Special Collections
LSU Libraries
spacer
Home / Online Catalog Site A-Z Help    
   

 

Manuscript Resources on
the History of Music, Drama,
and Other Performing Arts in the
Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections,
Special Collections, LSU Libraries


Contents:
Introduction
Alphabetical List
Chronological Index

INTRODUCTION

This guide describes manuscript resources in the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections that document performing arts history. Most of the collections relate to music, with smaller numbers dealing with theater, and a few dealing with dance. Geographically, most of the collections center around Louisiana, with many reflecting the rich cultural history of New Orleans and its diverse French and American cultural streams. Baton Rouge and other cities and towns are documented to a lesser degree. The cultural life of rural Louisiana is reflected in plantation collections containing sheet music, playbills, and other evidence of cultural activity.

The collections include papers of music and drama teachers, composers and writers, and performers. They also contain papers of those who sat in the audiences of musical and other performances and commented on them in letters and diaries, or compiled collections of programs and other ephemera dealing with the performances they witnessed. Finally, they contain papers of researchers who wrote about music and theater history.

Though extensive, the resources listed in this guide form a small part of the totality of materials documenting performing arts history in LSU's Special Collections. An exhaustive search of available inventories of manuscript collections would turn up additional important documentation. The Rare Book Collections contain a wide variety of relevant imprints, and include an extensive database of uncataloged sheet music. Similarly, the Louisiana Collection contains additional imprints on the performing arts, specifically related to Louisiana and the Lower Mississippi Valley. A folder containing several music history finding aids in addition to this one is available at the Special Collections reference desk.

Collections in this guide are listed alphabetically. Brief descriptions include references to sources for additional information--either the LSU Libraries' catalog, which is accessible through the Internet, or the manuscript card catalog in the Special Collections reading room of Hill Memorial Library. Still additional information on some of these collections can be found in detailed finding aids in the reading room. Increasingly, electronic copies of these finding aids can be found on the World Wide Web site for Special Collections, where you can also find information about using the collections, searching the online catalog remotely, and asking us questions.

Find in Page

ALPHABETICAL LIST

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z |

Acadian Handicraft Project. Records, 1939-1962. 19.0 linear ft. (8,658 items, 152 vols.). Location: 7:, 93:. Project launched in 1942 to preserve the language and culture of the French-speaking people of Louisiana. It was suspended around 1962. Records include correspondence, promotional materials, financial records, registers, and scrapbooks, and include papers of Louise V. Oliver documenting the day-to-day operation of the project. Manuscript music and French songs are contained in a scrapbook. Songs and some correspondence in French. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1800.

Amato, Pasquale. Scrapbook and printed items, 1913-1929 (bulk 1913-1915). 1 vol., 26 items. Location: M:23. Native of Italy and operatic baritone. Amato performed at the Metropolitan Opera in New York until 1921, and headed the Opera Department at LSU from 1934-1942. Scrapbook containing newspaper clippings and printed items relating to Amato's operatic career. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 2563.

Anonymous letter, 1851. 1 item. Location: Misc. Letter written from Alexandria, Rapides Parish, Louisiana, by Augusta (?), to her sister, Mrs. Sarah W. Simpson, Newburyport, Massachusetts. The letter describes the excitement in Alexandria among whites and blacks over Jenny Lind's concert in New Orleans; steamboats and fishing on the Red River; and other local news. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1008.

Anonymous letter, 1864. 1 item. Location: Misc. Letter from Sarah, apparently a young girl and resident of New Orleans, written upon her return from a trip to New York City, commenting on a minstrel show in New Orleans and expressing interest in the New York presidential election returns. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1418.

Anonymous letter, 1867. 1 item. Location: Misc. Letter from a guest at Trenton House [Trenton, New Jersey], commenting on the artistic ability and physical characteristics of the blind Negro musician 'Blind Tom,' after attending a concert given by the pianist. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1533.

Applewhite, Cornelia. Papers, 1877-1878, 1924-1925, n.d. 3 items, 2 ms. vols., 2 printed vols. [on microfilm]. Location: Mf. Student at Whitworth Female College, Brookhaven, Mississippi. Two notebooks containing entries on basic subjects; lists of students; and biographical and genealogical notes. Also included are a printed song book (1877); a printed volume on the history of Sarepta (1924-1925); and three pictures. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3498.

Armstrong, A. Notebook, 1839-1847. 1 vol. Location: F:2. Notebook of miscellaneous items including remedies, beverage recipes, medical reports, observations on phrenology, Clay and Polk campaign songs, poetry, memoranda, directions for erecting a house, correspondence, and events in Armstrong's life. Included is Armstrong's will, July 7, 1841, made before meeting 'Mr. Smith' in an affair of honor. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 664.

Bailey theater papers. 1 linear ft. Location: Range 38 B 1S. Mss. 3336.

Barel, Leona Queyrouze, 1861?-1938. Papers, 1800-1950 (bulk 1860-1937). 2,614 items, 31 printed vols., 23 ms. vols. Location: UU:68-72, Q:27, X:97-98, OS:Q, 99. French-language writer, poet, essayist, and musician of New Orleans and New York City. Her father, Major Leon Queyrouze, was commander of the Orleans Guard Battalion during the Civil War. Papers include letters from writers and editors; literary writings and musical compositions; materials on the Anti-Lottery League; and Civil War and business papers of her father, a member of the factors' firm Queyrouze and Bois. In French and English. Available on microfilm: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reels 18-26. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1204, 1222, 1278, 1314, 1323, 1335. Complete finding aid (PDF).

Barrow, Bartholomew, 1836-1869. Family collection of sheet music, 1848-1891 (bulk 1861-1874). 4 items, 3 vols. Location: 65:. Planter of Eldorado Plantation, a sugar plantation in Pointe Coupee Parish, Louisiana. Collection of bound and loose vocal and piano sheet music collected by Barrow and his family. Some compositions in French, German, and Italian. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1379.

Baton Rouge Ballet Theatre. Programs and brochures, 1959-1994. .4 linear ft. Location: E:38. Non-profit company organized in Baton Rouge in the late 1950s as the Baton Rouge Civic Ballet, and incorporated in 1960 as the Baton Rouge Ballet Theatre. Programs of performances and brochures. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4610.

Baton Rouge German Benevolent Association. Dance program, 1881 January 3. 1 printed item. Location: Impr. Program of the Fifteenth Anniversary Ball of the Baton Rouge German Benevolent Association listing floor managers, dances, and composers. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3243.

Baton Rouge Gilbert & Sullivan Society. Programs and brochures, 1978-1994. .2 linear ft. Location: E:38. Organized in Baton Rouge in 1976, the Baton Rouge Gilbert & Sullivan Society presented its first production in April 1977. It is sometimes referred to as the Gilbert & Sullivan Society of Baton Rouge. Programs of performances and brochures. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4611.

Baton Rouge Little Theater, Inc. Programs and brochures, 1981-1995. 1 linear ft. Location: E:3. Little Theater group organized in Baton Rouge in 1946. Programs of both regular season productions and summer musicals, and miscellaneous brochures. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4614.

Baton Rouge Opera. Programs, 1983-1991. 6 items. Location: N:28. Opera founded in 1981, governed by the Board of the Baton Rouge Opera Company, and financed through private donations. Programs. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4654.

Baton Rouge Sacred Music Society. Program, 1845. 1 item. Location: Impr. Program for the first concert of the Baton Rouge Sacred Music Society, which was held at the Presbyterian Church. A. R. Fuertes, director, and William McCaughey, secretary, are listed as officers. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 893.

Baughman family collection, 1834-1928, 1957, n.d. 57 items, 2 ms. vols., and 18 printed vols. Location: UU:114, 41-32, Mf., 98:. Residents of Union and Lincoln Parishes, Louisiana. Papers of the Baughman and related families include letters (1835-1845), sheet music, issues of Louisiana newspapers, a cashbook (1885-1908), a history and celebration (1939) of the hundredth anniversary of Union Parish, and a scrapbook (ca. 1928). For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1852, 1981.

Beauregard, G. T. (Gustave Toutant), 1818-1893. Sheet music, 1861. 1 item [photocopy]. Location: U:14. American army officer, Confederate general during the Civil War, and superintendent of the New Custom House in New Orleans. The Beauregard Manassas Quick-Step by A. Noir. Filed in the manuscript card catalog under Beauregard, P. G. T. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2243.

Beauregard House Association program, 1932. 1 item. Location: Impr. Program for the play 'An Old Romance' by Grace King, presented by the New Orleans Beauregard House Association. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1834.

Beauregard-Keyes House (New Orleans). The Board of the Beauregard House Association presents Grace King's An old romance, a play in three acts: program, 1932. 1 item, 3 p.; 23 cm. Location: E:Impr. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1834.

Boland, Rose Mary Shields. Scrapbook, 1906-1940, n.d. 1 ms. vol. Location: Mf. Child actress and member of New Orleans theatrical family. Scrapbook contains newspaper clippings, photographs, and miscellaneous items, largely concerning her career as a child actress with the Brown-Baker Stock Company. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2595.

Boston Museum (1847-1903). Playbill, 1861. 1 broadside. Location: E:Impr. Abolitionist playbill reading: First nights of Dion Bourcicault's greatest production! Illustrating American character! American scenes! and Southern homes! entitled the Octoroon or--life in Louisiana, ...this Saturday afternoon, Dec. 14, 1861. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1558.

Brass band photographs, n.d. 2 items. Location: E:. Group photographs of the Natchitoches and Eglipse Brass Bands. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2961.

Brazilian Newspapers: the DeForest collection, 1822-1828. 95 items. Location: 77:98. Collection of Brazilian newspapers and fliers, broadsides, and pamphlets, dating from the time of independence. Collection includes printed advertisements, an announcement for A Flauta Magica, and other items. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3074.

Brooks Read Brer Rabbit Collection, 1950-1991 (bulk: 1950-1959). ca. 26 linear feet. Approximately 500 reel to reel audio recordings, scripts, phonographs, correspondence, and subject files of Brooks Read, Baton Rouge storyteller, journalist, and political observer. Materials relate to Read¹s recorded productions of his original Brer Rabbit stories, as well as a few select Uncle Remus stories of Joel Chandler Harris. For furhter information see online catalog or complete finding aid. Mss. 4476

Butler, Robert, 1786-1860. Papers, 1831-1853. .15 linear ft. Location: S:24, Misc:B. Surveyor general of Florida and a colonel in the U.S. Army; brother of Louisiana judge Thomas Butler. Holographic poems, most signed and dated by Butler and most written at Lake Jackson, Tallahassee, Florida. Many of the poems were adapted to the music of contemporary songs and hymns. One group of poems comments on the 1845 presidential election of James K. Polk and George M. Dallas and eulogizes Andrew Jackson. A promissory note (1831) is for the hire of three slaves. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1000, 3112.

