Special Collections
LSU Libraries
spacer
Home / Online Catalog Site A-Z Help    
   

 

Manuscript Resources on
the Topic of Religion in the
Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections,
Special Collections, LSU Libraries


Contents:
Introduction
Alphabetical List
Chronological Index

INTRODUCTION
Collections in this guide are listed alphabetically. Brief descriptions include references to sources for additional information--either the LSU Libraries' catalog, which is accessible through the Internet, or the manuscript card catalog in the Special Collections reading room of Hill Memorial Library. Still additional information on some of these collections can be found in detailed finding aids in the reading room. Increasingly, electronic copies of these finding aids can be found on the World Wide Web site for Special Collections, where you can also find information about using the collections, searching the online catalog remotely, and asking us questions

Find in Page

ALPHABETICAL LIST

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z |

Adams, William, preacher. Circular letter. 1831 November 4. 1 item (2 leaves). Location: Misc: A. Methodist Episcopal preacher of Lexington, Kentucky. Letter by Adams to members of the Kentucky Annual Conference discusses indebtedness incurred by the Conference as publisher of the 'Gospel herald.' On the circular is a note from Adams to Mann Satterwhite of Laurel Hill, West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. The note to Satterwhite lists the names of subscribers from Laurel Hill who are in arrears for volumes 1 and 2 of the 'Gospel herald.'. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1120.

Allemand, Theresa. Document. 1804. 1 item. location: Misc. Daughter of Pedro Allemand and Maria Hernandez. Certificate of baptism of Theresa Allemand. In Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 0552.

Anderson, Harrod C. (Harrod Clopton). Papers. 1849-1888 (bulk 1885-1887). 7 items, 3 ms. vols. Location: Mf:A, F:1, Misc: A. Planter of Magnolia, Haywood County, Tennessee. Papers include a cashbook, photoprints, and diaries which discuss opinions on philosophical, religious, political, and Civil War issues. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 2, Reel 20. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 0008, 0490, 0539.

Anonymous Biblical notebook. n.d. 1 ms. vol. Location: M:18. Notebook containing a commentary on the first chapter of the Book of Proverbs. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2264.

Anonymous biographical sketch. n.d. 1 item. Location: Misc. Fragment of an anonymous biographical sketch of Adrien Emmanuel Rouquette (1813-1887), a native of New Orleans, poet-priest of Louisiana, and apostle of the Choctaw Indians of St. Tammany Parish, Louisiana, known as 'Chahta-Ima.'. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1444.

Anonymous essay. 1836 November 23. 1 item. Location: Misc. Essay, 'Can the immortality of the Soul be proved independently of Revelation ?' apparently written in response to a dispute. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3254.

Anonymous letter. 1871. 1 item. Location: Misc. Letter by unidentified Protestant minister of New Orleans to his wife, describing yellow fever conditions and church duties, written on the letterhead of Randolph, Singleton, and Brown, Attorneys at Law. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 0070.

Anonymous notebook. 1850 ca. 1 ms. vol. Location: C:45. Notebook containing grammar notes and catechism questions. In French. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 0893.

Anonymous papers. n.d. 3 items. Location: Misc. Lecture notes titled 'Development of Methodism and its extension to the U.S.' covering the period 1729-1784. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 0002.

Anonymous Planter Ledger, 1848-1849. 1 vol. Location: Misc.:Anon. Plantation ledger, possibly kept by Abraham Lobdell, a West Baton Rouge Parish, La. planter. Ledger records payments for services, goods, and taxes on land. Included are entries recording slave births and deaths, medical bills, gifts to the Protestant Episcopal Church, and goods sold to slaves on credit. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2905.

Anonymous scrapbook. 1903-1913. 1 item. Location: H:1. Newspaper clippings and some printed programs relating to Lutheran Churches in the eastern United States and to the life and career of Pastor Charles K. Hunton of Lima, Ohio. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3418.

Anonymous theology notebooks. 1841-1842. 3 vols. Location: F:2. Unidentified notebooks of theology lectures. The volumes are labeled Didactic Theology, Dr. Hodge, and Pastoral Theology, Dr. Alexander. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 0077.

Anti-Episcopal cartoon. n.d. 1 printed item. Location: Impr. Carte-sized cartoon satirizes the Protestant Episcopal Church for its acceptance of Southern attitudes toward slavery. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2897.

Arceneaux, J. Felix, 1886-1972. Papers. 1886-1934 (bulk 1910-1934). .2 linear ft. Location: 91:64. Baptist minister and author of newspaper articles. Printed items and notes relating to Catholic and Baptist religion and history. Two Ku Klux Klan printed items: The Imperial Night-Hawk, issue Sept. 12, 1923, and The Public School Problem in America, by Hiram W. Evans. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4334.

Armstrong, Ezekiel. Diary. 1862 May 28-December 10. 1 vol. on microfilm. Location: Mf.: A. Confederate sergeant in the 17th Mississippi Regiment during the Civil War. Diary comments on Seven Days Battle at Richmond, Virginia; sermons preached by chaplains; army marches; a visit to the scene of the Second Battle of Bull Run; the Maryland Campaign; and the attitude of civilians toward the Confederate army. He also mentions participation in the battles of Maryland Heights and Sharpsburg; and the evacuation of women and children from Fredericksburg. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 0943.

Asbury Independent Methodist Church. Photographs. 1977. 5 items. Location: Hill stacks E. Church located in White Castle, Louisiana, with a predominantly African American congregation. Photographs depicting the church interior show the church's pastor and assistant pastors; the women's auxiliary organization; the church board of stewardesses; and a baptismal group. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3177.

Asbury, Francis, ?-1816. Broadside. 1833 December 25. 1 item. Location: Impr. First bishop of the Methodist Episcopal Church in North America. Broadside printed at the Creole Office, New Orleans, of an elegiac poem written by Jesse Jennett upon the death of Reverend Asbury in 1816. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 0965.

Ayers, Elias L., b.1796. Diary. 1854-1855. 1 vol. Location: G:1. Farmer in western New York State near Trumanburg. Ayers raised barley, oats, wheat, vegetables, fruits, berries, honey, and sheep. Daily entries discuss weather, farm work, crops sold, supplies bought, relatives, political events and opinions, education of 'Oliver,' books and magazines, and religion. Topics include an election for improving a canal and imposing temperance laws. Included is a military land warrant for property in Ohio and a manuscript map of the Territory of New Mexico, showing Ft. Union, Santa Fe, and Taos. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3365.

Babin, James Lee, interviewee, Oral history interview. 1992. 2 sound cassettes (3 hours), Transcript (93 pages). Location: L:4700.0138. Associate Professor of English at LSU. Interview deals with James Lee Babin's family history and involvement with Christ the King Chapel on the LSU campus. Also mentioned are the Claretians (a religious order) and Babin's work with students at LSU. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0138.

Barrow, Abram Feltus, 1868-1928. Family papers. 1804-1982. 6 linear ft. Location: 7:60-62, OS:B, Vault: 70. The Barrow family moved to Nuevo Feliciana (now in Louisiana) in 1799 and built several plantation houses there. Papers document the business interests of the Barrow family and their involvement with various fraternal orders. Records of the People's Bank, St. Francisville, and the Creole Oil and Mineral Co. reflect the involvement of the Barrow and Leake families. Photographs depict family members and fraternal gatherings. Also included are records of St. John's Church, West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3696, 3745.

Baton Rouge Foreign Mission Association. Scrapbook. 1877. 1 ms. vol. Location: H:21. Scrapbook prepared by Cecil H. Hackney, President of the Foreign Mission Association of the First Baptist Church, Baton Rouge. Contains newspaper clippings about Baptist missionary activities in China and elsewhere, and western impressions of Chinese culture. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2087.

Baton Rouge Sacred Music Society. 1st concert of the Baton Rouge Sacred Music Society, at the Presbyterian Church : Programme, 1845. 1 broadside. Location: E:Impr. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 0893.

Baxter, Robert Graham. Papers. 1863-1932. .25 linear ft. (146 items, 1 vol.). Location: T:15. Robert Baxter was the son of Reverend H. B. Baxter, a minister of the Christian Church, formerly of Lisbon, Ohio. Reverend Baxter established a Disciples of Christ church in Baton Rouge. Personal letters from friends, Baxter's wife Mary, and members of the Baxter family in Harrodsburg, Kentucky, and Springfield, Missouri. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1819.

Benson family papers. 1775-1967, n.d. 447 items, 4 ms. vols., 4 printed vols., microfilm., 25 enlargement prints. Location: Mf.:B, OS:B. Cotton planters of DeSoto Parish, Louisiana. Letters, documents, and plantation diaries reflect plantation economy, the administration of secondary schools, the history and administration of the Baptist Church, and civilian and military participation in the Civil War. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2424.

