelousas, and Great Western Railroads while operated under the control of the Union army in the later period of the Civil War. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 503.

Mouton, J. Andre, b. 1892. Papers, 1928-1975. 263 items, 7 vols. (6 ms. vols., 1 printed vol.). Location: N:8, 79:117, OS:M. Native of St. Martin Parish, Louisiana. Mouton worked for the Southern Pacific and Illinois Central railroads, the Moore-McCormack Steamship line, and the New Orleans Dock Board. The bulk of the collection consists of invitations, public relations materials, and photographs pertaining to Mouton's speaking engagements and his involvement in clubs and organizations. Scrapbooks (1929-1965) contain clippings. Diaries (1959-1972), some written in Salinas County, Arkansas, discuss gardening, participation in church and recreational functions, speaking engagements, family news, and the weather. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3828.Complete finding aid.

N. A. Birge transportation record book, 1862-1863. 1 vol. Location: F:12. N. A. Birge was captain and quartermaster in the Confederate army. Franklin Garrett was transportation agent in the Confederate army at the Monroe Army Post, Louisiana. Volume, probably kept by Franklin Garrett, containing records of transportation tickets issued by N. A. Birge, indicating the movement of Confederate army men and supplies on various railroad, steamboat, and stage lines. Also recorded is the movement of soldiers on sick leave to and from hospitals at Delhi and Monroe, Louisiana, as well as those soldiers who were on detail to Texas or discharged. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1050.

New Orleans Port Papers, 1814-1818. 2 items. Location: Misc. Tables showing home products and imported products shipped through the port of New Orleans and the number of ships which paid duties at the port from 1814 to 1818. In French. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 322.

New Orleans port scene, color print, n.d. 1 printed item. Location: OS:N. Modern print, perhaps based on nineteenth-century engraving, showing an antebellum New Orleans riverfront scene with steamboats and sailing vessels, and cargoes on the dock. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3032.

New Orleans Shipyard photographs, 1941 May 30-June 19. 76 items. Location: W:11. Shipyard owned by Louisiana Shipyards, Inc., located in New Orleans. Photographs show weekly progress of construction of shipyard facilities. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2989.

New Orleans, St. Louis and Chicago R.R. Co. Letters, 1874-1875. 14 items. Location: Misc. Letters written to L. H. Sellars, superintendent, from various general managers, concerning the labor force, specifications and materials for cars, accidents, and purchase of coal. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3364.

Norman, E. B. and N. Philip. Collection, 1833-1945. 854 items, 109 vols. Location: O:56-76, 99:. E. B. Norman was a resident of Alexandria, Rapides Parish, Louisiana, and his son Dr. N. Philip Norman was a resident of New York City. Collection deals largely with the history of steamboating on the Lower Mississippi and Red Rivers. Included are 587 photographs of steamboats; notes and historical data; published volumes; periodicals; newspapers; correspondence; and a letterbook. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1084.

Norman, E. B. and N. Philip. Collection, 1833-1960 (bulk 1929-1960), n.d. 1,140 items, 116 printed vols. Location: 77:60-62, 101:33-38, 102:64. E. B. Norman was a resident of Alexandria, Rapides Parish, Louisiana, and his son Dr. N. Philip Norman was a resident of New York City. Collection contains correspondence with steamboat enthusiasts, research materials pertaining to Norman's history of General Banks' Red River Campaign, steamboat photographs, postcards, newspaper clippings, travel brochures, books, and pamphlets. Included in the collection is Norman's scale model of Captain Andy Hawk's Cotton Palace, framed maps and pictures depicting river history, and blueprints of plans of five steamboats. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2458.

North Louisiana and Texas Railroad Company. $1000 bond, 1869 May 20. 1 item. Location: OS:N. Bond bearing the official seal of the State of Louisiana and the signature of Governor H. C. Warmoth. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3315.

Nuebling, Maximilian. Letterbooks, 1822-1826. 2 ms. vols. Location: J:12. German immigrant who settled in St. Francisville, Louisiana, and worked in a general store owned by his uncle, Dietrich Holl. Holl's wife, Virginia Martha Brent Chisholm, married Nuebling after her husband's death, and they had one son, John. Handwritten copies of letters by Neubling. Early letters were written at sea on board the S. S. Fortuna on a voyage from Bremen, Germany, to New Orleans. Later letters describe his life in St. Francisville while he was working in his uncle's store. In German with a typewritten volume containing English translations. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 873.

No "O" Records.

