Special Collections
LSU Libraries
spacer
Home / Online Catalog Site A-Z Help    
   

 

Spanish-Language Manuscript Materials in the
Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections,
Special Collections, LSU Libraries


Contents:
Introduction
Alphabetical List
Chronological Index

INTRODUCTION

Since 1519, when the Spanish explorer Alonso Alverez de Pineda led an expedition along the northern shores of the Gulf of Mexico and discovered the mouth of the mighty Mississippi, Spanish culture has influenced Louisiana. The Spanish-language manuscript resources in the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections (LLMVC) at LSU touch upon all these sources of Spanish cultural influence. This guide to these resources includes descriptions of the papers of early colonists, Spanish-speaking people and free people of color in the nineteenth century, and residents of cities and towns like New Orleans and Natchitoches. The documents it describes came from farmers and merchants, writers and artists, women and men, the famous and the anonymous.

Collections in this guide are listed alphabetically, with a chronological index after the alphabetical listing. Brief descriptions include references to sources for additional information--either the LSU Libraries' catalog, which is accessible through the Internet, or the manuscript card catalog in the Special Collections reading room of Hill Memorial Library. Still additional information on some of these collections can be found in detailed finding aids in the reading room. Increasingly, electronic copies of these finding aids can be found on the World Wide Web site for Special Collections, where you can also find information about using the collections, searching the online catalog remotely, and asking us questions.

Find in Page


ALPHABETICAL LIST

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z |

Allemand, Theresa. Document, 1804. 1 item. Location: Misc. Daughter of Pedro Allemand and Maria Hernandez. Certificate of  baptism of Theresa Allemand. In Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 552.

Alston, Solomon. Estate document, 1809 April 27. 1 item. Location: C:61. Planter of West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. Document manumitting a slave according to a clause in Alston's will. In Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1209.

Arandoez, Jose. Document, 1800. 1 item. Location: Misc. Resident of Barataria, Jefferson Parish, Louisiana. Affidavit assigning Arandoez's land, buildings, and livestock to William Garland pending receipt of land title. In Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1171.

Arceneaux, William, Papers, 1964-2007 (bulk 1972-2007). 15 linear feet and 20 volumes. Louisiana higher education official. Papers consist of correspondence, business papers, photographs, printed items, and scrapbooks related to the professional, civic, and personal activities of William Arceneaux. A small amount of correspondence is in French and Spanish. For additional information, see online catalog Mss. 4107. Complete finding aid.

Badin, Norbert, d. 1903. Papers, 1829-1937 (bulk 1870-1890). 695 items, 3 ms. vols., 57 printed vols. Location: U:97-98, OS:B. Free African American planter from the Cane River settlement of Melrose, Natchitoches Parish, Louisiana, an area that was home to a large community of freedmen. Personal and business papers document Badin's activities as a planter, and include family correspondence, a journal, an account book, and miscellaneous printed items. Some items in French and Spanish. Available on microfilm 6061: University Publications of America Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B, Part 2, Reel 1. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 825. Complete Finding Aid. HTML | PDF

Baines, Henry. Papers, 1796-1905. .6 linear ft. Location: C:55, 65. Planter of Bains, West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana, and a member of London's Royal College of Surgeons.  Baines was related to the McDermott and Maynard families. Collection contains papers and letters of the Baines, McDermott, and Maynard families related to the cotton trade, medical education, the Civil War, and financial dealings. Includes a Spanish land grant of West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana.  Partly in Spanish. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1209. Complete finding aid (PDF).

Blanchard Family Papers, 1782, 1806, 1828. 3 items. Location: Misc. Residents of St. James Parish, Louisiana. Description and plat (one document), 1782; transfer, 1806; and lease of lands belonging to the Blanchard family. Partly in French and Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 30.

Bookter, Alexander. Succession Papers, 1805 May 10. 1 item (9 leaves). Location: Misc:B. Slaveholder of St. Helena Parish, Louisiana. Slaves and other property were seized and sold at public sale after Bookter's death by the sheriff of St. Helena Parish for the payment of Bookter's debts. Affidavits of Ann Liles, William Liles, and John Mink regarding ownership of slaves and other property in the estate of Alexander Bookter, signed by Spanish commandant of Louisiana, Carlos de Grand-Pre. Partly in Spanish. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4514.

Bourgeois, Pierre. Family Papers, 1771-1821. 3 items. Location: Misc. Papers include a land transfer (1771), a property sale (1775), and a petition regarding ownership of slaves (1821). Partly in French and in Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 37.

Boyd, Overton F. (Overton Fuqua), 1891-1951. Papers, 1915-1938 (bulk 1915-1925). .5 linear ft. (23 items, 1 ms. vol., 2 printed vols.). Location: U:118. Son of LSU President Thomas D. Boyd and a sugar chemist and professor. Papers relate to Boyd's position as a sugar chemist at the Imperial College of Tropical Agriculture in Trinidad, British West Indies.  Two broadsides pertain to the U.S.' military control of the Dominican Republic during Woodrow Wilson's administration. Included are a memorandum book containing formulae for sugar processing, notes, and a few cancelled postage stamps; and printed volumes. Partly in Spanish. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1589, 1799.

Breaux, John B. Papers, 1933, 1938, 1963, 1970-2004 (bulk: 1987-2004). Approx. 781 linear feet. Location: Room B6, Map Cage, Vault:54. Correspondence, briefing books, bills, reports, testimony transcripts, research files, news releases, printed materials, audio-visual and electronic files, photographs and memorabilia documenting the political and U.S. Congressional career of Louisiana Representative (1972-1986) and Senator (1987-2004) John B. Breaux, and the work of his office. In addition to Senate and House files, contains materials related to his campaigns, the Democratic Party, and the Washington Mardi Gras. Topics include, among others, flood control, abortion, transportation, energy, the environment, taxes, Social Security, Medicare, Medicaid, and healthcare, consumer protection, wetlands conservation, base closures in Louisiana, commerce, trade, and agriculture policy, especially for sugar and rice. For additional information, see the online catalog. Mss. 4922. Complete Finding Aid (PDF).

