Special Collections
LSU Libraries
spacer
Home / Online Catalog Site A-Z Help    
   

 

Manuscript Resources on
the Sugar Industry in the
Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections,
Special Collections, LSU Libraries



Contents:
Introduction
Alphabetical List
Chronological Index

INTRODUCTION

This guide describes manuscript collections documenting the sugar industry in the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections (LLMVC) at LSU.  The records and personal papers of sugar planters and others whose livelihood came from growing sugar provide a wealth of documentation supporting research in agriculture, sociology, economics, history, and politics.

Researchers should also consult:

LLMVC Subject guide for plantations

Sugar at LSU: Cultivating a Sweeter Future (Online Exhibition)

Documenting the Louisiana Sugar Harvest

Collections in this guide are listed alphabetically, with a chronological index after the alphabetical listing. Brief descriptions include references to sources for additional information--either the LSU Libraries' catalog, which is accessible through the Internet, or the manuscript card catalog in the Special Collections reading room of Hill Memorial Library. Still additional information on some of these collections can be found in detailed finding aids in the reading room. Increasingly, electronic copies of these finding aids can be found on the World Wide Web site for Special Collections, where you can also find information about using the collections, searching the online catalog remotely, and asking us questions.

March 10, 2000

Find in Page



ALPHABETICAL LIST

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z |

A. Ledoux, Miltenberger and Hall Company. Account book, 1856-1857. 1 vol. (110 pages, 62 l.); 36.3 cm. Location: W:53. Plantation record book kept by Samuel Leigh and Lewis F. Pulliam, overseers of the sugar plantation owned by A. Ledoux and Company, Pointe Coupee Parish, Louisiana. Available on microfilm: UPA Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 1, Reel 9. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 964.

Allyn, William B. Letter, 1862 Nov. 25. 1 item. Location: Misc:A. William B. Allyn was a Federal officer serving in Louisiana during the Civil War. Written from Camp Stevens, near Thibodaux, Lafourche Parish, Louisiana, Allyn's letter describes the surrounding countryside, the Federal policy toward captured Confederate sugar, and social relations with local planters. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 2941.

American Sugar Cane League. Letters, 1982 May 7-10. 2 items. Location: Misc:A. Advocacy group for American sugar producers. Letters signed by Kenneth H. Kahao as president of the league. One is addressed to President Ronald Reagan and expresses appreciation for his decision to impose import quotas on sugar. The other informs league members of Reagan's proclamations. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3631.

American sugar refinery picture postcard, 1909. 1 item. Location:Misc. Color postcard, 'American Sugar Refinery, Chalmette, New Orleans, La. The largest in the World.' For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3625.

Andry, M. T. (Michel Thomassin), 1811-ca. 1871. Family Papers, 1840-1882 (bulk 1858-1879). 1 linear ft. (199 items). Location: UU:66. Sugar planter of St. John the Baptist and St. Charles parishes, Louisiana, and resident of New Orleans. Collection includes correspondence and legal and financial papers. Letters received by Andry's daughter Rosa from his sons describe their participation in the Battle of Shiloh, campaigns in Kentucky, and skirmishes at Camp Beauregard in the Civil War. Partly in French. Available on microfilm: UPA Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reel 1. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1318.Complete finding aid.

Anonymous sugar house record book, n.d. 1 ms. vol. Location: F:2. A blank copy of a sugar house record book published by Jas. Buckley & Company, New Orleans. On the cover is a printed label: SUGAR HOUSE RESULTS--HOUMAS. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 48.

Anonymous sugar house record book (b), 1917-1919. 1 vol. Location: F:2. Record book of a sugar house contains production charts and inventories. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 410.

Ashland Plantation record book, 1852. 1 vol. Location: M:19. W. C. Wade was an overseer of the Ashland Plantation, Ascension Parish, Louisiana. Ashland Plantation was owned by the sugar planter and politician, Duncan Farrar Kenner (1813-1887). The record book contains daily entries which describe activities on the Ashland Plantation. Available on microfilm: UPA Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 1, Reel 13. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 534.

Badon, Robert, 1896-1998, interviewee. Oral history interview, 1995. 1 sound cassette (1.25 hours), transcript ( 41 p.). Location: L:4700.00555. Robert Badon was born in Breaux Bridge, Louisiana and educated in St. Martinville. He worked as a New Orleans public service employee, a county agent, and a school teacher.  He was a veteran of World War I and graduated from Louisiana State University with a degree in agriculture in 1918. Badon discusses early life and education in St. Martinville, his experiences as a cadet at LSU, as a county agent, and as a teacher, coach, and principal. He tells of anthrax vaccinations, introduction of fertilizer in sugar cane farming, and the spead of information in rural areas. He also relates his four months of military duty during WWI and a visit by Theodore Roosevelt to Iberia Parish. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4700.00555.

Barrow, Bartholomew, 1836-1869. Family collection of sheet music, 1848-1891 (bulk 1861-1874). 4 items. 3 vols. Location: 65:.  Planter of Eldorado Plantation, a sugar plantation in Pointe Coupee Parish. Collection of bound and loose vocal and piano sheet music, collected by Barrow and his family. Some compositions in French, German, and Italian. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1379.

Bennett, George W. Business records, 1858-1917. ca. 5000 items and 202 vols. Location: O:6-13, 127:10, 128:10. General merchant and cotton buyer and dealer in Cheneyville, Rapides Parish, Louisiana; postmaster at Bennettville; and operator of a cotton and sugar cane plantation and plantation store at Theoda Plantation, Rapides Parish. Papers include correspondence, ledgers, daybooks, journals, receipts, leases, agreements, labor contracts with freedmen, invoice books, record books, stock inventories, and other items relating to Bennett's commercial interests. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1010. Complete Finding Aid

Berbice Colony slave records, 1826-1827. 3 items, 1 microfilm reel. Location: OS:B, Mss.Mf:B. Deed of arrangement between owners of three sugar plantations in Berbice (Guyana), and lists of slaves attached to the plantations as of October 20, 1826, citing names, ages, employment, places of birth, and distinguishing marks. Also listed are children born to slave mothers on the plantations (1819-1826) with names, dates of birth, ages, and names of mothers noted. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 2934.

Bouchereau, L. 1870. 1 printed vol. Location: Impr. 'Statement of the Sugar and Rice Crops, made in Louisiana in 1869-70, with an appendix,' (New Orleans: Young, Bright, & Co., 1870). For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1774.

Boucry, Helene. Family record books and Papers, 1830-1910 (bulk 1830-1884). 9 items, including 3 vols.; vols. 2-3 also available on microfilm. Location: 77-88, Mss Mf:B. Sugar planters of Bonne Esperance Plantation, St. James Parish, Louisiana. Papers include record books of Helene Boucry containing financial and genealogical information about the Boucry, Bonnecaze, Webre, and other related families. Partly in French. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 790, 800.

Boudreaux, Maximilien E. Family Papers, 1856-1927 (bulk 1866-1905). .4 linear ft. (78 items, 15 ms. vols., 1 printed vol.). Location: E:41. Sugar planter in Assumption Parish, Louisiana. Boudreaux and his son Rene may have practiced tenant farming in the 1890s. Papers pertain largely to the cultivation and sale of sugar cane and the purchase of merchandise, and include correspondence, cashbooks, time books, a letterbook, and a memorandum book containing genealogical information. Some items in French. Available on microfilm: University Publications of America Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B, Part 3, Reel 15. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1099. Complete Finding Aid (PDF)

Boyd, Overton F. (Overton Fuqua), 1891-1951. Papers, 1915-1938 (bulk 1915-1925). .5 linear ft. (23 items, 1 ms. vol., 2 printed vols.) Location: U:118. Son of LSU President Thomas D. Boyd and a sugar chemist and professor. Papers relate to Boyd's position as a sugar chemist at the Imperial College of Tropical Agriculture in Trinidad, British West Indies. Two broadsides pertain to the U.S.' military control of the Dominican Republic during Woodrow Wilson's administration. Included are a memorandum book containing formulae for sugar processing, notes, and a few cancelled postage stamps; and printed volumes. Partly in Spanish. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1589, 1799.

Boyd, Thomas D., Jr., 1882-1964. Application, 1917. 11 items. Location: Misc. Resident of Tucson, Arizona, LSU alumnus, and sugar technologist in the Louisiana sugar industry. World War I application and letters of recommendation for a commission in the Quartermaster's Department, United States Army, from Thomas D. Boyd, Jr. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1946.

Boyd, Thomas D., Jr., 1882-1964. Papers, 1901-1924. 1,000 items, 1 ms. vol.,15 printed vols. Location: 79:50-52. Resident of Tucson, Arizona, LSU alumnus, and sugar technologist in the Louisiana sugar industry. Papers principally for the period Boyd was general superintendent of the South Puerto Rico Sugar Company, Ensenada, Puerto Rico. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2037.

Bragg, Braxton, 1817-1876. Letter, 1875. 1 item. Location: Misc. Confederate general in command of the Army of Tennessee during the Civil War. In reply to a request for biographical information, Bragg discusses his situation as a sugar planter in Louisiana at the beginning of the Civil War; laments the wartime misfortunes of his 'happy and contented' slaves; and describes his military career. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2537.

Browne, Charles Albert. Report, 1932. 1 item (16 pages). Location: Misc. Agricultural chemist. Report by Dr. Browne (1870 -1947) on the Chanpatia factory of the Champarum Sugar Company, India, containing historical background, drawing of factory compound, photographs of personnel, and interior and exterior of buildings. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1951.

Bruce, Seddon, and Wilkins plantation partnership records, 1741-1865 (bulk 1847-1854). 607 items, 6 ms. vols. Location: S:124-125, J:20. William Webb Wilkins, James Coles Bruce, and James Alexander Seddon, partners in the ownership of sugar and cotton plantations, a saw mill, and a cooper's shop in Saint James Parish and Carroll Parish, Louisiana. Papers include legal documents, bills and receipts, correspondence, and manuscript volumes related to plantation operations and slave matters. Included are photocopies of a Union Army-issued circular and broadsides regarding slave employment and the subsistence of federal troops. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm: UPA Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 1, Reels 9-10. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 2668.

Brusle, Charles A. Diary, 1861 July-September. 1 ms. vol. Location: Safe:2. Sugar planter of Plaquemine, Iberville Parish, Louisiana; Confederate army officer; state senator and representative; tax collector; and sheriff. Brusle's diary contains an account of his trip to the Creek Nation, Indian Territory, to muster a regiment of Creeks into the military service of the Confederacy under orders from General Benjamin McCulloch. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1627.