P. A. Giraud & Co. Letter, 1856 March 15. 1 item. Location: Misc:G. Commission merchants located in New Orleans, dealing in molasses and sugar. Edward James Gay, born in Virginia, married Lavinia Hynes. Upon his father-in-law's death, Gay assumed control of Hynes' property in Louisiana and moved there in 1856. Letter from New Orleans by P. A. Giraud and Company to Gay at Hynes Plantation 'near Plaquemine,' Louisiana, details the shipping schedule of molasses and sugar on the Mississippi River between St. Louis and New Orleans. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3313.

Parker, Edward G. Letter, 1859 October 5. 1 item. Location: Misc. Secretary and treasurer of the Charleston and Savannah Railroad Company. Letter encloses a check for the wages of a slave hired to work on the railroad. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2897.

Pearson, Sophie Cooley, d. 1978. Collection, 1843-1973. 567 items, 14 vols. (7 ms. vols., 7 printed vols.). Location: W:40-41, H:12, OS:P, O:71-73, Vault 102:41-64, 103-104. Resident of Westwego, Louisiana, and daughter of L. V. Cooley, a steamboat captain. Pearson collected photographs and other materials related to the history of steamboats on the Mississippi River and published a book on the topic. Collection includes prints, photographs, manuscript items, scrapbooks, and printed items documenting the history of steamboats on the lower Mississippi River and other Louisiana rivers. For further information see online catalog. Filed under Pearson, Sophie Cooley. Papers in Archives USA. Mss. 3237.Complete finding aid.

Pearson, Sophie Cooley, d. 1978. Family Papers, 1869-1975. 757 items, 19 vols. (17 ms. vols., 2 printed vols.). Location: 79:115-116, OS:P. Resident of Westwego, Louisiana, and daughter of L. V. Cooley, a steamboat captain. Pearson collected materials related to the history of steamboats on the Mississippi River and published a book on the topic. Papers include correspondence, scrapbooks, serial publications, photographs, and printed items related to the history and operation of steamboats and transportation on the Mississippi River. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3237-79.

Pease, Charles G. Letter, 1863 January 10. 1 item. Union officer in the Massachusetts 47th Regiment in the Civil War. Letter describes in detail Pease's voyage on a transport ship from Boston to New Orleans and comments on his living quarters at Camp Kearney, New Orleans; General Banks; and his headquarters. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2268.

Pharr family papers, [1848]-1934. 85,762 items, 220 ms. vols., 141 printed vols. Location: UU:211-213, X:1-42, Q:15-27. Captain John Newton Pharr was a sugar planter, manufacturer, and steamboat owner of St. Mary Parish, Louisiana. Papers and account books of Captain Pharr and records of the J. N. Pharr and Sons, Limited. Papers and volumes cover the operation of all the Pharr holdings including several plantations, Glenwild Sugar Refinery, the Fairview Dairy, and the Pharr Line. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 555.

Picture Collection. Location: E:65-80. Collection consists of photographs and reprints of steamboats and river scenes; pictures of Confederate and World War I military officers; photographs of forts, plantations, and schools; and lithographs by J. Lion of New Orleans. Also included are engravings by George E. Perine, Perine and Giles, and John Sartain of authors, statesmen, inventors, and bankers made for the ECLECTIC MAGAZINE. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 236.

Pinkham, A. Letter, 1876. 1 item. Location: Misc:P. Letter written to Capt. P. N. Blanchard by A. Pinkham while docked at Tamarang, West Indies, reporting his progress, replacing worn metal on cargo ships; sugar cargo; and expenses. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3666.

Pintard, John M. Papers, 1796-1809 (bulk 1808-1810). .5 linear ft. (118 items; 5 vols.). Location: UU:67, H:10. Store owner and cotton planter of Laurel Hill Plantation on Thompson's Creek, West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. Papers include documents related to Pintard's plantation and store, transportation on the Mississippi River, and commerce before and during the War of 1812. Available on microfilm: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 2, Reel 14. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 887. Complete Finding Aid (PDF)

Pointer, John L. Bills of lading, 1840-1844. 1 ms. vol. Location: H:20. Grocer, commission and forwarding merchant of Indian Village, Iberville Parish, Louisiana. Volume records shipments of goods on steamboats, mainly traveling between Opelousas, Louisiana, and New Orleans. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2986.