Buford, Nick, 1941-. Papers, 1947, 1965-1970. 127 items, 1 vol.. Location: T:76. Correspondence concerning Buford's research on a biography of Luis N. Morones, founder of the Mexican Labor Party.  Other items include miscellaneous items on Latin American politics, tourism, and economics. Partly in Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2457-70.

Buford, Nick, 1941-. Papers, 1939, 1967-1970. 143 items. Location: T:76, 90:. Correspondence concerning Buford's research on a biography of Luis N. Morones, founder of the Mexican Labor Party.  Other items include research papers; miscellaneous items on Latin American politics, tourism, and economics; and anti-Castro propaganda. U.S. Senator Russell Long of Louisiana is among the correspondents. Partly in Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2457.

Burke, E. A. (Edward A.). Papers, 1859-1929 (bulk 1872-1899). 83 items, 2 printed vols. Location: C:48. New Orleans politician and publisher. Burke escaped to Honduras after being indicted for embezzlement (1889) as Louisiana State Treasurer. Papers include correspondence describing Louisiana politics and affairs in Honduras and Mexico, including letters from prominent Latin American political figures. Partly in Spanish. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 0547, 0620, 0641, 0893, 1226.

Capseg, Ives. Document, 1796. 1 item. Location: Misc. Captain of the ship NAVARRO. Protest of the ship NAVARRO concerning the misconduct of some of the officers on the ship. In Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 721.

Carondelet, Luis Héctor, Baron de, 1748-1807. Papers, 1791-1819 (bulk 1792-1796). 11 items. Location: C:36. Spanish governor of Louisiana from 1792-1797. Letters address the debts of Nicolas Forstall and Guillermo Armand and securing a passport for Ygnacio Maria Spiller. Official issues include the boundary between Avoyelles and Rapides districts and completion of an inventory of military records. Included is a copy of sixteen rules of commerce by Carondelet and Andres Lopez Armesto governing the trade of the Spanish colonies (1793). In French and Spanish. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 59.

Carondelet, Luis Héctor baron de. Order, 1793 July 2. 1 item. Location: Misc: C. Carondelet was governor of Louisiana (1791-1797) and West Florida (1791-1795). Document from Carondelet to Nicolas Forstall, commandant at Opelousas, letting Forstall know that Josef[?] de la Pena has presented himself in Carondelet's tribunal with a petition and an account concerning payment and placement of a borrowed slave named Pedro. Others mentioned in the document are Nicolas Maria Vidal and Pedro Pedesclaux. In Spanish. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4893.

Casa Calvo, Marquis De (Sebastian de la Puerta Y O'Farril). Document, 1804 March 16. 1 item. Location: Misc. Spanish governor of Louisiana. Copy of ordinance issued by Casa Calvo and signed by Francisco Collell and John Joseph Cruzat, captains of the Regiment of Infantry of Louisiana. In Spanish. Filed in the manuscript card catalog under Casa Calvo, Marquis De. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1257.

Cortes, Fernando, 1487-1547. Ordinances, 1524 March 20. 4 items (photostatic copies), typewritten transcription and translation. Location: Misc. Spanish conqueror of Mexico. Ordinances prescribing the rule and conversion to Christianity of the Indians, crops to be planted, and residence requirements for Spaniards holding Indian slaves. Maps show Cortes' travels and a plan of Tenochtitlan. In Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2504.

Dalferes, Antonio. Papers, 1822-1838. 24 items. Location: C:72. Resident of Assumption Parish, Louisiana. Much of the collection consists of sales and transfers of land and slaves between Dalferes and other residents of Assumption Parish. There are also papers relating to the estates of S. Navarro and Francisco Machado. Partly in Spanish. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 552.

Daunoy, Nicholas F. Document, 1809. 1 item. Location: Misc. Record of proceedings (notarized copy) in the case of Nicholas F. Daunoy vs. Maria Elizabeth Detrehan, widow of Carlos Fabre Daunoy, regarding settlement of the estate. In Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 97.

Davidson, John M. Legal Papers, 1861-1867. 124 items. Location: UU:111. Lawyer in New Orleans who handled cases for client Charles Black, a commission merchant and steamboat owner of Matamoros, Mexico, as well as cases involving steamboats and the United States Commissioner of Claims in Louisiana. Legal papers include bills, receipts, petitions, court summons, acts of sale, and promissory notes of Charles Black, reflecting his financial interests in several steamers and ships. In English and Spanish. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1472.

De La Vega, Joaquin Fel. Receipt, 1841 March 19(?). 1 item. Location: Misc. Receipt for payment by Carlos Perker. In Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1208.

DeBlanc, Charles. Slave bills of sale and memorandum, 1835-1854. 3 items. Location: Misc:D. French-speaking slave owner of New Orleans. Papers include slave bills of sale of Charles DeBlanc to Auguste and Octave Reggio of Plaquemines Parish, Louisiana, and an undated memorandum to Luis DeBlanc. Slave bills of sale in French, memorandum in Spanish. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 100.

Douglass, Daniel. Document, 1802, 1813. 1 item. Location: Misc. Resident of Concordia Parish, Louisiana.Sale of land of Daniel Douglass by Elijah Smith, executor for the estate, to Jonathan Thompson of Natchez, Mississippi. Attached is the grant to Douglass, signed by Joseph Vidal, Commandant of the Post of Concordia, 1802. Grant in Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 397.

No "E" Records.

Farar, Benjamin. Papers, 1773-1826 (bulk 1820-1826). 56 items (on 1 microfilm reel). Location: Mss.Mf:F. Planter of Laurel Hill Plantation near Natchez, Mississippi. Papers include personal and business correspondence (1820-1826) related to family matters, plantation operations, and social life in New Orleans. Includes some land grants in Spanish. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1364.

Favrot, Pedro. Papers, 1799, 1804. 2 items. Location: Misc:F. Resident of the District of Baton Rouge, Louisiana. Land grant (copy) issued to Don Pedro Favrot, 1799; and attestation of the grant, 1804. In Spanish. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 668.