Bernard, A. M. Family papers. 1875-1967. 572 items, 68 vols. Location: 5:57-Map case. Businessman and carriage maker in New Iberia, Iberia Parish, Louisiana. Bernard operated the A.M. Bernard Wagon Works in New Iberia (ca. 1886-1958). Papers include business, legal, and financial papers related to the A.M. Bernard Wagon Works and other family concerns, including a syrup plant, oil and gas leases, sulphur mines, land holdings, and livestock operations. Included are a broadside soliciting funds for Methodist Episcopal missionary activities in Africa, and a map (1885) of Louisiana by the Bureau of Immigration. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 2830.

Bethel Baptist Church (Natchitoches, Louisiana). Records. 1921-1928. 3 items, 2 vols. Location: B:18. Church with an African American congregation located in Natchitoches, Louisiana. Lists of names of members and amounts of dues paid by members, minutes of church meetings, and an account of the salary paid to the minister. A minute book contains minutes of regular meetings. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 0981.

Bishop Polk Benevolent Society. Record book. 1862, 1865-1868. 3 items, 1 ms. vol. Location: Misc., M:20. Treasurer's book for benevolent societies at Trinity Church, New Orleans. Entries record the receipts and expenditures of the Benevolent Society. Entries for 1862 give the officers of the 'Ladies Society for the Promotion of Christian Objects.'. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 0772.

Black, Charles. Letter. 1846. 1 item. Location: Misc. Resident of New Orleans. Letter from Black to his cousin, Harriet Houghton, apparently teaching at Danville, Kentucky, mentioning the celebration of Thanksgiving Day and that it was ridiculed by the Catholics. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1265.

Bowman, James P. Family Papers, 1806-1926. 2615 items; 100 ms. vols., 6 printed vols. Location: B:19-24; J:18-19:OS:B. Planter of Rosedown Plantation, St. Francisville, Louisiana. Records and papers documenting the administration of Rosedown. Includes papers of William R. Bowman, Episcopal clergyman; and of James P. Bowman, Robert H. Barrow, Eliza Bowman Lyons, Catharine Rucker Turnbull, and Daniel Turnbull. Available on microfilm: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 4, Reels 8-19. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1372, 1382.

Boyd, Leroy Stafford, 1873-. Papers, 1806-1936 (bulk 1876-1936). 16 linear ft., 46 v. Location: D:55-62; 79:71-74; OS:B; R:12-15; Z:23-25; Vault. Librarian for U. S. Interstate Commerce Commission and son of David French Boyd. Correspondence, genealogical materials, photographs, printed items and scrapbooks. They reflect the political environment, Boyd’s political activities, his interest in LSU, General William T. Sherman, and his father LSU President David F. Boyd, and his involvement with Kappa Alpha Fraternity. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 99. Complete finding aid (PDF).

Brouard, G. Arsene (Gerfroy Arsene) 1867-1938. Papers. 1895-1940. 1 linear ft. Location: S:107, S:108, OS:B. French monk and botanist. Correspondence, research notes, printed material, personal papers, photographs, plant samples, and diagrams by Brother Arsene Brouard. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3568.

Brown, John Potts, 1835-1910. Notebook. 1897. 1 vol. (on 1 microfilm reel). Location: Mf.: B. Baptist layman and resident of Kosciusko, Mississippi. Memoranda concerning Baptist organizations in Mississippi and Kentucky and the Southern Baptist Convention; notes on a meeting of the Kosciusko Association with Harmony Church; and notes on the historical origin of Baptism and the missionary movement. Included are notes on the goals of Baptist churches and drafts of sermons on the Bible and Christian living. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3429.

Buck-Ellis Family Papers, 1812, 1826-2000. 14 linear ft and 27 volumes. Location: 16:1-14, OS:B, J:27, Vault 1. Ellis family of Tangipahoa Parish, La.; a family of educators, lawyers, and public officials. Ellis family papers (1812, 1826-1987) are comprised almost entirely of personal correspondence relating to daily activities, politics, health, religion, employment, military service, education and travel of five generations. Other material includes financial papers, legal documents, speeches and lectures related to the study of law, printed items, account books, diaries, inventories, family scrapbook and minute books of United Daughters of the Confederacy, Blue Cross Chapter. The Carroll and Martina Ellis Buck papers (1922-2000) consist primarily of personal correspondence from family and friends, but include some professional correspondence, primarily from his legal and public career. Mss. 4820. For additional information see online catalog. Complete finding aid.

Buck, William C. Family correspondence. 1855-1894. 11 items. Location: Misc: B. Baptist minister of Columbus, Mississippi, and editor of the BAPTIST BANNER and WESTERN PIONEER in Louisville, Kentucky. Buck moved to Texas in 1866 and lived there until his death in 1872. Letters from Buck's son Gideon to his wife describe Staten Island and New York City; Northern attitudes toward his sister, who was living in the North; and Northern publishers' prejudices against his father's and other Southern literary works. Included is a letter from William to his son. Remaining correspondence by Sallie G. Willson and others discuss Waco Classical School, Salado College, development of Salado, Texas, and family matters. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1699.

Burruss, John C. Family papers. 1825-1882. 407 items. Location: C:56, Mf: B. Methodist minister of Virginia and planter of Woodville and Cliffwood Plantation, Pinckneyville, Wilkinson County, Mississippi. Correspondence and personal and business papers of Burruss, his children, and grandchildren. Included are papers of the family of Edward McGehee of Wilkinson County, Mississippi. Papers relate to the Methodist church, family life, the Civil War, and slavery. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1209.

Butler, Margaret, 1821-1890. Correspondence. 1847-1880. .5 linear ft. Location: S:24. Daughter of Louisiana judge Thomas Butler and Ann Ellis Butler. She lived at the Cottage in West Feliciana Parish near St. Francisville. The Butlers were sugar and cotton planters. Letters from family and friends reflect the life of the Butler family in the antebellum, Civil War, and Reconstruction periods. Antebellum letters depict plantation life and religious life in the Episcopal church. Several family members served in the Confederate army and corresponded with Margaret, describing the life of army personnel. Later letters illustrate social and economic conditions after the war. Available on microfilm: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 5, Reel 2. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1068.

Carman, Juliette. Letter. 1880 ca. 1 item. Location: Misc. Mrs. W. C. Carman of Stonewall, DeSoto Parish, Louisiana. Letter from Carman to a friend living in Kansas relating information concerning the proposed consecration of the recently completed Protestant Episcopal Church near Stonewall and camp meetings organized by John Nelson, minister of the Methodist Church. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1088.

Carpenter, George H., 1849-1892. Family papers. 1806, 1835-1964 (bulk 1844-1899). 2.6 linear ft., 21 mss. vols., 84 printed vols. Location: A:28-31, OS:C. Dentist who resided with his family in Slaughter and Clinton, East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. Family papers also contain items of Carpenter's father-in-law, John Y. East, and his family. Among these papers are family letters, including the John A. Collins family; legal and business papers of John East; poetry; sermons; and biographical writings. Printed material consists of newspapers clippings; maps; Colt historical prints; political handbills; Huey P. Long political broadsides (1930); and various books. Volumes include items of Mary East. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 2317.

Cazayoux Family Papers, 1929-1999 (bulk 1939-1979). 1.3 linear ft., 7 v. Location: UU:289-291, J:24, OS:C. Catholic family of Baton Rouge, La, including siblings Reverend Clair Cazayoux, a Jesuit priest, teacher at Jesuit High School in New Orleans, and missionary to India and Ceylon; Gene Cazayoux, a brother of the Sacred Heart and teacher at various Catholic schools; librarian Vivian Cazayoux; and Drs. Francis and Robert Cazayoux. Papers consist of correspondence, sermons prepared by Reverend Clair Cazayoux, church publications, travel pamphlets and brochures, speeches given by Vivian Cazayoux on her travels, and scrapbooks reflecting practices of the Catholic Church, the family members' careers, education, and religious beliefs, as well as the close familial bonds of the Cazayoux family. Collection also offers insight into the political events and social conditions in Ceylon and India, where Clair Cazayoux was a missionary, and the military situation in Korea during the 1950s and early 1960s, in which Francis and Robert Cazayoux participated. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4827. Complete finding aid

Chaffraix, D. A., Mrs. Papers. 1892-1904 (bulk 1899). 18 items, 5 ms. vols. Location: O:4, Misc:C. Social and civic leader in New Orleans. Chaffraix was associated with the Chinchuba Deaf-Mute Institute near Mandeville, Saint Tammany Parish, Louisiana. Papers include record books related to benefit performances at the institute. Included are broadsides of the Protestant Episcopal Children's Home and the Chinchuba Deaf-Mute Institute (1899). For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1249, 1258.

Chambon, Celestin M., 1879-. Papers. 1892-1963. 73 items, 6 printed vols. Location: U:6, OS:C. Catholic curate and pastor of New Orleans. Chambon's research materials on Catholic architecture and history in New Orleans. Many items relate to St. Louis Cathedral. Included are typewritten copies of documents, newspaper clippings, and works published by Chambon. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 2047.