Brusle, Charles A. Papers, 1854-1905. 32 items (includes 3 vols.). Location: U:20, F:11. Sugar planter of Plaquemine, Iberville Parish, Louisiana; Confederate army officer; state senator and representative; tax collector; and sheriff. Papers include diaries, a record book, and a scrapbook, primarily concerning Brusle's activities in the Civil War and in politics. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm: UPA Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reel 3. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 558,1605, 1627.

Burguieres, Jules M. Papers, 1699, 1915, n.d. 3 items. Location: 78:2. Indenture (1699) and handwritten transcription (n.d.) for the sale, in London, England, by John Dawson to William Richards of pans, stoves, cisterns, and any utensils for refining of sugar. Postal cover (1915) indicating document was purchased by Burguieres from George R. DeForest, of New Orleans. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2264.

Burguieres, Jules M. Papers, 1880-1957. ca. 29 folders, 14 vols. Location: 78:1-3, 113:, 114:. Correspondence and research notes pertaining to the Florida and Louisiana sugar industry. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2026, 2134, 3714.

Butler Family Papers, 1663-1950. 16.5 linear ft. Location: S:2-S:8, OS:B, Vault. Cotton and sugar planters in West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. Papers include letters, personal papers, financial and legal documents, photographs, and printed items. Papers discuss the Civil War; plantation life; Thomas Butler's judicial and political career; and antebellum life in the Gulf South states. Included is correspondence form prominent Louisiana residents and others. Letters from Anna Butler who lived in the White House (1849-1850). Available on Microfilm: UPA Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 5, Reels 13-27. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1026.

Butler, Margaret, 1821-1890. Correspondence, 1847-1880. .5 linear ft. Location: S:24. Daughter of Louisiana judge Thomas Butler and Ann Ellis Butler. She lived at the Cottage in West Feliciana Parish near St. Francisville. The Butlers were sugar and cotton planters. Letters from family and friends reflect the life of the Butler family in the antebellum, Civil War, and Reconstruction periods. Antebellum letters depict plantation life and religious life in the Episcopal church. Several family members served in the Confederate army and corresponded with Margaret, describing the life of army personnel. Later letters illustrate social and economic conditions after the war. Available on microfilm: UPA Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 5, Reel 2. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1068.

Butler, Richard, 1777-1820. Papers, 1795-1899. 1.25 linear ft. Location: S:2, OS:B, Vault. Richard Butler, army officer and sugar planter, was the son of American Revolutionary War figure Colonel William Butler and Jane Carmichael of New Orleans. Papers include correspondence, financial papers, and plantation records. A diary describes Butler's travels from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, to Natchez, Mississippi, to deliver army dispatches. Included are two letters from Andrew Jackson to Butler. Available on microfilm: UPA Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 5, Reels 2-3. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1000.

Butler, Robert Ormond. Papers, 1848-1888. 1.5 linear ft. Location: S:25-26, OS:B. Medical doctor in New Orleans and Lafourche Parish, Louisiana, and sugar planter and molasses producer in Terrebonne Parish. Papers include correspondence, financial papers, legal documents, printed items, and photographs related to Butler's business and professional lives. Available on microfilm: UPA Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 5, Reels 3-4. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1068.

Cabassa, Luis G. Letter, 1917 April 3. 1 item. Location: Misc. Inquiry addressed to the Dean of the University of Louisiana by a pharmacist of Caguas, Puerto Rico, as to fees and course of study in chemistry and sugar manufacture. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3616.

Carleton, Mark. Record books, 1883-1901 (bulk 1883-1885). 2 ms. vols. Location: F:11. Scientist for the U.S. Department of Agriculture who studied sugar cultivation and fungi. Record books include field notes and data of experiments related to sugar production conducted in Nebraska and specimens of fungi identified in Kansas. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 57.

Carroll, Daniel R. Family Papers, 1870-1948. 191 items, 1 ms. vol. Location: T:6, Vault. Owner of Ackbar Plantation, Jefferson Parish, Louisiana. Carroll was also a cotton broker in New Orleans. Papers include personal letters, scrapbooks, and genealogies of the Carroll and Parker families. Some papers document plantation management, including sugarcane growing, rice planting, the construction of a sugar mill, and black laborers. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1514, 2296.

Chaffe record books, 1887-1895. 3 ms. vols. Location: H:23. John Chaffe & Sons, a cotton and sugar trading concern in New Orleans, was succeeded by Wm. H. Chaffe & Co., Limited. Wm. H. & J. C. Chaffe's Shingle Mill was a manufacturer of cypress shingles and lumber in Eugenia Louisiana. Collection includes a cotton market report book (1887-1893), an order book (1894-1895), and daily report forms (1893), respectively, for the three Chaffe businesses. For further information see online catalog. Mss.1139.

Champomier, P. A. 1846. 1 printed vol. Location: Impr. 'Statement of the Sugar Crop made in Louisiana in 1845-6.' (New Orleans: Magne & Weisse, 1846). For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1774.

Chilton, St. John P., 1909-. Papers, 1951-197-, n.d. linear ft. Location: 7:8-9. Professor and Chairman of Department of Botany and Plant Pathology, LSU. Personal and professional papers pertain to sugar technology, local politics, genealogy, and other matters. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2454.

Choppin, A. R. Research reports, 1927. 1 ms. vol. Location: W:5. Bound volume of research reports and materials compiled by A. R. Choppin for a dissertation on 'The use of aluminum compounds in the manufacturing and refining of sugar.' For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2600-73.

Clifton, Christopher. Papers, 1871-1892. 53 items. Location: W:31. Sugar planter of Paincourtville, Assumption Parish, Louisiana. Clifton was associated with New Orleans sugar factors and commission merchants, including Howell and Ker, Pierre Lanaux, and E. M. Scott. Papers consist of business correspondence, financial statements, and receipts which document Clifton's production and sale of sugar and molasses and his financial relationships with agents in New Orleans. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3022.

Comeaux, Louis, 1911-, interviewee. Oral history interview, 1993. 1 sound cassette (45 minutes), Index (3 pages). Location: L:4700.0744. Retired sugarcane sharecropper and life-long resident of Four Corners, an unincorporated community south of Franklin, Louisiana. Recollections of Comeaux's childhood as the son of a cane farmer. He recalls his work in an Avery Island salt mine; farming as a sharecropper; the routine of sugarcane planting and harvest; cane syrup production; farm labor; and early transportation. Comeaux also recalls traditional Cajun foods including couche-couche and cracklins; the boucherie; and social conditions in Four Corners. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0744.

Consolidated Association of Planters of Louisiana. Papers, 1829, 1831. 3 items. Location: Vault:4. Letter requesting transfer of stock held by Theodore Bergeron of Lafourche; a letter requesting membership in the association; and a letter requesting transfer of James Bowie's stock in the association to the person who bought his sugar plantation. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 82.

Dardenne, Eugenie. Land document, 1856 March 24. 1 item (4 leaves). Location: Misc:D. Land document recording the sale of slaves and one-third of the ownership of Dardenne Plantation, a sugar plantation in Iberville Parish, Louisiana. The sale was made by Eugenie Dardenne to John A. Dardenne. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 668.

De Bordes Family Papers, 1765-1822. 106 items. Location: B:13, OS:D, Mf. Papers relating to land holdings and the operation of sugar and coffee plantations in Haiti and Santo Domingo; slave insurrections and the life of refugees from them in New Orleans; and decisions and decrees relating to trade, commerce, and emigration. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2246.

DeClouet, Alexandre (Alexandre Etienne), 1812-1890. Family Papers, 1787-1905 (bulk 1855-1888). 1.2 linear ft. (150 items, 37 vols.). Location: U:181, J:5. Sugar planter, Confederate congressman, and state senator from St. Martin Parish, Louisiana. Beginning in the 1860s, DeClouet was active in the White League, an organization opposed to rights for black freedmen. Collection includes financial papers, legal documents, political papers, and correspondence. Financial records of Alexandre DeClouet and his son Paul document plantation management and labor issues. Political papers include White League materials. Some items in French. Available on microfilm: University Publications of America Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B, Part 3, Reels 5-6. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 74, 258, 461, 756.Complete finding aid.

Desobry, Louis. Partnership agreement and amnesty oath, 1854-1865. 2 items. Location: Misc:D. Sugar planter of Plaquemine, Iberville Parish, Louisiana. Articles of agreement establishing a partnership for the ownership and operation of Irion Plantation, a sugar plantation near Plaquemine. The terms of the sale of land and slaves state that the partnership will be called 'Desobry's and Company.' Included is an oath of amnesty and allegiance to the United States signed by Louis Desobry (1865). For further information see online catalog. Mss. 893.

Doussan Family Papers, 1827-1872. 94 items. Location: U:300. Correspondence, financial papers, and personal papers of members of the Doussan family (primarily Antoine Doussan, Louise Perrin Doussan, and Auguste Doussan of East and West Baton Rouge Parishes, Louisiana, and France. Correspondence of Charles de Rabars of Bordeaux, France, is also included, as is a letter from General Baron Joachim Ambert. Most documents reflect the Doussans' planting operations in West Baton Rouge Parish; their financial and legal transactions in Louisiana and France; family activities, interests, and concerns; and the experience of French émigrés in Louisiana as they encountered Anglo-American culture and society. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4800. Complete finding aid

Drouillard, Jean Baptiste. Family Papers, 1794-1901, n.d. 89 items. Location: S:121. Planter of Santo Domingo and of New Orleans. Letters and documents concern labor and economic conditions on Santo Domingo after the rise to power of Toussaint l'Ouverture in 1793, and the lives of exiles from the island who resettled in the United States. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2590.

Dugas and LeBlanc. Account books, 1886-1933. 144 vols. Location: L:7-12. Residents of Paincourtville, Assumption Parish, Louisiana, manufacturers of Westfield sugar and molasses, and dealers in general merchandise. Records include account books, daybooks, and ledgers for the firm; and payroll books for Armelise, Magnolia, Westfield, and Whitmel plantations and for levee work in the Fourth Mississippi River District. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 611.

Dugas, Honore. Family Papers, 1861-1910, 1955, n.d. 1,825 items, 16 ms. vols. and 23 pamphlets. Location: T:24-27. Sugar planter of Armelise Plantation, Paincourtville, Assumption Parish, Louisiana. Business and personal papers of Honore Dugas and family. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1645.