Febles, Jose R. Papers, 1818, 1849. 2 items. Location: Misc. Surveyor. Papers include a certification of a survey of Camarioca (1818) and an anonymous letter (typed copy) to the French consul at Pensacola, Florida, pertaining to improvements of the government's system of bonded warehouses (1849). In Spanish and French. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 609.

Fisher, Alice Risley. Family Papers, 1856-1939 (bulk: 1860-1930). 174 items; 7 volumes; 2 reels. Location: 9:29, OS:F; Mss.Mf:F. The family papers and photographs of Phoebe Farmer, Alice Risley, and Sam Risley include material on life in Civil War Louisiana(especially New Iberia and New Orleans), participation in Grand Army of the Republic and National Association of Army Nurses of the Civil War, poetry, education, and Civil War hospitals. Within the collection are a Civil War diary of Alice Risley of her life in New Orleans and 91 period photographs. For more information, see online catalog. Mss. 2269, 4901. Complete finding aid (PDF)

Floridablanca, Conde De Jose Menino y Redondo. Document, ca. 1789. 1 ms. vol. Location: M:20. Report made to King Charles III in 1788 and repeated to Charles IV in 1789 by the Count of Floridablanca at San Lorenzo at the time of his resignation from the office of Ministerio de Estado of Spain. In Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1173.

Forstall, Nicolas. Document, [1961]. 2 items. Location: U:113. Spanish colonial official in New Iberia. Forstall's reports from New Iberia to Spanish officials.  Document reflects the intense Spanish colonization under Governor Galvez and consists of an inventory of money and goods from Francisco Bouligny when he transferred his commission to Forstall.Spanish colonial official in New Iberia. Spanish transcription and English translation. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1711.

Fourchy, Alexandre Francois, 1787-1854. Family Papers, 1848-1908 ca., n.d. 185 items and 2 pamphlets. Location: U:117. Lawyer and writer of New Orleans. Family papers consist of correspondence and related items (1891-1895); family and religious cards; and 66 New Orleans trade cards.  Included is a copy of Fourchy's QUELQUES MOTS, a literary work dedicated to the memory of Napoleon I. Partly in French and in Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1692, 1694.

Galvez, Bernardo De. Letter, 1779. 1 letter [enlargement print]. Location: Misc. Galvez's letter to Joaquin de Ortega comments on the work done by Ortega and mentions Don Antonio Gil y Barbo who had assisted him; and expresses concern for (Juan) Garcia whose convoy, sent by Galvez to San Antonio, Texas, had been attacked by Indians. In Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1066.

Galveztown Papers, 1778-1924. 134 items. Location: C:7. Documents in the Archivo General de Indias, Papeles procedentes de Cuba, in Seville, pertaining to Galveztown, Spanish colonial settlement in Ascension Parish, Louisiana, and to the militia in the Spanish colony of Louisiana. Also included in the papers are copies of the historical data and letters of Theodore John Dimitry pertaining to the Sons of the American Revolution. In Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 890.

Gayarré, Charles, 1805-1895. Collection, 1720-1895 (bulk 1845-1857). 588 items, 6 vols., and 1 microfilm reel. Location: U:124-132, Vault, Mss.Mf:G. Louisiana historian, jurist, statesman, and plantation owner. Papers include plantation and business records, legal documents, historical and political writings, and personal correspondence of Gayarré. In Spanish, French, German, and English. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1282.

Gayoso de Lemos, Manuel, 1747-1799. Papers, 1792-1799. 41 items, 1 microfilm reel. Location: Vault, Mss.Mf:G. Spanish governor of the Natchez District (1792-1797).  Major Stephen Minor was a planter of Natchez, Mississippi. Letters of Manuel Gayoso de Lemos to Major Stephen Minor concerning general administrative issues and personal matters in the closing years of Spanish rule of the Natchez District. Includes a document by Gayoso titled 'Instructions for my commission to the Chocta Nation' (1792) and a proclamation calling for the reestablishment of peace at Natchez (1797). Partly in Spanish. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 0157, 0859, 1673, 3099.

Girault, Auguste, b. 1790 or 91. Papers, 1808-1845. 12 items. Location: Misc:G. Music professor in New Orleans. Girault (earlier known as Giraud) was a native of Nantes, France. Papers include passports, a discharge from military service, and correspondence, among it a letter from Dulisse Alleye recalling two years spent in prison with Girault. In French, one item in Spanish. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1145.

Goudeau, Edme. Family Papers, 1670-1811, 1956, n.d. 15 items on microfilm. Location: Mf. Residents of La Rochelle, France. Francois and Pierre Goudeau were medical doctors of colonial Louisiana. Documents and accompanying notes consisting of medical commissions (1670-1722) granted members of the Goudeau family; and governmental orders and permissions (1756-1811) of Francois Goudeau and Pierre Goudeau. In French and Spanish with translations. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1377.

Gras-Lauzin Family Papers, 1783-1917 (bulk 1783-1866). 1 linear ft. Location: U:152-153. Don Antonio Gras was an early settler, merchant, and shipper of Baton Rouge and Natchez, Mississippi. Others in the family included Lewis Valentin Foelekel and Dr. Jean Lauzin. Papers include financial records of Antonio Gras and Lewis Foelekel; a thesis of Dr. Jean Lauzin (Paris, 1832); and personal letters from friends of the Lauzin family who lived in France.Collection also includes Civil War letters from Francis F. Palms, a Confederate soldier, and others to Henrietta Lauzin. Some items in the collection are in French and Spanish. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 5.

Guatemala. Ley De Contribuciones, 1895. 1 ms. vol. Location: M:20. Fair copy of legal codes of Guatemala concerning taxation of legal papers and stamps. In Spanish. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 2583.

Hamilton-Barrow Family Papers, 1781-1965. .3 linear ft. Location UU:253. Financial papers, legal documents, and correspondence of Bennett I. (James) Barrow, a plantation owner in West Feliciana Parish, and his descendents. Documents concern land claims and disputes in West Feliciana Parish, while personal correspondence pertains to family history, and includes letters during both the Civil War and World War II. Also included are original land claims signed by Governors Miró and Carondelet. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4458. Complete finding aid.