Chase, George W. Correspondence. 1846-1850. 4 items. Location: Misc: C. Resident of Baton Rouge (1846) and later of Danville, Maine. Letter to Chase by Andrew White describes his journey from New Orleans to General Zachary Taylor's headquarters at Matamoros, Mexico (1846). Baton Rouge letters from other Chase associates deal with local people and events. Topics in these letters include the new Jesuit College and visits to Baton Rouge by presidents Zachary Taylor and James K. Polk. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1310, 1398.

Chol, Emmanuel, 1834-1916. Papers. 1845, 1854-1921, n.d. 1,213 items, 6 ms. vols., and 31 printed vols. U:163-164, 65:29, 98:. Native of France, music teacher and composer of Thibodaux, Lafourche Parish, Louisiana. Bills and receipts, manuscript and sheet music, pamphlets, and other imprints reflect Chol's professional career, his affiliation with the Catholic Church, and the education of his children in parochial schools. Partly in French. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1790, 1906.

Christ Episcopal Church. Minute book. 1853-1855. 1 ms. vol. Location: F:16. Located in Napoleonville, Louisiana. Minute book of the vestry of Christ Episcopal Church. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1619.

Church of the Nativity (Rosedale, Louisiana). Parish register. 1859-1981. .2 linear ft. [photocopy]. Location: C:87. Register of an Episcopal church including lists of rectors, families, baptisms, confirmations, communicants, marriages, burials, and offerings. Includes act of incorporation and constitution of the church, printed items, and newspaper clippings. Register volume is entitled, 'A New Parish Register with an Index and Summary of Parochial Statistics.' Printed in 1859, Buffalo, New York. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4637.

Clarke, C. P. Letters. 1846, 1849. 2 items. Location: Misc. Protestant clergyman from Massachusetts. Letters from Clarke telling of his small congregation of French speaking people in New Orleans and later in Lafayette. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1493.

Clarkson, Thomas, 1760-1846. Letter. 1842 July 16. 1 item. Location: Misc. English abolitionist. Clarkson mentions that his book addressed to the clergy of the United States was published only for America and is recognized as one of his best works. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2425.

Cline, William Rodney. Papers. 1832-1970, n.d. 629 items. Location: 6:38-39, OS:C. Professor in the College of Education at LSU. Papers relate chiefly to research conducted by Dr. Cline into Louisiana education including a bound volume of research materials, some related to Seaman A. Knapp, and photographs. Also included are journals of the Methodist Episcopal Church Gulf Mission Conference (1893-1918). For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2683.

Conrads, Henry and Catherine. Papers. 1710-1717. 2 items [photostats]. Location: Misc. Members of the Quaker congregations at Germantown. Certificate of marriage and letter of recommendation for Henry Conrads and Catherine Streepers signed by members of the monthly meeting. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 0576.

Cornish, Reverend John Hamilton, 1815-1878. Papers. 1855-1888. 157 items. Location: W:51. Protestant Episcopal Rector of St. Thaddeus' Church, Aiken, South Carolina. Collection includes correspondence of Cornish, his sons, his daughters, and other family members. Correspondence concerns church affairs, education of the sons at Sewanee Theological Seminary and other institutions, travel, and personal relationships. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3365.

Cortes, Fernando, 1487-1547. Ordinances. 1524 March 20. 4 items (photostatic copies), typewritten transcription and translation. Location: Misc. Spanish conqueror of Mexico. Ordinances prescribing the rule and conversion to Christianity of the Indians, crops to be planted, and residence requirements for Spaniards holding Indian slaves. Maps show Cortes' travels and a plan of Tenochtitlan. In Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2504.

Cottingham, Claybrook C., 1881-1949. Papers. 1860-1963 (bulk 1907-1956). 198 items, 18 vols. (12 printed vols., 6 ms. vols.). Location: 6:40-41, OS:C. President of Louisiana College and Louisiana Polytechnic Institute, and director of Rotary International. Collection contains manuscripts of speeches related to education and religion, correspondence related to Rotary International, a notebook, scrapbooks, clippings, and memorabilia. Also included are issues of THE PINE KNOT (1913-1937). For further information see online catalog. Mss. 2686.

Dana, Charles B. Family papers. 1799-1949 (bulk 1823-1880). 700 items, 59 vols. Dawson, Mrs. Frank D. Collection. 1925, 1928, n.d. 4 items. Location: Misc. Papers consist of a program for the laying of the corner stone of the First Methodist Church of Baton Rouge (1925) and Christmas cards from Governors Long and Allen and their families. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1324.

De Forest, George. Collection. 1604-1845. ca. 3000 items, 153 vols. Location: 77:35-49, 31:13-18, 98:. New Orleans bookseller. Collection of American (including Louisiana), British, French, Latin American, and other documents, covering a wide range of occupations, including writers, lawyers, soldiers, clergy, and scientists. Includes a group of British travel diaries. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1350.

Dearborn, J. A. Letter. 1851. 1 item. Location: Misc. Methodist minister. Letter from Dearborn upon his arrival in Baton Rouge from Kentucky, giving a humorous account of travel on the Ohio River and telling of church work in Baton Rouge. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1525.

Douglas, Emily Caroline, b. 1840. Papers. 1855-1913 (bulk 1855-1868). 9 items, 2 ms. vols., 1 printed vol. Location: U:49, Mss.Mf:D. Connecticut native and resident of Louisiana and Mississippi. Autobiography, diary, and writings describe life in New England; with her brother, the Rev. William Kirtland Douglas, near Natchez, Mississippi, during the Civil War; at New Iberia, Louisiana; in various Mississippi towns; and in New Orleans. Available on microfilm: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reels 8-9. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 0566.

Dunbar, Elijah. Letters. 1851. 3 items. Misc. Resident of Canton, Massachusetts, and a boarder living in New Orleans, employed by a music dealer. Letters by Dunbar to his sister, Miss Chloe Dunbar, of Canton, Massachusetts, describing his religious, social, and business activities. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 0985, 0991.

Duncan, Herman Cope. Family papers. 1836-1961. 949 items, 28 ms. vols., and 216 printed vols. Location: T:76-81, P:16, 38-27-28, 98:, OS:D. Born in Philadelphia; graduate of the University of Pennsylvania (1867); Rector of the Protestant Episcopal Church St. James of Alexandria, Louisiana (1888-1917); and author of 'The Diocese of Louisiana'. The collection reflects Duncan's involvement with ecclesiastical affairs, nationally and with the Diocese of Louisiana, containing correspondence, Parish reports, volumes, scrapbooks, journals, newspaper clippings, pamphlets, and photographs. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2920.

Duval, Louis Mayfield. Souvenir letter. [1900-1905]. 1 item. Location: Impr. Missionary of the Southern Baptist Convention in Nigeria, 1901-1930; originally from St. Johns, Nova Scotia, Canada. Souvenir letter is actually a small booklet containing photographs of Nova Scotia, including some of the village of Grand Pre, and one of 'Evangeline'. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2720.

East Feliciana Parish collection. 1819-1867 (bulk 1826-1857). 50 items. Location: D:90. Financial papers are primarily statements of merchant accounts. Legal papers include citations, indictments, affidavits, and correspondence for civil and criminal cases heard at the courthouse in Clinton, Louisiana. Of special interest are documents relating to the trial of two slaves for arson and to a case against Centenary College in Jackson, Louisiana, for payment owed to a Reverend William B. Lacy. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3599.

Easterly, Isaac. Diary. 1833-1865 (bulk 1833-1836). 1 ms. vol. on 1 microfilm reel. Location: Mss. Mf: E. Native of Tennessee, apparently a Baptist clergyman. Diary entries refer to volunteers raised in Jasper, Georgia, to march against the Creek Indians (1833-1836) and include entries and accounts of a blacksmith (1863-1864). For further information see online catalog. Mss. 2301.

Evans, J. Bruce. Papers. 1956-1996 (bulk 1962-1985). 16 linear ft. Location: 36:57-64, OS:E. Doctor of Religious Education, pastor, and civil rights activist. He was pastor of University Baptist Church, Baton Rouge. In 1963 he resigned over the question of racial integration in Louisiana and formed Fellowship Church. Correspondence, business papers, sermons, talks, workshop materials, poetry, fiction, newsletters, newspaper clippings, slides, photographs, and audio tapes reflect the career of Evans as minister and counselor. Materials also reflect Evans involvement in the civil rights movement in Louisiana, and the organization of University Baptist and Fellowship Churches. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4664. Complete Finding Aid

Feltus, Henry James. Sermon. 1814-1818, n.d. 4 items. Location: Misc. Protestant Episcopal minister and rector of St. Stephens Church, New York City. Manuscript draft of sermon of the Reverend Henry James Feltus, photograph of St. Stephens Church in 1814, and two related items. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1581.