Poole, E. R. (Edward Richardson), b.1820. Business directory, 1846-1903. 1 ms. vol. Location: F:8. New Orleans commission merchant from Maine. Volume includes a directory, newspaper clippings, and ephemera compiled by Poole and probably some member of his family. The directory lists commission and lumber merchants, flatboat traders, ship captains, and others. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1526.

No "Q" Records.

Raoul, W. G. (W. Greene), b. 1843. Letters, 1862-1864. 18 items. Location: Misc:R. Resident of Independence, Louisiana, who enlisted in the Confederate army at nineteen during the Civil War. He served with the Washington Artillery, then was promoted to captain and assigned to the construction and distribution of railroad cars. Raoul's letters to his family comment on camp life and military travel in Virginia, the Battle of Gettysburg, and other Confederate military engagements. Available on microfilm: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reel 15. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 2949.

Rea, Jesse K. Bell. Notebook, 1890 ca. 2 vols. Location: J:12. Pilot and master of many of the steamboats owned or commanded by his father, Captain George Washington Rea. Personal record of way landings on the Mississippi River, from New Orleans to Bayou Sara, West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 900.

Reed, A. R. Diary, 1860-1861. 1 vol. Location: M:18. Son of Isaac Reed, who was part owner of the ship Ocean Belle. Diary recording incidents and observations during his ocean voyages from Waldoboro, Maine, to New Orleans, on the ship Weston Merritt; and from New Orleans to Liverpool, England, then to Nova Scotia aboard the ship Ocean Belle. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1582.

Reed, Isaac. Letter, n.d. 1 item. Location: Misc. Business letter regarding cargo being sent by ship from New Orleans to New York. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2112.

Reid, Robt. R. (Robert Raymond), 1855-1923. Papers, 1875-1949. 381 items. Location: W:14. Attorney of Amite, Tangipahoa Parish, Louisiana; judge in the 18th and 25th District Courts; member of the Louisiana Constitutional Convention; and associate justice of the Louisiana Supreme Court. Professional and personal papers relate to Reid's legal career, local economic conditions, Illinois Central Railroad, and family matters. Collection includes bills and receipts, printed items, news clippings, and maps. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 2887.

Reiff, Anton. Journal, 1856-1857. 1 ms. vol., 1 mf reel. Location: Misc., Mss.Mf:R. Musician touring with the Pyne and Harrison Opera Company from New York to New Orleans. Diary records daily activities, comments on theater facilities, musical performances attended, music in churches visited, scenery and social customs, and other matters. Reiff recorded his impressions of steamboat travel and his visits to Memphis, Tennessee; Natchez, Mississippi; Baton Rouge; and other cities. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3274.

Reilly, Robert M. Papers, 1955-1996. 9.3 linear ft. Location: UU:235-244. Native of Chicago who moved to Baton Rouge in 1962. Reilly's career in Baton Rouge centered around an interest in military history. He was also an advocate for historic sites and decommissioned ships such as the U.S.S. Kidd. Photographs, film negatives, drawings, clippings, research notes, correspondence, papers, speeches, newsletters, maps, and brochures document Reilly's research on U.S. firearms, the Civil War, and World War II naval history. The largest portion of the collection consists of research materials, arranged alphabetically by topic. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4662.Complete finding aid.

Reynaud, John. Papers, 1870-1914. Resident of Washington Parish, Louisiana, lawyer, Louisiana state senator, and Confederate army colonel. Correspondence and legal and business papers pertaining to national and local politics, land administration and sales, and the Grange movement. Included is a broadside soliciting assistance of Grangers to complete construction of the Washington Monument. The collection also contains a U.S. military railroad map; bills, receipts, and tax documents; newspaper clippings; notebooks; photographs; and personal items including recipes. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 2862.

Rivet, Bill Lindon, interviewee. Oral history interview, 1992. 1 sound cassette (45 minutes), Index (1 page). Location: L:4700.54. River lock worker (1931-1961) and resident of Plaquemine, Louisiana. Rivet recalls drownings at the Plaquemine locks on the Mississippi River, the sinking of the steamboat Andes, and his work in the mechanical operation of moving boats through the locks. Rivet describes flood control, high waters, and repair of leaks. Rivet also describes precautions taken to protect the locks during World War II. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4700.54.

Robinson, Harai, d. 1887?. Papers, 1861-1889 (bulk 1864-1866). 53 items [bound transcriptions]. Location: H:13. Colonel in the 1st Louisiana Cavalry Volunteers, U.S. Army, under Major General Nathaniel P. Banks, Department of the Gulf, New Orleans. Robinson worked for the Central Pacific and Mexican International railroads after the war. Papers chiefly relate to Robinson's military career, including legal documents and letters concerning the investigation of his order to shoot two soldiers for refusal to obey orders (1864). Included are items related to Robinson's employment with the railroads. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 488.