Hardin, J. Fair, 1893-1940. Collection, 1718-1939. 2,225 items, 17 vols. Location: S-29-36, P-2, 78:66, OS:H, Map Case, 98:H, Vault:3. Shreveport attorney, vice president of the Louisiana Historical Society, and author of historical articles and a three-volume history of Northwest Louisiana. Collection contains correspondence, articles, copies of speeches, research materials and related papers pertaining to historical sites or events. Included are Civil War letters, Confederate money and notes, and research notes on the Red River campaign. Also included are two bound manuscript volumes: J. W. Sims letter book (1863-1864) and a minute book (1904-1911). Earlier materials relate to Indian agents and the Caddo Indians in northwest Louisiana and settlement and land claims in the area. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1014. Container List

Hero, Andrew J., Jr., b. 1839. Family Papers, 1829-1905 (bulk 1840-1890). 1.1 linear ft. (599 items, 2 ms. vols., 4 printed  vols.). Location: U:160, O:1, OS:H. Captain in the Washington Artillery of the Confederate army, and land owner and agent in Louisiana and Texas. Papers include correspondence, financial, professional, and political papers and photographs that document Hero's career and personal life. Includes some items in Spanish and in French. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 0976, 0977, 0994, 1030, 1039. Complete Finding Aid (PDF)

Hicky, Philip, 1778-1859. Family Papers, 1667-1846 (bulk 1814-1815). .4 linear ft. (53 items, 1 vol., 1 artifact) and 1 microfilm reel. Location: U:122, Vault., Mss.Mf:H. Planter of Hope Estate Plantation, East Baton Rouge Parish, Louisiana. Hicky built the first sugar mill in East Baton Rouge Parish in 1814. Collection is comprised of official papers pertaining to the West Florida controversy and the Battle of New Orleans; correspondence; personal papers of Philip Hicky; papers of Daniel Hicky, including family and business correspondence; memorandums; military orders; and a Spanish ordinance and instructions concerning wills. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 720, 2007, 2035.

Hillin, James. Document, 1791. 1 item. Location: Misc. Planter in the District of Baton Rouge, Louisiana. Will of James Hillin. In Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 179.

Hispanic American Collection, 1582-1940, n.d. 947 items, 33 ms. vols. Location: C:19-24. Manuscript and printed materials from Ecuador, Colombia, Guatemala, Mexico, and Puerto Rico concerning colonial government of Ecuador and Mexico, economics, law, social history, Church finances, and literature. Most in Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1350. Complete Finding Aid

Huguet, Adolphe H. (Adolphe Hiram), 1837-1928. Family Papers, 1850-1951. 20 items, 6 vols. and 1 microfilm reel. Location: UU:255, Mss.Mf:H, and OS:H. The related families of Adolphe H. Huguet and William S. Pike were influential in the economy and politics of Baton Rouge and New Orleans. Papers include scrapbooks, correspondence, death notices, photographs, legal papers, and other materials relating to the Huguet and Pike families in Louisiana, as well as to their relatives living in Spain and France. Some items in French and Spanish. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3805. Complete Finding Aid.

Innerarity, John. Papers, 1800-1854. 48 items. Location: B:50. Vice Consul of France at Pensacola, Florida, and a member of the firm John Forbes and Company, which engaged in trade with Native Americans along the Gulf Coast. Correspondence documents shipment of goods, accounts, and purchases of slaves for a plantation in Georgia.  Letters relating to Innerarity's French consular service (1835-1853) discuss land claims, political appointments, and the Mexican War. Some items in French and Spanish. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1271, 1273.

Jorda, Jayme. Document, 1794. 1 item. Location: Misc. Sale (copy) of slaves by Jorda to Patricio Walsh, New Orleans. In Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 193.

Kemberling, John. Papers, 1792-1820. 19 items. Location: C:30. Official documents filed in the case of John Kemberling and his sister Barbara against John Gaynor, their step-father, relative to ownership of land in West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. Partly in Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 132, 133.

Key Ayala, Santiago. Papers, 1926-1927. 1 item, 1 pamphlet. Location: Misc. 'Los Nombres de las Equinas de Caracas' by Santiago Key Ayala:  an imprint relating to the folklore of Venezuela and a presentation letter to his friend Professor W. T. Morrey. In Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2409.

Kleinpeter, George, b. 1800. Family Papers, 1804-1918. .3 linear ft. (85 items; 3 vols.). Location: B:40, OS:K. Farmer of East Baton Rouge Parish, Louisiana.  He and Augustine Daigre married about 1830 and had at least four children, William, George Augustin, Alice, and Josephine. Papers include Civil War letters from William and George Augustin to their mother; legal documents; and miscellaneous family papers. Some items in French and Spanish. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm: UPA Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reel 11. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 864, 1029. Complete Finding Aid (PDF)

Kneeland, G. C. Document, 1809. 1 item. Location: Misc. Resident of Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. Certification (copy) of payment for professional services rendered by Vicente Sebastien Pintado, general surveyor. In Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 133.

Landry, Francois. Document, 1782. 1 item. Location: Misc. Survey of property of Francois Landry in St. James Parish, Louisiana, and certification signed by Carlos Trudeau. In Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 211.

Lopez, Manuel. Papers, 1802-1835. 26 items. Location: U:211. Planter of East Baton Rouge Parish, Louisiana, superintendent of the Spanish royal warehouse in New Orleans, and Justice of the Peace of East Baton Rouge Parish. Papers of Manuel Lopez, a description of the boundaries of Distrito de la Feliciana (1802), and an inventory of the department of forts. Also included is the will of Juan Perez. In Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 721.

Louisiana State Lottery collection, 1840-1905 (bulk 1879-1890). .3 linear ft. Location: OS:L. Incorporated in 1868, the Louisiana State Lottery Company operated in New Orleans until ca. 1894 when it relocated to Honduras. It was broken up by the U.S. Department of Justice in 1906. Collection includes letters received, order and remittance forms, lottery tickets, lists of prizes awarded, broadsides, publications, and newspaper advertisements; Anti-lottery League of Louisiana memorabilia; and imprints from out-of-state lotteries. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 854.