Cale, John G., 1922-. Abstract, 1967. 1 item. Location: Misc. Genealogical data on the Henri Fourrier family of Baton Rouge taken from a paper by Cale, which he gave at an American Musicological Society meeting in New Orleans. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2304.

Cale, John G., 1922-. Papers, 1966-1968. 98 items, 1 ms. vol., microfilm. Location: Mf. Thematic index cards and bound typewritten seminar paper list titles of manuscript and printed music of Henri and Joseph Amedee Fourrier in the LSU Library and the Baton Rouge School for the Blind. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2304.

Cameron, Giulia Valda. Letters, 1891. 3 items. Location: Misc. Concert singer. Letters by Alfred Mapleson, of A. Mapleson and C. Siecinoski's Operatic and Concert Agency, London, apparently an agent for Giulia Valda Cameron. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1541.

Campbell, Zoe J., d. 1866. Diaries, 1856-1866. 5 items; 10 ms. vols. Location: P:1, Misc:C. Resident of New Orleans; daughter of James and Zoe Lambert Campbell and sister of Lambert Campbell, a Confederate soldier in the Civil War. Dairies document expenses, condolence visits, and piano lessons. Beginning in May 1861, they deal with the Civil War, including events in occupied New Orleans. Papers also include a funeral announcement for Campbell and a personal letter. In French. Available on microfilm: Univeristy Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reels 4-5. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1274.

Carver, George Washington, 1864?-1943. Letter: to Harry Ittner, 1933 March 8. 1 item. Location: Vault. African American educator and agricultural scientist, and director of the Research and Experiment Station at Tuskegee Institute, Alabama. Letter by Carver to Ittner discusses Ittner's studies at Antioch College (Ohio), and comments on Carver's interests in music, motion pictures, and theater. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3412.

Chol, Emmanuel, 1834-1916. Papers, 1845, 1854-1921, n.d. 1,213 items, 6 ms. vols., and 31 printed vols. Location: U:163-164, 65:29, 98:. Native of France, music teacher and composer of Thibodaux, Lafourche Parish, Louisiana. Bills and receipts, manuscript and sheet music, pamphlets, and other imprints reflect Chol's professional career, his affiliation with the Catholic Church, and the education of his children in parochial schools. Partly in French. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1790, 1906.

Chol, Emmanuel. See also: Emmanuel Chol funeral notice.

Cior, Charles, 1819-ca. 1894. La musique, selon les sciences observées. L'histoire, la phylosophie, la physiologie, etc., etc., entendre, comprendre, se souvenir, 1885. 2 ms. vols. Location: H:20. Music teacher of New Orleans and native of Paris, France. Pedagogical manuscript containing lessons on music theory, exercises, and diagrams. In French. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3287.

Coates, Charles Edward, 1866-1939. Papers, 1892-1959. 1.5 linear ft. Location: 49:14, OS:C. LSU professor of Chemistry. Correspondence, printed items, photographs, and writings of Charles Coates, and papers documenting Charles Coates' and Ollie Coates' involvement in Baton Rouge theater and pageantry. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3579.

Coates, Raymond, 1875-1965. Manuscript music, 1953, 1956, n.d. 9 items. Location: 65:82. Composer and music teacher of Baton Rouge. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2382, 2406.

Cockfield, E. J. Family Papers, 1854-1930 (bulk 1875-1890). 915 items, 26 vols. Location: A:65-66, P:19. Planter and businessman of Natchitoches Parish, Louisiana. Family papers spanning three generations include local Natchitoches news, correspondence and descriptions of the Cockfield family in Williamsburg County, South Carolina, and letters from a son in France during World War I. Included are items related to local public schools, including programs for musicals and plays at Louisiana State Normal College (now Northwestern State University). For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 989.

Collection of Dickensian programs, 1879-1936. .3 linear ft. (92 items). Mss. 1106. Programs and ephemera of theatrical performances and church bazaars in London and other English and American cities, featuring the literary works of Charles Dickens, assembled by an unknown collector. Items document plays, festivals, operas, and film productions of Dickens's works. Location: C:26. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1106.

Colomb, Bessie B. Collection, 1850-1969 (bulk 1960-1969). 134 items, 30 printed vols. Location: 79:84. Historical material pertaining principally to the New Orleans French Quarter. Included are a history of the New Orleans Little Theatre, two antebellum almanacs, and issues of the Vieux Carre Courier. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2321, 2404.

Community Concerts, Inc. Programs, 1937-1983. 1 linear ft. Location: UU:197. Programs prepared by the Community Concert Service of New York for use at musical and dance concerts of the Baton Rouge Community Concerts Association, also known as the Community Concerts Association of Baton Rouge. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4592.

Conner, Lemuel Parker, 1827-1891. Family Papers, 1810-1953,undated 12.5 linear feet and 22 ms. vols. Location: A:119-120, 98:C, OS:C, Vault, J:24. Planter from Natchez, Mississippi. Papers include correspondence, cotton statements, legal and business papers (including slave testimony in an alleged slave uprising, 1861), plantation records, and Civil War papers of Confederate soldiers and civilians, family letters from LSU and Smith College, and First Presbyterian Church (Natchez) records. Also included are papers of Levin R. Marshall, the Sessions family, and Henry R. Chotard; 256 pieces of published sheet music (1824-1883); a minstrel show program (1879); and miscellaneous programs of Natchez concerts and music recitals. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm 5322: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 3, Reels 14-18. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 81, 1403, etc. Complete finding aid. HTML | PDF

Constantinides (Dinos) Papers, 1961-1995. 5.5 linear feet. Location: 34:169-175; OS:C. Composer and faculty member at LSU School of Music. Consists of original and printed copies of sheet music, performance posters and programs, and recordings of live performances. For additional information, see online catalog. Mss. 4613. Complete finding aid.

Cooper, Emil. Papers, 1954-1959. 12 items, 1 printed vol. Location: U:115. Musical director and conductor of the Baton Rouge Symphony Orchestra. Letters to members of the Youth Concert Committee of the Junior League of Baton Rouge and the Symphony Auxiliary, concerning the Youth Concerts and, in particular, the production of Peter and the Wolf. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1929.

Cox, Ellen M. Collection, 1850s. 1 ms. vol. (365 pages). Location: 65:29. Bound sheet music published principally in Paris and purchased from New Orleans dealers. Includes a copy of Jerusalem composed for Louis Moreau Gottschalk and published in New York City (1855). For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2384.

CRESCENT RIFLES (THE), 1903. 1 item [photocopy]. Location: Impr. Song and chorus of the 'Crescent Rifles' dated January 26, 1903. Words and music are by Harry DeVere and the song was arranged by N. Martinez. The music was published by Junius Hart of New Orleans. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3061.

Curtin, Phyllis. Program, 1972. 3 items. Location: Impr. Program of a concert performance in the LSU Union Theater, March 3, 1972, autographed by soprano Phyllis Curtin. Included is a clipping of a biographical newspaper article. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2701.

Dansereau, Hercules, b. 1832. Account Books and Papers, 1807-1907 (bulk 1859-1906). 32 items, 5 ms. vols. Location: Misc:D, F:16. Physician of Thibodaux, Louisiana, and a member of the Scottish Rite Masonic Order. Papers include two medical ledgers (1860-1906) and a daybook (1874-1875); a minute book of the Scottish Rite Thibodaux Lodge No. 13 (1859-1861); and a minute book of the Philharmonic Society of Thibodaux (1861). Some manuscript volumes in French. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 823.

Davis, John. Document, 1839. 1 item [photofacsimile]. Location: Misc. Manager of the Orleans Theatre and the French Opera House in New Orleans. Last will of John Davis signed at Mandeville, Louisiana. In French. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1048.

Day, Anita G., Digital Prints. 2000. Forty (40) 5 inches X 7 inches digital prints, matted to 11 inches X 14 inches. Location: 91:3. The collection consists of 40 digital prints of images created at the 1999 Festivals Acadiens, an annual cultural event that began in 1972. The Lafayette Jaycees, along with the help of Rubber Boots, Inc., organize the principal components of Festivals Acadiens, including four separate festivals: Festival de Musique Acadienne; La Vie Cadienne Wetlands Folklife Festival; Heritage Pavilion, and; Bayou Food Festival. These festivals are held in Girard Park in Lafayette, Louisiana. The 1999 festival, during which these images were created, was held from Friday, September 17, through Sunday, September 19. These prints were part of the exhibition, "Preservation as Public Spectacle: Festivals Acadiens," displayed in Hill Memorial Library in 2000. Mss. 4993. Complete finding aid.

de Caro, Francis A. and Rosan A. Jordan, 1926-2006, n.d. (bulk 1966-2003) 12.5 linear ft. Location: 11:19, 15:15-20. De Caro and Jordan were folklorists, authors, and Louisiana State University (Baton Rouge, La.) professors. The collection includes personal and professional correspondence, writings, exhibitions, photographs, printed items consisting of brochures, handbills, newspapers, and posters; and topical files that document de Caro's folklore class at LSU, his work with the Louisiana Folklife Commission, and Jordan's work with the women's movement. Writings as well as exhibitions comprise material primarily related to folklore within Louisiana and British colonial life in India. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3197, 4089, 4164. Complete finding aid.

De Forest, George. Scrapbooks, 1935-1943. 4 vols. Location: 28-49. New Orleans bookseller. Contents consist almost entirely of the column 'Art, Music, Literature, and Drama,' clipped from 'The Border Telegraph' (Galashiels, Peeblesshire, Scotland) between 1935 and 1943. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2600.

De Lapouyade, Robert. Collection, 1848-1936 (bulk 1894-1933). 204 items and 9 vols. Location: P:19, OS:D. Scenic artist born in Covington, St. Tammany Parish, Louisiana. Collection contains business correspondence (1911-1935), programs for plays and operas at various New Orleans theaters, photographs, a book of sketches, postcards displaying De Lapouyade's work, and a scrapbook concerning his work. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1011, 1040.

De Lapouyade, Robert. Photographs, n.d. 2 items. Location: R:63. Scenic artist born in Covington, St. Tammany Parish, Louisiana. Photographs of De Lapouyade's stencil for marking stage settings and a spear made for an opera. Included are comments on the objects photographed. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2629.