Ferguson, Samuel Wragg, 1835-1917. Papers. 1857-1915, n.d. 61 items. Location: T:13. Confederate general and lawyer of Charleston, South Carolina, and Greenville, Mississippi. During the Civil War Ferguson served as aide to General P. G. T. Beauregard and was commander of the 28th Mississippi Cavalry Regiment in the Atlanta Campaign. Letters, memoirs, and writings describe student life at West Point; the settlement of Kansas; religious missions and the life of missionaries in the Oregon territory; and the hostility of Indians and the fate of settlers bound for California and Oregon. Civil War materials include records of Ferguson's Confederate military service, descriptions of participation in several battles, and a description of the collapse of the Confederate government. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1416, 1576.

Fink, John D. Will. 1860. 1 printed vol. Location: Impr. Printed opinion of Messieurs Coin Delisle Paillard de Villeneuve on the validity of the disposition contained in the will of Mr. Fink providing for the construction and support of an asylum in New Orleans for the benefit of Protestant widows and orphans. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1244.

Fischer, Max. Max and August Fischer papers. 1881-1907. 136 items. Location: E:52, O:20. Max and August Fischer were wholesale and retail dealers in general merchandise in Bayou Sara, West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. They also operated Kenmore Plantation, Pointe Coupee Parish, Louisiana. Collection contains ledgers, journals, and other business papers related to Kenmore Plantation and to Fischer's merchandise dealings. Includes account and sales records of the Grace Episcopal Church in Bayou Sara, and of prominent families in West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1259, Mss. 0893, Mss. 0972, Mss. 0973, Mss. 3568.

Forcelle, FranJois O. Letter. 1835. 1 item. Location: Misc. Resident of St. John the Baptist Parish, Louisiana. Personal letter from FranJois O. Forcelle to the parish priest. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 0222.

Fourchy, Alexandre FranJois, 1787-1854. Family papers. 1848-1908 ca., n.d. 185 items and 2 pamphlets. Location: U:117. Lawyer and writer of New Orleans. Family papers consist of correspondence and related items (1891-1895); family and religious cards; and 66 New Orleans trade cards. Included is a copy of Fourchy's QUELQUES MOTS, a literary work dedicated to the memory of Napoleon I. Partly in French and in Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1692, 1694.

Fourrier, Joseph Amadee. Sheet music. 1844-1912. 34 items and 1 vol. Location: 65:33. Baton Rouge music store proprietor and organist at St. Joseph's Church. Sheet music (1844-1912), some illustrated, includes both popular and sacred works. Filed in the manuscript card catalog under Fourrier, J. Amadee. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2600-73.

Freedmen's Bureau pamphlet. 1865. 1 item and 1 pamphlet. Location: Impr. Address to 'Masters and Freedmen,' by the Reverend M. French, chaplain U.S.A., Freedmen's Bureau, directed principally to blacks, emphasizing the need to work in order to support the family. The pamphlet also contains a copy of the marriage rules. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1598.

French, Arden Odell, 1906-, interviewee. Oral history interview. 1977. 4 sound cassettes (5 hours), Transcript (137 pages). Location: L:4700.0018. Dean of Men at LSU (1941-1977). Interview deals with French's work as Dean of Men at LSU. Topics include past presidents of LSU; establishment of religious institutions for students; relations with Paul M. Hebert, W. D. Weatherford, and the YMCA; and student organizations. French also discusses the effect World War II had on the campus; his childhood, family, and educational background; and his dealings with students in the 1960s. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0018.

Gaebler, Max David. Radio talks. 1952-1960. 226 items and 1 pamphlet. Location: C:7. Unitarian minister of the First Unitarian Society of Madison, Wisconsin. Copies of radio talks by Gaebler and others concerned with religion and philosophy, particularly as related to the Unitarian faith. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2295.

Garig, William Wallace, 1839-1908. Family papers. 1858-1953, n.d. 594 items; 10 ms. vols.; 2 printed vols. Location: 7:58-59. Businessman and poultry breeder of Baton Rouge. His daughters Mercedes and Louise were both members of the LSU English Department faculty. Papers consist of correspondence pertaining to plantation work and social life in antebellum Louisiana; education of children, including that provided at LSU; social life in 20th-century Baton Rouge; and religion. Included are Garig's Civil War diaries. Collection also includes papers of Garig's daughters. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 2993.

Gasparin, Agenor de, 1810-1871. Letters. 1862-1871. 57 items. Location: U:100. French statesman, philanthropist, and writer on religion and abolition. Letters to the American translator of his books discussing the American editions and commenting on American politics, Abraham Lincoln, abolition, the Civil War, and Reconstruction. In French. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1350.

Gayarre, Charles, 1805-1895. Manuscript. n.d. 1 item (4 sheets). Location: Misc. Louisiana historian, jurist, and statesman. Manuscript of Gayarre giving an account of the career of noted Protestant Episcopal clergyman, Francis L. Hawks, while in New Orleans. Hawks served as minister of Christ Church and as president of the University of Louisiana (now Tulane University). Filed in the manuscript card catalog under Gayarre, Charles E. A. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1558.

Godbold, Edgar, 1879-1952. Papers. 1904-1963. 77 items, 10 vols. (5 ms. vols., 5 printed vols.). Location: W:6, OS:G, Vault. President of Louisiana College (1942-1951) and president of the Louisiana Baptist Convention (1950-1952). Papers include correspondence, speeches, notes, photographs, a scrapbook, and a yearbook documenting Godbold's involvement in Louisiana Baptist organizations. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 2730.

Gorham, Daniel Barlow, 1838-1911. Diaries. 1856-1859. 3 ms. vols., 6 items. Location: Mf., Misc. Student at St. Joseph's College, Bardstown, Kentucky. Diaries record daily student life, studies, social activities, and religious events at the Catholic-run college; and social life in St. Francisville, Louisiana. A typewritten transcription is also available. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3096.

Gumbel, Simon. Family Papers, ca. 1851-1949. 2.5 linear ft.Location: P:21-22. Resident of New Orleans. Comprised almost entirely of property tax receipts for city, parish and state taxes; remaining papers consists of three stock certificates and personal legal papers. Also includes the records of the Sophie L. Gumbel Home, comprised of correspondence, printed items, financial and administrative records. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1490. Complete finding aid.

Granberry, Stephen H. (Stephen Henry). Priest's register. 1873-1876. 1 vol.Location: T:74. Deacon of the Episcopal Church in Terry, Mississippi, in early 1874. Ordained as a Priest in March 1874 and shortly thereafter moved to Trinity Parish in New Orleans, where he served as Assistant to the Rector, Reverend Samuel S. Harris. Register includes marriages, baptisms, burials, confirmations, and services held in Mississippi and Louisiana. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4501.

Gray, Lillie Trust. Papers, 1860-1920 (bulk 1886-1890). 178 items; 8 vols. Location: U:154; F:9. Musician and teacher at the Convent of the Sacred Heart, Convent, St. James Parish, Louisiana. Papers document Gray's teaching of and interest in music, and include a record book (1874-1900, 1902) containing lists of musical compositions and a diary (1900-1905) containing entries on music sung at Roman Catholic masses. Collection also includes household and farm entries; receipts for music lessons; and a payroll book (1865-1867) for Houmas Plantation. The payroll book is available on microfilm: University Publications of America Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B, Part 1, Reel 15. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 165, 965, 422.

Guild of the Holy Cross. Minute book. 1886-1888. 1 ms. vol. Location: M:20. Women's organization of the Church of the Holy Cross, Paris, Texas. Minute book documents fundraising events. Available on microfilm: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reel 33. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 0380.

Gumbel, Simon. Family papers. 1851-1949 ca. 1,747 items and 16 ms. vols. Location: P:21-22. Resident of New Orleans. Papers reflecting interest in the Sophie L. Gumbel Home, and a Jewish charitable association, the Provident Aid Society. Also included are papers of the New Orleans commission firm of S. Gumbel and Company and of members of the Gumbel family. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1490.

Hageman, John. Diary. 1856. 1 vol. Location: J:11. Solicitor of subscriptions for religious magazines and periodicals, chiefly the Methodist CRUSADER. Diary of a journey from Ohio through Indiana, Illinois, Iowa, and Missouri. He describes the countryside, Sunday schools and church meetings, religious services in a prison and in an insane asylum, and temperance meetings. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 0249.

Hallock, H. G. C. Letters. 1927-1928. 10 items. Location: Misc. Missionary in China. Four Chinese posters of gods, and typewritten letters of explanation by Reverend H. G. C. Hallock. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 0893.

Hartzell, Joseph C. (Joseph Crane), 1842-1928. Letters. 1862-1906. .6 linear ft. (488 items, 1 ms. vol.), 1 mf reel, 2 OS folders. Location: U:155-156, Mss.Mf:H, OS:H. Minister of New Orleans and Missionary Bishop for Africa under the Methodist Episcopal Church. Collection includes correspondence related to Hartzell's work as a student, teacher, and minister in Bloomington and Pekin, Illinois, and as a minister in New Orleans. Includes letters related to Hartzell's missionary activities throughout Africa. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 0506. Complete finding aid

Hawks, Francis Lister, 1798-1866. Letter. 1844 May 11. 1 item. Location: Misc. Protestant Episcopal clergyman, historian, and first president of the University of Louisiana. Letter from Woodville, Wilkinson County, Mississippi, describes the state convention of the Protestant Episcopal Church and Hawks' election as bishop of Mississippi. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2916.