Erwin, Isaac, d. ca 1872. Diary, 1848-1868. 1 vol. Location: W:16. Sugar and cotton planter of Shady Grove Plantation, Bayou Gross Tete, Iberville Parish, Louisiana. Diary records plantation, personal, and family activities, and mentions local aspects of the Civil War, Reconstruction, epidemic diseases, floods, levee maintenance, and sugar and cotton production. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 2933.

Farwell, F. Evans, 1906. Lecture and narration, 1980. 1 sound cassette (45 minutes), Index (1 page). Location: L:4700.0014. President of Millican and Farwell Shipping Line. Farwell discusses the establishment of Millican and Farwell Shipping and family sugar cane plantations in Louisiana. He narrates a slide show, not contained in the collection, about changes in farming technology, especially pertaining to sugar cane. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0014.

Foreign trade price lists collection, 1824-1833. 3 items. Location: Misc:F. J. W. Bastian & Son was a firm in Bremen, Germany, importing coffee, sugar, tobacco, and other staples as well as linens, dyes, and spices. Mariatequi, Knight & Co. was a firm based in Havana, exporting sugar, coffee, molasses, and provisions to New Orleans, Louisiana, and other parts of the United States, and to Europe. The foreign trade price lists report the prices of commodities being exported and imported from Bremen, Germany (1824), St. Petersburg, Russia (1824), and Havana, Cuba (1833). Also listed are exchange rates, in London, Amsterdam, Hamburg, and Paris. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3326.

Freeland, Emile C. Papers, 1877-1975 (bulk 1926-1967).  6 linear ft. (458 items, 31 ms. vols., 12 printed vols.) Location: 77:69-70, 92, 79:60-61, 70, OS:F. Chemical engineer for W. R. Grace & Co. Collection includes samples of bagasse paper, pamphlets, reprints, notes, and reports related to the sugar cane bagasse industries. Correspondence includes personal and business letters from Latin America, Taiwan, and Pakistan. Includes photographs related to Louisiana State University and education in Baton Rouge. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 2210, 2259, 2496, 2603.

Frellsen, Henry, ca. 1800-1884. Diary, 1878-1884. 1 vol. (101 pages). Location: G:17. Native of Denmark who fought in the Greek War of Independence (1824) and moved to Louisiana (ca. 1840). He was the Danish Consul in New Orleans, a cotton factor, and the owner of Fairview Plantation, St. Charles Parish, Louisiana. Entries document Frellsen's operation of Fairview Plantation. Weekly reports detail crop and weather conditions; record maintenance of a sugarhouse, machinery, and levees; and list farmhands (including children) and their wages. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3497

Gay, Andrew H. (Andrew Hynes), 1841-1914. Family Papers, 1857-1957. 222 items; 10 vols. (9 ms. vols., 1 printed vol.). Location: Y:82, G:17, OS:G. Sugar planter of Plaquemine, Iberville Parish, Louisiana. He married Mary Augustina Dickinson in 1865, and they had four children. Correspondence pertains to social life, economics, and agriculture, largely during the Civil War and Reconstruction, with letters by Confederate officers, including Elias B. Inslee. Diaries kept by Anna Maria Gay McClung, a daughter, record social life in Washington, D.C., and travel (1885-1898). For further information see online catalog. Mss. 2542. Complete Finding Aid (PDF)

Gay, Edward J. Family Papers, 1797-1938. 53, 039 items, 165 ms. vols. Location: Y-1-61, H:25-27. Planters of St. Louis Plantation near Plaquemine, Iberville Parish, Louisiana. Edward J. Gay was a U.S. Representative (1884-1889); his grandson of the same name was a U.S. senator (1918-1921). Personal and business papers of the Gay and related families, containing materials on the Civil War and Reconstruction, St. Louis Plantation, the sugar cane industry, and slavery. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1295.

George J. Wainwright & Co. Letter, 1839. 1 item. Location: Misc:G. Letter written from Liverpool, England, discussing West Indies sugar trade, working conditions of African Americans in Jamaica and international trade. Letter is written on conjugate leaf of the LIVERPOOL PRICES CURRENT (April 19, 1839). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3676

Gianelloni, Sabin J., Sr. Papers, 1887-1942. 1379 items, 31 vols. Location: UU:262, J:20-21, OS:G, vault:7. Sugar planter of East Baton Rouge Parish, Louisiana. Papers pertain to operation of the Longwood Plantation sugar factory, saw mill, store, and Burtville Plantation store. Records concern production of sugar, laborers' wages, tenants' leases, and financial transactions of the Maguire Building. Papers also contain some correspondence and memos of Sabin Gianelloni, Sr., and photographs of field hands, farm equipment, and the Longwood Plantation store. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 2458.

Gilchrist, Ray W. Oral history interview, 1979. 1 sound cassette (.5 hours) Index (1 p.). Location: L:4700.0024. Ray W. Gilchrist grew up in Iberville Parish, Louisiana, where his father operated a community syrup mill in the 1930s. Gilchrist discusses his family and early background, his father's community syrup mill near Bayou Sorrel and the community's involvement and socializing at syrup making time. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0024.

Gilmore, John Young, 1837-1900. Family Papers, 1862, 1900-1910. 121 items, 2 ms. vols. Location: U:133, J:11. Resident of New Orleans, editor of the SUGAR PLANTERS' JOURNAL, and major general of the Louisiana Division of the United Confederate Veterans Association. Papers include letters of condolence to Gilmore's wife at the time of his death, correspondence of Mrs. Mary Gimore Harnett from officers of the Louisiana Division of the United Daughters of the Confederacy, and a scrapbook containing obituaries. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 798.

Gordon, Forstall, and Co. Account and correspondence, 1832 April - 1832 June. 1 item. Location: OS:G. Gordon, Forstall, and Co. were merchants in New Orleans, La. with in Mexico that dealt in items such as sugar and woolens. Manuscript copies of multiple letters and financial statements from 1832 exchanged between the merchants representing Gordon, Forstall, and Co. in Mexico, and the office in New Orleans refer to stock status, account information, foreign relations, poor sales, the political climate in Mexico, and how smugglers and imposed taxes by the local government were making business increasingly difficult. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4857.

Guion, Lewis, 1838-1920. Diary, 1862-1863. 1 ms. vol. Location: M:18. Lawyer in Thibodaux and New Orleans, Louisiana. Guion was an officer in the Confederate army in the Civil War, and later established a sugar planting partnership with his brother-in-law, Francis T. Nicholls. The diary describes Guion's departure from New Orleans on April 24, 1862; his company's march through Louisiana; and military activities around Chickasaw Bayou and Yazoo Lake. Entries after May 18, 1862, give an account of the siege of Vicksburg. Available on microfilm: UPA Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reel 6. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 826.

Guion, Lewis, 1838-1920. Record books, 1859-1865. 2 ms. vols. Location: U:238. Lawyer in Thibodaux and New Orleans, Louisiana. Guion was an officer in the Confederate army in the Civil War, and later established a sugar planting partnership with his brother-in-law, Francis T. Nicholls. Two record books, one containing law examination questions from the University of Virginia, French language notes, and cash entries. The second is an official record book of Company H of the 26th Louisiana Regiment in the Civil War. Some notes in French. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1903.

Gutleben, Dan. Publications, 1950, 1954, 1961-1962. 5 items and 2 printed vols. Location: U:145. Chronicler for THE SUGAR TRAMP. Publications and related items of Gutleben including THE SUGAR TRAMP(1950) Hawaiian issue and (1954) Michigan issue. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1835.

Hall, George Otis. Famy Papers, 1856-1900, 1990, n.d. (bulk 1856-1880). .7 linear ft. Location: T:54. George Otis Hall and his wife Charlotte Emma LeDoux Hall, owners of Magnolia Mound, a sugar and indigo plantation in Baton Rouge. From 1860 on they lived in England and Europe. Papers include correspondence, photographs, social invitations, and newspaper clippings. Topics include the education of the Hall children in Louisiana and Europe, the family's resettlement in Europe, and Magnolia Mound. Partly in French. Available on microfilm: UPA Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reels 12-13. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4320.

Harkins, John. Manuscript, 1967. 1 item (59 pages). Location: Misc. 'Poplar Grove, Sugar Plantation on the West Bank of the Mississippi River across from Baton Rouge,' term paper presented for Fine Arts 120 taught by Mr. James R. Reeves. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2250.

Harris, James Courtland, d. 1968. Papers, 1909-1956. 5 ms. vols. Location: B:9. Sugar chemist and 1911 LSU graduate. Harris held managerial posts in several Latin American countries, primarily Cuba. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2396.

Harris, R. B. Photograph collection, 1890-1958 ca. 121 items. Location: C:96. Resident of Walnut Grove Plantation, Cheneyville, Louisiana. Collection is comprised of photographs taken of buildings, livestock, sugar cane fields, cotton fields, and several individuals, mostly unidentified. Also included are portraits of Annie Laurie Harris and N. B. Harris. The collection also contains four miniature paintings depicting rural Louisiana scenes and a 20th century transcription of a letter presumably written Dec. 26, 1873. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3060.

Harris, William H. Papers, 1893-1930. 14 items, 1 ms. vol. Location: Misc. Probably a black man who served as foreman or handyman around Augusta Plantation Sugar House, Bayou Goula, Iberville Parish, Louisiana. Papers include business correspondence and a Wholesale Pocket Business Directory of New Orleans for 1893. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3261.

Henry C. Minor Papers, 1846-1956 (bulk 1918-1956). 1,263 items, 86 vols. (85 printed vols., 1 ms. vol.) Location: T:8-11, X:87-88, F:5. Sugar planter of Southdown Plantation, Terrebonne Parish, Louisiana. Papers relate to the estate of Henry C. Minor and contain letters, maps, photographs, reports, and items reflecting the management, reorganization, and financing of sugar plantations, including the Southdown Plantation, especially during the 1930s. Many materials relate to sugar technology and the revival of the Louisiana sugar industry in the 20th century through the introduction of fungus resistant P. O. J. sugarcane. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1509, 1607.

Hicky, Philip, 1778-1859. Letter, 1815 February 28. 1 item [photocopy]. Location: Misc. Planter of Hope Estate Plantation, East Baton Rouge Parish, Louisiana. Hicky built the first sugar mill in Baton Rouge Parish in 1814. Letter from Hicky to Major Charles Tessier concerning the latter's appointment to the office of East Baton Rouge Parish judge. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2704.