Delsarte, François Alexandre Nicolas, 1811-1871. Papers, 1811-1934 (bulk 1830-1899), n.d. 1,448 items, 74 ms. vols., 33 printed vols. Location: 35:82-95, OS:D. French educator, music and dramatic instructor, and originator of a widely recognized system of elocution. Professional papers contain materials relating to the study of pantomime; notes and manuscripts of writings by Delsarte's pupils, William Alger and James MacKaye, together with studies of the Delsarte system by S. S. Curry, Claude Shaver, and others. Partly in French. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1301. Complete finding aid in PDF

Detro, Randall A. (Randall Augustus), 1931-. Collection, 1932-1988. .1 cubic ft. (20 items) [photocopies]. Location: W:54. Mostly circulars of Huey Long and the Long political organization concerning the programs of Long during Governor O. K. Allen's administration. Collection includes a handbill and publicity photograph from a 1988 production of the play 'The Kingfish.'. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4138.

Dunbar, Elijah. Correspondence, 1850, 1851. 2 items. Location: Misc. Resident of Canton, Massachusetts, and a boarder living in New Orleans, employed by a music dealer. Correspondence includes a letter by William T. Mayo of New Orleans, stating makes and number of pianos sold; and a letter by H. Waring, New Orleans, commenting on various people at Dunbar's boarding house. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1337.

Dunbar, Elijah. Letters, 1851. 3 items. Location: Misc. Resident of Canton, Massachusetts, and a boarder living in New Orleans, employed by a music dealer. Letters by Dunbar to his sister, Miss Chloe Dunbar, of Canton, Massachusetts, describing his religious, social, and business activities. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 985, 991.

Dunkley, Ferdinand. Musical arrangement, n.d. 1 item. Location: 65:4. Louisiana composer, organist, and conductor, affiliated with Loyola University of the South. Musical arrangement for orchestration of 'Praise the Lord' by Ferdinand Dunkley. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 965.

Dupre and Metoyer and Company. Account book, 1830-1837, 1873. 1 vol. Location: F:15. General merchandise store in Isle Brevelle, Natchitoches Parish, Louisiana, owned by Emanuel Dupre and J. B. D. Metoyer, free blacks. Inventory of stock of Dupre and Metoyer and Company. An entry in 1873 records a mortgage due to Oscar Dubreuil. Copies of songs and drawings by Leatter Dupre appear in the back of the book. In French. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 834.

Durnin, James and John. Papers, 1849-1881. 24 items, 7 vols. Location: E:4. James Durnin was a resident of St. Helena Parish, Louisiana, and Confederate soldier in the Civil War, serving in Louisiana and Mississippi. John Durnin, a brother, also served in the Confederate army. Papers include correspondence, bills, accounts, clippings of the Durnin family. Correspondence includes Civil War letters of James and John Durnin. Bound volumes include 3 cash books; a minute book of the Pickwick Baseball Club, Amite City, Louisiana; and a notebook with a list of music pieces and some scores. Available on microfilm 5735: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reel 4. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 697. Complete Finding Aid. HTML | PDF

E. S. Ballad, 1874. 2 items. Copy of a printed ballad concerning the 'Battle of Liberty Place,' New Orleans, September 14, 1874, in which the White League forces defeated the Metropolitan Police of the Carpet-Bag-Scalawag government in a pitched battle at the head of Canal Street. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1439.

Eaton, Edward O., and Charles Lever. Song, 1864. 1 item. Location: Impr.Sheet music of a Civil War song, Camp Fire Song, with words by Charles Lever and music by Edward Eaton. The song is dedicated to Captain Charles E. Fenner of Fenner's Louisiana Battery and was published by Blackmar and Bro., Augusta, Georgia. Misc. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 134.

Ely, Richard Theodore, 1854-1943. Collection, 1544-1927 (bulk 1558-1835), n.d. 396 items, 9 ms. vols. Location: 94, OS:E. Economics professor of Maryland and Illinois. Collection includes documentation collected by Ely of land tenure issues in England from the 16th to the 18th centuries; letters from 19th century English notables; Ely's personal papers; and the papers of his father, E. S. Ely. Included are five Revolutionary War period musical broadsides condemning France and Thomas Paine. Filed in the manuscript card catalog under Ely, Richard T. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 552.

Emmanuel Chol funeral notice, 1916. 1 item. Location: Impr. Funeral notice for Professor Emmanuel Chol, composer and teacher of music, of Thibodaux, Louisiana. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1771.

Everett, Edward. Scrapbook, 1893-1916. 1 ms. vol. Location: M:19. Playbills, programs, and news bulletins for plays, opera, vaudeville, and other entertainment in Chicago, New York City, Pittsburgh, Washington, D.C., and other cities. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2306.

Favrot, Joseph St. Clair, 1872-1943. Family Papers, 1900-1924. 25 items. Location: UU:73. The Favrot family (Joseph, Beverly, and Joseph, Jr.) was active in amateur theater productions in Baton Rouge. Papers include Baton Rouge theater programs and other ephemeral printed material; and six photographs, some by A. D. Lytle, depicting Baton Rouge scenes, including some Civil War scenes. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3317.

Federal Theatre Project. (U.S.) Playhouse of the Federal Theatre: program, 1938. 1 vol. Location: E:Impr. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1980.

Ferguson, Kate Lee, b. 1841. Papers, 1858-1911. 38 items; 7 vols. (1 ms. vol. and 1 printed vol.). Location: S:28, 65:, 98:F. Available on microfilm: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reel 10. Novelist, poet, and composer of Mississippi. She married Confederate general Samuel Wragg Ferguson in 1862. Papers include personal letters from friends and family members; a Spanish land grant for property in Texas of Nathaniel A. Ware (Ferguson's grandfather); manuscripts by Ferguson, including prose, poetry, and music; Ferguson's memoirs; and photographs. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1416, 1576. Complete Finding Aid. HTML | PDF

Ferguson, Percy. Papers, 1864, 1899-1916. 9 items and 1 ms. vol. Location: OS:F. Daughter of Confederate general Samuel Wragg Ferguson. Scrapbook of manuscript poems by Percy Ferguson; a letter from her cousin, U.S. Senator LeRoy Percy of Mississippi, pertaining to national politics; and published music by Regina Morphy Voitier of New Orleans. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1416.

Ferraro, Louis, and Sam Adams. Manuscript, 1969. 2 items. Location: UU:169. Louis Ferraro, Associate Professor of Music, and Sam Adams, Professor of Education, at LSU. Handwritten manuscript by Ferraro and typewritten 'translation' by Adams of Music: Imaginative Listening (Baton Rouge: Claitor's Publishing Division, 1969). For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2439.

Fourrier, Henri, and Joseph Amedee Fourrier. Papers, 1838-1915, n.d. 240 items, 2 ms. vols. Location: OS:33. Henri Fourrier was a French composer and graduate of the Royal Academy of Music in Paris. His son, Joseph Fourrier, was organist of St. Joseph's Catholic Church in Baton Rouge and director of the Fourrier Concert Band. Papers of Henri Fourrier include a bookplate (1838) from the Institution Royale des jeunes avengles, in Paris; and sacred musical scores composed and copied by him. Papers of Joseph include sacred and popular musical scores arranged and copied by him. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1456.

Fourrier, Henri, and Joseph Amedee Fourrier. Papers, 1853, n.d. 3 ms. vols. Location: 65:33. Henri Fourrier was a French composer and graduate of the Royal Academy of Music in Paris. His son, Joseph Fourrier, was organist of St. Joseph's Catholic Church in Baton Rouge and director of the Fourrier Concert Band. Bound manuscript musical scores. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2298.

Fourrier, Joseph Amadee. Sheet music, 1844-1912. 34 items and 1 vol. Location: 65:33. Baton Rouge music store proprietor and organis at St. Joseph's Church. Sheet music (1844-1912), some illustrated, includes both popular and sacred works. Filed in the manuscript card catalog under Fourrier, J. Amadee. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2600-73.

French Opera Association. Stock certificate, 1910. 1 item. Location: Misc. Certificate for one share in the capital stock of the French Opera Association, Limited, of New Orleans, issued to C. M. Abrams. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1491.

French Opera House Bill, 1873. 1 item. Location: Misc.Decorative printing, 'Opera House.' For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1919.

Fuchs, Peter Paul. Papers, 1956,1959, 1976, n.d. 5 items. Location: W:37. Composer and conductor of the Baton Rouge Symphony. Papers consist of three speeches pertaining to music theory and production, an English-language adaptation of the libretto of Verdi's 'Un Ballo in Maschera,' and the libretto of a one-act lyrical comedy, 'Serenade at Noon,' by Ann Vermel. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3051.

Funchess, Lloyd Vance, 1908-1976. Oral history interview, 1976. 1 sound cassette (1 hour), transcript (26 pages). Location: L:4700.20. Faculty member at LSU, composer of the LSU alma mater, and supervisor of music for the Louisiana State Department of Education. Interview concerning the composition of the LSU alma mater and Funchess's career. For further information see online catalog. Mss. L 4700.20.

Gaiety Theatre. Program, n.d. 1 item. Location: Impr. Plays starring Laurette Taylor, Florence Vidor, Edmund Lowe, George Arliss, and Alice Joyce. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2525.

Gebelin-Walsh-Hynes-Frenzel Family Papers. 1860 - 2007 (bulk dates 1900 - 1970) 2.5 cubic feet. Location: 91:1 - 2, OS:G. This collection of photographs and a few textual materials provides a largely visual record of the allied Gebelin, Walsh, Hynes, and Frenzel families. Beginning in the 1860s and continuing through the 1980s, portraits and informal photographs document the lives of family members and family friends and acquaintances. A few images, beginning 1900 and continuing until the 1960s, record three family homes in Baton Rouge. The bulk of the material documents the life and times of Elizabeth Gertrude Gebelin Hynes (1911 February 20 - 1982 February 09) including her childhood, marriage, travels, family events, and social life and customs of Baton Rouge, Louisiana. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4983. Complete Finding Aid. PDF

Geelvink, H. A. Notebook, 1824. 1 ms. vol. Location: M:20. Native of Emden, Germany. Notebook contains handwritten music and lyrics. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 63.

Gillespie, James A., planter. Family Papers, 1776-1928 (bulk 1840-1890). 1,149 items, 20 ms. vols. Location: E:22-24, G:16, 65:G, Vault. Planter of Hollywood Plantation, Adams County, Mississippi, and Indian Village Plantation, Concordia Parish, Louisiana. Collection includes plantation records, business papers, and correspondence of the Gillespie family and business papers of the Davis family. Papers include slave sales, land deeds, a will, diaries, portraits, maps, sheet music, and fashion publications. Includes some printed items in German. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm: University Publications of America Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B, Part 4, Reels 5-8, or Records of Ante-Bellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series I, Part 3, Reels 13-14. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 669, 695, 1104, 2086. Complete Finding Aid

Girault, Auguste, b. 1790 or 91. Papers, 1808-1845. 12 items. Location: Misc:G. Music professor in New Orleans. Girault (earlier known as Giraud) was a native of Nantes, France. Papers include passports, a discharge from military service, and correspondence, among it a letter from Dulisse Alleye recalling two years spent in prison with Girault. In French, one item in Spanish. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1145.