Schwartz (John C.) Papers, 1848-1903. 6,885 items, 66 vols., and ca. 2 linear feet, 1 mf reel. Location: A:19-21, J:20-23; R:26; OS:S, Mss.Mf:S. Owner and operator of a retail hardware store in Natchez. Records include business letters and financial documents related to Schwartz's hardware business. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 385, 4732. Complete finding aid

S. S. America poster, n.d. 1 item (11 copies). Location: OS:S. Poster advertising celebrations surrounding the arrival at Camden, Arkansas, of 'the biggest boat that ever sailed the Ouachita,' the S. S. America. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2600-73.

Shelly, William. Diary, 1863 January 1-September 23. 1 vol. Location: Misc:S. Union soldier in the 176th New York Infantry Regiment during the Civil War. Shelly served for nine months and was stationed primarily in Louisiana. Diary entries discuss Shelly's sea voyage from New York to Louisiana; his work in the Quartermaster department; his arrival at Lafourche; guerrilla activity in the area; the sound of fighting at Port Hudson; and the capture and parole of his company. Shelly also discusses his work recruiting for the 16th Regiment of the Corps d'Afrique. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3604.

Sherman, Thomas West. Letter, 1863 April 10. 1 item. Location: Misc. Union army general in command of the defenses of New Orleans in the Civil War. Letter orders Sherman's aide-de-camp, Captain Adam Badeau, to transport Union refugees from New Orleans to Madisonville, St. Tammany Parish, Louisiana, on the schooner Experiment under a flag of truce. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Filed in the manuscript card catalog under Sherman, Thomas W., 1813-1879. Mss. 2263.

SIOUX CITY, bills of lading, 1870, n.d. 9 items. Location: Misc. Bills of lading for merchandise on board the steamer Sioux City to be delivered in Iowa and Nebraska. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1776.

Skipwith, Fulwar, 1765-1839. Records and account book, 1794-1815 (bulk 1794-1799). 3 items, including 1 vol., 1 mf reel. Location: Vault, Mss.Mf:S. Consul to France during the French Revolution and later a planter in Baton Rouge. Account book contains official and personal accounts while Skipwith was consul in Paris, France. Entries report names of American ships, descriptions of cargo, and accounts of individuals including James Monroe and Thomas Pinckney. Two loose items are a record of the import and sale of American cotton in the 1790s and a deposition dealing with the sale of cotton in 1815. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 2000.

Slave trader insurance document, n.d. 1 item. Location: Misc. Unidentified brig out of Newport, Rhode Island, trading to Africa and the West Indies, owned by a Mr. Shearman. Document states terms of insurance coverage, including coverage for a possible slave insurrection aboard the ship. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3213.

Smith, Annabell, 1862-. Diary, 1873-1874, n.d. 1 ms. vol., 1 printed vol. Location: W:17. Resident of 'Forest,' near Bayou Sara, West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. Volume contains original poetry and recipes, as well as a diary (1873-1874) which records daily activities, family visits, a trip to New Orleans by steamboat, social life, and life in a girls' school. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2904.

Smyth, Austin W. Receipt, 1850. 1 item. Location: Misc. Transportation receipt signed by Smyth of the steamboat Montezuma for payment made by owners of the schooner Segochet. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1244.

Southern scenes: engravings, 1853-1876, n.d. 32 items. Location: OS:S, map case:D:14, S:2. Prints of wood and steel engravings, many from Harper's Weekly, some from Frank Leslie's Illustrated Newspaper. Prints include buildings and scenes of New Orleans, Mississippi River scenes and steamboats, and three maps. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3406.

St. Louis, New Orleans and Atlantic Canal and Transportation Company. Prospectus, 1884. 1 item. Location: Misc. Prospectus promoting a continuous canal route from the Mississippi River to the Atlantic Ocean, including Lake Borgne Canal as part of the route. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 965.

St. Mary Parish document, 1820. 1 item. Location: Misc. Petition to the legislature, signed by various inhabitants of the Parish of St. Mary, regarding the proposed bill for improving the navigation of Bayou Plaquemine. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 381.

Steamboat photograph, 1895. 1 item. Location: E:. Photograph of a steamboat at Canal Street in New Orleans. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Filed in the manuscript card catalog under picture collection. Mss. 3057.