Head, William Hughes, 1821-1886. Family papers. 1838-1947 (bulk 1845-1930). 7 linear ft. Location: 34:123-130, OS:H. Pastor and Baptist theologian of Mississippi who was also involved in the drugstore business. Family papers include Head's correspondence, sermons, and writings, and other family letters and legal documents related to the drugstore business. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3238.

Hebert, Raphael. Family Papers,1827-1960 (bulk: 1861-1960). Size: 3.5 linear ft. Location: S:137-140, OS:H.. Raphael Hebert family of West Baton Rouge and Iberville Parishes (La.). Collection is primarily papers of Raphael Hebert and his children Joseph Guy, Noel, and Marguerite, a school teacher. Correspondence, financial / legal papers, personal papers, printed items. and photographic materials reflect the family's involvement in civic, educational, and religious affairs and includes letters from Melanie Hebert while at student at St. Basil's in Plaquemine in the 1870s, as well as a few Civil War letters. Also included are records from St. John the Baptist Catholic Church in Brusly, La. For further information see online catalog or Complete finding aid (also in Printable Version). Mss 4769.

Helluin, Pierre Firmin. Letters. 1838-1855. 1 vol. Location: C:21. Native of France and trade store owner in Napoleonville, Louisiana. Collection contains photocopies of original letters written by Helluin to relatives in France and later transcriptions of them. Genealogical information and photocopied church records are also included. Partly in French. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4649.

Hendrick, Calvin S. Letter. 1862 May 19. 1 item. Location: Misc. Pastor of the First Presbyterian Church of Baton Rouge. Letter from Hendrick commenting on the federal occupation of Baton Rouge in the Civil War. He mentions the hostility of residents, isolation of the city, and federal officers attending services at his church. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2098.

Hennen-Jennings family papers. 1803-1918 (bulk 1850-1870). 216 items; 25 vols. (1 ms. vol., 24 printed vols.). Location: U:157, Mss.Mf:H. Alfred Hennen was a civil lawyer, a Presbyterian, a professor of constitutional law in New Orleans, and a director of the old Bank of Louisiana. Hennen's daughter, Ann Maria, was married to Needler Jennings who was a major in the Confederate army. Papers relating to Ann Maria Jennings, including letters, an Italian passport, and a pardon signed by Andrew Johnson. Other papers include personal and family correspondence of Alfred Hennen and Needler R. Jennings and Civil War letters. Printed pamphlets include discourses and sermons by Reverend Benjamin M. Palmer, and two stories, 'Dominic You,' and 'Husacar' by Louisiana author Octavius N. Ogden. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reels 6-7. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 0748. Complete Finding Aid (PDF)

Hill, James D. Papers. 1861-1862. 33 items. Location: Misc. Confederate captain in the Beauregard Battalion, Louisiana Militia, during the Civil War. Papers of Hill including orders from the States Rights Guard and from headquarters of the Beauregard Battalion, New Orleans; and a letter of the Reverend A. D. McCoy, Rector of St. Peter's Church, New Orleans, inviting Hill and his company to church. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1036.

Hispanic American Collection. 1582-1940, n.d. 947 items, 33 ms. vols. Location: C:19-24. Manuscript and printed materials from Ecuador, Colombia, Guatemala, Mexico, and Puerto Rico concerning colonial government of Ecuador and Mexico, economics, law, social history, Church finances, and literature. Most in Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1350. Complete Finding Aid

Holdrege, Henry R. Diary, 1865. 1 volume. Location: H:16. Holdrege served in the U.S. Navy aboard the U.S.S. Nymph, a tinclad gunboat that was part of the Mississippi Squadron. Much of the time, the NYMPH and Holdrege were docked off Baton Rouge, La. Other locations he reports being include Lobdell Stores, Waterloo, the mouth of the Red River, and patrolling between Baton Rouge and Mulatto Point. Civil War entries pertain to infractions and crimes committed by him and other sailors, drunkenness,interaction with female civilians, witnessing a baptism of African-Americans in the Mississippi River, and recreational activities in Baton Rouge. Post-war entries record his trip home to Menekaune, Wisconsin. For further information see the online catalog. Mss. 4874.

Houston, Samuel Rutherford. Family Papers, 1781-1940 (bulk 1781-1888). 1 linear ft. Location: U:102. Native of Virginia who became a Presbyterian clergyman and served as a missionary to Greece ca. 1839. Family letters, writings, printed items, and graphic materials. Writings consist of sermons, short stories, a Civil War diary, several diary pages, and a journal. Among the printed and graphic materials are several photographs of family members. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3451. Complete finding aid (PDF)

Hunter-Taylor family papers. 1848-1899, n.d. 346 items; 6 ms. vols. Location: W:27. Residents of East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. Papers of Sereno Taylor, minister and principal of Silliman Female College in Clinton, Louisiana, and his wife Mary Emerson Creed Taylor on family, education, and the Civil War. Collection includes letters of Confederate soldier Samuel Eugene Hunter. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reels 9-10. Filed under Taylor, Sereno. Family papers of Sereno Taylor and Samuel Eugene Hunter in Archives USA. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3024.

Ives, C. A. (Clarence Albert), 1869-1966. Collection. 1960-1962. 33 items. Location: U:154. Dean of the College of Education at LSU and president of the Southern Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools. Newspaper clippings from the JACKSON INDEPENDENT (Jonesboro, Louisiana) of a prepared series of articles by local residents on the history of the parish, early settlers, and the Baptist Church. Four articles on the town of Vernon are by Ives. Filed in the manuscript card catalog under Ives, Clarence Albert, 1869-1966. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2227.

Jackson, Willie, 1889-, interviewee. Oral history interview. 1993. 11 sound cassette (45 minutes), Index (3 pages). Location: L:4700.0282. Resident of Four Corners, an unincorporated community south of Franklin, St. Mary Parish, Louisiana. Jackson and his daughter, Emma Dell Peters, lived on Sterling Plantation; Jackson's grandparents were slaves. Jackson describes his childhood in Four Corners, work cultivating and harvesting sugarcane, and raising crops with his parents. He describes early transportation by horse, foot, and boat; churches in the area; and life on Sterling Plantation. Jackson also describes credit at the plantation store; illnesses; marriage customs; gambling on the card game 'Kotch'; use of French language; French language work songs; and schooling. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0282.

Janvier, Charles. Notebook. 1917-1918 ca. 1 ms. vol. Location: M:20. Resident of New Orleans. Notebook containing copies of speeches given at religious, charitable, educational, and patriotic meetings. Included are copies of poems, quotations, and articles from published sources. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1253.

Jefferson, Joseph, 1829-1905. Papers. 1876, 1904, 1907, n.d. 7 items. Location: Misc. American actor and owner of Orange Island (now Jefferson Island, Iberia Parish, Louisiana). Papers include social letters of Jefferson; letters of his daughter-in-law, Eugenie Paul Jefferson, concerning a magazine article about Jefferson's association with Christian Science and the erection of a statue honoring him in Central Park in New York. Included are an autographed copy of Jefferson's poem 'Immortality' and an autographed photograph of Jefferson. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2665.

Jenkyn, Thomas W. Letter. 1837 February 16. 1 item. Location: Misc: J. Religious writer and president of Coward College, London. Letter written by Jenkyn to Rev. J. Austin Roberts of New Bedford, Massachusetts. Jenkyn reports on both personal and political matters, referring to the abolition of church rates in England and to the issue of slavery in the United States. Jenkyn names two ministers who had 'sunk sadly' due to their pro-slavery temporizing in the U.S. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3666.

Jennett, Jesse. Elegiack poem. 1833 December 25. 1 item. Location: E: Impr. Louisiana poet. Broadside of an elegiac poem written by Jesse Jennett at the death of Francis Asbury printed at the Creole Office in New Orleans. Francis Asbury was a founder of American Methodism; He traveled to America in 1771 as a missionary and was elected bishop of the Methodist Episcopal Church in 1784. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 0965.

Jerusalem Baptist Church. Minute book. 1868-1908. 1 ms. vol. Location: Mf. Church located in Catahoula Parish, Louisiana. Minute book includes names of members, money collected, constitution dated 16/17, 1868, and rules of decorum. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3495.

Johnson, Margaret. Correspondence. 1873, 1884-1907. 31 items. Location: E:45. African American resident of Amite, Tangipahoa Parish, Louisiana. Correspondence from Johnson's children living in New Orleans, Mississippi, Texas, and New York City giving information about their means of livelihood, pecuniary status, and religious interests. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1103.

Joly, Marianne Webb. Certificate. 1832. 1 item. Location: Misc. Copy of birth and baptismal certificate (1802) of Marianne Webb Joly from the records of St. John the Baptist Church, St. John the Baptist Parish, Louisiana. In French. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 0893.