Magruder, W.H. Nathaniel, Papers, 1921-1963. 0.3 linear feet. Correspondence and other records related to W.H. Nathaniel Magruder’s management of Central Hershey sugar refinery in Cuba. The records document Magruder's relationships within the larger management structure and his experience with organized labor interests. Mss. 3915. Complete Finding Aid

Mahon, Thomas. Document, n.d. 1 item. Location: Misc. Title of the land of the estate of Thomas Mahon, Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 668.

Marigny, Francoise Delisle Duparc. Document, 1798. 1 item. Location: Misc. Inventory (notarized copy) of property of Francisca Dupard Mandeville, widow of Don Antonio de Marigny Mandeville, New Orleans. In Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 128.

Martinez, John J. Letter, 1841. 1 item. Location: Misc. Letter by John J. Martinez to A. L. Granssues de Greno, of Natchitoches, Louisiana. In Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1464.

Martinez, John Sanchez. Almanac, 1818. 1 item. Location: Misc. Almanac or table for January through June 1818. In Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1702.

Meullion family. Papers, 1776-1906 (bulk 1776-1796). 121 items. Location: U:230. Free black family of St. Landry Parish, Louisiana. Louis Augustin Meullion and his son Jean Baptiste (whose mother was a slave) were slaveholders; the son owned a plantation on Bayou Teche. Collection includes slave bills of sale, land sales, and other financial records; manumission papers for Maria Juana and her son Baptise Meuillon; and an amnesty oath taken in 1865 by Miss Belazaire Meuillon. In French, English, and Spanish. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 243, 294.

Mexican Army company record, 1846 January-May, 1876-1880. 1 ms vol. [microfilm copy]. Location: Mf. Day-by-day record of absentees from the 3rd Permanent Infantry Regiment of the Mexican Army at Guadalupe, Mexico, for hospitalization, desertion, and jail terms; and a day-by-day record of visits with patients and fees for services of Dr. Curry. Partly in Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1879.

Miangolarra, Juan. Papers, 1836-1916. 61 items and 1 printed vol. Location: C:54. Native of Spain and a resident of Havana, Cuba, and New Orleans. Papers contain information concerning Miangolarra's activities as commander of the Spanish Cazadores of New Orleans and the Louisiana Defendera, battalions of the Louisiana militia volunteers in the Confederacy. In Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1184, 1216.

Millon, Mariana. Account, 1790. 1 item. Location: Misc. Account of Mariana Millon with Aysaente (?), July 8, 1790. In Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 297.

Military service records, 1797. 2 items [photocopies]. Location: Misc. Personnel records of Commandante Maximiliano St. Maxent (signed by Baron de Carondelet, sixth Spanish governor of Louisiana) and of Lieutenant Allain, both of Louisiana, listing personal and military statistics and the evaluation of superior officers. In Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2706.

Minor, Stephen, 1760?-1815. Family Papers, 1774-1914 (bulk 1774-1891). 24 items, 1 printed vol. Location: Vault. Planter of the Concord Plantation and governor of the Spanish district of Natchez, Mississippi. Collection includes correspondence related to plantation and family matters in Mississippi and Louisiana; a sugar producer's license; a printed item signed by President John Adams; and a will. Includes land titles for property in Natchez. In Spanish. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 859, 947.

Minor, William J., 1807-1869. Family papers 1779-1941 (bulk 1830-1870). 410 items, 37 vols. Location: U:229-230, H:2, Mf. Sugar planter of Southdown and Hollywood Plantations in Terrebonne Parish and Waterloo Plantation in Ascension Parish, Louisiana. Minor was president of the Agricultural Bank of Natchez, Mississippi. Collection includes plantation records; banking papers; and personal correspondence of the Stephen, William J., and Henry C. Minor families of Natchez and Terrebonne Parish. Some letters in Spanish and French. Available on microfilm: University Publications of America Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B, Part 3, Reels 1-4. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 519. Complete Finding Aid (PDF)

Miro, Estevan Rodriguez, 1744-1795. Document, 1789, 1790. 2 items. Location: Misc. Governor of Spanish colonial Louisiana. Passport issued in New Orleans giving permission to settle in Louisiana and describing conditions under which settlement is granted. Included is a receipt issued to Greenbourg Dorsey, recipient of the passport. Partly in Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2609.

Miro, Estevan Rodriguez, 1744-1795. Letters, 1782-1791. Mss. 298. 8 items. Location Misc., Vault:1. Governor of Spanish colonial Louisiana. Letters from Miro to Alexandre de Clouet, Commandant of Attakapas and Opelousas, and to St. Marc Darby and Juan de la Villebeuvre, government officials at Opelousas pertaining to administrative matters including road repairs. In French and Spanish with English translations. Filed in the manuscript card catalog under Miro, Estevan, 1744-1795. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 298.

Miscellaneous Collection (J) [1815], 1830-1895, n.d. 14 items. Location: Misc. Collection contains an unsigned letter [1815] requesting a copy of General D. B. Morgan's statement relative to military matters; a signed form letter (1830) concerning payment for cotton lost in a fire; and a request for a loan (1832). Partly in French and Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 238.

Modena, Joseph. Papers, 1796-1798. 4 items. Location: Misc. Resident of New Orleans. Papers pertaining to legal matters. In French and Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1463.

Montane, Pedro Joseph. Document, 1786. 1 item. Location: OS:M. Resident of Plaquemines Parish, Louisiana. Grant of land to Montane which includes a survey made in 1786 and recorded in the New Orleans Land Office in 1833. Partly in Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 489.

Moro, Joseph De Ortega, 1738-1776. Letter, [1772], 1776, ca. 1 ms. vol. Location: M:20. Letter criticizes the practices of the nuns in the convents of Mexico and the local clergy who do not favor the reforms by the Bishop. In Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 27.