Steamboat waybills, 1857-1883. 5 items. Location: Misc. Waybills for the following steamers: WM. Jones, JR. (1857) for passage to Mobile; Alice Vivian (1860); St. Nicholas (1861); Lotus No. 2 (1877); and Steamer Mary (1883). For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1508.

Stewart, Robert H. Family account books, 1822-1904. 4.1 linear ft. (18 items, 57 vols.), 7 mf reels. Location: UU:118, H:18-19, J:23, Mf., Mss.Mf:S. Mortician and furniture dealer of Natchez; and owner of Edler Grove Plantation at Bunch's Bend, Carroll Parish, Louisiana. Collection includes daybooks related to the mortuary business, ledgers and inventories related to the furniture business, and a plantation diary and record books. Of note is a ledger containing a list of African-American funeral directors and benevolent societies. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 404, 4732. Complete Finding Aid

Swanton, John B. Circular, 1826. 1 item. Location: Misc. Resident of Bath, Maine. Circular from the clerk of Marine Records to Swanton stating that proof had been received that the registers, enrollments, and licenses had been taken from the vessels listed on the circular and had been detained abroad, stolen, lost, or mislaid. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1289.

Swift, John. Account books, 1830-1833. 3 vols. Location: G:7. Merchant of Bayou Sara, West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. Daybooks and ledger include accounts for steamers, plantations, and individuals. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1100.

Thatcher, William. Papers, 1853-1868. 9 items. Location: Misc. Receipts for taxes and assessments for the Shreveport, Vicksburg, and Texas Railroad by Caddo Parish, Louisiana; promissory note issued by Bossier Parish, Louisiana; authorization to pay wages; and a Reconstruction oath and registration certificate. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 893.

Thomas, David. Account books, 1838-1841, 1845. 2 vols. Location: G:1, Box. Resident of East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. Record book of David Thomas containing record of account (1838-1841) with the Clinton and Port Hudson Railroad Company and a list (1845) of donors to the Centenary College Fund; and bank book (1841) of Thomas with the Union Bank of Louisiana, Clinton. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Filed in the manuscript card catalog under East Feliciana Parish Archives Collection. Records introduced as evidence. Mss. 1100.

Thompson, M. Jeff., Letter, 1875 Sept. 6. 1 item. Location: Misc.:T. Chief State Engineer of Louisiana. Letter discusses plans for levee construction along the Mississippi River and the need for federal funding because poverty reduced tax revenues. He also lists former Confederates active on the Louisiana State Board of Engineers.

Thurston, George N. Family Papers, 1843-1907. .16 linear ft. (64 items, 3 vols.). Location: C:45. Mississippi River steamboat captain for the New Orleans Ice Company; and a sugar planter at Baskerville Plantation, St. Mary Parish, Louisiana. Papers include personal and business letters related to Thurston's work; and diaries and account books kept by his wife, Mary Thurston, concerning the household and plantation. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1124.

Trader (Steamer). Register, 1841-1843. 1 vol. Location: M:19. Steamer operated by Captain J. S. Savory of Plaquemine, Iberville Parish, Louisiana. Register contains the names of passengers and charges for passage and for freight transported from Plaquemine and Indian Village to Grosse Tete (Iberville Parish), St. Martinville (St. Martin Parish), and Washington and Opelousas (St. Landry Parish). For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1041.

Treadway, Frederick W. Journal, 1838. 1 ms. vol. Location: Misc. Resident of New England. Journal records trip from New London, Connecticut, to Mobile, Alabama, and describes conditions of travel, towns visited, passing scenery, and varying social conditions. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2639.

No "U" Records.

No "V" Records.

Wallace, James Burns, 1813-1836. Letter, 1835. 1 item. Location: Misc. Letter written from New Orleans, addressed to Dr. Cyrus B. Hamelton in New Hampshire. Wallace reports on travel by the steamboat Caspian; remarks on commerce in New Orleans and Natchitoches, Louisiana, and on lynch law. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Filed in the manuscript card catalog under Wallace, J. B. Mss. 3476.

War Record of Henry Barstow of Duxbury, Mass., 1862-1880 (bulk 1862-1863). 1 item. Location Misc:B. Henry Barstow served in I Company of the Massachusetts 4th Infantry during the Civil War. In 1863, he was a prisoner of war in Brashear City, La. Discusses his company's maneuvers from Lakeville, Mass. to Brashear City, La., And describe his experience in the prison camp and subsequent release. Topics include poor health and malnourishment among the soldiers; traveling on the Mississippi River; and general conditions in the camp. Also contains a resolution, April 1880, giving thanks and kind wishes to Rev. W.W. Lyle at the Pilgrim Church and Society meeting. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4866.