Hicky, Philip, 1778-1859. Family Papers, 1667-1846 (bulk 1814-1815). .4 linear ft. (53 items, 1 vol., 1 artifact), 1 mf reel. Location: U:122, Vault, Mss.Mf:H. Planter of Hope Estate Plantation, East Baton Rouge Parish, Louisiana. Hicky built the first sugar mill in Baton Rouge Parish in 1814. Papers include a 1793 proclamation by Manuel Gayoso de Lemos to the Natchez District, French military orders and letters from Carlos de Grand-Pre, and a letter from Thaddeus Mayhew to 'Susan' describing the Battle of New Orleans. Included is correspondence pertaining to members of the Morgan and Mather families and to the military service of Philip Hicky and his father Daniel Hicky. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 720, 2007, 2035.

Hines, Betty, 1948-, interviewee. Oral history interview, 1993. 1 sound cassette (45 minutes), Index (3 pages). Location: L:4700.0285. Resident of Four Corners, an unincorporated community south of Franklin, St. Mary Parish, Louisiana. Hines was the foster child of a sharecropper. Hines' memories of childhood as the daughter of a sharecropper; sugarcane growing; the recollections of her great-grandparents' enslavement; difficulties of her early work with foster children; birth customs; and traditional foods. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0285.

Hines, Moses, 1935-, interviewee. Moses Hines and Charlotte Hines Alfred oral history interview, 1993. 1 sound cassette (45 minutes), Index (3 pages). Location: L:4700.0286. Residents of Four Corners, an unincorporated community south of Franklin, St. Mary Parish, Louisiana. Hines was the son of a sugarcane farmer. Hines and Alfred describe their grandparents work in sugarcane growing; the management of the 20 acre farm owned in common by the Hines family; and natural remedies for colds, flu, colic, teething, and rheumatism. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0286.

Hope Farm Plantation photograph collection, 1870s?. 13 photographic prints. Location: E:64. Photographs of a plantation home, a sugar mill, men hunting, and an African American laborer on a sugar plantation on Bayou Terrebonne, 12 miles south of Houma, Terrebonne Parish, Louisiana. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4568.

No "I" records.

Jackson, Willie, 1889-, interviewee. Oral history interview, 1993. 1 sound cassette (45 minutes), Index (3 pages). Location: L:4700.0282. Resident of Four Corners, an unincorporated community south of Franklin, St. Mary Parish, Louisiana. Jackson and his daughter, Emma Dell Peters, lived on Sterling Plantation; Jackson's grandparents were slaves. Jackson describes his childhood in Four Corners, work cultivating and harvesting sugarcane, and raising crops with his parents. He describes early transportation by horse, foot, and boat; churches in the area; and life on Sterling Plantation. Jackson also describes credit at the plantation store; illnesses, marriage customs; gambling on the card game 'Kotch'; use of the French language; French language work songs; and schooling. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0282.

James, Francis Henderson. Papers, 1908-1958. 0.25 linear feet. Location: T:95, T:100. Graduate of LSU, World War I veteran, and chief engineer at Salsburg Sugar Factory on Helvetia Plantation in St. James Parish, Louisiana. Papers include a diary (1937-1958) kept during his employment as chief engineer in which he recorded formulas, calculations, cane crop data, and administrative notes; a 1915 LSU calendar that includes campus photographs; and family portraits and photographs of him as a cadet at LSU and during his military service; letters and clippings. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4960.

Johnson, Henry, 1783-1864. Letter, 1819 January 17. 1 item. Location: Misc. U.S. congressman, senator, and governor from Louisiana. Letter extolling the farming of cotton, and in particular, the merits of the Lafourche and Attakapas areas for their fertility, healthful climate, and low land prices for farming sugar. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2502.

Keary, Patrick F. Letters, 1848-1855. 19 items. Location: Misc. Planter of Ben Lomand Plantation, Wilkinson County, Mississippi. Letters to Wylie and Egana (1848) and Juan Y. de Egana (1849-1855), brokers in New Orleans, concerning business matters on Keary's cotton plantation, Ben Lomand, and his sugar plantation, Catalpa Grove, on Bayou Boeuf, Avoyelles Parish, Louisiana. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1053.

Keller, Anatole J. Family Papers, 1885-1919. 2.5 linear ft. Location: 77:94-95, OS:K. Sugar technologist from Hahnville, Louisiana, active in the support of various black causes (1918-1919). Correspondence pertains to social life, Keller's work as a sugar technologist, sugar technology in the West Indies, and elementary school education in Louisiana. Papers related to black activism include copies of the NEGRO ADVOCATE. Included are class notes and assignments (1907-1911) from LSU. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 2910.

Keller, Arthur G., 1902-1968. Papers, 1878-1967 (bulk 1927-1967). 19 linear ft. Location: 94:. Professor of Chemical Engineering, LSU, specialist in sugar cane technology, and consulting engineer. Professional papers include correspondence; notebooks; teaching materials; and files, financial records, and reports relative to a firm of consulting engineers run by Keller. Materials on sugar cane technology include repots on refineries and production. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2318, 2746.

Kenner family. Papers and diaries, 1844-1892 (bulk 1844-1856). .65 linear ft. (49 items; 8 vols.). Location: C:30. Residents of Oakland Plantation, Jefferson Parish; and Roseland Plantation, St. Charles Parish, Louisiana. Both were sugar and rice plantations. Papers of the William B. Kenner family consist of personal correspondence, a diary, and two memorandum books. Included are letters from Kenner's grandson, Lieutenant Philip Minor Kenner, during his service in the Confederate army. Plantation diaries and correspondence of Charles Oxley, Kenner's son-in-law and husband of Martha Kenner, record activities at Roseland Plantation. Available on microfilm: UPA Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B Reel 10 and Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 1, Reel 5. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 775. Complete Finding Aid.

Kerr, E. W. Papers, 1913-1951 (bulk 1925-1949). ca. 8,600 items. Location: 77:24-34. Baton Rouge engineer. Kerr was an LSU professor of mechanical engineering (1905-1916); an efficiency engineer for the Cuba Cane Sugar Corporation of Havana, Cuba (1916-1931); and a consultant to Southwest Louisiana sugar factories (1935-1949). Papers include correspondence, technical data and notes, blueprints and related printed items documenting Kerr's career in the sugar industry; and family letters and personal correspondence. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1308.

Kleinpeter, Joseph, b. 1798. Family Papers, 1817-1895. .25 linear ft. (51 items, 1 ms. vol., 1 printed vol.). Location: C:63, OS:K, 99:. Sugar planter of Variety Plantation in Iberville Parish, Louisiana. Papers include land records, slave sales, mortgages, and succession documents. A record book includes entries of slave births (1822-1852). There are also Civil War military papers and two Bureau of Refugees labor contracts (1865-1866). Some items in French. Available on microfilm: UPA Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 1, Reel 9. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1241.

Landry Family Papers, 1837-1900. 466 items, 12 small notebooks. Location: U:198. Residents of Paincourtville, Assumption Parish, Louisiana. The majority of letters are personal and are written by various members of the family, including some relatives from Quebec. The later correspondence has a good percentage of business letters. The documents include bills, receipts, and sugar sales. Some in French. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm: UPA Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 1, Reel 8. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 731.Complete Finding Aid (PDF)

Landry, Charles. Mortgage, 1860. 1 item. Location: Misc. Mortgage on a sugar plantation in St. Martin Parish, Louisiana, giving the size of the plantation and names and ages of slaves. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1927.

Landry, Elu. Estate record book, 1848-1851. 1 ms. vol. Location: Mf. Record book kept by administrator of Landry's estate includes accounts of money paid and received by the estate; a list of debts; and a plantation diary (1848-1850). Mss. 3106.

Landry, Severin. Family Papers, 1838-1887 (bulk 1843-1882). 148 items, 2 vols. Location: U:199, G:15. Sugar planter of Assumption Parish, Louisiana. Collection includes personal and family correspondence, business and financial records, plantation regulations, and a daybook (1846-1849) and journal (1846-1865) kept by Dufossard Landry recording sales of plantation produce. Chiefly in French. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm: UPA Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 1, Reel 8. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 210.

Landry, Shirley, 1926-, interviewee. Shirley and Reed Landry oral history interview, 1993. 1 sound cassette (45 minutes), Index (3 pages). Location: L:4700.0221. Resident of Four Corners, a community south of Franklin, St. Mary Parish, Louisiana, and the daughter of a sugarcane farmer. She married Reed Landry, also a sugarcane farmer. Shirley Landry recalls early life on a farm near Jeanerette, Louisiana; Four Corners in the 1930s-1950s; the local general store and dance hall; relations with African Americans; and Sunday traditions. Reed Landry describes technological changes in sugarcane farming; modern planting and harvesting routines; and modern varieties of sugarcane planted in Louisiana. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0221.

Lazell, Perkins and Company. Correspondence, 1839-1845. 3 items. Location: Misc. Collection includes letters to the company related to the construction of sugar mill shafts. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1404, 1417.

Leverich, Charles P. Correspondence, 1843-1853. 12 items. Location: Misc. Factor of New York City associated with J. H. Leverich and Company of New Orleans. Letters from a New Orleans factor comment on the effect of the Oregon Question on the sugar market. Letters from St. Mary Parish planters refer to shipping sugar and other cargo, a mortgage on Leonidas Polk's plantation, floods, and the parish's health. Letter from William J. Minor of Natchez mentions his interest in horse racing and comments on his son's finances in relationship to Yankee thriftiness. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1078, 1220, 1352, 1506.

Lewis, Irma Polidore, 1945-, interviewee. Oral history interview, 1993. 1 sound cassette (45 minutes), Index (3 pages). Location: L:4700.0219. Daugher of a sugarcane worker and life-long resident of Four Corners, a community south of Franklin, St. Mary Parish, Louisiana. Lewis recalls her childhood as the daughter of unwed parents; being trained in carpentry by her uncle; work as a child on a sugarcane farm; plumbing and other self-provisioning skills; and traditional foods and folk medicines. Lewis also discusses her inability to attend college; and her involvement in the Four Corners Community Center. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0221.