New Orleans (La.). Municipal records, 1765-1896 (1790-1836). 5.6 linear ft. Location: T:55-62. Official records of the City of New Orleans relating to early government and administration. Records pertain to the business of the Cabildo, the City Council, municipal officials, and municipal organizations. Records consist of correspondence; ordinances; resolutions; deliberations; petitions; financial records; and legal documents. Some items in French and in Spanish. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 734, 737, 742, 792, 795, 805, 824, 852, 902, 908, 1189, 1190, 1198, 1436.

O'Bryan, Robert P., b. 1844. Papers, 1778-1958. 463 items. Location: W:33. Attorney of Vermilion and Calcasieu parishes, Louisiana. O'Bryan represented Vermilion Parish in the Louisiana House of Representatives (1879-1886) and was appointed attorney for the 14th Judicial District of Louisiana in 1890. Early papers relate to Spanish and territorial land grants. Early legal correspondence pertains to cases heard by Daniel O'Bryash. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 17.

Opelousas and Attakapas Districts collection, 1777-1805. 123 items. Location: C:8. Original and certified copies of papers filed with the governor general and commandants of the civil and military po of Attakapas and Opelousas during Spanish colonial rule of Louisiana. Papers consist primarily of inventories of property, wills and succession documents, petitions, mortgages, and marriage contracts. Some items restricted due to fragility. In French and Spanish. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 756, 1171.

Ovue, Joseph De. Document, 1788. 1 item. Location: Misc. Property transfer by Joseph de Ovue to Jayme Jorda, New Orleans. In Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 331.

Palfrey Family Papers, 1776-1918. (bulk 1806-1875). 388 items; 21 vols. Location: 77:89, H:22, OS:P, 99, Mss.Mf:P. Papers of John Palfrey (1768-1843), ship chandler and manager of Forlorn Hope Plantation, Bayou l'Albaye near St. Martinville, Louisiana, and his family, primarily sons John Gorham Palfrey, abolitionist, author, and minister of Boston, Mass. and William Taylor Palfrey, planter, judge, sheriff, and state senator of St. Mary parish. Collection includes documents related to plantation life and operation, papers related to the education of Palfrey's sons at Harvard University, War of 1812, land documents, and marriage certificates. George D. Palfrey, son of William T. Palfrey, was the proprietor of the Franklin Brick Yard. Business and plantation records of William and George Palfrey include account books for W. T. Palfrey and Company. Includes letters of Henry William Palfrey ([1855] and 1964 printed volume), New Orleans merchant, written from London and Paris during the summer of 1855 when he was American Commissioner to the Exposition Universelle at Paris, France. Some items in French and Spanish. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm: University Publications of America Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B, Part 6, Reel 12, or Records of Ante-Bellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series I, Part 1, Reels 1-4. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 333, 334, 1409, 1442, 1632, 2076, 2580, 2773, 2857. Complete finding aid.

Perez-Viscaino, Juan. Letterbook, 1901-1915. 1 ms. vol. (indexed). Location: M:19. Mexico city businessman. Business correspondence concerning tobacco manufacturing and sales, banking, and real estate in Mexico City and Vera Cruz. In Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1251.

Pintado Papers, 1771-1820, 1842. 16 vols. and 2 microfilm reels. Location: Vault 29-30 and Mss.Mf:P. Manuscript land surveys made chiefly by Vicente Pintado and Charles Trudeau, royal surveyors of Louisiana and East and West Florida during the Spanish colonial period, office of the Surveyor General of Louisiana. Transcripts also available. In Spanish. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1282.

No "Q" Records.

Reynaud, Juan. Papers, 1795-1799. 1 item (bound manuscript; 63 pages). Location: Misc. New Orleans merchant. Documents pertain to the legal proceedings of the case of Juan Reynaud vs. Juan Pedro Tauriac, surgeon of Opelousas, Louisiana, for payment of debt. In Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 367.

Riva, Francisco De La. Papers, 1793-1805. 77 items. Location: U:49. Letters to Riva pertaining to the business of farm management. Throughout the correspondence is evidence of a dispute with the Monks of St. Augustine and the Indians over the water supply and the subsequent court case. In Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 675.

Roberts, Evans. Papers, 1797, 1890. 2 items (photocopies). Location: Misc. Land survey document of property in Nueva Feliciana signed by royal surveyors of Spanish colonial Louisiana and by the governor. Also an indemnity patent signed by President of the U.S., Benjamin Harrison, transferring land to the state of Louisiana. In Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2654.

Ruiz, Jose Ovidio. Jose Ovidio and Jose Antonio Ruiz Papers, 1820-1920 (bulk 1910-1920). 16 items. Location: A:14. Jose Antonio Ruiz was the father of Jose Ovidio Ruiz. Early documents relate to chain-of-title of property comprising the hacienda 'El Rosario' in Mexico. Later papers include Jose Ovidio's declaration of intent to emigrate, a note on his naturalization, and an agreement of separation from his wife. In Spanish. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 542.

Salcedo, Manuel De. Document, 1803 May 18. 2 items [photostat]. Location: Impr. Proclamation issued by Governor Salcedo and the Marques de Casa Calvo at New Orleans to the people of the Province of Louisiana in behalf of the King of Spain. In Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 745.

Salcedo, Manuel De. Papers, 1801-1802. 2 items. Location: Misc. Orders to Carlos Luis de Blanc from Manuel de Salcedo to inform certain individuals of their obligation to pay promissory notes, New Orleans. In Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 383.

Sale of the office of regidor, manuscript, 1793. 1 item. Location: A:16. Sale of the office of Regidor in Puebla, Mexico, formerly held by Juan de Zarate y Vera, to Antonio de Ojeda y Estrada. Includes a transcription and translation made by Alicia de Jongh for her thesis. In Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 732.

Sandoval, Juan. Document, 1802. 1 item. Location: Misc. Interpreter for the Indians at the Fort of Apalachez. Certification of the salary of Sandoval signed by Francisco G. de Arroyo, commissioner of the Spanish Royal Treasury. In Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 384.

Segret, Jean Baptiste. Document, 1785. 1 item. Location: Misc. Legal document pertaining to a business contract between Jean Baptiste Segret and Jean Reynaud of New Orleans. In Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1652.