Way's Steamboat Directory photographs, 1950. 36 items (48 prints). Location: O:. Photographs of the Mississippi River and Louisiana from Way's Directory of Western Rivers Packets, 1950 edition, and an identification key, which corresponds with numbering system in Way's Directory, appears on reverse side of print. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1158, 1215.

Wheeler, Willard. Letter, 1843 March 25. 1 item. Location: Misc. Ship captain. Letter from Captain Wheeler to his brother Jacob Curtis of Hampden, Maine, telling of his sea voyage from Boston to New Orleans and contrasting the gaiety of a New Orleans Sunday with the solemn New England Sabbath. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1334.

William Short-William Charmichael Diplomatic Papers, 1793-1794. 3 items. Location: Vault:26. United States diplomats to Spain, Short and Charmichael's negotiations laid the groundwork for the San Lorenzo Treaty or Pinckney's Treaty, in which Spain agreed to America's version of the boundary between the United States and Louisiana, to open the Missisisppi River to American navigation since Spain owned the western bank, and to grant Americans the right to store exports and carry on commercial transactions in New Orleans. Papers include a statement of principles, letter, and memorandum related to their negotiations. For more information see online catalog, Mss. 4793

Williams, Henry. Papers, 1852-1853, 1858. 4 items. Location: Misc. Receipts for payment on shares in the New Orleans, Opelousas, and Great Western Railroad Company and a broadside published by the New York Stock Exchange listing railroad stocks. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 850, 889.

Wilmans, J. E. Letter, 1873 June 11. 1 item. Travelling merchant. Letter mentions travel conditions and pertains to sale of land in Arkansas. Mss. 2864.

Wilmerton, John. Letter, 1846. 1 item. Location: Misc. Apparently an employee on a New Orleans-Cincinnati packet line. Letter from Wilmerton in Cincinnati, Ohio, to a friend, Charles Stokes, of Rancocus, Burlington County, New Jersey, mentioning a trip on the steamer Duke of Orleans; the severe winter in New Orleans; and the activity at the Cincinnati wharves. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1164.

Wissler, Henry. Notebook, 1848 November 21-22. 1 ms. vol. Location: Misc. Schoolboy. Compositions and tales on themes of hunting, fishing, and farming in the eastern United States, and a lively description of advantages and dangers of railroad transportation. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3380.

Woolman, Collett Everman, 1889-1966. Papers, 1916-1979. 519 items, 10 vols. (5 ms. vols., 5 printed vols.). Location: 9:34, 9:41, H:15, OS:W. Founder and chief executive officer of Delta Airlines. Woolman graduated from LSU and became the first college-trained county agricultural agent in Louisiana. Papers pertain to the development of crop dusting, Delta Airlines, and Woolman's role in aviation history. Papers include correspondence, business records, newspaper clippings, photographs, a scrapbook, brochures, programs, schedules, and ephemera. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3356.

No "X" Records.

No "Y" Records.

No "Z" Records.