Lockett, Noland, 1938-, interviewee. Oral history interview, 1993. 1 sound cassette (1.5 hours), Index (7 pages). Location: L:4700.0284. Resident of Four Corners, a community south of Franklin, St. Mary Parish, Louisiana. Lockett, the great-grandson of a migrant sugarcane worker from the Caribbean, was a building contractor and former associate dean of a junior college. Lockett discusses the logging industry at Four Corners; the origin and history of the Lockett clan; local sugar growing and South Coast Plantation; service by African Americans in the Korean War; the plantation store system; and race relations. Lockett also discusses his seminary experience; plans for a private school in the area; and recalls childhood memories of Mardi Gras; gambling and his father; and social conditions of his community. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0284.

Louisiana sugar and rice trade collection, 1884-1936. 175 items, 6 vols. Location: C:30, F:8. The Louisiana Sugar and Rice Exchange was a commodities brokerage concern in New Orleans. Raymond J. Martinez was the editor and publisher of THE RICE JOURNAL. Records consist of correspondence, form letters, announcements, financial reports, minutes of meetings, and broadsides. Papers of Raymond J. Martinez include correspondence; statistics of the rice industry; and items for publication. Photographs depict International Harvester Company equipment and some individuals; papers and letters concerning the photographs are included. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 784.

Louisiana Sugar Planters Association. Papers, 1905-1911. 644 items. Location: U:212-213. Sugar planters' association based in New Orleans. Correspondence of the association. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1492.

Louisiana Sugar Planters Association. Records, 1897-1903. 205 items, 1 vol. Location: U:212, G:16. Sugar planters' association based in New Orleans. Records include meeting minutes (1877-1891) and correspondence related to sugar cane growing, immigrant plantation workers, and organizational changes. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 266.

Marshall, George, B. (George Benoist). Family Papers, 1807-1900 (bulk 1850-1880). .5 linear ft. Location: B:41, J:7. Sugar and cotton planter of Crescent Plantation, Cheneyville, Rapides Parish, Louisiana, and captain in the Confederate army. Collection includes records, daybooks, bills, receipts, and other documents related to the plantation. Includes a 1866 record of fines imposed on African Americans for breaking the peace. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm: UPA Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reels 12-13. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 969

Martin, Leonard, 1908-, interviewee. Oral history interview, 1993. 1 sound cassette (1.5 hours), Index (4 pages). Location: L:4700.0281. Sugarcane farmer and great-grandson of a slave, Martin was a resident of Four Corners, Louisiana, an unincorporated community south of Franklin, St. Mary Parish, Louisiana. Martin's account of the sale of his great-grandfather as a slave along with descriptions of his education; his father's career as the first black schoolteacher in the area; work in sugarcane farming; and a dance-hall operator, Alice LeBaude. Martin also describes forms of transportation; the marriage of his white maternal grandmother to a Native American; his own marriage; work in Texas; the use of drugs in Four Corners; and his religion. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0281.

Martin, Robert Campbell, b. 1839. Papers, 1767-1932. 241 items, 75 vols. (68 ms. vols., 8 printed vols.). Location: C:9, O:18-19, 98. Sugar planter of Albemarle Plantation, Assumption Parish, Louisiana, and son of Robert Campbell Martin and Mary Winfred Pugh. Martin served as first lieutenant in the 26th Louisiana Volunteer Regiment during the Civil War. Papers include Pugh family property and estate records such as deeds and leases, an estate inventory, powers of attorney, and a promissory note. Other papers include a funeral notice, marriage license, muster roll, receipts, and voter registration form. Also included are record books of Albemarle Plantation, memorandum books, newspaper clippings, and printed items. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm: University Publications of America Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B, Part 3, Reels 7-11. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1045.Complete Finding Aid

Martin, Sigur. Papers, 1905-1912. 236 items, 16 ms. vols. Location: U:211, G:18. Sugar planter of Grand Point Plantation and a dealer in general merchandise and liquor in Paulina, St. James Parish, Louisiana. He later held office in the Treasury Department in Baton Rouge. Collection includes store records, accounts, invoices, and receipts, many with Baton Rouge merchants. Some items document Martin's management of a sugarcane plantation. Included are letters from the Colonial Sugars Company listing cane deliveries from tenant farmers working on Grand Point Plantation. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 460.

Martin, W. L. Collection, 1831, 1863, 1869. 4 items. Location: 99:. Copy of a Benjamin Levy (New Orleans) imprint of a sugar statement for the year 1831 by Pierre A. Degelos which gives the names of the sugar planters by parishes; and three Thibodaux, Louisiana, newspapers. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1904.

Mather, Joseph. Diary, 1852-1859 (bulk 1855-1856). 1 vol. Location: G:18. Superintendent of Aurora Plantation, St. James Parish, Louisiana. Diary relates the day-by-day activities on a sugar plantation, noting the weather, work done at various times of the year, condition of crops, and health of slaves and stock. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 285.

Maury Brothers Ledger, 1851-1856. 1 vol. Location: M:20. James and Ruston Maury were cotton and commission merchants in New Orleans. Ruston Maury conducted company business in Liverpool, New York, Charleston, and Richmond. He was a member of Christ Church, New Orleans. Ledger records company income, expenses, and accounts of company partners. Accounts of cotton shipped and exported to England and the northern United States are included, along with smaller amounts of sugar and corn. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4676.

McCutchon, Samuel, 1820-1874. Family Papers, 1832-1890 (bulk 1832-1874). 104 items, 8 vols. (5 ms. vols., 3 printed vols.). Location: U:158, P:19, Misc:M. Manager of Ormond Plantation, Saint Charles Parish Louisiana, and manager (1866-1874) for the Young, Toledo and Company in Belize, British Honduras. Collection includes diaries documenting the operation and management of the sugar plantation and saw mills. Papers include business letters, record books, inventories, newspapers, broadsides and plans. Includes papers and descriptions of plantation life in Belize. Available on microfilm: UPA Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 1, Reels 5-6. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1049, 1087, 1060, 1109.

McLean, Shirley, 1941-, interviewee. Oral history interview, 1993. 1 sound cassette (45 minutes), index (3 pages). Location: L:4700.0218. Resident of Four Corners, an unincorporated community south of Franklin, St. Mary Parish, Louisiana, and daughter of Louis Comeaux, sugarcane farmer. McLean relates her childhood memories of life on a sugarcane farm, work and recreation on the farm, sugarcane harvesting, local schooling, relations with African Americans, and French language usage. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0218.

Meek, A. J. Photograph collection, 1989-1990. 3 items. Location: M:26. Baton Rouge photographer and Professor of Art at LSU. Collection includes photographs of a fire resulting from an explosion at the Exxon Chemical Plant in Baton Rouge; Mississippi River at flood stage at Baton Rouge; and Enterprise Plantation Sugar Mill in New Iberia, Louisiana. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4726.

Miller, Warren. Scrapbooks and memorabilia, 1909-1947. Location: M:24. New Orleans attorney and civic leader. Two scrapbook volumes, photographs, Sugar Bowl programs, and phonographic recordings of college songs document Miller's civic activities and his involvement with the founding of the Sugar Bowl college football game. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3612.

Minor family photograph collection, 1885. 6 items. Location: E:73. William J. Minor was a sugar planter of Terrebonne and Ascension Parishes, Louisiana. His father, Stephen Minor, owned a plantation and a home in Natchez, Mississippi. Ayres P. Merrill was the U.S. Minister to Belgium. Collection contains formal portraits of William J. Minor, John Minor, Mrs. Minor (probably the wife of William J. Minor), and Ayres P. Merrill II. Included are photographs depicting Oakland, the Minor family home, and Elmscourt, the Merrill family home, also in Natchez. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3173.

Minor, Rebecca A. G. Papers, 1860-1870 ca. 786 pages. Location: Mf. Wife of William J. Minor and executrix of his estate. Case files of Rebecca Minor against the United States, filed in the U.S. Court of Claims, for the Civil War seizure by Union military authorities of sugar, molasses, and supplies at Hollywood and Southdowns plantations, Terrebonne Parish, Louisiana. For further information see manuscript card  catalog. Mss. 857.

Minor, Stephen, 1760?-1815. Family Papers, 1774-1914 (bulk 1774-1891). 24 items, 1 printed vol. Location: Vault. Planter of the Concord Plantation and governor of the Spanish district of Natchez, Mississippi. Collection includes correspondence related to plantation and family matters in Mississippi and Louisiana; a sugar producer's license; a printed item signed by President John Adams; and a will. Includes land titles for property in Natchez, in Spanish. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 859, 947.

Minor, William J., 1807-1869. Family papers 1779-1941 (bulk 1830-1870). 410 items, 37 vols. Location: U:229-230, H:2, Mf. Sugar planter of Southdown and Hollywood Plantations in Terrebonne Parish and Waterloo Plantation in Ascension Parish, Louisiana. Minor was president of the Agricultural Bank of Natchez, Mississippi. Collection includes plantation records; banking papers; and personal correspondence of the Stephen, William J., and Henry C. Minor families of Natchez and Terrebonne Parish. Some letters in Spanish and French. Available on microfilm: University Publications of America Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B, Part 3, Reels 1-4. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 519. Complete Finding Aid (PDF)

Minor, William J., 1807-1869. Papers, 1854-1862. 18 items, 2 printed vols. Location: Vault. Sugar planter of Southdown and Hollywood Plantations in Terrebonne Parish and Waterloo Plantation in Ascension Parish, Louisiana. Minor was president of the Agricultural Bank of Natchez, Mississippi. Papers include letters about horse racing written by Minor from Natchez, Mississippi, to a friend in Louisiana, and pamphlets related to horse racing and thoroughbred breeding. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 859.

Moore, John, 1788-1867. Family Papers, 1831-1880. 47 items. Location: W:31. Sugar planter, judge, and politician of St. Mary, St. Landry, and Iberia parishes, Louisiana. Moore was a member of the Louisiana and U.S. House of Representatives; and built Magnolia Ridge and later owned Shadows-on-the-Teche in New Iberia. Papers consist of legal and business papers and correspondence of Moore, his daughters, and his sons-in-law. Included are bills of lading, crop production statements, slave documents, mortgages, and promissory notes. The collection also includes land grants (1860) for acreage in Opelousas, Louisiana. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 2973.

Moore, John, 1788-1867. Letter, 1823 August 23. 1 item. Location: Misc:M. Sugar planter, judge, and politician of St. Mary, St. Landry, and Iberia parishes, Louisiana. Moore was a member of the Louisiana and U.S. House of Representatives; and built Magnolia Ridge and later owned Shadows-on-the-Teche in New Iberia. Letter from Opelousas, Louisiana, addressed to Messrs. Gales & Seaton, editors of the NATIONAL INTELLIGENCER, Washington, D.C. It refers to an enclosed subscription payment of five dollars to be paid each to Benoit Vanille (?) and Clement A. Mudd. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 2343.