Gottschalk, Louis Moreau. Letter, n.d. 1 item. Location: Misc. Louisiana composer and musician. Letter to 'Mon cher Antony' introducing Louisa Scheibel, a pupil of Gottschalk. In French. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1454.

Gottschalk, Louis Moreau. Photograph, n.d. 1 item. Location: E:70. Louisiana composer and musician. Carte de visite photograph, possibly of Louis Gottschalk. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2734.

Gray, Lillie Trust. Papers, 1860-1920 (bulk 1886-1890). 178 items; 8 vols. Location: U:154; F:9. Musician and teacher at the Convent of the Sacred Heart, Convent, St. James Parish, Louisiana. Papers document Gray's teaching of and interest in music, and include a record book (1874-1900, 1902) containing lists of musical compositions and a diary (1900-1905) containing entries on music sung at Roman Catholic masses. Collection also includes household and farm entries; receipts for music lessons; and a payroll book (1865-1867) for Houmas Plantation. The payroll book is available on microfilm: University Publications of America Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B, Part 1, Reel 15. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 165, 965, 422.

Hanley, Ben. Collection, 1919-1936, n.d. 41 items. Location: U:115. Director of the New Orleans School of Speech and Dramatic Art, teacher in the New Orleans Public High Schools, and one of the organizers of Le Petite Theatre du Vieux Carre and the New Orleans Conservatory of Music. Papers include announcements, circulars, programs, and related items pertaining to the Anna Morgan Studios in Chicago, Emerson College in Boston, and the New Orleans School of Speech and Dramatic Art. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1683.

Hart-Bonnecaze-Duncan Family Papers, 1775-1949 (bulk 1840-1875, 1905-1940). 2 linear ft., 2 mf reels. Location: T:18, OS:H, Mss.Mf:B. Baton Rouge families related by marriage. Leon Bonnecaze was a businessman and French consular agent; Samuel Hart was the first chief of the Baton Rouge Fire Department; Robert Hart served as Baton Rouge mayor in 1898-1902. Papers include correspondence and writings; legal records; financial records; ephemera; sheet music; and photographs. Papers provide some information on civilian conditions in the Civil War and on the Baton Rouge Fire Department. Partly in French. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3371, 4208. Complete finding aid

Hasselmans, Louis, 1878-1957. Papers, 1825-1945. 116 items, 4 printed vols. Location: U:156, 11:10. Musician and conductor of the Opéra comique in Paris, France, and in Montreal, Canada; the Chicago Civic Opera; and the Metropolitan Opera (as director of French repertory). He later was professor of music at LSU. Collection includes papers and photographs of Louis Hasselmans and papers of his grandfather, Joseph Hasselmans, a native Belgian who conducted orchestras in Strasbourg and Marseilles, France. Partly in French. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 865. Complete finding aid. (Also available in PDF.)

Hayden, Estelle. Theater scrapbooks, 1899-1949. 12 ms. vols. Location: F:20. Programs of New York City operatic, dramatic, and musical productions, collected by Hayden. Scrapbooks contain pictures of many of the actors and singers involved. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1675.

Himel family sheet music, 1870-1913, n.d. 48 items. Location: 65:34. Residents of Convent, St. James Parish, Louisiana. Sheet music collected by members of the Himel family (Hélène, Carrie, Edna, Rita, and Odette). For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2600-73.

Howard, Ellen E. (Elizabeth) journal, [ca.1866] 1 item. Location: Misc. Resident of Mississippi. Summary: In this incomplete journal, Ellen Howard relates her experiences while traveling to and from New Orleans and her social activities during her visit, including sight seeing, visiting, and attending the theater and opera. She also provides descriptions of the city, Mardi Gras, and a stage performance by the actor, Lawrence P. Barrett. She also mentions the attentions of a Mr. Gillespie, whom she later married. Mss. 3877.

Hudson, Frederick Gray. Collection, 1890-1957, n.d. 150 items, 1 vol. Location: W:36. Lawyer of Monroe, Louisiana. Collection consists mainly of materials pertaining to New York theatrical activities, including playbills, clippings, pictures, and programs. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2953.

Huey P. Long collection, 1934?-1935. 3 items. Location: Misc:H. Winnfield, Louisiana, attorney, Louisiana Public Service Commission member, Louisiana governor, and U.S. senator. Collection includes a photograph of Long and friends, a pamphlet concerning Long and the Senate, and published sheet music. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4264.

No "I" Records

Johnson, William T. Family Papers, 1793-1937 (bulk 1830-1870).1,323 items, 58 ms. Vols., 5 printed vols. Location: U:161, O:24, 65:, TC.  African-American barber and planter of Natchez. Personal papers, commercial records, diaries, and music of the Johnson family reflecting the condition of cultured and educated free persons of color both before and after the Civil War. Available on microfilm 5322: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 4, Reels 1-6. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 529, 561, 597, 770, 926, 1093. Complete finding aid. HTML | PDF

Jones, Ellen E., b. 1852. Ellen E. Jones journal and Claude Perry letter, 1854-1872 (bulk 1871-1872). 2 items. Location: Misc:J. Resident of Georgia. Journal contains reminiscences about Jones's school years in Georgia and Pennsylvania. She discusses life in Macon, Georgia, mentioning holidays, balls, and theatrical productions. Also included is a letter from her aunt, Claude Perry, to her mother. Available on microfilm: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reel 15. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4057.

Kidd, John W., 1911-. Photographs and broadside, 1936-1940. 8 items. Location: B:1. LSU alumnus, conductor of the swing band Johnny Kidd and His Orchestra, and member of Owen Reed and the Playhouse Orchestra. Photographs of Kidd and other members of swing bands based at LSU; and a broadside of 'Johnny Kidd and His Orchestra' (n.d.). For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4635.

Kilbourne, James Gilliam, 1828-1893. Family Papers, 1817, 1869-1939 (bulk 1869-1939). .3 linear ft., 2 vols. Location: T:29. Planter, jurist, state legislator, Confederate captain, and member of the law firm Fuqua and Kilbourne of East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. Papers include letters to Mrs. James Gilliam Kilbourne from her children; and verse and music composed by a daughter, Margaret Gayden Kilbourne Breedlove. They also document family history, the Kilbourne library, and the succession of Peter Gilliam. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1058.

L.S.U. WALTZ, sheet music, 1897. 1 printed item. Location: 65:. Sheet music for the 'L.S.U. Waltz' by Theo. D. Meyer, published by Philip Werlein, Ltd., New Orleans. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3187.

La Farge, Oliver. Papers, 1929-1932. 4 items, 1 vol. Location: Misc., M:18. Papers include a copy of the Pulitzer Prize winning novel Laughing Boy, a program of the adapted play by Otis Chatfield-Taylor, and correspondence describing Native American dances. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1421.

Lane, Pinkie Gordon Papers, 1925-2001, undated (bulk 1970-2000) 15 linear ft., 1 volume. Location: T:128-141; T:100 (short shelf); G:15; OS:L. African American poet, Louisiana poet laureate (1989-1992), and Southern University (Baton Rouge, La.) professor. Also the first African American woman to graduate from Louisiana State University with a Ph.D. Papers include personal and professional correspondence, writings, photographs, conference materials, printed items consisting of newspaper clippings, newsletters, programs, and fliers; and topical files that document Lane's personal and professional life. Her writings comprise copies of her poetry - some unpublished, book reviews, and an unpublished attempt at early prose work. Items concentrate on her African American colleagues and interest in African American literature and events. Lane was a resident of Baton Rouge (La.) since 1957 and accumulated a number of printed items for Baton Rouge events and organizations, including the Olympic Torch relay through Baton Rouge in 1996, and professional organizational newsletters for Capital Area Network. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4629. Complete finding aid. HTML |PDF

Langevin, Carmen Browder, 1900-1967. Papers, 1940-1968, n.d. 14 items. Location: Misc. Dancer and weaver of Berkeley, California. Papers refer to Langevin's career as a student of Isadora Duncan, as a professional dancer and teacher of dancing, and as a weaver. Included is a biography of Duncan by Langevin; photographs of Langevin as a dancer; and correspondence and other papers. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2608.

Lawrence family. Papers, 1889-1926, n.d. .1 linear ft. Location: OS:L. Family of New Orleans. George Washington Lawrence, a medical doctor, was married to Clara E. Solomon, Jewish diarist in New Orleans during the Civil War. Papers include typescripts of letters, the last will of George W. Lawrence, manuscript sheet music, and photographs of Clara Solomon and the Lawrence daughters. Available on microfilm: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reel 15. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4627.

LeBlond, Coralie. Music collection, ca. 1850-1870. 3 ms. vols. Location: 65. Concert pianist and composer of New Orleans. Sheet music, principally by Louisiana composers, arrangers, and publishers, collected by Coralie LeBlond, including one of her own compositions. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 2204, 2205.

Lee, Eleanor Percy, 1820-1849. Eleanor Percy Lee and Catharine Ann Warfield Papers, 1835-1876 (bulk 1835-1849). 19 items, 6 ms. vols., 2 printed vols. Location: E:51, H:16. Eleanor Percy Lee (nee Ware), poet and novelist of Natchez, Mississippi. Her sister, father, and daughter were also authors. Writings and correspondence of Eleanor Lee include six manuscript volumes of novels, prose, and poems. Collection also includes loose poems, family photographs, and sheet music. Available on microfilm: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reels 31-32. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1416, 1576, 1971.

Leidigh, Jacob M. Correspondence, 1859-1860. 4 items. Location: Misc. Letters by Northerners teaching music at the Brooksville Academy in Mississippi, to their brother, giving their impressions of slavery in Mississippi. They also describe travel and Colonel Brooks's plantation home. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1598.

Lieutaud, Albert Louis. Collection, 1650, 1801-1965. Location: U:247-250, OS:L, 34:8-14. Albert Louis Lieutaud was a French art and manuscript dealer in New Orleans, La. Letters, books, pamphlets, sketches, and sheet music concerning New Orleans and Louisiana history; the career of R.J. Morgan, a 19th-century English actor in the United States; railroad transportation in the United States; the American Civil War; and Lieutaud's own literary works and his work as an art and manuscript dealer. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1407, 1700, 1771, 1784, 1853, 1936, 2046, 2211, 2369, 2469.