CHRONOLOGICAL INDEX1778-1940 (bulk 1860-1940). Garland, Henry Lastrapes, 1826-1908. Papers
1792. Desmontis, Mary. Letter
1794-1815 (bulk 1794-1799). Skipwith, Fulwar, 1765-1839. Records and account book
1795-1798. Rhode Island slave trade document
1796. Capseg, Ives. Document
1796-1809 (bulk 1808-1810). Pintard, John M. Papers
1800 ca. Anonymous Louisiana description
1802. Labatut, John B. Certificate
1804-1805. Hunter, George. Diary
1805. Chelsea Bridge toll book
1807-1820. Machette, William. Letterbook
1809-1951. Richardson, Hardy, 1822-1883. Family papers
1810, 1811. Heineken, C. W. Letters
1811-1897 (bulk 1830-1870). Hinckley, Orramel, 1813-1868. Family papers
1814-1818. New Orleans Port papers
1816. Mercer, William Newton. Diary
1818 March 29. Amite Navigation Company. Articles of agreement
1819 January 7. Blackburn, J. Letter
1820. St. Mary Parish document
1820 March 12. Ellery, A. R. Letter
1822-1826. Nuebling, Maximilian. Letterbooks
1823-1952. Leathers, Thomas P., 1816-1896. Family papers
1824. Bank of Mississippi. Bill of lading
1826. Swanton, John B. Circular
1829-1912 (bulk 1845-1900). Koch, Christian D. Family papers
1830-1833. Swift, John. Account books
1830-1896. Binning, Wayne. Collection
1831-1832, 1846. Leverich, Henry S. Correspondence
1831-1832. Audubon, John James, 1785-1851. Letters
1832-1930. LEE LINE history
1833-1945. Norman, E. B. and N. Philip. Collection
1833-1960 (bulk 1929-1960), n.d. Norman, E. B. and N. Philip. Collection
1834-1848. Horton Family papers
1834-1927. Alabama cotton sales and shipping statements collection
1835. Lintner, Theodore. Papers
1835. Wallace, James Burns, 1813-1836. Letter
1835 June 20. Bigelow, Jonas. Letter
1835-1836. Bayou Lafourche passenger lists
1836 December. Delassus, Carlos Dehault. Diary
1837-1842. Lawrence, Henry E. Diary
1838. Treadway, Frederick W. Journal
1838-1841, 1845. Thomas, David. Account books
1838-1856. Bray, John A. Papers
1838, 1839. Gove, A. D. Letters
1840-1844. Pointer, John L. Bills of lading
1840-1845. Barron, Charles, fl. 1840-1845. Letters
1841-1843, 1853-1879. Clinton and Port Hudson Railroad Company. Record books
1841-1843. Trader (Steamer). Register
1841-1844. Abraham Bell & Co. Letters and receipts
1841-1848. Charles, I. H. (Isaac Henry). Letters
1842 March 19. Geo. Limerick & Co. Letter: Vicksburg, Miss., to Lockhart, Fearn and Donegan, Madisonville, Miss.
1842-1843, n.d. McCarstle, Cullen. Manuscript volumes
1843 March 3. Hall, Samuel. Letter
1843 March 25. Wheeler, Willard. Letter
1843-1907. Thurston, George N. Family papers
1843-1973. Pearson, Sophie Cooley, d. 1978. Collection
1843, 1845. Hale Correspondence
1845. Marcy, Peter. Letter
1846. Wilmerton, John. Letter
1846-1850. Laroe, James S. Diary
1846-1864. Buckley, Nathaniel. Record book
1846-1903. Poole, E. R. (Edward Richardson), b.1820. Business directory
1848. Cushing, E. Correspondence
1848. Manson, George. Letter
1848 November 21-22. Wissler, Henry. Notebook
1848-1851. Anonymous ledger
[1848]-1934. Pharr family papers
1849-1855. Hersey, Alfred C. Record book
1849-1860 (bulk 1849-1850). Hilliard, Isaac H. (Isaac Henry), Mrs. Diary
1850. Cragin, Daniel. Letter
1850. Fisher, Jacob. Letter
1850. Smyth, Austin W. Receipt
1850-1874. McHugh, John A. Family papers
1851. Anonymous letter
1851. Dearborn, J. A. Letter
1851-1852. Clauss & Fischer. Journal
1851-1853, 1867-1870. Clinton and Port Hudson Railroad. Company daybook
1851-1856. Maury Brothers. Ledger
1852. Cobden, Alfred F. Diary
1852-1853, 1858. Williams, Henry. Papers
1853. Maling, M. C. Letter
1853-1868. Thatcher, William. Papers
1853-1876, n.d. Southern scenes: engravings
1854. Eder, Joseph and Rosina. Letter
1854-1855. Fulton, J. Alexander. Diary
1855-1856, 1859-1864. Mobile and Ohio Railroad Company. Receipt book
1856. Bowling, L. Cotton record book
1856. Mitchell, William H. Letters
1856 March 15. P. A. Giraud & Co. Letter
1856-1857. Reiff, Anton. Journal
1856-1878 (bulk 1856 February 13-October 19). Colonel Cutts (Ship). Logbook
1857. Beadle, Erastus F. Diary
1857-1883. Steamboat waybills