Moore, Thomas Overton, 1804-1876. Papers, 1832-1877 (bulk 1856-1871). 711 items, 1 mf reel. Location: U:231, H:3, Mf:M. Sugar planter of Rapides Parish, Louisiana; member of the Louisiana House of Representatives and state Senate; and governor of Louisiana (1860-1864). Moore fled Louisiana after the Civil War but later returned. Papers include personal correspondence, business papers, and political and legal documents. Antebellum materials include slave sales and accounts of physicians treating slaves. Papers from 1859 to 1871 deal largely with Moore's political activities. They include gubernatorial papers concerning his nomination, the Democratic Party, the transport of the state archives from Baton Rouge, the Louisiana Secession Convention, and other matters. Available (with some omissions)on microfilm: UPA Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 2, Reels 18-19. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 305, 893. 1094. Complete finding aid (PDF).

Nathan, George. Letter, 1851. 1 item. Location: Misc. Commission merchant of New Orleans. Letter from Nathan to James Birckhead, Wall Street, New York, pertaining to the arrival of cargoes of coffee and prices obtained from each ship by name, and listing New Orleans prices of sugar, molasses, flour, pork, and cotton. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 904.

Nicholas, Robert Carter, 1793-1857. Letter, 1840 June 9. 1 item. Location: Misc. U.S. Senator, Louisiana Secretary of State, and planter from Terrebonne Parish, Louisiana. Letter to William G. Harrison from Baltimore referring to the quantity of sugar imported into the U.S. between 1838-1839. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3117.

Nottoway photograph, n.d. 1 item. Location: E:75. Plantation in Iberville Parish, Louisiana. Photograph of three men in a sugar house at Nottoway Plantation. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2600-73.

Oxnard, Benjamin A. Papers, 1890-1960. 5 v. Location: H:14. Sugar industry executive. Collection relating to sugar industry includes a letter book (1890), data related to trade with England (1926-1927); account book for Adeline Sugar Factory Co. Ltd. (1902-1911); printed item on the American Sugar Refining Co. (1912), and a scrapbook for Oxnard Sugar Factory (1891-1958 rev. 1960). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4701.

P. A. Giraud & Co. Letter, 1856 March 15. 1 item. Location: Misc:G. Commission merchants located in New Orleans, dealing in molasses and sugar. Edward James Gay, born in Virginia, married Lavinia Hynes. Upon his father-in-law's death, Gay assumed control of Hynes' property in Louisiana and moved there in 1856. Letter from New Orleans by P. A. Giraud and Company to Gay at Hynes Plantation 'near Plaquemine,' Louisiana, details the shipping schedule of molasses and sugar on the Mississippi River between St. Louis and New Orleans. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3313.

Pharr family papers [1848]-1934. 85,762 items, 220 ms. vols., 141 printed vols. Location: UU:211-213, X:1-42, Q:15-27. Captain John Newton Pharr was a sugar planter, manufacturer, and steamboat owner of St. Mary Parish, Louisiana. Papers and account books of Captain Pharr and records of the J. N. Pharr and Sons, Limited. Papers and volumes cover the operation of all the Pharr holdings including several plantations, Glenwild Sugar Refinery, the Fairview Dairy, and the Pharr Line. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 555.

Pinkham, A. Letter, 1876. 1 item. Location: Misc:P. Letter written to Capt. P. N. Blanchard by A. Pinkham while docked at Tamarang, West Indies, reporting his progress, replacing worn metal on cargo ships; sugar cargo; and expenses. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3666.

Pipes, David Washington, 1886-1968. Papers, 1905-1956. 321 items; 1 vol. Location: T:7, F:6. New Orleans attorney and sugar planter active in Louisiana Republican Party. Pipes was a Republican candidate for the House of Representatives and president of the American Sugar Cane League. Papers include correspondence, news clippings, speeches, maps, photographs, and printed items pertaining to the Louisiana Republican Party and sugarcane. Scrapbook includes material from Pipe's political campaign. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1509, 1607.

Porter, Alexander. Papers, 1811-1844, 1870-1879. 13 items. Location: Misc:P and OS:P.Alexander Porter (1785-1844), Louisiana resident, politician, and owner of Oaklawn Manor, a sugar plantation, in Franklin, La. Items consist of correspondence, a 10-page biography of Alexander Porter, an 1821 certificate naming Porter to the Louisiana Supreme Court, and an 1811 certificate validating a land grant to a free person of color. Correspondence discusses Porter's involvement with the slave trade, slave behavior, their treatment, and their value. Other correspondence discusses various lease agreements between the Porter and Leverich families over tenancy of Oaklawn Manor. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4947.

No "Q" Records.

Randolph, John H. (John Hampden), 1813-1883. Family Papers, 1823-1889 (bulk 1834-1889). 1.3 linear ft. (1034 items, 16 ms. vols.). Location: A:10, OS:R, Vault. Lawyer, planter, and circuit court judge. Randolph was born in Virginia and moved with his family to Wilkinson County, Mississippi, in 1819. In 1841 he moved to Iberville Parish, Louisiana, where he owned Nottoway Plantation. Collection includes records and documents related to Randolph's cotton and sugar plantations in Woodville, Wilkinson County, Mississippi, and Iberville and Catahoula Parishes, Louisiana. Includes items related to the White League, an organization which promoted white racial interests in Louisiana. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm: UPA Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 1, Reels 14-15. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 355, 356.

Randon, François. Ledger, 1876-1888. 1 ms. vol. Location: M:21. New Orleans dealer in sugar mill supplies. Ledger contains accounts for plantations along the Mississippi River from False River to New Orleans and on Bayou Teche. The volume also includes a record of household expenses. In French. Available on microfilm: University Publications of America Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B, Part 3, Reel 15. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 992.

Reggio Family Papers, 1771-1860. 9 items. Location: Misc. Sugar planters of Plaquemines Parish, Louisiana. Papers include a petition (1771) by Francisco Maria Reggio to the King of Spain; papers (1812-1834) of Nicholas Reggio concerning property sales and mortgages; and papers (1836-1860) of Auguste Reggio, among them slave sales, mortgages, and accounts. Partly in French. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 363.

Richland Plantation plat, 1874 November 16. 1 item. Sugar plantation in Iberville Parish, Louisiana, in the vicinity of Bayou Goula. Framed map of Richland surveyed and drawn by P. N. Judice, Civil Engineer. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3050.

Robertson, Frederick, D. Plantation record books, 1852-1923. 1 linear ft. (17 vols.). Location: H:13. Sugar planter of Plaquemine, Louisiana. Robertson owned and operated Island, Homestead, Myrtle Grove, and Hunter's Lodge plantations. Five daybooks, three payroll books, and nine record books consisting of information regarding daily plantation activities such as cultivation of sugar cane and minor crops, payment of laborers, and expenditures and credits. Entries about Robertson's court cases are included in Volume 2. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 579, 687.

Rolston, William A., Sr. Papers, 1911-1952. 846 items, 63 printed vols. Location: 79:45-48. Sugar technologist and superintendent of the Francisco Sugar Company, Francisco, Province of Camaguey, Cuba; and a native of Baton Rouge. Papers include correspondence, drawings, blueprints, reports, and files related to Rolston's work for the Francisco Sugar Company. Other papers relate to sugar growing and processing, building materials, engineering, and the lumber industry. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 2038.

S. Gumbel and Company, Ltd. Records, 1884-1942. 0.3 linear ft., 66 v. Location: P:14, 22; 114: Cotton and sugar factor and commission merchant firm of New Orleans, founded by Bavarian immigrant Simon Gumbel, a prominent member of the city's Jewish community. Records consist of correspondence, financial papers, legal documents and business ledgers concerning the financial transactions of S. Gumbel & Co. Ltd. relative to real estate in Louisiana and Mississippi, and the cotton, sugar and rice trade in Louisiana. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1490. Complete finding aid.

Savoy, Joseph. Family Papers, 1856-1909. .3 linear ft. (93 items). Location: W:31. Sugar planter on Bayou Lafourche, Assumption Parish, Louisiana. Papers include family correspondence, with two letters of Corrine Savoy discussing the election of 1900; business papers dealing with the sale of sugar and molasses in New Orleans; and insurance policies for Joseph Savoy's plantation and sugar house. One letter and one receipt in French. Available on microfilm: University Publications of America Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B, Part 3, Reel 15. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3022. Complete Finding Aid (PDF)

Shattuck, Albert R. Report, 1893, 1966. Location: M:23. Report comparing the cost of raising cane; delivering it to the carrier; and manufacturing cane into sugar; and the price at which it was sold on Adeline, Calumet, Des Lignes, Glenwild, and Magnolia plantations for the year 1892. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 2316.

Smithfield Plantation. Records, 1900-1970, n.d. 35 linear ft., 191 ms. vols. Location: 92:, 124:. Sugar plantation complex near Port Allen, West Baton Rouge Parish, Louisiana. Business records include correspondence; bills and receipts; cane yield reports; tax returns; stock orders; ledgers; journals; and production reports. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2908.

Spell, Viela. Photographs, 1910-1940 ca. .2 linear ft. Location: E:54. Louisiana amateur photographer. Photographic negatives and prints depicting life in rural Louisiana. Candid photographs of family members, laborers, sugarcane fields, and agricultural scenes. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4633.

Stevens, Angulo and Co. Letterpress Copybook, 1856-1857. 1 vol. Location: G:20. Stevens, Angulo and Co. was a brokerage involved in sugar trade. Correspondence details international competition, prices and profits, and the partial crop failure in Louisiana. Correspondence also reflects economic conditions in the U. S., England, and France. For more information, see the online catalog. Mss. 4434.

Stirling, Lewis. Family Papers, 1797-1938 (bulk 1830-1860). 2,651 items, 38 ms. vols., 2 printed vols. Location: B:76-81, Vault. The Stirlings were sugar cotton planters of Wakefield Plantation, West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. Business and personal papers of the Stirling family reflect antebellum plantation economy, education, health, and travel. Military orders and receipts for supplies relate to Lewis' service in the Louisiana militia and at the Battle of New Orleans. After 1860 the papers diminish in number and consist primarily of family letters discussing labor problems with freedmen, migration to and life in Texas during the war, and plantation, household, and personal bills. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 2, Reels 21-25. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1866. Complete Finding Aid

Stone Wall Plantation, 1872. Cashbook. 1 ms. vol. Location: M:21. West Baton Rouge Parish, Louisiana, sugar plantation. Entries are mainly for wages paid to laborers, giving name and type of work performed. Other entries are for freight and plantation supplies. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 483.