Long, Huey Pierce, 1893-1935. Papers, 1927-1935. 9 items. Location: Misc. Winnfield, Louisiana, attorney, Louisiana Public Service Commission member, Louisiana governor, and U.S. senator. Papers include letters (some photocopies) and bills pertaining to Louisiana legislature, broadside, cartoon, and sheet music of 'Every Man a King.'. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 557, 1240, 1350, 1956.

Long, Huey P. See also: Huey P. Long collection.

Louisiana Folklife. Program files. 1976-1998 (1979-1996). 22 linear ft. 21 video cassettes ; 3/4 in. 3112 sound cassettes; 1/4 in. Location: 63:2-11, OS:F, L:45-54, 115:24-28, L:2a-4a. The Louisiana Folklife Program is one of the programs of the Division of the Arts. The mandate of the Folklife Program is to identify, document, preserve, and present Louisiana's traditional cultures. Collection includes correspondence, financial documents and papers, grant drafts. Also included are Folklife Program publications data, printed materials, newspaper clippings, posters, photographs, oral history recordings, videos, and contracts with musicians and craftspeople and completed applications, different commissions' minutes and materials, and correspondence and documentation on different folklife projects and folklife festivals. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4730. Complete Finding Aid. HTML | PDF

Louisiana Music Teachers Association. Papers, 1954-1971. 91 items. Location: E:Imprints, 6:65. Papers of the Louisiana Music Teachers Association include newsletters, questionnaires, and papers pertaining to conventions, membership, and professional activities. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2626, 2813. Complete Finding Aid.

Louisiana State University (Baton Rouge, La.). School of Music. Programs, 1985-[ongoing]. 1 linear ft. Location: A:104. Programs of recitals and concerts produced by the LSU School of Music. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3305.

Lyrics, n.d. 7 items. Location: Impr. Broadsides of Civil War and other lyrics. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 893.

M. Faler and Company. Letters, 1886-1889. 1 vol. Location: O:4. General mercantile and cotton pressing company in Hazelhurst, Copiah County, Mississippi. The company was managed by M. Faler and Andrew Mangold. Letter book of original letters. Business letters concern the purchase and sale of goods, insurance, and related matters. Personal letters to Mangold concern the Hazelhurst Church and the Hazelhurst Opera House, along with letters from his brother. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1092.

Mandeville, Henry D. (Henry David), 1781-1878. Family Papers, 1815-1925 (bulk 1854-1883). 2 linear ft. (1,776 items), 6 ms. vols. Location: U:214-216. Henry D. Mandeville, originally from Philadelphia, was a factor in trade with China; his son Henry, Jr., was a lawyer in Natchez, Mississippi. Two other sons, Theodore and Ellwyn, served in the Confederate army. Collection includes personal and business correspondence documenting life in Natchez and New Orleans; the operation of Westwood Plantation (owned by Henry, Jr.), in Louisiana; and Civil War papers of Theodore and Ellwyn. Papers also include letters referring to musical performances in Arkansas, Virginia, Natchez, New Orleans, and Chicago; and materials documenting civilian life in New Orleans in the Civil War. Available (with some ommissions) on microfilm: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 3, Reels 3-6. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 491, 535.

Marino, Samuel Joseph, 1916-. Papers, 1935-1994 (bulk 1935-1946). .5 linear ft. Location: B:14. LSU student in the 1930s and member of the Louisiana Kings and Owen Reed and the Playhouse Orchestra swing bands in the late 1930s. Correspondence, printed items, photographs, and other items documenting swing bands and the musical careers of Marino and other band members. Papers also include World War II correspondence of Marino and others; and LSU photographs and ephemera. Also included is manuscript sheet music for 'Phi Ep Dream Girl' by Walter Schwimmer and a phonographic record of Samuel Marino, vocals, with the Louisiana Kings (1941). For further information see online catalog. Mss. 2217.

Marx, Mary Robertson. Collection, 1863-1970, n.d. 1,462 items. Location: 95:. Resident of Baton Rouge. Clippings of newspaper and magazine articles and other printed items pertain mainly to the Civil War, World War II, and other historical subjects; and to Louisiana history, politics, culture, and social events. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2796.

Mather, Mary. Music collection, ca. 1860-1890. 3 vols. Location: H:11. Bound volumes of sheet music for piano, including waltzes, polkas, and popular melodies. Most of the sheet music was printed in New Orleans. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4466.

McCollam, Andrew and Ellen. Papers, 1839-1867. 3 vols. [typescript copies]. Location: H:1, BTC. Andrew McCollam was a surveyor-planter of Ascension and Assumption parishes, Louisiana. Plantation diary (1842-1851) of Ellen McCollam pertains to family life, domestic activities, general plantation matters, and attendance at the theater. Travel diary (1866-1867) of Andrew McCollam contains entries for a trip to Brazil. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 550.

Metropolitan Opera archives, photographs, n.d. 153 items. Location: W:2. Photographs of forty Metropolitan Opera performers, chiefly costumed for various operas, from the company archives. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2600-73.

Meyer, Eveleen. Announcement, 1915. 1 item. Location: Misc. Announcement for a song recital in New Orleans. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2525.

Miller, Frederick F. Letter, ca. 1842. 1 item. Location: Misc. Professor and conductor of music in New Orleans. Letter to Miss Rebecca Valentine of Cambridgeport, Massachusetts, commenting on the music situation in New Orleans. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 895.

Miller, Warren. Scrapbooks and memorabilia, 1909-1947. .5 linear ft. Location: M:24. New Orleans attorney and civic leader. Two scrapbook volumes, photographs, Sugar Bowl programs, and phonographic recordings of college songs document Miller's civic activities and his involvement with the founding of the Sugar Bowl college football game. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3612.

Moore, Eddie. Musical composition, 1893. 1 item [microfilm copy and enlargement print]. Location: Misc., Mf. New Orleans mulatto studying music at a conservatory in Stuttgart, Germany. Musical composition, 'Mazurka d'encore,' by Moore. The composition is part of an autograph album of Rosa Frantz Harper. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1288.

Murdoch, James Edward, 1811-1893. Papers, 1837-1903. 35 items. Location: A:2. American actor and father of Fannie Murdoch. They were associated with John Pierpont, a Unitarian clergyman, author, and abolitionist. Collection consists of letters written to Murdoch, his daughter, John Pierpont, W. F. Bridges, and others from actors, authors, New England abolitionists, and Unitarian clergymen. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 667.

Music journal collection, 1876-1899. 34 items. Location: OS:M. Various periodicals related to music and song. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2600-73.

New Orleans Grand Opera Company. Check book, 1919-1920. 1 vol. Location: J:12. Check book of the New Orleans Grand Opera Company on the Canal Bank and Trust Company showing deposits and disbursements. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 922.

New Orleans Opera Company. Tickets, 1919-1920 season. 5 items. Subscription tickets featuring Louis P. Verande, impresario. Impr. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1189.

New Orleans Opera Guild. Program, 1960. 1 item. Location: Impr. Program for 'Look Homeward, Angel,' with Miriam Hopkins. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2525.

New Orleans opera-theatre scrapbook, 1899-1937 (bulk 1913-1914). 8 items, 1 ms. vol. Location: Misc., M:20. Scrapbook contains programs for operas, plays, and benefit performances given at the French Opera House and at New Orleans theatres. Loose items include programs for plays given at the Tulane Theatre and for Sarah Bernhardt's engagement at the Dauphine. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 794.

New Orleans theater and opera scrapbook, 1900-1910, n.d. 1 vol. Location: Unprocessed. Mss. 4111.

New York theater program collection, 1916-1925. 161 items, 1 printed vol. Location: C:69. Printed programs and handbills of theaters, opera houses, and nightclubs, chiefly in New York City, but also including London and Buenos Aires. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1321.

Olivier, Gaston. Song, 1975. 1 printed item. Location: Impr. Copyrighted song, 'That Tiger Is Still a Coonass,' refers to the LSU football team. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3006.

Opelousas, La. Philharmonic Literary and Dramatic Association. Handbill, n.d. 1 item. Location: Impr. Benefit performance given for the Public School Building Fund. 'Ten Nights In A Bar-Room,' dramatized from T. S. Arthur's novel, was presented. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1189.

Order of the Eastern Star. Papers, 1910-1940. 23 items. Location: W:1. Secret social order composed of Masons, their wives, sisters, daughters, mothers, and widows. Papers of Mrs. Frankie Mae Lewis, in 1940 Worthy Matron of the Dodson, Louisiana, chapter of the O.E.S., consisting of notes, clippings, hymns, and volumes of procedural rules and parliamentary practice. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2600-73.

Page, Frank Crawford. Papers, 1923-1972, n.d. 360 items, 10 ms. vols. Location: W:13. Organist and professor of music at LSU. Correspondence, notes, and printed items pertain to teaching activities, recitals, pipe organ specifications, and general music studies. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2837.

Patti, Adelina, 1843-1919. Letters, 1889-1891, n.d. 15 items. Location: Misc. Italian opera singer. Letters from England and United States to Patti's friend, concert singer Giulia Valda Cameron, giving information on personal plans. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1541.

Patti, Adelina, 1843-1919. Sheet music, n.d. 1 item. Location: 65:. Italian opera singer. Sheet music illustrated with a large picture of Patti, advertising Myers Brothers, leading grocers of Martinsburg, West Virginia. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1557.

Paull, E. T. Sheet music, 1898. 1 item. Location: 65:. Spanish-American War march, 'We'll Stand by the Flag,' published by E. T. Paull Music Company, New York City. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1638.

Peters, Samuel Jarvis, 1823-1863. Diary, 1840-1862. 1 vol. Location: E:49. Samuel J. Peters, Jr., was the son of New Orleans merchant, civic leader, and banker Samuel Jarvis Peters. He worked as a clerk in New York City (1841-1842), then returned to New Orleans to work in his father's business. Diary describes social life in New Orleans during the antebellum period and in the Civil War prior to federal occupation of the city. Includes entries on family life and health, theater in New Orleans, and national news. Some early 1840 entries are in German. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1355.

Peterson, Clara Gottschalk. Published music, 1909. 1 printed vol. Location: OS:P. Revised edition of Creole Songs From New Orleans in the Negro-Dialect Set to Music by Clara Gottschalk Peterson. Published by the L. Grunewald Co., Ltd., New Orleans, 1909. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2143.

Peytavin, John Ludger, b. 1859. Papers, 1806-1937. 342 items, 43 vols. Location: C:27-29, O:17, OS:P, 99:P. Attorney, author, composer, and planter of Ancient Domain Plantation in St. James Parish, Louisiana, and of New Orleans. Business and professional papers concern the operation of Peytavin's plantation and law practice. Personal papers include correspondence, manuscript copies of poems, songs, speeches, and historical sketches. Collection also includes programs for New Orleans theater, opera, and concert performances. Most of the legal papers before 1843 are in French, as is some of the post-1885 correspondence. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 465, 1067, 1071, 1072.