1859 April 1, June 25. Baton Rouge, Grosse Tete, and Opelousas Railroad Co. Stock certificates
1859 October 5. Parker, Edward G. Letter
1860-1861. Reed, A. R. Diary
1861 May 30. Chandler, E. H. Letter
1861 July-September. Brusle, Charles A. Diary
1861 July 3. Anonymous Confederate letter
1861 August 21. McAllister, Charles L. Letter
1861-1862. Confederate States of America Collection. Quartermaster's department
1861-1865. Jacobs, Wayne Johnson, 1839-1914. Diaries and lists
1861-1867. Davidson, John M. Legal papers
1861-1874 (bulk 1862-1865). Merritt, John. Letters and diary entries
1861-1889 (bulk 1864-1866). Robinson, Harai, d. 1887?. Papers
1861-1936, n.d. Anonymous scrapbook
1862 February 25. Confederate States of America Collection. Department no. 1
1862-1863. Keyes, Charles L. Letters
1862-1863. N. A. Birge transportation record book
1862-1864. Betts, Ephraim. Diaries
1862-1864. Raoul, W. G. (W. Greene), b. 1843. Letters
1862-1895. Lieutenant Colonel L. C. Colburn. Collection
1863. Civil War soldiers letters
1863 January 1-September 23. Shelly, William. Diary
1863 January 10. Pease, Charles G. Letter
1863 April 10. Sherman, Thomas West. Letter
1863 September 25-November 19. Causey, R. J. Correspondence
1863 October 7. Card, H. T. Letter
1863-1865. Morse, E. A. Account books
1864 November 18. Confederate States Mail Line. Waybill
1865-1895. Alabama River steamboat list collection
1869 May 20. North Louisiana and Texas Railroad Company. $1000 bond
1869 September 1-October 24. Holland, Miss. Diary
1869-1877. Anonymous travel notebook
1869-1975. Pearson, Sophie Cooley, d. 1978. Family papers
1870, n.d. SIOUX CITY, bills of lading
1870-1914. Reynaud, John. Papers
1871. Babcock, Mrs. George. Diaries
1872, 1875. McColl, Mr. Diary
1873 June 11. Wilmans, J. E. Letter
1873-1874, n.d. Smith, Annabell, 1862-. Diary
1874-1875. New Orleans, St. Louis and Chicago R.R. Co. Letters
1875-1949. Reid, Robt. R. (Robert Raymond), 1855-1923. Papers
1876. Pinkham, A. Letter
1876-1910, n.d. Livingston Parish papers
1883 April 11. Illinois Central Railroad. Freight contract
1883 December 16. Donato, Soulongue Adolphe. Letter
1884. St. Louis, New Orleans and Atlantic Canal and Transportation Company. Prospectus
1888 May 9 ca. Harrison, T. S. Travel account
1889-1890. McCutchon, A. D. Letters
1890 ca. Rea, Jesse K. Bell. Notebook
1895. Steamboat photograph
1896. Mississippi and Lafourche Railway Co., chartered under the laws of the State of Louisiana
[1899], n.d. AMERICA broadsides
1900-1901. Mickins, Dan. Day book
1904 ca. Anonymous short story
1904. Biering, Lucie. Letters
1905, 1906, 1907, 1908. Hotson, Ernest B. Diaries
1912-1987. McMurray, Aldridge Leroy, 1902-1987. Papers
1916-1919, 1935-1943. Baton Rouge Transportation Company. Records
1916-1979. Woolman, Collett Everman, 1889-1966. Papers
1928-1975. Mouton, J. Andre, b. 1892. Papers
1941 May 30-June 19. New Orleans Shipyard photographs
1950. Way's Steamboat Directory photographs
1955-1996. Reilly, Robert M. Papers
1979. Larson, Shine, 1903-, interviewee. Oral history interview
1979. McMurray, E. L. interviewee. Oral history interview
1979. McQuiston, Nelson, 1897-, interviewee. Nelson and Lottie McQuiston oral history interview
1992. Rivet, Bill Lindon, interviewee. Oral history interview
1993. Comeaux, Louis, 1911-, interviewee. Oral history interview
1993. Jackson, Willie, 1889-, interviewee. Oral history interview
1993. Martin, Leonard, 1908-, interviewee. Oral history interview
1995. Bertrand, Alvin Lee, 1918- interviewee. Oral history interview
n.d. Hebert, J. Albert. Pictures
n.d. New Orleans port scene, color print
n.d. Picture Collection
n.d. Reed, Isaac. Letter
n.d. S. S. America poster
n.d. Slave trader insurance document

 Footer
Comments / LSU Home / LSU Libraries
Hill Memorial Library / Louisiana State University
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
Public Services Desk: (225) 578-6544
Reference Desk: (225) 578-6568
Fax (225) 578-9425
Copyright © 1996 - 2007 LSU Libraries
Last updated: Wednesday, 17-Oct-2007 16:38:51 CDT

LSU Main Page