Stubbs, William Carter, 1846-1924. Letter, 1896. 1 item. Location: Misc. Director of the Louisiana Sugar Experiment Station and founder and head of the Audubon Sugar School. Letter to LSU President Thomas D. Boyd outlines in detail the purpose and courses of the Audubon Sugar School and suggests that the School be established as part of the agricultural course at the University. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2283.

Stubbs, William Carter, 1846-1924. Papers, 1896-1924 (bulk 1896-1904). 22 items. Location: C:67. Director of the Louisiana Sugar Experiment Station and founder and head of the Audubon Sugar School. Professional correspondence discusses the management, organization, and finances of Louisiana Agricultural Experiment Stations and the agricultural curriculum at LSU in 1898. The 1904 letters address the development of a state agricultural museum. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 893, 965.

Sugar imprints collection, 1765-1860. 27 items. Location: E:Impr. British and French imprints pertaining to the sugar industry. Included are bills of lading for sugar shipped from Port-au-Prince; and ordinances and decrees issued by the French royal council and the national convention of French Republicans. Also included are acts of Parliament pertaining to production; a statement of the value of sugar exports from Great Britain; and a pamphlet illustrating production methods. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 2880.

Taussig, Charles William, 1896-. Collection, 1667, 1700, 1717-1915, 1922. 130 items, 15 printed vols., 2 ms. vols. Location: UU:107-108. Materials pertaining to sugar cane; trade and commerce in sugar, molasses, and rum; the slave trade and slave labor; and the promotion, encouragement, and protection of agriculture and trade in British, French, and Spanish colonies and Louisiana. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2220.

Taussig, Charles William, 1896-. Papers, 1791, 1830's, 1849, 1862, 1870's, 1882. 16 ms. and printed items. Location: UU:108. Materials deal with commerce and trade of sugar and its products. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2284.

Taylor, Miles, 1805-1873. Family Papers, 1821-1954 (bulk 1821-1890). 200 items. Location: U:236, 99. Congressional representative, lawyer, judge, and sugar planter of Assumption Parish, Louisiana. Taylor's son Thomas was a sergeant in the 8th Louisiana Volunteers in the Civil War. Collection includes family letters, photographs, manuscript writings, genealogical and biographical materials, and reprints of speeches Taylor made in Congress (1856-1857). Mrs. Taylor's mother lived in Natchez, Mississippi, and the collection includes letters between them; and Civil War letters from Thomas Taylor as a prisoner of war in Saratoga Springs, New York. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm: UPAA Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reels 18-19. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1378, 1448, 1636. Complete Finding Aid (PDF)

Taylor, William. Diary, 1838-1842. Plantation diary of William Taylor, owner of Lakeland and Briers plantations in Pointe Coupee Parish, La., and cousin of Gen. Zachary Taylor, describes the routine activities and operations of his sugar and cotton plantations. Taylor records the visits of many relatives and friends, including the family of Zachary Taylor. He also discusses local politics. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 899.

Thibaut, James. Account book, 1878-1879. 1 vol. Location: M:20. Commission merchant of St. Charles Parish, Louisiana. Account book records sugar and molasses sold for various plantations in Louisiana, listing names of plantations and consignees; and contains written reports on the conditions of crops, health, weather, and the Mississippi River. For further information see the online catalog. Mss. 421.

Thurston, George N. Family Papers, 1843-1907. .16 linear ft. (64 items, 3 vols.). Location: C:45. Mississippi River steamboat captain for the New Orleans Ice Company; and a sugar planter at Baskerville Plantation, St. Mary Parish, Louisiana. Papers include personal and business letters related to Thurston's work; and diaries and account books kept by his wife, Mary Thurston, concerning the household an plantation. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1124.

Trinity Plantation. Records, 1903-1913. 3 ms. vols. Location: L:6. Sugar plantation near Rosedale, Iberville Parish, Louisiana. Journals and ledger record expenses and creditors. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2653.

Turnbull, Daniel Family Papers, 1803-1913. (bulk 1832-1871). 74 items. Location: C:96. Daniel Turnbull was a sugar and cotton planter and founder of Rosedown Plantation in West Feliciana ParishThe collection contains correspondence, legal papers, and financial records of the Turnbull family, including Turnbull's daughter and son-in-law, Sarah and James P. Bowman, and concern the operation of family plantations Rosedown and Bayou Grosse Tete, as well as to the family's experiences during the Civil War, the destruction of DeSoto Plantation, and Turnbull's war claims. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4973. Complete finding aid (PDF).

Turnbull-Allain Family Papers, 1784-1941 (bulk 1820-1890). 15 linear ft. Location: C:98-112, OS:T, 99:T. The Turnbull and Allain families were cotton and sugar planters of West Feliciana, West Baton Rouge, and Iberville parishes, Louisiana. Papers include correspondence, legal and financial documents, and plantation records. Included are a large number of Braille writings of Helene Allain, some written while she studied and taught at the Louisiana Institute for the Blind in Baton Rouge. Plantation papers include lists of slaves and laborers. Available on microfilm: UPA Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 4, Reels 19-34. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4261.

Turnbull-Bowman Family Papers, 1771-1956 (bulk 1820-1910). 8 microfilm reels. Location: Mss.Mf:T. The Turnbull and Bowman families were cotton and sugar planters of West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. Collection includes financial papers, legal documents, personal papers, sheet music, printed items, and photographs. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4452.

Turnbull-Bowman-Lyons Family Papers, 1797-1955 (bulk 1820-1910). 3.5 linear ft. Location: C:113-115, OS:T. Sugar and cotton planters with properties in West Feliciana Parish, Iberville Parish, Pointe Coupee Parish, Baton Rouge, and New Orleans, Louisiana. Correspondence, plantation management papers, financial papers, legal documents, personal papers, and printed and graphic materials documenting the lives of members of the Turnbull, Pirrie, Lyons, Bowman, Barrow, Stirling, and Fort families. Correspondence discusses plantation, slave, financial, and social matters, and includes antebellum letters. Available on microfilm: UPA Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 4, Reels 34-38. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4026.

Uncle Sam Plantation Papers, 1815-1914 (bulk 1848-1911). 22 linear ft. Location: UU:217-234, P:11-16. Plantation built by Samuel Fagot of St. James Parish, Louisiana, in the 1840s; it produced sugar cane and was known as Constancia Plantation prior to 1864. The plantation store operated ca. 1875-1914. Collection includes business records, correspondence, slave and free labor records, and plantation store records and scrip. Later papers include payroll accounts and labor statistics for Cypress Knee Plantation. Some correspondence in French. Complete Finding Aid. Mss. 408.

No "V" Records.

Wailes, Levin, 1768-1847. Letter, 1812 February 25. 1 item. Location: Misc. Register of the Land Office of the United States, Territory of Orleans (1810-1822). Letter to U.S. Representative William W. Bibb [Georgia], written from Opelousas, Louisiana, discusses an inexpensive and successful method of raising and processing sugar then being employed in the Bayou Teche-Attakapas region of Louisiana. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2946.

Wainwright, George J. & Co. Letter, 1839. 1 item. Location: Misc. Letter from Liverpool, by R. Schaefer (?), addressed to Wm. Bennet, Glasgow, discussing the West Indies sugar trade and working conditions of negroes in Jamaica. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3676.

Warmoth, Henry Clay. Papers, 1866. Pamphlet. Location: Misc. Reconstruction governor of Louisiana and sugar planter. 'Letter of H. C. Warmoth, claimant of a set in the House of Representatives as delegate from the Territory of Louisiana, addressed to Senator [George H.] Williams, chairman of the sub-committee on Reconstruction for Louisiana.' For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss.1131.

Warmoth, Henry Clay. Papers, 1869-1872. 11 items. Location: Misc:W. Reconstruction governor of Louisiana and sugar planter. Correspondence received as governor concerns political appointments and quarantines. Also included is a letter from James Longstreet about the Louisiana militia and a campaign pamphlet for Warmoth. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 133, 773, 791, 1131.

Weeks, David. Family Papers, 1782-1894 (bulk 1830-1870). 10,106 items, 15 vols. Location: -70, J:6, X:76, Mf. The Weeks and related Conrad, Moore, and Gibson families were planters of New Iberia, Louisiana, and other areas in south Louisiana. Correspondence and other materials document the sugar plantation economy; cotton planting; slaves and free African American laborers; railroad building; state and national politics; education; and the Civil War and Reconstruction. Includes early papers of Charles N. Conrad, U.S. senator; political correspondence of John Moore, U.S. congressman; and a microfilmed inventory of The Shadows in New Iberia. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 528, 605.

West Indies Collection land tenure, 1798-1883. 14 items. Location: C:71. Selected public documents reflecting land tenure in the Parish of Vere, Jamaica, principally for George Radcliff, sugar planter, and for his estate. Also a document pertaining to the surrender of the charter of the Levant Company (British merchants). Other land documents include a conveyance for the sale of a plantation, Negroes, and livestock on the Island of Antigua; and a mortgage and lease for a coffee plantation in the colony of Babire. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 622.

Whipple, William, 1880-1962. Papers, 1792, 1844-1958. 164 items, 5 ms. vols., 162 printed vols. Location: X:78-81. LSU sugar technologist and professor of steam engineering. Papers consist of correspondence, reports, and record books for the Cinclare Central (sugar) Factory of West Baton Rouge Parish, Louisiana; and various publications, including sugar bulletins and journals. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1899.

White, Maunsell, ca. 1780-. Letterbook, 1845-1850. 1 ms. vol. [positive microfilm]. Location: Mf., Misc. Sugar planter of Deer Range Plantation, Plaquemines Parish, Louisiana. Letterbook containing family and business letters dealing with sugar planting, processing, and slavery; politics; support for a university in Louisiana; and the planning and construction of the State Capitol Building in Baton Rouge. Original letterbook is in the University of North Carolina Library. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2888.

Wilton Plantation sugarhouse plan, n.d. 1 item; 25.5 x 40 inches. Location: Vault:27. Sugar plantation owned by the Bruce, Seddon, and Wilkins Company near Convent, St. James Parish, Louisiana. Floor plan of a sugarhouse shows the location and dimensions of rooms and equipment. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2763.