Kentwood, Louisiana, items. 1898-1906, n.d. 11 items. Location: Misc. Photograph of grave of Amos and Susan Fluker Kent; village tax receipts for Ida M. Fenn and C. W. Tate; receipt of R. S. Draughan; certificate of good standing in the Tangipahoa Baptist Church for Janie Tate; and postcards of local scenes. Also include are memoranda on Ada M. Fenn and Janie Tate. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1213.

King, William W. Family papers. 1833-1954 (bulk 1868-1936), n.d. ca. 8,802 items. Location: 36. New Orleans lawyer and the father of writer Grace King. Personal and family papers of King consisting of correspondence and bills and receipts concerning the law firm of Elmore and King; L'Embarrasse Plantation in St. Martin Parish, Louisiana; and hardships during the Civil War and Reconstruction. Also included are papers concerning the education of the children; the social, cultural, religious, and economic life of New Orleans; the anti-lottery movement; and travel in the U.S. and Europe. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1282.

Korn, Bertram W. Correspondence. 1965-1972. 16 items. Misc. Senior Rabbi of the Reform Congregation Keneseth Israel of Elkins Park, Pennsylvania. Correspondence with Mrs. S. J. Gianelloni, Jr., of Baton Rouge concerning genealogical research on members of the Monsanto, Dow, and Tessier families. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3459.

Ku Klux Klan. Baton Rouge No. 3 Records, 1928-1939 (bulk 1928-1930). 90 items. Location: UU:308. Correspondence, membership lists, printed items, financial and legal documents, and miscellaneous papers. Correspondence relates almost entirely to administrative matters, membership, and local chapters, though some letters pertain to national politics, congressional legislation, and anti-Catholic sentiments. Printed items include newsletters, circular letters, and Klan guidebooks and literature. Also present are minutes, membership lists, and the Kilgrapp's (Secretary) quarterly reports. Mss. 4770. For further information see online catalog or complete finding aid.

Lambremont, John D. Family papers. 1905, n.d. 1 ms. vol. on microfilm. Location: Mf. E. Himel Sacre Coeur Convent notebook containing essays and studies on religion and other topics. It also includes genealogical information about the Himel, Poche, and Cantrelle families. In French. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2863.

Lea, Lemanda E. Papers. 1858-1872. 57 items. Location: E:39. Resident of Liberty, Mississippi, and wife of a Confederate soldier. Correspondence includes letters from her mother, Sarah Sandell of Pike County, Mississippi, and letters from camps in Mississippi and Louisiana written by her husband, I. G. Lea, and her brothers, C. J. and W. G. Martin. Printed items include a speech by the Hon. Thomas R. Stockdale of Mississippi, and minutes of the Union Baptist Association. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reel 21. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 0704.

LeBlanc, Auguste. Family papers. 1812-1866 (bulk 1859-1866). 5 items (includes 1 vol.). Location: Misc:L, G:16. Cotton planter on Happ Retreat Plantation near Grosse Tete, Iberville Parish, Louisiana. Papers consist of documents relating to Octave LeBlanc of Plaquemines Parish and Louis LeBlanc of St. Martin Parish. A plantation record book kept by Auguste LeBlanc contains entries for daily work performed and slave assignments. Memoranda discuss runaway slaves in Baton Rouge with the federal army in the Civil War, an expense account of building materials used to construct the Grosse Tete Chapel, and accounts with neighbors. Available on microfilm: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 2, Reel 17. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 0214.

Lester, Memory Aldridge, Compiler. Bible records. 1956-1962. 7 ms. vols. indexed. Location: H:4. Bible records of families principally from Maryland, Virginia, North and South Carolina, Georgia, and Alabama collected and compiled by Memory Aldridge Lester. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1890.

Lewis, David, 1815-1895. Papers. 1889, 1895. 2 items. Location: Misc. Autograph letter signed by David Lewis addressed to Lord Arundell , April 4, 1889; remarks on 'cowardice of us Catholics . . .' facing new scientific opinions. Printed announcement, death of David Lewis, January 23, 1895, at Arundel. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3548.

Lintner, Mary E. Campbell. Scrapbook. 1819-1832. 1 ms. vol. Location: G:11. Resident of Johnston and Schoharie, New York, and probably the wife of Joseph Albert Lintner. Scrapbook of clippings from British and American newspapers containing a speech of President John Quincy Adams, articles and verse on national holidays, religion, women and marriage, and pictures of prominent persons. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1842.

Louisiana Postcard Collection, 1904-1951. 507 items. Location: 11:4. Postcards depict subjects, especially churches, schools, and some plantations in towns and regions of Louisiana. Louisiana towns and regions best represented in the collection include Abita Springs, Alexandria, Baton Rouge, Bogalusa, Convent, Covington, Donaldsonville, Franklin, Hammond, Houma, Jennings, Lake Charles, Mandeville, Monroe, Morgan City, New Orleans, Plaquemine, Saint Francisville, Shreveport, and Thibodaux. Included is a photograph depicting three women in front of a plantation house. The photograph is labeled "Alice Emilie Knapp, Forrest Home." For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3654. Complete finding aid

Lowrer, Elmer, 1913. Oral history interview. 1980. 1 sound cassette (1 hour), Transcript (21 pages). Location: L:4700.0037. President of the ABC News Department (1963-1974) and ABC Corporate Vice President (1974-1978). Lowrer discusses David Douglas Duncan's coverage of the Vietnam War for LIFE magazine and ABC; campaign commercials in the 1952 presidential election; the 1960 Kennedy-Nixon debates; and past presidential administrations' use of television. Lowrer also discusses Kennedy's handling of concern about his Catholicism and how he attracted the black vote; and Spiro Agnew's 1969 speech against ABC News and how ABC dealt with the accusations. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0037.

Macedonia Baptist Church. Minute books. 1869-1968 (bulk 1869-1933). 12 items, 4 ms. vols. Location: Mf. Baptist church located north of Livingston, Livingston Parish, Louisiana. Minute books record actions of the church membership and include lists of members and decisions made by the church body on their behalf. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2939.

Madison, James. Will. 1812. 1 item. Location: Misc. First Protestant Episcopal bishop of Virginia and president of the College of William and Mary. Handwritten and typewritten copy of the last will and testament of James Madison recorded by the clerk of court, James City County, Virginia. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 0893.

Maddox, Lester, 1915-. Letters. 1968. 3 items. Location: Misc.:L. Lester Maddox was governor of Georgia (1967-1971). Letter to a Mrs. Peterson in which Maddox outlines his opposition to the building of a brewery in Houston County, Georgia. An attached newsclipping from the CHICAGO TRIBUNE discusses Baptist opposition to the building of a Pabst Brewery in Georgia. Included is another letter to Mrs. Peterson in which Maddox thanks her for her support of his candidacy for the presidency. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3112.

Marionneaux, Marie Doralise. Certificate. 1855. 1 item. Location: Misc. Copy of birth and baptismal certificate of Marie Doralise Marionneaux (baptized in 1815) from the registers of births and baptisms of St. Gabriel's Church, Iberville Parish, Louisiana, 1855. In French. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 0893.

Markham, Thomas Railey, 1828-1894. Papers, 1794-1932 (bulk 1850-1890). 4.5 linear ft. Location: B:42-45, J:4. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reel 12. Pastor of the Lafayette Presbyterian Church in New Orleans (1856-1894) and chaplain in the Confederate army in the Civil War. Collection documents Markham's activities as a minister and includes sermons and memorandum books. Civil War materials include correspondence and military orders. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 250, 649, 650.Complete Finding Aid (PDF)

Marshall, John J. Plantation ledgers. 1866-1899. 4 ms. vols. Location: Mf. Owner of Allendale Plantation, near Stonewall, DeSoto Parish, Louisiana. Plantation ledgers record wages and supplies given to freedmen laborers and include accounts of the Trinity Mission and the All Saints Church, rent records, crop production, and sick days of each laborer. Another ledger records butter production. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3025.

Marston, Henry, 1794-1884. Family Papers, 1820-1938 (bulk 1850-1890). 2,104 items, 59 vols. Location: U:220-222, G:19. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reel 13. Owner of plantations in East Feliciana Parish and Red River Parish, Louisiana; and cashier of the Union Bank of Louisiana in Clinton, La.. Marston was a native of Boston, Massachusetts. Collection includes diaries; plantation records; legal documents; personal and family correspondence; documents related to the Union Bank of Louisiana; and Civil War letters. Marston's diaries record public health, yellow fever epidemic, race and labor relations, his thoughts on blacks' voting. Other volumes record activities of the Clinton & Port Hudson Railroad and the Silliman Female Collegiate Institute. Papers of son Bulow reflect his activities as a plantation owner, steamboat captain, and warehouse owner. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm: University Publications of America Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B, Part 2, Reel 14, or Confederate Military Manuscripts, Series B, Reel 13. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 624. Complete finding aid.