Slave Code for Spanish Colonies in Louisiana and Caribbean, 1744. 1 ms. vol., 1 mf. reel. Location: Vault: 23 and Mss. Mf. A rare booklet from 1774 that establishes guidelines that will protect both slave and master through transactions regarding the transferring or expropriating of slaves in the Spanish colonies of Louisiana and the Caribbean. Possibly a record of a discussion between Felipe Fondeviela, governor of Havana, Cuba, and his chief counselor regarding the above fore mentioned In Spanish. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4920.

Spain. Archivo General De Indias Papeles de Santo Domigo-Luisiana. 46 reels of miscrofilm. Location: Mf. Series covers numbers 2529-2580. [See related series: Archivo General De Indias: Papeles procedentes de Cuba, #3278]. See index to Cuban papers in Documentos relativos a la independencia de Norteamerica existentes en archivos espanoles (Madrid: Ministerio de Asuntos Exteriores, 1976-1985), Louisiana Collection Reference Z 1238 D62 10 vols. In Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3554.

Spanish colonial archives collection, n.d. 12 reels of microfilm [positive]. Location: Mf. Selected Spanish archival documents, mainly in the Papeles Procedentes de Cuba (A.G.I.), which deal primarily with the history of Spanish colonial Louisiana. Film was originally prepared for Dr. Jack D. L. Holmes, University of Alabama. In Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2970.

St. Bernard Parish memorial, 1805. 1 item [copy]. Location: Misc. Memorial from inhabitants of St. Bernard Parish, Louisiana, to Governor W. C. C. Claiborne. In Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1257.

Strormann and Ludeling Circular Letter, 1805 March 1. 1 item. Location: Misc:S. Written two years after the Louisiana Purchase, this circular was sent by a German retailer to announce to Spanish-speaking businesses that the cession of Louisiana to the United States has opened the way to free commerce with other countries directly. The firm of Strormann and Ludeling established a house in New Orleans (La.) to deal in linens and other articles. Written in Spanish with translation provided. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4943.

Survey Collection, 1786-1928. 2 linear feet, 1 mf reel. Location: E:106-108, Mf:S. Collection consists of land surveys, chiefly by Spanish surveyors, in central, south, and southeastern Louisiana, including East Baton Rouge Parish and Orleans Parish. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 552, 743, 933, 936, 955, 961 Container list

Thompson, H. Bolivar. Collection, 1885-1887, 1896-1899. 9 items, 2 vols. Location: UU:110. Resident of New Orleans and assistant state engineer of Louisiana. Personal papers of Thompson; and bound volumes and stapled records of the Spanish army in Cuba, for the period before and at the outbreak of the Spanish-American War, pertaining to the military defenses at Havana. Records of the Spanish army are in Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1367.

Toledo, Jose Alvarez De. Papers, 1816. 4 items. Location: Misc. Supporter of Mexican independence for five years. In 1816, he became discouraged and switched his loyalties to Spain. Documents pertain to Toledo's reconciliation with Spain and his projects for suppressing rebellion in the Spanish colonies. Partly in Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 777.

Unzaga, Luis De. Document, 1774. 1 item. Location: Misc. Spanish governor of Louisiana. Incomplete document signed by Unzaga. In Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 147.

Vallas (Antal and Family) Papers, 1831-1995 (bulk:1841-1968). 2.25 linear feet. Location: 109:33-34; J: 26-27; OS:V; Vault:1. A native Hungarian who served as a professor at the Louisiana State Seminary of Learning and Military Academy and an Episcopalian minister in New Orleans. Contains correspondence, printed items, personal papers and photographs related to the professional and family life of Vllas and his descendents. Consists of materials in English, Hungarian, German, French, Spanish and Latin. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4439. Complete Finding Aid.

Verret, Theodule. Papers, 1804-1894 (bulk 1850-1870). .5 linear ft. (634 items). Location: E:38. Sawmill and lumber business owner in Mandeville, St. Tammany Parish, Louisiana, and justice of the peace and parish treasurer. Verret also owned property in New Orleans. Papers concern the rent or lease of Verret's property in New Orleans, his sawmill and lumber business in Mandeville, and his position as parish treasurer. Included are letters from Louisiana Superintendent of Education Robert Lusher. Some letters in French; one item in Spanish. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 905.

Wall-Pettibone Family Papers, 1795-1889. 15 items. Location: Misc:W. John Wall, an early settler in the Spanish district of Natchez, received land granted by the Spanish in 1795. This land became Richland Plantation in Wilkinson County, Mississippi, later owned by Chauncey Pettibone. The papers document the land ownership of the Wall and Pettibone families. Included is the marriage license of Evans S. Wall and Mary L. Pettibone. Partly in Spanish. Filed under Wall Family. Papers in Archives USA. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3344.Complete finding aid.

Walsh, Antonio Patrick. Papers, 1789-1826 (bulk 1820-1823). 632 items, 2 vols. Location: A:71-72. Soldier in Europe and colonial Louisiana, and a planter in West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. Personal and business papers reflecting Walsh's military service and life as a planter. Partly in Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 887.

West, Elizabeth Howard, 1873-1948. Papers, [1783-1825], 1924-1942. 4 rolls. Location: Mf. Librarian Emeritus of Texas Technological College. Research materials prepared for a project to be published with a historical introduction and explanatory notes. The papers consist of correspondence together with official documents of the history of the period. Spanish transcriptions and English translations. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2403.

White, David. Papers, 1796, 1809. 2 items. Location: Misc., E:90. Resident of the District of Baton Rouge, Louisiana. Grant of land to David White (1796) signed by Baron de Carondelet; and a conveyance of land form David White to Parson Carter (1809). In Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 668.

No "X" Records.

No "Y" Records.

No "Z" Records.