Peytavin, John Ludger, b. 1859. Papers, 1852-1915. 102 items. Location: UU:84. Attorney, author, composer, and planter of Ancient Domain Plantation in St. James Parish, Louisiana, and of New Orleans. Collection includes letters, bills, and receipts; and photographs, chiefly of Jefferson College in Convent, Louisiana, which Peytavin attended. A brochure describes the residents and history of Jefferson and several other parishes. Included are two family photograph albums, a volume of music composed by Peytavin, and two bound volumes of published sheet music. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1447.

Playmakers of Baton Rouge. Programs, 1985-1991. .1 linear ft. Location: E:38. Professional theater company for young audiences organized in Baton Rouge, circa 1982. Programs of performances and benefit galas. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4612.

Poetry scrapbooks and blacksmith ledger, 1833-1883. .2 linear ft. (2 vols.). Location: C:26. Clippings from New Orleans newspapers, including presidential campaign songs, poetry, and Confederate lyrics. Vol. 1 was originally a blacksmith ledger and contains blacksmith entries. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 2297.

Post, Lauren Chester, 1899-1976. Papers, 1899-1977, n.d. 10 linear ft. Location: 7:11-19, W:10. Professor of geography at San Diego State University, author of Cajun Sketches (1974) and Louisiana As It Is (1969) and native of Rayne, Louisiana. Correspondence, an autobiography, research materials, published and unpublished works, newspaper clippings, recordings of folk music, interviews, photos, and other material related to Post's books and research on Cajun folklife and other topics. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2854.

Presidential campaign songs, 1876, 1884. 4 items. Location: OS:P. Sheet music for presidential campaign songs for Rutherford B. Hayes, Governor Samuel J. Tilden, and James G. Blaine. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2600-73.

No "Q" Records

Randall, Lizzie. Letter, [1851]. 1 item. Location: Misc. Niece of Dr. and Mrs. McCormick of New Orleans and visitor to their home. Letter to a friend in Connecticut describing New Orleans social life, including visits to the opera, art museums, and concert halls. Randall writes about performances by Rosa Devries and Jenny Lind. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1326.

Reconstruction pamphlet, 1865. 1 item. Location: Impr. Lyrics for a song suggesting that North and South unite against Maximilian in Mexico, invoking the Monroe Doctrine, entitled, 'How Are You, Maximilian? or, Off for Mexico.' For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3365.

Reed, Mary. Collection, 1937-1968, n.d. 102 items. Location: U:144. Playbills for theatrical and musical performances, dramatic readings, opera, ballet, and vaudeville, principally in New York City. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2474.

Reiff, Anton. Journal, 1856-1857. 1 ms. vol., 1 mf reel. Location: Misc., Mss.Mf:R. Musician touring with the Pyne and Harrison Opera Company from New York to New Orleans. Diary records daily activities, comments on theater facilities, musical performances attended, music in churches visited, scenery and social customs, and other matters. Reiff recorded his impressions of steamboat travel and his visits to Memphis, Tennessee; Natchez, Mississippi; Baton Rouge; and other cities. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3274.

Richardson, Carey Johnson. Papers, 1864-1986. 1 linear ft. Location: 12:27. Papers include playbills and programs for New York theater productions annotated by Mrs. Richardson (1950s-1960s); an original typescript of Eudora Welty's The Ponder Heart; a letter from Maxwell Anderson (1956); and a prayerbook (1864). For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4189.

Ripley, Mrs. E. Letter, 1909. 1 item [typed copy]. Location: Misc. Resident of New York. Letter published in the New Orleans Times Democrat gives supplementary facts to an article on the musical history of New Orleans. It describes in detail a fancy dress ball given by Joseph Kennedy at the New Orleans Mint in the 1850s. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 369.

Rolling, Hubert, 1823-1898. Scrapbook, 1843-1898. 15 items, including 1 vol. Location: E:Impr, H:16. New Orleans pianist, composer, and music teacher, and a native of Alsace, France. Scrapbook (with some loose items detached) documenting Rolling's professional career. It includes articles from New Orleans and French newspapers and periodicals, correspondence from Louis Moreau Gottschalk and others, and two photos of Rolling. Some correspondence and newspaper clippings in French. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 997.

Saturday Music Circle. Invitation, n.d. 1 item. Location: Impr. Invitation to a recital by Mrs. Benjamin Elsas, soprano, in the Grunewald Gold Room, possibly in New Orleans. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2600.

Schwartz, Kurt S. Papers, 1932-1935, 1967, n.d. 16 items, 1 printed vol. New Orleans resident. Collection contains printed items and correspondence concerning LSU and the LSU band. Letter from Huey Long concerning Schwartz's securing an LSU scholarship (1933) and correspondence reminiscing about Huey Long and the LSU band (1967) are included. Mss. 3740-84.

Shakespeare Club. Admit cards, [1867]. 1 item. Location: Impr. Probably of New Orleans. Admit card for a performance of the Shakespeare Club at the National Theatre. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1189.

Shaver, Claude L. Papers, 1924-1973, n.d. 6 linear ft. Location: 77:, 103:. Professor, LSU Department of Speech. Professional papers include correspondence; papers on the Southwest Theater Conference, Louisiana and Baton Rouge theater groups, teaching of speech and drama at LSU and other aspects of his professional career; and papers of students. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2769.

Sheet music collection, 1826-1912, n.d. 53 items, 2 vols. Location: 65:34. Sheet music, popular and sacred, some illustrated, printed, composed, or sold in Baton Rouge and New Orleans. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2600-73.

Shields, Joseph D. (Joseph Dunbar), 1820-1886. Papers, 1802-1960 (bulk 1843-1897). 712 items, 4 ms. vols., 2 printed vols. Location: T:37-T:44; 99:S; Vault; O.S.: S. Resident of Natchez who was a judge, legislator, planter, and author. His son Joseph Dunbar Shields, Jr., served under J. E. B. Stuart in the Civil War and was killed at Culpepper, Virginia. Papers consist of personal, political, financial, Civil War, and plantation management correspondence and papers; historical, literary, legal, and political manuscripts; and printed items, documenting three generations of the Shields family. Includes letters from Joseph Dunbar Shields while attending the Univeristy of Virginia and drafts of his writings. Plantation papers relate to the family's plantation Pecano, in Waterproof, Tensas Parish, Louisiana. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm: University Publications of America Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B, Part 4, Reels 12-15, or Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries, Series E, Reel 34. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 390, 1526, 1542, 1709, 1821. Complete finding aid.

Skidmore Guard. Songsheet, n.d. [after 1862]. 1 printed item. Location: Impr. Black military unit organized in New York during the Civil War. Broadside sheet with lyrics of the marching song of the Skidmore Guard. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2983.

Smith, James Monroe, 1888-1949. LSU songs, 1937. 1 printed item. Location: Misc. President of LSU (1930-1939). Autographed presentation copy of LSU songs from Castro Carazo. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2006.

Snee, J. E. (Joseph Emmett), 1895-1966. Photograph collection, 1914-1944 (bulk 1917-1918). 41 items (35 are photographic copies, 6 are photocopies). Location: UU:255. Resident of Baton Rouge, employee of the Standard Oil Company, and director of the Stancola Refinery Band. Photographs made or collectd by Snee of LSU students, Governor Ruffin G. Pleasant's inauguration, World War I military service, Baton Rouge landmarks, and Standard Oil Company. Collection also includes two band programs and other ephemera. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4069.

Société des Servantes des Pauvres. Poem, n.d. 1 item. Location: Impr. Poem entitled 'Les Servantes des Pauvres,' published by the Société des Servantes des Pauvres. Also printed on the sheet: 'Matinee Concert, offerte parles artistes de l'opera.'. In French. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2600.

Sommer, Ray. Collection, 1960-1963. 5 items. Location: Impr. LSU assistant registrar (1926-1971). Programs for Philadelphia Orchestra, Chicago Symphony Orchestra, and other musical performances. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2094.

Sommer, Ray. Concert programs, 1929-1960, n.d. 268 items. Location: W:2. LSU assistant registrar (1926-1971). Programs collected by Sommer of various types of musical performances, given chiefly in Baton Rouge, including operatic, orchestral, and individual and choral performances. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2600-73.

Souchon, Edmond. Articles, 1959, 1960. 2 items. Location: Impr. New Orleans surgeon. Articles from periodicals on Dr. Souchon and his interest in the jazz idiom and, in particular, the promotion of New Orleans jazz. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1925.

The Southern Wagon, 1861. 1 item. Location: Imprints Collection: S. A Confederate song sheet printed on an unused leaf of a blank receipt book, used for the sale of slaves in the 1850s. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2752.

St. Charles Theatre. Broadside, 1855. 1 item [photostat].  Location: Impr. Theatre located in New Orleans. Broadside advertising the performance of Julia Dean in Love at the St. Charles Theatre. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 586.

Stopher, Henry Wallace, 1883-1947. Loose-leaf notebook, n.d. 1 ms. vol. Location: M:19. Head of the Department of Music and later Director of the School of Music, LSU (1915-1940). Notes compiled on Louisiana composers with a partial list of their works, publishers, and copyright dates, arranged alphabetically by the name of composer. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 965.

Stopher, Henry Wallace, 1883-1947. Papers, 1882-1944 (bulk 1914-1940). 313 items, 10 ms. vols. Location: UU:134, Vault. Head of the Department of Music and later Director of the School of Music, LSU (1915-1940). Collection includes Stopher's correspondence and related papers, and his records during the period he was associated with the Music School. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2224.

Sullivan, Arthur Seymour, 1842-1900. Letter, 1877 August 15. 1 item. Location: Misc. English composer. Letter returning lyrics sent Sullivan by J. Martin. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1350.

Taylor, Sereno. Papers, 1833-1869 (bulk 1849-1863). 11 items, 12 ms. vols., 1 mf reel. Location: A:60, H:20, Mss.Mf:S. Minister and educator of the Silliman Female Collegiate Institute of Clinton, Louisiana, and of Mississippi City, Mississippi. Diaries (1849-1863) recording weather, school affairs, religious matters, and personal observations; and personal papers, mainly receipts. Also included is a prospectus of the Sparta, Georgia, Female Model School (1833); and of the Taylor Montgomery Cottage College and Academy of Music, Drawing and Painting, in Mississippi (1855). For further information see online catalog. Mss. 617.