Martin, Leonard, 1908-, interviewee. Oral history interview. 1993. 1 sound cassette (1.5 hours), Index (4 pages). Location: L:4700.0281. Sugarcane farmer and great-grandson of a slave, Martin was a resident of Four Corners, Louisiana, an unincorporated community south of Franklin, St. Mary Parish, Louisiana. Martin's account of the sale of his great-grandfather as a slave along with descriptions of his education; his father's career as the first black schoolteacher in the area; work in sugarcane farming; and a dance-hall operator, Alice LeBaude. Martin also describes forms of transportation; the marriage of his white maternal grandmother to a Native American; his own marriage; work in Texas; the use of drugs in Four Corners; and his religion. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0281.

Mascarella, Patrick, 1942-, Interviewee. Oral history interview. 1992. 1 sound cassette (1.5 hours), Transcript (55 pages). Location: L:4700.0139. Priest at Christ the King Chapel, on the LSU Campus, Baton Rouge. Topics include the dismissal of the Claretians (a religious order) at Christ the King, student involvement at Christ the King, the role of the Catholic student center, and the establishment of a religious studies department at LSU. Father Mascarella also discusses his relations with the Claretians, Father Michael Cody, Father Richard Greene, and Bishop Joseph V. Sullivan. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0139.

McCants, Dorothea Olga. Manuscript. 1970. 1 item. Location: UU:183. Member of the Roman Catholic teaching order of the Daughters of the Cross and teacher at St. Vincent's Academy, Shreveport, Louisiana. Printer's copy of her book, THEY CAME TO LOUISIANA: LETTERS OF A CATHOLIC MISSION, 1854-1882 (Baton Rouge, 1970). For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2694.

McCants, Dorothea Olga. Papers. 1970. 1 item (117 sheets). Location: U:108. Member of the Roman Catholic teaching order of the Daughters of the Cross and teacher at St. Vincent's Academy, Shreveport, Louisiana. Corrected galley proof of her book, THEY CAME TO LOUISIANA: LETTERS OF A CATHOLIC MISSION, 1854-1882 (Baton Rouge, 1970). For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2519.

McElroy, Joseph. Passport. 1843. 1 item. Location: Misc. Passport issued to clergyman. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1198.

McGloin, Frank. Letter. 1884. 1 item. Location: Misc. President of the Society of the Holy Spirit, New Orleans. Letter thanking C. H. Rabad for translating the rules, and regulations of the Society of the Holy Spirit into French in order that the communication may be sent to the Vatican in Rome. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1178.

McGrath, John, 1835-1924. Family papers. 1785-1924. 208 items; 15 ms. vols.; 9 printed vols. Location: S:27; O:21; OS:M; 99:M; Mf. Journalist who worked on the New Orleans PICAYUNE and the Baton Rouge GAZETTE. McGrath was a Confederate veteran who later founded the Baton Rouge DAILY TRUTH and WEEKLY TRUTH. Papers include correspondence (among it McGrath's Civil War letters to his wife); an anonymous Confederate soldier's diary; legal documents; and scrapbooks relating to the interests and activities of McGrath's three daughters. Collection also includes accounts for St. Joseph's Church in Baton Rouge. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3281.

McHugh, John A. Family papers. 1787, 1853, n.d. 2 items; 1 vol. Location: Misc. Resident of Baton Rouge. Papers include a tax receipt (1853); a printed volume, CATECISMO Y EXPOSICION DE LA DOCTRINA CHRISTIANA (1787); and a newspaper clipping about the book. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 0893.

McKinney, Jeptha. Papers. 1841-1931 (bulk 1850-1870). 746 items, 15 vols. Location; E:28-29. Graduate of the University of Louisiana (Tulane University Medical School) and practicing physician in St. Helena Parish, Louisiana. Papers of Dr. McKinney and family correspondence. Early correspondence includes health during the 1850s; Civil War correspondence discusses camp life, soldiers' health, and battles; later correspondence covers Reconstruction, education, and Baptists. Papers include statements of accounts for medical services, promissory notes, and a thesis on pneumonia by Dr. McKinney. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 0273, 0718.

Mercy Hospital School of Nursing textbooks. 1736-1929 (bulk 1894-1929). 43 printed vols. Location: 38:83-84. The Mercy Hospital School of Nursing in New Orleans was a Catholic institution, which had a lending library for the use of its students. Collection consisting chiefly of textbooks and related published materials for use in nurses' education at the Mercy Hospital in New Orleans. A copy of volume 1 of George Washington Cable's OLD CREOLE DAYS (1883) is included. In Spanish. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1600, 1841.

Morancy, Honore P. Family papers. 1780-1936 (bulk 1841-1897). 120 items; 2 printed vols. Location: C:73, M:14. French Catholic planter of Milliken's Bend, East Carroll Parish, Louisiana. Morancy's father emigrated from France to Santo Domingo before 1789; the children were orphaned and raised in Louisiana. Papers include family letters concerning social life, the Catholic Church, and education, in northeastern Louisiana and Kentucky. Confederate civilian letters describe hardships during the Civil War; later letters document relocation of refugees. Available on microfilm: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reels 16-17. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 2430. Complete Finding Aid (PDF)

Moro, Joseph De ortega, 1738-1776. Letter. [1772], 1776 ca. 1 ms. vol. Location: M:20. Letter criticizes the practices of the nuns in the convents of Mexico and the local clergy who do not favor the reforms by the Bishop. In Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 0027.

Morse, Jedidiah, 1761-1826. Letter. 1800 October 29. 1 item. Location: Misc. Connecticut Congregational minister and geographer. Letter to Morse's father discusses inoculation against smallpox, diplomatic relations with France, national presidential candidates, and the education of his son Samuel Finley Breese Morse. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3223.

Mount Lebanon Academy. Records. 1866-1910. 6 items, 1 reel of microfilm (enlargement prints). Location: Mf., OS:M. Baptist Church-directed school in Mount Lebanon, Louisiana. Selected items include pages from the minutes of the Baptist State Convention, Mount Lebanon Church (1866); views of the campus; and catalog and announcements of Mount Lebanon University (1887-1889). For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2013.

Mount Nebo Baptist Church (St. Tammany Parish, La.). Minutes. 1813-1860. 2 items [photocopies]. Location: Misc:M. Two volumes of church minutes. Volume 1 (1813-1833) also contains a list of members, articles of faith, minutes, and an index by Ethma Roberts Rush (1993). For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4512.

Mouton, Emma Gardner, d.1897. Scrapbook. 1836-1861, 1897. 4 items, 1 ms. vol. Location: M:19. Newspaper clippings about the wedding of Emma Kitchell Gardner to Senator Alexander Mouton of Louisiana and his political career as governor. The scrapbook includes copies of sermons, poetry, and translations of compositions by Mrs. Mouton. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2362.

Muggah-Glover-Guyther. Family Papers, 1844-1896, 1906, n.d. (bulk 1844-1852). 14 items. Location: UU:168. The Muggah, Glover, and Guyther families lived in Natchez, Mississippi and Pattersonville, Louisiana. Collection includes correspondence, photocopies of newspaper clippings, and photographs. Correspondence consists mostly of letters between women discussing marriage, family life, domestic obligations, religion, social events, and customs. Mss. 4790.

Murdoch, James Edward, 1811-1893. Papers. 1837-1903. 35 items. Location: A:2. American actor and father of Fannie Murdoch. They were associated with John Pierpont, a Unitarian clergyman, author, and abolitionist. Collection consists of letters written to Murdoch, his daughter, John Pierpont, W. F. Bridges, and others from actors, authors, New England abolitionists, and Unitarian clergymen. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 0667.

Murphy, Patrick, 1827-1885. Papers. 1853-1925 (bulk 1860-1885). 739 items, 69 ms. vols. Location: U:232, H:4. Catholic layman, bridge builder, and building contractor of Natchez, Mississippi, and St. Joseph, Louisiana, after the Civil War. Personal and business papers including contracts, specifications, plans, memoranda, and accounts for building; statements for construction materials; and personal letters. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 0309. Complete Finding Aid

National Society of the Colonial Dames of America in the State of Louisiana. Shreveport committee compilation. 1952, 1954. 2 ms. vols. [photographic copies]. Location: 41:39. Records (1724-1829) of the Immaculate Conception Catholic Church of Natchitoches, Louisiana, compiled by the Shreveport Committee of the Colonial Dames of America in the State of Louisiana. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1720.

New Orleans photographs. n.d. 10 items. Location: E:. Photographs of New Orleans area scenes, including French Quarter buildings, St. Louis Cathedral, and a bayou scene. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3043.

New Orleans scrapbook. 1813-1845, 1865. 1 ms. vol. Location: M:18. Clippings of articles and public notices documenting official New Orleans business; a land sale by the Ursuline nuns; the Board of Health; New Orleans Jockey Club races; public auctions; cockfighting; and the New Orleans and Carrollton Railroad. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 0920.