World War I broadsides, 1918. 2 items. Location: Misc. Notices, distributed by the Standard Oil Company of Louisiana at Baton Rouge, announcing the amount of sugar allowed each employee per meal in accordance with the monthly allotment by the United States Food Administration. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1359.

No "X" Records.

No "Y" Records.

No "Z" Records.


CHRONOLOGICAL INDEX

1663-1950. Butler family papers
1667-1846 (bulk 1814-1815). Hicky, Philip, 1778-1859. Family papers
1667, 1700, 1717-1915, 1922. Taussig, Charles William, 1896-. Collection
1669, 1915, n.d. Burguieres, Jules M. Papers
1741-1865 (bulk 1847-1854). Bruce, Seddon, and Wilkins plantation partnership records
1765-1822. De Bordes family papers
1765-1860. Sugar imprints collection
1767-1932. Martin, Robert Campbell, b. 1839. Papers
1771-1860. Reggio family papers
1771-1956 (bulk 1820-1910). Turnbull-Bowman family papers
1774-1914 (bulk 1774-1891). Minor, Stephen, 1760?-1815. Family papers
1779-1941 (bulk 1830-1870). Minor, William J., 1807-1869. Family papers
1782-1894 (bulk 1830-1870). Weeks, David. Family papers
1784-1941 (bulk 1820-1890). Turnbull-Allain family papers
1787-1905 (bulk 1855-1888). Declouet, Alexandre (Alexandre Etienne), 1812-1890. Family papers
1791, 1830's, 1849, 1862, 1870's, 1882. Taussig, Charles William, 1896-. Papers
1794, 1844-1958. Whipple, William, 1880-1962. Papers
1795-1899. Butler, Richard, 1777-1820. Papers
1797-1938. Gay, Edward J. Family papers
1797-1955 (bulk 1820-1910). Turnbull-Bowman-Lyons family papers
1798-1883. West Indies Collection land tenure
1807-1900 (bulk 1850-1880). Marshall, George B. (George Benoist). Family papers
1812 February 25. Wailes, Levin, 1768-1847. Letter
1815 February 28. Hicky, Philip, 1778-1859. Letter
1815-1914 (bulk 1848-1911). Uncle Sam Plantation papers
1817-1895. Kleinpeter, Joseph, b. 1798. Family papers
1819 January 17. Johnson, Henry, 1783-1864. Letter
1821-1954 (bulk 1821-1890). Taylor, Miles, 1805-1873. Family papers
1823 August 23. Moore, John, 1788-1867. Letter
1823-1889 (bulk 1834-1889). Randolph, John H. (John Hampden), 1813-1883. Family papers
1824-1833. Foreign trade price lists collection
1826-1827. Berbice Colony slave records
1829, 1831. Consolidated Association of the Planters of Louisiana. Papers
1830-1910 (bulk 1830-1884). Boucry, Helene. Family record books and papers
1831-1880. Moore, John, 1788-1867. Family papers
1831, 1863, 1869. Martin, W. L. Collection
1832-1877 (bulk 1856-1871). Moore, Thomas, Overton, 1804-1876. Papers
1832-1890 (bulk 1832-1874). McCutchon, Samuel, 1820-1874. Family papers
1837-1900. Landry family papers
1838-1887 (bulk 1843-1882). Landry, Severin. Family papers
1839. Wainwright, George J. & Co. Letter
1839-1845. Lazell, Perkins and Company. Correspondence
1840 June 9. Nicholas, Robert Carter, 1793-1857. Letter
1840-1882 (bulk 1858-1879). Andry, M. T. (Michel Thomassin), 1811-ca. 1871. Family papers
1843-1853. Leverich, Charles P. Correspondence
1843-1907. Thurston, George N. Family papers
1844-1892 (bulk 1844-1856). Kenner family. Papers and diaries
1845-1850. White, Maunsell, ca. 1780-. Letterbook
1846. Champomier, P. A. 'Statement of the Sugar Crop made in Louisiana in 1845-6'
1846-1956 (bulk 1918-1956). Henry C. Minor papers
1847-1880. Butler, Margaret, 1821-1890. Correspondence
1848-1851. Landry, Elu. Estate record book
1848-1855. Keary, Patrick F. Letters
1848-1868. Erwin, Isaac, d. ca. 1872. Diary
1848-1888. Butler, Robert Ormond. Papers
1848-1891 (bulk 1861-1874). Barrow, Bartholomew, 1836-1869. Family collection of sheet music
[1848]-1934. Pharr family papers
1851. Nathan, George. Letter
1851-1856. Maury Brothers. Ledger
1852. Ashland Plantation record book
1852-1859 (bulk 1855-1856). Mather, Joseph. Diary
1852-1923. Robertson, Frederick D. Plantation record books
1854-1862. Minor, William J., 1807-1869. Papers
1854-1865. Desobry, Louis. Partnership agreement and amnesty oath
1854-1905. Brusle, Charles A. Papers
1856 March 15. P. A. Giraud & Co. Letter
1856 March 24. Dardenne, Eugenie. Land document
1856-1857. A. Ledoux, Miltenberger and Hall Company. Account book
1856-1900, 1990, n.d. (bulk 1856-1880). Hall, George Otis. Family papers
1856-1909. Savoy, Joseph. Family papers
1856-1927 (bulk 1866-1905). Boudreaux, Maximilien E. Family papers
1857-1957. Gay, Andrew H. (Andrew Hynes), 1841-1914. Family papers
1858-1917 ca. Bennet George W. Business records
1859-1865. Guion, Lewis, 1838-1920. Record books
1860. Landry, Charles. Mortgage
1860-1870 ca. Minor, Rebecca A. G. Papers
1861 July-September. Brusle, Charles A. Diary
1861-1910, 1955, n.d. Dugas, Honore. Family papers
1862 November 25. Allyn, William B. Letter
1862-1863. Guion, Lewis, 1838-1920. Diary
1862, 1900-1910. Gilmore, John Young, 1837-1900. Family papers
1866. Warmoth, Henry Clay. Papers
1869-1872. Warmoth, Henry Clay. Papers
1870. Bouchereau, L. 'Statement of the Sugar and Rice Crops, made in Louisiana in 1869-70, with an appendix'
1870s?. Hope Farm Plantation photograph collection
1870-1918 ca. Gumbel, S. and Company, Ltd. Records
1870-1948. Carroll, Daniel R. Family papers
1871-1892. Clifton, Christopher. Papers
1872. Stone Wall Plantation. Cashbook
1874. Richland Plantation plat
1875. Bragg, Braxton, 1817-1876. Letter
1876. Pinkham, A. Letter
1876-1888. Randon, Francois. Ledger
1877-1975 (bulk 1926-1967). Freeland, Emile C. Papers
1878-1879. Thibaut, James. Account book
1878-1884. Frellsen, Henry, ca. 1800-1884. Diary
1878-1967 (bulk 1927-1967). Keller, Arthur G., 1902-1968. Papers
1883-1901 (bulk 1883-1885). Carleton, Mark. Record books
1884-1936. Louisiana sugar and rice trade collection
1885. Minor family photograph collection
1885-1919. Keller, Anatole J. Family papers
1886-1933. Dugas and LeBlanc. Account books
1887-1895. Chaffe record books
1887-1942. Gianelloni, Sabin J., Sr. Papers
1880-1957. Burguieres, Jules M. Papers
1890-1958 ca. Harris, R. B. Photograph collection
1893-1930. Harris, William H. Papers
1893, 1966. Shattuck, Albert R. Report
1896. Stubbs, William Carter, 1846-1924. Letter
1896-1924 (bulk 1896-1904). Stubbs, William Carter, 1846-1924. Papers
1897-1903. Louisiana Sugar Planters Association. Records
1900-1970, n.d. Smithfield Plantation. Records
1901-1924. Boyd, Thomas D., Jr., 1882-1964. Papers
1903-1913. Trinity Plantation. Records
1905-1911. Louisiana Sugar Planters Association. Papers
1905-1912. Martin, Sigur. Papers
1905-1956. Pipes, David Washington, 1886-1968. Papers
1909. American sugar refinery picture postcard
1909-1947. Miller, Warren. Scrapbooks and memorabilia
1909-1956. Harris, James Courtland, d. 1968. Papers
1910-1940 ca. Spell, Viela. Photographs
1911-1952. Rolston, William A., Sr. Papers
1913-1951. Kerr, E. W. Papers
1915-1938 (bulk 1915-1925). Boyd, Overton F. (Overton Fuqua), 1891-1951. Papers
1917. Boyd, Thomas D., Jr., 1882-1964. Application
1917. Cabassa, Luis G. Letter
1917-1919. Anonymous sugar house record book (b)
1918. World War I broadsides
1927. Choppin, A. R. Research reports
1932. Browne, Charles Albert. Report
1950, 1954, 1961-1962. Gutleben, Dan. Publications
1951-197-, n.d. Chilton, John P., 1909-. Papers
1967. Harkins, John. Manuscript
1980. Farwell, F. Evans, 1906-. Lecture and narration
1982 May 7-10. American Sugar Cane League. Letters
1989-1990. Meek, A. J. Photograph collection
1993. Comeaux, Louis, 1911-, interviewee. Oral history interview
1993. Hines, Betty, 1948-, interviewee. Oral history interview
1993. Hines, Moses, 1935-, interviewee. Moses Hines and Charlotte Hines Alfred oral history interview
1993. Jackson, Willie, 1889-, interviewee. Oral history interview
1993. Landry, Shirley, 1926-, interviewee. Shirley and Reed Landry oral history interview
1993. Lewis, Irma Polidore, 1945-, interviewee. Oral history interview
1993. Lockett, Noland, 1938-, interviewee. Oral history interview
1993. Martin, Leonard, 1908-, interviewee. Oral history interview
1993. McLean, Shirley, 1941-, interviewee. Oral history interview
1995. Badon, Robert, 1896-1998, interviewee. Oral history interview
n.d. Anonymous sugar house record book
n.d. Nottoway photograph
n.d. Wilton Plantation sugarhouse plan
 
   Footer
Comments / LSU Home / LSU Libraries
Hill Memorial Library / Louisiana State University
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
Public Services Desk: (225) 578-6544
Reference Desk: (225) 578-6568
Fax (225) 578-9425
Copyright © 1996 - 2007 LSU Libraries
Last updated: Wednesday, 26-Mar-2008 17:20:26 CDT

LSU Main Page