Texada-Preot Family Papers, 1830-1939. 274 items. Location: W:25, 99:T. Lewis Texada was a planter of Bayou Rapides, Rapides Parish, Louisiana. Collection includes papers related to property ownership in Rapides Parish; letters from Louisiana Governor Henry Watkins Allen; papers related to a girls' school in Virginia; and letters of Confederate civilians in the Civil War. Also included are sheet music and printed items. Available (with some ommissions) on microfilm: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reel 19. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 2985. Complete Finding Aid (PDF)

Thompson, Benjamin, 1766?-1816. Letters, 1800, 1815. 3 items. Location: Misc. English dramatist. Letters concern artistic and commercial problems encountered in writing his plays, and discuss his social life. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1350.

Turnbull-Allain Family Papers, 1784-1941 (bulk 1820-1890). 15 linear ft. Location: C:98-112, OS:T, 99:T. The Turnbull and Allain families were cotton and sugar planters of West Feliciana, West Baton Rouge, and Iberville parishes, Louisiana. Papers include correspondence, legal and financial documents, and plantation records. Included are a large number of Braille writings of Hélène Allain, some written while she studied and taught at the Louisiana Institute for the Blind in Baton Rouge. Plantation papers include lists of slaves and laborers. Available on microfilm: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 4, Reels 19-34. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4261. Complete finding aid HTML | PDF

Turnbull-Bowman Family Papers, 1771-1956 (bulk 1820-1910). 8 microfilm reels. Location: Mss.Mf:T. The Turnbull and Bowman families were cotton and sugar planters of West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. Collection includes financial papers, correspondence, legal documents, personal papers, sheet music, printed items, and photographs. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4452. Complete finding aid HTML | PDF

Turnbull-Bowman-Lyons Family Papers, 1797-1955 (bulk 1820-1910). 3.5 linear ft. Location: C:113-115, OS:T. Sugar and cotton planters with properties in West Feliciana Parish, Iberville Parish, Pointe Coupee Parish, Baton Rouge, and New Orleans, Louisiana. Correspondence, plantation management papers, financial papers, legal documents, personal papers, and printed and graphic materials documenting the lives of members of the Turnbull, Pirrie, Lyons, Bowman, Barrow, Stirling, and Fort families. Correspondence discusses plantation, slave, financial, and social matters, and includes antebellum letters. Available on microfilm: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 4, Reels 34-38. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4026. Complete finding aid. HTML | PDF

Uhler, John Earle, 1891-1962. Papers, 1876-1962 (bulk 1923-1957). 32.5 linear ft., 25 microfilm reels, 1 filmstrip. Location: 79:22-44, 31:49-51, OS:U, Vault. English professor at LSU and researcher on English Renaissance literature. Uhler's publication of 'Cane Juice' (1931) dealt with LSU campus life and resulted in his being fired by Huey Long. He was reinstated six months later. Papers include personal and professional correspondence; and manuscripts of published and unpublished works by Uhler, including research on Thomas Morley and research and a manuscript of an unpublished biography of opera baritone Pasquale Amato. Also included are materials documenting LSU academic affairs and Uhler's political activities. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1902.

Variete Association (New Orleans). La Variete Association charter, 1878. 1 printed vol., 21 p.; 11 x 14 cm. Location: E:Impr. New Orleans theater established in 1872 to promote drama and to build and maintain a theater where productions of the best authors could be presented. Booklet printed in New Orleans containing the charter, a financial statement for 1877, and rules and regulations of La Variete Club and its club room. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3705.

Vignaud, Henry, 1830-1922. Papers, 1862-1909. 385 items. Location: C:66. Journalist, diplomat, and historian of New Orleans. Papers consist of letters from Louisiana friends; officials in the Department of State and the diplomatic service; Americans in public life; and literary figures, historians, journalists, and other writers. Collection includes 75 letters (1865-1892) of L. Placide Canonge, New Orleans writer and dramatist, pertaining to literature and the theater in New Orleans. Partly in French. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1281.

Violette, Eugene M. Collection, 1864, 1866, 1874. 3 items. Location: Impr. Handbills advertising plays at Baton Rouge theaters and a partial catalog of patterns for women. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 893.

W. P. A. Collection COMMUNITY SERVICE DIVISION Field memos, 1940-1942. 1 vol. Location: O:3. Memos sent to directors and supervisors of W.P.A. projects in Louisiana pertaining to personnel, employment regulations, preparation of annual reports, conversion of W.P.A. projects to wartime purposes, and operation and administration of programs. Projects included are the Writers' Project, Shoe Repair Project, Music Project, Arts and Crafts Projects, Nursery School Project, and many others. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2902.

W. P. A. Collection FEDERAL MUSIC PROJECT Annual report, 1940. 1 vol. Location: O:3. Report of Louisiana Statewide Music Project contains maps showing location of project units; statistics and other information pertaining to personnel, performances, sponsorship, expansion and training; and copies of commendatory letters. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2902.

Ward, Joseph. Record book, 1894. 1 vol. Location: J:6. Music instructor of Baton Rouge. Record book containing music and lyrics. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 439.

WE ARE FOR THE UNION, n.d. 1 item. Location: Impr. Song sung by Union Volunteers in the Civil War. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3108.

Webb, Alice. Sheet music, 1904. 1 item. Sheet music published by Charles Grinnell, New Orleans. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1956. Location: 65:60.

Wehrmann, Henry, 1870-1956. Sheet music, 1912-1954, n.d. .2 linear ft. Location: 65. Music composer, arranger, and publisher of New Orleans. Manuscript sheet music composed, arranged, or published by Wehrmann, primarily for violin, viola, and cello. Most of the music is by 17th and 18th century composers, newly arranged by Wehrmann. One published item, Songs of the South, composed and published by Wehrmann (1912), is included. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4669.

Whig Party campaign song, n.d. [1848]. 1 item. Location: Misc. Autograph manuscript of an original song composed by John Greiner, Ohio State librarian, celebrating the Whig Party nomination of Zachary Taylor. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3029.

Whitaker, Lily C. Poem, ca. 1916. 1 item. Location: Misc. Copy of her poem 'Shakespeare,' presented before the Shakespearean Anniversary Association at the Tulane Theater, New Orleans. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1284.

Whitfield, Irene. Manuscript, ca. 1939, n.d. 345 pages. Location: W:7. Manuscript of Louisiana Folk Songs (Baton Rouge: LSU Press, 1939), including revisions and miscellaneous notes. Lyrics of songs are in French. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2823.

Wiksell, Wesley A., 1906-1991. Wesley A. and Jean Starr Wiksell papers, ca. 1920-1970. (bulk 1950-1965). 39 linear ft. Location: 91,Unproc. OS:W. Wesley A. Wiksell was a professor of speech and communication at LSU. He and Jean Starr Wiksell were puppeteers. Papers include subject files, correspondence, photographs, and other items that document Wiksell's activities as a professor, puppeteer, and theater performer. Papers of Jean Starr Wiksell relate primarily to the theater and to her work as a puppeteer. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4329.

Work Projects Administration. Ex-Slave Narrative Project, 1937-1941, n.d. 39 items [photocopies]. Location: W:11. Narratives based on interviews with ex-slaves in the Alexandria and New Orleans areas pertain to slave life; post-emancipation black life; and black folklore, religion, and music. Originals in Louisiana State Library, Baton Rouge. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2858.

Works Projects Administration. Federal Theatre and Federal Music Projects Programs, 1938. 4 items. Location: Impr. Playhouse of the Federal Theatre, New Orleans. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1980.

Wurtele, Mildred Orkney. Scrapbook, 1910-1912. 1 ms. vol. Location: M:18. 'A Theatre-Goer's Record' of entertainment in Chicago and New Orleans. Scrapbook contains clipped programs for plays, operas, ballets, concerts, vaudeville, and motion pictures, lengthy comments by Wurtele, and photographs of the artists. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2306.

Wynne, Michael D. Collection, 1827-1976, n.d. 5 linear ft. Location: U:34-35, P:19, Vault:5. Resident of Lafayette, Louisiana, and collector of historical materials on south Louisiana history and culture. Collection includes papers of planters, Civil War soldiers, politicians, and professionals. It contains letters, sheet music, photographs, newspaper clippings, and scrapbooks documenting New Orleans, Baton Rouge, Lafayette, and surrounding parishes. Also included are papers of the Mayer Brass Band of Opelousas, Louisiana (1892-1909). For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3053.

No "X, Y or Z" Records.


 
 