New Tickfaw Baptist Church. Minute book. 1846, 1888-1903. 1 ms. vol. (on microfilm). Location: Mf. Predecessor of Holden Baptist Church, Holden, Livingston Parish, Louisiana. Minute book records proceedings of church meetings, admissions of new members, rolls of members, articles of faith, and rules of decorum. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2956.

No "O" Resources.

Palfrey Family Papers, 1776-1918. (bulk 1806-1875). 388 items; 21 vols. Location: 77:89, H:22, Mf, 99. Papers of John Palfrey (1768-1843), ship chandler and manager of Forlorn Hope Plantation, Bayou l'Albaye near St. Martinville, Louisiana, and his family, primarily sons John Gorham Palfrey, abolitionist, author, and minister of Boston, Mass. and William Taylor Palfrey, planter, judge, sheriff, and state senator of St. Mary parish. Collection includes documents related to plantation life and operation, papers related to the education of Palfrey's sons at Harvard University, War of 1812, land documents, and marriage certificates. George D. Palfrey, son of William T. Palfrey, was the proprietor of the Franklin Brick Yard. Business and plantation records of William and George Palfrey include account books for W. T. Palfrey and Company. Includes letters of Henry William Palfrey ([1855] and 1964 printed volume), New Orleans merchant, written from London and Paris during the summer of 1855 when he was American Commissioner to the Exposition Universelle at Paris, France. Some items in French and Spanish. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm: University Publications of America Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B, Part 6, Reel 12, or Records of Ante-Bellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series I, Part 1, Reels 1-4. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 333. Complete finding aid.

Palmer, J. Norris (John Norris), b. 1898. Papers. 1848-1969 (bulk 1921-1969). 16 linear ft. Location: 44:. Pastor of the First Baptist Church of Baton Rouge. Papers include correspondence (1848-1969), newspaper clippings, photographs, scrapbooks, yearbooks, church bulletins, brochures, maps, datebooks, and financial records. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3070.

Parish, Robert T. Diary. 1861. 1 vol. photocopy. Location: B:66. Itinerant Methodist minister assigned to northern Rapides Parish, Louisiana. He married Judity Merrill in 1850, and they had a son and daughter at the time the diary was written. Diary begins with Parish's tenure in the vicinity of Alexandria, Louisiana, and reflects the day-to-day life of an itinerant minister. He comments on the religious failings of his charges, black and white, Catholicism, and excitement over the Civil War. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4564.

Parlange, Charles. Speech. 1893. 1 vol. microfilm. Mf. Printed copy of an address delivered by Judge Charles Parlange on the occasion of the centennial celebration of the St. Louis Cathedral in New Orleans. In French. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1260.

Peters, Emma Dell, 1941-, interviewee. Oral history interview. 1993. 1 sound cassette (45 minutes), Index (6 pages). Location: L:4700.0283. Resident of Four Corners, an unincorporated community south of Franklin, St. Mary Parish, Louisiana. Peters lived on Sterling Plantation; her great-grandparents were slaves. For 26 years, Peters worked as a cook in the school system. Peters gives an account of her great-grandparents' purchases as slaves, and discusses slave religion, the treatment of slaves, and female slaves who bore children for their white masters. Included are spirituals she learned from her grandparents. Peters also gives accounts of illnesses, funeral customs, early jobs she held, poverty in her youth, and discipline and life in her large family. She also discusses Civil Rights legislation. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0283.

Pickett, George Blair, 1930-, interviewee. Oral history interview. 1974. 2 sound cassettes (2 hours), Transcript: (48 pages). Location: L:4700.0051. President of the Llano Colony, a socialist cooperative society established in California (1914) and moved to Newllano, Vernon Parish, Louisiana (1918). Pickett was the son of George T. Pickett. Interview includes discussion of establishment of the Llano Colony, religious practices, education of children, daily life, manufacturing ventures, and the colony's collapse (1935). Reflections and descriptions of George T. Pickett also included. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0051.

Pickett, George T., 1876-1959. Papers. 1883-1960. 2512 items, 9 ms. vols., 67 printed vols. Location: 6:58-62, 99:P, OS:P. George T. Pickett, president of the Llano Colony, a socialist cooperative society established in California (1914) and moved to Newllano, Vernon Parish, Louisiana (1918). Papers include correspondence; business and legal records; copies of the colony's newsletter; and printed items related to the colony's history; socialism; and cooperative movements in the United States. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1074, 2733. Planter of Rosedown Plantation, St. Francisville, Louisiana. Records and papers documenting the administration of Rosedown. Includes papers of William R. Bowman, Episcopal clergyman; and of James P. Bowman, Robert H. Barrow, Eliza Bowman Lyons, Catharine Rucker Turnbull, and Daniel Turnbull. Available on microfilm: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 4, Reels 8-19. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1372, 1382.

Polk, Leonidas, 1806-1864. Letter. 1863. 1 item. Location: Misc:P. Bishop of the Diocese of Louisiana and general in the Confederate army. Letter from Polk to General John C. Breckinridge in reference to Polk's removal from his command by General Braxton Bragg at Chickamauga. Available on microfilm: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reel 15. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 2689.

Polk, Leonidas, 1806-1864. Papers. 1838-1894. 15 items, 4 printed vols. Location: C:54. Bishop of the Diocese of Louisiana and general in the Confederate army. Letter and photographs of Polk; and newspaper clippings, photographs, and pamphlets concerning his work. Filed in the manuscript card catalog under Polk, Leonidas. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 0755.

Polk, Leonidas, 1806-1864. Portrait. n.d. 1 item. Location: OS:P. Bishop of the Diocese of Louisiana and general in the Confederate army. Etching by Charles B. Hall, published in his MILITARY RECORDS OF GENERAL OFFICERS OF THE CONFEDERATE STATES OF AMERICA, 1898. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3620.

Porteous, Laura L. Collection. 1936, 1949. 2,260 items, 7 ms. vols. Location: 78:61-65. Collection includes transcriptions and translations of Spanish judicial documents and cases in the Cabildo (1769-1803); and lists of Spanish officials (1769-1803) and notaries in New Orleans (1822-1922). Also includes extracts and translations of the Favrot papers, and extracts from baptismal records. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1200.

Presbyterian Chinese Mission. Items. 1932. 2 items. Impr. Invitation and program for the celebration of the Fiftieth Anniversary of the New Orleans Presbyterian Chinese Mission. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1829.

Pugh, W. W. (William Whitmell), 1811-1906. Family papers. 1833-1941. 921 items, 11 ms. vols. Location: U:165-168, H:9, OS:P. Planter of Woodlawn Plantation, Assumption Parish, Louisiana, state representative, and president of the Board of Levee Commissioners. Papers document politics, the Board of Levee Commissioners, Christ Protestant Episcopal Church, education of the Pugh children, and plantation matters. Includes papers of Pugh's son Thomas, a physician; and Edward, a lawyer of Ascension Parish. Also included are materials relating to the Civil War and to Pugh's daughter-in-law, Eliza Lofton Phillips Pugh. Filed in the manuscript card catalog under Pugh, Col. W. W., 1811-1906. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2052.

Quintard, C. T. Diaries. 1864-1898. 33 ms. vols. on six microfilm reels. Location: Mss.Mf:Q. Confederate chaplain and surgeon during the Civil War; Protestant Episcopal bishop of the Diocese of Tennessee; and first vice chancellor of the University of the South, Sewanee, Tennessee. Civil War diaries record his experiences and duties in Georgia and Tennessee; atrocities committed by federal troops; his conversations with Confederate officers Hood, Johnston, and Stephen Lee; and his views on P. G. T. Beauregard. Quintard's post-Civil War diaries record trips in the United States and Europe, persons visited, and events and ceremonies attended. Other materials relate to African American Episcopal clergymen. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1118.

R. Viener and Company. Records. 1880-1936 (bulk 1893-1930). 494 ms. vols., 9 printed vols. Location: K:1-33, 128:. Wholesale grocery, feed, flour, and paper firm in Natchez, Mississippi. R. Viener was the treasurer of the B'nai Israel Congregation of Natchez. Records include financial and business documents related to the company, and cashbooks and record accounts of the B'nai Israel Congregation. Records also include commercial and mercantile reference books, books about buying cotton, and a telegraphic code book. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 0518.

Ransdell, Joseph E. (Joseph Eugene) 1858-1954. Papers. 1898-1948. 676 items, 28 vols. (includes 5 ms. vols.). Location: C:46-47, P:2. U.S. congressman and senator from Louisiana. Papers and scrapbooks highlighting Ransdell's political career and reflecting his work on flood control, public health, the merchant marine, and his activities as a Catholic layman. Papers include speeches, correspondence, and materials used in the writing of his biography. Filed in the manuscript card catalog under Ransdell, Joseph E. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1127.

RED MASS prayer book. 1958. 2 items, 1 pamphlet. Impr. The 'Red Mass' celebrates the opening of the Judicial year and is sponsored annually by the St. Thomas More Catholic Lawyers Association of New Orleans at St. Louis Cathedral. Booklet containing prayers to be recited at the