CHRONOLOGICAL INDEX

1524 March 20. Cortes, Fernando, 1487-1547. Ordinances
1582-1940, n.d. Hispanic American Collection
1670-1811, 1956, n.d. Goudeau, Edme. Family papers
1765-1896 (bulk 1790-1836). New Orleans (La.). Municipal records
1771-1821. Bourgeois, Pierre. Family papers
[1772], 1776 ca. Moro, Joseph De Ortega, 1738-1776. Letter
1773-1826 (bulk 1820-1826). Farar, Benjamin. Papers
1774. Unzaga, Luis De. Document
1774-1914 (bulk 1774-1891). Minor, Stephen, 1760?-1815. Family papers
1776-1906 (bulk 1776-1796). Meullion family. Papers
1776-1918 (bulk 1806-1875). Palfrey Family Papers
1777-1805. Opelousas and Attakapas Districts collection
1778-1924. Galveztown Papers
1778-1958. O'Bryan, Robert P., b. 1844. Papers
1779. Galvez, Bernardo De. Letter
1779-1941 (bulk 1830-1870). Minor, William J., 1807-1869. Family papers
1781-1965. Hamilton-Barrow Family Papers
1782. Landry, Francois. Document
1782-1791. Miro, Estevan Rodriguez, 1744-1795. Letters
1782, 1806, 1828. Blanchard family papers
1783-1917 (bulk 1783-1866). Gras-Lauzin family papers
[1783-1825], 1924-1942. West, Elizabeth Howard, 1873-1948. Papers
1785. Segret, Jean Baptiste. Document
1786. Montane, Pedro Joseph. Document
1788. Ovue, Joseph De. Document
ca. 1789. Floridablanca, Conde De Jose Menino y Redondo. Document
1789-1826 (bulk 1820-1823). Walsh, Antonio Patrick. Papers
1789, 1790. Miro, Estevan Rodriguez, 1744-1795. Document
1790. Millon, Mariana. Account
1791. Hillin, James. Document
1791-1819 (bulk 1792-1796). Carondelet, Luis Hector, Baron de, 1748-1807. Papers
1792-1799. Gayoso de Lemos, Manuel, 1747-1799. Papers
1792-1820. Kemberling, John. Papers
1793. Sale of the office of regidor, manuscript
1793-1805. Riva, Francisco De La. Papers
1794. Jorda, Jayme. Document
1795-1799. Reynaud, Juan. Papers
1795-1889. Wall-Pettibone family papers
1796. Capseg, Ives. Document
1796-1798. Modena, Joseph. Papers
1796-1805. Baines, Henry. Papers
1796, 1809. White, David. Papers
1797. Military service records
1797, 1890. Roberts, Evans. Papers
1798. Marigny, Francoise Delisle Duparc. Document
1799, 1804. Favrot, Pedro. Papers
1800. Arandoez, Jose. Document
1800. Ocampo, Sebastien De. Manuscript
1800-1854. Innerarity, John. Papers
1801-1802. Salcedo, Manuel De. Papers
1802. Sandoval, Juan. Document
1802, 1813. Douglass, Daniel. Document
1802-1835. Lopez, Manuel. Papers
1803 May 18. Salcedo, Manuel De. Document
1804. Allemand, Theresa. Document
1804 March 16. Casa Calvo, Marquis De (Sebastian de la Puerta Y O'Farril). Document
1804-1918. Kleinpeter, George, b. 1800. Family papers
1804-1894 (bulk 1850-1870). Verret, Theodule. Papers
1805. St. Bernard Parish memorial
1805 May 10. Bookter, Alexander. Succession papers
1808-1845. Girault, Auguste, b. 1790 or 91. Papers
1809. Daunoy, Nicholas F. Document
1809. Kneeland, G. C. Document
1809 April 27. Alston, Solomon. Estate document
[1815], 1830-1895, n.d. Miscellaneous Collection (J)
1816. Toldeo, Jose Alvarez De. Papers
1818. Martinez, John Sanchez. Almanac
1818, 1849. Febles, Jose R. Papers
1820-1920 (bulk 1910-1920). Ruiz, Jose Ovidio. Jose Ovidio and Jose Antonio Ruiz papers
1822-1838. Dalferes, Antonio. Papers
1829-1905 (bulk 1840-1890). Hero, Andrew J., Jr., b. 1839. Family papers
1829-1937 (bulk 1870-1890). Badin, Norbert, d. 1903. Papers
1831-1995 (bulk:1841-1968) Vallas (Antal and Family) Papers
1835-1854. DeBlanc, Charles. Slave bills of sale and memorandum
1836-1916. Miangolarra, Juan. Papers
1840-1905 (bulk 1879-1890). Louisiana State Lottery collection
1841. Martinez, John J. Letter
1841 March 19. De La Vega, Joaquin Fel. Receipt
1846 January-May, 1876-1880. Mexican Army company record
1848-1908 ca., n.d. Fourchy, Alexandre Francois, 1787-1854. Family papers
1850-1951. Huguet, Adolphe H. (Adolphe Hiram), 1837-1928. Family papers
1859-1929 (bulk 1872-1899). Burke, E. A. (Edward A.). Papers
1861-1867. Davidson, John M. Legal papers
1885-1887, 1896-1899. Thompson, H. Bolivar. Collection
1895. Guatemala. Ley De Contribuciones
1901-1915. Perez-Viscaino, Juan. Letterbook
1915-1938 (bulk 1915-1925). Boyd, Overton F. (Overton Fuqua), 1891-1951. Papers
1921-1963. Magruder, W.H. Nathaniel, Papers
1926-1927. Key Ayala, Santiago. Papers
1933, 1938, 1963, 1970-2004 (bulk: 1987-2004). Breaux, John B. Papers
1939, 1967-1970. Buford, Nick, 1941-. Papers
1947, 1965-1970. Buford, Nick, 1941-. Papers
[1961]. Forstall, Nicolas. Document
n.d. Mahon, Thomas. Document
n.d. Spanish colonial archives collection

 Footer
Comments / LSU Home / LSU Libraries
Hill Memorial Library / Louisiana State University
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
Public Services Desk: (225) 578-6544
Reference Desk: (225) 578-6568
Fax (225) 578-9425
Copyright © 1996 - 2009 LSU Libraries
Last updated: Tuesday, 31-Mar-2009 11:04:28 CDT

LSU Main Page