CHRONOLOGICAL INDEX
1544-1927 (bulk 1558-1835), n.d. Ely, Richard Theodore, 1854-1943. Collection
1650, 1801-1965. Lieutaud, Albert Louis Collection
1771-1956 (bulk 1820-1910). Turnbull-Bowman family papers
1775-1949 (bulk 1840-1875).1905-1940). Hart-Bonnecaze-Duncan family papers
1776-1928 (bulk 1840-1890). Gillespie, James A., planter. Family papers
1784-1941 (bulk 1820-1890). Turnbull-Allain Family Papers
1793-1937 (bulk 1830-1870). Johnson, William T. Memorial collection
1797-1955 (bulk 1820-1910). Turnbull-Bowman-Lyons Family Papers
1800-1950 (bulk 1860-1937). Barel, Leona Queyrouze, 1861?-1938. Papers
1800, 1815. Thompson, Benjamin, 1766?-1816. Letters
1806-1937. Peytavin, John Ludger, b. 1859. Papers
1807-1907 (bulk 1859-1906). Dansereau, Hercules, b. 1832. Account books and papers
1808-1845. Girault, Auguste, b. 1790 or 91. Papers
1810-1953, n.d. Conner, Lemuel Parker, 1827-1891. Family papers.
1811-1934 (bulk 1830-1899), n.d. Delsarte, François Alexandre Nicolas, 1811-1871. Papers
1815-1925 (bulk 1854-1883). Mandeville, Henry D. (Henry David), 1781-1878. Family papers
1817, 1869-1939 (bulk 1869-1939). Kilbourne, James Gilliam, 1828-1893. Family papers
1822-1828. Brazilian Newspapers: the DeForest collection
1824. Geelvink, H. A. Notebook
1825-1945. Hasselmans, Louis, 1878-1957. Papers
1826-1912, n.d. Sheet music collection
1827-1976, n.d. Wynne, Michael D. Collection
1830-1837, 1873. Dupre and Metoyer and Company. Account book
1830-1939. Texada-Preot family papers
1831-1853. Butler, Robert, 1786-1860. Papers
1833-1869 (bulk 1849-1863). Taylor, Sereno. Papers
1833-1883. Poetry scrapbooks and blacksmith ledger
1835-1876 (bulk 1835-1849). Lee, Eleanor Percy, 1820-1849. Eleanor Percy Lee and Catharine Ann Warfield papers
1837-1903. Murdoch, James Edward, 1811-1893. Papers
1838-1915, n.d. Fourrier, Henri, and Joseph Amedee Fourrier. Papers
1839. Davis, John. Document
1839-1847. Armstrong, A. Notebook
1839-1867. McCollam, Andrew and Ellen. Papers.
1842, ca. Miller, Frederick F. Letter
1843-1898. Rolling, Hubert, 1823-1898. Scrapbook
1844-1912. Fourrier, Joseph Amadee. Sheet music
1845. Baton Rouge Sacred Music Society. Program
1845, 1854-1921, n.d. Chol, Emmanuel, 1834-1916. Papers
[1848], n.d. Whig Party campaign song
1848-1891 (bulk 1861-1874). Barrow, Bartholomew, 1836-1869. Family collection of sheet music
1848-1936 (bulk 1894-1933). De Lapouyade, Robert. Collection
1849-1881. Durnin, James. Family papers
1850-1870, ca. LeBlond, Coralie. Music collection
1850-1969 (bulk 1960-1969). Colomb, Bessie B. Collection
1850, 1851. Dunbar, Elijah. Correspondence.
1850s. Cox, Ellen M. Collection
1851. Anonymous letter
1851. Dunbar, Elijah. Letters
[1851]. Randall, Lizzie. Letter
1852-1915. Peytavin, John Ludger, b. 1859. Papers
1853, n.d. Fourrier, Henri, and Joseph Amedee Fourrier. Papers
1854-1872 (bulk 1871-1872). Jones, Ellen E., b. 1852. Ellen E. Jones journal and Claude Perry letter
1854-1930 (bulk 1875-1890). Cockfield, E. J. Family papers
1855. St. Charles Theatre. Broadside
1856-1857. Reiff, Anton. Journal
1856-1866. Campbell, Zoe J., d. 1866. Diaries
1858-1911. Ferguson, Kate Lee, b. 1841. Papers
1859-1860. Leidigh, Jacob M. Correspondence
1860-1890, ca. Mather, Mary. Music collection
1860-1920 (bulk 1886-1890). Gray, Lillie Trust. Papers
1860-1970 (bulk 1900-1970). Gebelin-Walsh-Hynes_Frenzel Papers
1861. Beauregard, G. T. (Gustave Toutant), 1818-1893. Sheet music
1861. Boston Museum playbill
1861. Confederate song sheet
1861-1864. Lieutaud, Albert Louis, collector. Papers of R. J. Morgan
1862-1863 ca. KINGDOM COMING, songsheet
1862-1909. Vignaud, Henry, 1830-1922. Papers
[after 1862], n.d. Skidmore Guard. Songsheet
1863-1970, n.d. Marx, Mary Robertson. Collection
1864. Anonymous letter
1864. Eaton, Edward O., and Charles Lever. Song
1864-1986. Richardson, Carey Johnson. Papers
1864, 1866, 1874. Violette, Eugene M. Collection
1864, 1899-1916. Ferguson, Percy. Papers
1865. Reconstruction pamphlet
1867. Anonymous letter
[1867]. Shakespeare Club. Admit cards
1870-1913, n.d. Himel family sheet music
1873. French Opera House Bill
1874. E. S. Ballad
1876-1899. Music journal collection
1876-1962 (bulk 1923-1957). Uhler, John Earle, 1891-1962. Papers
1876, 1884. Presidential campaign songs
1877 August 15. Sullivan, Arthur Seymour, 1842-1900. Letter
1877-1878, 1924-1925, n.d. Applewhite, Cornelia. Papers
1878. Variete Association (New Orleans). La Variete Association charter
1879-1936. Collection of Dickensian programs
1881 January 3. Baton Rouge German Benevolent Association. Dance program
1882-1944 (bulk 1914-1940). Stopher, Henry Wallace, 1883-1947. Papers
1885. Cior, Charles, 1819-ca.
1894. La musique, selon les sciences observées. L'histoire, la phylosophie, la physiologie, etc., etc., entendre, comprendre, se souvenir
1886-1889. M. Faler and Company. Letters
1889-1891, n.d. Patti, Adelina, 1843-1919. Letter
1889-1926, n.d. Lawrence family. Papers
1890-1957, n.d. Hudson, Frederick Gray. Collection
1891. Cameron, Giulia Valda. Letters
1892-1959. Coates, Charles Edward, 1866-1939. Papers
1893. Moore, Eddie. Musical composition
1893-1916. Everett, Edward. Scrapbook
1894. Ward, Joseph. Record book
1897. L.S.U. WALTZ, sheet music
1898. Paull, E. T. Sheet music
1899-1937 (bulk 1913-1914). New Orleans opera-theatre scrapbook
1899-1949. Hayden, Estelle. Theater scrapbooks
1899-1977, n.d. Post, Lauren Chester, 1899-1976. Papers
1900-1910, n.d. New Orleans theater and opera scrapbook
1900-1924. Favrot, Joseph St. Clair, 1872-1943. Family papers
1903. CRESCENT RIFLES
1904. Webb, Alice. Sheet music
1909. Peterson, Clara Gottschalk. Published music
1909. Ripley, Mrs. E. Letter
1909-1947. Miller, Warren. Scrapbooks and memorabilia
1910. French Opera Association. Stock certificate
1910-1912. Wurtele, Mildred Orkney. Scrapbook
1910-1940. Order of the Eastern Star. Papers
1912-1954, n.d. Wehrmann, Henry, 1870-1956. Sheet music
1913-1929 (bulk 1913-1915). Amato, Pasquale. Scrapbook and printed items.
1914-1944 (bulk 1917-1918). Snee, J. E. (Joseph Emmett), 1895-1966. Photograph collection
1915. Meyer, Eveleen. Announcement
1916, ca. Witaker, Lily C. Poem
1916. Emmanuel Chol funeral notice
1916-1925. New York theater program collection
1919-1920. New Orleans Grand Opera Company. Check book
1919-1920 season. New Orleans Opera Company. Tickets.
1919-1936, n.d. Hanley, Ben. Collection
1920-1970 (bulk 1950-1965), ca. Wiksell, Wesley A., 1906-1991. Wesley A. and Jean Starr Wiksell papers
1923-1972, n.d. Page, Frank Crawford. Papers
1924-1973, n.d. Shaver, Claude L. Papers
1926-2006. de Caro, Francis A. and Rosan A. Jordan Collection
1927-1935. Long, Huey Pierce, 1893-1935. Papers
1929-1932. La Farge, Oliver. Papers
1929-1960, n.d. Sommer, Ray. Concert programs
1932. Beauregard House Association program
1932. Beauregard-Keyes House (New Orleans). The Board of the Beauregard House Association presents Grace King's An old romance, a play in three acts: program
1932-1935, 1967, n.d. Schwartz, Kurt S. Papers
1932-1988. Detro, Randall A. (Randall Augustus), 1931-. Collection
1933 March 8. Carver, George Washington, 1864?-1943. Letter: to Harry Ittner
1934?-1935. Huey P. Long collection
1934, 1935, 1938. Boston Symphony Orchestra. Programs
1935-1943. De Forest, George. Scrapbooks
1935-1994 (bulk 1935-1946). Marino, Samuel Joseph, 1916-. Papers
1936-1940. Kidd, John W., 1911-. Photographs and broadside
1937. Smith, James Monroe, 1888-1949. LSU songs
1937-1941, n.d. Work Projects Administration. Ex-Slave Narrative Project
1937-1968, n.d. Reed, Mary. Collection.
1937-1983. Community Concerts, Inc. Programs
1938. Federal Theatre Project (U.S.). Playhouse of the Federal Theatre: program
1938. Works Projects Administration. Federal Theatre and Federal Music Projects Programs
1939-1962. Acadian Handicraft Project. Records
1939, ca. n.d. Whitfield, Irene. Manuscript
1940. W. P. A. Collection FEDERAL MUSIC PROJECT Annual report
1940-1942. W. P. A. Collection COMMUNITY SERVICE DIVISION Field memos
1940-1968, n.d. Langevin, Carmen Browder, 1900-1967. Papers
1953, 1956, n.d. Coates, Raymond, 1875-1965. Manuscript music
1954-1959. Cooper, Emil. Papers
1954-1971, n.d. Louisiana Music Teachers Association. Papers
1956, 1959, 1976, n.d. Fuchs, Peter Paul. Papers
1957, n.d. Baughman family collection, 1834-1928
1959-1994. Baton Rouge Ballet Theatre. Programs and brochures
1959, 1960. Souchon, Edmond. Articles
1960. New Orleans Opera Guild. Program
1960-1963. Sommer, Ray. Collection
1961-1995. Constantinides (Dinos) Papers
1966-1968. Cale, John G., 1922-. Papers
1967. Cale, John G., 1922-. Abstract
1969. Ferraro, Louis, and Sam Adams. Manuscript
1970-1971. Louisiana Music Teachers Association. Papers
1970-1994. Constantinides, Dinos. Papers
1972. Curtin, Phyllis. Program
1975. Olivier, Gaston. Song
1976. Funchess, Lloyd Vance, 1908-1976. Oral history interview
1976-1998 (1979-1996). Louisiana Folklife Program Files Inventory
1978-1994. Baton Rouge Gilbert & Sullivan Society. Programs and brochures
1981-1995. Baton Rouge Little Theater, Inc. Programs and brochures
1983-1991. Baton Rouge Opera. Programs
1985-1991. Playmakers of Baton Rouge. Programs
1985-[ongoing]. Louisiana State University (Baton Rouge, La.). School of Music. Programs
n.d. Brass band photographs
n.d. De Lapouyade, Robert. Photographs
n.d. Dunkley, Ferdinand. Musical arrangement
n.d. Gaiety Theatre. Program
n.d. Gottschalk, Louis Moreau. Letter
n.d. Gottschalk, Louis Moreau. Photograph
n.d. Lyrics
n.d. Metropolitan Opera archives, photographs
n.d. Opelousas, La. Philharmonic Literary and Dramatic Association. Handbill
n.d. Patti, Adelina, 1843-1919. Sheet music
n.d. Saturday Music Circle. Invitation
n.d. Société des Servantes des Pauvres. Poem
n.d. Stopher, Henry Wallace, 1883-1947. Loose-leaf notebook
n.d. WE ARE FOR THE UNION

 Footer
Comments / LSU Home / LSU Libraries
Hill Memorial Library / Louisiana State University
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
Public Services Desk: (225) 578-6544
Reference Desk: (225) 578-6568
Fax (225) 578-9425
Copyright © 1996 - 2009 LSU Libraries
Last updated: Wednesday, 23-Sep-2009 13:38:39 CDT

LSU Main Page